vaccinationBU wonders why as consumers we respond to the rising cost of living by identifying rising food and fuel costs and the like but we are willing to ignore professional fees which have been galloping out of control in recent years. At the top of the list are legal and medical fees which seem to be fixed by arrangement.

Doctors and lawyers are worshipped by Barbadians. We make appointments to seek their sacred services and behold when we arrive we have the mandatory wait before we can get an audience.

For many years we have known that some of our doctors dispense drugs from their deskโ€™s drawers. Many of the drugs are known to be samples distributed by the pharmaceutical agents to promote their respective drugs sales. Barbadians not to offend the goodly doctors meekly open purses/wallets to pay for drugs which should never, never be sold.

In some other countries, by other people this behaviour maybe deemed unethical, criminal even? In the prevailing depressed economic climate BU sources have advised of another practice which we find disturbing.

All parents of children have to ensure that their children are vaccinated. It is a requirement to gain admission to our schools.ย  There are other vaccinations which parents may give their children to build their immune system. We are aware that BU family member ROK has challenged how our society meekly receives vaccinations.

We understand that the going rate to have a vaccination administered by a doctor ranges between $100-$120. Additionally, the consulting fee can range between $80 -$120.

We question why our doctors need to fix such high fees for this reason:

We understand doctors in Barbados currently purchase bulk supplies of vaccines at a rate which is less than $40.00 per vaccine. Let us not forget their consulting fee. How should BU describe this state of affair? Should we call it profiteering? Maybe we should call it criminal!

It is amazing to BU that the officials in the relevant government departments e.g. The Barbados Drug Service management would be aware of how our doctors price their services for administering vaccines to our children yet they elect to participate in the price gouging conspiracy. What will it take to expose the free for all practices by many doctors which is contributing to our cost of living.

We could easily have blogged about a few of our well known pharmacies that price gouge โ€“ cartel behaviour we call it.

Our advice to Barbadians is to suppress their foolish pride and go to the Polyclinics, they deliver vaccination for free!

286 responses to “Our Doctors Can Do More To Help The People”

1. @me

We give you the last word

2. @me

You are making excuses for people who could do better, but when we talk about the poor black man, people get sick. It’s OK for the doctors to keep robbing people but not for the poor black man to complain.That is certainly not fair or even reasonable.

You just can’t take it, can you; ’cause you know its wrong, so you running. At least your conscience got pricked… but I urge you not to go into denial and get ignorant and start cursing everybody.

Furthermore, I do not hear of any of you donating money to charitable causes. None of our groups ever say that Dr. so and so donated anything to them. You making people feel that you don’t make any money and that is not true; have a social conscience!

3. @me

Give me a good reason why a person earning $200/week should give a doctor $80 for a visit alone? Is that a fair price? Tell me why a person with three children coming for a check up should pay the doctor more than that woman’s week’s pay?

You must first get reasonable. We know you have problems with the system, but this one is not a problem? Right?

4. @me,

“But to present idea that doctors as a group are pillaging the country and abusing their clients is nonsense and speaks to either your jealousy at not being a doctor”

You are clearly blind.

5. @me

Cuban propaganda!!! Certainly you jest? When EVERY single Caribbean island has benefited from Cuban medical training and treatment, numerous have gotten eye surgery. And quite a few from Barbados are slated to go for treatment. The PM of Trinidad went to be treated among many many others. Officials from every single CARICOM nation plus Canada, US, UK, Singapore, Russia, India, Africa and the list goes on and on…… have EXTENSIVELY documented Cuban medical programmes. Officials from our own Ministry of Health have been there and the GOB officially recognises Cuban trained doctors! However the loophole with the Medical Board is what is preventing them from practicing. THOSE ARE THE FACTS!!!

I have no beef with an doctors in this island since I have not been to one since I was like 8. But the issue is doctors hold a hell of a lot of power in this society and they tend to do as they please. Few other professions have this privilege. The Medical Council is run by doctors who act in their own interest who set their own fees and determine how they want things to go. Most other professions even if less regulated there is way more competition, and the is no cross the board clique attitude to standardise high prices.

