12 lawyers earn silks, whoopee!

The Barbados Bar Association and Disciplinary Committee are enabling agencies to ring fence the profession.

This brief notice published to today’s press piqued the blogmaster’s interest. We have twelve more lawyers who will earn the right to wear silks as well as adding a few more dollars to the client invoice.

Special Supreme Court sitting 

THERE WILL BE a Special Sitting of the Supreme Court of Barbados on Friday at 10 a.m. to admit to the Inner Bar 12 attorneys who have been appointed as Senior Counsel.

They are Wilfred Abrahams, Tammy Bryan, Gillian Henderson Clarke, Rudolph Greenidge, Kathy-Ann Hamblin, Edmund Hinkson, Arthur Holder, Anika Jackson, Stephen Lashley, Angela Mitchell-Gittens, Alliston Seale and Liesel Weekes. (BGIS)

Of the twelve, four are active BLPites, one is a recent DLPite who served in the last cabinet, one is/was a partner in the law chambers of a minister who served in the previous cabinet and which Attorney General Marshall was/is affiliated. No doubt one or two of the twelve recognized are deserving, however, it is clear these are in the main, politically contrived appointments.

Why the disparaging blog directed at the profession some will ask? It is a profession which impacts us all. Of particular concern to this blogmaster is the the indifference too many in the legal profession continue to show by not being strident advocates to improve the delivery of justice. The Barbados Bar Association and Disciplinary Committee are enabling agencies to ring fence the profession.

31 thoughts on “12 lawyers earn silks, whoopee!

1. I am sure that there are criteria for appointments to this designation. It may be useful to discover what they are. Are fees determined according to the designation of SC? I think you ought to check this assumption as well.

2. OF COURSE fees are (even) higher when designated as SC…

As to criteria for appointments…
    Ha ha ha h LOL ….Murda!!!
    Even if there is, it boils down to what Aunty wants and /or allows…
    Enuff said…!

• @Bush Tea

There is another benefit to having the SC, KC, QC, whatever of sliding up the pecking order how your cases are called etc. There are conventions that are practiced in our system you will not find in the rule book.

3. Just another indication of the legal or official criminality which rules the day.

We wonder if there was any due diligence to which they were subjected to.

Maybe the court would seek to ascertain the extent to which these criminals, until proven otherwise, have stolen their clients funds, used such funds to pay back others previously robbed, the extent of their intermingling of clients’ funds, the wholesale teifing of client physical property.

But most importantly, their involvement in covering for their colleagues who were and are known to have misappropriated client funds.

For an SC or QC has and will continue to serve as a stay out of jail card as bestowed by politicians in the furtherance of official crimes by themselves.

4. Ipso facto!

Has to be the basis on which a case can be sustained against Bajan lawyers, as a class.

The aim of such an action, brought within another competent jurisdiction, is obvious for justice cannot presuppose that a fox watches the hen house.

For there is much evidence that senior lawyers have long known, know, about the criminality current within the wide spread conspiracy, conspiracy as a collective criminal act, or series of acts.

The United States has such a standard, a legal description.

There is much evidence, and maybe proof as well, that Bajan lawyers have, over many decades, as a matter of fact, and therefore it is high time for the criminality at the centre of governance and the legal system be brought to book.

Let’s act to end this deification of criminals. Central to this must be the requirement for the disempowerment of lawyers by instituting extreme measure to stop lawyers from having custody, control, ownership of any property of clients for any length of time.

Separately

Many are trying to stop big tech using certain algorithms from rigging elections around the world by influencing uncommitted voters.

Biden seems dependent on big tech influencing 15 million voters, a Haile Mary!

And yet these criminal lawyers can continue to have a laugh at us!

5. “Pride Of A Black Man”
    Reaching 57 years ago Barbados became an “African Nation” with a “Legacy British Colonial System” for Parliament and Courts

On 30 November 1966, Barbados gained independence and became a Commonwealth realm with Elizabeth II as Queen of Barbados.

On 30 November 2021, Barbados transitioned to a republic within the Commonwealth.

