Submitted by Fatimah Farah Mohammed-Ali

This Trinidad and Tobago Republic Bank “Kern and Alana’s love story” advertisement is an attack on all Black women. Most of us are already struggling to survive as single mothers. Our Black men are often absent fathers in the home which is the main cause of so many of our sons, brothers and nephews being gunned down every day with their blood soiling the streets. Every day, two and three Black men are murdered like dogs. There are few Black role models for our young sons in the home.

And on top of that, you have our young black successful men leaving and making a new home with other women. The bank advertisement shows a fatherless young man living with his granny. He works hard making a backyard garden to eat food in the kitchen. He studies hard at university. He graduates. He buys a car. And after all that sacrifice and care with his grandmother, he gets a job and wants to settle. And who does he choose to marry? Certainly not a black woman. He is too ambitious and bright for that.

Where does this situation leave the Black woman? According to a 2018 U.S. survey, black mothers are four times more likely to be single and serve as the primary breadwinners of their home, as granny is depicted in the advertisement. The headline of a nbcnews item published in 2010 reads: “Blacks struggle with 72 percent unwed mothers rate”. The article begins: “Debate is growing within and outside the black community of how to address the rising rate of unwed mothers. Seventy-two percent of black babies are born to unwed mothers, government statistics say — and changing that is a complex issue.”

There is a clear link shown between family structure and delinquent or gang behaviour. Children who grow up in a single-parent household headed by the mother appear to be most at risk. This finding was published in an article entitled “Black Single Female-Headed Households and their Children’s Involvement in Gangs” published in 1992. These kinds of advertisements are setting a trend and promoting a model that is destructive to the black community with a negative impact on society with respect to an increase in crime by black youths.

See Relevant Links:

https://www.facebook.com/republicbanktnt/videos/571173347999237

334 responses to “That Multi-racial Advertisement is Dangerous to Society”

1. I forgot to mention the other bitch 3rd on BU

perception is everything with these bums

tell me why you are offended misundertanding having a cunting dig son

the jewfros describes the link of the 12 Tribes of Israel and Africans

2. Can I ask? Just curious.
    Is the young politician your son?
    You get offended when I mention him after one of his political diatribes, buy yet you want to go after my son who was never here
    I cannot recall the dig you took at my wife, but you went silent when I flipped it to your mother.

3. Jesus, I have not felt this good in ages.
    Let’s get ready to rumble.

4. 1/♾️
    Only for you will I will keep a running count.

5. “You get offended when I mention him after one of his political diatribes, buy yet you want to go after my son who was never here
    I cannot recall the dig you took at my wife, but you went silent when I flipped it to your mother.”

I called out you william hal tlsn and more for your racism as I have been calling out racism my whole life against blacks in heavy chains and browns in longer chains with some opportunity but to work as subordinates a ceiling for progression

but you are a petty bitch on a next level

6. racism is part of life
    and your son will have to live with it
    karma is inherited from parents

7. Donna

RE: “David has not taken offence at black women marrying Caucasian men.”

Please note, mentioning the word, “we,” WAS NOT a SPECIFIC reference to you or David.

RE: “And finally, I have taken offence at nothing.”

I never mentioned anything to suggest that you took offence.

RE: “Yuh getting tie up!”

No, I am not.

8. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Yes…the REAL ISSUES impacting people on the island should be first and foremost…..like ALL THEIR PENSION MONEY GOT TIEF…it’s still MISSING…

the Jim Crow brigade operated out of a place of EXTREME IGNORANCE….and no one should want to retrace that backwardness in this era..

…mix ignorance with racism and our ancestors would tell you what a horrific experience, if they could…but we should know that…..we still feel the fallout from that…

RACISM should be DECAPITATED…along with all its practitioners and enablers..

Pacha….i ended up with an article called the New Talk, not written by me, but it does open up dialog across continents and will be published in Kush Quarterly for October….everyone should have a read…..it deals in a way with some of what we discussed on this thread..

