Submitted by Heather Cole

What Was Exchanged for This Giveaway?

On February 25th 2025, a notice was placed in the print media by the Director, Planning and Development Department of an application by Afreximbank to develop land at Jemmotts Lane.  The description of the project was for a hotel and office facility including a conference center. The notice also stated that persons who wished to view the file could do so on the department’s website and that there were 14 days within which to object to the plans. The direct link for the file is – Erection (in principle) of a Hotel and Office Facility including Conference Centre.

It was reported in Barbados Today that “Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne has raised “serious concerns” over the recent vesting of 2.037 hectares of prime state-owned land at the corner of Bay Street and Jemmott’s Lane to the Afro African Export-Import Bank (Afreximbank), free of cost. ” Then someone shared what appears to be the official unsigned document regarding the vesting of the property based on Cap 225 of the Laws of Barbados. In essence the Leader of the Opposition had raised the alarm. 

Cap 225 of the Laws of Barbados pertains to the Acquisition and Disposal of Crown Land. These are land that belonged to the English Crown and are now the property of the people of Barbados.  In essence, our and our children’s birthright.

By definition, when a buyer purchases real property, the manner in which they will hold the title on that property is known as vesting. Most Barbadians would be familiar with this term when crown land is being vested in the National Housing Corporation to build government housing or to subdivide for sale. 

After reading the Act, when crown lands are vested to another government entity, it is treated like a transfer for better management by the public service. For example, the Minister of Housing and Lands vesting lands to the NHC to undertake sales or building. Besides this exception Section 5 of Cap 225 of the laws of Barbados in my opinion only refers to the sale of land or property not giving away land without payment.  It specifically states that the funds from the purchase are to be stored in the Consolidated Funds.  It causes one to ponder on the legality of government giving away the land at Jemmotts Lane without receiving payment when the Act specifically states that payment is to be received and where it should be held.

The Leader of the Opposition Ralph Thorne rightly queried if the government of Barbados was a member of Afrexinmbank. Only under that condition could this vesting be treated like an internal transfer as in the case of the lands being given to the Caribbean Development Bank. Barbados is one of the member countries of the Caribbean Development Bank.

There was a deliberate attempt to deceive Barbadians.  The notice was placed in the newspaper on February 25th, 2025 requesting objections in 14 days yet there was a document of Parliament dated Wednesday March 12, 2025 when the official deadline for the submission of objections on the Department’s website was March 14th, 2025.  This matter should not have gone to Parliament until after March 14th if there were no objections and later than this date if there were objections.

Whereas the notice from the Planning and Development Department states that the purpose of the development is for a hotel, office facility and conference center, the unsigned document of Parliament only states that it is for a Trade Center.

All we know is that Afreximbank is a for profit commercial entity which has billions of dollars in assets and that the government of Barbados has entered into a memorandum of understanding for trade and investment with this entity. It makes one wonder why such a wealthy bank cannot afford to pay for the property at Jemmotts Lane.  Despite what the Minister of Housing and Lands said, that there are significant benefits to be gain from that bank, one can argue that we have derived significant benefits from the world bank and other financial institutions without giving them free land from which they also intended to profit.  Ultimately, based on the law no memorandum of understanding entitles Afreximbank to free land in Barbados!

If it continues like this not even the sea water and sand will be left for the people of Barbados. They tested us with Mrs. Ram Merchandani’s property and we did not stand up for her. Then they started selling out our public places and now they have sunk to an all-time low of giving away what is left. As a people, we have to get to the bottom of this, even if it is pursued through the court of law.  No one is above to law and this selling out and give away of our inheritance has to stop.  Politicians are just our stewards.

267 responses to “Land ‘Giveaway’?”

1. NO

Pacha has been severally described. At Mondragón they thought that a Marxist economist was a fitting description

Of course, Marx was from the classical tradition.

Earlier we discussed the classical theory of value in relationship to land.

Elsewhere a Keynesian was the descriptor.

Certainly never been described as a neoliberal. But there’s always a first

And on and on.

The bottom line is that Pacha cares not how people see it. For us the best form of being is to draw from all the traditions to achieve stated objectives. This has never been about labels.

