Submitted by Yakubu

ethnicityWhile we must be a tolerant society, Bajans must understand that Hindu immigrants, with their high fertility rates, and their dislike of miscegenation with the Negro, have already destroyed the social cohesion of two Caribbean territories–Guyana and Trinidad. Now they are invading Barbados.

We will have no-one but ourselves to blame if we are unable to defend our island from the upheavals that have occurred elsewhere–and not just in the Caribbean. In Fiji, society has been fractured by Indian immigration. In East Africa, there have been decades of turmoil, although Uganda chose to bite the bullet and deport much of its Indian population when they rejected the government’s efforts to integrate them into African society.

A single labour market for the Caribbean will, over a historical period, lead to the political, social and cultural subordination of the Negro in the entire eastern Caribbean. Our politicians, businessmen and academics must be persuaded to abandon this ruinous project.

1. After reading this submission we recalled a one of our earlier blogs which was posted 20 June 2007 and attracted 3 comments including one from BU.

2. St George's Dragon Avatar

This is blatant racism and is unacceptable.

Turn this round and imagine how it would go down if someone in England, for instance, had written:

“While we must be a tolerant society, the English must understand that Bajan immigrants, with their high fertility rates, and their dislike of miscegenation with the Whites, have already destroyed the social cohesion of two European territories. Now they are invading England.”

This thread needs to be closed, and quickly.

3. I agree. The article is right on. The island states in caricom must defend themselves from these south american invaders. They cause but strife, destruction, and mayhem. Cohesiveness does not exist in their vocabulary. Deport them now!

4. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

You will I am sure get comments from others like St george dragon.

There will be some who cannot stand the truth,or will try to demonise you with their hypocritical nonsense.

We don’t even have to go to Fiji,mauritius or Africa – guyana and trinidad right next door are the best case studies for us to exmine and ensure our sociey does not end up with the racial hatred between the indian and the african like theirs.

5. @Yakubu….who are you?

Can anyone show me where throughout history has the Black man made a bomb, created a disease, created wars, created economic warfare and famine to kill off another racial group or forcefully transported and then enslaved another racial group of people simply because he claimed/believed that he is superior with the god-given right to rule and dominate others?

Do Black go all over this world looking to dominate others while co-existing only on a parasitical level?

Aren’t Black people the first ones to try to assimilate with all other groups even though we are the most despised people on this planet?

Without the slave labour of Black people and their resources from Al-kebulan where would the great Amerikkka and Europe be today?

Today, India like China and all the other parasitic colonisers before is entering the motherland to suck her resources.

Today, India has a class of people that they relegate to the lowest strata of their society. No one will go near them and they call them the UNTOUCHABLES. And guess what, they are BLACK like me!

So who is racist?

Everyone is preaching the bullshit about let’s all get along, but they are not practising it. They are playing the Black man continuously, and he, like his foreparents is too accepting of others. They hate us, they don’t give a damn, they are liars. They need us we don’t need them! Black man unite with your Black brothers & sisters all over this planet and forget about everyone else and that is the greatest fear of the Black man’s enemies.

So forget all this crackpot talk about black people being racist. Its impossible. We are not wired that way. We are not natural born haters. What we are is IGNORANT…SELF-IGNORANT.

The yoga they practise was stolen from the Black man. I can go on and on……

BTW..Blacks have high fertility rates also.

Oh & BTW…….why did the europeans eat the balls of the bull?

6. If blacks are to be considered racist, it would have to be reversed racism. Blacks would easily go against their own for the whites or even indians. I have heard comments made by indo-guyanese in barbados especially when they are drunk that would never be made by a black bajan whether drunk or sober.

7. Scout,
    You are on the ball with your comment about drunk Indo-Guyanese making disparaging statements about Blacks. The statements some of them make are astounding; yet Sir Shridath Ramphal says we are all one.

8. reluctant nonbeliever Avatar
    reluctant nonbeliever

Scout, lholder

Point taken. But clearly this is not just a Black/Indo-Guyanese problem.Drunks of all races make outrageous, often derogatory comments about all kinds of things and all kinds of people.