6. ROK

You are very correct alternative medicine is very expensive. Go up to Worthing to the Maas clinic and see. My first visit was about $2000 for a little chat some bllod tests and some supplements. Then go home and be hounded on the phone daily to come for your weekly blood tests and bring your urine sample etc at about $500 per pop.

How do you know the difference between โ€œalternativeโ€ medicine and western medicine? Have you been trained in any of the two? Do you practice any of the two? Or are you just shooting bull?

Can you demonstrate how alternative medicine has more guarantee than western medicine or are you just shooting bull? How is western medicine more a quick fix than alternative medicine.

Why should a doctor not be able to practice without some training in alternative medicine? Why do you think that the cost of drugs and medicines will be cheaper?
    Let me burst your bubble a bit. What are the side effects of using the natural product saw palmetto for prostatic dysfunction?

7. Anti rok wrote
    Let me burst your bubble a bit. What are the side effects of using the natural product saw palmetto for prostatic dysfunction?
    ========================
    A lot of saw palmetto is advertised on tv in Barbados.

Saw palmetto (alternative medicine) has the same mechanism of action and indications as finasteride (Proscar) used in “western medicine.

Like finasteride saw palmetto causes decreased libido (sex drive)

Saw palmetto has as additional side effects
    Erectile dysfunction or impotence
    Decreased volume of ejaculate which does not affect sexual function.
    Breast enlargement

8. David wrote If we use your logic for the price model doctors use then Barbadians should benefit from a scale of fees. Why do we have the situation where they ALL charge practically the same fee for vaccines?

David, I donโ€™t know what pertains now. But I do remember that around 1982 BAMP published a tariff with guidelines that the profession could charge for various services. I have long since left BAMP, so I cant tell you what the current tariff is. But if there is an updated tariff it will explain what the profession considers to be reasonable fees for any particular service- including giving vaccines. This might answer your question.

I personally cant see what the fuss is about. If one does not like the fees that doctors charge, why not go to the polyclinics? Its free of cost there. Isnt it? Seems to me that there is a big saving to be got there.

9. I remember a couple of years ago, I was pomposetting and telling my friends that it was July and I had saved 600 dollars for the year what a great feat; Unfortunately, my son got an ear infection; I went to an ENT specialist and he charged $695.00 AND ALL HE DID WAS SYRINGE THE EAR! My damn savings; Imagine ONE VISIT and my savings wiped out!

UNFAIR!

10. Georgie Porgie my friend, dont even go there about the Polyclinics, one of my friends ONLY YESTERDAY was involved in an insulting scenario! SO FORGET ABOUT THE POLYCLNICS!

Imagine she went to the polyclinic from 8:35 a.m. and did not see a doctor because of the UNMANNERLINESS of a receptionist! (she left after 1:16 and still did not see a doctor Imagine, we pay taxes every single day and are treated the shabbiest!

My friend came home in tears because of this person’s sarcasm, unprofessionalism, and thoughtlessness. Yet, we allow non nationals to come and TRICK US BADLY, with their fradulent documents, and stupidly give them all the services that they have blatantly refused to pay for. And treat our own like crap!

That is why persons refuse to go to the polyclinics it seems as if we ARE BEGGING! LOL! My damn taxes!

11. JC

Really Really
    ALL HE DID WAS SYRINGE THE EAR?

Why did you go to the ENT specialist and not a GP?

How many visits should he have taken to fix the problem?

I remember once doing a locum for a colleague as a youngster some time in 82. When I told him I was not making any money. He told me not to charge them all the money one time, but ask them to come back. LOL

12. Anonymous

I am very sorry to hear that your friend had such a bad experience at the polyclinic. I did not design the polyclinics to work in that way.

