Submitted by Fatimah Farah Mohammed-Ali

This Trinidad and Tobago Republic Bank “Kern and Alana’s love story” advertisement is an attack on all Black women. Most of us are already struggling to survive as single mothers. Our Black men are often absent fathers in the home which is the main cause of so many of our sons, brothers and nephews being gunned down every day with their blood soiling the streets. Every day, two and three Black men are murdered like dogs. There are few Black role models for our young sons in the home.

And on top of that, you have our young black successful men leaving and making a new home with other women. The bank advertisement shows a fatherless young man living with his granny. He works hard making a backyard garden to eat food in the kitchen. He studies hard at university. He graduates. He buys a car. And after all that sacrifice and care with his grandmother, he gets a job and wants to settle. And who does he choose to marry? Certainly not a black woman. He is too ambitious and bright for that.

Where does this situation leave the Black woman? According to a 2018 U.S. survey, black mothers are four times more likely to be single and serve as the primary breadwinners of their home, as granny is depicted in the advertisement. The headline of a nbcnews item published in 2010 reads: “Blacks struggle with 72 percent unwed mothers rate”. The article begins: “Debate is growing within and outside the black community of how to address the rising rate of unwed mothers. Seventy-two percent of black babies are born to unwed mothers, government statistics say — and changing that is a complex issue.”

There is a clear link shown between family structure and delinquent or gang behaviour. Children who grow up in a single-parent household headed by the mother appear to be most at risk. This finding was published in an article entitled “Black Single Female-Headed Households and their Children’s Involvement in Gangs” published in 1992. These kinds of advertisements are setting a trend and promoting a model that is destructive to the black community with a negative impact on society with respect to an increase in crime by black youths.

See Relevant Links:

https://www.facebook.com/republicbanktnt/videos/571173347999237

334 responses to “That Multi-racial Advertisement is Dangerous to Society”

1. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

See William…that’s the elephant in the room.

..these negros are always rushing and hurry hot and sweaty to criminalize the marijuana plant and everything in between. especially their OWN PEOPLE…….but are in no hurry to criminalize minorities for the crimes COMMITTED AGAINST the PEOPLE AND COUNTRY….especially the RACISM…which should see practitioners HANGING FROM THE END OF A ROPE…after so many centuries of this evil…

and for some reason these who know who should marry who….int asking the most pertinent question of the frauds they vote for…

2. I don’t depend on any white man. My son does not depend on any white man.

Bare shite talk as usual!

Artax,

The advertising is changing but slowly.

Strange, but I find the biggest Pan Africanists are the ones taking exception to my post as though what I said is something new.

There will always be exceptions to every rule. Therefore, that all interracial marriages cannot be distilled down to a rejection of one’s race should be a given.

Steupse!

There was this guy all over social media lately in America, crying down black women and extolling the virties of white women. He married one. There is video online of her pummeling him in an elevator. That will count as evidence in her murder trial because the wonderful white woman killed the idiot!

Social media was hot with the black women’s laughter.

Just an interesting titbit. It isn’t meant to prove any point.

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Some countries BANNED those lice infested SHITE HAIR…..and the BLEACHING CREAMS….again, it’s the corrupt leadership suppose to SAFEGUARD/PROTECT their people from this SOCIAL REDUCTION…

same frauds yall voted for have the POWER TO DO SO…..ya should ask them WHY THEY DON’T…

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

that’s my point…..every choice you make….YOU and ONLY YOU have to live with the consequences…not me….and definitely NONE OF MY BUSINESS..

5. “Fact- BLEACHING CREAMS AND INDIAN HAIR SELL FAST IN BARBADOS AND WORLDWIDE.”

Donna

You reminded me of a conversation between an older guy and myself sometime ago.

He told me that women are some of the most discontented people on the earth.
    Surprised by his comments, I asked him to explain.
    He said, GOD created a woman with hair, which she believes is too ‘nappy,’ so, she either straightens it or wear a wig.
    ….shaves and replaces her eyebrows with a ‘penciled marking.
    …. wears false eyelashes and coloured contact lenses.
    …. bleaches her skin because she believes she is too dark.
    …. surgery to enhance the appearance of her breasts and backside.

