naboAccording to a BU source members of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) based in the USA have been voicing displeasure at the way the Executives of NABO have been managing its business. “Specifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.”

The current controversy centres around how money was spent to host a conference held in Barbados in 2008; surprise surprise.

NABO’s main activity since its existence has been to sponsor an annual convention of Barbadians and Barbadian organizations, usually on the American Independence Celebration weekend. The convention is essentially a forum of Barbadians, people of Barbadian heritage and others interested in Barbados, to discuss the issues which affect them in their communities in the USA, and those which affect their families in Barbados…” (extracted from NABO’s website)

Our understanding is that NABO is an umbrella body which represents several Barbadians organization scattered across North America.

“On Sunday, March 8th, 2009 the Board of Directors of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) held a Special Meeting in  accordance with Article XIX, Section I of NABO’s Bylaws.

At that meeting, it was decided by majority vote that the executives named below did not properly execute their duties. Specifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.”

Here are the names of the NABO Board members referred to above who have been removed: (when last we checked the names supposedly removed continue to be displayed on the NABO website. An indication of the confusion maybe?)

Earl Ashby – Chairman

John Ellis – Vice Chairman

Martin Greenidge – Treasurer

Janice Bispham – Public Relations Officer

Mike Cummins – Immediate Past Chairman

BU received a document which details how NABO spent $290,000.00 to stage its 2008 conference which coincidentally was held in Barbados and seems to be the cause of the fracas. As Barbadians we should all be concerned at the accusations being leveled at NABO for several reasons:

1. NABO is an organization which represents Barbadians in the Diaspora. The current government along with several businesses in Barbados have and will continue to court organizations like NABO as a means to maintain a close liaison with Barbadians overseas. It is the declared policy of the government to establish a government unit to lead the strategy to encourage investment from Barbadians overseas. A NABO reputation and credibility tarnished by the ongoing accusations could derail the effort of the government in North America.
  2. A review of the financials for staging the NABO conference in Barbados after much prodding by members reveals that the Barbados Tourism Authority was one of its many Bajan sponsors to the tune of $40,000. The donation of Bajan tax dollars makes the accusation of financial misdeeds our business.
  3. Historically Barbadians have garnered an enviable reputation when living as ex-patriates. If the allegations we are hearing that NABO funds were used not as directed e.g. the Chairman having his hotel accommodation paid contrary to arrangement, the 2008 Financials to host the Barbados conference not accurately representing true costs, or NABO operating outside of its remit by contravening US laws regarding how entities should engage in financial activity, Barbadians including the local media should investigate this matter.
  4. More disturbing is the fact that the source documents used to support the financials which were finally produced by the old NABO Executive were allegedly signed by a Notary Public in the USA without full knowledge of the transactions.

BU hopes that by exposing this matter it will help to bring focus on this matter and lead to a resolution which would ensure NABO continues to meet its objective on behalf of Barbadians.

1. I guess we have more stupid Bajan in the DC area than in the rest of the country.

2. It should be a hot topic in Boston as that is where it all goes on.

3. Are we to judge the issue of financial impropriety and a NABO Board suggested to be illegitimate based on the number of Bajans said to be attending the next bash?

4. No, however the Directors that was remove refuse to step a side. These people continue to use the good name of Barbados to bring shame to my country.

5. I am not sure how accurate the info you received in the past about finances and all the other things about NABO, but all monies been accounted for and fully audited by the sponsors who have expressed total satisfaction. More to follow from a very reliable source…..

6. What do sponsors know about auditing books, they need a CPA to do that.
    What is all monies you are refering too?

7. It is good to hear that the sponsor did a complete audit of the records. Was the Barbados Investment Corporation and the NCF a part of this group. Did Air Jamica look into this. Did page 2 of the Audited Report finally show up.

8. My sources indicate that
    the conference was attended by Boston, Conn., Florida, Baltimore, Washington, California, Tortola, Kentucky, New York , Philadelphia and South Carolina. From these sources, it was also stated that the attendees voiced that they had a great time and are ready for 2010 Philadelphia.