They are now designing a new Constitution

New Broom Sweeps Clean Old Broom Knows The Corners

Pick Up The Pieces, Pt. 2, The Royals,
    Changing Places, Ghetto Lawyer, I Roy,
    Gish-Abbai

“Gish-Abbai” happens to be The Royals’ self-produced second version of their signature tune “Pick Up The Pieces”

“Fashion Monkey” and “Monkey Fashion” DJ I Roy’s Cuts to Pick Up The Pieces are “Changing Places” and “Ghetto Lawyer”

6. A wise Jamaican saying advises, “If yuh want good, yuh nose haffi run.”

To achieve your dreams, you have to be willing to work hard and persevere along the pathway until you attain your goal.

Patient man rides donkey
    Come on and do it

• AG raps some in profession

Attorney General Dale Marshall has taken a shot at senior attorneys who carry the post-nominal KC (king’s counsel) and have refused to take the designation Senior Counsel (SC).
      He called it “peculiar” that senior attorneys “see nothing odd about continuing to accept an obligation to plead the king’s cause, in circumstances where these courts are no longer the king’s courts”.
      Marshall was speaking as he introduced 11 of 12 new Senior Counsel to the Inner Bar in a special sitting in the No. 3 Supreme Court yesterday.
      The new Senior Counsel are Acting Director of Public Prosecutions Alliston Seale; prominent criminal attorneys Angella Mitchell-Gittens and Speaker of the House of Assembly Arthur Holder (who was overseas on Government business); Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams; Member of Parliament Edmund Hinkson; Tammy Bryan; Gillian Clarke; former parliamentarian Rudolph “Cappy” Greenidge; Kathy-Ann Hamblin; Solicitor General Anika Jackson; former Democratic Labour Party MP Stephen Lashley and Liesel Weekes, former president of the Barbados Bar Association.
      The Attorney General said this was not the first time attorneys had been appointed as Senior Counsel.
      He harked back to March 1975 when he said the then Cabinet decided that the granting of QCs (Queen’s Counsel) would cease and 15 senior attorneys would be recognised as Senior Counsel.
      However, he noted that members of the legal profession began to make representations to the then Government that the island should revert to Queen’s Counsel and in four years such was the case.
      “Of course, from the day Barbados took on a republican form of Government, a debate has raged over whether we should keep the designation tied to a distant monarch, or forge our own path, and on which path, our pledge should be to the State of Barbados instead of to the UK (United Kingdom) monarch,” Marshall said.
      “There was little doubt that in respect of other offices – parliamentarians, judges and the President itself – any duty and fealty should be owed to our nation, and yet somehow, we, the lawyers, have been timid about accepting that the same precept would apply to the upper echelons of the legal profession.
      “Some members of the Inner Bar, quite peculiarly, see nothing odd about continuing to accept an obligation to plead the king’s cause, in circumstances where these courts are no longer the king’s courts,” he said, adding there were those who believed that “that once appointed a QC, they should keep the designation QC, despite the death of the queen”.
      However, he stated: “It is fitting that in our new republic, shorn of the umbilicus which connected our institutions and our very psyche to the monarchy, that we should take this step in completing the process of true Independence.”
      The Attorney General went on to say the history of taking ‘silk’ was “fascinating and perplexing” with the ‘silks’ being held in high regard, yet the honour being seen as elitist and “steeped in patronage”.
      He added the 11 new Senior Counsel had the honour of being the first SCs appointed under the republic and were drawn from among the finest lawyers in the island.
      Meanwhile, Chief Justice Sir Patterson Cheltenham warned the new Senior Counsel that “many and varied will be the eyes cast on you”.
      “Whilst not the first to carry the SC designation, you are the first in the new republic. And so you can anticipate a long and searching gaze from an expectant and curious public and colleagues,” he told the special sitting.
      “Even prior to this morning’s ceremony there was an intense debate amongst attorneys-at-law and the wider public focusing on whether, given our new republican status and the death of Her Majesty, attorneys-at-law were to use the post-nominals QC, KC or SC,” Sir Patterson said.
      He stressed that in the future all those elevated to the Inner Bar would be designated Senior Counsel.
      The Chief Justice said the awarding of Senior Counsel was traditionally bestowed upon attorneys who had demonstrated a high level of legal expertise and advocacy skills, and was a testament to their commitment to their chosen profession.
      “You will now have to compete with others who have been there for a considerable period and have earned their well-merited reputations.
      “This is now presented to you as an opportunity to display the appropriate grit and resourcefulness as you strive to become a source of confidence to colleagues, the public and the Bench,” Sir Patterson said.