9. 2/♾
    You didn’t call out shit. You projected your own racist thoughts on people abd then tried to use the word racist as a sledgehammer.  But it has not worked and it will not work with me. Find an easier tree to climb.

Physician, heal thyself.

10. 3/♾
    “karma is inherited from parents”

if it is, then I cannot imagine what yours were like.

11. 4/♾
    Hang in there old chap.
    Since ac left, I have made you my bitch.
    Feed me, bitch.

12. Desidearta kicked in ..
    Go placidly amid the noise and the haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence. As far as possible, without surrender, be on good terms with all persons.

13. Why did Bob sing “The stone that the builder refuse will always be the head cornerstone”
    Why did people get offended when Peter Tosh said he taught Bob (a white man’s son) how to play music
    Why did Chris Blackwell want to change The Wailers to Bob Marley and the Wailers to promote them in Europe
    “The stone that the builder refuse will always be the head cornerstone” in the Bible is said to refer to Jesus, is this proof that this character was black

14. No offense but…
    Your “I’m not racist but…” reasoning is most insidious and sly type
    this is how the Brits talk pretty to cut like a knife
    You are the type of 2 faced creep who wants to engage and talk to talk down to people
    You are the type of creep who I do not talk to

15. William Skinner Avatar

@ WARU
    We sometimes make the mistake of declaring some people broadly as Indian. However familiarity with this demographic would reveal that they are often not even accepted but what some call “ real” Indians in their respective homelands.
    It is also known that some in this demographic believe they are somewhat superior to Blacks.
    Like I posited before this topic has been highly debated from the 60s .Having read the original post, I really can’t conclude that it is in anything earth shattering but there appears to be the usual social stereotyping , which has opened doors for further discussion.
    I have never bought into the belief that single mothers cannot successfully raise boy children and neither do I buy into the belief that a single dad can’t successfully raise girl children.

16. I am honest and speak my mind
    if you don’t like it that is your business

17. No offense but…
    Your “You are a racist” is the start of your despicable conversation.
    You wish to use the word “racist” to intimidate and silence and, in turn, you then spew some of the most virulent racist shit that is ever said on BU. I could call you out (almost) daily, but I ascribed your transgressions to sheer ignorance.
    I abhor your hypocrisy. I despise your sneaky way of spewing your racism and your nastiness.
    Of course you would not wish to talk to me. I keep the spotlight trained on your ass and flush you out like the roach you are.

18. “It is also known that some in this demographic believe they are somewhat superior to Blacks.”

There are many Paki haters on BU which presumably means across Barbados
    Let them hate

19. “You wish to use the word “racist” to intimidate and silence and, in turn, you then spew some of the most virulent racist shit that is ever said on BU. I could call you out (almost) daily, but I ascribed your transgressions to sheer ignorance.
    I abhor your hypocrisy. I despise your sneaky way of spewing your racism and your nastiness.
    Of course you would not wish to talk to me. I keep the spotlight trained on your ass and flush you out like the roach you are.”

Quite simply
    You do not no me
    Your mind has projected something I am not
    Reading into what is said wrong

But, perception is key

20. You do not know* me

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“However familiarity with this demographic would reveal that they are often not even accepted but what some call “ real” Indians in their respective homelands.”

it’s very true, the descendants of indentured servants in the Caribbean are not considered Indian in India….once born in the Caribbean. Had a conversation with the wife of someone who taught at UWI, when i mentioned the Indians in the Caribbean she got highly offended and allowed me to know they are not real Indians….the wicked racist caste system immediately kicked in, although these people kept their culture…and never deviated.

“I have never bought into the belief that single mothers cannot successfully raise boy children and neither do I buy into the belief that a single dad can’t successfully raise girl children.”

it’s the SOCIAL ENVIRONMENT that’s poisonous and does not give Afrikan families a chance, remember it’s ROOTED in a centuries old SLAVE SYSTEM…….the whole dirty thing needs UPROOTING….nothing good has ever or will ever come from it….although it’s easier for people to REMOVE THEMSEVES COMPLETELY FROM IT….it cannot change, don’t know why people can’t see that..