However, it’s will always be an idea of limited value to, as you go along, propose that banks are not to do certain things, like owning hotels, absent any internal or cultural definition of what the bank is.

2. “Banks do not own hotels.”

Nonetheless, Afreximbank is expanding its African Trade Centre (ATC) initiative by developing a portfolio of hotels across Global Africa. The newly constructed Abuja African Trade Centre (AATC) includes a 148-room, four-plus-star business hotel, managed by ONOMO Hotels.

What type of bank is Afreximbank and what is its raison d’etre? Why do you believe Afreximbank is defying the notion that “banks do not own hotels” and is its action justified/unjustified and why? Please provide robust evidence with your responses on risks, benefits etc and if your answer is no, do set out alternative approaches. (50 points) 🤣

3. @ David

That is a very interesting article you published on the Sudanese issue. I support development but I can not support gifting a bank millions of dollars worth of state land as a conditioning of it coming to the island. Unless of course there is more in the mortar then the pestle.

Has this bank made firm commitments to finance projects of the state that we the Bajans are not being made aware of? Have they entered into guaranteed large scale financing as a condition of coming? I Am giving them the house keys before I have a signed agreement or a sale of my house?

What really is going on here? Listen don’t get confused I just talking to myself, cause I don’t expect no answers. Finally why would a bank or anyone for that matter, build a hotel on the landslide of a busy intersection without being on beach front land, when ALL its competition will be sitting on beach front like Hyatt and others? Again don’t mind me i talking to myself!

4. @John A

Commonsense review of the transaction suggests there is more.

5. Also @enuff will not agree but it is clear from our discussion in this space re: Savvy on the Bay, there is a story to be told.

6. The Import Export Bank of China that is tied up at Sam Lord’s and Afrexim Bank are one in the same.

This is China placing Barbados at its beck and call!!

Our debt to China already stands at $1 billion.

No more complicated than that.

7. Put this comment elsewhere.

The two “banks” are tied together by one trillion dollars!!

John
    March 17, 2025 at 1:29 pm

In case you have not figured it out yet, just follow the money!!

https://www.afreximbank.com/afreximbank-and-china-development-bank-sign-us400-million-loan-to-support-africa-smes/

https://africa.businessinsider.com/local/markets/afrexim-bank-chinas-export-import-bank-agree-on-a-dollar600million-trade-finance/bv2qx6y

8. LOL
    If Enuff cannot see a problem with an unknown foreign FINANCIAL entity arriving in Barbados with a FREE headstart of PRIME land – to compete with key players in Barbados’ ONLY MAJOR business activity,
    ….then we are even ‘deader’ than Bushie has been predicting.

Wuh EVEN if Banks are ‘into owning hotels in Africa’ – COMMON SENSE should tell us that a similar situation in BARBADOS will lead to chaos for EXISTING investors who are already complaining about competition (including from Airbnb.)

Greed – and the ambitions of PERSONAL BENEFITS are usually the ‘justifications’ used for leaders to make such foolish decisions…

Bushie recalls DLP operatives making similar strong cases for CAHILL to come here with a shiite solid waste initiative too…
    …untill we found out about their REAL agenda, and the high level involvement…

What a place…

Imagine we have not even allowed OUR OWN CREDIT UNIONS to invest in this country’s biggest business (by Law), But the SAME government is STRONGLY justifying and INCENTIVISING a FOREIGN FINANCIAL entity to do so…
    Credit Unions perhaps cannot pay bribes with hawks like Caswell around…

How they ALWAY manage to get Dwight to make the FOOLISH announcements is intriguing…
    What nerve…

9. Giving land to Africans could be “reparations” for the descendants of slaves who were shipped to Barbados.

10. You giving it to Africa or China or both? The ties between this bank and China state bank seem to run quite deep. One could even say that the African Connection may well be a front for China State investment in countries where China may not be politically welcome.

What a tangle web we weave!

11. “Wuh EVEN if Banks are ‘into owning hotels in Africa’ – COMMON SENSE should tell us that a similar situation in BARBADOS will lead to chaos for EXISTING investors who are already complaining about competition (including from Airbnb).”