Just last week, for example, I was walking through Oistins with my sister-in-law (who’s white) . A drunk/paro passed by and mumbled the words “white trash”.
    I reflexively smacked him in the mouth and made him apologise, but I’m well aware that that won’t change the way he thinks.
    The sad truism is, hatred and bigotry exist everywhere, in all races.

9. France & Germany are much bigger, yet many are flocking to enter UK.

The late Enoch Powell once made the “Rivers of Blood” comment, in reference to immigrants into the UK.

A few weeks ago in Northern Ireland, a number of East Europeans were rescued by the police for fear of being lynched.

Immigration can be good if MANAGED SENSIBLY.

No country can allow entry to unchecked numbers of people, whether they are of the same colour, race, creed, religion; there must be a limit.

Any sensible government should be able to see the likely dangers, if unchecked numbers are allowed to enter its country.
    There are differences in behaviour, attitude, beliefs/religion, in all races, Blacks, Whites, Chinese, Indians,etc.

Problems can occur when one group feels the other is a threat in some way or the other.
    There are times when we disagree with our own brothers, sisters, mothers, fathers for different reasons.

The ‘post above by Yakubu:’appear to target ‘Indo….’

One can see where you are coming from by the examples given, but one must also ask the question!

If those ‘Indo..’ were blacks/Negroes, would you have written same?

We are sometimes alluded to things we want to see and often misunderstood the real picture.

10. Why is it whenever the issue of race or the impact the growing ethnic population may have on a stable Black host population we all scurry for the rocks? Should it not be a commonsense position if Barbados has had a stable social and political environment for so many years to want to anticipate and monitor how entering ethnic groups may impact our society? Remember our stability has been a key tenet of our success through the years. In the case of Barbados the Indo-Guyanaes comes under the microscope only because it represents the largest growing ethnic group in Barbados. Its not about persecuting Indo- Guyanese because Barbados has entertained Indians from the sub-continent for years and we have lived side by side without issues, check Kensington New Road, Fontebelle.

11. I am sure that both Lindsay Holder and Scout understand that drunk people talk a lotta foolishness.

Be honest now.

Have either of you ever been drunk?

Have you ever said anything while drunk that you would not have said when sober?

Would you like to be judged by your most drunken thoughts?

Me I have been drunk only once in my life. Tried it LIKED it, but didn’t like the hangover, resolved never to do it again. Never have.

J is always SOBER.

12. David you wrote “Uganda chose to bite the bullet and deport much of its Indian population when they rejected the governmentโ€™s efforts to integrate them into African society.”

Explain wah ya mean.

If you are defending Idi Amin you have to let us know.

Na big words please.

Put it in plain English

13. Dear reluctant non believer:

You wrote in reference to a drunken paro who used insulting words in reference to your sister in law:

“I reflexively smacked him in the mouth”

Since you are an immigrant and not a Bajan let me be the first Bajan to reprimand you, and to instruct you in decent Bajan behaviour.

Slapping people in the mouth (even if they use insulting words) is not the decent Bajan way. My Bajan parents, God rest their souls would roll in their graves if they knew that there had arrived in Barbados a person like you, so quick to use violence.

This is the true decent Bajan way. The next time a drunken paro insults your sister in law, or you, or even your mother, you walk ‘long ’bout your business and pretend that you do not hear.

That is how Barbados came to be a peaceful stable society , attractive to immigrants such as yourself. We are NOT quick to use violence. Haven’t you noticed that yet?

The drunken paro should have called the police for you and you should have been prosecuted for assault. Because what you did was unlawful.

Bajans are thoughtful people.

We do not reflexively do ANYTHING.

We think first. We think a lot, a lot, a lot first.

I’ve lived in Barbados for more than 50 years and I’ve never smacked anybody yet.

Why do you think that it is ok to smack our drunken paros for talking out of their own mouths? You pay taxes for their mouths????