But I am sure that you will admit that the public are sometimes very rude to clinic staff. I know that I recieved my fair share of insults in the 80’s.

If the polyclinic is in a shambles, you must blame LIz and the Ministry and “Gravy” Kinght. Between them they ran some good folk from working in the polyclinics.

13. me
    cool it, you’re a little hot under the collar; true if you can’t stand the heat stay out the kitchen. The medical faternity in Barbados needs investigating, they charge for everything under the sun and high cost at that. The prices I quoted was not for specialists, they can charge sometimes Bds $ 30,000.00 for a simple operation and still use the QEH equipment FOR FREE. For many years doctors have been ripping off patients, it’s time they be investigated. Even out-patients at the QEH are encouraged by the same consultants they see to get their operation done privately because they would get through quicker.

14. me
    you talk about artisans, but they don’t have an umbrella body.No matter who you are, if you want to practice law, medical or engineering, you must register with the necessary body. Anyone can come into this country and work as a mason, carpenter etc, therefore the same doctor etc would negotiate payment with them but they can’t do it with the doctor. Doctors are NOT untouchable. They need to come down from their lofty heights and deal with their patients as human and not as a statistic.

15. Anonymous

Did your friend report the offender to Donville? I think that they should.

@ Rev Dr. Dick Hertz
    If that jackass Liz thompson had not listened to the doctors and tried to choke off the training of doctors Barbados could be like Cuba with a doctor on every street. Prices would have dropped like a stone in a pond.

I agree that Liz is a jackass. But in all fairness she and the doctors DID NOT choke off the training of doctors Barbados. In Lizโ€™s time there was a move to diminish the โ€œbrain drainโ€ of UWI trained doctors to the USA coupled with the increased production of doctors as UWI now had a second school in Trinidad. There was a decision to make the internship period longer to deal with the first issue. Both issues resulted in their not being enough post at the QEH for Junior doctors. The result is more GPโ€™s and relatively less specialist training.

Re Also the Government should not allow private practices to operate from the public hospital. Let the blasted doctors truly bear the true costs of setting up a facility and maintaining and then charge me an arm and a leg and talk about business costs.

Do you know that the UWI paid staff are the doctors allowed to do minimum private practice from QEH. Remove this concession and have fewer consultant and specialist staff. LOL

16. Anonymous
    There is a scam going on at the polyclinics. Most of the returning nationals out of Britain go to the polyclinics and to be served quickly it is alleged they tip off the receptionist to fast track them. They get special tratment at the polyclinics I know about. The local get treated as though they are begging a favor

17. You think that you could come in this forum and ask a layman some technical question, in order to pompasette? I could do the same to you too because you don’t know everything… but that does not mean you are an idiot.

Would you agree that the body heals itself and what doctors do is try to fortify it?

Well western medicine use drugs to do this, while alternative medicine uses natural products & techniques. Would you agree that it is better to get vitamin C from its natural source than from a tablet? Do you know why?

Do you understand the importance of fresh raw vegetables to the body?

Do you also know why you why don’t play with manchineel?

I am sure that you don’t want to explain these because it would stop too many people from the need for a doctor… but if you care anything about your patients you would tell them.

18. This article and the ensuing comments would be more effective if they presented facts and were balanced. Scout what is “a simple operation” what is “ripping off”.

Secondly everyone has the right to ask for the price of treatment BEFORE it is given. Everyone has the right to refuse treatment if they deem it is expensive.

Thirdly the polyclinics also need more MONEY to function like private clinics . Private clinics USUALLY function better than the polyclinics because there ie more money invested there i. e the doctor has significant practice loans to maintain the Private clinic.

“Syringe the ear” … did the child get better????

19. You could imagine, that out of all the licks that me get in forum, the only anti is against ROK.

Well having read through my contributions, I am the only one that spoke of the poor black man and also the only one that asked if it is right that a doctor should charge $240 to a woman working for $200/week for seeing her three children?