• Greenidge: Pair young attorneys with seniors
      A NEW SENIOR COUNSEL (SC) has suggested that new attorneys should be paired with senior members of the fraternity the same way first formers are paired with sixth form students at some secondary schools.
      This, said Senior Counsel Rudolph “Cappy” Greenidge, will ensure that the best traditions of the Bar are passed on and will help young attorneys find work.
      His comments come as about 40 new attorneys are scheduled to be admitted to the Bar shortly.
      Speaking on behalf of ten fellow SCs who were admitted to the Inner Bar yesterday, Greenidge said senior attorneys should be beacons for young lawyers to follow.
      He noted that on the first day of the new school term at Harrison College, each first former was paired with a sixth form student.
      “If teachers can see the wisdom and the benefit of such a mentorship arrangement, I am sure the Bar Association and the legal profession generally can put a similar arrangement in place.
      “Of course I am aware that there are some senior attorneys who will not want that responsibility of systematically imparting knowledge to newcomers to the profession,” he said.
      However Greenidge, a former Government minister, said the “stark reality” was that law was a profession of extremes – some lawyers “are crumbling under the weight of the work” and for others there was no work, “not even an affidavit”.
      “Right now there is no formalised process of mentorship so some of them have to do it on their own.”
      He noted the 11 senior attorneys were being elevated at a time when the reputation of the profession was at the crossroads.
      “This profession has taken an unprecedented beating and a vicious tongue-lashing from the Barbadian public over the past five years. When the public speaks about us as though we are morally bankrupt as a profession, it hurts and it hurts each and every one of us.
      “It looks really bad. It looks disgraceful and embarrassing when those who practise in the law courts choose to ignore the law and then find themselves before the very law courts. It really shames the profession when this happens,” Greenidge said.
      He added that senior attorneys needed to speak out, as failure to do so created the impression that they were condoning, overlooking or tolerating the actions of those who were convicted of theft.
      “Yes, there are bad apples among us, there is no dispute about that. But the impression should not be given that the line of bad apples stretches from North Point to South Point and back. That is not true at all.
      “Law is a profession governed by rules. It has a moral code. It is a profession with high values and high standards,” he said.

• NO BREACH!

Police say phone unable to record, but Bar Association unhappy with probe
      By Antoinette Connell
      antoinetteconnell@nationnews. com
      Police are denying any breach in the case of a cellphone discovered taped under a table in one of its interviewing rooms while a lawyer met with an accused.
      They said forensics found the phone was unserviceable and unable to record.
      In a letter dated September 12, 2023, seven months after the incident, the Barbados Police Service responded to attorney Faith Greaves’ complaint of a breach of “private communication by police” when she visited the District “E” Police Station on February 4.
      But the law enforcement agency’s response is not being accepted by Greaves or the Barbados Bar Association (BBA) with both parties expressing dissatisfaction with the police’s conclusion that “we have completed the investigation and as required we share with you the findings. We have not established any breaches in the protocol of client’s rights or attorney-client consultation privileges”.
      A number of issues had not been addressed, the Bar Association said.
      The presence of the phone is still a mystery, as the police conceded in the letter to Greaves they did not know how and when the device was put in the “multipurpose office”.
      Greaves was in the midst of the consultation around 12:30 p.m. when the cellphone fell from under the table and she summoned the officer stationed outside the briefing room who took it into police custody. She lodged her complaint three days later on February 7 and received the findings from the top brass last month.
      Police stated: “Given the nature of your complaint, a forensic analysis was conducted to this cellular phone by the Regional Security System. The forensic analysis of the cellular phone was carried out to determine whether it was fit for use or carried any recorded information thereon.
      “That forensic examination revealed that the phone was unserviceable and that there was no recording on the phone. That the phone had no bearing on the matter involving the attorney-client privileged communication. The forensic examination also showed there was no link between the investigations involving your client and the cellular phone. To date the investigation has not discovered how and when the cellular phone was introduced to the briefing room.”
      The Sunday Sun obtained a copy of the correspondence and contacted Greaves for a response. She pointed out the matter was the subject of a meeting with the BBA. President of the Bar Association, Kaye Williams, confirmed it was undertaking a full review of the matter with convenor of the BBA Law Committee, attorney Martie Garnes and Greaves.
      The BBA statement read: “In giving an initial reaction, Mr Garnes indicated that ‘this is occupying the attention of the president and Council as there are a number of issues left unaddressed’.
      “What we can say at this point is that both the Bar and Ms Greaves would wish to express dissatisfaction with the reply that was forthcoming from the Office of the Commissioner of Police. A detailed response to the letter will be given early next week.”
      In the letter to Greaves, the police also said they not only regarded communication between attorney and client as a right and privilege but also “sacrosanct”. It was also pointed out that while the communications are conducted in private they are supervised by an officer “only to the extent that the officer is accessible should either party require assistance or where intervention is required and moreover to prevent any subterfuge and ensure that each party is safe”.
      “The occurrence of this unfortunate incident is sincerely regretted. We assure you that measures have been already adopted to further secure the private privilege of attorney-client communication at police stations,” it read.

