naboAccording to a BU source members of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) based in the USA have been voicing displeasure at the way the Executives of NABO have been managing its business. โ€œSpecifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.โ€

The current controversy centres around how money was spent to host a conference held in Barbados in 2008; surprise surprise.

โ€œNABOโ€™s main activity since its existence has been to sponsor an annual convention of Barbadians and Barbadian organizations, usually on the American Independence Celebration weekend. The convention is essentially a forum of Barbadians, people of Barbadian heritage and others interested in Barbados, to discuss the issues which affect them in their communities in the USA, and those which affect their families in Barbadosโ€ฆโ€ (extracted from NABOโ€™s website)

Our understanding is that NABO is an umbrella body which represents several Barbadians organization scattered across North America.

โ€œOn Sunday, March 8th, 2009 the Board of Directors of the National Association of Barbados Organizations (NABO) held a Special Meeting inย  accordance with Article XIX, Section I of NABO’s Bylaws.

At that meeting, it was decided by majority vote that the executives named below did not properly execute their duties. Specifically, they failed to provide proper financial statements and reports; they refused to respond to numerous requests for information and explanation for the record; they refused to allow for proper inspection of the records by members; they were in violation of the Constitution and Bylaws in numerous areas; and they were not complying with tax laws of the United States of America.โ€

Here are the names of the NABO Board members referred to above who have been removed: (when last we checked the names supposedly removed continue to be displayed on the NABO website. An indication of the confusion maybe?)

Earl Ashby – Chairman

John Ellis – Vice Chairman

Martin Greenidge – Treasurer

Janice Bispham – Public Relations Officer

Mike Cummins – Immediate Past Chairman

BU received a document which details how NABO spent $290,000.00 to stage its 2008 conference which coincidentally was held in Barbados and seems to be the cause of the fracas. As Barbadians we should all be concerned at the accusations being leveled at NABO for several reasons:

1. NABO is an organization which represents Barbadians in the Diaspora. The current government along with several businesses in Barbados have and will continue to court organizations like NABO as a means to maintain a close liaison with Barbadians overseas. It is the declared policy of the government to establish a government unit to lead the strategy to encourage investment from Barbadians overseas. A NABO reputation and credibility tarnished by the ongoing accusations could derail the effort of the government in North America.
  2. A review of the financials for staging the NABO conference in Barbados after much prodding by members reveals that the Barbados Tourism Authority was one of its many Bajan sponsors to the tune of $40,000. The donation of Bajan tax dollars makes the accusation of financial misdeeds our business.
  3. Historically Barbadians have garnered an enviable reputation when living as ex-patriates. If the allegations we are hearing that NABO funds were used not as directed e.g. the Chairman having his hotel accommodation paid contrary to arrangement, the 2008 Financials to host the Barbados conference not accurately representing true costs, or NABO operating outside of its remit by contravening US laws regarding how entities should engage in financial activity, Barbadians including the local media should investigate this matter.
  4. More disturbing is the fact that the source documents used to support the financials which were finally produced by the old NABO Executive were allegedly signed by a Notary Public in the USA without full knowledge of the transactions.

BU hopes that by exposing this matter it will help to bring focus on this matter and lead to a resolution which would ensure NABO continues to meet its objective on behalf of Barbadians.

1. @Basil G
    Whether you were an Observer or not or a Johhny Cum Lately, NABO has been exposed to the core.

What you or anyone has to say on behalf of NABO at this time would be seen as a vengeance plot. You should have come forward and speak out a long time ago; not now de cat outta de bag, de pigeons outta de cub and de pigs out de sty.

Good Nitety night.

2. Another idiot comes out. maybe the same idiot but using a different name. Hey idiot, where is the audited report?

3. @Basil the Observer, who by the way happens to be Mike Cummins.
    He continues to lash out at 2 people that he sees as a threat to him. He tried to get a motion passed in SC to get the followers there to kick these 2 people out of NABO.He was unsuccessful. He is trying another tactic by accusing them of getting involved in the elections. It is probably because they have again open up the wrong doings that have plagued NABO with the elections. Are these folks still Board of Directors in NABO; why wouldn’t they be asking questions about elections or anything else? These people have Barbados’ interest at heart. He mentioned what goes around comes around. That’s why he and Earl get skin up because they tried to skin up Ken Knight. They turn around and doing the exact same thing that they accused Ken Knight of doing. He really think people are stupid. I hope the people that he has the dirt on really come out and give them a run for their money. I was in Amelia Island and at no time did I hear NABO name mentioned; folks were just having a blast with meeting new people and renewing old friendships. I was doing my regular spying like I did in SC.

4. Conference Reporter Avatar
    Conference Reporter

Another one bites the dust!
    And another one bites the dust!

NABO Secretary Pauline Maynard handed in her resignation.

Barbados Association in Houston also officially pulled out for good.

The black sheep in Melbourne, AKA Janice Bispham has been chosen by Mike and Earl to be the next front person. She stands alone in the quest to become the next chairman. She’ll hold the title, but not the power. Baaaahhhhh!

5. @ Conference Reporter…and yet another bites the dust. The scapegoat finally weaved its way out the mess and by the way holding NABO hostage. More news…NABO gone electronic wid them elections…can now vote on line if you please. Is this called advancement or an easier way to to rig the elections since only Darren the webmaster can access the website…by the way he is Earl’s friend and black sheep is the 3rd party.Stay tuned…closer it gets to elections.

6. Oh shite, just got a news flash, hot of the press. One them insurgents questioned de constitutionality (see dah big word?) of voting online and all of a sudden it cum off de website. Nobody ain’t teking responsibility for putting it there…but all fingers pointing at the “black sheep’ she is de intermediary giving de webmaster instructions regarding what goes on de site. She really asserting sheself as the up coming chairman. I also hear dat she walking bout saying that de treasurer trying to bring down NABO and force he to send in a resignation.Poor guy leff holding debag and all them ain’t pay he the money ($100 per person) that deh agreed in SC (in the secretary room). Feel sorry fuh he! Cud dear shouldn’t treat he so doah.