As long as you live here never again must you smack a Bajan.

The Prime Minister should have you deported. You criminal. Assault is a crime.

14. Dear David:

You wrote “While we must be a tolerant society, Bajans must understand that Hindu immigrants, with their high fertility rates, and their dislike of miscegenation”

So what is stopping Bajans form having a high fertility rate.

Maybe while other people are having and raising children we Bajans would rather jerk off in condoms which we then throw on Mangrove landfill.

Maybe we would rather say that we used 10,000 condoms in a lifetime, rather than say that we raised 3 children. After all men get bragging rights for f**ping nuff, nuff women. But nobody congratulates the child raisers of this country.

15. And most of us Bajans don’t like miscegenation either, so that makes us exactly the same as the Hindu immigrants.

I’m old as Negroman is never tired of reminding me, and in spite of many years in the great white north I’ve never had sex with anyone outside of my own race.

If that does not make me a hateful person (and I don’t think that it does) how can the same behaviour from a Hindu immigrant be condemned?

Tek ya time to answer my question.

16. Reality Check Avatar

Not a nice subject to discuss since one can easily be labeled “racist”. However we have to also be realistic and study what has transpired in the countries mentioned.
    Free movement will transform the Barbados social, cultural and political landscape. Check out what has happened in Antigua where some 40%of the population are new immigrants, and 25 % of them can now vote.
    The Indian caste system poisons even the darkest Indian to feel that he is better than any black man, as his hair is straight or curly -ready for straightening. Many Indians from GT are really “doughlas”, mixed with African blood as blood as there were few women in the boats that brought them from India.

Hatred for blacks is widespread in Guyana. The black teachers taught their them and especially their parents and grandchildren to read and write. Today they are 45% of the population in Guyana and behave as if they are 85%. That is why there will always be problems there,

They can be a real problem as they are really transplanted Indians from India, with a short history here, and still tied to Indian culture in film etc. They are just living in this region and reaping the cream of the business and the opportunity to make money. Many are really NOT true Caribbean people as they refuse to drop their racial biases and behavior. With political power or the ability to control the swing votes, in a close election, they could create tensions that would destroy this country.

I do hope that the DLP saves this country by not backing down and not agreeing to free movement now or in the future.

17. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

I salute that the thread here is not closed. it s good to get out whatever lurks inside our hearts when it comes to the mass immigration of people with a diffrent culture to this little country.
    It has to be discussed and that in a open way, even if it sounds a bit nasty.
    Barbados is very small and cant house all these people in a short time.
    It should never been doen the way it has.
    Where i live, we have a quite big country, not densly populated, with a majority of native whites, but aggression against people coming here from other cultures is a big fear in many, especially in theese economical times.
    We have to take lay man seriously, or we can end up with worse things going on.

I have a question to hopi; you said yoga was stolen from black man.
    can you explain that to me?
    I am seriously interested in that theory!

18. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@MUBB
    Mauritius is part of Africa, though it is an island, not on the mainland.

The earlier article was really amusing for not flagging the inflow of Britons as something worth curbing.

Making the link between the dangers of European migration is worth pondering over the weekend. Funnily, Mauritius was the home of the Dodo (aka Simpleton bird), which died out within 50-100 years of the arrival of Europeans on the island: they and their animals killed the bird, which is now extinct.

Mauritius is also often used as a key comparator with Barbados: they had similar economic structures, and have chosen similar development paths from agriculture to finance/tourism based economies; they have similar populations densities (1.3 million/780 sq miles versus 0.28 million/166 sq miles). Mauritius was populated by migrants and after the Europeans came, there were Chinese, Indians, Arabs, various Creoles, and Hindus who now make up the dominant religious group (over 50%). You can think who is the disruptive element, if any, in that community.

It’s also worth reflecting even harder on European migration and its decimating effect on host populations. With that concern, I really wonder if the current thrust of tourism, with its focus on welcoming millions of Europeans and their descendants is not more of a threat to an island like Barbados. Remember, before the Europeans arrived in the Americas, there were Incas, Mayans, Caribs, Arawaks, and others. Not long after, they were dead due to the transmission of disease and other things like just being killed by the new arrivals. Do Bajans really feel safe with all those English people walking around freely and mixing with the population?

