Afreximbank: Whose Hands Will Build the Future?

Submitted by The Inked Blade

The call for expressions of interest (EOI) from Afreximbank for its new Caribbean headquarters in Barbados has raised serious concerns about whether the project will live up to its promise of economic inclusion. 

While the initiative is championed as a beacon of pan-African collaboration, the specific requirements for contractors…particularly the “$100m in Mixed-Use Projects Delivered in the Last 5 Years” clause, are sparking a crucial conversation.

This requirement, along with others, appears to favour large, established companies with a history of executing massive projects, a profile that historically excludes many capable Black-owned Barbadian firms. 

This is more than just a bureaucratic detail; it’s a hard-hitting question about who gets a seat at the table. Are these criteria a subtle way of ensuring that the project, despite its pan-African branding, defaults to the usual players?

The $100 Million Question: Capacity vs. Opportunity

Let’s break down the implications of the EOI requirements.

• The $100 Million Hurdle: The demand for a proven track record of delivering mixed-use projects valued at over $100 million USD in the past five years is a significant barrier. While many Black-owned Barbadian construction companies are highly competent and have successfully completed numerous projects including hotels, schools, and private developments… few, if any, have had the opportunity to lead a project of this scale and value. This is not due to a lack of skill or ability, but rather a lack of access to the multi-million-dollar contracts that have been historically awarded to a small group of white- led firms. This criterion effectively disqualifies many local firms before they even have a chance to bid.
  • “Proof of Relevant EPC Experience”: While this seems like a standard requirement, in the context of the Barbadian construction industry, it can reinforce the status quo. The firms with the most “relevant experience” on paper are often the same ones that have been consistently awarded large-scale contracts over the years. This creates a self-perpetuating cycle where the same firms get the big jobs, and their resumes get stronger, making it even harder for newcomers to compete.

A Promise of Inclusion vs. Business as Usual

Prime Minister Mia Mottley has rightly framed this project as a moment for “our people” to “control our destiny.” But how can we control our destiny if the opportunities for wealth creation and project leadership continue to bypass Black-owned businesses? 

The concern isn’t that Black Barbadians won’t be involved at all. History shows that these same white-led companies, if awarded the contract, will employ and subcontract a large number of skilled Black engineers, masons, and carpenters. The hands-on work will be done by Black Barbadians, but the project leadership, the major profits, and the chance to build generational wealth will not. 

So, Barbadians are watching. They are asking: 

• Will Afreximbank, an institution founded on the principles of African economic liberation, allow its flagship project in the Caribbean to reinforce the very economic structures it was created to dismantle?
  • Are there provisions for partnerships or joint ventures that could allow capable local Black-owned firms to lead this project, or at least have a significant stake, even if they don’t meet the massive $100 million hurdle on their own?
  • Will the promise of inclusion be more than just a buzzword, or will it be reflected in the final contract awards, ensuring that this landmark development is truly a project by and for Barbadians?

This building has the potential to be a symbol of Black economic empowerment, a tangible sign of progress. But for that to happen, the bank and the government must ensure that the process is not just fair in theory, but equitable in practice. The demolition of the old site on Jemmotts Lane should signal the dismantling of old, exclusive business practices, not their re- entrenchment.

See PDF VersionAfreximbank: Whose Hands Will Build the Future?

45 responses to “Whose Hands Will Build the Future?”

1. One could have added there is the opportunity for local artiste to benefit from the construction in the way of supplying art, furniture and related services. In the same way a former administration promised with the Sandals hotel. Are we there yet?

2. Did the so-called ‘African bank’ not START by lending a fortune to the USUAL SUSPECT when it comes to being able to exercise unexplained influence on our government?
    Can a leopard change its spots?
    Can we not SEE how our leopard is spotted – just from the radical vaccine exercise?

Will our government EVER seek ties with Ibrahim Traoré – wunna think?
    Or is this a leopard of DIFFERENT spots?

Blindness is a horrible curse!
    What a place!!

3. I feel the contractor could well be black, but not Bajan.

4. “WorldBarbados PM Mia Mottley Warns of Threats to Caribbean Sovereignty at CARICOM Summit”

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=YxgrYjDtsCU

5. If you allay someone’s fears or doubts, you stop them feeling afraid or doubtful.

Dub it inna Africa, Zion I Kings

Developed Nations are instigating Global Trade Wars
    Developing Nations (who are rich in resources and have world majority population) should help each other with solid trade alliances for their future growing markets.