7. NABO Discarded and Abused Fall Guy Treasurer Finally Resigns in a Blaze of Heated Accusations.

October 21, 2009.
    Good morning, it has gotten to that point where I can take it no more. I will not wait until January and be thrown the wolves while those responsible sit back and play innocent.
    I have been trying to explain the situation but no one seems to be listening because you kept expecting me to writs checks for what ever.

I kept quiet in Houston in January and look at all your silent face, while I took the blame for the mistakes made in Barbados. (Of which I had nothing to do with.)
    I came back and clean up your mess. I was asked to have the approved colabative copy done for records only, to find out that it was supposed to be part of the convention.
    I have been accused of pulling NABO down, neglecting to do my job as treasurer i.e. Writing checks either for refunds or for invoices and not answering phone calls. All this while there is no money in the bank and no one was answering the question about the funds in Barbados; or telling me what to do with the bankโ€™s Credit cards account.

You were told many times that we had no funds going into Charleston, did any one do any thing, no, but I was still asked to pay the bus the caterer and the hotel. Well I did using my own money, did any of you cared, no. Did you volunteer yours? I lost money when NABOโ€™s check bounced.
    This time I am not, so call me what ever you want. In Charleston we decided to each give $100, have fundraisers and yes take the money ($1000.00) from BNB in Barbados to keep us afloat until January None of this was done except for a few but I am still being accused pulling the organization down. While you are planning the board meeting and asking others no use their own money the bank is calling John and I daily.
    To make matters worse, all the chairmanโ€™s attention is focused on sending out the report. Bye the way it is audited, and bonded and waiting until we get money.

I was asked to send NABO records in my possession to the chairman. I debated the situation and have decided to send the financial audited report to the chairman and will send all other records in my possession to the secretary, in the near future. I would like this to be entered in to the minutes, as of the 20th. Of November. I will no longer be the Treasurer. I am willing to work with the organization to solve this problem. My personal records and information is tied to this account, it might be a joke to some of us but not to me.
    This is a great organization for witch I have invested a lot of time and money to see it succeed and I want to see it continue to be the beacon for Barbados overseas. I will always be a part and will help whenever I can.
    For the good of the organization and with heavy heart, I forced to do this.

Martin Greenidge
    Treasurer

8. Bajan2 // November 7, 2009 at 4:23 AM … Darren the webmaster can access the websiteโ€ฆby the way he is Earlโ€™s friend

FYI, Earl is VERY computer savvy. He does not have to be a friend of the webmaster to access NABO.

There would be no need to rig if only one person is vying for Chairperson; and to boot, the same slick, slimy approach will go on regardless of the method used – where there is a will there is a way. Make no mistake about that.

9. @ EyeSpy “VERY computer savvy” or not. If he were all that he wouldn’t have been having NABO pay an individual $500 to service the site. So what you are saying is that the only part of the election process that could be rigged is the chairperson? The executive committee is made up of 10 elected persons…all of whom need to go.

10. It appears several months later the NABO guard has disregarded the wishes of the government of Barbados?

11. @Bajan2

I am saying that Earl doesnโ€™t need any assistance whatsoever in accessing NABO site to do whatever he deems is necessary.

Paying a webmaster is nothing more than a smoke screen. They are all in it together. The games people play!

12. Ya know wha, I gine to Melbourne fa de elections. Watch ma.

13. Martin Greenidge should come completely clean and let all know exactly what went on in Barbados. I don’t feel for him especially when he sat back and let Cheryl, Ava, Dale and Craig take blame for destroying NABO when all they wanted were a few answers. Martin, how much money was donated in Barbados? How much was generated from the convention? Who used the Air Jamica tickets. You might not want to answer this because I suspect you had a few free flights yourself. You deserve everything you are getting.. You have let them destroy you as a person. You have no credibality, not even amongst sheep. You are just as guilty as Earl and gang in destroying NABO. I hope you suffer and they never pay you back one red cent.

14. Who is you I is the real Bajan2. Get yah own name! LOL!

15. Conference Reporter Avatar
    Conference Reporter

All of these resignations and withdrawals from NABO, and no word of such has gone out to the Directorship?

Someone needs to let the people know what is happening.

16. @Conference Reporter
    That would be too unimportant to share. Instead Michael Cummins (yes I said Michael Cummins not Earl Ashby, Michael Cummins got some axes to grind) would write a long ignorant, contradictory document and have it posted on the NABO website. What he is trying to do in the document is bash them 2 intelligent ladies Ava & Cheryl. He tried in SC to have them suspended from NABO; that failed; he has promised people that if it is the last thing he does before he dies is get back at the 2 ladies, so this is his last hooray. He is on his way out worried that his partner in crime won’t get reelected if he tried to run again.
    My question is why post such a document NOW? All the things that Earl Ashby said he wouldn’t do that document did. He attacked the journalist, Tony Best; he completely misunderstood the letter that was written by the attorney in Florida. He continues to blame the 2 ladies for trying to destroy NABO. Why didn’t he encourage Earl Ashby to address the issues 8 months ago? He is doing it now when it is time for elections. I was in SC and he was supposed to produce a document that cleared his name; what happened to it? He also talked about the 2 ladies being disrepectful and not showing up in SC. Didn’t Earl Ashby disrepect the BOD by not meeting with them long before SC. If Michael Cummins wanted to deal with those 2 ladies so badly maybe he should have send them airline tickets and pay for their accommodation. If I were them I wouldn’t waste my organization’s money to attend that scrap. I was there for the history. As we now know that a Government official was there to help quell the situation by setting up a committee to bring some closure and the said Michael Cummins, Earl Ashby and Janice Bispham refuse to cooporate with the chairperson of that committee. Michael even asked the chiarperson why he has to kiss the 2 ladies asses. Now he is going public? Frigging jackass!
    The recent resignation of the treasurer confirmed some of the impropieties that continue to exist in NABO.
    In the document he stated that “these few have done serious damage to this organization….we will be back.” Wishful thinking if I might say. Clean up your acts and then come back to the we fellow Barbadians. We have all seem and read the facts and those 2 ladies were on point every time. Michael Cummins stop trying to get even with these 2 ladies because you believe some how that your character has been defamed. It all started when the then chairman Earl Ashby allow the treasurer to present a less that acceptable financial report to a bunch of intelliegent people. They were not those that were in the past gullible to NABO actions, but instead you had the Ava, Cheryl and Dale to deal with and they opened up the can of worms that are still swarming going in to a general election that is already rigged with fraud. Janice Bispham is a so-called investigator ask her about it. Go to naboinc.org and read the scrap if you really want to see the nonsense.

