Grade I winner Bribon is one of the leading contenders for the Barbados Gold Cup. Order This Photo Photo: Coglianese Photos

This coming Saturday is Gold Cup day in Barbados. The BU household remember the excitement which use to surround this race in the 80s. Do you remember Bold Lewis the horse to win the very first gold cup in 1982? What about Iron Lover from Martinique and Tinker’s Image who gave Barbados its first win in 1984. The days leading up to the race created much excitement as gold cup fever would grip the island back then. The interesting thing was it did not matter whether you were a horse racing fan or not, you found yourself caught up in the excitement and on the Garrison Savannah come gold cup day.

In recent years the the race has slipped in appeal for one reason or the other. The Barbados Turf Club (BTC) has responsibility for horse racing in Barbados but has  had to navigate a rough financial patch in recent years. It is reported to be an industry which employs directly and indirectly 3000 people. It might explain why the David Thompson government forgave 19 million dollars in debt within the first year of assuming office. It is a decision which is still challenged by some because of the wealthy personages who are involved in the industry and manage the BTC. Why couldn’t they reach into their deep pockets to help the BTC at its time of greatest need?

We are told the field entered for this 29th gold cup is one of the best ever. Although there is no horse slated to run from the region, Barbadians will be treated to some graded horses out of the USA and Canada. Barbados’ resident Canadian billionaire Eugene Melnyk has tongues wagging with his entry Sterwins who will be partnered by Barbadian Patrick Husbands, the perennial Canadian champion. Whether last year’s winner Daylight Express can repeat has added to the excitement. Whoever wins the race will cash in $200,000 dollars, not a bad pay day!

Come Saturday BU expect the Garrison Savannah will be the place to be. Our beleaguered tourist industry can use all the help it can get from the international exposure which the gold cup is reputed to generate.  The race has been picked up be ESPN in the past and the local radio will broadcast for all to follow.

Although the race will run in the shadow of suspected doping case of last year’s favourite Apostle, the subject of an ongoing court case, the excitement is rising.

160 responses to “Excitement Comes back To The Sandy Lane Gold Cup”

1. the people not supporting the gold cup as it has been in past years may be due to the fact that they felt that the government should not have forgiven the debt when those who benefit themost from racing could have step up to the plate.Why is it the taxpayers always have to bail out the rich?

2. taxpayers always have to bail out the rich???? tsk tsk poor citizens…even in the US when they tried to bailout some giant companies..the government get the money from taxpayers

3. David,

You seem to know much about horse racing, especially with your history, but a few corrections.

Two horses are locally bred being Apostle and Areyoutalkintome, both locally owned.

Apostle was not suspected of being doped last year, it was alleged that the groom held him in the boxes. he appears to be fighting fit and ready to go this year.

The alleged presence of an unacceptable substance was of Kathir, two year’s previous.

Many are saying that they will be there Saturday, as it is expected to be a fantastic race.

On the issue of the money, ac says ‘when those who benefit themost from racing could have step up to the plate’.

The horseowners benefit purely from seeing their horses run, from walking in the winner’s circle. That is it apart from the Golp Cup winner and the Derby winner.

The money does not justify owning a horse. Even the not so wealthy owners run their horses for love of racing.

The persons who benefit most are the workers and the feed manufacturers, hay manufacturers and ancillary services.

That is the issue.

Other than that, perhaps the PM realises that you cannot receive benefit from a collapsed industry, hence let it work on.

By the way, how about all those who owe Government the VAT etc? Much greater than the 19 million, by people who employ nothing like the 3000 you mention?

Difference is, VAT is an ‘add on tax’, that should be straight in coffers, whereas betting tax is deducted from the flat dollar that Turf Club collects i.e. right out of Turf Club earnings, not a separate add on top of profits like VAT.

So which is worse?

The real issue is maintaining an industry that employs many. You do understand that without racing, other companies would also shut down and some more would fire staff that are no longer needed to supply demand?

Anyway, enough of that.

We should however thank the sponsors for this race. Thank you SANDY LANE (BEST HOTEL IN THE WORLD), Mr.Smith et al.

THANK YOU!