Pan-African Development

African Export-Import Bank (Afreximbank)

Afreximbank delivered exceptional 2024 financial performance, cementing its position as a systemic pan-African trade finance institution.

African Export-Import Bank (“Afreximbank” or the “Bank”) is a supranational financial institution based in Cairo, Egypt and with operations in Abuja, Abidjan, Harare and Kampala. As at 31 December 2017, the Bank’s Authorized Share Capital amounted to US$5,000,000,000 consisting of 500,000 ordinary shares of US$10,000 each.

Afreximbank has four classes of shares – A, B, C and D: “Class A” shares are held by African Governments/States, their public institutions or their designated institutions, including continental, regional, and sub-regional financial institutions; “Class B” shares are held by African national financial institutions and African private investors; “Class C” shares are held by non-African international financial institutions and economic organizations, as well as non-regional financial institutions and non-African private investors; while “Class D” shares can be held by any person and are structured to be freely transferrable – the Bank’s “Class D” shares are currently issued as depositary receipts, which are listed on the Stock Exchange of Mauritius (SEM).

6. We shall soon see. I fear it will not be what we want to see.

7. Most barbadians read this post and think another pipe dream in the making
    Btw what is going on with Savvy a business which has opened doors for the small business person mostly black to thrive and create generational wealth

8. ac…
    Any business that promises to be a mechanism for black enfranchisement gets snuffed by the Barbados government.
    It is clear our government officials (and public servants) have a SERIOUS fear of ordinary citizens becoming financially successful – and thus no longer having to reach out to them for favors and handouts.

The ZR transportation business is one of the most blatant examples – where clearly dismantling TAXES were imposed to make it almost impossible for them to succeed…
    They managed to survive – via the now usual tenacity associated with being unfaired, but real financial success has been kept out of their grasp as a result.
    …this while the Government -run transport board is an expensive, inefficient, and out-of-control DRAIN on the treasury.

You try getting a Hired car or taxi license to mek a little dollar to help pay the land taxes…?

Innovators such as Rayside, Bynoe, Hinds, (and many others) have never been supported in reaching their full potentials – UNLESS they were prepared to become instruments of party political intrigue…. in which case, ‘success’ was then ‘seasonal’, and their personal images were tarnished… as a result.

When Arthur / Stinkliar /Thompson conspired to divest CITIZENs of assets like the BNB, BL&P and Bartel to foreign owners, they were willfully selling off these BIRTHRIGHTS of Bajans to strangers – for a pittance… WITHOUT CONSULTING THE RIGHTFUL OWNERS.

If we had a REAL university, someone would have researched the NET LOSSES to the country of these sell-offs…. (unfortunately this would be a bit more challenging than ‘researching’ old Bajan Newspapers to see which Negroes ran away from which plantation)

The most recent episode with the Sugar industry divestment, and the interest of local cooperatives and sugar workers should be a case study in the blatant ANTI-ENFRANCHISEMENT attitude of this present government.
    Perhaps is is just the usual ‘crab-in-the-barrel’ attitude where these entitled BBs must resist any opportunities for other BBs to join in their perceived status of ‘success’….
    …or perhaps politicians just NEED to keep citizens poor as shiite … so that most will remain open to the lotta shiite promises, let-downs, constant excuses, and to the financial hanky-panky that we are now asked to accept as normal.

One thing is clear.
    While promising to promote our collective interests at election time, EVERYTHING suggests that after election, politicians and their enablers don’t give two farts bout we..

…but then again, You ac only talking because your DLP jokers are now in the wilderness and can’t get wunna sweets…

What a place!!

9. But what wunna worrying about govt just gave out 300hundred dollars to.the people enough to buy two pack of eclipse biscuits and two bottles of soda and the upside is that 300 would act like a revolving door tohelp the wealthy business
    Afri bank laughs at govt while handing out pipe dream promises and don’t forget the Saudis them too have extend loans to a broke govt in return for who knows what
    Barbados the gift that keeps on giving
    Btw bush tea I earned my way don’t rely on man woman boy or girl for Nutting

10. This is a good initiative if is realised.

Historic African air link

A historic direct air connection between Africa and Barbados will be made in November when scores of Ghanaians fly from Accra to Barbados to participate in a high-profile awards ceremony and investment forum.

