Submitted by Yakubu

ethnicityWhile we must be a tolerant society, Bajans must understand that Hindu immigrants, with their high fertility rates, and their dislike of miscegenation with the Negro, have already destroyed the social cohesion of two Caribbean territories–Guyana and Trinidad. Now they are invading Barbados.

We will have no-one but ourselves to blame if we are unable to defend our island from the upheavals that have occurred elsewhere–and not just in the Caribbean. In Fiji, society has been fractured by Indian immigration. In East Africa, there have been decades of turmoil, although Uganda chose to bite the bullet and deport much of its Indian population when they rejected the government’s efforts to integrate them into African society.

A single labour market for the Caribbean will, over a historical period, lead to the political, social and cultural subordination of the Negro in the entire eastern Caribbean. Our politicians, businessmen and academics must be persuaded to abandon this ruinous project.

1. Anonymous,

. What a pity all you can do is engage in silly banter and insults. Maybe your friends have not noticed that, like them ,you also have a pseudonym, How more silly can we get. maybe it is this same sort of silly behaviour that cause the immigration in the first place. Take note how the Guyana President was able to immediately have Bajan ratification of domestics as the new skill category. What happens now is left to be seen.

2. 199,

Your comments amuse me. You could not be for real. One would have thought that with pseudonyms like yours that the least thing you would be commenting on would be a person’s choice of id. Moreso when there are so many more important points that you can engage,. Your behaviour is pathetic.

3. Further, I do not need your welcome nor acceptance. As Bob Marley said ” when meh throw meh carn, meh nah call no fowl”

4. I maintain this is an open space that you , like me choose to share around the same time. You can ignore my comments and I can ignore yours if I so choose. Any sanctioning is left for the moderator and not you or any of the other musketeers.

5. I am definitely not looking for conversation with any of you. I blog, you read shut up or plain and simple… do not read. ( ha! as though you would be able to do the latter) . In case you are unaware the way the communication goes….someone will read…that is the purpose…. not idle discourse with you musketeers

6. Thank God you three are not the typical representation of Bajans. I would have been ashamed .

7. mash up & buy back ,

Interesting that you should ask what the African Guyanese are doing about the racist Indian government. It seems that the Guyana government is able to keep the masses of poor Indians who support them and Africans divided by frequent fear and violent stimuli. The people are so stupid that race dictates everything , even when they ar e hungry/ The article which initiates this blog captures the nature of the Jagdeo supporters who fear and ordinarily loathe the African

8. Until the Indians and Africans in Guyana can see that there is an interdependency of the races, Guyanese will continue to have strife and flee. Jagdeo need some bad a@# Jammy people to warm them up

9. @ ABCDEFG

Question,Do you intend on staying in Guyana when you finish with your courses ?

10. ABCDEFG // July 8, 2009 at 1:13 pm…
    199, J, Anonymous…Maybe I am a victim like you…”

You may be a victim (or maybe not), but I am definitely NOT a victim.

11. ABC, I’ve read your posts carefully, and, up to now, I still don’t know what the **** ur talking about! R u certain ur a graduate?!! Anyway, caan bodda anymore!! Good luck wid it!!

12. ABCDEFG

unless YOU are representative of ALL Guyanese of African descent (or Guyanese of any descent) I would not agree that “the people are so stupid” (your words). It is evident by the fact of your relocation to the UK that you cannot be part of any solution to the problems of Guyana. You can only peddle a simple minded, hypocritical and blind racism to Barbadians which got Guyana in the mess it now finds itself.

13. Guys, and gals
    1) Were you earlier speaking as representatives of all Bajans? Don’t ask stupid questions.
    2) “Call a rose by any name it still smells as sweet” racism used to violate the rights of another , for marginalization, oppression and recrimination is not only backward it is stupid and dumb. It is what Barbados needs to address , one way or another as they have a few thousands of the population ( migrant or else) who are screaming ” race” and “ethnic cleansing” The latter I do not accept

14. Racism is counterproductive to development and peace. Race and ethnicity has been the root of the Nazi Holocast , the ethnic cleansing in Rwanda , Bosnia etc. That Indians in Barbados can scream ” ethnic cleansing” and racial profiling” should be taken seriously.

