Grade I winner Bribon is one of the leading contenders for the Barbados Gold Cup. Order This Photo Photo: Coglianese Photos

This coming Saturday is Gold Cup day in Barbados. The BU household remember the excitement which use to surround this race in the 80s. Do you remember Bold Lewis the horse to win the very first gold cup in 1982? What about Iron Lover from Martinique and Tinkerโ€™s Image who gave Barbados its first win in 1984. The days leading up to the race created much excitement as gold cup fever would grip the island back then. The interesting thing was it did not matter whether you were a horse racing fan or not, you found yourself caught up in the excitement and on the Garrison Savannah come gold cup day.

In recent years the the race has slipped in appeal for one reason or the other. The Barbados Turf Club (BTC) has responsibility for horse racing in Barbados but hasย  had to navigate a rough financial patch in recent years. It is reported to be an industry which employs directly and indirectly 3000 people. It might explain why the David Thompson government forgave 19 million dollars in debt within the first year of assuming office. It is a decision which is still challenged by some because of the wealthy personages who are involved in the industry and manage the BTC. Why couldnโ€™t they reach into their deep pockets to help the BTC at its time of greatest need?

We are told the field entered for this 29th gold cup is one of the best ever. Although there is no horse slated to run from the region, Barbadians will be treated to some graded horses out of the USA and Canada. Barbadosโ€™ resident Canadian billionaire Eugene Melnyk has tongues wagging with his entry Sterwins who will be partnered by Barbadian Patrick Husbands, the perennial Canadian champion. Whether last yearโ€™s winner Daylight Express can repeat has added to the excitement. Whoever wins the race will cash in $200,000 dollars, not a bad pay day!

Come Saturday BU expect the Garrison Savannah will be the place to be. Our beleaguered tourist industry can use all the help it can get from the international exposure which the gold cup is reputed to generate.ย  The race has been picked up be ESPN in the past and the local radio will broadcast for all to follow.

Although the race will run in the shadow of suspected doping case of last yearโ€™s favourite Apostle, the subject of an ongoing court case, the excitement is rising.

160 responses to “Excitement Comes back To The Sandy Lane Gold Cup”

1. I know it has left a sour taste, I just think it is unfortunate.

2. We in the PDC must quickly write a few telling words in response to some commenters who have – under this thread -been clearly thinking erroneously and illogically that the Barbados Turf Club (BTC) had otherwise been owing or had owed the government an alleged BDS $ 19 million – up to some point in time when this ossie moore DLP Government forgave this debt and so on and so on, and that even now it should or should NOT have been forgiven by the government.

But, let us out front state that we hold NO brief whatsoever for the BTC or any of its directors, managers, or associates, and state too that we have NO political or financial interest whatsoever in any thing concerning this organization.

Furthermore, let us state too that there is NO MORAL LEGAL OR POLITICAL basis sufficient still to make us support or NOT support this government’s decision.

Anyhow, let us reproduce a little information we saw a couple days ago on wikipedia.com ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/taxation) for general consumption too.

“TO TAX ( from the Latin word taxo, “I estimate”, which in turn is from tango, “I touch” ) is to impose a financial charge or any levy upon a TAX PAYER ( an individual or legal entity ) by a state or the functonal equivalent of a state such that failure to pay is punishable by law.”

“A TAX may be defined as a pecuniary burden laid upon individuals or property owners to support the government – a payment exacted by legislative authority.”

“A tax is NOT a voluntary payment or donation but an enforced contribution exacted pursuant to legislative authority and is imposed by government whether under the name of toll, tribute, gabel, impost, custom, excise, subsidy, aid, supply or other name.”

Because payment of TAX is compulsory and enforced by the legal system, some political philosophers view TAXATION as THEFT ( or a violation of property rights ) or tyranny, accusing the government of levying via force or coercive means”.