9. @Hastick
    All incoming monies indicated including page 2 were accounted for along with all supporting documentation (matching receipts, contracts, etc.) All payouts were also accounted for with matching documentation. My sources verified that all incoming funds correlated with all outgoing funds that 100% supported the conference. It was proven that there was no evidence of impropriety, misappropiation or mismanagement. More to follow….

10. I guess we are just speaking about the Carolina event, was the books for the 2008 event audited also, that was the problem that need to be fix, I find it hard to swallow that the book for the Carolina event was already audited when 2008 still remain a haze.

11. @ Observer
    Can you state your real name, so it can give some value to what you are writing.

12. @ Hastick
    Do you have any trust in the above statements?
    @ Observer
    I would like to know which books was audited by the sponsors if Barbados or Carolina event?
    And I will like to know which of the sponsors audited these books and a contact email or phone number.

13. It is probably more lies from the top again. I don’t believe the NCF or Barbados Investment Corp has looked at any of this stuff, as a matter of fact I know they have not. Whatabout the $5,017 cash donation. Who, when and where? Have them post a copy of the receipt or a letter from the folks that the money was supposedly donated to. They can’t. Also please state the credentials of this auditor. More of the same BS bieng smeared to gain some level of respect and to encourage folks to pump more funds back into a crooked organization.

14. Just heard from another unreliable source that NABO donated six hospital beds to the Barbados Community College. Could this be true or more of the same lies? Maybe they are finally doing some good.

15. It is time that the leadres of the National Barbados Association and many detractors come clean if the association is to be resuscitated.
    1. Obey the Bylaws
    2. Produce 5 years of Financial statements. Not ones devised for the purpose of a general meeting.
    3. Be accountable, too much money was paid to past committe members because of disputes.
    4. The treasurer must have some back bone. and quarterly reports should be mailed to financial members of NABO
    5. There should be a 3 or 5 person watch dog committee seated for the same length of the Governing body.
    6. Setup a budget, operating expenses, charity, education, entertainment(hosting the July 4 weekend) not for the committee.
    When the above items are dealt with then, and only then can the NABO be a success. I am not here to pull down or build up, just giving some sound advice to the present leaders and those who may venture to carry on in the future.
    Accountability should be your motto

16. Six beds was donated to the Barbados Community College by the Barbados Association of Central Florida which is in no way connected to NABO.

17. Only Barbados conference is what was disclosed. email and phone #’s, I will get that info later. As I say, more to follow. And no one need to be insulting as I gather the info.

18. No one is been insulting, however you still have not given your info as requested earlier.

19. I’m sure there are many of us who are waiting patiently to see what Observer has to bring forth.

I look forward to candid answers without any skirting around the remaining questions put before him.

20. @EyeSpy
    You have to assume that I am a man by referring to “him”. What is it; a woman cannot be at the forefront of this info? That really piss me off. Is this space dominated by MEN only, please !!!!!!

21. Observer, do you think you are the only one who has ever been referred to as a “him” in this blog that may have been of the opposite sex. It has been done on other blogs, and in some cases vice versa. Steupse.

I’m glad you were only pissed off. It’s better to be pissed off than to be pissed on.

22. If you would give your real name that would not happen, also on reading EyeSpy comments I do not see him or her referring to you as a him.
    As you see I use my real name, what do you have to hide that you can not give yours.

23. Observer = JB or AM.

24. @rodney
    EyeSpy // July 15, 2009 at 10:51 am

I’m sure there are many of us who are waiting patiently to see what Observer has to bring forth.

I look forward to candid answers without any skirting around the remaining questions put before him.

25. @Hastick
    Observer = JB or AM???????
    @rodney
    you are the most vocal all over this blog. Can you be nice for just a litttle?

26. @ Observer
    I am always nice, asking you to say who you are qualify for not been nice, since you indicate that I am vocal all over this blog I am sure that you notice I had no trouble saying who I am and my phone number earlier in this blog, why can`t you do the same.
    We do not need another unknow writer saying how honest these people.
    I also need the name of the CPA firm that audited the books.

27. Conference Reporter Avatar
    Conference Reporter

Here’s what really happened in South Carolina:

The conference was attended by nine different delegations out of the current 19 member organizations listed. Close family and friends of THE NINE also attended and signed petitions.

