Submitted by Heather Cole

What Was Exchanged for This Giveaway?

On February 25th 2025, a notice was placed in the print media by the Director, Planning and Development Department of an application by Afreximbank to develop land at Jemmotts Lane.  The description of the project was for a hotel and office facility including a conference center. The notice also stated that persons who wished to view the file could do so on the department’s website and that there were 14 days within which to object to the plans. The direct link for the file is – Erection (in principle) of a Hotel and Office Facility including Conference Centre.

It was reported in Barbados Today that “Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne has raised “serious concerns” over the recent vesting of 2.037 hectares of prime state-owned land at the corner of Bay Street and Jemmott’s Lane to the Afro African Export-Import Bank (Afreximbank), free of cost. ” Then someone shared what appears to be the official unsigned document regarding the vesting of the property based on Cap 225 of the Laws of Barbados. In essence the Leader of the Opposition had raised the alarm. 

Cap 225 of the Laws of Barbados pertains to the Acquisition and Disposal of Crown Land. These are land that belonged to the English Crown and are now the property of the people of Barbados.  In essence, our and our children’s birthright.

By definition, when a buyer purchases real property, the manner in which they will hold the title on that property is known as vesting. Most Barbadians would be familiar with this term when crown land is being vested in the National Housing Corporation to build government housing or to subdivide for sale. 

After reading the Act, when crown lands are vested to another government entity, it is treated like a transfer for better management by the public service. For example, the Minister of Housing and Lands vesting lands to the NHC to undertake sales or building. Besides this exception Section 5 of Cap 225 of the laws of Barbados in my opinion only refers to the sale of land or property not giving away land without payment.  It specifically states that the funds from the purchase are to be stored in the Consolidated Funds.  It causes one to ponder on the legality of government giving away the land at Jemmotts Lane without receiving payment when the Act specifically states that payment is to be received and where it should be held.

The Leader of the Opposition Ralph Thorne rightly queried if the government of Barbados was a member of Afrexinmbank. Only under that condition could this vesting be treated like an internal transfer as in the case of the lands being given to the Caribbean Development Bank. Barbados is one of the member countries of the Caribbean Development Bank.

There was a deliberate attempt to deceive Barbadians.  The notice was placed in the newspaper on February 25th, 2025 requesting objections in 14 days yet there was a document of Parliament dated Wednesday March 12, 2025 when the official deadline for the submission of objections on the Department’s website was March 14th, 2025.  This matter should not have gone to Parliament until after March 14th if there were no objections and later than this date if there were objections.

Whereas the notice from the Planning and Development Department states that the purpose of the development is for a hotel, office facility and conference center, the unsigned document of Parliament only states that it is for a Trade Center.

All we know is that Afreximbank is a for profit commercial entity which has billions of dollars in assets and that the government of Barbados has entered into a memorandum of understanding for trade and investment with this entity. It makes one wonder why such a wealthy bank cannot afford to pay for the property at Jemmotts Lane.  Despite what the Minister of Housing and Lands said, that there are significant benefits to be gain from that bank, one can argue that we have derived significant benefits from the world bank and other financial institutions without giving them free land from which they also intended to profit.  Ultimately, based on the law no memorandum of understanding entitles Afreximbank to free land in Barbados!

If it continues like this not even the sea water and sand will be left for the people of Barbados. They tested us with Mrs. Ram Merchandani’s property and we did not stand up for her. Then they started selling out our public places and now they have sunk to an all-time low of giving away what is left. As a people, we have to get to the bottom of this, even if it is pursued through the court of law.  No one is above to law and this selling out and give away of our inheritance has to stop.  Politicians are just our stewards.

267 responses to “Land ‘Giveaway’?”

1. Hard ears over the years

“If these fields and hills beyond recall are no longer our very own, because well sell them out and no longer own them, will we have to change the words of the National Anthem?” This is a line from a poem written more than two decades ago. The poem was called Hard Ears. The full poem can be viewed on YouTube. Just search, “Adrian Green, Hard Ears”. It is amazing to me how relevant it still is today.

That poem was written during another administration in response to happenings at the time. Today, we have the Joe’s River and Holetown controversies, concerns around developments in Bridgetown and on the South Coast, and other major land sales being rumoured. The fact that issues like these span generations and administrations should tell us a few things. Firstly, this is not about party politics. There is something deeply rooted, which transcends leadership, that must be addressed. Quite likely, multiple things.

However, we have a political culture where opposition parties use these intergenerational problems as weapons to attack the Government of the day, only to gain power and have the issues keep flowing. Or, continue to not flow, like water woes in the north. Today is a new day, though it seems like Bajans are less likely to fall for antagonistic political rhetoric.

Whether it is opposition parties painting this administration as the devil or the Government blaming all on the lost decade, the public seems tired of it. We want to hear substance and candour in explanation and analysis and to be kept abreast as possible solutions are developed and implemented. But, the public must recognise that there are no guarantees.