Notwithstanding some illogical contradictory elements of thinking informing some of the terms and phrases contained in the above definitional frameworks – like those of using the term TAXPAYER when although this information states that TAXATION is an imposed burden – like those of using the term PAYMENT of TAXES yet when it is made clear therein that TAXATION is THEFT ( OUR CAPITALS FOR EMPHASIS ), we still see the benefit of using some of this information as a basis for helping let many commenters on BU properly understand ( well, those who have NOT as yet understood)the following points with regard to this BTC/Government TAXATION issue: –

1) That TAXATION is theft – a crime by any one – barring none – and that there are various types of thefts, and that any attempts or conspiracies by any one to do so are also crimes.

2) That this alleged BDS $19 million constituted – at some points in time before it was said to have been stopped by the same foolish government – an attempt and/or conspiracy by this government TO STEAL such an amount of income/property from the BTC ( NO DOUBT THIS EXPERIENCE IS SHARED BY SO MANY MANY PEOPLE, OTHER BUSINESSES AND OTHER ENTITIES ON A DAILY BASIS IN BARBADOS).

3) That having regard to (2) there was no way possible in which this alleged BDS $ 19 million could therefore have been seen as a debt that has been owed to the government. The government CANNOT OR CANNOT REASONABLY impose a duty on anybody to do anything ( to hand over this alleged BDS $ 19 million ) in circumstances which its actions are or have been clearly wrong and illegal – the government would have attempting to and conspiring to steal this alleged BDS $ 19 million from the BTC, and this is wrong and illegal. Also, there is no possible case of a debt having been forgiven, since a governmental discretion related to such a decision to no longer steal this money or property CANNOT OR CANNOT BE REASONABLY EXERCISED BY THE GOVERNMENT IN RELATIONSHIP TO SUCH CRIMINAL ACTS ( No doubt the government has been attempting to perform these acts of immorality and illegality (including the improper use of discretion on TAXATION )on thousands upon thousands of citizens and others of this country on a daily basis).

In this case, the BTC, and in those many other cases, those TAX victims in Barbados – who altogether have been adversely affected and continue to be adversely affected by the thieving TAXATION attempts, conspiracies, actions of government – owe NOT ONE RED CENT to the government – NOT ONE RED CENT!!

4) That as a result of that BTC affair and that as a result of these continuing TAXATION attempts and actions by the government, court action should be now contemplated by very serious political people in Barbados with a view of challenging the unconstitutionality of the constitution of Barbados to uphold the basic and fundamental laws of this land and to abide by the rule of law.

For, there is no proper legitimate constitutionalism in a country – other than it is founded on the law of the jungle or founded on the attitude that might is right – that, on one hand, could give or gives powers to the government for it to arrest, prosecute, and punish, if convicted in an impartial court, individuals or others in this country for stealing or attempting to steal conspiring to steal, and, on the other hand, at the same time, could be, or allows the government to be stealing, attempting or conspiring to steal from individuals and others in this country. NONE AT ALL.

So, there could NOT be a better time than for now – rather than observing many Barbadians engaging in useless futile sterile arguments on this BTC Taxation affair – than for them to be using many of these same experiences at the hands of this wicked TAXATION system in Barbados and those TAX related ones garnered elsewhere, and informational outlets, particularly those against it, on TAXATION, here and elsewhere, as a political legal basis for properly getting more informed about the evil nature, causes and effects of TAXATION – not only here in Barbados but elsewhere, and then for many of those persons to help take serious steps – biblically, ethically, legally, politically, and otherwise, towards building an entire movement against TAXATION in this country and elsewhere, and with a view to helping to remove a system that is more and more destroying many aspects of the affairs of our country and others.