4. @Friendly.
    Your points are well taken except in the minds of hardworking bajans who work hard and make sacrifices to have a decent way of life and does not rely on the government for anything .The people
    would resent the government intervention knowing that most of the benefits in the long ran would go towards the owners of the horses and not the workers.

5. @ac

The BTC was struggling financially before the bail out.

6. Iam Not Anonymouse Avatar
    Iam Not Anonymouse

Financial struggles?
    Yuh mean tuh tell me that being partners in a big lottery doan count fuh anything?

Somebody trying to pull a fast one.

7. Iam Not Anonymouse Avatar
    Iam Not Anonymouse

As far as I am concerned, paupers do not have any right in horse racing. It is not called “the sport of kings” for nothing.

8. Friendly you have some points you know! I have to admit that. However, I still didn’t like the bail out!

9. a.c
    There are administrators in the BTC that can collectively not only pay the BTC debt but also that of the entire country.Sports like horseracing, sailing, polo, car-racing, these are used to ease taxes on the persons or companies they represent, while being used as a hobby for them.Government for years have been advocating assistance to car-racing, I’m almost sure that if only the rich were involved in the sport government(any party) would come to their assistance. The government should have NEVER bail out the BTC.

10. Now the price that the Btc is paying isgoing to be a heavy one because of low crowd participation over the years at these kind of events. Makes me wonder if it was all worth it.I guess i’ll never know.Anyhow my favourite for saturday gold cup is Preach
    To Me.

11. @Friendly

Thanks for the corrections. The BU household remember fondly going to the Garrison on race days as family day out. One did not have to be horse racing fans to do so.

@The Scout

Agree with you the government got it wrong when they forgave the BTC taxes.

12. Someone explain to me the sense in night racing please?? For a place facing debt, how is the erection of light and the burning of them at night going to be beneficial.

The garrison has other nightly business doesn’t it??

13. Thanks for the responses. But, look past the perception for a moment. Read what I wrote about the workers, feed companies.

That is money paying into the system, continuously, horses do not just eat once a week.

This causes major money movement, throughout the economy, do not underestimate it.

AC, as I wrote, the long term beneficiaries are not the owners but the workers, all the owners get is bragging rights.

Young bajan, the belief is that at nights horseracing will no longer have to comete with cricket and other sports and events for attendance. Then too, tourists can enjoy the beach etc and come to racing in the evenings.

Makes sense, no?

Why not go down to the racetrack on a morning, see for yourself the number of grooms and jockeys, many young fellows, who are earning a living from this sport.

The Polytechnic only has room for a limited number, you know.

There are also many workers living in Canada, working at Woodbine as grooms, trainers assistants, exercise lads, who got their start at the Garrison.

Think about it.

14. @Friendly

You seem to be familiar with the sport of kings, give us your forecast!

15. Lastly, without intending to upset anyone, but purely to compare.

We spent somewhere in the hundreds of millions on the cricket. How many does that employ, apart from the sixteen on the West Indies Team?

A few groundsmen, a few umpires, a few scorers?

As compared to 19 million, with (as David says) 3000 employed continually?

?????

16. @David,

Lol! Are you putting me on the spot? You give me too much credit! No, just a casual fan.

Just a guess, do not rely on this 1) Areyoutalkintome 2) Bribon 3) Apostle 4) Daylight Express

Remember one rule ….all have four legs!

17. @Friendly
    I won’t put too much in Daylight Express. But i likeAreyoutalking
    tome I will put my picks on sport corner on friday.

18. We spent somewhere in the hundreds of millions on the cricket. How many does that employ, apart from the sixteen on the West Indies Team?
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    I said it before and I am saying it now. …..We spend millions on cricket, we give away millions to the BTC along with financial backing to certain elitist sports, but fail to give financial support to motorsports. With motorsports, Hotels benefit with each overseas driver bringing in an entourage of twenty and over, notwithstanding hundreds for supporters from the various participating countries. Lets take a look at the thousands of people and the various businesses who usually benefit from this sport. The supermarkets, gas stations, rum shops, food vendors, snocone vendors, the Ice Companies, the drinks factories, the security firms, plus the many stores selling those nippy shorts and tops, the umbrellas, the coolers, the hire car industry and the list goes on……

….so David, I am asking you to give me the true reason why did we forgave 19 million dollars in debt to the BTC?.