7. Confirmation that everything is a scheme, scam or sham.

Some will come here and give you pages of discussion although they know the investigation was a sham. The outcome was known before they started, all they had to figure out was what should be said.

The island cannot get any better. Too many liars, apologists and thieves.

8. Next up. Police screw-up. DNA not delivered. Politician go free.

They are now crafting the words for to deliver that outcome.

9. @ David

I read comments from both you and those individuals who ‘want to go with Ronnie O,’ in which you highlight the dishonestly of lawyers.

And, rightfully so.

However, it would be interesting to hear ‘Ronnie O’s’ position on the unscrupulous practices of ‘members of Barbados’ legal fraternity.’

After all, he is a senior law lecturer at the Faculty of Law, UWI Cave Hill Campus.

An institution that is responsible for the increasing number of law graduates each year.
    And, an institution that has come under harsh criticisms from ‘members of the BU fraternity.’

According to you again, David, ‘discuss for 10 marks.’

[There will be an obvious exception of ‘googlies, off breaks, leg breaks, left arm orthodox’ and other variations of ‘spin,’ from the ‘Ronnie O’ fan club members].

• @Artax

If you listened to the discussion which took place on today’s Brasstacks, subject integrity in public life legislation, the lawyers on the panel were quick to point out of over 1000 lawyers representing in Barbados, an infinitesimal number have legal problems.

• ‘ an institution that has come under harsh criticisms from ‘members of the BU fraternity.’
      ~~~~~~~~~~
      Stinking Bushie pleas guilty as shiite!!!

10. David
    on October 1, 2023 at 5:47 PM said:

@Artax

If you listened to the discussion which took place on today’s Brasstacks, subject integrity in public life legislation, the lawyers on the panel were quick to point out of over 1000 lawyers representing in Barbados, an infinitesimal number have legal problems.

So why is it that the vast majority of Bajans view 100% of layers with such suspicion?

Perception or reality?

Doctors, Engineers, Dentists and other regulated professions are not viewed in the same light.

11. But the law enforcement agency’s response is not being accepted by Greaves or the Barbados Bar Association (BBA) with both parties expressing dissatisfaction with the police’s conclusion that “we have completed the investigation and as required we share with you the findings. We have not established any breaches in the protocol of client’s rights or attorney-client consultation privileges”.
    ++++++++++

Police investigating police, what can go wrong? 😊

First, there is a general principle in law termed “chain of custody”, How does anyone know if the phone that was “examined” is the same phone?

They were caught “in flagrante delicto”, literally with their pants down, but all we hear is “move along nothing to see here”.

12. You surely can see that Sargeant laughing at our BB donkeys…

What irony that Lawyers are complaining about the methodology used by police to investigate themselves, when we all have been complaining about the lawyers doing exactly the same with their fake disciplinary committee!!

Why would the police be transparent about their way of gathering ‘evidence’ …when we cannot even get a damn AUDIT of client funds held captive by the legal mafia?

Wuh the lawyers feel that they have the EXCLUSIVE right to screw Bajans? Police can’t get a piece too..?
    …not to mention the array of politicians, church businesses, foreign ‘investors’ and practically every Tom Dick and Harriette..

Steupsss..
    …. Bajans must consume some vaseline yuh!!

13. Brilliant!
    Let me commend the police for the extremely nice piece of footwork they exhibited in this phone matter.

I thought we had them in a vise grip but saying that
    ‘de phone dead’,
    ‘de phone don’t work’
    ‘de phone ain’t serviceable’
    was a masterstroke.