Complex issues

The second thing that these inter-administration, intergenerational issues should tell us, is that there are no simple fixes. These are complex issues which have developed over time, in some cases centuries, and will take time to resolve. Again, the political culture is a problem. It appears as though it can only think five years ahead. Which draws me once again to history, identity, culture and consciousness. We are a people that were denied a true sense of our history. Without a deep and accurate sense of the past, your vision of the future will be shallow and flawed.

The history we were traditionally presented with was designed to create in us an identity which served primarily to benefit others. Out of this, we developed a culture with an attractive façade, but weak at the foundation. We have struggled to raise our consciousness and awareness so we can properly address our issues.

However, those who benefit from the status quo and those who are still attached to it fight against efforts to evolve national consciousness.

A stronger sense of history, national identity, consciousness, culture and purpose would keep politicians and their politicised poultry partners, whether in power or out, from seeking to score points with cheap shots. This would lead to a more honest, open and level-headed discourse environment, which is necessary for problems to be properly addressed. Without this, we are spinning top in political mud and slinging it all over the place. Without a strong sense of history, identity, culture and consciousness, opposition parties will seek power at the expense of national cohesion and stability.

Parties in power will seek economic gain at the expense of national sovereignty, and citizen empowerment. Citizens in general will demand shortterm results, immediate gratification and personal benefits without thinking about long-term national consequences. But, as the poem says: “We keep falling for the same old tricks. Hard-ears yuh wunt hear? Yuh must tek yuh licks.” Go to YouTube and give a listen and let me know what you think.

Adrian Green is a communications specialist. Email: Adriangreen14@gmail.com

2. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

WE LIVE IN A WORLD WHERE NOTHING IS EVER WHAT IS APPEARS OR SEEMS 2 BE YET THE MASSES SWALLOW THE WITCHES BREWED COCKTAIL OF LIES, SOPHISTRIES & SPIN – IN A QUEST 2 MAKE THEMSELVES FEEL A SENSE OF ACCEPTANCE IN A DIMINISHING WORLD OF WHAT ANCIENT LATIN CALLS #Honorificabilitudinitatibus

THE QUESTION IS: #WhoReallyOwnAfreximbank???

Well, as with much of the “GLOBAL FINANCIAL HEGEMON” – most of the inner-workings & 2UNDERBELLY” are shrouded in “DEEP SECRECY” – as is pretty much all else in this lenocinant sphere we live on!!!

Men today will “DENY” that “THE ROTHSCHILDs” who are the “VATICAN BANKERS” since the 1400s (THE RICHEST INSTITUTION ON EARTH – BAR NONE) & “THE ‘OLE MONIED FAMILIES OF EUROPE” are the ones who “FRONT” the [3] biggest “MONEY-LAUNDERING HEDGE FUNDS IN THE WORLD” (#BlackRock #Vanguard & #StateStreet) – these being the “FINANCIAL MAFIOSA” of the world from which “ALL BANKING INSTITUTIONS” & “PREDATORY LENDING OLIGOPOLIES” spawn their insidiously nefarious tentacles from!!!

THE BLACK MAN HAS NEVER OWNED ONE SHYTE IN THE LAST 2000 YEARS SINCE KING SOLOMON LEFT THE THRONE 3 & HALF THOUSAND YEARS AGO

The #Dangotes et al of the world are mere “FINANCIAL LACKEYS, BLACK PUPPETS & GATEKEEPERS” (controlled by the “REAL SPAWNS OF SATAN”) – seen as nothing more than the financial “HOUSE NIGGAS” for “MASSA”, whose sole role is to keep up appearances – exploiting #AfricanResources for those who occupy the highest levels on the “TOTEM POLE OF FINANCIAL MT OLYMPUS”!!!

Let’s deal with “AFREXIMBANK”…

According to their own docxs, less than 40% of the bank is own by “AFRICAN GOVs” (whatever that means to the naked eye) – where the “PRIVATE INVESTORS, including foreign banks (i.e., CITIBANK, HSBC et al), notwithstanding, “CHINA” own the largest share of some remaining 60% of the bank…

IF YOU BELIEVE WHAT YOU READ FROM THESE CHARLATANS -THEN GOOD LUCK WITH ALL THAT CRAP

SEE THE DOCX HERE:

https://medias.afreximbank.net/GCR-FInal-report-for-2018-Afreximbank.pdf

When the layers of onion skin is peeled back – “GOD ALONE KNOWS” that this bank is just another “PALESKIN RELIC OF COLONIZATION* BY THE ALBINO-CENTRIC LUCIFERIANS WHO HAVE RULED THE PLANET FOR THE LAST 2000 YEARS” and whose time “NOW” is almost at an “END”!!!

AFRIKA HAS ONLY EXISTED 2 BE PLUNDERED 4 ITS WEALTH – WHILE ITS PEOPLES WERE SYSTEMATICALLY MURDERED THROUGH GENOCIDE, WARS & INTERNAL CIVIL WARS & CONFLICT FOISTED ON THEM IN THE STRATEGEM OF WAR CALLED DIVIDE, RULE & CONQUER

Anyway, #EnoughOfTheBULLCRAP*

3. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

HOW MUCH MONEY DID YOUR GOV* RECEIVE FROM THE WORLD’S PARIAHS DURING THE 2020 – 2022 PLANDEMIC??? WHERE WAS THIS MONEY FUNNELLED THROUGH? WAS IT NOT BANKING INSTITUTIONS WHO WAS THE JEZEBELLIAN MONOLITHIC INSTITUTION THAT LAUNDERED & WASHED THE BLOOD MONEY THAT ENDED UP IN CARIBBEAN LEADERS BANK ACCOUNTS???