While some women have surgery to reduce the size of their lips and noses, others want implants to increase lip size.

6. LAST

How do you know what questions I ask of those for whom I vote?

Where did you see me say who should marry whom?

If I see my neighbour’s wife off of her premises, I am not likely to recognise her. My house phone is often dead for a couple of days before I notice it. When I talk to people, we talk for hours about ideas, news and current affair, religion, history BUT NEVER OTHER PEOPLE’S BUSINESS.

Indeed, the most common question I was asked at my workplace is, “Where you living doah, Donna?”

YOU ARE ONE STUPID WOMAN, ALWAYS MISREPRESENTING WHAT IS SAID.

YOU DON’T GET TIRED?

WELL, I DO! TIRED OF ANSWERING YOUR NONSENSE!

SO I DUN!

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I tend to ask my questions IN CYBERSPACE WHERE EVERYONE CAN SEE including the joke leadership…

ya can ask in private but then no one can say ya really asked anything…

8. Artax,

Women have bought into the idea that the world has sold them. First, they must be “beautiful or perfect” and never show age in order to be worthy of notice.

Beautiful is as close to white as you can get.

These are facts that everybody knows.

Saw a CNN piece about a woman who was fired from her job as news anchor ostensibly because she stopped dyeing her hair and let it go grey.

“Who made the decision to allow her to go grey?”was the question asked of one executive, shortly before she was fired. This woman recently won awards for her work but was fired “as a business decision”.

“Men are visual,” is the usual excuse. “We cannot afford to lose half of our viewers.”

Women are expected to be eye candy. These are the facts. They cannot be disputed.

9. @Artax

Your comment fails to address the right of a women to do as they please with their bodies.

The latitude to engage in faddish or popular behaviour.

Last but not least the extent this is a deeper issue, for example, identify crisis afflicts them.

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

free to wear lice-infested inferior minority hair that thins and falls out, and bleach ya skin till it starts dropping off…but not free to marry who ya want….

make up ya minds…

11. Wait! Did William Skinner call me a joker?

You may have revered Grantley Adams and Tom Adams. I never did.

Back at yuh!

12. I see the men wish to reserve their right to marry white and Indian women.

Murdaaaaaaah!

Take it easy! Nobody can take that from you!

Marry UP!

Donna ain’t looking, especially for old farts.

Murdaaaaaaaah! WUNNUH TOO FUNNY, DOAH!

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

let me tell you who is GUILTY for all of that self-reduction…just look in the mirror…yes, there is subliminial messaging BUT WE KNOW THAT and the intelligent KNOW TO AVOID it even if ya have to stop watching the brainwashing nonsense on TV>..

i have seen what chemicals have done to Afrikan women’s hair…destroyed their naturalness, destroy the hair follicles and render them permanently BALD…

….i have seen what the same shite weaves have done, my neighbor had to stop wearing one and when i saw the damage done to the sides of her hair/head and the big patches left…. i laughed for a whole day…..it was amusing….but very serious…

also saw what bleaching skin in this heat can do, the skin is no longer natural or normal…one young lady so hated herself because of the social environment….THE IGNORANCE that she DESTROYED HERSELF with bleaching cream…

in saying that, the shite about ya skin too black, ya hair too picky and knotty …STARTS IN THE PRIMARY SCHOOLS….a product of the IGNORANCE learned in the homes…..and spreads all the way up to university…i saw some new lawyers make themselves so ridiculous looking trying to appear with straight hair and the lengths they go to fit into the system…and that can be said of anyone who works overtime to demean themselves to FIT IN…

Afrikan people need to TAKE CHARGE OF THEMSELVES….or continue trying to fit in and get REDUCED TO NOTHING..

14. blackout. group therapy.

15. chocolate vs vanilla
    black beauty is a physical strength
    white beauty is plain and thin

16. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, of course @Artax friend simply identified centuries old perspectives about women and the changing ways they use to enhance their ‘beauty’., so as you rightly noted there are important perspectives omitted.

