CB021105An earlier blog titled Our Doctors Can Do More To Help The People provoked heavy discussion from the BU family. BU came under heavy criticism by some who accused us of unjustly slurring that most noble profession, the medical doctor. We are therefore heartened by the feedback we have received which has been very supportive of our position.

We reiterate that Barbadians over the years have tended to focus on the rising food and petrol prices when echoing concerns about the cost of living. At the same time professional fees have been rising equally as fast e.g. doctors, lawyers, architects, surveyors, engineers to name a few. We have decided to AGAIN highlight the role doctors can play to help the PEOPLE more in the current bleak economic climate.

A BU family member who appears to be close to the medical profession has put forward the argument that doctors have to expend large sums of money to train, and expensive equipment is required to maintain an acceptable level of healthcare delivery in their private practices. Even if we accept this argument, how does one explain that we have several doctors in Barbados who own mature practices and are known to be very affluent, but do little or no pro bono work? These rich doctors continue to charge rates which show insensitivity to the current depressed economic conditions.

Against the background of a rising cost of living is it unreasonable to expect that some more than a few doctors should want to give a lot more back to the community? From the feedback we have gotten we know of a FEW doctors who charge pensioners $30-$40 for a consultation. We were even more surprise to learn of ONE doctor on the West Coast who does house calls! The reality however is that our research shows that the majority of our doctors are prepared to collude on the matter of fixing fees and gorge themselves on the fatted calf.

In light of the pressures on our healthcare system and the worsening economic climate, the Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP) should want to mobilize some of the more affluent doctors to park their Mercedes and BMWs and commit to offering their services at reduced rates periodically. The public relations benefit pales in significance to the satisfaction of satisfying the moral law which is the underpinning of this most noble endeavour.

Have the affluent doctors in our society become so numb and insensitive to the ‘pain’ of their fellow citizens that they cannot see how their failure to do more to ease the economic ‘pain’ violates the medical profession’s moral code of First Do No Harm – Primum non nocere?

On behalf of the PEOPLE we are asking DOCTORS in Barbados to do more to help the PEOPLE, we know that you can do more.

1. @anon…….If what you’ve just posted here is true you’ve made my day. I’m very happy to know that there are still people of the soil who have not lost their way. Happy to know that the Mother of All Nature is still working.

2. @David…… I 2nd ST’s idea. Just highlight your medical disclaimer…like ‘Please consult your physician….. since the info given here is not meant to cure, blah blah’ cause the vultures are sure to come out of the woodwork. But that’s an INVALUABLE idea.

3. Not so fast fellahs. Ya got to do research pun did thing first. Ask Juris & Rok!

4. @Anon……..What more research do we need? Here you have living proof (unless you just hoaxed us) and you still need to pay someone ridiculous fees to go in a lab just to tell you what you already know. Come on, where’s the commonsense? Death to STUPIDITY!

5. anon

You underestimating NGOs and special interests groups. When you start to specialise, the information tends towards finity and not infinity. To study to be a doctor is a much taller order than repeating a task. It may take the doctor to set up the task but the point is he could train people to conduct the task and everything about doing it.

That is how an NGO will operate, as a specialist in carrying out a task. NGOs such as the diabetes association, the kidney foundation, Asthma association, Hope foundation, need an injection of research information and programmes which can be packaged and delivered to the communities.

6. anon

here is where it is give back time. Yes you have symposia and papers published, but that is not what we want. We want you as a doctor or researcher to take the time to explain the importance of the information.

Also in terms of leadership, you should suggest programmes to combat problems. Help design and establish the programmes. Take a leaf out of Tony Gale’s book. What he established twenty years ago is still up and running and even improved. This is the effect of specialisation.

7. anon

Come on man. Don’t pass the responsibility on to the journalists. They are not doctors who switched to journalism or do journalism part time.

Hey! you mean not even that? Well if none of you have to find ways of earning outside being a doctor it means wanna too comfortable. LOL!

All sport aside, no offence meant. Just couldn’t help… but those journalists in the international media are either doctors or have a fairly good science background; professors, etc. Check for yourself. They are authoritative and can either confirm or refute based on scientific theory and practical experience.