Sir, you can’t even get 3 marks for your response. AirBnB gine compete with a hotel set up for business travellers and co-located with a trade centre and corporate offices? All hotels are not the same! If you read/listened more, you would know that the legislation to allow CUs to invest in such projects is coming. 🤣

12. Bushie

For someone who preaches blackness constantly while condemning the “albinocentric”, I am not surprise that once again you’ve shown yourself to be all bluster.

13. Try to fool yourself (ONLY) Enuff…

So you construct a society on a ONE-PILLAR economy based on tourism….

THEN, because some QUESTIONABLE, ‘bribe-inclined’ financial entity dangles a few million Chinese dollars in your face, you GIVE them the keys, and FREE PRIME lands – to come and compete with the ORIGINAL ‘Johns’ that you were previously courting..
    …and you see NO PROBLEM???

LOL … only because (Like Froon and Stinkliar) you too, will be off the political scene when this shit FULLY hits the fan, and the ONLY pillar that wunna have been able to build – collapses …

But the inevitable ‘beneficiaries’ (it is an ill wind that blows nobody good…) will be wallowing in their pieces of silver… and laughing at the BBs…

Wunna just LUCKY that most Bajans are so gullible…
    …BUT NOT STINKING BUSHIE (as you well know… 🙂 )

14. John A
    March 18, 2025 at 11:34 am

You giving it to Africa or China or both? The ties between this bank and China state bank seem to run quite deep. One could even say that the African Connection may well be a front for China State investment in countries where China may not be politically welcome.

What a tangle web we weave!

The Chinese probably put in the African link because they see how much the intelligentsia of Barbados love Africa (but never go there) and they consider these Bajans as being too dumb to tell the difference!!

It is all a show, and the politicians reinforce the charade with their hands outstretched to their master’s for the US Dollars …. they will never accept the yuan!!

15. BTW @Enuff
    ‘For someone who preaches blackness constantly while condemning the “albinocentric”,’
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    When did you EVER hear Bushie ‘preaching ‘blackness’…?
    Do try to get SOMETHING right Enuff…

Bushie preaches RIGHTEOUSNESS!!!
    Choosing to ALWAYS do that which is UPRIGHT and HONEST.

God pre-disposed a SELECT (CHOSEN) set of humanity to be naturally inclined towards this disposition, BUT the LOVE OF MONEY has turned them into BRASS BOWLS!

If you call THAT ‘preaching blackness’ – then Bushie pleads GUILTY!!

Bushie will ALWAYS condemn the brassbowlery that results from the GREED AND SELFISHNESS that is associated with being ‘albino-centric’ in inclination…. as are those who happened to have been NOT ‘chosen’…

This is EXACTLY why the Bushman – while truly loving you and your ilk, will cuss wunna asses WHENEVER the brass bowl need arises….
    CAUSE WUNNA DO KNOW BETTER.

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

Enuff
    In fairness to all, the Egyptian based Bank is developing trade centres, which include office space, convention/trade center and a hotel. Which fits perfectly with the Barbadian announcement. They seem to have six other similar projects, either under construction or announced. Pacha is unlikely to get his 7 ⭐ hotel, but am sure they’ll farm it out to an experienced operator.
    And yet, I cannot find one, where they got the land for free? They are not a charity. And this isn’t 5 acres of the BTI’s nearly 100 at Harrison’s Pt. On that, what happened to the Dental College, which was to have many structures including a hotel.

17. @NO and Enuff

Any thoughts on the makeup of the Board of the Bank. There is a Barbadian appointed.

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

Give credit where due. The plan was altered, to permit a hotel on this old hospital site. While hotels are known to be included in several developments, they found one, and got a commitment to develop. Not the easiest of tasks. I guess the land deal makes it easier, but you know Trade Hub has been a major component of the Govt plans.
    Another GoB may allow a hotel or other on Savvy lands. Time longer than twine.