Grow, Unite, Build Africa (GUBA) 2025 will host its flagship awards ceremony together with the trade and investment forum uniting business leaders, policy-makers, creatives and investors from Africa, the Caribbean, United Kingdom, United States and beyond.

The event, first staged in 2009, has previously been hosted in the US, Ghana and Rwanda.

GUBA founder, Lady Dentaa Amoateng, the British-based, Ghanaian-born entrepreneur, actress, television presenter, singer and producer, said during the official launch of the event at the British High Commission’s official residence on Thursday night, that it presented an opportunity “to reconnect Africans in the diaspora”.

The venue for the November 10-12 forum, being held under the theme Reclaiming Our Atlantic Destiny,

is Wyndham Grand Barbados Sam Lord’s Castle Resort in St Philip.

“Tonight is more than a celebration of excellence, it is about the reaffirmation of our shared commitment to reclaiming our Atlantic destiny – connect, build and renew,” Lady Dentaa told the guests, including representatives of Barbados’ business and cultural sectors.

She said the five-hour chartered flight directly across the Atlantic was “symbolic of what GUBA stands for – breaking barriers, building barriers and creating access to opportunities. It also underscores the vital importance of the movement of not just people, but of ideas, resources and capital”.

Speaking to the Saturday Sun, Lady Dentaa said there were already around 150 reservations made for the trip.

“This forum is a catalyst to tangible partnerships, deal-making and a strategic collaboration. It also underscores the vital importance of the movement of people, ideas, resources and capital.”

The awards will honour individuals and organisations making significant contributions to the African diaspora and communities across the continent, specifically recognising achievements in business, leadership, philanthropy, health care, education, arts and culture.

Barbadian US-based pioneering kidney transplant specialist Dr Velma Scantlebury is included in this year’s awardees’ list with illustrious former West Indies cricket captain Sir Clive Lloyd; chairman, president and chief executive officer of the Export Import Bank of the US, Hon Reta Jo Lewis, and English business magnate Sir Richard Branson, who co-founded the Virgin Group.

Among the main sponsors of the event are the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc, Invest Barbados and the Afreximbank.

Also making the trip for the Barbados launch was chairperson of GUBA’s board, Yvonne Abba Opoku, and African five-time Grammy Award winner Angelique Kidjo.(GC)

11. Its a Shame aka Know Love, Dem No Know Dub.
    One. We are all part of one. We are the centre of the Universe.
    500 years of undoing and dividing humanity with slavery, colonialism, racism, capitalism, exploitation, etc. can be solved in less time, one step at a time, flowing like water. It’s all in the mind, which direction to go with consistent effort and practice. When you practice your practice you will see improvement.
    In the Western World people of colour, blacks, browns, yellows, reds etc are (still) considered ‘minorities’ ‘different’ outsiders’ etc, in the real world POCs are the majority.
    While the West heads towards ‘anti-diversity’, ‘anti-immigration’ etc, United Nations and other similar unions and initiatives promote and appreciate diversity.
    African Slave descendants in the diaspora are split up into separate and different identities, such as Barbadians, Jamaicans, African Americans, British Caribbean/African etc, which is part of the divide to rule MO. The West’s worst nightmare is Global Unity in the Community. Let Humanity and progressiveness replace AI and the mindless political propaganda lip service, their words that mean nothing.

If you never know love already
    You’ll never never know love again
    If you never show love already
    You’ll never never show love again
    It’s a shame the father created us on earth
    to love and obey in so many ways
    but instead we displease him
    in so many ways
    (/i>

12. @ David

Since the issue of “ordinary citizens becoming financially successful” and “creating generational wealth” has been raised, recall ‘government’ built the new Fairchild Street Market Village, with parking space for the vendors.

Unfortunately, however, rather than utilising the various car parks in Bridgetown, people working in the city and its environs are using the market’s car park for FREE PARKING, thereby DENYING ACCESS to vendors who PAY RENT.

Despite SEVERAL COMPLAINTS from vendors, the market authorities have not done anything to address the situation.

However, it seems as though successive BLP and DLP administrations have NOT given any serious consideration to agriculture, creative arts, sports, vending or other micro to medium sized businesses, preferring instead to allocate government’s financial resources to tourism.