How many people on here know that in Somalia there is the XEER legal system – which dates back to centuries – that does NOT approve of and that therefore outlaws TAXATION under its jurisdiction? How many? And here we are looking at the correct principles moral and legal and political principles of such a legal system and NOT so much the quality of government of the society or the country itself!! ( See Wikipedia.com)

For, we must NOT leave it to future generations in Barbados and elsewhere to fight or bring a case, or cases, against this big chunk of evil against humanity. We must start the ball rolling now!! Nor can “we” wait until that time when there is no legal or political bases upon which to fight this evil scourge (say, when the political state evolves into some thing else, or say, for some set of injudicious set of persons in the future to say, hey, “but TAXPAYERS consented to TAXATION”), then to start seriously fighting it and then expecting to win!!

Just like how the case for reparations for many millions of our forbears, who would have suffered horribly at the hands of European enslavers, is now fraught with there having been no legal basis established as yet upon which to successfully claim reparations. WE ARE NOT SAYING THAT THERE STILL CANNOT BE SUCH A CASE THOUGH IN THE FUTURE FOR WHAT THERE REALLY MAINLY HAS TO BE IS AN INTERNATIONAL POLITICAL BASIS BROUGHT INTO EXISTENCE BY THE UNITED NATIONS, OR HELD UNDER ITS AUSPICES, FIRST, THEN FOR A INTERNATIONAL LEGAL TREATY TO BE ESTABLISHED PROVIDING FOR SUCH REPARATIONS – OTHERWISE THE PROCESS FOR GETTING REPARATIONS FROM THOSE WHO BENEFITTED IS HIGHLY FLAWED).

So, even though immorality of the sort that TAXATION is will continue to be that and more throughout generations we have got to look at the current illegality of it as a basis for fighting against it and these consonant wicked state actions NOW and we must therefore start to do so now in this country. So, there you have it.

WE OBLIGE.

3. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

CONGRATULATIONS To Patrick Husbands – The Boss.

What A Race!

Sorry CBC could not afford to do the race live.

4. The way these fat cats minds worked this government was very cunning.They had no intention absolutely none of repaying the debt because the knew they were holding the trump card and the government had no alternative but to forgive the debt. Ok the debt isnot forgiven they’ll pack up and leave. If I were the government I would have let them go. Believe you me some other rich fat cats would have come and make full use of the premises.There is always another rich person with different and better ideas waiting to make another dollar.There is a saying “One persons junk is another persons treasures. This government was too weak and buckle under the pressure and explotation of the BTC.

5. @all

We have given a lot of thought to the decision by Thompson to forgive the debt of the BTC, some 19 million dollars. Despite the best arguments by Racing Fan there is the lingering doubt that there was/is more to the decision. Could it be that because some very rich people are involved in horse racing in Barbados and with testing economic times looming, for our government to be on friendly terms with these people with deep pockets is a plus? Our prime minister has been big on philanthropy.

6. David
    You hit the nail on the head. It is not only this Government but all prior Governments who make sure to sing in the “rich and powerful’ choir. However, it is the weak government who jumps in the pool only to realise the pool was drained. Race Fan is trying extremely hard to justify the 19 mil, and will try to substantiate any doubts in people’s minds, but I will back BT’s submission……..

……”They have been allowed to run a gambling operation since time immemorial raking in millionsโ€ฆ.

You would think that perhaps the Garrison would be maintained in pristine conditionโ€ฆ.

Until Race Fan can come and tell the BU family where the money gone, we will continue to have our doubts.

7. Patrick Husbands has made his contribution to Barbados again.

He is one of the best jockeys Barbados has produced and his fame
    and fortune in Canada helps promote Barbados.

8. Rihanna bringing fame to Barbados and the music industry ain’t gettin’ one blind cent and still have to pay taxes along wIth COSCAP. So forget your excuses buddy

9. One thing i know is never underestimate the power of the fat cats.The have enough lawyers to show them how to play the game unlike the poor working stiff who can’t afford high power we have to pay or go to jail and more.Like i say thy had absolutely no intentions of paying the debt .The proof is in letting the debt accumulate for that ungoldy lenght of time.

