Submitted by Yardbroom

Mara Thompson

Irrespective of political allegiance, it cannotย  reasonably be denied, that there is a large body of support in Barbados, especially in St John, for our late Prime Minister David Thompson.ย  I am not suggesting this support is total, as that is most unlikely, or it is deserved or not.ย  Neither am I insinuating he is being deified or should be.ย  My stated position is based on a reality that exist, which should be obvious, regardless of party association.ย  If that support is deserved can be debated, but the purpose of this submission is to look forward to the St John bye-election, rather than look back in the past.

It is not an unreasonable question to ask, why mention David Thompson?ย  Mara Thompson the proposed DLP candidate, is the widow of David Thompson and at times they canvassed the constituency of St John together, and it was not unknown for her to make personal appearances on his behalf, when he was canvassing in other constituencies.ย  The background and circumstances of their political linkage, apart from a marriage bond, suggest togetherness.ย  It is not unreasonable therefore – in context – for him to be mentioned.

Mara Thompson has support in the Parish, evidenced by the vocal public demonstrations for her, however to singularly enter the political ring, could present problems.ย  These I will address, but I am sure that those responsible for strategy in the DLP would have – or should have – brought those risks to her attention.

As the widow of a much loved Prime Minister, with a loving family, she is almost untouchable.ย  The circumstances of his death at a relatively early age, and the public outpouring of grief added to public sympathy.ย  However, as a candidate in a bye-election the situation changes.ย  You may ask, why?ย  In a democracy candidates are expected to “contest” a vacant seat.ย  That means struggle, battle, fight and there will obviously be conflict and disputes.ย  Providing they are legal, and are not seen as malicious or in poor taste- that is the political arena.

The authority and power allegiances, that were transferred through David Thompson to Mara Thompson, will no longer be there.

It is true DLP stalwarts will rally round, so will others, but in times of discomfort, a knowing “like mind” to discuss personal issues, as in the past, will not be there.. . . that is something only Mara Thompson will know of.ย  Does that mean she should not contest the seat? No! it does not.ย  She has as much right as anyone else, and perhaps more than some. . . this is just a balanced exposition of reality.

Although not seeking office, Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley’s shadows will loom over the event in various ways.ย  Arthur, in seeing how he orchestrates the campaign, and when and how he plays his trump card.ย  What it is, I do not know, but it would be silly to think an experienced politician like Owen Arthur has not seen a weakness, which he hopes to exploit.ย  It is how and when he utilizes it, which will determine if it is not counter-productive.

Mia Mottley is in the enviable position of having to do nothing, naturally support the BLP candidate, which is expected, but be circumspect in her utterances, nothing contentious asย  if to say: you wanted the crown, now wear it.

Hudson Griffith the BLP candidate is alleged to have put his name forward to contest the seat.ย  Although superficially it might appear so, it is not a lost cause, for his political future.ย  His success will be measured, in how he conducts his personal campaign, and the markers he can put down for subsequent operations, with the obvious exposure garnered.

Prime Minister Freundel Stewart Stuart will be watched, this will be his first foray into the red hot furnace of an election, as leader, and most importantly Prime Minister.ย  He should use this opportunity as a dress rehearsal, for a much bigger battle later.ย  He can make a few mistakes now, but later in the General Election those will not be easily forgiven.ย  He must find the “language” to broaden his base support, and reach out to sections of the electorate, who feel marginalised and neglected. . . it can be done.

This bye-election in St John will see a positioning of individuals, despite there being an immediate battle; the pieces are being marked and put in place for the next general election.ย  Is there still enough tactical awareness and robust stomach for a fight in Owen Arthur?ย  Can Prime Minister Stewart direct his troops, coalesce them into an impregnable fighting “unit” and broaden his personal support base.ย  Those are the important questions that will be asked in this bye-election, for although the papers will be marked St John; I am in no doubt the prize being fought for is much greater.

1. This article and its author are DISMISSED !
    The Author is ordered to turn up at Glendairy Prisons NOW!
    to start a 15 years sentence of Hard Labour plus solitary confinement.
    Try running and hiding; see what happens to your ass.

2. Prime Minister Freundel Stewart Stuart will be watched, this will be his first foray into the red hot furnace of an election, as leader, and most importantly Prime Minister. He should use this opportunity as a dress rehearsal, for a much bigger battle later. He can make a few mistakes now, but later in the General Election those will not be easily forgiven. He must find the โ€œlanguageโ€ to broaden his base support, and reach out to sections of the electorate, who feel marginalised and neglected. . . it can be done.