Look at sports, for example. Over the years, both political administrations continued to ‘make sport at sports.’

The National Stadium, for example, which was officially opened in October 1970, DETERIORATED under the watch of both the DEMS and BEES, since successive ministers of sport obviously chose not to make any significant repairs or improvements to the venue.

It was only in 2006 when FIFA condemned the stadium ‘unfit for purpose,’ the authorities decided to ‘pay lip service.’ In other words, they provided Barbadians with an insincere expression of building a new stadium, but without any genuine commitment to do so.
    The stands were eventually closed to the public nine (9) years after, in April 2015, and their roofs removed in 2018.

Now, this current Mia Mottley administration signed an implementation agreement with the Chinese to build a new stadium.

Ironically, the politicians sold BNB to the Trinidadians; ICBL to the Bermudians, and presently a Jamaican company, Chukka, is managing Harrison’s Cave.

Remember in 2013, former Finance Minister Sinckler gave Sandals Resorts tax free concessions for 15 years, after which they will only be required to pay half of the “applicable rates and taxes prevailing” for the next 15 years.
    Bearing such a ‘sweetheart deal’ in mind, Sandals’ first-choice rum is NOT any Barbadian brand, such as Mount Gay or Old Brigand, but Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum, while the first-choice coffee is Jamaica Blue Mountain Blend.

To quote your friend, Bushie……

What a place!

13. Good Comment Art, highlighted on a separate blog.

14. Correct me if I’m wrong. I believe Sandals was given a concession period of 50 years?

15. Generational wealth should have been the horse that pull the economy of Barbados across the whole spectrum
    Now with the onslaught of a crime wave covering the island
    Questions such as how did Barbados get to where it is should rather be asked as where did the politics of the country go wrong
    I heard RAThorne openly stated in Parliament yesterday that Barbados has been good to the people
    In my mind a question should be asked of him ” To who” especially when 99percent of the people are asked to hold strain when there is nothing to hold on to but economic distress

16. We continue to politicize every issue which is why the political directorate will continue to laugh at we.

17. After so many years, I’m still astounded by the intellectual shallowness exhibited by the BU intelligentsia. Read and listen more before yapping. All the information is available publicly to inform better debate. Every blog, the same tired uninformed, misinformed drivel. Then again it’s an echo chamber.

18. OISTINS IN TORONTO

19. @Enuff August 9, 2025 at 2:47 pm “the same tired uninformed, misinformed drivel. Then again it’s an echo chamber.”

And you are an unrepentant yard fowl.

Stupseee!!!

20. LOL @ Enuff
    It must REALLY piss you off that even the calypsonians are finally getting the message – that the lotta shiite from your political crowd AIN’t GOOD Enuff.

Unlike with Sandi, Bushie suspects that this won’t be good for wunna night sleep… not after de fellows REALLY spot-de-light pon wunna donkeys….

Echo Chamber shiite!!
    BU has been a BEACON of real EDUCATION in a sea of ‘eddykashunal shiite’. It has been a MODEL of free speech, OPEN debate, and hard-hitting FACTS.

Your inputs are CONSTANTLY invited by the Blogmaster – so that you can properly inform the Forum, …however you always seem to vacillate, and then to eventually fade away – when the rubber hits the road.

For all the so-called ‘information’ that you say is available publicly …
    Does that INCLUDE:
    – the Report on HOPE housing or NISSS?
    – what William and Dwight did with the STEAL housing money..
    – what EXACTLY happened with respect to the $1 BILLION NIS writeoff?
    – the status of the Four Seasons financial exposure to our treasury?
    – what the RADICAL Vaccine ‘thingie’ was all about….?
    – what the Hell is “Clear Water” and “Pharticiple” ..and where did our money go…?

Wuh …no wonder you are hearing echos….
    No body seems to have such answers… and we have MANY more such questions…
    So welcome to the echo chambers….

What a place…!!
    …and they have the GALL to complain about BU… ???!!!

21. @Inked Blade “the specific requirements for contractors…particularly the $100m in Mixed-Use Projects Delivered in the Last 5 Years” clause, are sparking a crucial conversation. This requirement, along with others, appears to favour large, established companies with a history of executing massive projects, a profile that historically excludes many capable Black-owned Barbadian firms.”