10. Interesting points all,

So can we also ask all of the members of the BCA to fork up for the few hundred million spent on Kensington? After all, Kensington employs no one or very few and the average Barbadian gets nothing from it.

In fact, as per your arguments, no monies should be spent from Government coffers on any sport, especially, as the BTC actually employs people permanently, the others employ no one or very few. So their argument is that much weaker.

As ‘Racefan’ noted, while it is a fact of the multitude of employees of the BTC and other companies benefiting from racing, a few people come on here to express their personal animosity by innuendo and slur.

Do not take my word for it, you are fre to go to the racetrack and ask various perons whether they work there, how long etc. Go to the feed companies and ask if they sell food to horseowners. Go to the verterinarians and ask if they treat racehorses.

It is free and open. Go and ask.

But we know that you would rather come on here and gripe,rather than approach the matter with objectivity.

Just because you dislike the wealthy.

Admit it.

I am certainly not wealthy, but can approach things objectively and have nothing aginst the likes of Melnyck, Smith and Seale, who do much for Barbados, incomparable.

Lastly, yes, whether you minds like it or not, the BTC provides jobs.

It is obvious that few of you can even understand business and organisation, let alone the ….that barbados is in right now.

Be thankful, rather than always looking for the worst.

After all, truth be told, if you really want it, racing can move to T&T.

Then T&T will get the benefit.

But, thankfully not all of Barbados thinks like you, judging by the multitudes at the racetrack on Saturday.

A wonderful race, thanks again Sandy Lane!!!

11. @Racefan
    It is decision that is politically dangerous as can be seen by the easy way it is to throw mud at the โ€œelitesโ€ because people conflate the club members with rich horse owners.

However the critics do not offer any solutions, just throw mud.

———————————-

PM Thompson has, with various decisions,exhibited either great clarity of thought or reliance on very good analysis.

I suspect both. He is proving to be a PM with statesmanship qualities.

He is not afraid to make the difficult decisions, THAT should tell you where he is coming from.

On the second point, do you really expect a balanced argument from the critics on this topic? Mud is easy, relies on innuendo, rumour and emotion, with little or no analysis or commonsense. As you say, that is all that has come forth in response to your explanations, replies but vitriol without any analysis.

Pretty damning evidence of where they are coming from.

But by far the most shocking thing said here (By commenter Bush Tea) is ’employing the lowest level of people in the lowest form of employment’ !!!

‘Lowest level of people’???

Check yourself, Sir!

So, as I noted previously, not everyone can go to the Polytechnic, does that make them ‘low’?

Bush Tea’s comment is so offensive. But thanks for the clear indication of from whence you are coming.

12. But, as least we, with some broughtupsy, with neither abuse nor vitriol, will thank ‘Bush Tea’ for taking the time out from his afternoon ‘brandy’ to deign and put his words to ‘paper’ for us.

13. Hey guys, for those who have not seen it as yet….

14. I must say though, I really miss Bertie’s commentating, this guy is just too dry…lol.

15. @Techie

You gotta do double duty put that on sports Corner

16. Sorry, should be *commentary* before the language police come for me ….lol.

17. Will do ac.

18. Hi Tech
    Thanks for video of the race. Check in the early commentary when he said “……and the last one is Sterwin as expected”.
    Wonder if he ate the mike when Sterwin thundered to the front. Yuh buddy from next door say ‘ello. The lady in your life must be growing at a fast pace. Gimme a call.

19. But you done know Bowmile is a champion…made a few bucks on him too, so we can have some drinks when I return..lol…enough said ok.

20. @Techie

You a good guy .Thanks alot.

21. @Tell me Why,

“and the last one is Sterwin as expected”

Patrick is one of the best. He likes to be at
    the back of the pack and is brilliant at timing
    his move to the front.

22. @ ac..

No problem, anything for the BU family.

