vaccinationBU wonders why as consumers we respond to the rising cost of living by identifying rising food and fuel costs and the like but we are willing to ignore professional fees which have been galloping out of control in recent years. At the top of the list are legal and medical fees which seem to be fixed by arrangement.

Doctors and lawyers are worshipped by Barbadians. We make appointments to seek their sacred services and behold when we arrive we have the mandatory wait before we can get an audience.

For many years we have known that some of our doctors dispense drugs from their desk’s drawers. Many of the drugs are known to be samples distributed by the pharmaceutical agents to promote their respective drugs sales. Barbadians not to offend the goodly doctors meekly open purses/wallets to pay for drugs which should never, never be sold.

In some other countries, by other people this behaviour maybe deemed unethical, criminal even? In the prevailing depressed economic climate BU sources have advised of another practice which we find disturbing.

All parents of children have to ensure that their children are vaccinated. It is a requirement to gain admission to our schools.  There are other vaccinations which parents may give their children to build their immune system. We are aware that BU family member ROK has challenged how our society meekly receives vaccinations.

We understand that the going rate to have a vaccination administered by a doctor ranges between $100-$120. Additionally, the consulting fee can range between $80 -$120.

We question why our doctors need to fix such high fees for this reason:

We understand doctors in Barbados currently purchase bulk supplies of vaccines at a rate which is less than $40.00 per vaccine. Let us not forget their consulting fee. How should BU describe this state of affair? Should we call it profiteering? Maybe we should call it criminal!

It is amazing to BU that the officials in the relevant government departments e.g. The Barbados Drug Service management would be aware of how our doctors price their services for administering vaccines to our children yet they elect to participate in the price gouging conspiracy. What will it take to expose the free for all practices by many doctors which is contributing to our cost of living.

We could easily have blogged about a few of our well known pharmacies that price gouge – cartel behaviour we call it.

Our advice to Barbadians is to suppress their foolish pride and go to the Polyclinics, they deliver vaccination for free!

286 responses to “Our Doctors Can Do More To Help The People”

1. @ROK…..Yes. And today its full speed ahead with their vaccines, their GMO foods, their medicines, their chemtrails

2. GP, I am pleased that JC has spoken on my behalf! She told me about this site! And am I have called at the Polyclinic and have tried to speak with Dr. Ferdinand. (my mother told me she returned the call! I will call her on Monday) I have already told one of the Head Nurses at the Polyclinic ( I called and laid my complaint) how I feel about the situation. I was NOT RUDE once! I tol her I was going to follow my friend’s JC’s advice and relay this information to the blogs! I must say that I have never had bad treatment from any of the nurses at that particular polyclinic;

I usually take my children to doctors; however, Xmas has just gone and I have no money; SINCE I PAY TAXES, I decided to take the day off and deal with my son’s ear; I did not have a problem with waiting since I did not have my son’s green card and YES the lady was very busy. However, what really hurt me is how the lady treated me and my son. I didn’t look as if I was working I had on my vest and Jeans skirt so I looked looked like an ass; probably to her I looked as if I stay home all day that she could treat me and my son with such disdain! GP even if she thought I was an ass I AM A BAJAN! It was totally disrespectful and I am going to call Mr. Inniss! THANKS!

3. Annonymous

Ear infections are often the result of blockage of the Eustachion. This tube connects the oral cavity with the ear and acts as an intermittent drainage conduit to prevent the secretions that are normally made in the middle ear from building up and bursting the thin ear drum. Instead they drain down the tube and are swallowed. Tiny hair cells in the tube propel this mucus blanket like a conveyer belt to carry bacteria down the drain.

The tube also functions to keep the air space in the middle ear at the same pressure as the air around us. In this way the eardrum can move freely, and our hearing is most effective.

When all is well, the tube is collapsed most of the time in order to protect the middle ear from the many organisms that live in the nose and mouth. Only when you swallow does a tiny muscle open it briefly to equalize the pressures and drain the ear secretions. If any bacteria make it into the ear, the drainage mechanism, helped by the little hair cells, should flush it out.

Respiratory infections are probably the most common cause of ear infections.