I wonder, however, how we continually beat up on women for what the world will indeed snidely deride as a misplaced identity crisis of beauty but give us males a pass when many of us, from a very early age, become even more self absorbed about looking beautiful/macho, appealing or whatever by building muscles in order to also look fit some sterotype to our peers.

Are the surgical breast and butt implants or gym work additions adored by the ladies any less self serving than what we men do in the gym or at home with the pushups and situps etc!

And please let’s distinguish a desire to be ‘fit and healthy’ from the desire to ‘look good when I mention gym activity above.

So the different beauty focused act by women and men seem quite similar to me.

On the other hand it is absolutely sexist to judge a ‘white hair’ lady different to a similarly coiffed male. Surely she can likely win a sizable age discrimation judgement if that’s a valid claim for the termination AND there was nothing in her contract terms related to maintaining appearances or some such.

White hair male TV anchors are plentiful across media and so too those with bald heads … but realistically NOT many females of that type … because the expectations for women’s appearance is ABSOLUTELY different.

But this will change more and more after a few more settlements in the courts. Surely !

17. nowadays people marry big bank accounts

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha….what i came to realize , all that is happening is a replay as you have said repeatedly from 60-70 YEARS AND MORE AGO…..

our ancestors were at a distinct advantage where they HAD NO ACCESS TO INFORMATION therefore everything was SUCCESSFULLY HIDDEN from for multiple centuries …leaving them IN THE DARK and UNABLE to teach. lead our guide us effectively outside of the colonial trap, if they didn’t know of course we couldn’t possibly know anything either…so obviously we mostly wandered around in the dark for the past 65 YEARS unless we were AVID READERS…….others who weren’t learned a lot more…but only with the advent of the internet.

but fast-forward to the last 20 YEARS…..and what do we have…..information overload…..much more than was EVER AVAILABLE ON THIS EARTH in millions of years…..just a matter of SORTING THROUGH IT…..and guess what….the people who NEED TO KNOW WHAT’S REALLY HAPPENING THE MOST aren’t interested….they are so much more comfortable WANDERING AROUND IN THE DARK….voluntarily…

it must be genetic memory…

19. David

Your notion about “gender” as a binary construction is now staid.

There are so many rasssoul concoctions between, amongst and unknown which make a cultural and linguistic minefield for a mind as is yours.

All kinds of people are now taking offence based on your binary assertion. Look them up on the web.

Maybe The Weeeeeeeeee as a self-identified follower one’s Ancient Ancestors, and other reasons, may now find pride of place in this fucking pantheon of pronouns, even as The Weeeeeee came before.

Real rassoul confusion is this shiite wokeism.

A quiz for you. What is sweeter than a Black woman? No guessing! An intelligence quotient will be determined. 😄

20. Information needs to be processed

Input→Process→Output

21. “normal”
    If you watch TV there are many ugly people actors nowadays

22. “Your comment fails to address the right of a women to do as they please with their bodies.”

Please note, I began by ‘saying,’ “I was in discussion with an older guy…… and HE told me…..”
    This is a CLEAR INDICATION the OPINIONS I posted were NOT MINE, but THOSE of the INDIVIDUAL with whom I was in discussion.

Yes, I agree “women have a right to do as they please with their bodies.”

But, I have to agree with WARU.

Women are free to bleach their skins, straighten their hair or wear blonde wigs, wear blue or green contact lens, nose and lip surgery…… all in attempt to look as close to Caucasian as they possibly can……

…… but, we find it offensive when they marry Caucasian men.

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

our ancestors were at a distinct DISADVANTAGE where they HAD NO ACCESS TO INFORMATION

24. I must say, this little exercise has taught me how full of hot air a lot of the BU Afrikan Pride people are.

I hope the writer of this piece sees what she is up against.

Excuses, excuses, excuses for a phenomenon that has long been explored and shown to exist.

25. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Maybe The Weeeeeeeeee as a self-identified follower one’s Ancient Ancestors, and other reasons, may now find pride of place in this fucking pantheon of pronouns, even as The Weeeeeee came before.

Real rassoul confusion is this shiite wokeism.”

should be avoided at all cost, it’s a western PLAGUE and a trap..

we keep telling them reconnect to your ancestors or FACE DOOM.