19. David,

I am sorry you feel that way about the “bail out” but I have seen enough misinformation on this and other blogs that I feel inclined to comment.
    First let me be clear, the Government did NOT bail out the BTC
    The Government did not give one cent to the BTC.

The BTC had a debt to the Government that had accumulated since the 1960s, yes the 1960s.

Whenever the BTC was insolvent the BTC stopped paying the tax and the debt accumulated. Whenever the BTC is solvent it pays its current dues.

Note, an important distinction, an ordinary company pays corporate tax on profits. No profit, no tax due. The tax on the BTC is levied on gross revenue so it can make a loss and have taxes due. When the loss is enough to run out of cash, it cannot pay.

The BTC is a club. It is not owned by anyone, it is not owned by rich people or the horse owners. Some members are horse owners, but most are not. Some horse owners are members, but most are not. No member receives any money from the Club. It pays no dividends or anything of the kind.The Government bailout had no effect on any member whatsoever. Nobody received any money.

The BTC cannot pay the debt and it has no assets to cover it. The Government owns the Garrison. Should the Government foreclose? What would be the result? Closure and no more jobs, no more tax revenue. It cannot receive the money. It does not exist. Waiving the debt cost the Government and the taxpayer, NOTHING.

Do horse owners make money? The simple answer is no. The prize money on average offsets the cost of ownership. Sure, if you bought one horse, got lucky won the Derby or Gold Cup and walked away, you would make money.

Owning race horses has a cost and the better the prize money the lower the average cost. The lower the average cost the more people own horses, the more people are employed.

When the BTC earns more revenue from betting, lotto etc, the money is used to improve prize money and stage more racing. Lower ownership costs and more income for jocks, trainers, grooms etc, results.

The BTC runs into problems because when revenue falls as it often did in the past when the Clubs games etc lost popularity (remember “lets go to the races”?) the club cannot suddenly drop race days and prize money because this would dramatically affect owners, trainers grooms etc and force some of them away from racing. So until its gets the revenue back on level it makes losses, goes insolvent and tax liabilities rise.

Periodically the BTC has made payments on arrears but on balance the arrears have kept increasing.

It is to the credit of the BTC, that whenever a revenue source fails, it does eventually find another.The BTC is currently solvent. It is currently paying taxes. The lotto money is more stable than other revenue in the past, race days are high in number and employment numbers are impressive. So why the “bail out”?

It is actually quite simple.

The Club wants to invest in lighting to introduce night racing. The Clubs feels confident that following the many examples in NA, attendance and betting will rise. More revenue, more horses, more employment, more taxes.

However, no Bank will lend the money to the Club, while the debt is on the books. Bank laws prevent it. The BTC cannot write it off without the permission of Government. They did just that and the contract for the lights has been signed.

Of course you can believe the juicy conspiracy theories about 19m exchanging hands to rich elite horse owners or you could just accept the simple truth. Your call.
    You could complain about other sports deserving it more, but deserving what exactly? No money has passed and the BTC earns taxes every year. Name another sport that pays taxes and employs so many.

One final point. Enormous credit goes to the PM (and I am no D or B).
    Previous Prime Ministers were approached for the same write off for the same reasons and it was ignored. Why? Political suicide for the very reasons seen so clear on this blog and others. Easy politics to accuse Thompson of pandering to the rich turf club of the elite.

The truth is that the PM has enormous political courage to take a step that is economically sound but politically risky.

What was your preference? Foreclosure, write off or just ignore it ?

20. @Race Fan
    Couldn’t they have sold it?

21. David,

Friendly said,

“There are also many workers living in Canada, working at Woodbine as grooms, trainers assistants, exercise lads, who got their start at the Garrison.”

This numbers in the hundreds !

22. @ac,

Sold what?

23. @ac,

I should also point out the BTC “does not rely on the government”

There is no financial support from the government to administer racing.

The Clubs revenue is the lotto, betting and gate money.

From that it pays taxes.

The Government has waived old taxes due but never collected. The Government has never had to give the BTC money.

The BTC gives the Government money. When its broke, it does not pay but the liability is still recorded.

The Government is still in a positive position relative the BTC. It just has not received the total due.