17. Conference Reporter Avatar
    Conference Reporter

Here is de foolish letter from Mike Cummins…………..

My fellow Barbadians,

I am sure that you have read or heard the vicious accusations spreading across the two
    continents. These accusations have been orchestrated by a few to discredit some members of the
    Executive Board and destroy the fabric upon which NABO was built. These accusations are false
    and very misleading.

The question was always asked why are we waiting so long to respond to these accusations? It
    has always been the policy of this executive board not to conduct NABOโ€™s business in the media
    or any other public forum. In addition, these accusations became very personal and damaging to
    individuals character, therefore it was fitting to seek legal advice before any responses could be
    made to these accusations. However, the chairman made an attempt to respond through the
    media by granting Mr. Tony Best (from the Nation) an interview, because he wanted to hear both
    sides, so that he could form an unbiased opinion. He chose to write what the other side said to
    him, but totally omitted most of what the chairman said. All along, the Executive had asked the
    others to allow the discussion on these issues to wait until the conference in South Carolina. We
    thought there would be a fair and proper forum where we could defend these accusations, but
    those folks were not about hear the truth or come to some solution of how business should be
    conducted in NABO. They were all about destroying the organization and discrediting members.

On March 8, 2009, those few disgruntled members with Cheryl Thompson at the head
    orchestrated a meeting to remove members of the Executive board. Using their interpretation of
    the NABO by laws and State of Florida bylaws, six (6) out of seventeen financial organizations
    in NABO voted to remove members of the Executive Board. This action prompted us to seek
    legal advice on the interpretation of our bylaws and the process taken (see document written by
    Attorney on โ€œ nabousainc.orgโ€). Upon review of our bylaws and the process taken, it was
    determined by our Attorney that the meeting was unconstitutional and the process taken to
    remove the officers was illegal and will not stand up in a court of law. He advised us to totally
    ignore any action taken by those folks and continue to conducting the business of NABO as we
    were elected to do by the members in January of 2008. Our Attorneyโ€™s last words to us were the
    constitution protects you. Ladies and Gentlemen read it for yourselves. Its on our website โ€œ
    nabousainc.orgโ€.

Those few disgruntled members spearheaded by Cheryl Thompson and Ava Foster took every
    document they could get their hands on and cascaded to the world by way of the internet and
    print media. They did not stop there; they wrote every sponsor and Barbadian government
    agency indicating that the NABO Executive had been removed and to discontinue any
    relationship with them. This was devastating to NABO because not only was all funding for the
    South Carolina conference depleted, but in their letters they accused the members of the
    executive of misappropriating funds. My fellow Barbadians, one of the documents circulated on
    the website was the financial report for the collaborative conference in Barbados. This was done
    in March, as of to date no one has every found anywhere in the report where money was
    misappropriated, or any line item that was not appropriately accounted for or approved by the
    collaborative conference planning committee. An audit financial report is posted on our website
    โ€œnabousainc.orgโ€

It is clear that those few disgruntled members will stop at nothing to dishonor and destroy this
    credible organization which many have made a significant contribution to its success starting
    with the founders Mr. Ken Knight, Ms. Bonita Ebb and many others, including this present
    administration. What is most disturbing is those few have made very little or no contribution to
    the success of this organization.

My fellow Barbadians, there was a legally constituted Board of Directors meeting in South
    Carolina on July 9th, 2009 of which due notice was given. Not one of those disgruntled board
    members attended that meeting. That was a total disrespect to the other board members as well
    as the organization. They spent the last 5 months prior to the board meeting levying accusations,
    complaining and demanding answers and yet they did not have the decency to show up for the
    meeting. It really shows who has the real interest of NABO at heart.

The Executive Board would like to take this opportunity to address those accusations and rumors
    as we previously stated are false, misleading and damaging to individuals and this organization.

1. The conference was not a NABO conference, it was a collaborative conference
    comprising of three (3) national umbrella organizations namely, NABO, NCBAC & NCBA-UK.
    Four (4) members from each organization comprised a planning committee and were
    equal participants in the decisions made pertaining to the conference, including all financial
    decisions. The committee met every two weeks over a span of 4 months prior to the conference
    in Barbados

2. It was alleged that the Executive Board never knew about the decisions made on the
    conference.
    The NABO Board of Directors was informed in July 2007 at the board meeting during the
    New York conference. (minutes from that meeting should substantiate). The NABO Board of
    Directors was again updated on the conference at the January 2008 Board of Directors meeting
    in West Palm Beach (again, the minutes from that meeting should substantiate).