Other causes include irritants especially cigarette smoke and allergies. These can all inflame the lining of the tube, producing swelling and increased secretions. They can also cause enlargement of the glands near the opening of the tube, blocking flow at the outlet. Sudden increases in air pressure (during descent in an airplane or on a mountain road) can both squeeze the floppy tube closed and create a relative vacuum in the ear. Drinking while lying on one’s back can occlude the slit-like tube opening. The last two decades of the 20th century have seen a dramatic rise in ear infections largely due to increased pollution and the prevalence of early childhood day care (where children are exposed to many respiratory infections).

Small children get more ear infections than older children or adults for several reasons: The tube is shorter, more horizontal, and straighter, (quick and easy trip for the bacteria). The tube is floppier, with a tinier opening (easier to block). And young children get more colds (it takes time for the immune system to be able to recognize and ward off cold viruses).

If indeed the cost of syringing the ear is so high, why do you suppose that the doctor syringes the ear all the time eh?

Why do you folk start off at the GP level before spreading these big bucks at the specialists?

Your child(ren) are probably having recurring ear infections secondary to recurring upper respiratory tract infections secondary to any of the causes above.
    Your doctor should obtain an ear swab and send it for culture and sensitivity, and prescribe an antibiotic known to deal with bacteria that cause upper respiratory tract infections in the age group of your child. He could give ear drops simultaneously for the pain and inflammation in the ear.

At the second visit, if the infection has not yet cleared, he can then prescribe the antibiotic as revealed by the culture of the swab..

4. re I didn’t look as if I was working I had on my vest and Jeans skirt so I looked looked like an ass; probably to her I looked as if I stay home all day …………….I AM A BAJAN

Well the polyclinics were designed for poor people of that description, even though magistrates, lawyers and relatives of ministers of government have been seen there.

5. It’s not de cough that carry he off, it ‘s de coffin dey carry he off in…

AAAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhh

6. LOl and the Cuban situation… why dont we send all the poor people to cuba so that thy can get free treatment since clearly Cuba has the money and the wherewithal to do that.

Have you been to Cuba? I have!

7. Correction. It was SMALL POX not Yellow fever.

8. Thanks GP you see now why I gonna have to marry you! (I AM SERIOUS!) ad I will cook pork for you too!

Hopi dont persecute ma! lol After all after such a thorough diagnosis (in such a practical way I might add) I have to give in to a little pork for my sweetie pooh Georgie pooh!

lol!

9. On a more serious note GP I dont know if I have asked you already, but why dont you come back and give someof your vast valuable knowledge to Health!

I know you might say something like that you will only come if they ask! But come on ……. persons like you are GREATLY NEEDED! I know you can make a difference! Please answer this question!

We need you at HOME ASAP!

10. Gear Box,
    Hilarioussssssssssss, as uaual.

Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.

11. Bonny Peppa

Thanks for your enlightened contribution to the discussion.

12. @GP et al.

I second JC’s suggestion.

13. Chris
    Are you seconding the marriage to JC and her cooking me pork?

I just downloaded the appropriate info from the web as a fast get out, and modified it . Most of this info is now easily found on the internet.

Thanks for the kind remarks but I cant afford the logistics of such a move, and I am not in any party. Plus I am a rebel at best. LOL

14. GP if we don’t have rebels ask CH we won’t have democracy; If that is the aim for Barbados where every citizen is treated with respect then we would have suceeded in our goal about making Barbados special!

lol Although I dont eat meat I can cook it reallllll good!

COME BACK HOME! We need you SOS GP I mean that sincerely!

Come home nah!

15. GP come home and accept whatever pay they are willing to give you

16. ME I see people like you only think about a paycheck, will he suffer to be at home? Negativity will get you everywhere YAWN !

From what i read from GP I dont think it is a money issue; I think that he just could’nt stand the bullshit that was going on around him from the political refugees such as YOU! Who refuse to acknowledge that an ace is indeed AN ACE and forget about party loyalties!

STUPES!

What about what is right for your fellow man I mean a conscience you PRICK!

17. Ganong
    You’re welcome.
    No one seemed to notice, so thanks huny.

18. LOL touche… anon. I repeat let him come back and accept the pay that people like you think he deserves as opposed to what he is worth….

