Submitted by Yakubu

ethnicityWhile we must be a tolerant society, Bajans must understand that Hindu immigrants, with their high fertility rates, and their dislike of miscegenation with the Negro, have already destroyed the social cohesion of two Caribbean territories–Guyana and Trinidad. Now they are invading Barbados.

We will have no-one but ourselves to blame if we are unable to defend our island from the upheavals that have occurred elsewhere–and not just in the Caribbean. In Fiji, society has been fractured by Indian immigration. In East Africa, there have been decades of turmoil, although Uganda chose to bite the bullet and deport much of its Indian population when they rejected the government’s efforts to integrate them into African society.

A single labour market for the Caribbean will, over a historical period, lead to the political, social and cultural subordination of the Negro in the entire eastern Caribbean. Our politicians, businessmen and academics must be persuaded to abandon this ruinous project.

1. Tom // July 9, 2009 at 9:47 am

Indians only align themselves with Africans when it suit their purpose. The way Africans will take a side with any group, even against their own, on wrong doings not so with Inidans. If they own hurt you they will stay silent.

During the PNC, Indians came together with Africans to fight the PNC wrongdoings. When the PPP won and start doing wrongs and Africans complained and protested, Indians said it is they time now. Africans then realised Indians only wanted their support to get the rid of an African government, that in fact Indians were not interested in right and wrong, but only on being in charge and having a govt of their own.
    ###########################

I am glad to see another voice breaking down the true facts on Guyana. Walter Rodney was an Africanist and recognized that a fall of the Burnham regime would see an Indian dominated party take the reigns of Government still followed his conscience and battled Burnham. Now an Indian Government is doing far worse than the Bunrham Government, and except for a couple of Indians like Freddie Kissoon, apaan jaat is the order of the day.

For many Indians in Guyana it has always been race first. They inherited ethnic prejudices passed down from generation to generation that stereotyped blacks as inferior. Jagdeo is steeped in that belief system. That is why he can presumtiously ignore his performance in Guyana and lambaste Thompson. In Jagdeo’s eyeys, the sons of slaves, Prime Ministership and what not, are not on the same intellectual level he is. This dunce, according to his cultural prejudice believes he is superior to any black man, regardless of their academic or other intellectual accomplishment.

2. David (our moderator) wrote

“Please go easy on the multiple usernames. Next time we will call names.”

and thereafter Tom, Jonathon and Greenidge disappeared … leaving only ABCDEFG! I hope we remember the story of Brer Rabbit and the briar patch!

3. Mash up & buy back Avatar
    Mash up & buy back

David & other interested bloggers

In the interest of accuracy and fairness,I think you should know that the article read today on Brasstacks and attributed to Ricky singh – was in fact a column written in the Trinidad Express by Raffique Shah – an east indian trinidadian.

Even though he admits to not visiting barbados for some time,and he is basing his views – presented as facts – he accepts that this is apartheid against indians in Barbados.

Why ?

Because his indian brothers say so – ramphal,ricky singh,Jagdeo etc – so it must be so.

4. I missed that Mac Fingall’s song “2009” today. Just hope some-one would have the courage to play it again. Dennis I know you told me you would look for it but I didn’t know you were that BOLD to play it

5. On July 9, 2009 at 9:12 am Jonathan wrote

What is the brouhaha over the name J. Even if another use the name J couldn’t the original J handle this issue differently. AND HOW WOULD YOU SUGGEST THAT I HANDLE IT? I HAVE BEEN USING THE HANDLE J FOR MORE THAN A YEAR NOW AND I DO NOT WANT ANYBODY PRETENDING TO BE ME AND PUTTING WORDS IN MY MOUTH.

J can mean jackass I DETERMINED TO USE J AFTER THE UNMAMED FEMALE VOICE IN THE BIBLE.