Affiliations:
    The Nine are – :

BVI – Regional Director, Dana Ambrose
    Philadelphia
    Hartford – John Ellis, Vice Chairman; Sheena Petrolito, Past Reg. Director
    Atlanta – Unpaid
    California – Martin Greenidge, Treasurer
    BACF Boston – Mike Cummins, Past Chair
    CH Boston – Earl Ashby, Chairman; Atley Clinton, Reg. Director
    Baltimore – Pauline Maynard, Secretary; Cora Rawlins, Reg. Director
    Melbourne – Janice Bispham, PRO
    S. Florida – Marcia Smith, Secretary

So, as you can clearly see, those attending and voting on resolutions, and claiming that everything was super delicious were all affiliated with the bad birds. And we all know that birds of a feather flock together.

The guy from Philly is a partier, and a close friend and cricket budy of the Boston crew.

They set up another guy from Boston to work with NABO image. His name is Richard Phipps. He is tasked with trying to get the other 10 organizations to come back.

Since 50 +1 of the organizations were not in attendance, it is believed that nothing that was agreed on will hold. Not enough voting delegates were present, and the only people who voted that everything was ok were the ones involved.

Although South Florida was well represented, I am told that they did not have any official delegates. The Smith girl is the Assistant Secretary and represented the NABO executive, not S Florida.

The following organizations were not represented -:

Bermuda
    Jacksonville
    USVI
    Washington DC
    NY (BACA)
    NY (CBONY)
    BCCB – Boston
    UBA – Atlanta
    West Palm
    Orlando

A press release was circulated for all to sign. Philadelphia did not sign it. It forced those signing to agree that NABO had provided all the information needed to quell the accusations and innuendos levied against the leadership. It also state that those signing were satisfied to the extent of retaining their suport. It claims that the organization has shown the resolve to emerge stronger and more focused by identifying actions to prevent the reoccurrence of past difficulties.

These bling followers of family and friends signed the document even though an audited financial report for last years convention was still not provided.

The Treasurer told everyone that he could not get the statement because … get this… the accountant’s family member was in hospital and she could not complete it. He claimed that it was 95% completed. They promised to get it out in the mail…. just like the January meeting in Houston.

But, these delegates are all family and friends. There was no Ava, Cheryl, Dale, Rosalind, June, Wesley, or the guy from Bermuda there to ask sensible questions. They have apparently given up on NABO.

Rumor has it that they are talking about forming a whole new group to represent Barbados abroad. One that is transparent, and has term limits to power.

Oh, did I say that the petition, signed by 54 persons, was also signed by none other than Sandra Asgill of Canada. This petition claims that it is being signed by NABO delegates, but mostly family and friends did the signing… not delegates. Children were also allowed to sign to make it appear legitimate.

Most everything done in NABO now is very secretive. The organizations that did not play nice are being left out of all email notifications.

That’s my report.

28. Conference Reporter Avatar
    Conference Reporter

Just imagine what this would look like if they did not sign it themselves? Look at all the family groupings. This was a friends and family weekend activity.

Let’s all pray for NABO.

PRESS RELEASE

We, the undersigned delegates who attended the National Association of Barbados Organisations, Inc (NABO), annual conference at beautiful and historic Charleston, South Carolina, July 9-12, 2009, regarded this conference to be one to the best we have ever attended.

We are happy to publicly state that the leadership of NABO has provided all the information needed to quell all the accusations and innuendos levied against the leadership of NABO. Our concerns have been satisfied to the extent of retaining our support, and out of the Charleston meeting, the organization has shown the resolve to emerge stronger and more focused by identifying actions to prevent the reoccurrence of past difficulties.

We hereby endorse the above statement wholeheartedly.