8. Thought that this column was very on point….
    http://www.nationnews.com/editorial/324794878596287.php

9. I have been away but I am enjoying this thread…

10. Child Vaccines: Some Parents Ill at Ease
    Does the private right of parents to not vaccinate their kids trump the greater public good?
    By Neil Osterweil
    WebMD Feature
    Reviewed by Louise Chang, MD
    Supreme Court Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes probably wasn’t thinking about child vaccines or parental rights when he said “the right to swing my fist ends where the other man’s nose begins.”
    But the intersection of private rights and the public good addressed by Holmes is a subject much on the minds of parents, doctors, and public health experts these days, as a vocal and apparently growing minority of parents and alternative health care practitioners question the need for, or safety of, childhood immunizations.
    “We are seeing in some states an increasing proportion of families who are choosing to delay or not immunize their children, and unfortunately, when this happens, we do see sporadic outbreaks of diseases like measles,” says Neal Halsey, MD, a director of the Institute for Vaccine Safety at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health in Baltimore.
    In February, 12 San Diego area children came down with measles. Eight of the children were eligible to be vaccinated against measles but hadn’t been, and three were infants too young to be immunized.
    In Indiana in 2005, a measles outbreak infected 34 people ranging from 9 months to 49 years of age. Three of the 34 needed to be hospitalized, including one 34-year-old adult who had to be put on a ventilator for six days, and a 6-year-old child and 45-year-old adult who suffered from severe dehydration. Only two of the 34 were known to have been vaccinated against measles: one with one dose, which affords about 95% protection, and the other with the two recommended doses.
    The Indiana outbreak was eventually traced to a 17-year-old girl who had not been vaccinated against measles, and had recently returned from volunteer work at an orphanage and hospital in Bucharest, Romania, where a wide-scale measles outbreak was later reported. She had apparently transmitted the infection to a 6-year-old girl while both were attending a church function in northwestern Indiana. The six-year-old was later hospitalized after she became ill while visiting relatives in Cincinnati, according to the CDC.Â
    Measles Is Not Child’s Play
    Some parents and critics of mandatory immunization dismiss measles as a “harmless” disease of childhood, like the common cold or earaches.
    But according to the CDC:
    • Up to 1 in 20 children with measles will get pneumonia
    • About 1 in 1,000 children with measles will get encephalitis — an acute inflammation of the brain that can cause permanent nerve and/or brain damage
    • 1 or 2 in 1,000 children who get measles will die from the disease.
    “While measles is almost gone from the United States, it still kills about half a million people a year around the world,” a CDC fact sheet for parents points out. “Measles can also make a pregnant woman have a miscarriage or give birth prematurely.”
    Before measles vaccines were developed, most children contracted the disease by the time they were 15, the CDC notes, resulting in:
    • About 450 annual deaths
    • 48,000 hospitalizations each year
    • 7,000 cases of seizures, and
    • 1,000 cases of permanent brain damage or deafness each year.
    Yet some parents who object to childhood immunizations will host or bring their children to so-called “measles parties,” where the kids can get exposed to an infected child, get the disease, and develop immunity naturally. One such mother told the New York Times “I refuse to sacrifice my children for the greater good.”
    “It would be a terrible mistake for a parent to deliberately expose their child to measles, or chickenpox, for that matter,” Halsey tells WebMD. “To deliberately give a child measles in this day and age is not only inappropriate, but it actually might be considered to be criminal, because it’s preventable.”
    But that mother is no different from any other parent who wants what she thinks is best for her children, says Barbara Loe Fisher, president of the National Vaccine Information Center, a consumer-oriented vaccine safety watchdog group she co-founded. Fisher and NVIC co-founder Kathi William blame serious reactions to the diphtheria, pertussis, and tetanus (DPT) vaccination for their children’s learning disabilities and attention deficit disorder.
    “I disagree that individual health and public health are two different things,” Fisher says in an interview with WebMD. “Individuals make up the community, and if you have a number of individuals who are suffering adverse effects to a medical intervention, a public health intervention, by extension that eventually becomes a matter of public health.”
    Herd Immunity
    Penelope H. Denehy, MD, professor of pediatrics at the Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University in Providence, R.I., notes that in addition to protecting individual children against infectious diseases, universal vaccinations cover those children who for medical reasons cannot be vaccinated, a concept known as “herd immunity.”
    “One of the things we know quite clearly is that if there are enough parents in an area who [refuse to vaccinate], there actually then becomes a large-enough group of non-immune kids to actually sustain outbreaks,” she tells WebMD. “There’s an area in Colorado where the rates of pertussis [whooping cough] were quite high because there was enough of a population who were not immunized to sustain the passage of pertussis around the community.”
    In addition, even if an unvaccinated child is protected by herd immunity at home, if that child travels with her family, she runs a high risk of infection from a person from a part of the world with low vaccination rates, as happened in the case of the Indiana measles outbreak.
    Vaccination for children entering school is mandatory in all 50 states, but all states allow exemptions for medical reasons.
    “Even in a well-vaccinated population, there are going to be some children who can’t be vaccinated, either because they’re too young — for measles less than 12 months of age — or they may have cancer chemotherapy or some other compromising medical condition that makes it not possible to vaccinate them,” says Lance Rodewald, MD, director of the immunization services division at the CDC’s National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases.