23. I have to agree with those who say that Thompson is unorthodox. But I can see down the road with him.

The BTC write-off, though unpopular, was eminently sensible and reasonable in the circumstances. Without racing, thousands of young Barbadians would not have jobs. And the horse-racing industry can employ more.

Look at what is happening with Polo – another sport Thompson has pushed and identified with. That is the sport that will bring South Americans here – Argentina, Chile, Brazil, Colombia.

Despite advice that we could not afford it, Thompson forged ahead with the establishment of Embassies in China and Brazil – the two economies that will be critical to our success coming out of the recession.

I have to give Jack his jacket.

As to the other David, I think you have met your match here with Race Fan and you are losing this battle!

24. Have you heard about “who have eyes let them see”. Well Albert, you might be seeing something that we ain’t seeing. Probably a collection of the elitist games…..horse racing, polo. How about some road tennis and dominoes support or you can’t party with the poor.

You feel Race Fan can have pins with BU David? Nooooooosireeeeee

25. Tell Me Why, don’t be silly!

We are not talking about liming. I don’t think anyone can accuse Prime Minister David Thompson of being an elitist. I would say the opposite … he is a little too down-to-earth at times. So because he goes to horse-racing or polo doesn’t mean anything.

Does dominoes as a game employ that many people? Do people pay to see road tennis? Would they fly in from Brazil to do so? Is either an industry?

If we are serious, we are serious. And I dont have to pander to David. Race Fan is spot on in my view.

The point is that this Prime Minister does take tough decisions and does not avoid them, ignore or delay them. The BWA increase is one example. The adjustment in fuel prices – though unpopular – has avoided a substantial debt around the necks of our children.

Barbados’ future depends on that. I done.

26. @David

“Despite the best arguments by Racing Fan there is the lingering doubt that there was/is more to the decision”

Very disappointed to see that you have joined the group throwing out innuendos. Any facts?

TMW says ;

“but I will back BTโ€™s submissionโ€ฆโ€ฆ..
    โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€They have been allowed to run a gambling operation since time immemorial raking in millionsโ€ฆ.”

He is “backing” an innuendo without a shred of evidence. Hilarious.

When I posit the evidence against the claim; the audited accounts which are not secret, it is conveniently dismissed as “doctored”

If Price Waterhouse Coopers is doctoring the accounts of a club then we got bigger issues than the turf club. Shame they not know how to “doctor” the accounts for the Bank ! Again, reasoning going the other way is not considered.

TMW said that I “keep saying” that 3,000 are employed and ac says I keep “repeating” that it is saving jobs when the fact is that I offered neither as the key reason for the write off. Did you actually read the reasons or because your minds are firmly made up it does not matter?

Then there was this priceless gem from ac

“Ok the debt isnot forgiven theyโ€™ll pack up and leave. If I were the government I would have let them go. ”

NO SUCH ULTIMATUM WAS EVER MADE TO ANY GOVERNMENT.

IT IS A LIE TO MAKE SUCH A CLAIM.

Yes David, maybe there was something “more” but maybe the more was the fact that some of the “fat cats” find Barbados a good place to invest and live because there are the kinds of activities they like and run at a high level. Maybe this makes a difference to them over say St Lucia, Grenada or Antigua. Maybe racing is just one small part of what makes the Barbados brand a little more attractive.

This Gold Cup saw two world class horses from USA and Canada. The winner from Canada was second in their equivalent of the Derby. We had three world class jocks ride and Melnyk and Smith are Global powerhouses in the horse racing scene.

And guess what ? our Barbados bred and Derby winner was just 4 horse lengths behind one of the best horses racing in Canada. That is a remarkable achievement.

Of course only BT knows world class horse racing so we better defer to him.

Barbados has produced the champion jockey of Canada. Again a remarkable achievement. The man is a multi millionaire.

Hundreds of Barbadians make an excellent living at Woodbine in Canada. They do so because Woodbine is one of the worlds leading racing centres and so income is high. They learn their trade right here in Barbados.