“It is also known that some in this demographic believe they are somewhat superior to Blacks.”

totally delusional…those are the hypocrite types tried to rush off to our continent/ancestral lands ahead of us, to poison it with their brand of corruption and racism aided by the patented sellouts..

22. “There are many Paki haters on BU which presumably means across Barbados
    Let them hate”

There you go again.

You take what is contains an element of truthful and quite general statement and rush in to apply your dirty ‘hater/racist’ label.

Somehow, you seem to think that you can control/intimidate grown men.

I may not know you in person, but I know the fellow I see here

and he is not nice

Wouldn’t want to know you in person.

23. Triggers
    Enough of the Bajan long talk already

If you freak out about KK and freak out about 90,000 migrants then racist is what you are
    2 strikes

24. “I may not know you in person, but I know the fellow I see here

and he is not nice”

Your imagination and brain filing mechanism system is not seeing me
    when processing thousand of signals per second and filtering them
    it is seeing other people you know who you do not like

for example no I am not KK’s daddy that is your imagination running away with you

25. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

it’s the SOCIAL ENVIRONMENT that’s poisonous and does not give Afrikan families a chance, remember it’s ROOTED in a centuries old SLAVE SYSTEM…

made even worse by backward politicians with cemented IGNORANCE…the very worse thing that could have happened to Afrikans post emancipation..

26. Let me educate you on your own racism.
    But first let me use your phrase “perception is everything” and perhaps you may start questioning your own perception.

KK enter the arena as a political commentator and I addressed thos comments.
    Yes I am freaked out about the 90,000, but I have never assigned a race to the 90.000.
    But your racist perception makes them 90,000 non-blacks and therefore that would be a good thing. You spew your racism without realizing it. It is in-built. You spew it without realizing it.

Do you see how easily you tripped yourself?

27. I tire.
    I grow bored.
    Will stop pissing in your coffee.
    John would like this
    Rush Limbaugh: I’m your host, Rush Limbaugh, with half my brain tied behind my back – just to make it fair.

Have a great night

28. I disagree with you
    You prejudged KK based on what he is which is called prejudice
    and you may have not spoken about the race of any migrants which is out of your hands as it’s a Government policy
    but, Anti-Migrants is common political ground for racists worldwide, which is why I say let them in

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…Gorbachev passed.

30. Sorry to disappoint you.
    You cannot read minds and I will not let you project your racism on me.
    Funny, that you never noticed when I complimented KK.
    “Anti-Migrants is common political ground for racists worldwide”

therefore you are a racist.

Is that the best you can muster… the false analogy
    I copied this for you. Hope you understand.
    Joan and Mary both drive pickup trucks. Since Joan is a teacher, Mary must also be a teacher.

31. With all respect to David, I will let you have the last word.

32. Like I was saying, but did not

You are the kind of person who cannot be trusted to talk to

I hope you get the hint

sincerely
    truthfully

33. @Pacha

The blogmaster does not have to look up anything.

Signed

He/his

34. @Artax

The blogmaster is not persuaded the reason black people bleach their skin is to look Caucasian. Such cannot be achieved by bleaching. It is about lightening their appearance which is probably wrapped up the identity crisis mentioned lack of self worth.

35. even when you were nice you were creepy
    false people
    bad vibes

36. ” It is about lightening their appearance which is probably wrapped up the identity crisis mentioned lack of self worth.”

a jamaican boy explained it as all about pulling women

37. Waru

Yes. He was taken for a fool by, betrayed by, the West. Did Gorbachev..

He stupidly believed their lies when there was no historical reason for this.

Indeed the histories pointed in the exact opposite direction.

Anyhow, that failure has paved the way for the current collapse of the West.