No anti-GP, no anti-Re Engineer, no anti-hopi, no anti-scout and all of them put more licks in you than me. What? I hit the right chord?

20. antime…you are free to go to a Bush doctor or to cure yourself…who is stopping you?

Universal medical care including alternative medicine where needed is something we should be working towards. Somehow we have to work out how it will be paid for and implemented!

21. I knew you would sidestep those questions. I just do not go to doctors, period. Bush Doctor, Western doctor, what is the difference? All concoctions.

22. Let me assure you that I don’t go to doctors because I don’t have the need… well except for an HIV?AIDS test at the clinic, or even for an opinion; bascially for information, not treatment.

Note too that I am a diabetic and was ordered insulin about 9 years ago. You figure it out. I am still alive and have no symptoms of the diabetes. The doctor told me that he never saw a person in my condition come off insulin.

23. Rok

Re if it is right that a doctor should charge $240 to a woman working for $200/week for seeing her three children?

===========================
    With all respect. If I was working for $200 a week, I would not take my three children to a private doctor when healhcare is free at the polyclinics. It doesnt make sense.

@Me

Most of the issues you raise in your posts
    can not be denied. However, the polyclinics donโ€™t need more money to function like private clinics- they only need to be set up to look like private clinics and function like private clinics.

When he was Minister, Branford Taitt queried how Warrens clinic could be set up to look like a private clinics and function like a private clinic. I drew a plan to show how this could be done. Mr Ethridge the officer in charge of such activities approved it, but some jackass who had been promoted to be a โ€œhealth plannerโ€ from being a health inspector overruled it.

If we could only get the folk in charge to listen to people with sense, we would get farther. Our people donโ€™t vandalize private facilities, but they do so to public facilities.

Many of you look down at the care given by the health sisters in child health and maternal health clinics, even tough they pay more individual attention to the patients than even the specialists.

Many of you treat polyclinic staff like dirt, and then you expect them not respond to you as you deserve.

24. GP,

In case you don’t know, a lot of mothers take their children to the polyclinic, at least up until after they get the innoculations and thereafter they seek private medical care.

Even during the period of care provided by the polyclinics, they still take them to another doctor for other things.

We are a totally brainwashed people and within the lower economic sector, private medical care is premium and psychologically preferred to public medical services.

I do not think that users are critical enough of the public medical services and usually, it is the staff that treat patients like dirt; don’t blame me because I have not seen it the other way around. I have been a victim many times.

I have been to the polyclinic and everybody waiting and vexed but not saying anything because they feel they would get victimised if they complain. Who ain’t vexed would be saying, if you want the care you would wait, or if not “golong”.

GP, don’t let’s start talking about the treatment of public property in all its forms. People may vandalise, but what about the wastage and pilferage by employees that should know better?

25. Totally agree with you George… then it must be that the money assigned to health is not being spent as it should! Why pay for a vaccine when you can get for free?

If you agree to pay why not check out what the cost would be before you pay?

If the costs is more than you can afford then go where you can afford it?

Why go to and ENT specialist to have your ear syringe when your local MD general practice can do it at a fraction of the cost?

In managed care in the USA you dont have the option on who you go to ( or rather you have limited options on who you go to ) otherwise you pay more… and I know that the system in the USA has alot of issues too, the poor do not get treated very well there.

26. ROK

You are correct when you opine…….We are a totally brainwashed people and within the lower economic sector, private medical care is premium and psychologically preferred to public medical services.

……….but who is to blame for that ?

Re I have been to the polyclinic and everybody waiting and vexed but not saying anything because they feel they would get victimised if they complain. Who ainโ€™t vexed would be saying, if you want the care you would wait, or if not โ€œgolongโ€.

DONโ€™T YOU WAIT AT THE PRIVATE CLINICS TOOโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ..AND STILL PAY?