    Rodewald notes that there is also a low but still significant failure rate for some vaccinations: “For example, with one dose of measles vaccine there’s a 4% to 5% failure rate, and with two doses of course it’s much smaller, but still there will be some susceptibles in the population,” he tells WebMD.
    In addition to allowing medical exemptions for immunization, all states except Mississippi and West Virginia also allow exemptions from immunizations for deeply held religious beliefs, and 18 allow exemptions for “philosophical” objections, according to the NVIC.
    In states where this is allowed, 2.54% of parents declined vaccines, according to a Johns Hopkins researcher.
    Conscientious Objectors
    One of the reasons for the rise in the number of parents requesting philosophical or religious exemptions from vaccination is that the standards for medical exemptions are so rigorous and that the exemption-granting authorities make it hard to claim them, Fisher says.
    “It’s extremely difficult to get a medical exemption — it’s given out in all 50 states, but it is given out extremely rarely,” she says. “So what does a parent do in this country when they believe they have a child that has either been harmed or children who they believe are genetically risk? The only two exemptions they have are the religious or conscientious belief or philosophical belief exemptions.”
    In a 2005 survey of vaccine-refusing parents published in the journal Archives of Pediatrics & Adolescent Medicine, more than two-thirds of respondents said their chief reason for rejecting vaccines was concern that they might be harmful, and nearly half said that vaccines “might overload the immune system.” The vaccine most often refused was against chickenpox (varicella), which was refused by slightly more than half of all vaccine objectors.
    Some vaccine objectors say that they’re protecting their children from neurologic damage and that mainstream media are in cahoots with the medical establishment to downplay evidence linking vaccines and autism.
    The Hannah Poling Case
    Those who are convinced that there is a vaccine-autism connection point to the recently publicized case of Hannah Poling, who developed autism-like symptoms after receiving childhood vaccinations. The federal government recently agreed to award the Poling family compensation from a vaccine injury fund established to encourage vaccine research and development and protecting vaccine manufacturers from liability by offering an alternative to lawsuits.
    But lost or buried in many of the news stories about the case was the fact that Hannah Poling also suffers from a mitochondrial dysfunction disorder, an extremely rare defect in the mitochondria or “power supplies” found in the nuclei of human cells. The disorder puts her at increased risk for side effects not just from immunization, but also from common infectious diseases, says Halsey of Johns Hopkins.
    “That’s not a case of overwhelming the immune system, it’s oxidative stress associated with many infections, and children with these disorders can just get a mild cold at a certain time in their lives, and they will develop this neurologic deterioration, so just any stress will cause it in these children,” Halsey explains.
    Denehy, who practices pediatrics at Hasbro Children’s Hospital in Providence, tells parents who worry about immune overload from vaccines that the simple bacterium that causes strep throat has hundreds of immune-system provoking antigens on its surface, whereas even when children receive multiple vaccinations, they receive only about 20 antibody-stimulating antigens.
    “You’re immune system is going to be taxed much harder from things you’re being exposed to in the community than by vaccines, and your immune system has the potential to deal with many, many more challenges than any vaccination schedule presents to it,” she says.
    Cherry-Picking Vaccines
    The practice of inoculation — the attempt to induce natural immunity by exposing healthy people to small samples of a disease — goes back centuries. But it was Edward Jenner, a country doctor in rural England, who developed the first modern vaccination in 1796, after observing that dairy farmers who were exposed to the relatively mild disease cowpox never seemed to contract smallpox, a related but far more deadly disease. The word “vaccination” is derived from vaccinia, the Latin name for the cowpox virus.
    Today, smallpox, once one of mankind’s most devastating diseases, has been wiped from the face of the earth and is known to exist only for investigational purposes in small quantities in tightly guarded laboratories.
    Even the staunchest opponents of mandatory immunization acknowledge that the smallpox vaccination, and select others, such as the polio vaccine, have had incalculable benefits for mankind and that the theoretical risk of vaccinations against theses diseases are outweighed by the benefits.
    But the NVIC and other groups question whether children get too many vaccines in too short a time and challenge the rationale for mandatory immunizations against less serious conditions such as chickenpox.
    “Chickenpox is not smallpox, and hepatitis B is not polio,” the NVIC’s Fisher said in a November 2007 interview on CNN.
    Fisher and like-minded parents, as well as some health care professionals trained in both conventional Western medicine and alternative therapies, feel that the potential risks of vaccines and the incidence of vaccine-related adverse events have been underreported, and that children are subjected to too many vaccines with too little proof of their and safety and effectiveness.
    “We have been asking for almost three decades now for the basic science research to be done to identify those children who are biologically and genetically at higher risk than others for suffering vaccine injury and death,” she tells WebMD. “Those studies have not been done; the authorities refuse to do them.”
    But to those parents who wish to “cherry pick” vaccinations for their children in the belief some vaccines are unnecessary, Denehy offers this cautionary advice:
    “After you’ve been in practice for a while, you see children who are perfectly normal who are affected by these diseases, and 100 perfectly normal, healthy children a year died from chickenpox/varicella before we had the vaccine,” she says. “We had a child who died here in Rhode Island, whose mother didn’t believe in vaccines and took her to a chickenpox party — a perfectly normal 4-month-old who died.
    “You can’t always assume that nothing bad is going to happen to your child.”