UTTER RUBBISH !

dont want to this with each para. so the whole article is dismissed and the author JAILED !!!!!

3. With the risk of being labelled BLP supporter again, i say a resounding NO to Mara Thompson being the candidate for the DLP for the St. John’s seat. Mara is NOT an upfront person and a relatively shy individual. The boxing gloves are going to be on the opposition in this elections if she runs. No longer will she have the support of her husband, and may I add the entire DLP camp either. I have seen a deliberate absence of discussion during the budget debate about the Clico Affair, maybe this is being reserved for the by-elections. Yes, the DLP will win but at what cost to the entire party as general elections will be within two years after the by-elections and two years in politics is a long time. In case another person is chosen to run for St. John, the Clico Affair amongf other things will not have the impact as if Mara is the contestant. Is the DLP willing to feed her to the wolves just to win a “safe” seat?

4. Why would a political party put a political neophyte in a safe seat such as St. Thomas? Why would another seek to do the same in St.John? Both parties at their lowest numbers in parliament were represented by their core constituencies. Can you imagine a return to those numbers with their core holding the line? A return of the three blind mice would not be so bad, Owen would overshadow the inadequacies of Duguid/Agard and Cinty, but Kellman and Mara for the DLP?? wuh loss! Mara’s candidacy may make nice emotional fluff, but is pure political idiocy, in this Westminster system or ours.

5. We have read and listen to the arguments whether Mara Thompson should expose herself to the hurly burly of politics, whether by her running she will be engaged in dynasty building etc. All the times we have observed Mara in public she has carried herself with dignity which has garnered respect from all* sides.

This is a lady who originates from a politically involved Giraudy St. Lucian family which has been very active in politics. In other words she has been around politics all her life. With the exception of Mia Mottley she is probably the most qualified to represent when compared to some of the other characters sitting in our parliament.

To the critique that she is shy this is an argument full of holes. Many people do jobs every day and are by nature shy/introverted but it does not mean when the demands of a task requires a desired response an intelligent person cannot respond accordingly.

Yes the CLICO issue is a difficult issue and like other politicians who confront difficult issues she would have to strategize and deliver her arguments in the interest of the vested players. Mara being the intelligent person we believe her to be will know if she decides to run she will have to put on her game face. Most of the arguments against her running seem to be framed in what it would do to her. History shows that many people who decide to run for public office do so to satisfy an interest which is not about self but others. If Mara wants to take a hit at the individual level to satisfy what she believes is a greater national interest we say to her to go for it.

6. I don’t know bout wunna, but yuh see me, I dun mek up my mind to vote against dem DEMs in the next general election.
    Wunna talking bout reducing the deficit, and how this is the worse recession since Adam was a boy. How the guvment haffi cut expenditure but wunna ain’t sending home nobody.
    Yuh mean to tell me, I got to suck salt for the next 18 months so that public “masters” can keep duh lil pick.
    How come dem is the onliest body dat guaranteed a job in this the aforementioned worst recession ever?
    How come the big boys in guvment still got most of the perks dey had befo the budget?
    How come de lotta lotteries ain’t gots to pay no more tax?
    Why wunna din try to collect all the VAT dat does get collect from we but don’t get pay in?
    Befoe wunna frig up the credit union thing, why wunna din mek sure that the professional pay as dey earn?
    Why wunna still allowing people dat doan earn nuh foreign exchange to spend it importing nuff crap to sell to we?

In short wunna ain’t really do nuttin and 18 months from now, we gine be back to square one and wunna ain’t gine be in no position to offer we anything for de elections to keep we from voting wunna out.

Notice has been given, I dun wid dat.

7. What have the people of St. John gained from blindly supporting the DLP for donkey years? Still it is taken for granted that they will continue to vote DLP in the future. Why?

Now we are to believe that the wife, and later the daughter of the previous representative, will be automatic representatives when and if they indicate an interest.

I find this to be extremely disturbing in a supposedly literate society.

8. @Raw Bake

Let us use your perspective in another context. What have we gained with BLP and DLP voting collective in parliament and not conscience?

9. What have we gained with BLP and DLP voting collective in parliament and not conscience?

Exactly the situation we have today.

