Alair Shepherd QC

One does not have to read Tales from the Courts to know that the judicature is in shambles. One did not have to listen to Attorneys-at-law Sean Lewis and Naomi Rochford on Getting Down to Brasstacks today to appreciate how dysfunctional our court system has become. For those left in doubt, a senior lawyer skinning his botsy at a judge last week sealed it.

The 64k question being asked by many since the incident which has gone viral is what would have provoked a senior lawyer who wears silk to behave in such an undignified manner. BU has tried to make sense of the information hitting our inbox and here is what happened between The Hon. Madam Justice Sonia Richards and Attorney-at-law Alair Shepherd QC.

The case in question involved the Commissioner of Police and several police officers, consequently many lawyers attended court that fateful morning. BU understands the case was scheduled to be heard by Madam Justice Margaret Reifer, who had recused herself, therefore the matter was rescheduled for Justice Sonia Richards for 9.30AM.

Related Link:  QC Showed Judge His Silk

Several of the lawyers concerned with the matter including Alair Shepherd QC arrived at 9.30AM. BU understands the judge arrived about 12.30PM.  Shepherd of those present appeared to have gotten riled up at having to wait 3 hours because he shouted aloud, “Hooray, hooray, she has arrived at last.” The judge asked him if he was addressing her, to which he replied, “You want me to repeat it? Hooray, hooray she has arrived at last.” Madam Richards then walked out of the court.

Madam Richards then called the lawyers out to the corridor with the exception of Shepherd and had a discussion with them. The fireworks began when Shepherd joined them in the corridor and released a verbal assault directed at Justice Richards for daring to do the unthinkable i.e. holding what the legal fraternity refer to as ex parte discussion with the other lawyers.

BU acknowledges another view posited by Caswell Franklyn which may be read HERE and HERE. If what Caswell posits is correct one would have thought that Justice Richard’s clerk would have ensured all counsel engaged in the matter were informed of the reschedule. Something smells rotten in Denmark. Surely a senior counsel merits all courtesies.

BU is on record condemning Alair Shepherd’s botsy escapade. The fact that he felt aggrieved at having to wait 3 hours while wearing silk to get the ear of the sitting judge is no excuse.

1. @Fabian

A big part of the problem is that ordinary citizens do not have a clue the seriousness of what is going on. Therefore the level of advocacy required is not there.

2. LOL @ David
    Does sheep know what is going on around them?
    Are Brass Bowls aware of their surroundings?

Bajans’ idea of ‘what is going on’ is Reggae on the Hill and the latest Android phones from Digicel and Lime….

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David[BU]

“We have not had any condemnation coming from the Attorney General and government, Church, Women Groups, Bar Association, Media Houses etc.”

You already know my opinion of the At turn Knee General, two blocks shy of a load (of a bad word ) Mistress Medrick his assistant would have to give that rock his opinion, in his customary cup of tea, intelligence via ingesting instruction, anything else is lost on the dimwit.

However you spoke another bad word and must apologies to us David.

Yes you said the “c” word, no, not the female rabbits, no a word woes than that Church.

For Monsignor or Apostle Durant or Father Elosysius to open their mouth about this subject it must have that critical ingredient that galvanizes these Christians.

No, not Christ, you getting all these answers wrong today David, this is unlike you, Peter Wickham rubbing off? no siree COLLECTION

THE TITHES

If this element of their domain had been touched by Alair showing his botsie to Sonia you could bet your bottom dollar, no pun intended, they would have been all over this blog and the airways asking for his excommunication.

“‘I know your works: you are neither cold nor hot. Would that you were either cold or hot! So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth. Revelation 3:15-16

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@David[BU]

The computer had stopped when I posted this earlier.

I begging you man doan let nuh body get my real name cause it gine cause me long term problems in me home at at 81 long term wid me nex half is hell pun earth!

De nex ting is dat at de church I does go to, de backsliders (and dat is what i wud be called fuh dese submissions and words bout dem barmaments) does get put in “de rows of shame” at de back uh de church

Dat en so bad causing aftah all it still in de church but me madam is in de “rows of de saints” in de front uh de church and it wid bring “shame and disgrace pun we family” fun de few more years dat I is allotted.

David I wants you to tink bout dis seriously, supposing dat I gine end up down deer wid dat nameless fellow, no not Fumble, de one dat gine be in fire fun eternity, you know whu exposing me name to me madam and dem churchites gine mean?

It gine be like one uh dem big words dat udder fellow who working for de nameless one up Bay Street, de fellow who got de fire under we asses hey in BIM, Sinkliar, retained earnings or accrued sumting or de udder, hell pun earth, till I lef and den brimstone fuh eternity

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Well wanna know dat I cyan get nuh job wid Vivianne at de Nation BLP newsletter.

Baffy, I want to know if you know anybody at Laff It Off where I could do some submissions bout Seethru, Fumble, Buffalo Sinkliar en dem udder ones, tings brown Baffy, de pension money ent stretching as far wid Cost U De Same (or More) and effen it continue de same way I was thinking to go down by de courts, skin my botsie at Marston, get lock up and let de state gives me 3 square meals a day

I wid just got tuh sleep pun me back when de nights cum up dey in Dodds, whu you tink Baffy? Baffyyyyyy?

6. Not the first time I have heard the AG alluded to as the consummate nitwit.

7. We are walking about talking that we are sooooo educated, yet the majority of our young males are lost, on blocks and just (plain old) idle. We need to look at our educational system and pay attention to things like dyslexia, dyscalculia, dyspraphia, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, attention deficit disorder, to try to find a solution to some of our problems.
    I went to a house recently to deliver some stuff and had to get a signature. A boy about 18 years was there and when i presented the document to be signed i was told that he couldnt read nor write. I am speaking about something that happened in 2013 and the boy looked perfectly normal. (although that dont mean a thing) I couldnt believe it, but he lives on a block.(not literally).
    WE NEED HELP!!!!!!

8. @Bush Tea
    You are sooooooo right!!!
    Barbadians are such unique people.

Thats why our politicans get there and seem so almighty. We really are their bosses but its because of the handout syndrome that we are in this position.
    Thought it was funny when i heard over VOB’s callin program that the St Michael seats had so many persons in them who were looking for handouts.
    Thats a problem, a very big problem. The country cant afford it.