11. another view

I could find a doctor who would speak about the same harmful effects of vaccinations too. What you can’t deny is that both the US Medical Council and the medical authorities in UK have been finding harmful effects from vaccinations and “victims” have been awarded damages in courts.

Now, in a lot of ways, much of the examples quoted are full of actions of those who are not aware. Public education is very necessary. Imagine taking a 4 month old baby to a chicken pox party?

That 17 yr old would have had to have contracted measles in an environment where people had measles, but she did nothing to protect herself because she was ignorant of the facts.

You also raising the issue of the level of responsibility of the citizen. The lesson I am seeing in the case of that 17 yr old is that if you travel you should always be aware of the environment in which you are traveling.

However, without a vast public education and the development of a health code for the population, it would be hard to speak of a civic responsibility as deep as that, for public health. As it is therefore, it can happen. Keep the people ignorant and make them pay through their noses; even if at the risk of untimely death or what could be called lawlessness; only if the person had known.

The bottom line is as Fisher said. There is a different way to deal with the problem to eliminate the risks both by the disease and the vaccinations; and research is necessary.

12. Rok
    You are talking shite as usual. You do not know anything about Public Heath, and you display that fact everytime you open your mouth! Shut up and listen and learn for a change nuh!

13. another view

you very sensitive? I ain’t see nothing so brown in what I saying… and the other thing is that I don’t have to shut up in order to learn.

As a matter of fact I learning now because I dared to open my mouth in the first place and I sure that I ain’t the only body learning.

Stop telling people to shut up. That is not nice and we here fighting against that same very thing.