3. It was alleged that monies paid to Colleen Inniss-Gittens at Innovative Business
    Solutions were unjustified and misappropriated and that she was chosen because of her
    friendship with a member on the collaborative planning committee.
    Ms. Inniss-Gittens was under contract by the collaborative committee to secure sponsorship
    on a commission basis and to assist us in coordinating the conference from the Barbados end.
    This was a known fact and the Board of Directors was informed of this in January of 2008.
    No one on the collaborative planning committee knew Ms. Inniss-Gittens, nor had ever
    done business with her company Innovative Business Solution before the collaborative
    conference. She was recommended to the planning committee by the BPWCCUL.

4. NABO had a checking account in Barbados and that Michael Cummins alone was signing
    checks and paying out money inappropriately. NABO does not, nor ever had any checking
    account in Barbados.
    Every penny collected for sponsorship was deposited into the Credit Union saving account that
    was set up to receive and manage all of the funds received from sponsorship. This was agreed
    upon by all three organizations and NABO Board of Directors was also notified of this. Every
    penny of the sponsorship monies that was paid out was done so by the Credit union through a
    notarized letter authorizing such payment to service providers. . Such authorizations were made
    on receiving invoices or bills.
    Copies of invoices and bills were submitted to the NABO treasure in March 2009 for
    auditing. The Credit Union then issued checks to the specific parties noting the purpose for
    which
    the checks were written. Credit Union Statement noting deposit amount, dates, payment amount
    to service providers, check numbers and dates were submitted to the treasurer for auditing
    purposes.

5. It was alleged that Earl Ashby and Michael Cummins took trips to Barbados at the
    expense of the sponsorโ€™s money and without anyoneโ€™s approval.
    Of course they had to travel to Barbados in order to negotiate, promote and
    facilitate all aspects of the conference, and I might add here, a conference of this magnitude. This
    travel was approved by the committee, but not at the expense of using funds acquired from our
    sponsorship; travel expenses came out of registration. Expenses were carefully monitored by the
    committee and were limited to airfare, limited accommodations, and miscellaneous items which
    were acceptable to the committee. The time which was taken off from work to travel was taken
    by these two individuals at their personal expense, and any additional out of pocket expenses
    were their own personal finances.

6. They accused the chairman of occupying two executive suites at the Blue Horizon in
    Barbados during the conference.
    No one ever occupied any executive suites at the Blue Horizon , as customary NABO
    delegates and Board of Directors have always maintained a hospitality suite during their annual
    Board of Directors meeting and annual conferences. Those two rooms were reserved for the sole
    purpose of the delegates to being able to socialize at the end of meetings or other events. Outside
    of the social hours, those rooms remained close

7. It was also alleged that Mike Cummins pocketed money from the Barbados conference
    and misappropriated fund of the conference in Barbados.
    Mike Cummins has never handled any cash belonging to NABO during this or any other
    conference. All monies collected from sponsorship were deposited into an account as stated
    before. All monies paid out from that account were authorize through a notarized letter
    submitted to the Credit Union as also stated before.
    One of the documents mis-represented was a commercial invoice generated to clear items
    shipped to Barbados for the conference. It is a known fact that any non personal effects shipped
    into a foreign country must be accompanied by a commercial invoice for duty purposes. The
    document alluded to was a commercial invoice created on behalf of the collaborative committee
    to clear the items ( tickets, flyer, masked and other stationery) shipped to Barbados for the
    conference. Contrary to what was alleged the letter on the invoice was the letter head specifically
    created for the collaborative committee.

8. The major controversy was the small profit made from the conference in spite of the
    amount of money contributed to the conference.
    The conference generated BDS. $296,467.24 in revenue. However, the expenses in Barbados
    were ($287,942.76) astronomical. If any of those persons making accusations had gone to
    Barbados or had done in business in Barbados in recent years they would realized how expensive
    Barbados
    has become. Outside of the sponsorship money, the only things we got free were TV and the
    press. We had to pay a carrier service to pick up the checks from the Credit Union and deliver
    them to our service providers.
    Our accusers never took into consideration that we subsidized the registration fees for many
    of the delegates. The actual cost per delegate was US$600.00. We charged US$290.00 per
    delegate.
    We have always subsidize delegates to these conference. It is a miracle that we did not lose
    substantially more, after putting on six (6) days of events of that caliber with a revenue of
    BDS$296,467.24.

9. It was alleged that the Barbados government gave us a substantial amount of money
    including the NCF, which gave us BDS$30,000.00, and that this money was not accounted for.
    The NCF never gave us any money.
    The NCF provides us with the use of the youth steel orchestra, stage and two (tents) for the Tyrol
    Cot event.

10. It was alleged that the other two national organizations Canada and UK had voiced
    displeasure at the outcome of the conference.
    This was far from the truth. Both organizations represented by Ms. Jessica Carrington (Canada)
    and Ms. Hilly Padmore (UK) voiced their appreciation and satisfaction on the conference while
    in Barbados, and at our follow up teleconference meeting in November. In May, Earl and Mike
    attended Canadaโ€™s Annual conference, they met with the NCBAC Board of Directors, answered
    all their questions and addressed their concerns satisfactorily.

11. This Executive Board was accused of refusing to answer questions surrounding the
    Barbados conference.
    The Executive Board never refused to answer any questions about the Barbados conference. The
    Board felt the intent made to request answers was malicious and potentially damaging to the
    organization by cascading an emailing with those questions to non-members of NABO.
    However, the Executive did answer the questions in an appropriate way by mail and a hard copy
    of the annual financial report did accompanied those answers. To enhance their malicious
    behavior the financial report was scanned and cascaded by email in the print media along with
    some additional questions. The Executive Board found this behavior unacceptable and ceased
    further communication. This act has reinforced our belief in the danger of conducting NABO
    business through the electronic media. Members of the Board of Directors are given the
    constitutional opportunity to meet twice a year and we deem this the appropriate time to conduct
    NABOโ€™s business.