15. After accusations and media campaigns what next? None other than a British Knight has accused Barbadian authorities of ethnic cleansing. This is not the ordinary man in the street. This is a gentleman with connections.

16. What is the brouhaha over the name J. Even if another use the name J couldn’t the original J handle this issue differently.

You guys over-reacting and all. If the 7 letter of the alpha means something insulting as said by 199 by the same extension J can mean jackass-would J like that. Stop the name calling!

The second J was not fighting you guys. Go back and read the post. This person supporting PM Thompson’s position and sharing knowledge with us.

Guys don’t make your friends your enemies. Relax!!

17. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

But Jonathan,

J is totally against thompson’s position and that is why the guyanese blogger’s information on the indo guyanese racist attitude to persons of african descent is railed against by this J aka kim young.

A close check might reveal some indo guyanese blood there who knows?

18. So it is unfortunate when you guys choose to suggest that I want to introduce racism ( of the kind present in Guyana) to Barbados. I am of mixed heritage but proudly identified as African, I know and have experienced many forms of racism in Guyana , Barbados and the UK. It is a subtle part of many cultures, However when we see people starting to scream aloud that they are discriminated based on race then the world will start looking and tre or not it does nothing good for Barbados which you guys as the “true , real macaw, 100% Bajan to the bone, should care about and using as a target for your unnecessary use of profanity,

19. Further and with regards to where I settle that is an option that I cherish. I consider myself very settled right now but should I decide to uproot my family I thank God for marketable skills within my family that would not make that a major challenge, as we would be an asset in any country. Whether it is the USA, UK, Europe, or any Caribbean or Caricom country , the options are many and will be exercised within the frame work of the law.

20. The ethnic factor fear is real and Barbadian should start looking at the matter closer. It is this fear preventing Guyana from developing and causing problems.

It is true many Indians dislike Africans and under the Indian lead Jagdeo govt Africans have been denied jobs, their pension plan break up by Jagdeo, over 400 young black men were killed by a death squad supported by Jagdeo and USA # 1 drug lord Roger Khan, they have taken away African lands. No Indians have come out in condemnation of the govt actions to Africans.

21. Indians only align themselves with Africans when it suit their purpose. The way Africans will take a side with any group, even against their own, on wrong doings not so with Inidans. If they own hurt you they will stay silent.

During the PNC, Indians came together with Africans to fight the PNC wrongdoings. When the PPP won and start doing wrongs and Africans complained and protested, Indians said it is they time now. Africans then realised Indians only wanted their support to get the rid of an African government, that in fact Indians were not interested in right and wrong, but only on being in charge and having a govt of their own.

22. Once a wrong is done by an Indian it is right. Law and orde rare only good when it suit the Inidan interest. This is why you see Jagdeo, Ramphal, Rickey Singh and Norman Faria so upset with PM Thompson. They know that many Indians will be sent home because they are in Bim illegally. They prefer Thompson break Bim law.

Sam Hinds is a house slave. He knows of the suffering, deaths and denied jobs to Africans but he will remain silent. The fact is a man of his intelligence will never have been PM in Guyana .

23. So Bim you have a very good case. I’d suggest you stand and fight it from a position of enforcing Barbados’ law and demanding that the island has a planned migration.

If you don’t the problems of Guyana will become yours. And in your own island you will soon become a stranger because you will be bullied, insulted and called names by Jagdeo, Ramphal etc. Stand firm and see to it that Thompson does not deviate from his Immigration policy.

24. What are your feelings on the new skilled category, Domestic Worker, that Caricom added?

In Guyana people feel Jagdeo trick Thomspon and Indians will start flooding to the island come January 201o. The illegalls will now become legals and one house will have at least 5 household help.