19. NorthernObserver Avatar

Dr Greenidge is an alternate director. They have a number of Central Bank types. Shite we even have a PM who would fit 😂

20. First, Afreximbank core lines of business are within the FIRE sectors. The ownership of a hotel seems ancillary.

Second, every rum shop in Barbados is already competing against the entire world for the business of tourists. Whether Afreximbank is active or not within the local hotel sector, intends to dominate it through M&A activity, are likely to make a difference only at the margins.

Third, Afreximbank seems to be primarily motivated to supply accommodation, security, to control kidnap risks, and the like. Weee these assholes have heard about such insurance and reinsurance requirements involved.

Fourth, in the main, they seem to be targeting a visitor who would never have come to Barbados in the first place,

Fifth, seems also that a conference centre will be included. As a result, a great internally bound reason from accommodations. This writer can testify that White people feel that Black people should not be living in spaces built for them.

Weee may go on and on. However the assholes here, all, with the exception of Enuff,, who believe, having never even developed a project to build a fowl coup, but operate under the misguidance and self-righteousness that they possess a holly, god-given right, understand every shiiite, while responding to the false economy as constructed within brain spaces, absent of knowledge or experience, continue to subject the blog to their fucking ignorance.

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

Pacha
    Then ICBL developing the Holetown property is a similar fit.

22. NO

Unlike some here we’re not in a position to comment definitively. And others who continue to bark from ignorance of a fucked up bible

However, if the government has decided so to do, that the country’s ass is up a creek as we read it, that they have no new ideas, we’ll give them the benefit of the doubt, until understanding reaches critical mass.

Of course, the country really needs a second and robust industry. We suggested nuclear working with the Afrikans. Maybe a third. All these games are just delaying the inevitable, we are afraid.

23. David
    You should post the AG’s full speech because it seems NO et al are confused. And for the record there are sites referred to as Strategic Reinvestment sites in the Barbados development sphere. If you cast your mind back to 2019 and the investment opportunity forum chaired by the PM, this term was used. From back then, this Jemmotts Lane site was listed as one, just as it is included in the PDP along with 15 others including the Holetown Civic Centre. This info is out there for ALL to read.

24. Listen to all and sundry let us not question the Bank’s ability to deliver. What we MUST QUESTION IS WHY ARE WE GIVING AWAY MILLIONS OF DOLLARS IN STATE LAND TO ATTRACT THEM?

So forget the bank for now, what would we say if the goverment gave Sandals the Heywoods hotel site because we wanted them to develop it? Don’t tell me that we would not ask the same questions and even more probably.

If we are to be seen as a PREMIUM DESTINATION why are we prostituting ourselves to attract a business to come here? Be it a bank, a hotel, or a manufacturing plant, why would we do it with such limited land mass? That is the question I for one need answered. This is not a concession given, it is a valuable state owned, once given never returned piece of dam land!

Lord I know it in Bay Street close to Old Harry’s Nitery, but dat don’t mean we got to give it way in exchange for a promise!

25. Dale marshal quote from the nation news

“In our headquarters agreements we spend the money, we provide the land, we build the buildings and then we maintain them forever. In this instance with Afrexim, we’re not being required to build the headquarters. This land, I think, is valued at around $17 million by the Land Tax Department, so there’s no way that we could build any headquarters for any multinational bank for $17 million. So by giving the bank this land we are benefiting because we don’t have to do the rest. If we had to do the rest, it would cost us tens of millions of dollars.

26. The main impact of these ‘international and regional’ headquarters in Barbados has been to increase the cost of living via..
    – high rents caused by these high-pay / low tax parasites, causing pressure for ordinary Bajans to find housing..
    – irrational demands for expensive cars – like those paraded around by the tax-free employees of these agencies. MOSTLY to pick up children at school in ‘big rides’ like the parasites.

So what the AG is REALLY saying is that, since we were doing shiite all along – and costing us lots of money (and these parasites don’t pay taxes any damn way), we may as well give them the land and let them manage it themselves.

OK

So we have been doing shiite with agriculture too…
    So soon we will get the bright idea to give the whole country to China and let THEM farm the land – SAVING US the lotta money we currently pay for MoA staff to do shiite.

But since we have ALREADY done this with:
    Our hotels
    Telecommunications
    Insurance
    Banking
    Electricity
    Supermarkets
    etc
    …and are currently looking to give away the damn airport and Scotland District,
    we must seek to follow the AG’s logic….