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

sometimes you have to break things down for people and even then….they struggle…

RACISM that still exists in its PUREST FORM is more dangerous than the Afrikan race and other groups marrying into each other…

Black Oppression that still exists in its PUREST FORM is more dangerous than the Afrikan race and other groups marrying into each other….we need look no further than slave society Barbados for proof…

Black Disenfranchisement that still exists in its PUREST FORM is more dangerous than the Afrikan race and other groups marrying into each other……ditto slave society Barbados…

Thefts from the treasury, vat and pension fund are more dangerous for Afrikan people than the Afrikan race and other groups marrying into each other……can we say slave society Barbados….

No one to blame if the men are fickle, they jump from woman to woman until the next one comes along….then they meet a white or other woman they can’t play those games with….down the alter for their promiscuous asses….TAKE WHAT YA GET….

don’t know who wants to revert to the Jim Crow days, but they are free to do so..

https://www.ferris.edu/HTMLS/news/jimcrow/question/2006/february.htm

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

they jump from woman to woman AND IRRESPONSIBLY DROP CHILDREN EVERYWHERE….until the next one comes along……trapping these mothers…

so i too love when some white woman or other grab them with shackles…the old ball and chain….and kill them when they get fed up…

28. I think happy people are attractive
    and nice people are attractive too

Re: Info on internet
    no one nowadays is really inventing something new
    most of the things are very old practice and traditions
    just brought back to life and taught and spread
    but all the wisdom all the knowledge has been there
    for sometimes thousands of years
    this may be Chinese and Indian not just African

29. To every little action, yeah, yeah, yeah.
    There’s a reaction, yeah, yeah, yeah.
    You don’t give that soul, no, no, no.

Huh, please don’t you rock my boat
    ‘Cause I don’t want my boat to be rockin’ anyhow
    Please don’t you rock my boat, no
    ‘Cause I don’t want my boat to be rockin’
    I’m tellin’ you that, oh, ooh-aah, I like it a-like a-this

I used to wonder why one poster would rant and rave about minorities when I spake on Bu
    and the was there a duopoly of snide snarks from another dummy in agreement

30. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    We have a very long way to go and hopefully we will get there. Many of the issues and positions mentioned here , used to be part of the thousands of discussions engaging many in the society back in the 60s and 70s.
    I was very fortunate to have been mentored by some very progressive, Black , brothers and sisters. In serious discussions such as this one, I was taught very early, how to avoid the superfluous.
    The whole question of race, interracial marriages , Black/ African studies and so on ,is still difficult for some to grasp.
    The question , that can be asked is this:
    Would we prefer a sister who has processed hair and a truly liberated Black mind or one who has natural hair and a white processed mind ?
    The same questioned can be asked of a Brother with an Afro as against one with processed hair.
    Must compliment you on a very good post.

31. Artax,

David has not taken offence at black women marrying Caucasian men.

Nobody besides myself seems in the least inclined to agree on any level with the issue raised by the writer.

And finally, I have taken offence at nothing. I have stated an opinion that feelings of inferiority and mental slavery are a factor in successful black men marrying outside of their race. Also, I have not suggested that they are not free to do so, just as women are free to do with their bodies whatever they want.

Yuh getting tie up!

Let me summarise for clarity! Black men and women ARE FREE to marry as they please. Black women ARE ALSO FREE to make themselves look as they please.

AND DONNA IS FREE TO INTERPRET IT AS SHE PLEASES AND TO HAVE HER OPINION AND TO VOTE AS SHE PLEASES.

So….we are ALL free.

Except those who are mentally enslaved, of course.

32. Only William Skinner was fortunate to have been so exposed. His opinion alone is valid.

STEUPSE!

JOKER!

33. Laws that prohibit inter-racial marriage and a choice to marry and share your success with a woman of your own race are two completely different things.

But…if you are like the millionaire basket ballers that Lawson recently highlighted, who want to share their wealth with white women and leave the black ones yuh dip in an’ fool up struggling, then you are free to do so.

Way to uplift your people!

34. Excuses, excuses, excuses!

Murdaaaaaaah!