And while you are at it convince everyone in the public and private sector to do the same!….LOL! Cuba indeed!

19. The point about Cuba is that they have so little comparatively speaking but it does not stop them from being charitable when it comes to sharing its medical services with the world. Our doctors in Barbados should take note and as anonymous wrote think about the word compassion.

20. Cuba has its point to prove, that cummunism works…do you think that this charity comes without a cost to Cubans ( if so why is there such poverty there. How can they government give free operations to foreign natives when the average Cuban has to live on rationed food? Have you been toCuba

Imagine if the Bdos Govt started doing that…would that work for you?

How do you know that All doctors in BIM are not compassionate? I know of several that do charity cases periodically.

One mans idea of compassion is another mans abuse of the system. The polyclinics provide coverage for poor people yet I know that there are many middle and several middle and upper income people that use that system extensively. On tghe other hand as said earlier there are people who although they cant afford it go to ENT specialists to have their ears syringed when they could have gone to the polyclinics.

Champagne tastes mauby budgets!

At least you can have that concept here… fro now until we become like Cuba!

21. We don‘t usually use the bible to support our positions but we couldn’t resist in this case. Even if you are not religious the moral of the stories are relevant.

The Story of the Widow’s Mites

As Jesus looked up, he saw the rich putting their gifts into the temple treasury. He also saw a poor widow put in her two mites. "Truly I tell you," he said, "this poor widow has put in more than all the others. All these people gave their gifts out of their wealth; but she out of her poverty put in all she had to live on." (Luke 21:1-4)

The Christian lesson of the widow’s mites, as relayed in Luke (21:1-4) and Mark (12:41-44), is an enduring testament to the value of faith. A destitute widow has only a few mites to her name, and those she gave selflessly as her donation to the Temple. (Mites were ancient pennies, fairly worthless at the time). Jesus comments that her modest gift was worth more than the ostentatious contributions of the wealthy, for her mites represented all that she had. This virtuous woman had demonstrated true Christian faith in God — she could not know from where her next meal would come, but she believed that He would provide for her.

"Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things (food, clothes, all material needs) will be added unto you." (Matthew 6:33)

Here is another quote:

Send your grain across the seas, and in time, profits will flow back to you. NLT

Cast your bread upon the waters, for you will find it after many days. ESV

Ecclesiastes 11:1

22. @me

You way off target and shows me how one-sided you can be; so does not Western medicine reinforce and espouse capitalism? How else you expect a people to project its philosophy except in everything they do?

However, as far as I am concerned, the Cuba brand of communism is based on democracy, and please don’t respond with your foolishness unless you went there and understand how the system works.

For example, we are now trying to compose Constituency Councils, more than 30 years after Cuba set up Councils in every district. It is not the Government that runs the district councils, it is the people and they are allocated a budget from central government, as well as the fact that the councils control all the property and resources of the district; museums, centres, schools, etc.

To each according to his/her need. That is the underlying principle by which it works.

Interestingly enough, there is a Bajan Cuba Association made up of Barbadian descendants and that association has its own headquarters. At the time the President was one Donald Collymore.

We sit down here and imbibe too much propoganda and feel we are so self-righteous, but let me tell you, Cuba distinguished its brand of communism from what pertained in the USSR, very early.

As a matter of fact, Castro restricted the movements of KGB agents in Cuba; they actually had to get permission after a while. Probably easier for an FBI agent to operate in Barbados without the Government knowing.

Actually, we have a lot to learn from Cuba because its citizens have become acutely creative and incredibly self-sufficient, something we have been hearing the Minister of Agriculture say we need to do. That is how the Cuban Revolution thrived; pity it is being corrupted by capitalism.

23. @me

Your capitalist mind again. Tell me what Cuba got out of sending tens maybe hundreds of thousands of its soldiers to the ANC cause, in South Africa? I suppose the Government of South Africa is now communist????

Tell me what it got out of sending hundreds of thousands of troops across Africa and South America to help those who were crying out. All this includes/ed doctors and medical support and supplies.

What does it get out of training Barbadians to be doctors by way of scholarships? Not one demand on our Government from the Cubans.