Just a view (not status quo, I hope).

19. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

Isnt it just a way to SELL yoga in black communities, to connect/compare indian yoga learnings to egyptian or even claim it to be plain west-african?
    And how can you say it was STOLEN from us/them/egyptians?
    Yoga can be practised everywhere by everyone, I dont think it can be restricted very much?
    Personally I think meditation-like postures and learnings have been practised ALL over the world in ancient times, then forgotten og selected away because of never ideas.F.ex. industrialisation, orthodox religious practises,witchhuntings etc.
    Here an article about how yoga is “brought back” to Africa, to people who really need it!
    :http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/7777912.stm

20. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@The Scout/LHolder
    Am I really to believe that you take the utterings/mutterings/mumblings/yelling of a drunken person seriously? Why would that be? I will be spending some time reading Hansard for Parliamentary debates in the UK and Barbados to seek guidance. The late Winston Churchill was often known to be drunk, especially in Parliament (not so, Lady Astor?) and then who is the other person I have in mind? Help me, someone?

21. J,
    You really are something else! Some men like to brag about their conquests; I suppose that it is an ego thing.

As for you, you seem to have forgot that the Scriptures say, “Man shall not live by bread alone, but by everthing that proceeds from the mouth of God.” I am quite sure that you are also familiar with the two Sparrow calypsos, ‘Congo Man’, and ‘I Never Eat a White Meat Yet’.

On a more serious note, yes, we should not rush to judge people based on the statements they make when they are drunk. Yes, I like my libations, and on occasions I have drunk too much and talk foolishness. But never in my inebriated state have I made racist comments. The reason is simple; such thoughts are not in my sub-conscious mind.

Let me relate a personal incident. One Sunday, I had some errands to do, and it took me up to the afternoon to finish them. On my way home, I stopped at a bar in Haggatt Hall. The bar, the name of which is ‘Kaiteur…..’, is operated by Guyanese East Indians, and is also frequented by Indo-Guyanese. During the time I spent there, I was the only black person. A drunk East Indian got up from the table he was sitting at, approached me, and started to ramble on about a lot of foolishness. The last thing he said to me, without any provocation, was that “I look like a dead.”

How should I interpret his behaviour?

My incident is not alone. I have heard of quite a few incidents where, when drunk, some Indo-Guyanese express their hatred for ‘niggers’. One guy is alleged to have said that he and others in his village used to beat Afro-Guyanese found in the village.

My contention, therefore, is that you cannot ignore all the alleged incidents or statements simply because the offending individuals were drunk.

22. the other person is living in Barbados drunken with wine of the good life and the hard labour of others.

PBG………..I’ll be back.

23. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@LHolder
    “My contention, therefore, is that you cannot ignore all the alleged incidents or statements simply because the offending individuals were drunk.”

I really have to wonder if this is April 1, or a scene from a satire.

Alcohol is now supposed to be some sort of truth serum? Let’s take this argument to logical conclusion. When the police pick up a drunk they can be more assured that what is said by such a person as being the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth (so help me God)? Can a lawyer help us here on how courts view that. Should we ply people with alcohol so that we can get to their deeper beliefs?

A lot of our social structure has been built on the pillar of sobriety. I now feel that this is in danger of being overturned and that alcoholism could be the new mantra. Does Barbados have a branch of AA?

Let me too retell a personal tale. When I worked at a central bank in England, one Director looked at me (obviously a negro) and said, in full seriousness, “Let’s try to find the niggers in the woodpile.” I did not smell his breath to check if he were drunk or sober, but the remark was deeply offensive and I told him so. Another time, while playing football, a drunken woman standing by the pitch came up to me and told me that she loved black men and wanted to have sex with me there on the pitch. I was flattered but thought better of accepting the offer. Had I acquiesced, and the lady later accused me of rape, should I have said in my defence, “But, your honour, she was drunk and clearly was speaking from the heart.”?