Where politicians seek to distance themselves from decisions made while they were in parliament or cabinet and we accept and allow them to do so.
    Where a former PM can state that he assumes responsibly for everything that took place under his stewardship and no one objected.

10. Politicians who dare to vote by conscience are ostracized by the party faithful even if not by their parliamentary colleagues. Few are willing to undergo such and that more than anything else, is what is wrong with our system.
    If a politician cannot speak his or her mind freely without considering the party position first, how democratic are we?

11. Raw Bake | December 5, 2010 at 9:17 AM | Now we are to believe that the wife, and later the daughter of the previous representative, will be automatic representatives when and if they indicate an interest.
    Yes, because the children of the ordinary people of St. John dare not aspire to such high office. Their role is to elevate and support the chosen one.

12. A.Freeman,

Barbados is a DEMocratic country.

If the people of St.John accept the candidates presented to them, that is their DEMocratic right.

13. “A deputy essential” great calypso.

Presenting Owen n Dale.

So MIA is toast?

14. Interesting to note that as the BLP is preparing for the by-election in St. John Arthur has reappointed Dale Marshall to the position of deputy. Further if we are to believe the nation report today he will play a greater role in economic matter.

It is confirmed, Mia is out of the picture. She is being forced to make a move. Step in line or leave.

15. What is wrong with Attorney-at-law, Mrs. Mara Thompson becoming the duly elected Member of Parliament for the Constituency of St. John?

Did Mia Mottley not call for a kinder, more gentle and productive politics in Barbados? Did she not call for a new politics; a new perspective and a new development path for Barbados?

Perhaps, the change and the new perspective this country needs can start with Mia, Mara, Irene, Cynthia, Ester and so on.

Have we become so indoctrinated and bias that we feel that the standard of being a good politician is that set by men?

And what is this about the DLP being wiped-out at the poll and Mara being Leader of the Opposition, so what? Perhaps that is the fresh start this country needs?

Mara is a wife, a mother, she worked with children and is very humble. One thing we know for sure is that being the wife of a PM (that power or closeness to it) never went to her head.

I certainly have not heard that she demanded that the Police stationed at Illaro Court to slaute her when she went in or out.

16. @ Hants and David,

I can see the politics unfolding, next you are likely to hear that Dale Marshall is the campaign manager in St. John. So what! Furthermore, is this what is good for Barbados or Owen Arthur?

The Barbados economy still needs restructuring.

This is not “healing” but blood sports politics. And let’s be frank. You are right, it is a futile attempt to silence and side-line Mia Mottley who has a 1655 majority in a traditional DLP seat.

All the DLP has to do is put a strong candidate in St. Joseph.

Do you feel that winning with a mere 44 votes will allow Dale Marshal to go all over Barbados at night speaking on platforms even if he was a dynamic speaker?

Here is my advice to the DLP:

Your platfom in St. John should be Thompson’s legacy: (1) the respectful treatment of women; (2) the importance of the famility to national social and economic development, (3) the importance of sound corevalues in a good society, (4) the youth, (5) building a good and well ordered society by placing emphasis on the church, families and values?

Owen Arthur just does not get it: He fired Liz Thompson from the Senate and she got a job as Assistant Secretary General at the United Nations?

17. Raw Bake | December 5, 2010 at 9:00 AM | I donโ€™t know bout wunna, but yuh see me, I dun mek up my mind to vote against dem DEMs in the next general election.

talk yuh talk Raw Bake
    -talk yuh talk
    ONE TERM FOR THE DLP
    ONE TERM!
    ONE TERM !
    DLP =DOOMED
    DOOMED !
    DOOMED !

———————————————-
    Raw Bake | December 5, 2010 at 9:17 AM | What have the people of St. John gained from blindly supporting the DLP for donkey years?
    —————————-
    nothing ! Raw Bake nothing !
    Talk yuh Talk -Raw Bake–Talk

Raw Bake —I love the name
    Raw bake dem Raw Bake
    Rake dem and shake dem
    ONE TERM
    DLP DOOMED !!!!!!

18. Yardbroom;
    Generally a political party chooses a candidate to contest a seat in Barbados based on their judgement on if that candidate is the best qualified to run (usually someone born in that constituency if such is available carries some sway) and the likelihood of that candidate winning against the opposition candidate(s). In the coming St John bye-election Mara may or may not be the best qualified to run. However, there is no doubt that, given the history of the St John seat and its association with the DLP and more recently its ownership by David Thompson, that the DLP could put anyone to run in St John and that person would certainly win the seat.