They made it sound to the whole world like NABO had cheated the Barbados government and
    sponsors out of there money. This was totally mis-leading and to the contrary, we provided a
    credible service to the Barbados government and the sponsors in the form of:
    a). A top class professional journal where there products and services were given exposure
    in Europe, Caribbean and United States.
    b). We provided table top and booth space during the conference business exposition at
    Sherbourne. They got the opportunity to showcase their products and services.
    c). Their logos were place on the NABO website and all of our printed material for the
    conference.
    d) The people of Barbados and the government of Barbados benefited most of all because of
    the foreign exchange the conference generated. This conference brought over 400 people to
    Barbados. Look at the money spent on accommodations, rental cars, attendance to the various
    Cropover activities and many more.

Fellow Barbadians these few have done serious damage to this organization. The organization
    might be wounded and hurt, but it is not dead. The organization survived over the years. NABO
    is bigger than any one individual. The concept of which NABO was formed cannot and should
    not be destroyed by any one person or persons. As Arnold stated in his movieโ€ terminatorโ€, we
    will be back.

18. Lot of B– S—.
    Still nothing of value

19. “It is clear that those few disgruntled members will stop at nothing to dishonor and destroy this credible organization which many have made a significant contribution to its success starting with the founders Mr. Ken Knight, Ms. Bonita Ebb and many others, including this present
    administration. What is most disturbing is those few have made very little or no contribution to the success of this organization.”

Is this man Mike Cummins for real? Isn’t HE the one who attacked and accused Ken Knignt and Bonita Ebb of impropriety in the first place?

And how is he now saying that these Directors who dared to voice their displeasure made no contributions to NABO?

Didn’t Ava Foster of BACA-NY write the same Multilevel Disaster Preparedness Plan that they are touting on the front page of the NABO website? The same plan that they presented to the Prime Minister last year? The same plan that they referred to as “A very effective tool in mobilizing Babadians and Barbadian organizations to act on a moment’s notice should disaster strike Barbados and any Barbadian community in the world.”?

This document is a bunch of cockney and riddled with misrepresentations.

20. “It was alleged that the Barbados government gave us a substantial amount of money including the NCF, which gave us BDS$30,000.00, and that this money was not accounted for.
    The NCF never gave us any money.
    The NCF provides us with the use of the youth steel orchestra, stage and two (tents) for the Tyrol Cot event.”

These are called “in-kind” gifts. Where are they documented on the Collaborative Financial Reports?

And if the NCF provided the items above, why are they still itemized expense items on the UNAUDITED fiscal report?

Aย Bajanย Affair

Venue 1,500.00
    ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย 
    Stageย Managementย &ย Crew 1,000.00
    ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย 
    Tents,ย Tablesย ,Chairsย &ย Sides 722.64
    ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย 
    * Lighting 3,000.00
    ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย ย 
    * Sound/Band 6,000.00

Kinda makes me go “Hmmmmm?”ย ย ย ย ย 

21. He should kept his mouth shut, as he just steps further into it.
    What a Joker

22. This letter from Cummins mekking me laugh so bad. Check this out, and tell me where in this “lawyer’s letter” do you see the advice that he is claiming when he said the following:

“This action prompted us to seek
    legal advice on the interpretation of our bylaws and the process taken (see document written by Attorney on โ€œ nabousainc.orgโ€). Upon review of our bylaws and the process taken, it was
    determined by our Attorney that the meeting was unconstitutional and the process taken to remove the officers was illegal and will not stand up in a court of law. He advised us to totally
    ignore any action taken by those folks and continue to conducting the business of NABO as we were elected to do by the members in January of 2008. Our Attorneyโ€™s last words to us were the
    constitution protects you. Ladies and Gentlemen read it for yourselves. Its on our website โ€œnabousainc.orgโ€.

M E M O R A N D U M

To: Earl Ashby

Cc: National Association of Barbados Organizations, Inc.

Board of Directors

Re: Organization Bylaws and Director Removal

Date: May 5, 2009

We are acting as special counsel to the National Association of Barbados Organization, Inc., a Florida not-for-profit corporation, (the โ€œCorporationโ€, โ€œNABOโ€) in accordance with a request from the Chairman of the Board of Directors, Mr. Earl Ashby (the โ€œChairmanโ€). This opinion memorandum is furnished at the request of the Chairman for purposes of full consideration of the Board. In rendering this opinion, we have examined the copies of the following documents from the Corporation:

1. NABO Articles of Incorporation;

2. NABO Constitution & Bylaws, approved, July 3, 2005;

3. Florida Statutes, Florida Not for Profit Corporation Act, Chapter 617; and

4. Various Corporation correspondences (written and electronic).

The documents listed above as items 1 through 4 are collectively referred to herein as the “Corporation Documents.” In our examination we have assumed the genuineness of all documents, as approved and certified appropriately by the NABO Board of Directors. As to all questions of fact material to our opinion which have not been independently established, we have relied upon the representations of the Chairman and the authenticity of the Corporation Documents.

We are members of the bar of the State of Florida and we therefore express no opinion with respect to any matter which may be governed by the laws of any jurisdiction other than the State of Florida and applicable laws of the United States of America.

Based upon our examination of the documents listed above, and upon such other and further investigations as we have deemed necessary and relevant to this opinion memorandum, but subject to the assumptions, qualifications and limitations set forth in this letter, we express the opinions that follow.

A. The Corporation is a not-for-profit corporation, incorporated and organized under Florida law, and its status is active.

B. The Corporation has the power to convene meetings to conduct business and authorize any necessary actions.

Overview โ€“ Board Duties & Obligations

For purposes of rendering this opinion, it is appropriate to outline some general governance principles. The Board of Directors is the governing body of the not-for profit organization. It has many serious responsibilities, which can be loosely categorized as follows:

1. Setting the policy for the organization. This is done through:

ยท Creating or updating the mission and vision statements.

