Submitted by NABO Insider (continuation from previous NABO blog)

Nothing much has changed with NABO. The same regime will be in charge. The election slate shows the following candidates:

Chairperson – Janice Bispham
Vice Chairperson – Sheena Aimey-Petrolito and Richard Phipps
Secretary -Marcia Smith and Juliet Relph
Treasurer – John Ellis
Public Relations Officer – Julia Hollingsworth-Brown and Sheena Aimey-Petrolito
Regional Director North – Ivor Jones
Regional Director South – Roslyn Sealy and Anthia Benn-Buncome
Regional Director East – No nominee
Regional Director West – Marcelle Janice Greenidge

Bispham is the former PRO who was knee deep into the doodoo that was a part of last year’s issues. Phipps was the guy who was supposed to smooth things over, but did nothing. Petrolito was a previous Executive and Director, and is a close running buddy of the Earl/Mike/Janice bundle. Secretary Marcia Smith is sure to get the thumbs up, because she is with the old gang. And believe it or not, John Ellis is heading back to the Treasurer’s seat. (Can you believe it?)

The Regional Directors have very little or no say in what happens with NABO, so the candidates are all fluff. Nevertheless, they are all softies who will go along with whatever they are told to do. Even Sealy, one of the mouthoffs has decided to climb back on board. Perhaps she plans to get them from the inside, since she failed to bring them down from the outside.

The $75 fee is a dealbreaker for a lot of people. (Who pays to attend a Director’s meeting?) But some want the power so bad that they willingly shelled out the much-needed dough. Even government officials are expected to pay.

No one understands the government participation, especially the intent interest and undying support of David Bulbulia from the Washington Embassy. But it seems as if they really want to make this work.

As a Bajan, all I can say is that if they can turn this thing around and do things differently, it’s all good. I doubt that things will change though, only because the ingredients have remained the same. I mean, if you put sugar, flour, essence, raisins, coconut, eggs, and milk together you can only get sweetbread. You not ever going to get a meat pie from that combination. I am skeptical, but I will cross my fingers for them.

The Barbados government will remain interested (no matter what they say) if Barbadians get together. They don’t care about individuals, but as a group they will always lend presence, even if only to see what is going on. Except for Bulbulia, the consulate officials are going in to check things out. Bulbulia has offered himself up to be the Election Chairman, if ya please.

One thing that must be said, is that they continue to play games and turn tricks. A letter going out to the directors after 5pm on Sunday, January 10th stated the following:

“I wish to take this opportunity to remind you of the following information regarding the General Elections to the NABO National Executive Council scheduled to take place on Saturday, January 16, 2010 at 1 p.m. at The Holiday Inn, Viera Conference Center, 8298 Wickham Road, Melbourne, Florida.

Attached for your information is the slate of Candidates for the election.

In accordance with Article XXI Section 1 of NABO’s Constitution and Bylaws, voting at the Annual General Meeting shall be limited to recognized financial delegates only. The deadline for the receipt of member dues is 12:00 noon (EST) on Saturday. January 16, 2010. Dues may be mailed to the address above or delivered to the Secretary before noon on Saturday, January 16.

Article XXII Section 6 (Absentee Ballots), states that Members of the Board of Directors and voting official delegates of local organizations of the Corporation that will be unable to attend the Annual General Meeting may cast their votes by means of absentee ballots. If required, absentee ballots should be requested from the Secretary of the Elections Committee without delay. Absentee ballots should reach the Secretary of the Elections Committee no later than January 13th, 2010.”

For Christ’s sake, how do you expect to wait till the last minute to tell people that they had three stinking days to request from the Secretary of the Elections Committee? Then to expect that those absentee ballots would get back to the Secretary of the Elections Committee by January 13th, 2010. Do these people know how Organizations work?

Looks like they don’t plan on getting those absentee ballots, hence the tightrope deadline.

I said enough. Good Luck NABOites. I dun.

Oh yes, don’t forget that Earl Ashby will remain on the Executive Committee as Immediate past president. The only one out will be Mike Cummins (lol lol lol).

25 responses to “Barbados Government Continues Relationship With Troubled NABO Organization”

1. What is the role of the Barbados government officials mentioned?

Why is the government of Barbados continuing to be associated with NABO given the very questionable dealings to date?

2. Wuh loss!! Easter must be around the corner. lol!

David anynews on the 300,000 from the 2008 Barbados held conference? Was it ever accounted for? Did anyone ever figured out if it was in Barbados or US dollars?????

———————————————–
    by TONY BEST

AN ORGANIZATION of Bajans in the United States is being ripped apart by a controversy over the way almost $300 000 raised in Barbados, including taxpayers dollars, is being accounted for.