There are other individuals born in St John who have, according to media reports, cast their hats into the ling to contest the DLP nomination. All the names mentioned are well qualified to be reasonable MPs for St John and would certainly win this safe seat. If all of them are overlooked it would be sending a mixed message that the DLP hierarchy doesn’t really care enough about native born sons / daughters as much as they do about someone, who despite the work she did for her Husband, is not a native born St John person. That message could affect the DLP negatively in the future.

19. @checkit-out

The DLP arm will have to ratify any selection. That arm is comprised of DLP members who operate in the constituency of St. John. In the same way BLP operatives opine that the Mia Arthur conflict is an internal manner, what gives any one the right to label how the DLP should select a candidate for St. John? We need to be dispassionate on this matter. If Mara is selected she has demonstrated all the right qualities in her public showings so far to pre-qualify her for the job. The fact it is a safe seat is moot.

20. When did Mara become an attorney-at-law?

21. The people of St. John is very proud of the fact that two PMs have represented that parish-constituency so far, and they would expect whoever comes next to be of that caliber as well. The problem is the people of St. John is that their attachment to the DLP is simply based on the Errol Barrow legacy, which the DLP may never be able to live up to.

22. The people of St. John are very proud of the fact that two PMs have represented that parish-constituency so far, and they would expect whoever comes next to be of that caliber as well. The problem with the people of St. John is that their attachment to the DLP is simply based on the Errol Barrow legacy, which the DLP may never be able to live up to.

23. @Anonymous

Good to see you have decided to use a handle.

Now stop playing games and get back to the task at hand.

24. Though not in totality I agree with Raw Bake . (His last posting) In this very forum we saw repeatedly the mention of “Iron Fisted Leadership .” Should it not be in the upper chamber ,where persons are selected , that party policy is adhered to , and not the lower house where one has to be elected ? In most cases the use of conscience and politician in the same sentence is as oxymoronic as the utterance of political prudence and Clyde Mascoll in the same chapter . There should be no discussion about the by-election that includes Mrs. Mara Thompson . Perhaps its just naivety , but to me it sends the signal of seeking the sentiment of sympathy when there is no need to. Verla De Peiza and the boost that she will give to the government’s side of the house , is as sure as regaining that seat . Should Mrs.Thompson choose to enter the arena , then let her do so at a later time , after the family has had time to mourn their loss , and in a district where she will be seen to have created her very own niche , and not be accused of being fueled by her late husband’s steam . If ever there was a time to exude confidence , it is now that the party enjoys the ground swell of support from a people whose nerves still sting from the shortcomings of Owen Arthur’s administration .Lets all see if CLICO as fresh as it is , can send the transgressions of the overnight millionaires to the back burners of our minds . Though the main stream media continues to downplay and even ignore the ROEBUCK STREET RUCTION , let me remind “de big boys —- or girls at de giant down fontabelle” of their use of this old adage ,when the famous co-leader caused strife in George Stereet . A house devided amongst its self can’t stand . How now Albert ? Is political cannibalism no longer a disqualification to the formation of good government ?

25. David;

If there is anything that is sure in Barbados’ politics it is that almost anyone that the DLP puts to run there will win. The margin will depend on the charisma, energy, history of community service, etc., of who is running on the other side. But the DLP candidate will surely win. There is nothing moot about it being a safe seat.

If the BLP is indeed looking down the road towards a general election they will need to carefully consider how they approach this election. As the Scout intimates, the handling of the CLICO matter is central to this issue. However, it does not necessarily have to be dampened if Mara is not the candidate as, in my view, the ventilation of everything that went on between David Thompson and CLICO and how that might have influenced the handling of CLICO in Barbados and the offered bailout in the OECS is the achilles heel of the this DLP Government. It has the potential of being the straw that broke the camel’s back if the Bdos government has to find over 200 million dollars, most of it foreign exchange to bail out what was a private company until David Thompson’s policies made it a ward of the Government. Indeed, it could well become explosive if the likely effects of a substantial CLICO EFPA bailout have to be added to the impositions of the Sinckler / Stuart austerity budget in the minds of those of us who have been substantially affected negatively by the budget.