#WeHaveTheReceipts

There is “NO SACRED COW” here when it comes to “LEAKS” of what the “SYNAGOGUE OF SATAN” is & has done, since time immemorial!!!

Don’t take my word for it – SEE IT 4 YOURSELF ON RUMBLE* – as #YouTube continue 2 “FLAG” this kinda’ truth because they want you to believe it is “DISINFORMATION” – when the truth is, it is “FACTUAL EVIDENCE” in broad daylight!!!

SEE: https://rumble.com/v2p24ky-evidence-of-fraudulent-government-depopulation-payments.html

Now “TRUMP” has either “FROZEN” of completely removed “FUNDING” from the Caribbean – time will tell what the end result will be…

Let the “SPIN DOCTORS” tell their tales

4. @TB

Afreximbank is owned by African countries.

5. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

“Afreximbank is owned by African countries…”

#CmonDearBoy

#Really???

#SMDHID

6. Barbados will gain Tax Revenue and Employment Opportunities from the African Bank’s Development Project.

Perhaps Africa could give Barbados a small plot of land say 430 km² ( i.e. Barbados › Area) for it’s peoples to repatriate and see the beauty of where they are from.

7. Several African countries like Ghana, Sierra Leon and a few others have offered land and citizenship opportunities to Barbadians over the years. Do your research.

8. “Do your research.”

My research of Barbados is reaching the enlightened minds of BU and enlightening them some more. I made a positive point about a Barbadian ex-pat community in Africa as a landing point for expansion into the African Continent which could be described as a reversal of the British slave explosion in the Western Hemisphere and current implosion of poor old Barbadoes.

9. “Afreximbank is owned by African countries…”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Boss… so..
    Who ‘owned’ BNB?
    Who ‘owned’ Almond?
    Who ‘owned’ Bartel?
    Who ‘owned’ Holetown complex?

The Barbados Government has NEVER had ANY qualms about disposing of BARBADOS assets – WITHOUT reference to the BB owners.

So – are you ascribing HIGHER levels of common sense to the ‘African countries that own Afreximbank’?

In ANY case, it happens to be dictator-type individuals who tend to take UNTO THEMSELVES, the divine rights to sell National Assets – for reasons best known to themselves….

We are told that many African and other ‘national decision-makers’ are known to own massive assets in foreign lands….

Many think that our local leadership’s disposition to be such Judases may be an inherited trait…. one that led us into slavery in the FIRST place…

10. @Bush Tea

The simple point is that WE (Barbadians,Black peoples) are our worst enemies.

11. William Skinner Avatar

@ David,
    Remember the tax free holidays of decades ago. Many so- called investors left after the tax free period was over. Back then they were from countries other than Africa.
    The problem here is transparency. One of the bright sparks of Mottley’s stewardship to date, is the efforts to cement closer economic and other ties with African countries. The public should have been given a detailed arrangement about this deal or gift.
    Let us make it abundantly clear that we will not oppose such arrangements with African investors because both administrations have been selling out the country and its prime land to non-African investors for years. And we only know when the ink on the agreement has dried.
    Once everything is above board , we will support this arrangement. We expect to be bombarded with resentment to this decision simply because it is an African enterprise.

12. The simple point is that WE (Barbadians,Black peoples) are our worst enemies.
    ~~~~~~~~
    AMEN!

13. A reasonable position William, BUT, our system of government is built on a need for ‘secrecy’ often for the reasons, protecting national security or what is popular nowadays, ‘NDAs’. How will the people ever win?

14. It is a nonsense both by RAT and the above writer to surmise that within the context, as best understood, that anything is amiss with a government contribution of an area of land to Afreximbank.

Nonsense.

Government has given is giving hundreds of millions of dollars to corporates every year.

Certainly, if Afreximbank has an headquartering agreement with government. If, Afreximbank has committed to a 300 million dollar buildout. If, Afreximbank is to serve the region. If, Afreximbank is to link Afrika to the wider region with billions in investment. These purely political arguments can only be understood by a RAT seeking to unfairly criticize the government. This helps nobody. Indeed, it detracts from the focus where government is more vulnerable.

Moreover, eighteen acres is paltry. This writer has extracted or proposed to extract up to tens of thousands of hectares from several governments for various projects.

Those who support a party which last time around was as feckless as could have been should spend some of their time trying to rebuild something which is able to avoid the small mindedness, the lack of courage, so characteristic of the DLP.

Pacha unashamedly support government’s intent. Even as we trust that Afreximbank will be more industrial based in its lending than the predetermined FIRE sector concentration as supposed.

15. YA missing the point Pacha.. !!
    The objection is to the SECRECY and lack of transparency involved…
    WHY SO?? … unless there are hidden agendas?