14. ROK, the pontif

Lets hear your take on this article

High Blood Pressure Aftermath
    Side effects to treating high blood pressure can be annoying, but they don’t have to ruin your life if you take charge.
    By Leanna Skarnulis
    WebMD Feature
    Reviewed by Louise Chang, MD
    Lying awake nights worrying if terrorists or bird flu will get you? Consider, instead, a threat that’s far closer to home, and one that you can control: high blood pressure.
    One in three adults has high blood pressure, but only 61% are under treatment and roughly two-thirds do not have it under control, according to the American Heart Association (AHA) web site. In 2004, the disease killed more than 50,000 people in the U.S., yet the AHA says high blood pressure is easily detected and usually controllable.
    Complications of blood pressure medications are one reason people never seek treatment (what if it makes me impotent?), abandon treatment (these swollen ankles look terrible), or cut back on their medication dosage (I’m tired of being tired).
    WebMD talked with two cardiologists and a pharmacist about seven complications you should be aware of. Most importantly, they say that complications shouldn’t be a reason to abandon treatment or cut back on prescribed dosages. Instead, talk to your doctor or pharmacist. “We have 200 medications for treating high blood pressure,” says Thomas Giles, MD, who is professor of medicine at Louisiana State University School of Medicine in New Orleans. “We’ll keep on it till we find what will give you the best result and be least intrusive in your life. It’s no good to make people feel terrible, and we don’t have to do that.”
    1. Fatigue and Dizziness
    Dan Jones, MD, tells WebMD that when people begin taking blood pressure medication, the most common problem is fatigue. Jones is dean of the School of Medicine at the University of Mississippi in Jackson, and spokesman for the American Heart Association (AHA). “It’s especially true for older patients. If blood pressure has been elevated for a while, when the medication is taken and the blood pressure begins to come down, for a period of time there’s less circulation in some of the vessels, including those in the brain. It takes time for those constricted vessels to relax. There may be a perception that there’s less blood flow, which can produce fatigue or dizziness. If it’s mild, it can be worked through simply by staying with the medication.”
    A patient who feels fatigued when on the medication may decide instead of taking it daily to take it every few days or so. “When they go off it, the blood pressure rises and they feel better,” says Jones. “If they continue this cycle, they never get past the fatigue, which typically will go away after two to six weeks of therapy.”
    2. Cough
    ACE inhibitors are a class of medication that can cause a persistent cough in 10% to 15% of patients. “Don’t continue the medication,” says Giles. “I tell patients that if they get a cough, let me know.” If the ACE inhibitor is stopped, it will need to be replaced with some other drug. Examples of ACE inhibitors include: Lotensin, Monopril, Prinivil, Zestril, Accupril, Altace, Vasotec, and Capoten.
    3. Frequent Urination
    No one wants to become famous for frequent bathroom breaks. Using diuretics successfully is a matter of timing. Try to take them in the beginning of your day. “I tell patients not to take the diuretic and drink a lot of water before they go to bed,” says Giles, who is president of the American Society of Hypertension. “And don’t take your pill before a one-hour taxi ride to my office. Wait till you get here to take it.” One of the most common diuretics used for high blood pressure is hydrochlorothiazide. It may be in its own pill on in combined formulations such as Hyzaar or Maxide.
    4. Fluid Retention
    Virtually any medication for hypertension that isn’t a diuretic can cause edema or fluid retention. Swelling of the ankles and legs can be more than a cosmetic problem. “Calcium channel blockers like amlodipine (also known as Norvasc) and nifedipine (also known as Procardia) are famous for causing swelling and pain in the legs,” says Sarah Ray, PharmD, BCPS. These drugs can also worsen underlying heart failure or other heart problems or reveal an unknown heart condition. “We’ve seen patients discover a heart problem only after starting on a calcium channel blocker.”
    5. Sexual Dysfunction
    Men may avoid getting treatment for high blood pressure because they fear it will cause erectile dysfunction (ED). Any medication that lowers blood pressure has the potential to cause impotence, says Ray, a pharmacist at Aurora Health Care in Milwaukee and spokeswoman for the American Pharmacists Association. “That scares people. It’s a matter of trial and error. Men who experience ED should talk to their doctor because for most people there are other options. Some patients could be candidates for Viagra if their hypertension isn’t accompanied by other heart problems.”
    Vascular (blood vessel) disease, not medication, may be the underlying cause of ED, says Jones. “One reason they have ED is they’ve had high blood pressure for a number of years. The ED tends to be intermittent. Patients might blame it on the medication and stop taking it when the real cause may be the vascular disease from high blood pressure and they’re not taking their medication regularly.”
    6. Heart Arrhythmia
    Diuretics, which are commonly prescribed to lower blood pressure, can reduce potassium levels in the body and cause heart arrhythmia, or abnormal heart rhythm. Other medications may slow your heart rate too much. By all means, consult your doctor. “Prescribing lower doses of the diuretic and using medications in combination can get the desired result and offset side effects,” says Giles. “ACE inhibitors and angiotensin receptor blockers protect against potassium depletion, so if combined with a diuretic, you don’t have to worry about it.”
    7. Allergic Reactions
    A serious allergic reaction to blood pressure medications is rare but worth mentioning because it could be deadly. An allergy to ACE inhibitors or angiotensin receptor blockers can cause dangerous swelling of the face and of the throat that blocks airways, referred to as angioedema. “It’s a generalized, sudden swelling, usually beginning around the lips and face, sometimes with shortness of breath and wheezing,” says Jones. “It’s life threatening. The patient needs to get to the emergency room.”
    Don’t Quit Medication Abruptly
    The three experts told WebMD that quitting any medication abruptly could be dangerous. “If a beta- or alpha-blocker is stopped abruptly, there’s a withdrawal syndrome,” says Ray. “It causes a high increase in blood pressure and heart rate, which could be serious if you have underlying heart problems. It puts you at risk for stroke and heart attack.”
    Treatment Adherence
    High blood pressure is a chronic condition that requires lifelong treatment and monitoring. Untreated, it can lead to stroke, heart attack, heart failure, or kidney failure, making it a “silent killer,” says the AHA.
    Yet patient adherence with prescribed treatment is not very good, says Ray. “There’s a certain percentage of patients who never fill the prescription, and a certain percentage who never get a refill.”
    Jones says the key to managing the disease and complications of treatment is a healthy conversation between the patient and health care provider. “I’m fairly aggressive in talking to patients about what the side effects may be and reassuring them that I can respond if they feel like they’re having side effects. If it’s something that will go away with time, we’ll talk about it and make a decision together. If it’s something that won’t go away, like a cough, I pledge that I’ll stop the medication and use something that won’t bring that discomfort.”