3. @Adrian

This NABO business is a mess which is still to be unravelled. To be honest we don’t know how Barbadians who are associated with this organization would want to drag the name through the mud. It needs to stop.

4. Hi AH Nice reading you!

5. I hear dat de government man, St. Hill in Miami beg de prseident of de miami group to run fuh office even doh she was one of the ones who voted to remove de teifing gang. Maybe she an he got a plan. Maybe de PM aint know whu he doing in Miami. She really sell out pun she man and friends. I had a feeling all long dat she was foolishe foollishe. She more igrant dan Martin Greenidge.. How come he Martin drop out and call dem crooks and now he wife running fuh leadership..Dem gvment people should be shame fuh wasting we hard earn tax dollars.

6. NABO is a heap of dog doodoo. Using dah registration fee to keep out people from coming to observe dah mess. Earl Ashby woman from Canada up in there though.
    Don’t even be concerned about the government officials that gine (even though deh wasting the tax payors money) De guy out of Washington Bulbulia that is supposed to be the elections officer is a bare joke. The constitution name the officers of organization as Chairman, V.Chairman. The nominees are Janice Bispham – Chairperson. This tells me that this is some type of sub committee naming itself NABO. Dah girl Ava Foster I heard was nominated for treasurer and basically told them where to take their treasurer, she would have no part of them folks, don’t blame she. Heard through the grape vine that she said that Janice Bispham can’t even lead she self so how can she sit on a committee wid she. She ain’t got no time fuh NABO anyway; hear she planning some big anniversary event later this year fuh she organization that including the prime minister. John Ellis took up the challenge to continue the cover up that was started with him anyway. Bunch a shameless crooks!

7. @David

What is the role of the Barbados government officials mentioned?

Government officials are there to “observe”, so they say.

Why is the government of Barbados continuing to be associated with NABO given the very questionable dealings to date?

They don’t want it to look like they are taking sides. Although they believe that the group who tried to take the bad guys out were right, they want to stick around if NABO has remained viable.

Truth is, they can’t stand the NABO executives, and want change, but no one has been able to take them out. How can you when they have no physical office. You can’t bring cops in and physically remove them from a building, and you can’t go to their homes and grab documents.

They control every aspect of NABO and nobody can do a darn thing about it. So, the government has decided to hang tight and play along until they can find a way to cut them off at the knees.

8. If this is the reason government continues to be involved with NABO it reflects a weak position. BU will continue to watch this matter into the next general election.

9. What apity. Shame! These people does not care about Barbados only themselves. Shame Shame Shame. They have big balls.

10. I know that even with the private jet now grounded – David Thompson is again on tour, this time in Haiti, but he must be aware that it is because of his inept leadership that every single one of this country’s key economic indicators is down.

But what would prompt our ‘wait-and-see’ Prime Minister to move so swiftly to tour Haiti when he is so slow to do anything about the suffering of Barbadians here at home.

I know Thompson is on tour again but does he even care or does it even bother him that the Central Bank Governor’s recent report confirms that the DLP is a Government, which is up a creek without a paddle; aimless and directionless and without compass?

Does it bother Thompson that he is on tour, while the Barbados Economy is on auto-pilot in the middle of a perfect storm?

11. Adrian Hinds // January 15, 2010 at 2:17 PM

In March 2009 I made the following observation.

[The Consulates and Embassies are best suited to Mobilizing Barbadians in the Diaspora, especially when Barbadian taxpayer dollars are involved.]

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2009/03/28/national-association-of-barbados-organizations-in-the-usa-accused-of-financial-impropriety/#comment-62992
    ————————————————
    On Jan 12th I recieved my membership card to the Barbados Family and Friends Club. Now this is an entity that I will voluntarily promote to all Bajans in the diaspora, to get onboard and involved with. It is hosted by the GoB, there are benefits for both our country and ourselves via this Club, and there isn’t any request to pay anybody or entity anything. Well so far that has been my experience.

When I contrast this with NABO which BTW is what I will be encouraging every Bajan that I come into contact with to do, the choice is clear and easy.

Up with BFFP and stay away from NABO, unless you want to fund another 300k to line somebody pockets.

http://www.barbadosfamilyandfriends.com

@David:
    I posted the above on the Immigation blog in error please remove from there.

12. error again BFFC or BFF Clup or BFF-C

13. Prices have increased by more than 12% in the last 2 years in spite of the Prime Minister’s commitment that his top 3 priorities would be cost of living, cost of living, cost of living.

Prices in Barbados have risen more as a result of domestic actions and policies than the international environment.

When oil and commodity prices dropped at the end of 2008 and in 2009 prices continued to rise in Barbados.

14. Conference Reporter Avatar
    Conference Reporter

15. Please explain how Martin Greenidge would have stepped down as Treasure under the circumstances he did and now we have his wife vying for a position on the board?