The ‘IDEA’ of HOPE housing sounds feasible too – and HAS BEEN DONE elsewhere, but then there is the secret Mal Money thing….
    The China STEAL thing SOUNDED feasible too…
    etc…

No one objects to having a regionalHeadquarters to an African based bank.
    Why not LEASE the damn land for 25 years?
    Why not be OPEN anf UP FRONT with the arrangement?
    Why not use the lotta pretty talk to sell the concept to Bajans?

You owe the author an apology…

16. Well as I said the Holetown issue was a major turning point for this island in more ways than one.

As for looking the other way because this is an AFRICAN BANK, I ain’t even entertaining that nonesence point. The law is the law and right is right and that don’t change for nobody! They could be white black or Chinese I don’t give a rats ass!

The Holetown issue was wrong and so is this there, will be no cherry picking here because of colour, so don’t let we even start to go down that road! What other ‘concessions” have been made to this bank is the question we should be asking.

17. What asset is next on Auntie’s Mia hit list!

Most African countries lease their land. The reason for this is self-evident. The continent of Africa is vast compared to Barbados which is the size of a shoe stamp.

It’s not only land that we are discussing. Take a good look at the arrangement that the DLP government made with Sandals at St Peter. It should have been called the great giveaway. When the BLP came into government, Mia claimed that it could not legally renege on a legally binding agreement made by the previous government as it would send out the the wrong messages to international investors.

The only thing that would stop this Prime Minister in her tracks would be to impose an immediate ban on the sale of land to foreign money laundering “investors” and sadly Barbados minorities.

18. William Skinner Avatar

Unfortunately, many know nothing about business in Africa. It goes back to the classroom. People who are not educated about their past, will be wobbly with their future. If you tell them that without close economic and cultural ties with Africa , CARICOM will be quite feeble , they would probably ask : what Africa has to offer. That is the level we are at.
    For example , Namibian nurses were coming to Bim back in the 80s to be trained. Within forty years , we needed African nurses to assist us with COVID. In other words we went backwards. How many of us know that.
    The Village idiot once told us that leadership does not start in the middle; it starts at the beginning . So those who have been educated to believe that Africa is a country and not a continent , have to be reeducated and the garbage they have been taught has to be removed.

19. Bushie

Why would you expect government to tell you everything they are planning when other parties uncontrolled by them are involved and when it takes years sometimes to reach the stage when a project can be determined to be doable.

What about all the other opportunities investigated which never come into being? Do you want to know about them tooo?

What kind of an idiot for a corporation will invest 300MM on leased land, in a foreign country?

A government can only be open and up front once it feels confident in what it will say, these things have political and or legal consequences.

We owe no one any apology. Instead, as some one who has worked such projects, and Indeed is on one right now where an area of land bigger than Barbados is involved, weee demand that both you, RAT and the writer apologize to the government for talking shiiiite.

Should government also tell you all the secrets discussed at every cabinet meeting tooooo?

20. I asked earlier that this Govermment comes to us the voters and outlines the plans for the goverment headquarters and old Geritraic Hospital lands for a reason. Will the small holdings between the Geriatric Hospital and the grounds of government headquarters be acquired by the state? What is the plan for that area? Will it affect the open beach area across by the band stand for instance?

All we as a people are asking is that we be consulted BEFORE the acts are committed. Is that too much to ask in a democratic society that claims to practice transparency?

21. This “big secret” cannot be much of a secret if you know about it..

A Message to you Rudie
    Although it’s a common insult in West to tell Afroblack Africans to go back to Africa, nudging them to go back to their roots to know themselves will be close enough so that most of the nuances of their story are not lost. The [voluntary] movement from the West back could be called the Soul Train or the Black Star Liner for those who like dancing to soul music and/or reggae and all that jazz, so they can groove to the rhythm of the spiritual Afro drumbeats.

Remind Me Patrice Rushen
    Straight From The Heart
    Oldies but Goodies Jah Know
    [Verse 1]
    I can recall a certain magic in your eyes
    I’m under your spell each time that you appear
    A kiss so passionate that has me mesmerized
    I fall more in love each time that you are near, woah-oh
    Starlight, star-bright
    Your love shines near or far just like the brightest star, yeah
    Sweet things you do
    It sets my heart aglow
    And I want you to know

[Chorus]
    They remind me (I’m lucky I’m falling)
    Hmm-hmm (In love with you, darling)
    Remind me, yeah, yeah (I’m lucky I’m falling)

22. @John A

How do you respond to the other side of the argument that this government received an unprecedented mandate and therefore has the right to take certain decisions as they deem fit? The people have will have the right at the polling stations to decide if we agree? The problem we have is that the political stock is bare. Especially on the other side. Oops, but the third argument is that when there was a political opposition of sorts it made zero difference.

23. William Skinner Avatar

We often hear about the difficulties of doing business in Bim. What we never hear is why. There should be a highly developed international business department with cutting edge technology and highly trained experienced staff, whose sole purpose is to ensure we can both disseminate information to the public and give international businesses the green light in days and not weeks or months.
    We have populated overseas offices with people who have never been involved in anything other than canvassing for political parties. We have a human resource problem. To be exceedingly polite , if we have the resources they are not being properly utilised. Either way we need to hastily correct this wastage.
    The Village idiot said : when you seek to lead people don’t be so far ahead of them that they can’t even see you far less hear you.
    This is the situation here.