15. herbs from the garden would lower blood pressure with out side effects. what you think? plus fresh fruits and vegetables

16. another view

You looking to raise my blood pressure, nuh?

Man I don’t want to see that doctor at all. He want to treat for effects and then side effects too. Round and round in a circle, when will it stop?

You have the right recipe; fresh veg and fruits and if they come from your personal garden, so much the better.

17. So which fresh vegs and fruits from your personal garden to use to treat hypertension?

So the natural products that you think will treay hyperetension wont cause side effects?
    So you mean that these perfect things will act only at certain receptor sites and no where else? O am I over your head here?

18. Dread, shift to the bush medicine thread. All you want over there and if it ain’t there, put it up.

19. To those who denigrate our medical schools and thier accomplishments, here is our history.

The First Faculty
    by Cecile Clayton and Henry Fraser
    The Faculty of Medical Sciences at UWI was not only the first Faculty of the fledgling University College of the West Indies, in special relationship with the University of London. It was also the trailblazer for the University’s pursuit of excellence and provided the foundation on which its reputation has been built. The main achievements of the Faculty may be grouped in seven periods spanning the decades from 1948 to 2008, rather like the ‘seven ages of man’ in Shakespeare’s As You Like It.
    1948 – 1957
    The Pioneering Years
    The existence of a Faculty of Medicine has had a major impact on health care in Jamaica and the Caribbean. It provided many much-needed, well-trained doctors and a few specialists, including pioneers such as Kenneth Standard in Public Health, Keith McKenzie in Paediatrics, Professor Sir John Golding in Orthopaedics and Michael Woo Ming in Medical Education. The impact of the University Hospital and the research conducted by faculty such as Professors Kenneth Hill, Gerit Bras, Eric Cruickshank and others was phenomenal. And when a major polio epidemic hit Jamaica in the early fifties there was a rapid and successful intervention in the form of the Mona Rehabilitation Centre on the Mona Campus, in large measure due to the efforts of Professor John Golding. The reputation of The University of the West Indies as a responsive and valuable institution was thus firmly established.
    1958 – 1967
    Expansion and Consolidation
    Student intake grew from 33 to 5555 and then to 110 by 1964. The Tropical Metabolism Research Unit was established and research conducted by the TMRU on malnutrition, veno-occlusive diseases, hypertension and diabetes earned The UWI a reputation in the UK and North America as a Medical School of importance. A Cancer Registry at Mona and the Tropical Research Viral Laboratory (later CAREC) in Trinidad were also initiated. During this period (in 1962) the University was given its own Charter and authority to grant degrees. Opportunities for postgraduate training were limited, however, and increasing numbers of graduates emigrated in search of postgraduate training. The St. Augustine Campus—formerly The Imperial College of Tropical Agriculture—was established in 1960 and the Cave Hill Campus was founded in 1963.
    1968 – 1977
    Postgraduate Specialist Training and Expansion into the Eastern Caribbean
    Formal specialist training was introduced, beginning at Mona in 1972 followed by Cave Hill in 1976. The opportunities provided for Clinical training in Barbados and in Trinidad were hugely influential in expanding medical professional staff and improving health care in the Eastern Caribbean. The curriculum underwent changes to reflect the new focus on the training of primary (‘first contact’) health care practitioners who could function in deep rural or poorly serviced areas which played a significant role in improving community health and remains to this day an important cornerstone of the Faculty’s curriculum. Thanks to funding from the Kellogg Foundation, a postgraduate Family Medicine programme was also started in 1974. The ‘Eastern Caribbean Scheme’ of operating satellite clinical electives in Barbados and Trinidad was also expanded in this year. It is worthy of note that a graduate of this period, Dr Kennedy Simmonds of St Kitts, became the first UWI graduate to be elected Prime Minister.