I will reiterate Thompson is many thing but he is no fool. We elect leaders but when they take a politcally unpalatable decsion all kinds of innuendo are thrown. Suddenly BT, ac and TMW are the experts. No one can “dupe” them unlike Thompson, apparently easy to dupe. Tell me is Thompson an idiot? or is he corrupt?

Is it possible that he looked at it carefully and made a good call?

Perhaps we have a unavoidable need for politicians to pander to our emotions and prejudices.

If we cannot get over that then I guess we will get the leaders we deserve.

27. @Race Fan

Maybe the doubt which lingers has to do with despite your articulate defence of the decision to write off 19 million dollars of Barbadian tax payers dollars, and given your obvious connection to the industry, you have been unable to tell us if the Thompson decision was supported by a proposal/business plan from the BTC. If the write-off was done on the stroke of a pen say so.

28. Thompson maynot be an idiot. But he sure as hell doesn’t know how to play the game the way the fat cats do. AS far as my senario in which you referenced .Remember you asked for alternativesand yes i believe the garrison would have survived .

29. The coverage of the Gold Cup on CBC/TV was the worst ever.No wonder they couldn’t give the public live.

30. @David,

You asked about a very specific document. Fearful of giving other than facts, and because I am not privy to seeing details of such documents, I cannot give you an unequivocal answer.

I can however, tell you that it was not “the stroke of a pen”. I believe cabinet had to approve, if not parliament. (Worth checking, I believe in fact parliament was needed). I do not recall the public objections of any cabinet member.

I can tell you that it had been pleaded with Governments for years and numerous documents have passed and numerous meetings were held over the years. This was no quick decision by anyone.

I can tell you that bank funding is dependent on supporting docs. You have asked if specific docs exist, is it unreasonable to infer that strong supporting documentation must exist?

It is in the public forum the proposed investment in lighting. The BTC has made it public that contracts have been signed. Night racing has been proposed for about 10 years or more, is it just coincidence that contracts have followed the write off or is what I have told you with some merit?

I have put my case and I believe it is completely consistent with information in the public. I have suggested that it is none other than a good call by a Prime Minister who has given us no reason not to trust him.

The rebuttal is just innuendo.

31. Race Fan
    Do you accept that with the hundreds of millions of outstanding taxes and Vat outstanding to Government, there will be dozens of other organizations and individuals who will have equally strong cases for write-off? Some of these also make equally important national contributions, employ people, and need support.

Having created this $19m precedent how easy do you think it will be for the Government to collect these outstanding taxes? How will Government now be morally positioned to bring strong measures against a local company which may have suffered from a cash flow issue and defaulted on taxes or vat payments?

Your narrow defense of your sport is admirable, but the PM is charged with a higher responsibility to the Country than just your sport.

You asked about other possible options???

Why could the BTC/Government not seek to convert the debt into equity in the BTC? Such an approach could have left more options available in dealing with other defaulters while addressing the BTC challenges.

Don’t you think?

32. TMW says ;

โ€œbut I will back BTโ€™s submissionโ€ฆโ€ฆ..
    โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€They have been allowed to run a gambling operation since time immemorial raking in millionsโ€ฆ.โ€

He is โ€œbackingโ€ an innuendo without a shred of evidence. Hilarious.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Come on RC. Where is the innuendo my friend. Millions of dollars would have pass through the various lotteries and instant games organised by the BTC. The problem might be the amount of payments made to winners, the amount of utilities paid, the amount of maintenance paid, the amount of salaries paid, the amount of directors fees paid, the amount of taxes paid and ain’t paid. Race Fan you tink I am anti-government, but I am pro realist who will like you to answer one question. If the BTC owed 19 million in taxes, do tell us the true amount BTC would have received that will cost such a big percentage of earnings owed? …….and you talking about innuendo.