24. @ Pacha
    Well don’t apologise then…. be petty…

Since you admitted that YOU have been involved is doing SIMILAR shiite, then Bushie NO LONGER expects an UNBIASED opinion from you on this….

But the SIMPLE answer to why government SHOULD consult, is that they are mere TEMPORARY CARETAKERS of our assets…
    THESE ARE NOT THEIRS TO GIVE AWAY TO THEIR FRIENDS AND CONFIDANTES wily nilly…
    ..But THAT is soooo obvious that Bushie dun wid dat!!!

What OTHER side of what agrument what?
    An ‘unprecedented mandate’ MERELY COMMITS the government to OBTAINING the CONSENSUS of it’s BOSSES, …BEFORE acting so DRASTICALLY on our behalf…

What the Hell is the point of our eddykashun spending – if the sheeple are then TOO DUMB to be consulted?
    …unless the system IS intended to be DUMBING…

Steupsss..
    Sheep too LOVE being led around by the nose….
    ..But not stinking Bushie!!

25. @ David

Yes you have a valid point in that they won 2 elections 30 to 0. Does this mean that we are now entitled to an elected dictatorship that does not have to consider the people’s views?

When it comes to state land the people are very concerned about what is next. At what point is our land going to be seen as sacred by our leaders, in terms of protection for future generations ? As I said before if it is private lands that is different. When you depend on the state to protect what you have left and it appears they see everything as having a price, should the public not be concerned and have a right to insist on being made aware of things BEFORE they happen?

So what’s next on the state land chopping block?

26. Bushie

Answer our questions and stop being petty then.

For it’s petty to want to know everything. At times this is not in one’s best interests. Not in the interests of others.

Seems to us that you are the one who expects that your own standards or lack thereof are the only ways to be, all the times.

Unlike you, Pacha has been involved in matters where ignorance was one’s best friend, a protection from liability.

27. hear ye hear ye
    Due process and due diligence due
    A vote on this matter could be held in the Houses of Parliament
    Predicted outcome: The Bs say yay and the Ds say nay

Weeping Willow 😭 😢
    They say that once a tear has fallen
    The Willow cries eternally
    Cry not for me my Willow
    Don’t shed your tears eternally
    Because I have found the love I search for
    I need your tears no more

They say the Willow cries for someone
    That’s when that someone’s heart is broken
    Cry not for me my Willow Tree
    Don’t shed your tears eternally

28. @William

Business facilitation has been a bane of our post independence when we were given the direct responsibility to manage our affairs. The irony is that many of our neighbours in the sub region are doing a better job. The comparison must be tempered in all fairness by the degree ‘boble’ is present.

29. @John A

Yes, that is exactly what we are deserving of given the lack of engagement by citizens and our willingness to cede our rights to a political class largely comprised of individuals who struggle to live respectable and successful private lives.

30. @Bush Tea

It is not uncommon for a business to lease land based on the return on the investment (ROI).

31. Having posted the above the blogmaster is philosophically opposed to granting land to any one for a simple reason: Barbados is rh 21×14.

32. LOL @ Pacha, who said…
    “Unlike you, Pacha has been involved in matters where ignorance was one’s best friend, a protection from liability.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    True dat!
    Bushie has not been is a position where it was ‘better to be ignorant’…
    well not since childhood ..and the Santa Claus scam…

Adults who are ‘best kept in ignorance’ are, like sheep – headed to the slaughterhouse.
    So NOT stinking Bushie….

33. Objection!
    Overruled

Ralph should abstain from voting in Parliament
    So partisan results show 29-0 instead of 29-1

He should only vote in Bipartisan matters /
    trying to sway some of his old BLP friends
    to swing results down from 29

Class & Subject
    In my class you are a subject
    Stop reaching for my mind
    You keep searching for my mind

Every time
    Like a child asking questions
    nervously try to explain

I don’t know math
    Never taught English
    You know I don’t speak Spanish
    Sufferation

34. Either tell Bushie the unvarnished TRUTH, or the bushman will start to believe the WORST of the conspiracy stuff…

The TRUTH will always set us free….
    Where ignorance is entertained..
    WISDOM retreats to the background.

…as if Pacha don’t know this.
    SBSH
    (Shaking Bushie’s Stinking Head)

35. Bushie

Yours per usual is a product of the simple mind.

If you were in a meeting with a senior official where you knew a certain ‘request’ for things of value would have been made.

And you knew that another place where you did business had a selective way of enforing certain restrictions against such.

Would it not be better not to know about such.

Of course, ignorance has useful application elsewhere as well. Do intelligence agencies not encourage their agents to keep their families in general ignorance, for their own safety?

There is not everything everyone needs to know.

36. BTW, have you ever seen a real lease?

37. Under this regime, led by Mia, we are witnessing a form of familicide. In the shadows and in plain sight she appears to be snuffing out the lifetime opportunities of her own black people.