16. @ David to recoup some the money that she husband loss. Hahaha!!
    @Conference Reporter- them bios is evidence of bunch of sheep. It is so obvious that they were told what they had to include in their bios (should be a peronal, yah think?); and the blind mice they are,y all started out the same way. “I was born in St.Michael…” Wunna think Roslyn Sealy write hers. I hear she aint’t that smart; hers sound impressive doah. Think she got a chance? That’s why they put dah woman to challenge she. Feel sorry fuh she.

17. I wish all those vying for positions at NABO, the best of luck.

18. @Alex Fergusson
    The word on the street is that you forgot
    to pick up the PM at the airport when he returned from Haiti. THAT IS NOT NICE.

19. It is now official that Janice Bispham is the “chairperson” (not chairman as article 1x calls for) of NABO one day she will move up the rank to the real chairman. Hope she doesn’t get on the intertnet as she did as PRO and advertise everybody’s upcoming events instead of what pertains to NABO.These people barely like um! Day of the elections was drama free.The people they wanted on their slate is in, anybody who had any contact with the insurgents, Richard Phipps and Roslyn Sealy are out. Day 2 of the elections today should be interesting.

20. Votes not counted yet? Was there such a massive turnout that it is taking this long to announce the results?

21. Results are in Baa Baa Black sheep Bispham, chairperson (not chairman). Warming seat for Cummins (who thinks he owns NABO) because he was there thiefing for 14 years. V.Chair de girl from CT (sow dog pig), Puppy dog from South Florida is Secretary. Crook partner from CT is Treasurer. PRO is one of the Boston posse, Granma from St. Thomas , Virgina Islands is Director South (beat out Ros), Director West Martin wife (trying to get back some he money). De party dawg from Phillie is Director North. There you go.

22. Conference Reporter Avatar
    Conference Reporter

I am not surprised by the outcome of the elections. Although Roslyn Sealy was present, and her opponent was not, she was still beaten out of the seat for Regional Director South. lol

Michael Cummins has shown that he still has total control of NABO. The Director South vote was put to the body several times. The first two times the count was even (13-13) and it was declared a tie. Then came the Cummins report.

Mike Cummins stated that he would have nothing to do with NABO if Thompson, Foster (who he called Clarke), Husbands, Craig, and the said Sealy were ever on the board. Then, when the vote was put to the people once again, Sealy was barely scrape up a few votes.

It boggles the mind why these wimps are so afraid of this man. Everyone crumpled and gave in!

And then there is the matter of finances. The credit card is well over $14k. It was reported that since no payments were being made by NABO, the bank took over John Ellis’ personal account and began to withdraw $1000.00 increments from it. An agreement was finally made, and poor Ellis is now forced to pay $190 a month of his personal money on the account. He will get the money back if and when NABO makes money. So, it will be up to the sponsors to fill up those coffers so that John can take his money back.

Can we say that he is looking out for his own interests by taking on the role of NABO treasurer. Or, is it a conflict of interest of sorts? He will definitely make sure that he pays himself back, but who will be watching?

No real questions were asked or answered at the meeting. Looks as if the people have decided to let bygones be bygones and start all over again. Ms. Bispham will get to warm the seat until Cummins reclaims it once again.

23. Why Earl Ashby don’t stop messing with dah girl Ava doah? I hear he mentioned something in he report that was not true and she lambast he and send it to everybody that should know the lies that Earl Ashby always told. He apparently responded with some smart answer and she again lick he up. She really ain’t frighten for he. She right to set the record straight. If NABO is to rebound the chairperson better advise Earl Ashby to keep he mouth shut and pick he battles because he is not doing NABO any good. Now is not the time for he to rebut he should have provided the insurgents with the answers they requested last year. He was a piss poor chairman and now still trying to battle dah girl when she got she facts. NABO, NABO, NABO. Maybe, the organization needs to take a break, go on a retreat with the help of the government officials, go back to the drawing board, learn some conflict resolution management and come back to start fresh. As a not for profit search the internet for organizations that offer those services probono.

24. If what has been reported over the past year about NABO and its indiscretions are true, AND if it is also true that our (Barbados) Government has seen it fit to continue a relationship with NABO, it looks like the Barbados Government disregards integrity and the unscrupulous actions of that organization, and they (Barbados Government) would if not already done so do the same that NABO has demonstrated, with hopes never to be caught or exposed of wrong doing.

Hooray to our Government for standing by NABO and being non-hypocrites. Unbelievable! What a world we live in.

25. bajan above ground Avatar
    bajan above ground

@Bajan2
    You are so informed. I enjoy reading your comments. Keep at it and send more our way.