Just remembered something that demonstrates Cuban creativity. During Carifesta 1981, the Cubans came with a portable amphi-theatre (covered) where the stands and everything else were erected without a nail or a screw to hold about 500 people and it did not come tumbling down. It did not even rock or shake; it was solid. It was at Culloden Farm and then moved to Oistins.

As a people with a different ingrained social philosophy, we need to stop propping up unjustices. It is just not our style and that is why we are getting burned.

I don’t want to say much more about Cuba, but prior to the peristroika, if you think that, as a tourist, you could go on the block and be-dazzle any of those fellows with your cash, you are surely wrong. They would pull out a wad for you; and not just one or two of them, all of them.

How and why this happened? I will answer that question for the curious who care to ask.

24. ROK,

Democracy implies choice. Where are the dissenting voices in Cuba?

25. David

I am glad you highlighted that. We look down on the poor, but if we understood the considerable sacrifice, we would also understand the magnitude of the effort made by the poor.

26. Juris

You come to put your own spin on the meaning of the word democracy? It is still demos cratia; translate please??? but let me tell you for the record, there are millions of dissenting voices in Cuba. You may not hear them because we don’t get that information.

But you can be sure that there is rivalry in elections just like here. It may be more organised and less explosive but it surely is there.

Choice, as you are thinking about it, is a part of the liberal philosophy and not anything to do with democracy per se. Democracy is about the rule of the majority. The choice is the majority choice and the rule is that the minority must subject themselves to the wishes of the majority. That is raw democracy. Ask Peter Wickham.

It happens on Boards and in Corporations. If you are on a board you will still support a position by the majority. It happens in cricket where one man decides and the rest agree to be bound by that decision. There can be no dissent!

We walk about saying that this is a democratic country, but really have not the first clue about democracy. What we live by is a brand which is called liberal democracy (Locke, Hobbes, Montesque, Russeau, etc. and later thinkers like Adam Smith) There is also social democracy which is the basis of the Cuban brand. Ask George Belle

The point is however, because you do not hear dissent does not mean there is not dissent; even with Castro… but yo have to understand the grund norms of the culture; once a decision is made, the dissent goes underground and everybody lives by the decision.

What dissenting voices what! Foolish CIA intelligence propaganda that we imbibe and hold up as truth.

27. So I imagine, ROK, that the boat people and others who flee also support the status quo and are merely curious as to how the other half lives? And all those in Cuban prisons are guilty of the most heinous crimes? Of course this is merely propaganda. But whose?

28. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“for the record, there are millions of dissenting voices in Cuba”

ROFL… of course there are. For some reason however, they only seem to find their voices after escaping to the US each year on homemade rafts through treacherous waters.

Democracy as practiced in its place of origin 2500 years ago does not exist anywhere in the world today, but to hold up a country where it is illegal to publicly voice dissenting political opinion, form a political party, or periodically participate in the election of their country’s leader, should NEVER be held up as an example of democracy. In my humble opinion, the only thing Cuba has democratised is poverty. I would be arrested for saying that in any public forum there.

29. Juris

I want you to think of the all those thousands of Bajans and Caribbean people trying to get in the USA too. The difference is that Cuba has no diplomatic relations with USA.

If Cuba was so dread, where is the nearest land from Cuba? Where are the Haitians boat people headed? Cuba has a population of 10 Million; what is a few thousand except a small statistic. The majority of Cubans are not trying to leave Cuba.

Why don’t you tell me about Dodds; the death of I’Akobi; the beating of those two boys by Police; the lawyer that beat up those boys, the police drug trafficker, etc., etc.

Check the mote in your eye before you tell me about the beam in mine. I think we need to wake it and see that we don’t live in the paradise we think we live in.

I remember my first class in Mass Communications, the tutor at the time was Mike Rudder. He said words to the effect that if a person from Mars or some other planet came to earth and read the headlines of daily papers they would come to the conclusion that all evil happens on earth.

We listen to stories from Africa and other places and we criticise but we do not understand that the stories coming from Barbados have a similar flavour. Yes we make our boasts but they are based on being better and not perfect; it’s comparative.

30. well Ive actually been to Cuba and it is THE definition of a POLICE STATE where the government determines everything.

yes we can blame the USA for its sanctions as one of the the reason so many there are in poverty however that style of government has to take some responsibility.

