Submitted by Yardbroom

Mara Thompson

Irrespective of political allegiance, it cannot  reasonably be denied, that there is a large body of support in Barbados, especially in St John, for our late Prime Minister David Thompson.  I am not suggesting this support is total, as that is most unlikely, or it is deserved or not.  Neither am I insinuating he is being deified or should be.  My stated position is based on a reality that exist, which should be obvious, regardless of party association.  If that support is deserved can be debated, but the purpose of this submission is to look forward to the St John bye-election, rather than look back in the past.

It is not an unreasonable question to ask, why mention David Thompson?  Mara Thompson the proposed DLP candidate, is the widow of David Thompson and at times they canvassed the constituency of St John together, and it was not unknown for her to make personal appearances on his behalf, when he was canvassing in other constituencies.  The background and circumstances of their political linkage, apart from a marriage bond, suggest togetherness.  It is not unreasonable therefore – in context – for him to be mentioned.

Mara Thompson has support in the Parish, evidenced by the vocal public demonstrations for her, however to singularly enter the political ring, could present problems.  These I will address, but I am sure that those responsible for strategy in the DLP would have – or should have – brought those risks to her attention.

As the widow of a much loved Prime Minister, with a loving family, she is almost untouchable.  The circumstances of his death at a relatively early age, and the public outpouring of grief added to public sympathy.  However, as a candidate in a bye-election the situation changes.  You may ask, why?  In a democracy candidates are expected to “contest” a vacant seat.  That means struggle, battle, fight and there will obviously be conflict and disputes.  Providing they are legal, and are not seen as malicious or in poor taste- that is the political arena.

The authority and power allegiances, that were transferred through David Thompson to Mara Thompson, will no longer be there.

It is true DLP stalwarts will rally round, so will others, but in times of discomfort, a knowing “like mind” to discuss personal issues, as in the past, will not be there.. . . that is something only Mara Thompson will know of.  Does that mean she should not contest the seat? No! it does not.  She has as much right as anyone else, and perhaps more than some. . . this is just a balanced exposition of reality.

Although not seeking office, Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley’s shadows will loom over the event in various ways.  Arthur, in seeing how he orchestrates the campaign, and when and how he plays his trump card.  What it is, I do not know, but it would be silly to think an experienced politician like Owen Arthur has not seen a weakness, which he hopes to exploit.  It is how and when he utilizes it, which will determine if it is not counter-productive.

Mia Mottley is in the enviable position of having to do nothing, naturally support the BLP candidate, which is expected, but be circumspect in her utterances, nothing contentious as  if to say: you wanted the crown, now wear it.

Hudson Griffith the BLP candidate is alleged to have put his name forward to contest the seat.  Although superficially it might appear so, it is not a lost cause, for his political future.  His success will be measured, in how he conducts his personal campaign, and the markers he can put down for subsequent operations, with the obvious exposure garnered.

Prime Minister Freundel Stewart Stuart will be watched, this will be his first foray into the red hot furnace of an election, as leader, and most importantly Prime Minister.  He should use this opportunity as a dress rehearsal, for a much bigger battle later.  He can make a few mistakes now, but later in the General Election those will not be easily forgiven.  He must find the “language” to broaden his base support, and reach out to sections of the electorate, who feel marginalised and neglected. . . it can be done.

This bye-election in St John will see a positioning of individuals, despite there being an immediate battle; the pieces are being marked and put in place for the next general election.  Is there still enough tactical awareness and robust stomach for a fight in Owen Arthur?  Can Prime Minister Stewart direct his troops, coalesce them into an impregnable fighting “unit” and broaden his personal support base.  Those are the important questions that will be asked in this bye-election, for although the papers will be marked St John; I am in no doubt the prize being fought for is much greater.

1. The next general election just can’t come soon enough.

2. @Cuddear | December 6, 2010 at 6:39 AM |

You said:- “Yardbroom is just another DLP pimp.”
    Now I think you being a bit rash with such a comment at Yardbroom. I understand that all Yardbroom is doing is stating the pros and cons as for why Mrs. Thompson should or should not accept being nominated to run for the seat. I would like to suggest that you reserve such comments for those such as one “CCC” et al!

3. Enuff | December 5, 2010 at 8:46 PM | @ Adrian Hinds

mi fraid you
    ==================================

Don’t be. People who are afraid, run away and keep away.