24. Of course this article was written by Yakubu – but since you – BU – have published it, is to assume you are in concord. I’ll say what has been said here already… and I stand by it:

Re this ‘Immigration thing’ : it is ~
    1) a racial thing
    2) a government to government feud.

Over and out

25. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Lindsay holder

Check out starbroek news article ‘immigration row heats up summit launch’ – and read the opening remarks of Jagdeo.

Read also how ralph gonsalves was egging him on by clapping during the speech as he made various remarks.

I hope thompson does not respond with some mamby-pamby diplomatic shite and will as you said earlier -‘take the gloves off’.

26. @LIB

Why do you take the debate down the road as if we are in a court of law?
    There is a body of opinion which says that we should study the impact ethnic groups may have on Barbados, especially so given our stable social history between the races. The growing Indo-Guyanese and Chinese to a lesser extent therefore comes under the microscope. It is generally well accepted that being in an inebriated state will lend to disorder to the senses of; to exhilarate or elate as if by spirituous drink; to deprive of sense and judgment; also, to stupefy. Factual positions are often times arrived it because of bouts of curiosity based on casual observation. What is so hard to understand about that brother?

At pepper sauce, the history of Barbados clearly demonstrates that we are a tolerant society to other races.

27. reluctant non-believer
    You are a lucky man; how dare you go slapping a black bajan, paro or not for speaking out of his own mouth. I think if ever you see that paro again you owe him an apology. As long as he didn’t touch or assault you or your ladyfriend, you were out of place and again lucky that some other sober bajan didn’t see the incedent and administer a rare but serious bajan whipping on you. Just smile and continue on your way next time; take my advice

28. Our politicians, businessmen and academics must be persuaded to abandon this ruinous project.

Our politicians, businessmen and academics, etc, are all dumb-asses happy to continue the ruination as long as somebody’s happy to call them Sir, and bow-down an kiss duh ****sides every two seconds and make them feel important! We know it and, more importantly, the Indians know it, and are happy to flatter them, at least temporarily, until they achieve their aim of taking-over, which with their skill and agility at doing, will be a snitch!! Meanwhile, the Bajan will keep skinning e white teet till, one day, much too late, they’ll realise that Bim is n’t theirs, any more!!

What a hilarious, but sad, people!! Meanwhile, the Indians will be ‘laughing all the way to the bank’ while ridiculing you, in their homes!!

29. I just you did it to please or impress your white friend.

30. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Bredda Hopi
    Me no memba yu, dred. Is wen me an yu did fren? Inna wich time we did wuk togedda? How yu know so much ’bout me? Or is guess you a guess or dream yu a dream? Hop a no duppy yu a see!

As tings slow slow today, wen yu reddy, we can grab fi we hoe an go plant some good Renta. Mi yard ha some banana me wan pull, too. And wen we a swet, we can sing “Red, red wine.” Sweet music, Iyah!

Tell me wen yu reddy fi help.

31. Time for actionP.M. Avatar
    Time for actionP.M.

Lord help us people.

Read the article on line in the nation where walter maloney says persons are calling up immigration officers and threatening them.

This thing is all out war.

Owen arthur let all of these blasted coolie people in this country and now they are causing bare shite in this country.

All the years other caribbean people here in this country and nothing so ever happen.

It just shows you if we had allowed these people to stay and take root it would have been massive destruction across the whole of barbados.

THIS THING IS VERY SERIOUS!

Next thing is that article by jeff cumberbatch.

You see who the nation newspaper seek out for comments -not people like lindsay holder – but people like cumberbatch who will side with the agenda of the nation.

Instead of giving support to the government and people of barbados – who pay his salary up at the university – of which he gives nothing back to this society – he up there encouraging guyanese to sue the government of barbados by telling them about rights under the constitution.

I suppose all of those lil indian young girls studying law up at cave hill -have to be given the assurance that he is on their side – or else….

32. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“Why do you take the debate down the road as if we are in a court of law?”
    Because if you read or statements and dont think through what they imply you will end up with many idiotic conclusions just because the take the statement as making sense. I call the process reasoning.

I can only speak for myself, but your definition of the effects of drink [“It is generally well accepted that being in an inebriated state will lend to disorder to the senses of; to exhilarate or elate as if by spirituous drink; to deprive of sense and judgment; also, to stupefy.”] tells me to discount the utterings of those who are under its influence, yet we have someone trying to argue that we should take such utterings seriously.

“There is a body of opinion which says that we should study the impact ethnic groups may have on Barbados, especially so given our stable social history between the races.” By all means study that impact. But please don’t argue that such study looks only at the impact of one ethnic group. I put forward the argument (reasonable to me) about looking at the impact of the English. Are they of concern to you and the ‘body of opinion’? They are to me, and I lived amongst them for 30 years and my ‘casual observations’ during that period of how some of them treated black Caribbeans and other people originating from other countries, especially if they have dark skin, could make me less than comfortable to have them infiltrating this island.

33. J
    Take it from me, indo-guyanese believe that blacks are the scruff of the earth. While in Guyana, I worked with some indo-guyanese, one Sat. i was in Demico Beer Garden with some friend (blacks) when one of these indo-guyanese came in, he came over and offer me a beer with the comment ” don’t mind you’re black you alright.” I refused the beer, he never spoke to me again. Funny thing I was in a shop near me quite recently and some indo-guyanese were in the shop doing their usual Sat evening thing, getting drunk. One guy turned to the shopkeeper and told him to give me a beer because I’m one of the good black men. Again I refused the beer and walked out of the shop. Some black bajans in the shop were laughing at the comment. I said” forgive them, for what they say” as I left. We haven’t seen the worse of them yet. I KNOW it is just a matter of time something serious happens. These indo-guyanese are so culturally dumb at it is not unusual for a group of “friends” to start on their sat. drinking spree and end up fighting and chopping up each other. Is this what barbados will come to?

34. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

To correct my typos–CHANGES IN CAPITALS:
    โ€œWhy do you take the debate down the road as if we are in a court of law?โ€
    Because if you read STATEMENTS and dont think through what they imply you will end up with many idiotic conclusions just because YOU take the statement as making sense. I call the process reasoning.

35. This thread exposes the real reason behind the call for “managed migration”.

Is D.Thompson by articulating the policy of managed migration going to be inadvertently placed in the company of such people as Enoch Powell (rivers of blood fame), Alfred Deakin (White Australia only immigration policy), Daniel Malan (Apartheid in South Africa), Hassan Ngeza editor of Kagura (motivated the Rwanda massacre of Tutsis), S. Milosevic (ethnic cleansing in the Balkans), George Speight (Fiji coup leader in 2000) , Nathan Forrest (organiser of the Ku Klux Klan) and A. Hitler (the final solution i.e the Holocaust)?

36. A few years ago, at Bushy Pask raceway, there was this guyanese driver who was driving reckless and with downright hatred for the bajan competitors. He got into a confrontation with a bajan driver and they sqared up in front each other. The large contigent of guyanese spectators that were present jumped the fence and was ready to defend their guy. One indo-guyanese spectator started waving a guyanese flag and shouting “Indian guyanese rule”, like a time bomb a big fight broke out. Of course the guyanese spectator got a good whipping before the task force got there to break it up. What I’m saying that some civil unrest is just below the surface but bajans will not react unless provoked.

37. LIB,
    You mentioned Churchill.

Following are some famous quotes from that icon of a man, and not all of them are related to drunken behaviour. Some were made when he was quite sober, and are very applicable to the ongoing immigration discussion.