    1978 – 1987
    Emphasis on Outreach and Service to the Community
    This was a difficult period for UWI as a whole and the Faculty of Medical Sciences in particular, as the institution experienced serious financial and human resource challenges.
    There was a massive exodus of senior staff between 1976 and 1980 and it became difficult to recruit replacements. This, however, opened up opportunities for young graduates who were willing and able to take up posts in the Faculty. During this period the restructuring of the University—involving decentralisation and the devolution of responsibilities to the campuses—was undertaken under
    Acting Vice Chancellor, the late Professor Leslie Robinson. Major strides were made in community health as the programmes begun by Professor Standard in the late sixties gained momentum. In 1984 an additional year of internship, of mandatory community service, was added to the training of Medical students. Professor Standard, together with Dr Owen Minott, conceived of the idea of incorporating drama in public health education and got the students to stage skits on various health issues within the communities. This programme was very well received and earned kudos for the University. It had the secondary benefit of sensitising students to the socio- cultural aspects of health care. Indeed, the Department of Social and Preventive Medicine received the most requests for electives by overseas students; and the programme was recognised by the WHO with the conferral of the Sir Morris Pate Gold Medal on Professor Standard.
    1988 – 1997
    Introduction of a second Medical School at Mount Hope in Trinidad
    The Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex came into being. The new School offered training in Dentistry, Veterinary Medicine, Pharmacy and Nursing, in addition to Medicine. This marked a major step forward in promoting multi-disciplinary medical education and although over the years, there have been major problems in terms of budget responsibility and administration of the Complex, it remains an important Centre for training and research in the various medical sciences.
    In 1992 the Chronic Disease Research Centre was developed on the Cave Hill Campus in response to the epidemic of chronic diseases such as diabetes and hypertension in the Caribbean. The Centre later merged (in 2000) with the research centres at Mona to form the Tropical Medicine Research Institute (TMRI). The research conducted at the TMRI has had major impact throughout the region, particularly on the approach taken in addressing chronic diseases and child malnutrition. The Sickle Cell Unit of the TMRI has achieved the worldwide reputation of being the foremost research centre for this disease.
    1998 – 2007
    Introduction of the Clinical programme in the Bahamas; Accreditation by CAAM-HP
    The Clinical Programme in the Bahamas emerged initially as a satellite of the Faculty at St. Augustine. The Programme was upgraded in 2007 to The UWI School for Clinical Medicine and Research, Bahamas, with the Government of The Bahamas committing itself to ongoing support of the programme.
    A major milestone reached during this period, was the accreditation of The UWI Faculty of Medical Sciences (across the four centres) by the newly established Caribbean Accreditation Authority for Medicine and Other Health Professions (CAAM-HP). Prior to this, the Faculty relied on accreditation of its MBBS programme by the General Medical Council of the UK which imprimatur, however, ceased to be available to Medical Schools outside of the European Community after 2005.
    2007 – 2008
    Upgrading of the SCMR to full Faculty at Cave Hill
    The opening of the full Faculty of Medical Sciences at Cave Hill, with the anticipated entry of first year Medical Sciences students in September 2008, is a significant milestone of achievement in this 60th Anniversary of the University. It symbolises its role in the social and economic development of Caribbean nations and the global reach of The University of the West Indies in its new Strategic Plan 2007-2012

20. David,

I have to admit that I did not realise that world war III is on. The smokers putting up a fight worldwide. Some empty restaurants putting up signs too, “Non-Smokers where are you? We are going Broke.”