Would it work if 4 or 5 firms which have together executed $100M projects got together as a company or cooperative and bid for this large project?

22. @Bush Tea August 9, 2025 at 6:36 pm “the calypsonians are finally getting the message.”

Before we ALL forget Classic also advised that we spot de light on we blinking SELF.

23. @Enuff

It wasn’t an echo chamber during the so-called lost decade was it. You were very happy to contribute. One wonders what changed.

24. @Bush Tea August 9, 2025 at 6:36 pm “what the RADICAL Vaccine ‘thingie’ was all about…?

A classic case of fools [note the plural] rushing in where angels fear to tread.

And said fools got their balls and assorted private parts burned.

25. @David August 9, 2025 at 6:45 pm “It wasn’t an echo chamber during the so-called lost decade was it. You were very happy to contribute. One wonders what changed.”

I hear that Enuff got a “pick” big enough to shut his or her mouth.

26. Only a fool would have thought that anybody who addressed any Prime Minister as

“Hello Prime Minister”

was a serious, legitimate business person.

Balls shoulda drop off.

27. @Bush Tea

Do you recall when Verla De Peiza branded the blogmaster as committing treason for putting Cahill on blast? Do you recall former Minister Ronald Jones criticizing BU as well because of our always on effort to hold the political from both sides accountable? In this context let be understanding of Enuff’s perspective.

28. David

I wasn’t a bandwagonist then and aint none now. Many of you are either disingenuous or don’t read. Then talk a lotta foolishness. The same article the headline picture is taken from says this:

“Additionally, about 50 SMEs will benefit from business opportunities as subcontractors and suppliers of construction materials, labour, and other services.”

What you need to discuss is what other services mean–art work, interior design, linen, curtains, plants, landscaping, architecture? What’s wrong with the “small wo/man” smooching off the big maguffies? Think nuh JC!!

29. Boss
    Enuff’s perspective is FULLY understood…..
    You only gone back to DePeiza and We Jonesing…?

Skippa, for EVER – ANYONE who persists in telling the TRUTH must expect to be assaulted from all sides.
    Wuh you thought that they crucified the first bushman for telling lies and doing wickedness?
    Practically every PROVEN hero that we now revere have been deemed as traitor, heretic, demonic … misinformed and much worse.

It is generally then only in the bright lights of HISTORY – that the ‘echos’ are revealed to be TRUTH.

The worse case occurs when these politicians ACTUALLY begins to believe that they are of TRULY SPECIAL status – and are in fact ABOVE the law …and therefore beyond reproach.

But the saying that Caesar’s wife must be above reproach is a statement about her required CHARACTER ….NOT about her status.

30. @Bush Tea

The public is tired of that tired narrative. Under D and B the same big players earn disproportionately more.

31. @Enuff

Sensible Barbadians probably have NO issue with Afreximbank being established. Also no issue with Mottley trying to build non traditional financial options for financing in the region. What we have a problem with is the lack of transparency and respect shown to us.

32. It also speaks to the mindset of leaders – who can only see their people as ‘trickle-down’ beneficiaries.

Can you believe that…?
    After 80 years of bragging about free education…
    …and this lot, … after restoring freeness at UWI at great expense to the country…
    now see ‘development’ as handing national assets off to FOREIGN STRANGERS, with the intent that some scraps will ‘trickle’ down to the brass bowls that voted for them to represent their BB interests.

Bushie is surprised that Enuff would even highlight that part….
    NO OTHER COUNTRY would admit to such treason – even when they did it routinely for personal rewards.

What a place!!

33. David
    There you go with that T word, the other one is C-onsultation. When there’s no argument, pull out T and C. Kindly explain the lack of transparency in the context of Afreximbank?

Cuhdear Bajan
    All of us don’t come with a price. My comments are to offer a different perspective and rile up the intelligentsia every now and then. I keep saying that given the homophobic nature of this blog, wunna sure love the homogeneity of group think.

You said the repair of roads to benefit bajans in neighbourhoods across the Scotland District is a waste of money. But want all in St.Philip fix. I don’t tek you seriously. Yuh good fuh comic relief.