Anderson Blackman
    John Ellis – Vice Chairman
    Gail Ellis – Vice Chairman’s spouse
    Pauline Maynard – Secretary
    Adrian Maynard – Secretary’s Spouse
    Yvonne Best-Foster
    Cora Rawlins- Regional Director
    Dunstan Rawlins – Regional Director’s Spouse
    Curtis Evelyn
    Sheena Petrolito – Past Regional Director
    Betty Stephens
    Stephen Blair
    Rhonda Walcott
    Ryan Walcott
    Michelle Cummins – Past Chairman’s kid
    Marleah Cummins – Past Chairman’s kid
    Eldra Cummins – Past Chairman’s Spouse
    Martin Greenidge – Treasurer
    Marcelle Greenidge – Treasurer’s Spouse
    Ann Mapp
    Lloyd Stanford
    Rhoda Green – Honorary Consul in SC
    Colbert Green – Honorary Consul’s Spouse
    Curtis Clarke
    John Licorish – Honorary Consul in Boston
    Orville Hinds
    Mardelle Hinds
    Jean Williams
    Huxley Williams
    Christine Caddle
    Janice Bispham – Public Relations Officer
    Carmelia Bascombe – Public Relation’s family member
    Richard Phipps – Image Manager
    Marjorie Davidson
    Clifford Davidson
    Earskie Jones
    Jean Joseph
    Atley Clinton – Regional Director
    Pamela Clinton – Regional Director’s Spouse
    Julia Hollingsworth
    Rose Hollingsworth
    Darnell Straker
    Jacqueline Straker
    Cheryl Thorne
    Euclid Selman
    Sandra Asgill – Chairman’s Girlfriend from Canada
    Wayne Bynoe
    Myriam Belasse
    Shelly Headley
    Richard Headley
    Lynette Inniss
    Leornard Inniss
    Marcia Smith – Assistant Secretary
    Marcia McCarthy

29. Let’s see if we get this right. A non-profit entity legally constituted under US law ratified a resolution??? which says that all is well in the face of allegations of financial impropriety, late submissions of pertinent information which conflicts with its bylaws and last of all the fact that the executive would have been unanimously booted out of office? What are we missing? What are the representatives from the Barbados government saying?

30. Conference Reporter Avatar
    Conference Reporter

If we compare these signatures and numbers to the 350 plus attendees at last year’s conference in Barbados, it is evident that this was a poor showing.

@ Observer
    I am waiting for your information. I was there, and I never saw a financial statement for the Barbados Conference of 2008. I got the foolish excuse, so I have no idea what you are promising here.

All monies have NOT been accounted for and fully audited.

The real issue, the collaborative conference monies, is still up in the air. It happened just like the directors promised, another excuse and promise of a later delivery.

With so many family and friends about, you could not question anything at this conference. All dissenters were shut out. They kept saying, this is no time for negativity, this is time for healing.

Any questions were seen as negativity if you pushed too hard.

Nothing has changed! No audited Collaborative Conference Report! The whole point of this blog was ignored. That report was the primary issue discussed by the directors and they got kicked in the face. Another foolish excuse which was gladly accepted by the buddy crowd. When it comes in the mail, no one have to face the music. Next meeting is elections. The fools will rule again.

Mike and Earl has won and declared victory.

31. Conference Reporter Avatar
    Conference Reporter

The Barbados Government sent deputies to SC to observe. No official heads of office attended.

32. So can we deduce from the government sending officials to observe, it tacitly recognized the rogue NABO Executive?

33. Conference Reporter Avatar
    Conference Reporter

I made a few calls and was told that David Blublia requested to attend without govt. blessing. St. Hill in Miami was newly assigned to the diaspora and agreed to go with him, but left in one day.

Green in SC asked them to bring the conference there in the first place, so she was committed.

34. Who paid for the government observers to attend?

35. @ conference reporter
    It is evident that you do not have a clue and if you attended the conference in SC, it is obvious that if you really was in attendance, there were some things that you miss or you were too stupid to comprehend or too dumb to figure out. I SAID that I have information that is accurate and awaiting more. But, you like the others are just speculating. Shut up and wait……. here is accurate info.

Board of Directors (15) quorum satisfied.

1 BVI
    2 Philadelphia
    3 Hartford – John Ellis, Vice Chairman;
    4 Sheena Petrolito, Past Reg. Director
    5 Atlanta – PAID
    6 California – Martin Greenidge, Treasurer
    7 Mike Cummins, Past Chair
    8 CHA Boston – Earl Ashby, Chairman; 9 Atley Clinton, Reg. Director
    10 Pauline Maynard, Secretary;
    11 Cora Rawlins, Reg. Director
    12Melbourne – Janice Bispham, PRO
    13 S. Florida
    14 BCCB
    15 Washington

36. How rude! Observer, you just proved to all that you are none other than Michael Cummins. Well known for calling people names.