Questions such as
    (1) who hides a dead phone under a desk when a lawyer is talking to a client and
    (2)how long was this phone used to gather lawyer/client information
    were immediately forgotten.

Brilliant.
    Mighty Liar
    https://youtu.be/cYkqMT6HKD0?si=amXj6Dsl6FXw6eDJ

14. DNA Report
    Dear Police Commissioner
    We examined the specimen that was sent to us for analysis and our experts are puzzled at the results.

Either the samples were contaminated or cockroaches in Barbados have evolved and ard capable of rape.

We urge you to send a second sample to our lab for analysis. This time taken from a human.

Lab Director
    Theophilus Jones

15. I often told my son
    You are not as smart as you think you are and people are not as foolish as you think they are.

• the question is always asked, should the Barbados speaker of the House engage in private practice. Most people the blogmaster interact seem uncomfortable with it.

Holder: Humbling experience
      Longstanding attorney, Speaker of the House of Assembly and Member of Parliament for St Michael Central, Arthur Holder, was called to the Inner Bar yesterday morning, at the Supreme Court Complex.
      Coincidentally, he was first called to the Bar on the same date, October 13, 2000.
      Holder described his elevation as a “humbling experience,” and one which he accepted “with humility and honour . . . It shows that when you work hard in the profession, that you can be adequately and justly rewarded.”
      Holder was among 12 who were recently the first to be elevated to the title of Senior Counsel under a republic Barbados. However, since he was away on Government business, Holder was therefore not sworn in with his compatriots a week ago.
      He thanked God first, and his wife, whom he referred to as his “bedrock” throughout his journey.
      Others who came in for high praise were family members who encouraged and inspired him, as well as others within the legal fraternity who helped guide and mentor him along the way, including Senior Counsel Keith Symmonds, Justice William Chandler, Justice Randall Worrell, Andrew Pilgrim SC, Sir David Simmons and Sir Philip Serrao. (SD)

https://youtu.be/hMmdu3_mlzQ

•  “The question is always asked, should the Barbados speaker of the House engage in private practice. Most people the blogmaster interact seem uncomfortable with it.”
      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In all fairness, the Speaker is not a ‘full time job,’ similarly to that of a Minister, Junior Minister, Parliamentary Secretary etc.

He/she performs his/her duties, which is presiding over Parliamentary procedures and enforcing the rules……
      ……ONLY when the ‘House is in session.’
      Similarly to those parliamentarians ‘sitting on the back bench,’ or members of the Opposition.

If the Speaker is a lawyer, what are outlined in his/her duties when compared with being in private law practice, is there a reasonable consideration that a conflict of interest exists?

Supposed the Speaker was a doctor, trade unionist, engineer or any other profession?

Former Speaker Lawson Weekes was a pharmacist.
      Should people have been uncomfortable with him dispensing medication?

The Opposition Leader, for example, not only plays a more active role in the House and ‘government’ by extension, than the Speaker, he/she is also mandated to preside over the Public Accounts Committee.

If the LOO happens to be a lawyer (or ACCOUNTANT), should there also be an expectation that he/she should not practice his/her profession for the duration of his/her tenure?

Supposed ‘Ronnie O’ becomes the next Opposition Leader.
      Should he resign as a law lecturer in UWI’s Law Faculty?

I believe sometimes we become so caught up in ‘criticise mode’ that we often ‘scrape the bottom of the barrel’ looking for something to criticise.

However, let’s look at the situation in it entirely.
      Michael Lashley brought legislation before the House relative to PSVs when he was Minister of Transport in the previous administration.

Lashley is a lawyer. His first case after the DEMS lost in 2018, was representing a PSV operator who was in violation of a law he tabled.

Discuss for 25 marks.

• @Artax

The issue is not whether it is a full time job but rather if it should be ring-fenced from day to day business. We must do what we can to make governance as robust as is possible. The time has come to take bold approaches even it it means breaking from what we are use to doing.

• @ David

Your generalised comments ‘sound good on paper,’ but DOES NOT address what you said people are ‘uncomfortable with.’

WHY should the Speaker “be ring-fenced from day to day business?”

HOW, by so doing, would “make governance as robust as is possible?”

TWO SIMPLE questions.

The blogmaster dares you to join the discussion.