Two (2) Black women, is the only thing sweeter than one! 😀

38. “The blogmaster is not persuaded the reason black people bleach their skin is to look Caucasian.”

If I had referred to skin bleaching independently, I would agree with you.

However, I used the term in addition to a combination of other factors.

39. @ Dub 555 & Theo,

Meghan said: “I mean, if there’s any time in my life that it’s been more focused on my race, it’s only once I started dating my husband. Then I started to understand what it was like to be treated like a black woman, because up until then I had been treated like a mixed woman, and things really shifted.”

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2022/aug/30/mandela-grandson-surprised-at-meghan-wedding-comparison

40. Bajans urged to learn family history

DISCOVERING ONE’S FAMILY HISTORY can highlight illnesses that were prevalent in the bloodline and identify new cultural connections of which people may not have been aware.
    Chief archivist at the Archives Department Ingrid Thompson stressed this yesterday during an open day at the department’s Lazaretto, Black Rock, St Michael offices.
    “People need to arm themselves with as much information as possible and by doing so, it would help us to understand who we are. When you do your family history, you can find out how they lived, the types of jobs they worked doing.
    “By going through the death records you can know your medical history and know of any illnesses that are prevalent in your family,” Thompson said.
    She also recalled that many black Barbadians and Whites who went through their records were shocked when they found some of the places of their ancestors.
    “There was a [Caucasian man] who went through his ancestry and realised that one of his ancestors was from Ireland, but married a black woman from the Foster Hall Plantation here. It was only then that he understood many of the things his father did throughout his life.
    “Persons believe that because our skin colour is black, we don’t have European ancestry, but we have both European and African and this research helps to identify this,” she added.
    The Department of Archives facilitates the collection, conservation and preservation of public and private records such as wills and registries.
    During yesterday’s event, families, individuals and students from different backgrounds toured the conservation, research and digitisation rooms where there were many artefacts and equipment. They were also shown how some books were repaired and restored.
    Cequoia Holligan, an intern at the Central Bank, said she was impressed with the displays: “I think all of the departments so far were interesting, especially the processes they use to repair and preserve the books.”
    Dawn Slater, who was visiting from England, said she wanted to learn more about her Barbadian relatives the Murrells, Millers and Garnes. She was not disappointed.
    “It’s been fascinating to the look at the work that goes into conserving these records. Also finding out more about my family has been mindblowing. Each time I find out something new, it chipped away at the past and uncovered one piece of information, and then you have to digest and assess and find the next piece,” she said.
    (TG)

41. Life is tragic simply because the earth turns and the sun inexorably rises and sets, and one day, for each of us, the sun will go down for the last, last time. Perhaps the whole root of our trouble, the human trouble, is that we will sacrifice all the beauty of our lives, will imprison ourselves in totems, taboos, crosses, blood sacrifices, steeples, mosques, races, armies, flags, nations, in order to deny the fact of death, which is the only fact we have. It seems to me that one ought to rejoice in the fact of death—ought to decide, indeed, to earn one’s death by confronting with passion the conundrum of life. One is responsible to life: It is the small beacon in that terrifying darkness from which we come and to which we shall return. One must negotiate this as nobly as possible, for the sake of those who are coming after us. But white Americans do not believe in death, and this is why the darkness of my skin so intimidates them.

42. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

So why did it take so MANY DECADES to tell this to Afrikan people……when it’s ALWAYS BEEN IN THE ARCHIVES…..why did you not TEACH IT IN THE SCHOOLS all this time….you IGNORANT POLITICIANS….YOU caused the black on black bullying and terrorizing of each other based on Afrikan ancestry and skin color…

Genetic TESTING should BE FREE FOR ALL AFRIKANS IN BARBADOS AND ACROSS THE REGION..

there is NOT ONLY European in our bloodlines..

” Bajans urged to learn family history -Persons believe that because our skin colour is black, we don’t have European ancestry, but we have both European and African and this research helps to identify this,”

43. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“He stupidly believed their lies when there was no historical reason for this.”

the diplomatic and diplomacy scam causes a lot of LYING with immunity..

44. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…they are all SICKENING…look what it took to BRING them out about the different BLOODLINES WE CARRY………..embarrassment ….during an attempt to COVER-UP THE THEFT OF THE PENSION FUND…

45. My People… Hold On, My People, People

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yfUPY6apOPw
    My People… Hold On Lyrics
    My people hold on! My people hold on! My people hold on! My people hold on!

People the time has come, in this land
    When lion must, lay down with the lamb
    Brothers and sisters, live side by side
    Hold on to love, let its light be your guide
    My people!
    My people hold on! My people hold on! My people hold on! My people hold on!

The lord god said, love me one another
    Who ever does the will of the father, is my brother
    The hawk must fall, let the dove fly high
    Hold on to love, let its light be your guide
    My people hold on! My people hold on! My people hold on! My people hold on! My people hold on! My people hold on!
    My people!

(Music)

My people hold on! My people hold on! My people hold on! My people hold on! My people hold on! My people hold on!

In peace, let us trust
    Before we turn to ashes and dust
    Let us all stand together
    I realize our hearts are tried
    I can see the struggle in your eyes
    My people!

46. Africa I don’t think it would such a great idea for every bajan to know their family history. Can you imagine if dub found out that there was many white Europeans in his family tree and had to deal with the realization that he wasn’t given jobs because he was black but because he was an arsehole.

47. David,

Come on now! The intent of bleaching is to be light brown, the closest thing they can get to Caucasian.

How long has it been known that light brown skin and straight long hair is the preferred look, due to feelings of inferiority among black people?????????? It signified that one was not all African descended but had “superior” European blood.

What else is at the heart of this “identity” issue that you yourself raised?

What else would explain the use of BLACK as an insult, picky hair, knotty hair and the opposite – pretty brown skin and pretty long hair as compliments?

Why did Tom Adams call my father a BLACK BITCH when he was deemed to be responsible for GOLDEN BOY David Simmons’ loss in St. Philip North?

You guys are hilarious!

Artax,

Noted.

But how do you know that the women who take offence at black men marrying white women are the same ones who defend the rights of women to make do what they want with their bodies even to the extent of remaking themselves in the image of the European idea of beauty?

Has it occurred to you that these women who bleach their skin and wear Indian hair weave may do so because they know the preference of men?

Newsflash – whether women wish to acknowledge the obvious or not, most women’s primary objective is to attract as many men as they can so that they can have their pick.

Just recently, I watched a grassroots online movie in which the man, on trying to chat up a woman, remarked that nobody wanted her before she bleached and now EVERYBODY wanted the “BROWNING”.

This is a recurring theme throughout their many productions.

48. @Donna

Trying to achieve high brown to satisfy being associated with a higher social status is not about trying to be Caucasian. That is a more emotional argument with respect.

49. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Can you imagine if dub found out that there was many white Europeans in his family tree and had to deal with the realization that he wasn’t given jobs because he was black……..”

it would do him the WORLD OF GOOD to find out…and i sincerely hope he does…

you IGNORANT POLITICIANS….YOU caused the black on black bullying and terrorizing of each other based ENTIRELY on Afrikan ancestry, hair texture and skin color…when you REFUSED to educate each generation because of your PENCHANT for corruption…

“Has it occurred to you that these women who bleach their skin and wear Indian hair weave may do so because they know the preference of men?”

catering to the WEAKNESS and cowardice of the black man is also the downfall of the Afrikan woman…

50. So……let me summarise what we learned yesterday.

We must keep minorities out of our wallets.

We must become independent of minorities.

We must reset our minds to Afrocentric, rejecting the European mindset.

And we can do all this while putting our finances at the disposal of minority wives.

Putting our very lives in the hands of minority wives.

Inviting and embracing Eurocentric mindsets into our homes by becoming ONE with the European woman.

You guys are hilarious!