37. Cheryl Thompson Avatar
    Cheryl Thompson

I have to say that the Conference reporter did forget Houston (how is that possible?), but he/she was correct about the fact that a quorum was not met, if 50% plus 1 of the possible delegates are required to be there, and if Observer is right in maintaining that a total of 15 made the count for the quorum, then Conference reporter is correct:

Let’s look at the numbers carefully:

Per Observers count –

1 BVI (1 of a possible 3 delegates) -2 delegates

2 Philadelphia (1 of a possible 3 delegates) -2 delegates

3 Hartford – John Ellis, Vice Chairman;
    4 Hartford -Sheena Petrolito, Past Reg. Director
    (that’s 2 of a possible 3 delegates) -1 delegate

5 Atlanta – PAID (1 of a possible 3 delegates) -2 delegates

6 California – Martin Greenidge, Treasurer +1? (2 of a possible 3 delegates) -1 delegate

7 Mike Cummins, Past Chair (See BCCB – you can’t count yourself twice).

8 CHA Boston – Earl Ashby, Chairman; (you can’t count yourself twice). (1 of a possible 3 delegates) -1
    9 CHA Boston- Atley Clinton, Reg. Director (you can’t count yourself twice). (1of a possible 3 delegates) -0

10 Baltimore -Pauline Maynard, Secretary +1; (you can’t count yourself twice). (2 of a possible 3 delegates) -1
    11 Baltimore -Cora Rawlins, Reg. Director (you can’t count yourself twice). (3 of a possible 3 delegates) -0

12 Melbourne – Janice Bispham, PRO (you can’t count yourself twice). (1 of a possible 3 delegates) -2

13 S. Florida (1 of a possible 3 delegates) -2

14 BCCB – Mike Cummins & Eldra Cummins – (that’s 2 of a possible 3 delegates) -1

15 Washington (1 of a possible 3 delegates) -2

Delegate count out of the possible 10 organizations present as mentioned by Observer would have 3 delegates each. So 10 organizations = 30 delegates. That would be 15 delegates present out of a possible 30.

Now, if we add Conference Reporter’s missing delegates (taking out those that Observer claims were present):

Bermuda (0 of a possible 3 delegates) -3

Jacksonville (0 of a possible 3 delegates) -3

USVI (0 of a possible 3 delegates) -3

NY (BACA) (0 of a possible 3 delegates) -3

NY (CBONY) (0 of a possible 3 delegates) -3

Orlando (0 of a possible 3 delegates) -3

West Palm (0 of a possible 3 delegates) -3

We add –
    Houston (0 of a possible 3 delegates) -3

That would be -24 possible delegates who were not present.

So, if 30 delegates were possible from the 10 organizations present, and only 15 were actually present and counted for the quorum. We add the 15 missing to the 24 not present and we get a total of 39 missing delegates.

NABO should then have a total of 54 delegates.

Some may argue that you should take out the resigned Orlando’s and the unpaid West Palm’s delegates (-6). Even so, you are still looking at a total of 48 possible delegates.

Indeed, a lot more delegates were missing than were present. How can 15 satisfy a quorum which mandates 50% plus 1? Out of a possible 48 delegates, we had only 15 present. 48-15 = 33 missing delegates.

Therefore, you would need to have at least 25 delegates present and accounted for in Charleston to satisfy the Constitutional Quorum of NABO.

It is really sad when people cannot understand and follow their own written constitution.

38. Cheryl Thompson Avatar
    Cheryl Thompson

I made a slight error. Observer listed 11 organizations above (Although Baltimore with Pauline and Cora was not spelled out. So that would have been only 15 out of a possible 33 delegates present from the organizations represented.

39. What stupidity. Anytime Martin Greenidge, Adrian Maynard and Janice Bispham signs anything, beware! These people are as stupid as a can of sardines. One of the few who would lock themselves into a can and leave the key outside. Poor people. How stupid do they think we are?

40. Same old story, nothing changes with NABO another promise financial report.
    We are almost in 2010 and still waiting on a report from a 2008 conference.
    @ Observer
    Where do you get off calling people dump and stupid, maybe the cap of dump and stupid fit you and you are wearing it well.