Her phrase “watch muh” when first elected as PM will rest in infamy.

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

JohnA
    You are focusing, but need to change the area you are focusing on.
    This Bank is not known to develop much, or operate hotels. They may lend the funds required.
    So the focus needs to be determining for whom this bell tolls, not the Bank’s own facility or an associated centre, both well within the Bank’s focus and remit.
    This new hotel, entered the official plan AFTER 2018. This is one of the main reasons, why Savvy isn’t being granted the permissions they seek.
    Sooo, who will this hotel ultimately belong to? My guess, it isn’t the Bank.

39. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

IN THE IMMORTAL WORDS OF THE SONG – #CastingCrowns: “I AM A FLOWER QUICKLY FADING; HERE TODAY & GONE TOMORROW, A WAVE TOSSED IN THE OCEAN; A VAPOR IN THE WIND” – IS REMINISCENT OF THE LIVES OF MANY WHO SOMEHOW BELIEVE THEY WILL WIELD ETERNAL POWER OVER THE LIVES OF OTHER FRAGILE MEN

#IGotNews 4 these “DELUDED SUCKERS”!!!

YOU WILL EITHER BE HUMBLED BY THE ALMIGHTY HAND OF A DREADFUL GOD OR YOU WILL DIE AS KING HEROD DID!!!

It seems almost “POINTLESS” to ask or 2 adjure these “DIRTY BASTERDS” 2 “REPENT OF THEIR WICKED WAYS 4 THE KINGDOM OF GOD IS AT HAND”!!!

For they are “SATAN’S CHANGE AGENTS”!!!

Barbados in its current condition bears all the hallmarks of a “BROKEN SOCIETY”!!!

The sociological penchant plays like a stringless “HARP”:

High Inequality

Extreme wealth gaps (HAVES v HAVENOTS); lack of proper 21st world access to basic, fundamental needs (quality healthcare, functional education, proper available housing), & systemic “CLASS” discrimination

Institutional Failure(s)

#HighLevelCorruption, emaciated & weak rule of law caused by (too many Chiefs & few Indians), #PissPoor & ineffective governance, & restless distrust in public institutions (e.g., police, courts, poLIEticians)

Social Fragmentation

Colonial polarization gap along racial, ethnic, reLIEgious, and/or class lines; almost
    & in some places – “COMPLETE” erosion of community bonds; & above all, widespread stratification of alienation amongst “Baby-Boomers, GEN-Xers, GEN-Zers & those who now fill the trenches of the “UNDERWORLD UNDERCLASS”

STRIKING USE OF LANGUAGE – YOU SAY:

Violence & Crime

WHAT IS THE ANTIDOTE FOR THE OUT OF CONTROL high rates of insidiously violent crime, gang-banging activity, and/or state-sponsored repression? HOW MANY MORE MUST DIE NEEDLESSLY

Economic Instability

#JoblessGRADS*, #UnemploymentMiasma, #SardineAndBiscuitsPoverty, distant lack of any form of social upward mobility, & the reliance on informal or “EXPLOITATIVE economies

Environmental Degradation

#GrowingPollution, coupled with increasing resource depletion, notwithstanding, more & more climate-related disasters rendering livelihood ex nihilo – exacerbating social tensions & fracturing hope for any kind of future

“Broken societies” are not inevitabilities!!!

Repair requires addressing root causes – not just the symptomologies!!!

Who puts a plaster on a cancer???

Only through meaningful systemic change, national empathy, & patriotic collective action will things begin 2 alleviate!!!

WHAT WILL IT TAKE 2 AWAKEN THIS LIL ISLAND – THE LAND OF MY FORBEARS???

#LordHaveMercy

OTHERS ARE DOING IT…

40. “My guess, it isn’t the Bank”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Which banks are even allowed to own real estate or businesses outside of what is needed for their own administrative purposes?

Can you imagine the uncompetitive leverage this would cause in the market?

Scam after scam after scam…
    No wonder they don’t have time to work on solving crime and potholes.

41. @ Northern Observer

Interesting school of thought there my friend. Is there any truth behind the talk that this bank is being appointed as our state bank for government’s day to day operations?

42. Bushie

Stop talking shiiiite and since for you everything is to be known

Then –

Submit your real name, address, etc

Coordinates for your bank accounts, passwords and the lot.

The name of your wife

The last time the mushroom was so engaged

The name of your keepmiss down the road.

Your email address

A history of any lawbreaking ever engaged in.

A recent photo of the 80 years old geezert you are.

None of this basic information is known even after 15 years engaged in warfare here on BU.

Sure you’ll find this a reasonable wanting to know!

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

JohnA
    When you display the blatant failure to comply with the laws, as the GoB has shown, the rumour mill is always spinning.
    Yet they like to borrow from sooo many, associating with anything other than themselves seems unlikely.
    It is interesting globally, how many nations are in a financial pickle, and yet can find the funds to give/lend money to others.
    Around this time last year, a line item appeared where $600,000 in powdered milk for Cuba was approved. Was this to pay for medical services received, or just a gift. I haven’t a clue.