4. Yardbroom from previous submissions one gets the sense that you are no fool . For all the disagreements and spin that there is ,there is also a certain level of discourse that makes this site attractive. To you I say, CUDDEAR yardbroom ,why waste your time finding a response to ignorance instead of posting another article , that offers a challenge to us who yearn to learn from others ? As they say “Where ignorance is bliss its folly to be wise”.

5. I meant to say ” I suppose where ignorance is bliss ,its folly to be wise .

6. cuddear
    Yardbroom is no pimp but maybe ya papa is. bitch.

Raw bakes
    de same can be said for de constituency of St.thomas. from Tom time, it was, has been neglected but dem still got a strong hold. wah rong wid you? we had watah issues from de time Adam was a lad n um in get resolv yet. promises, promises n nutton in get do yet bout um. doan get tie up.
    by de way, i luv dah name. Raw bake. murdahhhhhhhhhhh.

Yardbroom
    we all recognize you for the gentleman that you are. doan mind dah scally-way Cuddear. I would barely ‘buse he/she stinkin fa callin you by dah name.

7. @Sargeant,
    I am not mekkin sport.
    Leroy McClean has the potential to be Prime Minister of Barbados.

8. * ‘scally-wah’ not scally-way. LOLLL

9. * stupseeeeeeee, ‘scally-wag’ not scally-wah needa. LOLLLLL( i like i got up de likkers fa Christmas areddy)

10. Barbados Uh Come From Avatar
    Barbados Uh Come From

My beloved country Barbados is a real interesting place. Just saw DLP CBC coverage of the big National Stadium Hennessy Fete, and it was reported that a crowd of over 10,000 attended! Hard to imagine that happening in these tough economic times!!

When P.M. Stuart just a few days ago outlined his vision for Barbados going forward, and he talked about re-ordering our priorities, I wonder if he was also referring to the need for us to let go of the pervasive “fete mentality” that has so gripped Barbados.

With great enthusiasm, CBC devoted a large chunk of Prime Time coverage to the Hennessy fete, even mentioning the expensive brand name outfits seen all over the stadium.
    Gov’t minister Michael Lashley was there in his element, giving great support (clearly he doesn’t share the P.M.’s views) and CBC also highlighted the presence of the BLP”s “old teenager” Cynthi Forde having a ball.

That is their idea of “balanced reporting”

And guess what? St. Vincent’s Opposition Leader Arnie Eustace got some great coverage too, regarding his party’s activities for the up-coming elections there.

But how unfair and disgraceful that our own home-grown respected Former P.M., now Opposition Leader, Hon. Owen Arthur, in very serious address to his St.Peter constituents could not get ONE SECOND of exposure on OUR OWN TV. Among other things, Arthur warned the country about the dangerous over-spending of this government to the extent of PROCURRING MONTHLY LOANS of $50 MILLION to pay current bills!!!

DLP CBC does not stand for CREDIBLE, BALANCED , COMMITTED as they so boldly declare. DLP CBC stands for DEM LIARD PEOPLE with COLOSSAL BULL CRAP.

What a crying shame!

11. The Nation Newspaper today reports that Opposition Leader Owen Arthur has asked Government to set up a special commission to help it fix economic problems.

Wait a cotton-picking-minute! Why does that sound familiar?

Did Mia Mottley not made this call long ago? So if it is now such a good idea, to the extent that it is being echoed by Owen Arthur, why was Mia Mottley ousted?

Let’s call a spade a spade! I have always maintained that Owen Arthur might be an economist but Mia Mottley is bright. It is not difficult to see that she displays pure natural brilliance on a sustained basis – and my comments have nothing to do with gender.

Here is more of what Arthur (the so-called great economic magician) now calls for, according to today‘s Nation newspaper:

Arthur said Government needed to explore options such as “selling something” if it has “a revenue problem and it’s only temporary”.

Wait another minute! On September 29th, did Mia Mottley not say at the BCCI luncheon that the government should mobilise the savings of Barbadians to save Barbados?

Did she not asked what is the difference between the government owning the air or sea port; the Hilton or BNOC or it being owned by Barbadians?

I tend to recall that her speech prompted a senior editor at the Financial Times of London to have said that it will come to be regarded as the best post-independence speech given by any leader of Barbados.

But tell me again, why was Mia Mottley’s ousted as Leader of the Opposition and Political Leader of the BLP, if the so-called economic wizard Owen Arthur, is now merely repeating what she said when she was leading that party?