33. @BT

“Why could the BTC/Government not seek to convert the debt into equity in the BTC”

???

The Government already owns the Garrison, ie the asset. Therefore “equity” in the BTC would only give it ownership rights in what it already owns.

The BTC is a club without shareholding i.e without equity.

Your general point about other potential write offs is valid. As I said earlier, if Government developed a policy to assist companies moving forward which were hamstrung because of a debt to Government, such a policy would likely make sense.

34. @TMW

“Where is the innuendo my friend”

I suggest you look up the meaning of the word ‘innuendo’. While there with your dictionary, check out the meaning of ‘Irony’. Then read your post again !

Your question……

“If the BTC owed 19 million in taxes, do tell us the true amount BTC would have received that will cost such a big percentage of earnings owed?”

???????

Try asking that again?

35. @BT,

While I reiterate the point that a general policy about debt held by companies with a investment opportunity could make economic sense it is still important to make the distinction between private ‘for profit’ entities owing vat, corp tax etc made on profits and entities such as the BTC which are non commercial entities who in the case of the BTC exists to facilitate a sport and not for profit. Remember the taxes the BTC owed were NOT levied on corporate profits.

Entities like the BTC or BCA or other non commercial bodies will always likely be subject to a different approach than straight forward commercial for profit businesses.

Having said that certain commercial businesses considered vital to the economy have been treated differently and the prime example is the heavily indebted plantations now managed by the Government but were never foreclosed upon.

36. @TMW

By the way, to the best of my knowledge the BTC has never had “various lotteries”, just the one and they have never had “instant games”.

The funding of a sport like horse racing is significantly greater than other sports. Apart from the fact that professionals actually make a living in the sport; vets, jocks, trainers grooms etc and so the sport must generate enough funds to pay these people a living wage, the horse population of about 1000 horses maybe, (breed and racing stock) needs to be fed.

In which sports in Barbados do people actually make a year round living without leaving the country ?

So unlike a few sports I wont name, the BTC has from time immemorial got off its a$$ and sourced outside funding and today is no different with the lottery.

So can we contrast the BTC as a sport which generates outside funds and is a NET contributor of ITS OWN TAX.

The tax that has been waived IS NOT LEVIED ON ANY OTHER SPORT in the first place !

Other just sit and whine and demand Government hand outs.

37. RACE FAN
    You used the word ‘innuendo’ in relation to my defending BT. You went further stating other bloggers persist in ‘throwing out innuendoes’. To my recollection ‘innuendo” is an indirect or subtle reference, esp one made maliciously or indicating criticism or disapproval; insinuation. We are saying the facts are 19 million in taxes written off is wrong.
    I am saying again, if someone owes 19 million in taxes he/she/they would have to be making over 19 million. By the way what ‘irony’ have to do with innuendo, probably, it is your admission of your own ignorance and willingness to admit your mistake in defending the rationale of the 19 million write-off.

38. @TMW

“if someone owes 19 million in taxes he/she/they would have to be making over 19 million. ”

No they would not.

The tax paid by the BTC is on gross revenue, they can make a loss and have tax due

The debt includes interest and penalties. No revenue or profit needs to be earned for those to be added.

Did you ever suffer a head injury or you just naturally this way?

PS, let the dictionary help your “recollection” and the irony, well that is “to do” with what you wrote.

( I guess if you knew what it meant you might have realised that)

39. “By the way what โ€˜ironyโ€™ have to do with innuendo, probably, it is your admission of your own ignorance and willingness to admit your mistake in defending the rationale of the 19 million write-off.”

Priceless.

40. The tax that has been waived IS NOT LEVIED ON ANY OTHER SPORT in the first place !
    I ain’t made any insinuation to the fact above, you are the first person talking about levy on any sports. You are well versed on implying statements that were never made.

