Submitted by Fatimah Farah Mohammed-Ali

This Trinidad and Tobago Republic Bank “Kern and Alana’s love story” advertisement is an attack on all Black women. Most of us are already struggling to survive as single mothers. Our Black men are often absent fathers in the home which is the main cause of so many of our sons, brothers and nephews being gunned down every day with their blood soiling the streets. Every day, two and three Black men are murdered like dogs. There are few Black role models for our young sons in the home.

And on top of that, you have our young black successful men leaving and making a new home with other women. The bank advertisement shows a fatherless young man living with his granny. He works hard making a backyard garden to eat food in the kitchen. He studies hard at university. He graduates. He buys a car. And after all that sacrifice and care with his grandmother, he gets a job and wants to settle. And who does he choose to marry? Certainly not a black woman. He is too ambitious and bright for that.

Where does this situation leave the Black woman? According to a 2018 U.S. survey, black mothers are four times more likely to be single and serve as the primary breadwinners of their home, as granny is depicted in the advertisement. The headline of a nbcnews item published in 2010 reads: “Blacks struggle with 72 percent unwed mothers rate”. The article begins: “Debate is growing within and outside the black community of how to address the rising rate of unwed mothers. Seventy-two percent of black babies are born to unwed mothers, government statistics say — and changing that is a complex issue.”

There is a clear link shown between family structure and delinquent or gang behaviour. Children who grow up in a single-parent household headed by the mother appear to be most at risk. This finding was published in an article entitled “Black Single Female-Headed Households and their Children’s Involvement in Gangs” published in 1992. These kinds of advertisements are setting a trend and promoting a model that is destructive to the black community with a negative impact on society with respect to an increase in crime by black youths.

See Relevant Links:

https://www.facebook.com/republicbanktnt/videos/571173347999237

334 responses to “That Multi-racial Advertisement is Dangerous to Society”

1. Yeah Afri investment lol…your china’s girl now. I am still trying to get the 40 billion my late unknown nigerian uncle left me. It seems my bank account number I sent so they could deposit the check didnt match with their records

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

lol…am sure they cleaned out what ya had there….

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

read TWICE for clarity and understanding……i will not argue with anyone anymore, said it in an above comment…….any self-destructive proposals…i will agree with….because that is all yall seem to have…and capable of delivering…

good idea….cause i know the first thing they will do is get rid of the useless breathers…yall have only had a couple hundred over the last 6 decades and look how much DAMAGE THEY DID….

“And improve the lot of the “majority black population’?”

getting rid of fools will improve the lot of someone…..not too concerned who once it;s not coming from my end….

why they are so interested in other people’s sex lives, love lives that have nothing to do with them…borders on mental illness….i have never been interested in other people’s personal lives, it’s TACKY, intrusive and very malicious…

4. This commercial caused a racist backlash 9 years ago when Obama was president, back then it was whites protesting

Look how far we have come

5. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

” African Export-Import Bank (Afreximbank) ”

Hants….that bank already put something on the table..

6. Okay. So women instead of men. Who finds it offensive?

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

And look who popped up on the Cheerios video…none other than Damian Marley’s son, Bob’s grandson…giving his dynamic performance for his grandfather’s 77th..

8. Hants,

I can’t be bothered with any of you, of ANY COLOUR.

9. So… who has something against the offspring of inter-racial parents????????

For the last time – marriage is more than sex. You are the mentally ill one who keeps insisting that it is.

Marriage, in most ancient traditions, was not a personal or private thing. Marriage united families, tribes and countries and was mostly arranged to do just that. Whether the marriage was consumated even was EVERYBODY’S BUSINESS.

Even my son knew that and pointed it out to me.

But…..I don’t have to peep into people’s bedrooms. They come out in public and declare themselves married.

It would be bloody stupid not to take into account how a person conducts his/or her private life in judging what type of person they are.

Really bloody stupid!

STEUPSE! OUR PRIVATE LIVES DECLARE WHO WE ARE!

Now, enough of your nonsense for the day!

DUN!

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

people’s private lives are their PRIVATE lives and nothing to OBSESS OVER…

“Per·son·al
    /ˈpərs(ə)nəl/
    adjective

of, affecting, or belonging to a particular person rather than to anyone else:”

Opposite:

“Pub·lic
    /ˈpəblik/
    adjective

of or concerning the people as a whole:

done, perceived, or existing in open view:”

time to get a grip…

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

people definitely better keep their personal business OFF BU…

12. You are right about that Africa. Have you taken hubby out for a walk today, doesn’t that make for a dilemma if he is both black and white.lol

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha….just saw this…

“Russia has Enough Gas Reserves For Next 100 years – Gazprom.”

looks like the population is set.

but in other news, everything has definitely gone to hell in a handbasket.

few will swim, many will sink…survival of the fittest…

14. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Lawson….ya right to laugh.