The second J was not fighting you guys. This person supporting PM Thompson’s position and sharing knowledge with us. AH!!! BUT I DO NOT SUPPORT PM THOMPSON’S POSITION, AND I DON’T WANT ANYBODY PRETENDING TO BE ME AND SUPPORTING SOMETHING OR SOMEBODY WHOM I DO NOT SUPPORT. I’VE VOTED FOR BOTH THE DLP AND THE BLP (and I hope to continue doing so in the future) BUT I ALWAYS VOTE CONSCIENCE, NOT PARTY.

6. “mash up & buy back wrote on // July 9, 2009 at 9:17 am…But Jonathan, J is totally against thompson’s position … this J aka kim young…A close check might reveal some indo guyanese blood there who knows?”

Dear mash up and buy back:

I am Bajan.

I have in front of me the marriage certificate of my great, great grand parents, Dolly Anne and Adam who were married in 1856 in St. James Barbados.

I am verifiably more Bajan than anybody else on this blog.

And because I am verifiably more Bajan that either you, the Prime Minister or the Leader of the Oposition it means that I do not have to agree with you nor with either of them.

You know I go to the blood bank regularly and my blood has likely been more carefully checked that the blood of most people but the blood bank professionals have never told me that they found indo gyanese, nor black nor white nor chinese nor anything else in it.

I donate; other people accept and I am sure that nobody ever says “do not give me the blood of that J because J is of the wrong party, or color, or religion, or nationality”

Nobody.

I am NOT Kim Young.

I do not even know who Kim Young is.

I’ve never met the lady.

7. “Greenidge wrote on // July 9, 2009 at 10:20 am…one house will have at least 5 household help.”

Who are these Bajans who cannot run their households without 5 helpers?

8. As a matter of principle I always do all my own housework.

Maybe some of you bloggers should try doing the same.

9. Sargeant, the reason for the conflict is simple: (a) Indians r more successful than we are and thus feel more important! (b) we’re black and they’re racially prejudiced and refuse to mix with us and, or treat us fairly! One does n’t need to read a thesis to make that accuate, deduction! The point is whether we’re prepared to be so treated by them, especially, in our own countries and, if we’re not, the soluion is not to invite them in!! It’s as easy as ABC!!

To the genuine ‘J’: I’m right with u!!

10. @ J July 10, 2009 at 12:01

Quote” I am verifiably more Bajan than anybody else on this blog”

Perhaps not quite – from your dates – I can trace my foreparents – all black- in Barbados from the records in Barbados since 1783 before which only slave christian names made further investigations impossible.

Yardbroom

11. Hopi and Scout you are on the ball with your comments. Those who care to view such as racist comments, then they are assured of their prerogative. How many of those blogging here have ever seen the EAST INDIAN in his true colours? They have only seen the FACADE. As a little boy growing up in East Canje, Berbice, Guyana, I can never forget those most racist comments Spouted by none other but the late Janet Jagan in an address that she gave to her constituents at Number 2 village, Canje. We were only three BLACK families living in that village. I was eleven years old at that time. I have never forgotten the responses to her statements by those present. Can you imagine ? They swore to slauther Blacks if they ever got in their way during their quest for power, the same way they did during the RACIAL upheaval in the sixties. By the way, my dad barely escaped death at the hands of these Indian BIGOTS during that time. Want to hear more abot them? They do not respect the black man and they do not care what they say in your presence, therefore why should I be viewed as racist when I respond in like manner?

12. J G
    I am just telling it like it is, you have to be in it to know it; I was in it. This is just the tip of the iceberg, the real thing is still to come. The problem is these indians were you down slowly and then strike hard but always pretend to be the victims defending themselves. That is what is happening in the region especially Barbados, We’re on the verge of collapse

13. Dear Yardbroom:

I haven’t completed my research yet. I am sure that I will get to 1783 before long.

14. Why did Tony Marshall attribute the article to Ricky Sungh if Singh’s name was not on it? Is this defamatory of Singh?

15. J

I am verifiably more Bajan than anybody else on this blog
    How come you are always trying to promote yourself as “more Bajan” than anyone else? First you let us know that your “navel string bury here” and now you claim to have some document showing that some long dead relatives were married here. Could you do us a favour and let us know the name of the slave ship your relatives arrived on? That way you can form a group similar to one in the US for the descendants of the Mayflower.