ยท Determining the organizationโ€™s programs and services.

ยท Approving the strategic plan.

2. Monitoring the organizationโ€™s operations:

ยท Hiring and periodically evaluating the organizationโ€™s executive director.

ยท Working with and providing support to the executive.

ยท Approving the annual budget, annual report, etc.

ยท Approving major contracts and grants.

ยท Soliciting and reviewing program evaluations.

ยท Troubleshooting as necessary.

3. Serving as a public figure for the organization

ยท Fundraising, by directly donating to the non-profit and soliciting donations from others.

ยท Advocating for the organization.

4. Fulfilling other board responsibilities

ยท Documenting policies and decisions to create an organizational memory.

ยท Preparing for and attending board meetings.

ยท Researching and discussing issues before decisions are made.

ยท Replacing and orienting board members when a vacancy arises.

A board of directors also has certain legal obligations, known as duties. While the details may vary from state to state, here are some common legal responsibilities for members of non-profit boards to:

ยท Take reasonable care when making decisions for the organization (the โ€œDuty of Careโ€);

ยท Act in the best interest of the organization (the โ€œDuty of Loyaltyโ€);

ยท Act in accordance with the organizationโ€™s mission (the โ€œDuty of Obedienceโ€); and

ยท Stand aside when there is a conflict of interest (โ€œRecusalโ€)

In addition to Board responsibilities, there are also matters to avoid. Basically, board members should avoid being over or under involved. More specifically, the board of

directors should not:

ยท Concern itself with the day-to-day management of the organization. This is typically reserved to an executive director. Until such appointment, the officers bear such responsibility; and

ยท Rubber stamp decisions. While the board should take the recommendations of

the organizationโ€™s director, staff, and members into consideration, the board needs to be an independent decision-making body.

Bylaws

The Bylaws are the ruling documents of an organization or, in this case, the organizationโ€™s board of directors. Bylaws are critical, because they tell the board how to conduct its business. Most importantly, unless a governance procedure is not addressed, the Bylaws and Articles preempt any other statutory standards for governance and operation of the organization.

NABO Board Dispute

It is our understanding that there is a present dispute among members of the

Board of NABO. Pursuant to a letter dated, March 15, 2009 from Ms. Cheryl Thompson, the Board convened a meeting on March 8, 2009 to remove certain board members for certain alleged misrepresentations, delinquencies, and other actions. Such correspondence further requested the handing over of Corporation documents at a time certain.

Discussion

In order to conduct its business, the Bylaws of NABO provides for a specific process to notice board members for both general and special meetings. In addition, the Bylaws outline the quorum necessary to conduct official business at either of those scheduled meetings. The NABO Bylaws, however, do not address the issue of removal of board members with or without cause.

Pursuant to F.S. 617.0808, a director may be removed with or without cause by a majority of separately recorded votes of the board at a properly noticed special meeting noting the specific board members for removal consideration. In this instance, pursuant to Article XIX of the Bylaws, the NABO Board may pursue such an action at a special general meeting upon providing fourteen (14) days written notice to the board members. Proper written notice is defined as regular mail, facsimile telecommunication, or electronic mail to the appropriate and current address of which the respective board member has consented to receive such notice. Notwithstanding any dispute of the notice requirement, the scheduling of any special meeting of the board must be preceded by at least two (2) dayโ€™s notice of the date, time, and place of the meeting.

In addition, the NABO Bylaws do not specify the manner and location of meetings. Pursuant to F.S. 617.0820, the Board may permit the conducting of any meetings in any approved manner by which all directors may simultaneously hear each other during the meeting. The time, location, and manner of communication of the meeting must be duly ratified prior to the scheduling of such meeting.

Recommendation

In order to remedy any question of the boardโ€™s decision-making authority and actions, it is highly recommended that the NABO Board follow a strict meeting notice and agenda scheduling process to ratify any board actions. The removal of a board member is a critical decision and should be treated with the highest regard for due process. Unless there is proof of due process being followed according the scope of the Bylaws or Florida law for notice and actions for consideration, any purported actions will be questioned.

This opinion letter is furnished solely for the benefit of the Board of NABO and in connection with underlying issue of the removal of respective board members, and may not be relied upon without our written consent, by any other person or party.

Help! Is this man dreaming?

Show me where in this letter that it says that the special meeting held was unconstitutional?

Show me where it says that the process taken to remove the officers was illegal and will not stand up in a court of law?

Show me where the attorney advised them to totally ignore any action taken by the directors and continue to conduct the business of NABO.

And show me the attorneyโ€™s last words where his letter is alleged to say that the constitution protects them.

All I get from this letter, is that the attorney explained that NABO’s constitution and Bylaws did not deal with the matter at hand and therefore Thompson & company did the right thing by following Robert’s rules and Florida law when they kicked out Earl and his buds.

By refusing to step down, Earl and his cronies let NABO die in their hands.

The only people that really hurt NABO, sent it into a tailspin, caused it to crash and die are Earl Ashby, Mike Cummins, John Ellis, Janice Bispham, Martin Greenidge, Pauline Maynard, Marcia Smith, and the Four Regional Directors who refused to speak up.

23. The major controversy is not the small profit, but rather the fact that the other organizations that were part of the collaborative were not paid their share of the small profit but a DONATION that went from $5,000 on the first report to $10,000 when questioned (by the said Ava) and paid out in cash. Then to find out that it was paid to the same event planner’s charity. How does one pay out a donation and not knowing if there is a profit? Is it normal for a reputable organization to walk around with a 100 hundred dollar bills? or was it 10,000 one dollar bills? None of this information was told to “my fellow Barbadians” nor the attorney in Florida for hime to make an informed recommendation… NABO deserves to be exposed!