25. Sorry, I am now cathcing up on a few blogs.
    I am not sure which of Thompson’s positions J 1st. does not support. Is it 1) the right to enact migration policies and laws to stem the overflow of illegal immigration? or 2) The agreed extension of the skills category to include domestics?
    Whatever the issue, subsequent arguments and display of the three musketeers left much to be desired The profanity also signaled a level of the “ordinary” not necessary for serious discourse

26. Bloggers share your feelings on the new skilled category, Domestic Worker, that Caricom added?

I talked with some Guyanese over the last two days and they feel President Jagdeo trick Prime Minister Thomspon. They say a domestic worker only need a health certificate and ability to lift a few pounds, they do not need CXC or univeristy qualifications. In effect EVERYBODY and ANYBODY can be a household worker. Indians will start flooding to the island come January 201o.

The illegalls can become legals and one house will have at least 5 household help. These 5 household help will bring their families and watch the multiplier effect. This is serious issue.Barbados in big big big trouble!!!!!

BU should have someone in authority to do a story on this new skilled category.

27. Hi tom

The introduction of the Domestic class is rather untimely and may be perceived as a trick on Thompson to circumvent the removal of illegal Indian Guyanese from Barbados. the good thing is that Thompson does not have to implement this for Barbados , It is his call as thier is an allowance of a grace period of 5 years….I think.
    So Jagdeo may not be so smart after all and Bajans can still stop the overtaking of Barbados by Indians

28. ABCDEFG,

It can be done. Chapter 3 of the Revised Treaty allowed if to be deferred. If Barbados wanted it could have said that the island is not ready for the new skilled category and ask for deferrment.

29. This householder category will create lots of problems. Even the prostitute can be household help. J, 199 and Anonymous, and mash up & bruck up what are we going do about it. You think Thompson bow to Jagdeo?

Greenidge and Tom put some writings worth serious thought.

30. Please go easy on the multiple usernames. Next time we will call names.

31. Am I, by inference, to assume there are n’t already sufficient skilled BARBADIAN domestic workers already living in Barbados and we need to import them?!! This I find, difficult to believe, to say the least!! Just how much skill do u require to be a domestic worker?!! It seems that Thompy may be a soft-touch to agree to such a concession!! IS Thompy a soft-touch and, if so, is he the kind of PM we wish to return to office in 5 years time?!! I can’t be certain because, as u know, I don’t live there but, he’s certainly giving me that impression from afar!!

32. I guess many will have different reasons for being disgruntled with Thompson. I am a bit dissappointd about the domestic work category at a time when their is a global recession and Barbados is grappling with the issues of overabundance of migration. However I can appreciate the difficulties he had at the Heads meeting…it could not have been easy for him with all the pressure from some heads and a generally unfriendly Guyanese populace

33. Strategically I think the Indians who are having the current migration problem causing Bajans a headache were able to initially latch onto the old migration issues that involved Africans. As such many Guyanese saw all the claims of harassment and violations within a context that was well known and publicised… only worse. No wonder it was easy for certain African Guyanese to get caught up in the reckless condemnation without looking at the illegality of those who were in Barbados and the good gesture extended by Thompson to offer amnesty.

34. What can Barbados learn from the Jamaican experience in so far as ethnic absorption is concerned? As we all know Jamaica is the melting pot of the Caribbean. Is there a period in Jamaica’s history we can point to which addresses how ‘absorption’ was received and managed?

35. It appears that the only Guyanese who were saying anything different were the Trade Unionists independent of the the PPP. The Guyanese media (Stabroek News) was having a field day sensationalizing the plight of Indian victims in Barbados and wipping up anti Thompson / Bajan support . One cannot ignore the voices of very prominent Caribbean and Guyanese personalities condemning what was happening. This was the context that Thompson had to face before a packed auditorium of unfriendly people
    It would have been

36. Any comments on the recent visit by Prime Minister David Thompson to pay a courtesy call on CDB President Compton Bourne yesterday?

37. The Trades Union protest and public statements seemed to have been the catalyst. From all observation there is a different and more supportive Bajan position centering on the rule of law and Guyana’s downward spiral as a factor for Guyanese migration. There is even call for revisiting the Herdmanston Accord signed in 1998 .

38. This matter is not only about law but the need to address attitudes.

39. It is unfortunate that every issue in Guyana is seen through the prism of race. The current migration issue is fast becoming a racial issue as many voices now raised to support Barbados are those of Africans who are also claiming that the migration problems were never an issue until Indians were affected. That is the Guyana dynamic for you.