Now you see why it was so very easy for Owen Arthur to have been D’SKINNED by both PM Stuart and a dynamic Finance Minister Sinckler. It is not as simple as elect Owen Arthur and every Barbadians will suddenly get $1 million in your bank account.

12. Barbados Uh Come From Avatar
    Barbados Uh Come From

The question is Panday ……. Is it that your brain-dead party needs the Opposition’s help or not?

After shouting in Parliament for the last three years, “You were in Government for 14 years … we don’t want to hear nothing from you … you had your time!”

You have now found yourself in a mess through your debilitating mismangement, and the only thing you can do is “d’skin” Arthur, while Barbadians continue to suffer under the weight of increasing taxation and burgeoning cost of living?

Is your ONLY ANSWER this pompous bull-frog approach from a wet-behind-the-ears finance minister, launching ad hominen attack after ad hominen attack on Arthur?

Continue on that path my friend, and see how your way will provide solutions for the calamitous, ruinous state IN WHICH THE dems have placed us.

13. The result in St.John is no forgone conclusion
    There are many dis-satisfied people in St. John

14. Fifty (50) days after the gang of five ousted Mia Mottley as Political Leader of the BLP and Leader of the Opposition, Owen Arthur seem to be finding it impossible to announce a Shadow Cabinet.

Why?

15. YB

You alrite ya know chins up!

16. Barbados Uh Come From Avatar
    Barbados Uh Come From

Panday, you are so pathetic …… uh sorry for you man. You are REPEATEDLY parroting the same old sorry unfounded propaganda, displaying unbelievable naivete, but never able to answer a direct question,

DOES YOUR PARTY REQUIRE HELP FROM OWEN ARTHUR OR ARE YOU CONTENT TO JUST CUSS HIM, DISRESPECT HIM, AND CONTINUE TAKING THIS COUNTRY HEADLONG OVER THE PRECIPICE?

If that is your party’s intention, ring the bell, and let the people decide!

17. Bajan Panday
    I think it is time the DLP and you stop worrying about Owen Arthur, general elections will come and still find you focussing on Arthur and then realise that you have missed the boat. I think it is time our P.M Stuart stop grandstanding and take up some responsibilities, I can understand the late P.M offloading his weight because of his sickness but the new P.M is not being fair to his cabinet ministers by just being Min of Defence and Security, he needs to accept a bigger role.

18. Bajan Panday
    The DLP should mind their own business because if you continue in this vein two sets of people will be minding the BLP’s business and no one will be minding the DLP’s business.

19. JC @ 1:05
    ya in lie. if he din marrid areddy, i would prapoze to ‘e. a real gentleman.

Yardbroom
    Good evening my tweetshart.

20. Hi, JC Dec 7, 2010 at 1:05pm

I am here, just fine, many thanks.
    YB
    Hi, Bonny Peppa
    You’ve got me blushing; I must behave myself.
    YB

21. All the talk you puting down, 50 days after a gang of five ousted Mia Mottley, Owen Arthur cannot even name members to the Public Accounts Committee.

Why?

22. @David | December 6, 2010 at 6:43 AM |

“Whenever a person holds a position which may align with a political party that person is labeled. We (BU) have attracted all the labels out there and we suggest to Yardbroom to soldier on and not be distracted by those who like making statements with no support.”
    ……………………….
    Similarly, the label “Yardfowl”. However, Rawle Eastmond (MP), in his book, has explained that a “Yardfowl” is one who refuses to help him/herself, believes in and depends on handouts from a politician in order to survive. From the statements made by some on this site, it seems that they are not aware, according to Mr. Eastmond, of what a “Yardfowl” really is.
    I have been branded, along with Bajan Panday and my girl Bonny Peppa as “an operative”.Now, we have the term “Pimp” being brought into play. Anyway, I will continue to operate as I open myself up for a name calling attack as well.
    Re: George Owen Arthur Walton Payne.
    On another post, I had asked that readers tell me where the location of the Walton Payne Boulevard was supposed to be. GOAWP gave the answer, which I already knew, in Parliament today; FROM ORANGE HILL TO EAST COAST ROAD !!!!
    At the same time, as the focus is St. John for the By-Election, I digress a bit. GOAWP is asking about the expansion/completion of the road from Lancaster through Orange Hill. Would someone please tell him to go up to Orange Hill and replace the linemarks which disappeared, without landowners knowledge, when the road madness was started during his term as Minister? Would someone please ask him to have the linemarks replaced …which were dug up and not replaced, when BWA, under his portfolio, put down new water mains? Would someone please ask GOAWP to say for how many years the exposed iron stakes have been left by the left side of the road as you drive up to Orange Hill? Furthermore, who was to open the Service Station at the corner of Lancaster where the housing development has started?
    I am not blaming anyone, but simply asking to take the responsibility for the things covered up and …FOR ONCE….try to be “honest”. Oh boy! Telling some politicians to be “honest” is going to be seen as another negative term!