What blindness!!
    No wonder we can’t manage crime.
    He is probably contemplating giving away our Courts to intelligent administrators from some place such as Singapore, or perhaps El Salvador… to get some results that are unachievable here in BrassLand….
    WTH!!
    Bushie’s old folks’ assessment of our situation would have been –
    “wunna got de Devil in wunna ass – and can’t think straight”

What a state to be in…
    ANY WHY..!!??
    Nobody wants to plant the corn,
    but everybody wants to raid the barn

Lazy, selfish, unproductive, brass-bowl, dry bones… !!!

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

@John2
    I was mistaken, for I thought headquarters agreements referred to international organizations which are not-for-profit. I’ve also seen them referred to as host country agreements.
    I thought this entity was a Private for profit organisation.
    Hence I’m lost as to what the AG is referring to, and the connection between land value and the cost of structures built thereupon.

28. Dddddddd

29. I going call Butch Junior and tell him hold off paying for Heywoods, cause we like we more brek than I thought so just come and beg for the land instead!

God Blyma all I can say is Barbados waste nuff RH money with free education!

30. “I have set myself, my ministry, my teammates, my partners, a bold challenge,” Senator Reid declared. “Over the next five years, the Ministry of Innovation, Industry, Science, and Technology has to be the catalyst for creating 2 500 new high-quality jobs for Barbadians and to grow the economy into a $20 billion-plus economy.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2025/03/19/high-aims-new-tech-minister-unveils-ambitious-five-year-plan/

31. @NO.

I can’t help you / I am completely ignorant about headquarters agreement. That is above my portfolio of knowledge and the first time I am hearing about such
    I assume marshal would be one most schooled along that path and I noticed the lack of rebuttal on that one point from the official leader of the opposition ( the BU opposition leader also avoiding touching it ).

32. @John2

In that case if we accept Marshall’s posit, agree to a BOLT deal but keep our rh land!

33. @ David

The concern I have is what have they promised this country that we are willing TO GIVE AWAY a valuable piece of state land in exchange for ? What is there happening here that we are not being told? As you said a Bolt Agreement or a 25 years lease with option of renewal could of worked just as well. What is to stop this bank from now doing as they please with this land? The point is as it stands this land will NEVER return to Barbadian ownership and Mia, Marshall, Sutherland et al can talk till the cow grow teeth, that is a fact we must accept. Like Holetown that state land is out of Bajan ownership for good.

With all the lashes this government is taking over this free land issue by its employers being the public, why are they so hell bent on proceeding with this GIFT? Only a fool would not feel there is way more in the mortar than the pestle.

WHAT REALLY GOING ON HERE?

34. @ David

I think you mean make them pay for the land instead of keep we land

I am not privy to all the details of the agreements between the two entities

If push come to shove then – eminent domain is available to gov

I am not for or against the land arrangement with the limited info available so far

35. @ David
    My bad if my response seemed a little jumbled.

I don’t think those in charge would just give away a piece of of land like that without some arrangement for it to return to state if things go south or in the case of profit is made from future sale the that state would also profit.

@ NO

Are there any international not for profit organizations that u can think of that are headquartered in Barbados?

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

John2
    I “think” headquartered maybe a loose term. There is that fancy structure known as UN House, above the old Marine Hotel. PAHO has a property just north on Dayrell’s Rd next to Wanderers grounds.
    I know not where Embassies fall into the picture, but there is the US Embassy in behind Cheffette in Wildey. The Chinese is in a former home in a gap off Golf Club Rd.
    The CDB is in Wildey behind the Polytechnic.
    However, I don’t know the arrangements on their offices.

37. This is why I don’t engage regularly on this blog. The intellectual rigour is near non-existent. Every answer to every issue is the same. Kellmanomics. Y’all enjoy.🤣

38. @Enuff

In the event you didn’t get the memo, people are generally dissatisfied with government’s decision to giveaway prime real estate located on our 2×3 island. There is no need to be distracted by other narratives.