I predict that J will soon tell us that Bussa DNA flows through her veins

16. Take it easy Sarge:

I only mentioned my bona fieds because somebody challenged me.

And I do not claim to have a document. I DO have the document and the original is in the Archives at Black Rock. You should pay a visit to the Archives the next time you visit. A very interesting place.

A great weekend and a happy summer to you.

17. Anonymous // July 9, 2009 at 7:45 pm

David (our moderator) wrote

“Please go easy on the multiple usernames. Next time we will call names.”

and thereafter Tom, Jonathon and Greenidge disappeared … leaving only ABCDEFG! I hope we remember the story of Brer Rabbit and the briar patch!

Anonymous, you seem to have a penchant for mischief and not dealing with the issue. I am an independent thinker informed by issues and realities NOT personalities. Please do NOT malign my name with your foolishness!

18. What’s the tale of Brer Rabbit? I never did read ‘Alice In Wonderland’, as a kid!! Read the first few lines and thought ‘this sounds like pure ****, and threw it to one side!! Would anybody mind telling me the tale now, if u know it, please?!! I find that as I’m getting older I’m taking an interest in these childrens’ stories again, starting with Baa, Baa, Black Sheep!!

19. “Would anybody mind telling me the tale now, if u know it, please?!! I find that as I’m getting older I’m taking an interest in these childrens’ stories again”

Come now, Brer 199, a little slice self-education should not be beyond someone like you. With the Internet, and all. You could take a walk along the yellow brick cyber highway in seconds. No need to pull out a plum, just pull out your thumb and say “What a good boy am I”.

20. Hi Brer, and thanks very much!! Did n’t read the book but watched the film!! What another ‘set of cobblers’ (foolishness), eh?!! Anyway, I guess it amuses the kids!!

Lord!!

21. livinginbarbadob Avatar
    livinginbarbadob

@199: You may not like the source of the suggestion (but spare us the diatribe). Many of the stories have their origins in real events and/or contain a moral in the tale. You may also wonder how similar stories feature in different continents. Anancy and Brer Rabbit stories are essentially from the same roots, just modified. Many English nursery rhymes tell you much about English political and social history. I hope your mind can take the exercise.

22. 199 never read “Alice in Wonderland? No wonder! But what has he read?

23. LIB, I’ve told u before, perhaps u did n’t believe me but, it’s true, honest!! that I’m not in the least bit interested in anything which u, as a Jamaican, has to say, except, if it’s to say “goodbye”, as you’re leaving my country!! As somebody else also, told u, “go and sort out Jamaican first before u bothe us with your twaddle”!!

24. Themis, when I was a child ‘Alice In Wonderland’ was a tome for little girls to read!! Are u a little girl, Themis?? I’m more into Virgel and Kapernicus!!

Laaaaadddddddddddddddd!! Not that they ever wrote anything sensible, either!!

25. @199, Were these by any chance related to VIRGIL and COPERNICUS?

26. Themis, u should know by now dat I caan spell!!

Laaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaddd!!

27. Brer 199
    “Hi Brer, and thanks very much!! Did n’t read the book but watched the film!! ”

What film you did watch, Brer 199. I neva mentioned no film? I didn’ mention filum. He’ in Geoygya, we’s knows th’essence o’ ol’ Brer Rabbit and Brer Fox is’n unnastannin’ that most o’ life is ’bout tricks. Some o’ dem reel obveeyus, like, but y’all need to reed pretty closely less’n you fall for tricks jus’ like w’en Brer Rabbit made ol’ Brer Fox put him in the briar patch, and he did get away, coz he was brung up inna briar patch. Mak’ shuh you don’ get yo’self stuck to no tar baby, now.

28. Hi Brer, thought u were referring to ‘The Yellow Brick Road’! May do a search! Can’t understand that dialect, at all – probably not worth the bother!! Thanks, anyway, Brer!!

29. Livinginbarbados Avatar
    Livinginbarbados

Brer Fox

Brer 199, read and learn: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gullah