BTW Peter Wickham asked me to join him on his call-in programme tomorrow. Guess the topic? Smoking. Like I getting a reputation for being the lone smokers-rights advocate in Barbados, or maybe the Caribbean.

People, it is time to speak up. Smokers where are you? There are 27,000 smokers in Barbados. Wha happen? The statistics wrong?

David, don’t finish kill we. Give we a small break, man. This is the last one, just in case I start to become the next target for assassination. I planning a small revelation if he does call. It is supposed to be by phone.

21. @ROK

Lol boy you better start charging some appearence fees because cigarettes gone up!

Tell Peter BU sends our regards and understand why he has to be a slave to the system. You can also feel free to give the BU family a shout out 🙂

22. Guys, I see that measles are on the rise in the UK. Found this BBC story and what caught my eyes was this part:
    “The figures come as a report from the World Health Organization on a measles outbreak in Germany in 2006, in which two children died, found 80% of those who had caught the infection were unvaccinated.”

This report needs some clarification because if 80% were unvaccinated, it means that 20% vaccinated still got the disease. I would put down this 20% as those not getting the second shot. Could that be right?

Source: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/health/7872541.stm

23. Should we find this article in today’s Nation interesting?

Published on: 2/7/09.

by SANKA PRICE

DOCTORS’ HIGH SICKNESS CLAIMS have made one insurance company rethink the benefit options offered to them.

This move is as a result of medics’ claims for heart conditions, cancer complications, arthritis ailments, respiratory, urological and diabetic complaints steadily increasing in the last three years.

In a January 8 letter addressed to the president of the Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP), Sagicor revealed that its health insurance policy for doctors was seriously ailing.

The note disclosed that in 2006 to 2007 insurance premiums were $384 863 but claims were $395 255; and for 2007 to 2008, premiums were $361 565 while claims incurred were $480 112.

"Overall, this plan has performed outside acceptable limits with a projected loss ratio of 133 per cent for the period under review (November 2007 to October 2008), with loss ratios of 111 per cent, 141 per cent and 46 per cent for the dental, medical and vision respectively," stated the letter.

Steve Stoute, senior executive vice-president of the Sagicor Group of Companies, declined to comment.

However, another insurance executive, speaking to the SATURDAY SUN on condition of anonymity, said the claims could be a manifestation of some doctors not practising what they’re preaching, as well as their being human beings and subject to illnesses like everybody else.

"Many doctors would tell you that treatment is available here, but [many of them] go overseas for treatment," the executive said, adding that "many doctors smoke . . . don’t eat properly, don’t exercise".

"This [latter] group get a lot of expensive tests done like CAT scans, which the insurance company can refuse [to honour] if they are not satisfied with the reasons given for it. But in the medical profession they can always come up with a reason to get one," he charged.

However, BAMP president Dr Carlos Chase dismissed these accusations.

"We respond to potential problems earlier because we are doctors. We contact the specialist immediately and go from there, that is why these tests are done. There is no abuse of the system," he said yesterday.

Sagicor proposed two options for renewal rates for the doctors, and the doctors agreed to Option I, in which there would be no changes in benefits for the medical, dental and vision plan, but medical premiums would be 50 per cent higher, while dental ones would be 30 per cent higher.

24. http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_style/health/article5683671.ece

for those gainst vaccinations please read the above…

Note that the increased incidence pf measles and death due to measles .

25. @me

If you are referring to ROK then you have it wrong. The only thing I have against vaccinations is that they are frequently overused in the name of caution and secondly, they belong to an old technology which needs updating.

To tell you that I am against the use of anything that will improve the quality of life however small goes against my religion (conscience).

26. now that the ‘link’ between autism and vaccines has been debunked….can we move forward!

27. Hi I have a question for you guys what is the doctor who helps people that he serious anger problems because there is a singer name Chris Brown and he has alot of anger in him and I want to know that who is the doctor that can tell the singer Chris Brown what can he do to calm down his anger problems?