27. Rev Dr. Dick Hertz Avatar
    Rev Dr. Dick Hertz

Alternative medicine is generally another name for quackery. A lot of hocus pocus that at best does nothing (except relieve one of some money) or at worst cause harm and increased suffering. Another one of jackass Liz Thompson’s measures – the registration (hence official sanction) – of some alternative “medical” practitioners.

A health planner/inspector is listened to over the opinion of doctors? Give me a break. You fell for that one GP? It is some of your own fellow doctors who wish the polyclinic concept to fail!

Look I don’t want doctors to live hand to mouth. It is necessary to attract bright and able persons to health care so good remuneration should be possible. Barbados has the basic foundation for a good “middle way” but some doctors are just greedy as shite and are seeking to justify their greed on the lame excuse of “costs” particularly “cost of training”.

The kiss-me-ass useless politicians who should be addressing health issues are so clueless that it’s depressing. By the way, hasn’t it struck anyone as comic that in less than a year there have been 2 ministers of health, no changes at the the QEH and a squabble between the PM and former Minister over whether to build or refurbish the QEH. I know our ass is grass when the PM hopes to finance QEH reform through charity (at a time of the worst recession since the great depression)!

28. Me

In Barbados we tend to complain a lot.

Certainly our poor people have acess to proper healthcare at the polyclinics.

This is a fact that even the USA can not boast of.

29. Rev Dr. Dick Hertz Avatar
    Rev Dr. Dick Hertz

Poor UNEMPLOYED people have all day to spend at the polyclinic. Time is important and there is relatively new clinic/service which is making a big impact on the delivery of private health care services. Those one-door doctors that have to refer the patient for every little test and cannot respond quickly to patient concerns will be left in the dust.

30. Rev Dick… good to hear you say some doctors…
    We need a new Hospital for sure….
    i have been to several places around the world and the healthcare that is provided in the polyclinics is relatively good. I do agree that some staffmembers can do with customer service training….
    But this speaks more to public sector reform…

31. GP

Yes you go to private doctors and wait, but for a whole day? Nah, private doctors doing business and looking for cash. Don’t compare it, please. Remember that I am talking about people with so-called appointments.

32. ROK

No one waited a whole day in any polyclinic in which I worked. Then they complained………now I am hearing they wish I was still around.

Re Poor UNEMPLOYED people have all day to spend at the polyclinic.

Man you would be surprised to know who came to the clinics in the 80’s and mid 90’s.

33. GP

I rememeber being on a board and a senior employed always used to get up to defend her position because she used to operate as efficient as clockwork while her colleagues mesed up. So we could not get to them because of her.

One day I had to open my mouth and tell her speak for herself and allow the board to examine what is not working.

Seems like I have to tell you the same thing. I also have to admit that sometimes you might hear somebody say, “We gine get out of her in no time, you see who is the doctor?”

34. Rev Dr. Dick Hertz Avatar
    Rev Dr. Dick Hertz

Look Me if you are going to address me please use my full title i.e “Rev. Dr”. I paid good money for that certificate ($49.99 US) from the Peabrain Theological Seminary, Medical School and Massage Parlour (motto “Laying of hands our specialty”) located above the 7-11 in Denton Texas.

Anyway for the record most Bajan doctors are good decent people.

35. Rev Dr. Dick Hertz

All Alternative medicine is NOT quackery. Some of it does have a place. The nutrition aspect especially

Re A health planner/inspector is listened to over the opinion of doctors? NO THIS IS THE ABSOLUTE TRUTH. I hear the jackass eventually retired and went to Codrington College. I think that he was a BLP operative who might have wanted to sabotsage Branfordโ€™s idea. It had nothing to do to the doctors in the Ministry.

I agree with you that some doctors are just greedy as shite and are seeking to justify their greed on the lame excuse of โ€œcostsโ€ particularly โ€œcost of trainingโ€. I agree with also you that the useless politicians who should be addressing health issues are so clueless that itโ€™s depressing.

And your observations about the2 ministers of health et aliter have certainly not gone unnoticed!