23. Now if George Payne pull up the people line marks in Orange Hill, he should be made to put every single one back forthwith. If he also left iron stakes exposed by the side of the road in Orange Hill, he should be made to conceal them forthwith.
    Let the putting back and concealing run concurrent. It is so order.

Now how hard was that, next thing wunna gine want Nelson turn back round.

24. On the St John bye-election matter. Does anyone else think that the DLP’s waiting for so long to name a candidate for that seat, in addition to being a possible sign of intransigence, could be construed, at best, as taking the voters in St John for granted or, at worse, as showing some disrespect and perhaps contempt for them?

25. The people of St John have for years accepted anything (or to be honest, nothing) from the DLP for years.

Some years ago, I was at a meeting when Pat Thorington was speaking, a young lady said….” you could talk all you want, we aint voting for yuh”. A man nearby said, “you all have been voting for the DLP all these years and they have done nothing for this parish, you dont have jobs and when the rain falls, you have to walk with two pairs of shoes”. The young lady replied… ” as long as there got men, we dont need work and and wuh wrong with walking with two pairs of shoes, we like it so.”

Need I say more about the mentality of some in St. John?

26. Prodigal
    you evva hare bout a parish/perish call Sin Tomas? well aaightttttttt den.
    Sin Jon-DLP die hards
    Sin Tomas-BLP die hards
    so wah you gettin on sa ‘scrawl-up’ fah. you cannnnnnnnnnn change um ya idjit.
    Gerrymandering is de onlies ting dat cud change dah. LOLLL

27. St John people are a playing their role
    Life is a stage
    We all play our roles and if it falls to St. John people to play that role, by all means go ahead. It must be an inspiration to somebody.
    St. John people got nature, clean breezes, fresh air and natural foods -natural living and redlegs. They like it so !

28. KISSMYA
    ‘Redlegs’
    Looka, leff my fam’blee hare? dem troubl you?
    YULETIDE GREETINS ta ya good self. ya jail-bird. (LOL)

29. Anti-Pontificat Avatar

@Pontificat | December 9, 2010 at 3:54 PM |
    “Mara Thompson is the declared DLP candidate for St. John.
    Alas…we are assured of continued solid representation in the parish of ” Prime Ministers “”

Pontificat, the word “Alas” is an expression of grief, pity and concern, and some people even use it in place of “unfortunately”. Would you clarify your statement?

30. David;

Where is the “pontificat” statement?
    Has Mara THompson’s candidature been officially declared?

31. @checkit-out

Everyday BU is spammed by someone who is known to us. The comment to which you refer we believe is one such comment.

32. David,

Where is the pontificat posting ? What was really said ? Was it libelous or prejudiicial to Mrs. Thompson ?

33. The Spammer who BU has labelled Dave ‘no-balls’ Speller indicated Mara Thompson was declared the DLP candidate.

34. Anti Pontificat
    “Alas” can also be used as an exclamation of surprise. Pontificat is using it as an exhaultation/elation. I could be wrong,as usual.

35. Pancreatic cancer tumours take more than a decade to develop, study shows
    December 10, 2010
    Comments on this story (0)
    NICOLE BAUTE
    LIVING REPORTER