Do you think that bajans would adapt that being controlled to that degree even if it meant that they had ‘equal’ access to ‘everthing’.

remember…all men are created equal but some are more equal than others ans that applies to Cuba too.

31. You said you went to Cuba? Come on people, I went on the street and heard dissenting voices, even against Castro.

A Police State. We lately achieved that status or didn’t you realise. Any citizens can now call rapid response if they see suspect activities.

All I am saying is that no system is perfect. There is no attempt to hold up anything or anybody. There needs to be some respect for people and how they choose to conduct their business or their lives.

Here it is we talking about medical services and with the mention of Cuba all sorts of insults and insinuations start to arise. The health did not matter anymore; what mattered more was that Cuba has a point to prove, so we dismiss Cuba; ignorance.

32. Whos dismissing Cuba ? Im not howvere to use Cuba as a model to explain why doctors in private practice here should not charge for their services is a stretch and holds no water when the facts about that country are considered.

Barbados is not Cuba and most bajans are not like Cubans… Barbados would have to undergo a revolution in thought for us the get that way and why should we…?

Bajan doctors like all other sectors of this society have to deal with the way in which this country functions not Cuba.

I stated the idea of universal healthcare earlier and we should be looking towards this requires alotof changes particularly in financing. How do we pay for this recognising that we import almost everything.

33. me // January 11, 2009 at 1:30 am

LOL touche… anon. I repeat let him come back and accept the pay that people like you think he deserves as opposed to what he is worth….

What about those Cuban doctors who go to the USA?
    Do they get what they deserve…or what they are worth?
    Do your research and see what they have to go through to be accepted as doctors.

34. To get into the US system is not easy and is NEVER automatic ( even if you think your credentials are superior) either you need to sit exams , or spend several years in further training before being eligible for registration.

35. I am relieved.

36. me;;

you forget nah, (you remember what you want to remember dont you I can tell stupse!) Anyhow, I went to the polyclinic and still wasn’t seen! I am like most civil servants I work from paycheck to paycheck!

My son has had this problem from the time he was a small child, and persons such as the GP had recommended me to these very same ENT specialists! Lets get this straightttttt If I had the time I would go to the polyclinic and get EVERYTHING done. However when I went to the polyclinic I was treated with scorn and blatant DISRESPECT!

That is why most civil servants like myself opt to go to the DOCTOR!

Therefore, I will not respond to you since I am not from your calibre or BREED! I am considered nobody as you and the lady at the polyclinic reminded me!

I WANT YOU HOWEVER TO REMEMBER THAT WHAT GOES UP MUST COME RIGHT BACK DOWN LOL!

One of these days I might just be able to have champagne tase and shrimp and caviar pocket! Please excuse me from this discussion!

I am off to make myself into somebody oops!

37. so silly…

Anon… there are other options for you within the polyclinic system. just because you were disrespected does not mean that you and your son did not have aright to treatment.

So are you saying that if you go someplace that you have every right to go and you are disrespected then if you chose to go somewhere else which normally has a higher price to all customers that you then are entitled to a free or cheap break?

ENT treatment also can be obtained from the clinic at the QEH based on a referral from the polyclinic. There is absolutely no reason that you should have to pay unless you chose to…. This you did so deal with it!

My mother always told me there are 3 sides to every story . Your side, the other side and the truth!

The same balls you had to come on the blog to cry down Doctors and the polyclinc system you could have made suer you got the treatment that your son needed within the system… but its is so much easier to play victim! Isnt it!

38. ME SILLY OR YOU YOU ASS!

I have mentioned to one of the very same nurses at the polyclinic that I have never had bad treatment from any of them and that includes the doctors and I was shocked!

Why do you think I went to the polyclinic you assssss I went because as you said I wanted to ask if my son could be referred to the QEH you assssssss! You are to hasty to condemn!

Dont I have the right to say how I feel about the service I got because persons like you think that you all know every shite! I never once disrespected that lady! Never once you frigging idiot!

I am so sorry that I answered you I am on the same level as you oops SOMEBODY!

Read what I wrote previously you FOOL!