36. Sorry Rok

I guess I am too much an idealist

37. ROK

Do you notice that we have had 2 0r 3 big debates on BU this week, and that BFP is struggling to get even a match to light up even if their often inflammatory topics, and pictures on thier mass head?

So dont feel bad if you get banned therefrom man. David back broad. He does tek he liks out here like a man like evrybody else.

38. To tell the truth GP, BFP don’t excite me at all; not even the layout.

39. Rev Dr. Dick Hertz Avatar
    Rev Dr. Dick Hertz

Dr Georgie

you notice how a lot of useless so-and-so after years of obstructing progress, go on to Codrington College or some other theological school after retiring!

I glad to note that you didn’t wait for retirement to serve your God.

BFP is bare pup, imagine promoting Loveridge as the next Colin Hudson!Ah gone, a parishioner is calling. I have to lay some hands on her and prey.

40. 199

I was to respond to your post earlier. You made two points.

The white man did not set out to do it, I agree, but the point I was trying to make is that once it happened and he saw the benefit, he never stopped, but perfected it. Like Adam. Once he ate the fruit and became conscious, he could not turn back; he would never again be caught naked.

The second point about social security backs up my point about creating a national pool/fund for insurance purposes.

41. me
    why is it that you people keep comparing Barbado0s with the USA?
    ROKYou can make an appointment at the polyclinic now. At the private doctors offices, you might have a 10 a.m appointment but don’t see the doctor not until 1 p.m.It seems that they make more than one appointment for any particular time. Therefore, when you get there for your 10 a.m appointment there are three other persons there with the same 10 a.m appointment but maybe the doctor is still see the 8.30 or 9 a.m patients. It is a rip off. I once had a run in with a doctor for that reason. When the time came for my appointment I walked into his office and the receptionist told me it was not my turn that all those people before me. I told her I paid for an appointment,I was here on time and I would not be sitting around for no three hours . I was attended to but I never went back.

42. This is law your response and article is filled with hyperbole and exaggeration and very little facts. Clearly you have a personal issue with some doctor and now are using your pulpit to disparage the entire profession
    ……………………………………………………….
    Hi “me’.
    Why are you so emotional regarding ethics and registration fees regarding doctors.

Patients also have increased expenses, yet we make these said doctors rich.

I have a fundamental problems with doctors although we cannot do without them. Doctors are behaving like mechanics. You send your car to get your car tuned, the mechanic tune the car and overlook a simple problem close to the carburetor. You go to the doctor regularly for check-ups and yet he might not diagnose that you have cancer or some other life threatening symptoms. Am I to believe that you ask for A and you get A?

I am of the believed that we have too many doctors, yet the populace are sicker than yesteryear. When I was young, I could count all the doctor’s office throughout Barbados on my 10 fingers. Today, I can count 10 doctor’s offices in close proximity. We go to the doctor for one sickness and get medication for that sickness. However, we also receive additional medication to counteract problems whilst taking the original medication. Do tell me if I am wrong?

43. Man you would be surprised to know who came to the clinics in the 80โ€™s and mid 90โ€™s.
    ……………………………………………………….
    Clap, clap, and more claps. Ah lie!!!!!

44. GG.
    Your statement says it all. Other people you might see at these clinics were grandmas and grandpas. Are we now becoming a nation of sick people? Maybe our modern lifestyles based on ‘sweet mouts’ are our downfall.

45. TMW

Are doctors the only people you make rich…

Are doctors perfect? I know they are not.

Are Doctors the only component to a healthy population? Why is diabetes so high in Barbados?

Are you aware that everything you put in your body has the potential to be a poison if used incorrectly? Including water!

Sounds like you are playing the blame game which is typical

46. @me

You asked TMW, “Are doctors the only people you make richโ€ฆ”

Doctors are rich because people come to you. You seem guilty about being rich at the expense of poor people. You are hiding behind a theory that other people doing it too, so that makes it right.