24. @Bajan1
    I can see that you are very experienced in self-pleasure and gratification, continue to stay in touch with yourself and when you are tired, someone can show you where a man or woman can substitute.

25. @Bajanohhh
    You want the fact to remain hidden, you have a problem with someone who post what happen.

26. There are too many Barbadian organizations for the number of people they represent. Because they are small they are weak and ineffective. Everyone wants to be chief. Believe it or not we have more Barbadian organizations than Jamaica, Trinidad or Guyana.

27. Oh Sh……ite!
    Can you believe that them idiots asking the seating directors to pay $75 to register to attend the directors meeting in January? Never happened before. Who pays to attend a meeting?

I also hear that only one person was nominated to hold office, and that is Janice Bispham. The so-called black sheep nominated herself for Chairman. No other takers for the other positions, and the elections are less than a month away.

The same Bispham chick sent out a letter begging the regional directors to drum up interest and try to get organisations to register for the meeting and pay $75 to attend.

With no money in the till, and the credit card balance close to $20,000.00, they are trying to do whatever it takes to get out of the red. But they have not been any takers.

Very interesting!

28. Good morning Regionals:

Have you registered yet for Conference? It is important that you make telephone contact with the Presidents/Secretaries in your jurisdiction and make sure that they know that there is a registration fee for Directors’ Meeting 2010. Also they need to make their hotel reservations immediately or they will have to pay a higher rate. The members can go to the NABO website to register and find the hotel information.

Most importantly, our jobs are not completed until January 16, 2010. Therefore let us continue to lead by example. That means in this context, that if you have not made your hotel reservations or registered for the Directors’ Meeting then you are failing to “lead by example.”

Remember your reports are due to Marcia Smith, Secretary, by Dec.30, 2009.

Janice Bispham
    NABO PRO

29. This announcement might simply be a strategy with the purpose to discourage those who only plan to attend for curiosity. Bajan1 like you said, since when is there a fee to attend such meetings? If this is NABOโ€™s idea to trump up money to help defray some of their debt, then why would they be holding back that info instead of making it known that they are under financial strain and would like to ask that those attending pay a fee of $75.

Now, could it be that members have seen writing on the wall and do not want to be on the leadersโ€™ board? And, they would prefer to be a floor member that just in case there is an unexpected turn of events, they would less likely be named? Just asking.

Who ever thought that NABO, the organization that it portrayed itself to be would basically be plastered with the filth that is all over it through out nearly an entire year. It just goes to show no one, nothing that has warm bodies is invincible.

30. Interesting information. Is Janice doing PR for NABO or she has a personal agenda for herself? It would be a sight to behold to see her running a national organization like how she is running that mom and pop association in Melbourne. The letter stated that “Most importantly, our jobs are not completed until January 16, 2010” why then is the so-called chairman not appealing to the regionals & masses.He claimed he wasn’t ousted by the insurgents. We all knew that he said NABO was dead back in March of this year; but he tried to get folks to SC saying that NABO is revitalized, then Michael Cummins posted scrap on the website about them 2 girls and now struggling…what happened?
    Maybe, I was the secret murderer in SC that place the final nail in the coffin. Last year by this time the slate of nominees for elections in West Palm Beach were posted. Is the PRO the undertaker and she is calling everybody together to read the last rites for NABO and pay $75 per person for the burial or to pay back the treasurer for his outlay of funds in SC ? Can somebody tell me whatever became of them 2 girls though? I know I will be wasting money, but I gine to Melbourne to reveal who I really is and let them know that intelligence prevails in everything. Hope Bajan1 is able to post the information if and when the whole Melbourne debacle gets cancelled.

31. Anybody knows who the nominees are for 2010? I hear about 2.I thought the constitution says the slate should be posted some time in September. It is now less than a month into the elections and the slate of nominees is still not posted. I heard the PRO is going up for chairman; is she going to get torn apart by Ava Foster who I heard is going up for the treasurer’s position. She is the only one from the insurgents that run for a position. More baccanal if she get in. Janice Bispham gine be pooping in she pants if she really get into them books. Hear dah girl is something elsewith finances.

32. So is there going to be a NABO or not. Is the list of nominees posted yet?My sources tell me that 2 government officers are supposed to be running the elections in Melbourne.One of them out of Washington and the other out of Florida. A wonder if any of them tried contacting current and past organizations to prove to the Bajan community that they too are not wasting the tax payors money by attending an election that is not a true representation of talented community leaders in the Diaspora. If this hasn’t happened somebody needs to tell them scrap the whole thing and go back to the drawing board.By the way Earl and Mike very quite; is Janice Bispham being the spoke person and they are the silent partners? Inquiring minds would like to know.

33. Conference Reporter Avatar
    Conference Reporter

Da gotta come clean with the books. I don’t care who running the show. This secret order business cannot happen no more. People tired of all the hidey, hidey nonsense. If you getting your rooms paid for, you need to let the Directors know. If you getting perks, nothing wrong with it, so why hide? Just let people know what the perks are.

That is why NABO was busted wide open. The secrecy business was tuff to swallow.

34. Conference Reporter Avatar
    Conference Reporter

Come on supporters of NABO. Elections in a few days and nobody registering. Put your money where ya mouth is and pay the $75. That money is needed desperately to pay some bills. The hotel will need to be paid for and there is not a dime in the till.

I got a suggestion, forget the hotel and have the meeting at Bispham’s house. She running the show anyhow. At least it would prevent NABO from going any deeper into the red.

Remember what Martin Greenidge said in his resignation letter?

“In Charleston we decided to each give $100, have fundraisers and yes take the money ($1000.00) from BNB in Barbados to keep us afloat until January None of this was done except for a few but I am still being accused pulling the organization down.”