โ€œLady Nancy Astor: Winston, if you were my husband, I’d poison your tea.
    Churchill: Nancy, if I were your husband, I’d drink it.โ€

โ€œ’Elizabeth Braddock: You are drunk Sir Winston, you are disgustingly drunk. ‘Yes, Mrs. Braddock, I am drunk. But you, Mrs. Braddock are ugly, and disgustingly fat. But, tomorrow morning, I, Winston Churchill will be sober.โ€

โ€œOne ought never to turn one’s back on a threatened danger and try to run away from it. If you do that, you will double the danger. But if you meet it promptly and without flinching, you will reduce the danger by half.โ€

โ€œNever give in, never give in, never; never; never; never – in nothing, great or small, large or petty – never give in except to convictions of honour and good senseโ€

โ€œAn appeaser is one who feeds a crocodile hoping it will eat him last.โ€

โ€œThe farther backwards you can look, the farther forward you are likely to see.โ€

โ€œIn wartime, truth is so precious that she should always be attended by a bodyguard of lies.โ€

โ€œI gather, young man, that you wish to be a Member of Parliament. The first lesson that you must learn is, when I call for statistics about the rate of infant mortality, what I want is proof that fewer babies died when I was Prime Minister than when anyone else was Prime Minister. That is a political statistic.โ€

38. ‘St George’s Dragon’ is a fantasist who’s delusions will prove no good for Bim, at all, just as they have n’t for Britain!!

J // July 3, 2009 at 2:29 am

I am sure that both Lindsay Holder and Scout understand that drunk people talk a lotta foolishness.

J, are you another fantasist?!! People speak, NOT FOOLISHNESS, but what they TRULY think, more honestly, WHEN THEY’RE DRUNK!! Which convent u live in?!! – that you’re so out of touch!!

“If you are defending Idi Amin you have to let us know.”

And what would be so terrible about that, J!! Many countries now wish they had the guts to follow his example!!

“My Bajan parents, God rest their souls would roll in their graves if they knew that there had arrived in Barbados a person like you, so quick to use violence.”

J, thousands of people have been arriving in Barbados for years now who are notorious for being ‘quick to use violence’ and I have n’t heard the Bajan yet, who’s been brave enough to stand up and criticise them! Indeed, you positively won’t dream to say a bad word against them, or even mention their name, except in the most positive light you can configure, so as you have n’t the guts to criticise them, I’m not going to name them either, but, why should ‘reluctant nonbeliever’ be any different!! A whole host of Bajans are mindless and ignorant!! I can tell from these blogs, alone!!

The Prime Minister should have you deported. You criminal. Assault is a crime.

I still agree with u on that, J!!

J, someting tell me u feel strongly on dis subjek!!

Lor!!

So what is stopping Bajans form having a high fertility rate.

J, how about the limited size of the country plus, our normally sensible attitude to which u referred earlier!! The trick is to encourage the others to be the same!! or, else, compel them to be!!

partly bajan girl // July 3, 2009 at 4:18 am

“I salute that the thread here is not closed. it s good to get out whatever lurks inside our hearts when it comes to the mass immigration of people with a diffrent culture to this little country.
    It has to be discussed and that in a open way, even if it sounds a bit nasty.”

Well said, PBG, if, like you and me, more world leaders could see this, the world would be a better place!!

39. @LIB

No we are not overyly concern about the English migrant at this time.

40. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“No we are not overyly concern about the English migrant at this time” You say migrant, but can I presume you mean migrants? Does that mean that there will come a time when you will be overly concerned? Does that mean you will never be concerned? To both, if so, why. Again, this is reasoning. Test the argument. See if it holds water.

41. “I suppose all of those lil indian young girls studying law up at cave hill -have to be given the assurance that he is on their side โ€“ or elseโ€ฆ.”

Prepare yourselves for the advent of an Indian, Prime minister or an Indian-government! And you and Arthur, will have invited it upon yourselves!!

42. The thing is, I can’t recall ever hearing of any blacks being invited to emigrate to INDIA!! have you!!

43. @LIB

The pragmatist may say to you that current realities require Barbadians to engage this issue steeped in the current reality I.e. a failed state is raining down migrants on our little country and we need to fix it now.