At first, even the researchers couldn’t believe the findings.
    Christine Iacobuzio-Donahue, a professor at The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, was shocked to discover that pancreatic cancer develops slowly, over the course of at least 15 years. Pancreatic cancer, the fourth biggest cancer killer in Canada, has a reputation as an aggressive disease that spreads early.
    But by studying tissue from seven recently-deceased pancreatic cancer patients, she and her colleagues pieced together a timeline nobody expected: It took at least a decade for the first cancer-causing mutations to turn into cancer cells, then at least five years for the single cells to turn into plum-sized tumours and spread to other organs.
    The patients died an average of two and a half years after that.
    “When we realized the time estimates were that long . . . we were going back and reanalyzing the data, doing all sorts of things because we kept thinking this has to be a mistake,” says Iacobuzio-Donahue, an associate professor of pathology, oncology and surgery. In the end they decide it definitely was not, publishing their findings in a recent issue of Nature.
    People rarely find out they have pancreatic cancer before they start to show symptoms, and by the time they become jaundiced or experience back or abdominal pain, it is usually too late. Only 15 to 20 per cent of people diagnosed with pancreatic cancer survive a year past diagnosis, according to Pancreatic Cancer Canada. And just 6 per cent make it to five years.
    Iacobuzio-Donahue says they now know that pancreatic cancer grows very slowly, similar to colon or breast cancer. “It’s not that it’s so aggressive, it’s more so that people are diagnosed very late in the very long time that the tumour is growing.”
    The paper has renewed optimism around early detection and screening. Currently, people with a family history of pancreatic cancer or with genetic mutations known to cause the disease can be screened, but success has been limited.
    Steven Gallinger, a surgical oncologist with Toronto’s University Health Network, says better imaging technology is needed to catch tumours when they are very small. “We need either a radiologic test that will pick up tiny tumours, meaning only a millimetre or two, or a blood test that would pick up cancer at a very early stage, and we don’t have either,” he says. “That’s where a lot of the research is underway now.”
    Last month, Pancreatic Cancer Canada donated $100,000 to University Health Network for early detection research.
    Masoom Haider, head of abdominal MRI at the University Health Network, has been working with Gallinger to screen people at high risk for the past seven years. So far they have only caught two cases and, Haider says, “I don’t think that we found them early enough.”
    But Haider is developing higher-resolution MRI technology that would detect tumours at an earlier stage, hopefully before they metastasize and the cancer spreads. He says it would be expensive and inefficient to perform regular MRIs on everyone at risk and that first using a blood test to identify people with pancreatic cancer biomarkers would be ideal.
    Iacobuzio-Donahue says the general public could one day be screened for pancreatic cancer, beginning at a certain age, possibly 50. Such a program would ideally start with a blood test to look for key indicators such as mutations in the K-Ras gene, which 98 per cent of pancreatic cancer patients have.
    Individuals with the K-Ras mutation are likely to develop colon, lung or pancreatic cancer, which could be ruled out one by one with colonoscopies, chest x-rays and ultrasounds, respectively.
    The research has also excited people like Francilla Charles, who battled and won two bouts of pancreatic cancer, the first in 1997 and the second in 2006, when she had her entire pancreas removed, making her instantly diabetic.
    At age 65, she is cancer-free and working full-time in the human resources department at the University of Toronto. Her 13-year survival is incredibly rare.
    This October, she volunteered at Pancreatic Cancer Canada’s booth at the Zoomer Show, where she was peppered with questions about screening.
    “That’s the question that I got asked the most,” she says. “Is there a test? How do you know if you have it? How can you tell?”

36. mah up & buy back Avatar

Is this david ‘no balls’ speller -the person known as david speiling from the pottery place?

If so why is he spamming Barbados Underground.

37. @mash up

Have no idea but what is known is that the fervor with which religious matters are discussed on BU continues to piss of a few people, especially Jews!

38. Given that the political strategist accredited with masterminding the last election is reportedly not around it will be interesting to see how the by-election strategy plays out in St.John.

Also we should recognize the by-election will be analyzed for trends which may be used to test the political temperature even though a slam dunk for the DLP.

@checkit

Do you believe if Mara is declared candidate that the BLP can risk being overly aggressive?

39. @ David | December 13, 2010 at 2:19 PM |

Over aggressive? No!
    But I think the BLP has little choice but to be aggressive re. David Thompson and his stewardship in the Country in general as well as in St John in particular.

A putative Mara candidacy might elicit a greater quantum of aggressiveness than would some other candidacy. Hence, the lateness of the disclosure of the DLP candidate might be seen as being strategic in such instance.

40. David; I forgot to add above that you said “Also we should recognize the by-election will be analyzed for trends which may be used to test the political temperature even though a slam dunk for the DLP”

All the more reason to have a normal bye-election untrammelled by such strategems as witholding the name of the selected candidate for as long as possible. If you want to see trends and prepare for them in a general election and you have the luxury of a very safe bye election as the weather cock, why do something that might limit the opposition in disclosing its ammunition?

I think it is pure procrastination not strategy on the part of the PM and the DLP. After all, the BLP strategists can decide what information it will hold to its chest for use in the general election, given that St John is a safe seat for the DLP.