Real complicated, not superfluous!

Like if I haven’t heard the talk coming from men’s mouths about brown skin and white women!

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I was looking for the info Hants posted on the population make up of Trinidad….don’t know how much yall know, but i know personally that the island was ALWAYS KNOWN AS COSMOPOLITAN….meaning..there is ADMIXTURE within groups….

most Afrikan and Indian households carry limitless amounts of DUGLAS….indian and Afrikan mix…or you will find french creole, indian and afrikan mix….or Spanish mix…it’s always been a society of mixtures…so if the person who wrote the article don’t know that, they are definitely not Trinidadian…

or as i suspected, this is merely a distraction NOT TO DEAL WITH THE REAL ISSUES…

36. And long, “pretty” hair!

Murdaaaaaaah!

37. Trinidadian context she may not know but she is applying the ad to the Bajan context where the demographics are totally different. Nowhere did she state that it was a deliberate ploy by Republic Bank.

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

whatever it was, was an epic fail…you need look no further than ya bloodlines, regardless how it got there, to see all the ADMIXTURE….some will have 4 continents worth……and that is in Barbados…

39. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William is right…it’s not about who is married to whom it’s ALL ABOUT MINDSETS….

i even forgot to mention the Chinese and other Asian mixes found in places like Jamaica and Trinidad…etc.

so we are the original and only race and can’t mix with the subgroups that came from us…how does that even begin to make sense…when we have mixed for THOUSANDS OF YEARS…

40. Sainsbury’s Supermarket Shopping
    One thing I noticed that there are some ugly fat white women with beautiful mixed race children

41. Marry all the white and Indian women and leave the black ones alone!

I think I somebody here, maybe Lawson, drew attention to a poll recently that showed black women were the least desired of all the races. Black men were more desired than black women.

Surprise, surprise!

Maybe it wasn’t Lawson or even on BU. But I saw it!

42. “Blacks” range from pink to black with all shades in between
    there are Chiney Black and Coolie Black and Red Indian Native American Black and others who pass the brown paper bag test for a lighter shade of black skin
    So Black is not about Colour it is about Hair Texture..
    There are Jews with Jewfros..

43. DPD,

You are being ridiculous! Women are under way more pressure to look “perfect”.

The average man spends way less time on his appearance than the average woman.

Remember, the woman also goes to the gym on top of everything else.

44. People like people who are different
    they think it is exotic

45. But CLASSIFIED AS BLACK!

BLACK BLACK BLACK REGARDLESS OF THE EUROPEAN OR OTHER BLOOD.

BLACK BLACK BLACK! AND TREATED AS BLACK THROUGHOUT THE WORLD.

WE ALL KNOW THIS!

46. @Donna
    “Obviously, there are exceptions but I am telling you what took place that caused Bajan women to cry out last time we had a mass immigration of the Guyanese Indian woman.”

It is complicated. Some of what look inter-racial may not be truly inter-racial.

Add migrants trying to the mix and the games begin. But the same game goes on with Black Americans and other black immigrants; after citizenship or a green card is obtained, the ‘extended’ family which may include a wife and children begins to arrive from the Caribbean or Africa. The stories are there and known to evryone. If Bajan me choose to be foolish what can we do?

A next type that I wish to exclude is that of the celebrity (sports, actor ….)
    IT would appear that most of those relationship do not last and the women disappear after they met the criteria for a judge to order a lump sum payments. Some of these guys in the final stages, broke and alone, then end up with a black woman.

It is complicated

47. “You are being ridiculous! Women are under way more pressure to look “perfect”.”

that is also they way they are wired i.e. that’s what they chose to do as looks are important to women

I like au naturel i.e. no make up as it is less false advertising and not high maintenance

48. “So Black is not about Colour it is about Hair Texture..
    There are Jews with Jewfros..”

VC compliment you on some post made earlier and I agreed with him.
    Now you go and post the above.
    sniff, sniff
    Put away the bong.

49. God just spoke to me and said She wants races to mix and live in love

50. The majority of BU bloggers are Bajan. How many inter-racial marriages are there in Barbados ?

We have more serious issues that we could be discussing.