What I would say is that the doctors have gone overboard and that makes a big difference to the ethics and your pocket. Of all the unethical things about the Medical Council and Government regulations that you can cite, none could be more unethical than the charges imposed by the multitude of the doctors; there are very few with a conscience. I could count them on one hand.

When it comes to inflated charges, doctors come in next to C&W… and for that multitude of doctors to be charging the same inflated price, smacks of collusion, which is against the law.

Why I say it is inflated? Because other doctors with a conscience charge nearly half that amount and they don’t look like they suffering; and have the same hard courts on their residence just like the doctors who are charging inflated prices.

One of these same doctors with a conscience came to me some time ago and asked how he could invest some of it in business. He told me that he had so much money that he did not know what to do with it.

Talk about Price Gouging?

47. From the onset the white man DID set out to kill the Natives. That’s why they gave them those ‘Yellow Fever Infected Balnkets.’

48. Hopi

Thanks for that reminder, but it is evidence that once it worked the first time, they perfected it quite early. Didn’t they?

49. No GP, I didn’t give the full details (back off of me ME) GIVE ME A
    GODDAM BREAK! I now read your comment GP, good morning! The lady’s
    son has a recurring ear infection! She decided that since she had no
    money and it was a recurrig problem that it would be best to take a
    DAY off from work and go to the polyclinic! Hence she would have been
    able to then ask the doctor if the child could be referred to the
    Hospital to let him be seen regulary and to monitor what was going on
    with his ear!

GP what could be the cause of these recurring ear infections? All the
    doctors ever do is syringe the ear and prescribe ear drops! The lady
    and I have become greatfriends since we are in the same boat with our
    chidren since my son has a similar problem as well! Please advise!

50. The impoverished Cuban medical system giving something back to the PEOPLE!

This action of Cuba brings Florence Nightingale to mind i.e. caring for the PEOPLE!

Barbadians off to Havana for eye surgery

Published on Saturday, January 10, 2009    Email To Friend    Print Version

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados (BGIS): Twenty Barbadians are set to leave here on Saturday, January 10, for Cuba to take advantage of a free eye surgery programme known as Operation Miracle.

They will be accompanied by chaperones as well as Liaison Officer, Romel Springer, an administrative officer in the Ministry of Health, who spent today addressing their concerns and briefing them on living arrangements and cultural norms in Cuba. The briefing session was held at the Winston Scott Polyclinic.

Springer, outlining the objectives of the meeting, said: โ€œThough primarily designed to disseminate information, it is an opportunity for you to get acquainted with each other and to let you know about the expectations of the Cuban authorities.โ€

Under the Memorandum of Cooperation between the Cuban Medical Services (CMS) of the Republic of Cuba and the Government of Barbados for the implementation of Operation Miracle the CMS covers free air transportation to Havana as well as accommodation and meals.

According to him, the 20 patients, who are between the ages of 30 and 75 years, will undergo surgery for cataract. They, along with their chaperones, are expected to stay in Cuba for approximately two weeks, after surgery, to recuperate and receive aftercare.

Operation Miracle was approved by Cabinet in 2007 and is a joint venture between the Governments of Cuba and Barbados to assist patients, awaiting surgery for cataracts at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, to have such surgery done in Cuba. At that time, over 400 patients were on record as awaiting eye surgery.

The project commenced last October and is set to be executed over a one-year period.

So far, the Cuban Government has provided one of the two agreed upon ophthalmologists, Dr Maritza Migueli, to screen the patients who are assessed in terms of their need and fitness for surgery and travel, prior to travelling to Cuba.

To date, over 1.5 million patients from 70 countries have benefitted under Operation Miracle. It stands as one of the major successes for Cubaโ€™s solidarity with Latin America and the Caribbean. In the Caribbean alone, this programme has assisted approximately 54,210 individuals, that is, one person in every 304 inhabitants of the region.

The programme was founded in 2003, but officially launched in 2004 with the assistance of Venezuela.