44. @ Pacha
    Boss – stop mashing up your intellectual BU reputation doo!!

So you happen to have inherited a set of small shops from your antecedents – with the hope of passing on an IMPROVED version to your descendents, after making a living for yourself.
    So you hire staff (government) to manage your businesses – on your behalf…

..AND YOU PACHA – TELLING THE BLOG THAT THE OWNERS HAVE NO RIGHTS TO CERTAIN ‘SECRETS’….?
    That the EMPLOYED politicians knows what is best for us ..BETTER than we do…?

RUaRH Idjut?!!

This is NOT about some shiite employee in some albino-centric business keeping out of MASSA’s business. – It is about OWNERS asserting their ownership….

You obviously looking to mek Bushie sin his soul with unbecoming language yuh!!!

..besides if Bushie shared the Info you requested… (especially bout the keepmiss..)
    His personal Guardian Angels would probably seek to terminate your existence…
    Dem fellows DO NOT mek sport when it comes to their adopted charge…

45. Your refusal to answer our absurd questions make the point.

Whatever these answers are are none of Pacha’s business. And there was never any genuine desire to know that shiiite.

Such a refusal in and of itself also represents the absurdity of your original contention.

When weee elect governments, within the Westminster system, wee give them the same authorities we give a surgeon once put asleep. Elections are the true and tried method of putting people under a social anesthesia.

46. Nonsense!!
    Chalk and cheese…

If you OWNED Bushie (-like Bajans own Barbados) then OF COURSE the questions would be answered…
    BUT YOU DON’T …and CAN’T!!
    … so BUG off!!

We should give politicians (and Surgeons) ONLY authority to CARRY OUT OUR WISHES – in OUR own best interests…. NOT theirs ..or their family and friends (like Lorenzo)..

Certain surgeons (and politicians) would relish the opportunity to put BBs such as you – to sleep…. Yuh donkey may wake up violated – and you talking like Petra…

But in Bushie’s case, there would be HELL to pay.
    So in the FIRST place, Bushie CHOOSES surgeons and politicians that have PROVEN themselves to be trustworthy…. and EVEN THEN, is ALWAYS checking on their habits…

..cause Bushie is now a REFORMED BB… and NOT a patsy.

…anyway – BEFORE the Blogmaster issue threats about our ‘back and forth’, Bushie done with that shiite… de last word is yours..

If yuh REALLY smart, it would be an apology… 🙂
    OR…
    You can continue smartly with your albino-centric international property deals…

47. Is english not albino centric too? Like everything thing else within your world? Do you know any other language to discuss reality? Or is that too subject to some specious understanding? An understanding awarded more shiiite talk like you’re always want toooooo!

Never an apology for yeh talking pure shiiite. Not because you so deem.Why don’t you go and confront the Whiteness you serve with this altered state.
    If you were so serious about the absence of Whiteness in your life you certainly would not be a lawful captive in the hands of a mighty nation. Your every meal is so predicated.

48. Afrexim to get five acres free of cost

AFRICAN EXPORT IMPORT BANK (Afreximbank) will be getting the lands at Jemmott’s Lane, St Michael, the site of the old General Hospital, for the construction of the bank’s trade centre, hotel and offices, free of cost.

Minister of Housing and Lands Dwight Sutherland said last Thursday in the House of Assembly, the 2.037 hectares (5.11 acres) given to Afrexim, which is headquartered in Cairo, Egypt, was about “strategy”.

But Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne said he could not support the measure.

“The construction of its headquarters will bring substantial economic activity to Barbados. And the fact of Barbados being the only office outside of the African continent speaks volume to us,” Sutherland said.

“Reconnecting with Africa culturally and economically is essential for Barbados’ long-term stability.”

Sutherland said there were many arguments the Government could use “to justify giving land to the Afrexim bank for construction of the trade centre, hotel and offices”.

The minister said Throne’s criticism of the decision to vest the land to Africans for free was “unfair”.

“There is a geo-global . . . geopolitical strategy that we have. Hosting the African trade centre can diversify Barbados’ international partnership and lessen reliance on the Western . . . economic systems.

“It is critical because of what is happening in the world and when we look at economic and business justification for vesting this land free . . . the Africa trade centre would attract businesses, create new jobs, stimulate economic activity in Barbados, especially in areas of construction, tourism and trade sectors,” he said, adding that business executives from Africa bring with them foreign exchange.

Sutherland added that what existed now was a dilapidated site from the first hospital that was built in 1844, with the hospital “fully closed back in the 2000s. It was left there in shambles. There was no better opportunity . . . than to vest this land in the African Export Import Bank”.

In response, Thorne said the vesting for free of these state lands should not be centred on “political, and more particularly, geopolitical arguments”.

“It is national interests. This is a very interesting time and not for the first time . . . the alienation of lands to foreign persons and foreign entities has been contentious. I would want to introduce a legal perspective that while it is not the first time that lands are vesting free of charge – the document says free of cost – I have not seen the articles of association, I haven’t seen the memorandum, so I don’t know if the Barbados Government is a member of the Afrexim Bank, so that if it is a member of that bank, if it is a shareholder, part-owner, then the precedent is complete.