Funny thing that the executives did not pay the money they promised to help keep NABO afloat. Why is that? If you believe in the thing, why are you not supporting it? Money talks and bullshit walks.

35. @ Conference Reporter // January 5, 2010 at 2:08 PM โ€œ…The hotel will need to be paid for and there is not a dime in the till.โ€

Was there $$ in the reserves and if so where did it go. What was it spent for or spent on? I don’t think NABO with all the big heads running the show could be downright broke; it would be a joke that you can’t even laugh at.

What a shame! NABO is or was all about name โ€“ those in charge wanted to walk around looking like they owned NABO, continually trying to rub sh*t in people’s mouths, if and when they can get away with it and tell these people, it is a sausage.

Who would have ever thought that NABO would lose respect by so many supporters; unbelievable. Anyway, let’s wait and see what this New Year 2010 brings forth. Will NABO sink or will it continue to swim.

36. Conference Reporter Avatar
    Conference Reporter

I heard that the credit card bill is now well over $20,000. No payments going in and late/overlimit fees just accumulating. Imagine being in such a position, when months ago $300,000 went through them hands?

They should have never gifted $10,000 cash to that organization lead by Colleen Inniss-Gittens. They were playing posh when they had nothing in the bank to pay their own bills.

Highfalooting idiots!

37. @ Conference Reporter
    I heard that they were trying to capitalize on the credit card deal that the president put into action where banks were compromising the balance at as low as 50%. Dah was some time in August they were looking into it. This was probably to save somebody’s credit because some one of them; John Ellis, Michael Cummins or Earl Ashby had to put up their SS# to secure the card as officers; can’t be the woman that up for chairmanship; cause rumor on the street that most of the time she couldn’t even afford to go to conferences. NABO subsidized she. It is called living high on the hog! Poor them. Anybody hear wuh gine on wid de elections? Dem coming off doah? By now members organizations had to submit the names of the delegates and arrival times. Wuh happening? I got my flight booked to attend; am I a fool or wud? I was hoping to run for a position from the floor. Somebody tell muh something.

38. Lordie, lordie. Now big bad Janice Bispham (black sheep) telling the directors to tell them peeps that if you ain’t pay $75.00 you can’t even enter the room for the meeting. Changing times. I wonder if the government official have to pay $75.00 too? Them should have them agency pay for the conference room fuh NABO if deh really want to see NABO work. Them government officials is a bunch a jokers anyway.
    Them 2 girls really bring NABO to deh knees , cud dear. A good thing I use miles and didn’t lay out any cash. I could always get muh miles credit back. I guess since deh don’t know me deh getting frighten. I gine wish them well doah!

39. Good luck with running from the floor, NABO had the bylaws fix some years ago so as to control who run. It is the only organization that people cannot be nominated from the foor.
    Is the meeting still on for this weekend?

40. Could someone close to NABO prepare a brief submission which addresses the upcoming NABO election in the context of all that has happened so far? An angle of interest is government officials participating in the election given the letter which was posted earlier purported to have been written by the PM of Barbados.

41. […] January 13, 2010 · Leave a Comment Submitted by NABO Insider (continuation from previous NABO blog) […]

42. in Palm Beach good quality canidates were running for office but Mr.E and his thugs from the North took care of that. Then the wanna B.and the back and forth conv. took care of the others…..Now going back on who could have taken charge and all that happen look how a great org. was shreaded.now look at the new elections the same treas. that kick greenidge to the curve and kept the cash and all of Cummings cronies and they expect to bring respectful humans back – NO WAY.

43. TRANSPARENTCY CUMMINGS you pompus piece of garbage you kill a good thing and regardless of Ms melbourne or not u still calling the shots N.A.B.O died before and came back but this was a slap in the face and not the dignity of the Bajan way.

44. BU hopes to continue getting reports on the functioning of NABO. It is an issue we will comeback to from time time to make sure all is not forgotten.

45. Sealy, and dem 3 goverment people must feel like dog poop. Dem really don’t know who dem dealing wid. Cummins and he crooks smarter dan alla dem. Looka mu money gone.

46. Conference Reporter Avatar
    Conference Reporter

I am not surprised by the outcome of the elections. Although Roslyn Sealy was present, and her opponent was not, she was still beaten out of the seat for Regional Director South. lol

Michael Cummins has shown that he still has total control of NABO. The Director South vote was put to the body several times. The first two times the count was even (13-13) and it was declared a tie. Then came the Cummins report.

Mike Cummins stated that he would have nothing to do with NABO if Thompson, Foster (who he called Clarke), Husbands, Craig, and the said Sealy were ever on the board. Then, when the vote was put to the people once again, Sealy was barely scrape up a few votes.

It boggles the mind why these wimps are so afraid of this man. Everyone crumpled and gave in!

And then there is the matter of finances. The credit card is well over $14k. It was reported that since no payments were being made by NABO, the bank took over John Ellis’ personal account and began to withdraw $1000.00 increments from it. An agreement was finally made, and poor Ellis is now forced to pay $190 a month of his personal money on the account. He will get the money back if and when NABO makes money. So, it will be up to the sponsors to fill up those coffers so that John can take his money back.

Can we say that he is looking out for his own interests by taking on the role of NABO treasurer. Or, is it a conflict of interest of sorts? He will definitely make sure that he pays himself back, but who will be watching?

No real questions were asked or answered at the meeting. Looks as if the people have decided to let bygones be bygones and start all over again. Ms. Bispham will get to warm the seat until Cummins reclaims it once again.

47. On a sad note, for those of you who knew personally or had come to know John Licorish whose name has been mentioned in the mix of the NABO debacle, he has passed away.

May he rest in peace.

48. More information jacksonville mortgaged home to decide how to analyze and help you.
    jacksonville home mortgage