34. “Trickle down economics, repairing pot holes, Chinese road money, and homophobia” seem to be the extent of Enuff’s concerns about BU.
    However, there is NO interest in financial reporting, consulting with Bajans on the DISPOSAL of State assets, or reporting on missing $millions from the treasury…

Bushie is happy to play the role of Court Jester fuh comic relief – you surely recall that those ‘jesters’ often told the King the STARK TRUTH to his face – when no one else dared to…

If Bushie was you – he would tek the bush jester seriously hear…!!??
    Other court officials may just start thinking fuh demselves….

What a time!!

35. On expiration of the Tax Holiday Period, a reduction of 50 of the applicable rates and taxes then prevailing in respect of the aforementioned concessions for a further FIFTEEN YEARS (15) years.

“Tax Holiday Period” means the period of TWENTY-FIVE (25) years after the commencement of the commercial operation of the Hotel but, without lessening this period, shall include the period before the commencement date of the commercial operation and during which the Hotel is being acquired, expanded and developed and the Tax Holiday Period shall begin on the date of this letter.

https://barbadosunderground.net/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/sandals-mof-letter.pdf

36. @Enuff

You are correct, the blogmaster is wrong to mention the C and T words, this government has done a brilliant job being exponents of same.

37. @Enuff…fyi

WATCH DEBT!

Barbados among most vulnerable, says Afreximbank

By Shawn Cumberbatch

shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com

As African Export-Import Bank (Afreximbank) considers US$2.5 billion in deals for the Caribbean, including US$400 million for Barbados, its team of economic experts is advising the region to prioritise measures that would help reduce their debt vulnerabilities.

Afreximbank Research, which has the same advice for African countries, said “the road to debt sustainability in both Africa and CARICOM requires a coordinated and multi-faceted policy approach grounded in fiscal discipline, enhanced debt transparency and institutional reform”.

It makes these and other recommendations in the new report State Of Play Of Debt Burden In Africa And The Caribbean, which addressed debt and fiscal challenges facing Barbados and the other countries, noting that “despite recent improvements, debt service obligations consume a significant share of fiscal resources in many countries”.

Researchers examined the debt service-to-revenue ratio, interest payments as a share of government revenue and the external debt-to-GDP ratio.

Repayments

“By 2025, data indicates that Jamaica and Barbados are among the most vulnerable, each allocating over half of their government revenues to debt service,” it stated.

“Other countries, such as Belize, Suriname, Antigua and Barbuda, also devote much of their revenue to debt repayments. This high debt servicing costs constrain fiscal flexibility for public investment, underscoring the urgent need for comprehensive debt management strategies.”

Afreximbank Research continued: “Jamaica stands out as the country with the highest interest-to-revenue ratio, followed by Barbados, Suriname, and Belize. These figures highlight the growing cost of debt servicing and raise concerns about the long-term affordability of current financing models.

“For countries already grappling with tight fiscal constraints, elevated interest burdens may quickly become unsustainable without refinancing, restructuring, or access to concessional support.”

Rising

On the third metric – external debt as a percentage of GDP – the study said “this ratio has been rising in recent years, reflecting both increased external borrowing and sluggish GDP growth during the pandemic”.

“In 2025, Belize is projected to have the highest external debt-to-GDP ratio, exceeding 100 per cent, indicating significant exposure to foreign exchange shocks, currency mismatches and refinancing risks,” it noted.

“Barbados, Suriname and Jamaica also remain above internationally recognised thresholds of concern, emphasising their structural exposure to external debt dynamics.

“High levels of external debt, particularly in small, open economies, increase dependence on favourable global conditions and restrict the fiscal policy space necessary for development and climate adaptation.”

“Collectively, these three indicators present a concerning picture of fiscal stress across CARICOM. A small group of countries – Jamaica, Barbados, Belize, and Suriname – consistently ranks at the top of each risk category, reflecting a combination of liquidity constraints, high debt servicing costs, and persistent external vulnerabilities.

“These nations are likely to face heightened scrutiny from credit rating agencies and may require ongoing engagement with multilateral institutions to support debt sustainability and fiscal reform.”

Source; Nation

38. @Enuff

BU did not scribe the following article which appears in today’s Nation. Is this TRANSPARENT enough for your?

The Integrity Act: A promise deferred

This article was written and submitted by the Integrity Group Barbados.

Nearly two years have elapsed since Barbados took what should have been a transformative step toward strengthening public accountability. When the Integrity in Public Life Act was passed in the Senate on August 16, 2023, it was heralded as a landmark achievement, a signal that Barbados was serious about confronting corruption, elevating standards of governance, and restoring public confidence in its institutions. Yet, the promise remains unfulfilled. To this day, the Act has not been proclaimed, and the machinery it envisages remains dormant.