“If it is not a member of the bank, the precedent loses its validity,” he said, citing the case of the Caribbean Development Bank, where the Barbados Government was a member.

“Those lands [old hospital site] are in fact and in law being alienated to a foreign entity and that is the fundamental difference between the transactions.

“These are times that are rather different and there’s a lot of protests across Barbados as to not only the ownership of lands . . . but what the public is now concerned about is the use of those lands.”

Monetary value

Thorne said while the 2.037 hectares were not beach-front, the core issue was “you are giving precious lands to a foreigner, to a foreign entity. In spite of the cultural argument, the public wants to know why are you giving lands free to a bank”.

The Opposition Leader said the new entity should not bank on its nationality to win over the people of Barbados.

“What is the monetary value, the financial value of this project to Barbados?

“The Government will have a very difficult job in convincing Barbadians that this is a project that is ultimately in the best interest of this country.”

He said the lands are situated in coastal Bridgetown.

“To put a value on that land along there you talking about $700 per square foot and that’s part of the going rate along that area, subject to correction. I have difficulty with the transaction. I cannot support this.”

Attorney General Dale Marshall said there was nothing nefarious about the transaction, as it was widely publicised.

“There is a partnership agreement between CARICOM and the Afrexim bank. Barbados, the state, has a headquarters agreement with Afrexim bank,” he stated, pointing out that already headquartered in Barbados were numerous regional and international organisations.

He said whenever there’s a headquarters agreement, it is the responsibility of the host state to provide the headquarters – to build and to maintain.

“In our headquarters agreements we spend the money, we provide the land, we build the buildings and then we maintain them forever. In this instance with Afrexim, we’re not being required to build the headquarters. This land, I think, is valued at around $17 million by the Land Tax Department, so there’s no way that we could build any headquarters for any multinational bank for $17 million. So by giving the bank this land we are benefiting because we don’t have to do the rest. If we had to do the rest, it would cost us tens of millions of dollars.

“This is a legitimate arrangement that will bring much credit to Barbados. It will clean up a site that was last occupied, probably over 20 years ago.”

Marshall said the bank was proposing to spend US$150 million on the site. (NS)

49. PM: Report has not reached Parliament

PRIME MINISTER MIA AMOR MOTTLEY has criticised yesterday’s SUNDAY SUN report on the Home Ownership Providing Energy (HOPE) project, charging it could be a breach of parliamentary privilege by publishing details from an incomplete audit.

Speaking at her party’s St Michael South’s branch meeting at Graydon Sealy Secondary School last night, she argued that the report, which alleged that HOPE Inc. faces a lawsuit over a $64 million contract with Preconco Ltd, was based on a draft document from the office of the Auditor General that had not been finalised or presented to Parliament.

“The Parliament of Barbados has not published any report of any special audit under the programme of HOPE by the Auditor General, and in fact, the Parliament has not even received any such report,” Mottley stated.

She cited Section 75 of the Public Financial Management Act, which mandates that any Auditor General’s report must first be submitted to the Speaker of the House before being made public.

“This is not about secrecy. It is about due process and ensuring that the right of Parliament to review reports on public funds is respected,” she said.

The article alleged that HOPE Inc. had failed to meet its target of constructing 2 000 homes by 2024, had built houses on land it did not own, and had signed a $64 million contract for precast housing units despite lacking the financial resources to fulfil it.

It stated that HOPE Inc. now faces litigation for halting deliveries due to financial and land ownership disputes.

Mottley, however, dismissed these claims, asserting that not only was there no lawsuit, but there was also no pre-action protocol letter – a prerequisite for civil litigation.

“Not a lawsuit, not even a pre-action letter exists. Yet, a newspaper has rushed to print as though this were a matter of public record,” she said.

The Prime Minister admitted that while challenges had arisen in the HOPE project, her administration would address them.

“Of course, there will be difficulties in a project of this scale, but let me remind Barbadians that under the last administration, only 710 houses were built in ten years. In just three years, we have completed 1 300 homes.”

She added that any legitimate concerns arising from the Auditor General’s final report would be dealt with transparency. “When we receive the full, finalised document, it will be laid before Parliament and discussed openly. That is how governance should work, not through premature leaks of incomplete reports.”

She suggested that the SUNDAY SUN’s actions could constitute a breach of parliamentary privilege, an offence that occurs when someone obstructs Parliament from carrying out its functions. Legal experts say such breaches can result in formal parliamentary censure.

“I have been around this Parliament for 34 years and all of us agree that what may well be at risk here is a serious breach of parliamentary privilege,” she said.

Mottley added that while investigative journalism was vital, it must be conducted in accordance with established laws and parliamentary procedures. “You cannot have one standard for accountability and transparency and then turn around and ignore legal protocols when it suits you.”

She told the gathering that with the Auditor General still finalising the report, her Government remains committed to ensuring proper governance in housing and other national projects.

“We will govern with transparency and accountability, and when we make mistakes, we will own them. But let me be clear – this Government will not be undermined by sensationalism and breaches of due process.” (CLM)