44. I just heard the comments made by that stinking political misfit Jagdeo suggesting that my P.M is a liar. I AM FURIOUS. THIS IS IT. David/BU you can BAN me if you like but it is all out war now against ALL guyanese . Just after I read that one passed by me and spoke. I promptly told him as far as I am concerned he and all the rest of them should be out of thisd country and I would prefer if until then don’t even speak to me.He asked me how I am going to get them out, I better learn to live with them. That got me more furious, I intend to go to my room and watch cricket and hope W.I wins , that will help cool me down. Who the HELL bulling Jagdeo think he is. Ban me if you like BU ; BFP has already done that.

45. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@LHolder
    A good set of Winston’s quotations, and they should make everyone smile.

I cited Churchill for several reasons, one of which was to draw comparison to stories of a prominent local politician. There may be good reasons to listen to what drunks say, that is true. But, it is not a good general proposition. (I’m taking your credentials as an economist as given, so hope you can accept that remark.)

Churchill is good to think about. He was known to be a giften person from an early age (and time at a good school helped nurture that). He had a good Army career, a brilliant political career too. The man was an artist of no little talent and he was a good enough writer to get a Nobel Prize for Literature. He was widely acknowledged as a great statesman. Therefore, his drunken mutterings could be set against all he did and said. Ok, he could have been drunk all the time, but that would make his greatness even more astonishing. But, had the man been known to be a fool or not known at all, why would I really give a tinker’s cuss about what he said?

46. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“The pragmatist may say to you that current realities require Barbadians to engage this issue steeped in the current reality…”

Have you looked carefully at the UK recently? It is not classed as a failed state, but is a former imperial power that has been waning for decades (you can even read a report today that tells how it is being sidelined by the EU in key discussions). It is also an economy in deep trouble. That may not lead to a flood of Brits coming here for jobs, but they may wish to escape Blighty’s oppressive economic decline and camp out here. They have the wealth, as is clear, to take over this island with very little effort. I would not fear that even 10% of the 55 million Brits would want to descend on Bimshire and have to live with the darkies, but you never know. There is a long love affair between the two countries, with this precious isle even being known as “Little England”.

So, much depends on which reality you want your eyes to rest on.

47. BU agreed/published, and I quote:
    “Hindu immigrants… have already destroyed the social cohesion of two Caribbean territories”.

YOU: “All Hindus are racist”, is that not what you are publishing BU?

Shame!!!

You are fanning racist flames, and that is promotion of racism/xenophobia. It is
    ILLEGAL
    to do so.

You are confusing the present day issues by doing so.

No respect for this Nazi tactic.

Racist, BU.
    Racist BU.

48. I am calling on our Prime Minister on his return to Barbados to announce a referendum to see how bajans feel about the presence and arrogant attitude of guyanese in this country. I also call for a public apology from the Guyanese President for the remarks he made about the Barbados Prime Minister. This man obviuosly can only deal in the gutter. You think he could have made those remarks to either , Errol Barrow or Tom Adams?

49. At 7:34 Scout wrote “These “indo-guyanese are so culturally dumb at it is not unusual for a group of โ€œfriendsโ€ to start on their sat. drinking spree and end up fighting and chopping up each other.”

Dear Scout: In the nice, quiet, Christian, rural, Bajan village in which I was born and raised I’ve known of three black Bajan men who killed another 3 black Bajan men while all six of them were as drunk as Churchill (or as drunk as English Lords). When they were not drunk all 6 of the men were very nice guys and friends.

I am sure that if the Scout and others on this blog are honest they can relate similar stories, after all those thousand men at Dodds are all the products of nice, quiet, Christian, Bajan villages.

Just adding some perspective to the discussion

3 dead men.

3 men in jail.

And that is only off the top of my head. If I had the time to sit down and study it I am sure that there were more cases.

So yes young men sometimes kill other young men when they are all drunk.

It ain’t a Bajan thing, not a Guyanese thing, or a Christian thing, or a Hindu thing, nor a Muslim thing either (cause dem does get drunk and behave bad too)