This inertia has profound consequences. Integrity laws, however well-crafted, are meaningless if left to gather dust. A legal framework without proclamation is little more than an aspiration on paper. At a time when Barbadians are calling for transparency and principled leadership, this prolonged delay erodes public trust and suggests that the commitment to reform may be more rhetorical than real.

The situation becomes all the more striking when viewed in a regional context. Jamaica, for example, enacted its Integrity Commission Act in 2017, merging multiple anti-corruption entities into a single, independent body endowed with investigative and prosecutorial authority. While Jamaica’s experience has not been without controversy, it demonstrates that decisive action and institutional clarity can create credible deterrents against the abuse of office.

In Trinidad and Tobago, the Integrity Commission, established by the Integrity in Public Life Act of 2000, has been operational for a generation. Despite criticism over delays and occasional lapses, it has compelled public officials to file declarations of assets and liabilities and has pursued investigations that reinforce the principle that no one is above the law.

St Lucia offers another instructive example. Its Integrity in Public Life Act was proclaimed as far back as 2004, establishing a functioning commission – albeit one that has often struggled with inadequate resources and limited enforcement capacity. Even so, St Lucia has moved further than Barbados in transforming legislation into action.

Compounding frustration

Against this backdrop, Barbados stands at a crossroads. The Integrity in Public Life Act has been passed but remains inert, a potent symbol of a reform process that has stalled before it could ever truly begin. The reasons for the delay have not been transparently communicated to the public, compounding frustration and scepticism.

It is important to recognise that implementing integrity legislation is never a simple matter. Such reforms demand skilled personnel, sufficient funding, robust operational protocols and unwavering political will. Yet, indefinite postponement only deepens cynicism and fuels the perception that ethics legislation is a convenient political gesture rather than a meaningful commitment.

The path forward is neither complicated nor ambiguous. The government must act swiftly to proclaim the Act and operationalise the Integrity Commission as envisioned in the legislation. Appointments to the Commission should be guided by merit, free from partisan interference, and subject to public scrutiny. Adequate funding must be guaranteed to enable rigorous investigations and enforcement. And the Commission’s reporting must be regular, accessible, and substantive so that citizens can see for themselves whether integrity is being upheld or betrayed.

Barbadians deserve more than platitudes about good governance. They deserve to see words converted into tangible action. Other Caribbean nations have shown that while no system is flawless, progress begins with the courage to implement the law and empower institutions to function as intended.

Integrity Group Barbados remains resolute in its advocacy for these essential reforms. The Integrity in Public Life Act must not be relegated to the ranks of unfulfilled promises. If Barbados truly aspires to lead the region in accountability and democratic renewal, it is time to move beyond rhetoric. Proclaiming this legislation will send a clear message that integrity in public life is not merely a convenient slogan, but a guiding principle deserving of respect, and decisive action.

39. “All the information is available publicly to inform better debate.”
    What a crock of shit. Surely you meant, so little information is available publicly, such that no debate can be informed.

40. IF the information is easily available as our good friend Enuff stated can we say it is an indictment on the bevy of communications and PR specialists the government has in its employ?

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

Given the newest information provided by Lex law firm ( is that a goB dept?) on Blue Development vs Clearwater Bay (GoB), why haven’t we seen a single Annual Report from CBL? It appears the PM and her clients got tummunch money from local taxpayers. She must have been charging $10,000/hr. Alas, it may have been $15,000, but we’ll never know as they keep it buried. Thank you Chris and Avi for your wonderful gift.
    Meanwhile you taxpayers sucking salt.

42. Involving military boots on the ground to help solve crime is not a good image being sent from govt to those international countries which barbados relies on specifically for the tourist dollar to boost its economy
    Explaining the presence of military boots on the ground would be a hard sell for tourist most of who sees this kind of tactics as a country having chaos and high criminal activity

43. The law provides that BPS may request BDF assistance for special joint patrols.

It is amazing that joint patrols were being conducted during the period January 2008 and May 2018, WITHOUT complaints of its effect on tourism.

44. Pierhead Project sees overwhelming local demand

https://barbadostoday.bb/?p=455202