If Mara is the candidate the attacks on CLICO could be more focused. If she is not the attacks might be focused on David Thompson and his leadership of a DLP cabinet (including an acting PM) that allowed this probable rape on the treasury in these serious times to have taken place. In any case the St John bye election campaign would seem to be an opportune occasion for bringing many of the facts and innuendos of CLICO into the limelight.

26. Isn’t Verla another lawyer?

27. @David | December 5, 2010 at 1:34 PM |
    @Anonymous
    Good to see you have decided to use a handle.
    Now stop playing games and get back to the task at hand.
    ——————————————-
    LOL…what handle have I used? Wrong guess! No point in trying to give your bloggers the impression that you can tell who’s using more than one handle.

28. Hi, checkit-out @ 12:05pm

I have steered clear in my submission, away from if Mara Thompson is a suitable candidate, for the St John constituency. My reasoning being, that would indicate a more than interested observance of the DLP, and an effort to influence policy decisions in this matter. Not that I could -but for my personal feeling of detachment, from certain areas.

The DLP will select the candidate they think most suitable; no doubt having considered all the circumstances. The electorate of St John can either endorse that choice, or not. If there are flaws in the DLP’s judgment, it is for the BLP to exploit them; that is democracy.

I can even now, see many angles of contention, but as the philosopher Michel de Montaigne once said: “Hey what do I know.”

29. @ David

Yes she is, and also the sister of Francis Depeiza and part of the Greaves’ political clan. I remember her referring to a certain state agency in 2007 as a waste and duplication that should be shut down. Yet in 2008 she was occupying a seat on the Board of the same agency.

30. She also has the oratorical skill that commands attention . I wonder if ever a brother and sister ever held seats in the same parliament .

31. Verla like her brother have always been snobs stupseee

32. @Enuff

Our feedback suggest Verla is nothing like her brother in the arrogance department.

Our problem is that she is a lawyer.

We need to get some other kinds of interest in the House.

33. @ David

I concede, maybe she has changed. So lawyers can only speak/think as lawyers?

34. @Enuff

Always exceptions to the rule.

35. @David,
    There must be a reason why so many lawyers want to be politicians.

36. Hi Yardbroom; RE. your “I have steered clear in my submission, away from if Mara Thompson is a suitable candidate, for the St John constituency.”

You really could have fooled me since you devoted nearly half of your submission to Mara, essentially singing her praises.

37. Enuff | December 5, 2010 at 1:03 PM | When did Mara become an attorney-at-law?
    ——————————
    Thompy must have “will” it to be so also.

38. @ checkit-out 6:11pm

Quote: Hi, Yardbroom; RE. your ” I have steered clear in my submission, away from Mara Thompson is a suitable candidate, for the St John constituency”

Quote: “You really could have fooled me since you devoted nearly half of your submission to Mara, essentially singing her praises.”

Hi, checkit-out

I have no “evidence” that Mara Thompson, has ever done an act, either intentionally or otherwise, of a political nature, which would cause me to write something negative about her.
    I am also aware in writing this submission, I am writing about real people, who have families etc. I have also taken account of the fact, that at this time Mara Thompson is the widow of a recently deceased Prime Minister of Barbados; “she is not as yet a politician”.

I have no intention of engaging in character assassination of others – implied or otherwise – even from under the cover of anonymity. Certainly not for politics, it is not worth it.

As a reasonable person – even if not in agreement- you can respect my position.

39. Yardbroom; I think I understand your position but would’nt it have been more even handed if you had even mentioned some of the other would-be candidates that have indicated their interest in the nomination. As it is, you dealt with Mara only leaving the reader to surmise that the submission was not only an endorsement of her possible candidacy but possibly an early attempt to garner support for her.

The other would be candidates include Matthew Farley; an ambassador that GP was always writing about in his posts about DT (I forget his name); A former HC teacher who wrote calypsos (I am ashamed that his name does not come to mind since I know him well) and a few others with at least one mentioned in this blog by others, Ms. Depeiza. Most of them merit at least a mention.

40. Check-it out you is a Bajan?Weh you does live doh.

So you forget Anthony”Bob”Waldron de guitar man who taught French at HC, or Dr.GP’s friend Dr.McClean who is likely the best candidate and future PM?