24. I heard the Prme Minister saying recently that the Government will be aggressively collecting taxes and arrears due (don’t quote me, because I don’t hear too well sometimes) and I was getting jittery about the arrears I owe.
    Now I can sleep a little easier knowing that he is a reasonable man, willing to forgive my debts to the treasury. I employ a maid, gardener, car-washer and two exotic masseuses so that should count for something,no?

25. Race fan

you make a lot of sense. This reminds me of a situation some years ago in USA. The Government of the day increased the level of taxes on yacht purchases. These were viewed as luxury items and it was good politics to soak the rich with high taxes. However, the rich just stopped buying yachts and the boat building and associated businesses just collapsed with tens of thousands of workers losing their jobs. The rich actually had more cash (which they moved offshore) and they really couldn’t care less about not having a yacht. Unemployment increased and the Government collected even less money than before.

26. @RACE FAN

In your comment this is lika a true smoke and mirror episode
    Question : How do you explain the 19m debt as not something the government gave as long it was not asked for to be returned in the real world it is seen as a gift,
    Also if The BTC has “real owernship” they the owners could hace sold it .Maybe you need to shed more light on this side of the issue for the misinformed people as you put.

27. @ac

I am struggling to understand your questions.

For the second part, sold what? the government owns the garrison, not the BTC.

Can I put a question to you?

There were 3 options, foreclose, write off or ignore? Arthur chose ignore, Thompson chose write off.

What would you do?

28. @ac

Let me help your decision:

foreclose, outcome = no more taxes from BTC, thousands unemployed, less NIS and income tax.

ignore, outcome = taxes remain the same level, no hope on arrears

write off, outcome = taxes increased from increased revenue, more people employed.

29. @David,

To be clear, the BTC was not “bailed out”. It is not at the moment in “greatest need”. While never rosy, it was/is holding on.

The BTC received no cash. The write off makes no change to the day to day operations and cash flow.

It simply allows the BTC to borrow and invest.

And yes part of the investment is coming from members loans ( I am not a member I do not have the details) but the main source of funds is a bank loan.

30. @Race Fan

Appreciate your argument but the fact the BTC is a club does not explain why all these rich people who race horses, making money notwithstanding, why would they not have underwritten the debt? Peanuts when you consider those who race horses. The point is accepted that there is no legal obligation on their part only common sense.

31. @David,

To be clear, the BTC was not “bailed out”. It is not at the moment in “greatest need”. While never rosy, it was/is holding on.

The BTC received no cash. The write off makes no change to the day to day operations and cash flow.

It simply allows the BTC to borrow and invest.

Appreciate it was a book entry but however you cut it government revenue was forgone.

And yes part of the investment is coming from members loans ( I am not a member I do not have the details) but the main source of funds is a bank loan.

32. @Race Fan

To make a long story shor you are saying the Btc could not be sold.

33. @David,

Horse owners and club members are quite different sets of people.

What exactly do you mean by “underwrite the debt”

Which debt are we referring to? the debt to the Government.

34. @ac

The BTC is a club, so no it could not really be sold.

It has a few assets, starting gate, tractor etc, office equip but hardly much.

The buildings are all on Government property.

35. @RC

Yes the debt which was forgiven by government. Was/is there other debt carried by the BTC?

36. @David,

“Appreciate it was a book entry but however you cut it government revenue was forgone.”

No I do not agree.

Only if there was a chance it could be collected. The finances of the club show no real ability to make arrears. As I said it has made arrears payments in the past and you could argue that it could make some in the future but how much? If the club has the burden of arrears payments that could hamper future investment.

But look at the alternative? With the investment the additional tax revenue may likely exceed whatever little arrears could be made by a huge margin and it also puts the club on a more sound basis to maintain payments in the future.

Think of the fact that Night Racing is good attraction for Tourism.

You can be pedantic and say revenue is forgone but the PM was pragmatic and saw the potential benefits.

37. @David,

I am not sure, I do not think anything significant. The club is currently keeping its head above water.

The accounts are easily seen, all members get.

38. @RC

We shall see if the night racing and other initiatives justifies the decision by the government. Is there a business plan for the BTC? Can BU see it?