41. @rodney
    You talk toooo much and do NOTHING based on my reading of the comments on this blog. My research on you shows that you contribute a lot of SPACE (empty rhetoric, useless statements etc.) . You need to go silent, stop writing and let others with real info contribute.

42. @Cheryl Thompson
    My advice to you is to reread very carefully what you have written, it is loaded with errors and shows your extreme lack of knowledge of an organization( NABO) that you are suppose to be “interim chair” , or are you in the process of creating your own “NABO”. Please……….

43. @ Observer
    You should step out of the dark and give your real name or are you shame of your name and connection.
    I notice you had a lot of two members and three members associations present.
    S Florida did not have a vote as the president did not delegate anyone to go.

44. Observer/him/her/Johnnie cum lately/decoy/aka, etc is full of it and it’s not sugar, furthermore is a joke that you can’t even laugh at. Steupse.

45. Conference Reporter Avatar
    Conference Reporter

@ Observer

You really Mike Cummins? Seriously? You sound as if you think that you are an authority on NABO. De real authority.

You coming on here, calling people dumb and stupid, telling others they don’t know what they are talking about, claiming to have all the information that you have not even posted, and telling people to wait?

Who you?

46. Conference Reporter Avatar
    Conference Reporter

RESEARCH

What is a Quorum?

Wikipedia:
    In law, a quorum is the minimum number of members of a deliberative body necessary to conduct the business of that group. Ordinarily, this is a majority of the people expected to be there, although bodies may have a lower or higher quorum. A quorum in a legislative body is normally a majority of the entire membership of the body. Thus, a quorum of a legislative body that has 100 seats would be 51 (more than half of 100).

Mirriam Webster:
    the number (as a majority) of officers or members of a body that when duly assembled is legally competent to transact business.

acorporation4less.com:
    The minimum attendance required to conduct business at a shareholder or board of directors meeting. Usually, a quorum is achieved if a majority of directors are present (for directors meetings) or outstanding shares are represented (for shareholder meetings).

According to these definitions, NABO could not have achieved a quorum with 15 voters like Observer stated. Not unless the entire membership is made up of only 31 delegates. We know that can’t be true when the current letterhead boldly declares 19 member organizations (19 orgs. x 3 delegates each = 57 delegates).

Wah loss.

47. sick of it all Avatar

Oh well here we are still, conference come and gone and still no answers or detailed 2008 financial report. I was hoping that all questions were going to answered and all monies accounted for, but alas it continues. i guess we will get 2008 report in 2010 and 2009 in 2011 and so on and so on. We need this issue cleared up so that bajan in Boston can formed or reorganise a stable organisation that we all can be proud of. If it means removing the bad apples from the barrel to prevent spoiling the good ones so be it. I was hoping that this thing would be put to rest with all parties involved doing what has to be done to clear their names and get things back on the right track. I am sick and tired of the whole thing. How long was this family member sick? the whole 7 months since the records were being asked for? I have to look at this in a whole new light because the persons involved are not coming correct. Was giving them the benefit of the doubt and praying that they would clear it up at the conference, but it did not happen. This issue is putting all bajans in a bad light.

48. @ conference reporter
    there you go again calling names, speculating, reporting erroneous information etc. Read my lips if you can “I AM NOT MICHAEL CUMMINS”. I am here to produce real information, all I asked that you be patient, but that seem difficult.

@conference reporter
    you first said
    “The Barbados Government sent deputies to SC to observe. No official heads of office attended.”

then you later said
    “I made a few calls and was told that David Blublia (Bulbulia) requested to attend without govt. blessing. St. Hill in Miami was newly assigned to the diaspora and agreed to go with him, but left in one day.

Green in SC asked them to bring the conference there in the first place, so she was committed.”

?question?
    why did Mr. St. Hill leave early?
    are you going to Amelia Islands in September?
    if you attended the conference, what did the govern officials said on friday morning?
    did you attend the special director’s meeting in room xxx ???

….and stop calling me Michael Cummins…..

49. Conference Reporter Avatar
    Conference Reporter

This deserves a reprint. I will ignore Mike Cummins, I mean, Observer.