41. @ Adrian Hinds

mi fraid you

42. Hi Hants; Just old age! I remembered Tony Waldron but his name just would’nt come to mind until I’d clicked the send button on the computer. Thanks for reminding me of Dr. Mc. Clean the Ambassador that GP thinks was “hard done by” by David Thompson many years ago when DT was figuratively claimed to have stolen McClean’s “St John’s birthright”.

There are indeed a number of good candidates but I bet you wouldn’t see McClean being nominated if he is really considered to be Prime Ministerial material. If Mara is nominated the new Thompson prime ministerial material should be ready in about 7 years by which time the present PM might have had enough of the position.

I is a born and bred bajan from St George.

43. @checkit-out
    So yuh mean we is neighbours den?

44. @ checkit-out, Dec 5, 2010 at 7:56pm
    Quote: “Yardbroom; I think I understand your position but would’nt it have been more even handed if you had mentioned some of the other would-be candidates that have indicated their interest in the nomination. As it is, you dealt with Mara only leaving the reader to surmise that the submission was not only an endorsement of her possible candidacy but possibly and early attempt to garner support for her.”
    Hi, checkit-out
    There is great merit in your point-of-view, which deserves further clarification.

I did not mention “all” the other prospective candidates, because in all honesty, I did not know who they all were. Which in your response, you also fell victim.

The purpose of the submission, was not to give a list of all the candidates and give a comparison, with respective strengths, to ascertain who is the best candidate. It was to look at the St John bye-election, as a precursor for a later main battle -the General Election – and sketch a rough outline of the ramifications for the main players, who were not seeking office.

I can honestly assure you, I have no “vested interest” in the outcome what-so-ever, as that may be academic. My position will always be the same. Proper governance of the people of Barbados, in the interest of all Barbadians and doing so with “honesty”, integrity and pride, that our children who come after us, can say, they did the best they could, with the resources available. . . in the right circumstances, that is quite possible from the DLP as it is the BLP.

45. Yardbroom is just another DLP pimp.

46. Whenever a person holds a position which may align with a political party that person is labeled. We (BU) have attracted all the labels out there and we suggest to Yardbroom to soldier on and not be distracted by those who like making statements with no support.

47. Yardbroom; I totally understand your position and I think you are one of the objective posters on this board. imho You are definitely no yard fowl.

David; getting back to your main point above. I agree that it is the DLP St John Constituency that nominates the candidate. However, i think that there are ways and means, mainly by inducements and discussion, for the DLP executive to override any such candidate in the best interests of the party or its Leader. Its walking a tightrope but it could be done. Since the group that wants Mara seems to have been doing their homework with much vigour and the PM seems to be willing to go along, the Mara nomination appears to be a fait accompli.

48. Cuddear Dec 6, 2010 at 6:39 am

Quote: “Yardbroom is just another DLP pimp”
    Pimp: “A man who obtains customers for a prostitute or brothel, in return for a share of the earnings.”

Hi, Cuddear

I am in a position that allows me, no need to seek financial reward or status from either the DLP or BLP. It is difficult for some to believe, that there are people who care for their country, and take political positions without seeking rewards of any kind.. . . yes, there are such people.

I do not know your circumstances and I am not prepared to hazard a guess; but “in your own way” you have a view, which I am sure you think is correct.

49. Hants
    or Dr.GPโ€™s friend Dr.McClean who is likely the best candidate and future PM?
    Future PM? Now I know you mekking sport

50. The selection of a DLP candidate for St. John will be an interesting one, amuse the electorate in the New Year. I think Mara Thompson is a woman of grace and intelligence, but whether now is the time to immerse herself in politics. As men we can take off and do stuff like that, but her kids just lost a loving father, even if he was a chump at governance. She also has a young child of nine. Why in heavens name should she be seriously considering running in politics at this time, unless she always had political ambitions. Were it not for that, I would advise if she likes it go for it.

What is wrong with Verla Depeiza, why should she not have her chance. I guess Sealy and Sinckler would have something to say about that. But from a practical pragmatic position I really think Stuart should secure himself and keep the seat for himself. If I were Stuart, I would make a political calculation and put someone there temporarily and run for the seat myself in the general election.

From the Bees perspective they really only have to have a good showing in St. John, to score a political point, and the papers indicate that they mean to address the campaign from a two-prong consideration bye and general. I will look on and have some fun with this one. It will take my mind off the pain in my pocket; the till in the shop and ignorance of the budget.