39. @Race Fan
    on a noseier note. Your Picks for the God Cup.

40. @David,

It would obviously be a tragedy if the night racing fails. But what would the government have lost? nothing ! If the club cant increase its revenue from night racing it surely could not pay arrears either.

I have no idea about a business plan. I do know that night racing is very successful where ever it has been implemented.

41. Correction GOLD CUP

42. @RC

Appreciate the perspective you have brought. Like ac we want to put you on the spot a little.

What is the deal with Barbados and Trinidad? Why have they not participated in the gold cup race in recent years and even other big races? Is it a case the horse owners in T&T are struggling financially or is there another reason?

43. @ac

Hard to beat that horse Bribon if he runs to his true form. He finished a long way ahead of Daylight Express in that race in Canada.

He is even better than Thady Quill.

Your favourite Preach to Me going great at exercise in the morning by all accounts.

44. @David,

In regard of Trinidad;

Since 1994 they run on dirt and we run on grass. This makes it harder to commit your horse. It works the other way too, since 1994 we hardly have sent a horse there.

Trinidad has newer owners who have no real connection with Barbados. The only owners that have come since 1994 are owners that like Barbados.

You can see the same thing with the other “foreigners”. This year the Canadian horse and the two American horses are owned by people with homes in Barbados.

45. @David,

As a race fan, I would like to thank you for giving the Gold Cup some coverage on your blog.

It should be a great sporting event.

Hopefully, we will see that the PM’s move was a brilliant one. I think we can certainly agree it was politically brave.

46. @Race Fan

Hopefully the BTC have gotten it right this time if only for the sake of the employees and we won’t be having a similiar discussion in the future.Somewho i have my doubts.

47. What a load of equestrian excrement!

This is the ‘modus operandi’ of the elites in most societies. Somehow, their wishes are always best for ‘everyone’.

Bush Tea is so disappointed that Thompson fell for this nonsense that I really don’t know what to say…… but this blatant hypocritical PR spin by ‘race fan’ is the final straw.

SIMPLY PUT! What is good for the goose is good for the gander.

These millionaire club elites have for years run their operation at the Government owned Garrison – keeping the place like a dump; – employing the lowest level of people in the lowest form of employment (closest thing to the plantation days on the Island); making their money and having their elitist fun.

They have been allowed to run a gambling operation since time immemorial raking in millions….

You would think that perhaps the Garrison would be maintained in pristine condition…..

You would think that they have developed a viable industry of breeders, owners, trainers, vets, maintenance staff etc that reflect Barbadian society….

You would think that they have developed some kind of world class brand…

….But NOooooo…

They have done NONE OF THE ABOVE in any noteworthy way.

Furthermore, it now emerges that THEY HAVE NOT BEEN PAYING THEIR FAIR SHARE OF TAXES.

…and what do we have? Some ‘race fan’ farting in our faces about some alleged three options, and how our BEST option is to give them $19 million.

What three options what??!!

How about the option to publish the detail accounts of the operation so that everyone can see where all the lotto profits went?

How about the option to sue the club members who have been reaping the sweets all those years for the taxes due?

Does the new Company’s act not place the responsibility on DIRECTORS for debts incurred on behalf of a Company in such manner? ….or does that only apply to the poor people’s co-operatives?

The Prime Minister made a serious mistake to appease these rich folk in this manner – It will come back to haunt him for sure. If millionaires can be forgiven for LEGALLY due debts, on what basis will this Government now insist that scrunting poor people should pay theirs?

Interest should be accumulating on that money all like now! The Tax department should be selling a few houses as we speak! A couple directors should be on remand! …and ‘race fan’ should be a lot more circumspect in his/ her bragging…

PM Thompson has been set up by the usual suspects, who have been laughing their way to the bank ever since…..(and also to banks -to keep their well appointed boxes in stock)

….this is the sort of thing that really pisses a bush man off!

48. I LOVE BU!!!!! Easy Bushman eeeezeeeee!

49. Well said Bush Tea. I am quite certain that the “race fan” might be someone from within the BTC. The analysis is too potent to be a simple race fan who run about the infield just to get a glimpse of the racing.

50. If RC is an insider according to TMW then the question whether a businesscase was done to support the forgiveness of the debt stands.