41. Try looking up the meaning of “levied” as well.

42. @RF

Let us stop nitpicking. The BU family is a reasonable bunch. Get us the proposal/businesscase which supportrd the request for the write off. If what you say is true it should satisfy some of us on the merits of Thompson’s decision.

43. โ€œif someone owes 19 million in taxes he/she/they would have to be making over 19 million. โ€

No they would not.

The tax paid by the BTC is on gross revenue, they can make a loss and have tax due
    You are contradicting yourself my friend. Yu would have realised I never mentioned gross or nett revenue. However, you admit BTC makes millions in gaming.
    BTW, after the write-off please let us know if the taxes are up to date. Goodnight my friend, you deserve your salary.

44. @David,

I wont be able to get you a copy of the document(s) but I will get some more specifics on what was submitted to the PM and more details on the meeting(s) held.

I know the BU family is a reasonable bunch and I have written so much on the subject because I value the feedback

I believe the BTC has a convincing case so they should not be shy to defend it.

We have heard from both sides with support from Friendly and Albert. All credit to the blog.

45. Try looking up the meaning of โ€œleviedโ€ as well.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Tell others the true meanings. We are talking about taxes and ‘levied’ ‘levy’ ‘levies’ all mean the same “financial liabilities (such as a tax); “the charges against the estate or an institution or even the BTC” I dumb brudda

46. @RF

On another note. The popular Market Vendor character on Voice of Barbados reported that Eugene held a big party for the who is who of Barbados and prominent racing to celebrate the big race. Were you invited? If so please give us some feedback on the experience. If you were not there maybe you can still give us some info.

47. @David,

No I was not invited. LOL

Eugene always holds a party after having a runner in the Gold Cup. I think it is more a who’s who of Barbados than a who’s who of racing.

I dont anything too exciting happened at the party because I would have heard from the racing people that were there.

48. @David
    in arecent interview i heard chally Jones criticising Husbands after wining party behaviour.

49. @RF

It is the comfort with which Eugene et al can have these extravagant parties while participating in a sport which had to be bailed out by a pressured government.

You commented on the fact the sport of horse racing is an employer which people rely on for their livelihood. Not sure if it is a good analogy because businesses have been dipping into their cash to keep people employed (check central bank statistics or the recent Arthur speech at the UWI). The knowledge that the horse racing sport has millionaires and billionaires involved in the sport as stated before leaves a bitter taste in the month of taxpayers. This is the key difference between the sport of kings and all other employers.

50. @David,

Why must you insist on conflating a participant in the sport with the entity who organises the sport?

Eugene uses sugar, should he bail out the sugar industry?

If he had shares in Clico should he bail them out too?

The club is an entity in itself charged with the promotion of horse racing in Barbados. It has its own finances and from that it pays its bills.

It has members like any other club in Barbados. They pay their dues but they do not settle the liabilities of the club.

Then there are horses owners who participate in the sport organised by the entity, the BTC. Some are members, most are not.

They are not liable for the expenses of the club.

Eugene is free to spend his money as he likes. The financial status of the club has no bearing on him. I not aware that he is even a member.

Moreover people like Eugene and Smith make direct philanthropic contributions to Barbadian society. Would you really rather they make contributions to the turf club instead? They leave the club to source its own funds, its the right thing to do. They “back” the club by coming and participating and bringing expensive horses. Doubt the prize money covered his costs he is in it for the sport.

Smith also has a large breeding operation employing many people. It only exists because an industry exists.

You misunderstood my point about professionals making a living. I was making no analogy. I was only pointing that the total cost of staging the sport includes professionals making a living and this can be contrasted with most sports in Barbados which do not have professionals. This is why the total funding, the total “gdp” if you like of the industry is high.

Like any activity in Barbados, the BTC is affected by the recession and owners holding less horses will mean less employment as well.

The write off has nothing to do the recession, save to the extent it is good to know an industry can now expand in troubled times.

The write off is about an industry. It is not about horse owners, members or employees.