39. Correct Enuff!

These people who dislike the government headquartering Afreximbank are shortsighted and ignorant, as many as they maybe.

We’ve had a DLP government which bought a hotel, knocked it down, rebuilt it and returned it to the private sector to operate. Maybe Samdals?

Certainly, there can be no more government fecklessness that this.

These people who are up in arms against the government should have better spent their time finding a few new industrial areas to avoid an economic decadence that they now respond to like petulant children.

40. NO

Ok. But out of all those mentioned I am only aware of the US embassy.
    I would bet a dollar that government is not responsible for their maintenance because I have never heard any complaints about sick building syndrome from any of them

41. Mr GLOOM AND DOOM

The bank cannot do anything it please with the land. The can build anything on it without the approval of government for example.
    You would be a fool to think those three person would sign over that plot of land to the bank and let’s say next year the bank decide to move Dominica they could sell the land to the highest bidder and pocket all the money. Or build what they are said to be allow to build now and in five years or so sell it and pocket all the profit and leave the island

U need to stop sipping the rum in ur rum shop

42. @John 2

How does the taxpayer know what is possible? Have we seen the agreement probably governed by an NDA?

43. Enuff…
    “This is why I don’t engage regularly on this blog. The intellectual rigour is near non-existent. Every answer to every issue is the same.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Boss
    If you want intellectual rigor then you can PM Terence and wunna can exchange theses. The rest of us BBs would just like some SIMPLE ANSWERS to basic questions…

You are correct that the answer to every question has been the same…. NO ANSWER!

-Part de NIS / NISSS audited reports?
    -Part de Transport Board report – that was terminated by the last unscheduled election?
    -Explain what REALLY happened with the Radical vaccine drama – and stop de lotta speculation nuh…
    -Explain how some BLP ministers are adament about handing Holetown to a Canadian, and GIVING $17 million in PRIME lands to Africans,
    …while OTHER BLP ministers (and presumably the same ones too) are equally adament about forcing a LOCAL co-op to hand over $16 million – prior to having access to audited financials re the sugar industry?

Boss..
    Far from keeping off the blog, don’t you OWE us Enuff care to provide some clear answers for a change..?
    Or wunna just wanted the vote …and for us to WATCH wunna …but keep we donkeys shut??

44. I normally would not respond to you because if Mia gave away St Michael you would agree with her. First you said we did not have the money to build the bank so we gave them the land. Then you said that you did not have a concern either way. Well skipper you must be the ONLY one that dont see nothing wrong with it.

Why we dont halt the sale of Heywoods to Sandals and give it to them instead? But them aint African base so let we take them money. You understand the blatant stupidity in this decision? I keep asking but aint getting no answers when I ask WHAT IS IT THAT THIS BANK IS PROMISING THAT MAKES THIS MULTI MILLION DOLLAR GIFT OF STATE LAND A GOOD THING? Unless you got the factual answer to this, do me a favour and dont even bother replying to my comment.

Once we sell that land it is gone. You understand that dont you ? Then you talking about eminent domain. If you did not have the money to build the bank so you gave them the land YOUR WORDS, how the rass you going now buy back the land you give way with buildings and development on it, making it now worth way in excess of the land value that you gave them to begin with? You understand how twisted your logic is?

Any sound minded independent thinker exempt from political blinkers, could not sit back and say MAN GIVE IT WAY I GOOD WID DAT.

45. @John A

Did you listen to Senator Bill Mallalieu in the Senate? He said the government own Barbadians $300 million for land government has acquired.

46. @ David
    He also said that their record in housing has been so dismal with EVERY project undertaken, that they should get out of the housing business altogether.

Unfortunately, if we extrapolate that argument to its logical conclusion, our successive governments would need to get out of everything …except long talk…

Who are you betting on to replace him in the senate..?
    John 2?

47. World Chess Masters do not explain their strategic moves to the audience when playing tournaments.

Ralph is part of the audience, who criticises the PM for World Travel, but is not party to any of the discussions held and her staff and public are disclosed information told on a need to know basis.

National Security and Businesses operate in silos, information is classified or unclassified and released.

48. @Bush Tea

Isn’t he an independent Senator?