Yvette Christopher // April 8, 2009 at 12:18 am

@ sick of it all-

It is elementary how Mike Cummins -if he did- can ‘get away with it.’ It is the mentality of us bajans. One side of us let those who we think are our ‘friends’ do this sort of stuff to us, the other side are those of us who think it is all about us. Mike is not and will not be the first to get away with this, there are those much worst than he is. This does not let anyone of the hook, who has wronged the institution. With the ‘buck stops here’ attitude and the ’so what’ they can get away with it. Those of us who would want to stand up and fight are the ones majority of the time, called the trouble makers and are something being ‘kick down’ with attempts to ’sue’. We need to get rid of the colonial collar and face the facts, it is not about friends it is about a level of integrity and trust put in these organizations who carry a ‘guise to help de poor people.’ These attempts to help are at cost levels beyond any of our imaginations. What should happen is that NABO needs to be disbanded, but then again when you start wrong you got to end wrong. I think Rodney (correct me if I am wrong) did touch a bit on the history of NABO, (remember how Ken Knight got the leadership of the Melbourne Club) but that was only the tip of the iceberg, those of us who live in the US and are interested in how the Barbadian organizations operate will have some idea of it origins. Remember Clyde Griffith and his dealings with NABO, did they pay his wife what was due her yet? Tony Best wrote that story too! We will never rid ourselves of such scams, until we respect each other. But we cannot stop looking for justice, (that’s the reason it was created) we will continue to fight wrong and those who wrong us and our brothers. The funds of NABO belongs to the Barbadian people and their families and friends. Where government funding is concern, our govenmental agancis have to begin to do as some US charitable orgs. do, screen those asking for monetary assistance, we might not get all, but we won’t be scam as much as we see happening here. We must keep in mind there is alway one out there who think he has the anwer to the greatest scam.
    @Adrian,
    Whoever you are, I salute you, someone must stand up for the undergod.
    @Ava,
    NABO is fortunate that you have exposed this, it might be hard but sometimes you have to ‘breakdown de chicken coop to get rid of the mangoose’

To all interested in seeing the best of this situation, do not be dishearten by the UUUUUUUUUUUmmmmms, ride the wave!

50. @Conference Reporter
    You are so right that “Observer” is typical of Michael Cummins and his arrogant self and calling people names. He was doing the dog in SC because there were no Ava or Cheryl to put him in his place.

@Sick of it All
    I was a fly on the wall in SC and will agree with a lot of what you stated.

Let me draw attention to the fact that there is a Rich Phipps person, who by the way hadn’t been at the previous BOD meetings and was learning about the whole saga from the meeting in SC. He was given a task to reconcile the relationships with the organizations and NABO; but before the ink could dry on his appointment the PRO was sending out a ‘press release’. How are they expecting any resolution when they continue to believe what they are doing is the right thing. Didn’t give the chap time to pull together any real facts for the committee under him. Is it because Earl was refused a place on the said committee? A letter was delivered by David Bulbulia supposedly delivered from the government of Barbados why wasn’t the missive mentioned to the so called 54 delegates that signed the ‘press release? There was some pretty strong requests contained in that document.
    Once again the minutes from the Houston meeting were not addressed due to so call ‘time constraints’. This is a norm. These minutes will go missing by the meeting in January. What happened to the 9 page document that was to be handed to Cheryl Thompson by Mike Cummins to substaniate why or if funds were misappropriated was not addressed at the meeting? Wasn’t the purpose of the meeting in SC to bring closure to all the speculation for the last 6 months; why wasn’t it addressed? Is it because it is about Cheryl Thompson personally and not an obligation the the BOD and the general membership? By the way she was right on the money with the break down of the delegates. I hope when Mr. Phipps is considering changing the by laws he put something in there that states at no time the executive officers should be the majority. Did the folks who signed the document that was circulated privy to this information?
    Is “Observer” going to post this part of his findings to the directors who were not present at the meeting in SC.
    I am seen as the enemy amongst them I refused to sign the document. I saw it as a document for a bunch monkeys hanging from the same branch not realizing that the more weight you add to the branch it will eventually break and exposed everybody; including the so called executive who had to pat themselves on the back by signing the document to increase numbers. I will be back with more.