I dont know if I mentioned it previous comments but I have never experienced that kind of treatment there and I expected better! anybody that was there woul testify I was not rude once you idiot!

the truth is that we need to treat people like human beings ad dont talk down to them because of WHERE you think there are from BOTTOM LINE!

I HAVE NO REASON TO COME ON THIS BLOG AND CRY FOUL! F ing fool!

39. I dont have a problem paying for a service anyonewho knows me knows that i pay especially when it comes to my child!

Read what I wrote you IDIOT, think you can condem people if you go up there and ask anybody I was not rude once! I even understood when she said she was busy because I did not walk with the green card she herself said she understood; but yet when I went back to her at 1:15 p.m. she was frustrated and took her frustrations out on me unfortunately; That still DID NOT give her the right to carry me in like a MAC 10 11!

40. TRUTH MY ASS! You have me so pistole frigging idiot! Think you know every shite!

Go up there and wait from 8:15 a.m to 1:15 pm and tell me how you would have felt! Dont worry one day coming soon! Cry on th blogs stupse, I was one that was bold enough to say how my experience was andyou have the gal to say I lying you frigging idiot when it comes to my child I would NEVER LIE! I teach him to respect people no matter how hey look stupse you have me so PIST OFF! I won’t answer you anymore have a great life fing idiot! HIM TO RESPECTPEOPLE

41. @me

there is no hope for you. You are too elitist. I think this blog was about doctors doing more to help the people. How does a bit of criticism amount to crying down. You can’t take the heat? but you want to cry down anonymous too. How much better are you?

I hope that you joined the consumer groups and make your voice heard. I hope that you joined demonstrations against C&W and other monopolies. I hope that you signed I’Akoki’s petition against the police.

Sorry, forgot, these things don’t affect you. You live on Mars. You have nothing to fret about? So let me tell you that in any system which does not allow people to vent, then they will vent where they can. You want to keep squeezing the man balls, and leave him without any means of retribution. The blog for you; not wasting time going to no medical board or Ministry. Expose you here for the world to see! This is the people’s mechanism.

42. cuh dear…get yourself together. The Barbados govt also provides FREE psychological consulting services… and there is always Jenkins!

43. so did you seek redress for the disrespect you suffered? Are all the polyclincs like that???

44. are you saying that poor people have no one to complain to in Barbados?

45. Tell me where they have to complain for doctors?

46. You have made this and issue between me and you but relly read what I have wrote and you will see it is not an issue of elitism . It is an issue of fairness. BU wrote an inflammatoryy article that brought out alot of ignorance. I attempted to provide some balance. One sob story does not indict a whole system.

And clearly we can see now that anon . has quite a temper so I guess she kept calm at the polyclinc.

anyhow if Rok and anon and David and scout represents the feelings of the majority of Bajans then in there is a definite disconnect between the populace and the doctors/ medical system…

perhaps you should all come together and effect change that you want. i personally dont feel that this blog is achieving that . Why not lobby the government???

47. @ me cuh dear…get yourself together. The Barbados govt also provides FREE psychological consulting services… and there is always Jenkins!
    ————————————————-

lol ok me you made me laugh ha ha ha alright me I cant stand vex for long dah one was badddddd you got me there ha ha ha ahah

I called the polyclinic and one of the head nurses apologised she was very nice! I was hurt that is the truth because I am thinking then that at least most of the time I pay somebody to see my son……. but what about those who can’t pay period! I dint come to cry I came on the blogs to get the point across that persons who work at this institutions are under severe pressure (because she was working all the time) however, it did not give her the right to treat me or anyone else for that matter like crap!

48. Write a letter to the Barbados Medical Council outlining the complaint in detail. Name names, dates, times etc.

If it is a case of negligence see a lawyer ( while making sure that the lawyer has no connections to the Doctor in question- ASK) and lay out your claim.

I know of several cases won by patients…

Don’t automatically believe what you ‘heard’.

49. I cant vouch for the behaviour of anyone but based on waht I have seen there are some very nice people whowork in the pc system. However there are also some difficult people. Like in most places….

We as a society have to find ways to keep our brightest and best like GP in this system and this is difficulty to do without money…

Private parctice has other variables but remeber that ther you are a customer with free choice…