40. Hi David,

I agree with you that the matter is certainly not only about Law. It is also not only about Guyana’s socio economic and political situation. It includes the attitudes of all of those involved,Regionalization globalization, survival through economic blocs etc.
    My point was to focus on the nature of the arguments now observed to be supportive of Barbados. Those to my mind seem to be invoking respect for Bajan laws and the Guyana situation. It is a good starting point for change.

41. I really do not think Bharat Jagdeo tricked David Thompson.Bharat Jagdeo is not that intelligent to fool David Thompson.

Barbados signed the new agreement as a result of our lead role in the CSME programme.We must remember that Barbados has lead responsibility for the implementation of all CSME initiatives.It would have set a bad precedent if Barbados had not signed on to the new categories.I believe however that Thompson is not to keen and the free flow of nannies & maids into Barbados will not materialized I suspect that at next CARICOM meeting next year or the intersessinal meetings that complaints will be heard about countries not honoring their commitments.

42. Hey, I just taught of someting!! Maybe, jus maybe, the Barbadians are now TOO GREAT, dese days, to be domestics!! just as they’re TOO GREAT to still work in agriculture!! This could account for why we now need to import domestic servants!! I can’t believe my people r jus, lazy?!! Maybe, Thompy know wha he doing, afterall?!!

43. David I missed reading any report at this time about Thompson;s visit to Bourne. That should yield some interesting results as Bourne was certainly out of order. He has violated his hospitality and the post he holds as a regional public servant.
    My opinion… He should be held accountable and even asked to vacate his office. Got to go now. But thanks for the stimuli. Hope to read the comments of others on these matters.

44. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Did you hear that ricky singh article that tony marshall read today on Brasstacks?

Now the indo guyanese collaborators are going further to not only talk about the barbados immigration policy as ‘ethnic cleasing’ now according to that article – there is an apartheid like system going on in Barbados,and he is happy not to be here now.

I can’t seem to find that article since it is not the last one that is there now in the Trinidad Express.

ABCD…

Can you get a better handle,it is tiresome having to spell out the alphabet.

I agree with you about the nasty,sisnister plan by Starbroek news to whip up an anti-bajan sentiment.

However right here in Barbados we have roxanne gibbs,a guyanese who fled to barbados and has enjoyed the hospitality and all we had to offer – yet she has set out to create a contentious enviroment prior to thompson going down to Guyana with those most inflamatory,dishonest articles about raids by immigration officers -breaking down doors with crowbar,pulling off aa woman with faeces dropping out etc.

SICK,SICK,SICK!

She is an afro guyanese (an ugly one at that) yet she has never done a series of article -using her position as Managing Editor – to speak of the degrading plight of her fellow afro guyanese nor the problem of racism between africans and indians in guyana which could be transported here.

WE DON’T WANT NONE OF THESE DAMN INDIANS HERE NOR THEIR NASTY RACIST PRACTICES.

45. ABCDโ€ฆ

Can you get a better handle,it is tiresome having to spell out the alphabet.

Hopi, he’s Guyanese and thus, u can’t presume he has a brain!!

46. Dennis Johnson just played 2009 and asked Mac to explain.

47. I just came across an article written in 2000 by a Guyanese of Indian descent in which he examines the conflicts between Blacks and East Indians in Guyana and Trinidad & Tobago.

Everyone is free to read and form their own conclusion.

http://www.guyana.org/features/conflicts_indiansandblacks.html

48. David

Wasn’t Mac’s explanation to that calypso titled ‘2009’ – something?

Such foresight,I tell you.

49. Indeed it was!

White people know business but don’t breed
    Black people breed but don’t know business
    Indians know business and breed well

The end result if Black Barbadians are not careful they will be left behind!

50. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“White people know business but donโ€™t breed
    Black people breed but donโ€™t know business
    Indians know business and breed well”
    [Need to check some history, I suggest, and look at population growth and business cycles…Remember when Malthus wrote…And the Chinese?

Food for thought. When Black people breed with ‘White’ and ‘Indian’ what happens? The lines seem to suggest that if Black people want to move on in ‘business’ they better start cross-breeding.]