15. I guess if a man has a wife and I hear him bussin’ she ass, I should consider that their private business too.

Not my marriage. Not my ass. Not my business. Buss’ she till she dead! Not my business.

FOOL!

Who one is wedded to is not a private affair any more than your birth, name or death. ALL REQUIRED TO BE RECORDED BY THE STATE. THE PEOPLE’S STATE.

Stupid!

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

You will interfere in the right marriage one day…

already made a fool of yaself believing you were interfering in mine….that one lasted for years, knew yall had some really serioius issues, but not even me thought it was THAT BAD…

can’t understand how people could have SO MUCH TIME ON THEIR HANDS to be malicious.

17. Hi, play my theme song.
    I am a man of peace but capable of shredding a man to pieces.
    Play my entrance music
    TheOGazerts reporting for duty, Sir.
    https://youtu.be/r81AviZECUE

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

🤣🤣🤣🤣 that is a sickness….holy shit…it just hit me…

but i was equally busy for YEARS with MY BUSINESS….so although i threw BAIT OUT THERE was not paying that much attention to see how deep that sickness ran.

don’t know if they understand it…..but even their weddings are DEFINED BY THE COLONIAL SYSTEM, it was CREATED JUST FOR THEM…

and apparently they use it to interfere in each other’s lives, now i know why these marriages are so HAPHAZARD…filled with VIOLENCE and accusations of all sorts and more often than not NEVER LAST……….these little beasts make it their business to apparently barge into the honeymoon and from there never leave the couple’s lives..

girl, i was the very worse person you could pick for that backwardness…..you have no clue……ya may want to try getting a LIFE OF YOUR OWN..

19. Interfering in a marriage, you ass???

Whose marriage have I interferred in?

Do you know the meaning of the word “interfere”?????

You are one foolish woman, in trut!

Look be off!

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

were i you, i would be ashamed, but i guess, some don’t even have that decency..

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

btw…there have been tons of accusations FOR YEARS ON END…that there is a wife beater and abuser in the parliament…why don’t you go DO SOMETHING ABOUT THAT…

22. By the way, are you suggesting that a woman has no life without a man?????

How backward is that?

I didn’t read your whole post, so I missed that piece.

Oh dear! What an ass you are!

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

You have NO LIFE, if the ONLY LIFE you have….is interfering in marriages and relationships…..OTHER PEOPLE’S CHOICES which are none of your business…..

…you are definitely going to mess with the right people one day…ya can’t help yaself…

were i a man…wouldn’t want you..

24. Accusations! Am I a private detective? I was referring to what I see and know not what I hear rumours about?

The representative I voted for has no such allegations against them, you complete ass!

Ashamed of what, you annoyance?

Look, go and call the husband you say you have! Stop trying to prolong the conversation. I have more of a life than you do, it seems, because I am not bored enough to want to continue to engage with you. But you keep making these crazy accusations to provoke a response. What could be the reason? Have you nothing better to do?

Always threatening people as though you have power. Now what could your stupid ass do to me, fool?

STEUPSE !

SHOO FLY!

25. Were I a pig, wouldn’t want you!

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

We should now wonder when the government will ACTUALLY give the Afrikan population the information they need to SURVIVE THIS MESS…

..and WHEN they will put the ROUNDED education in the schools that this and future generations WILL NEED TO SURVIVE MOVING FORWARD…

..all without being underneath TIEFING CORRUPT MINORITIES…

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

If they could take information INTENDED for the Afrikan population and GIVE TO CROOKS…..they should give the people what they ARE ENTITLED TO….

let’s see if the people sit back and allow them to DRIVE THEM INTO MORE DEPENDENCY on thieves…

28. @ TheOGazerts

The great Maynard Fergusson.Canadian eh.

29. “There was a [Caucasian man] who went through his ancestry and realised that one of his ancestors was from Ireland, but married a black woman from the Foster Hall Plantation here. It was only then that he understood many of the things his father did throughout his life.

30. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha….Kush arrived.

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TLSN…check out the Telegraph and an article on the British Empire today’s article..

32. @African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved August 31, 2022 1:25 PM “people definitely better keep their personal business OFF BU.”

You really ought to have taken your own advice.

33. Marriage is NOT private business. It never has been, Every culture, ever religion, every country that I have ever heard of require marriage ceremonies to take place in PUBLIC, in the presence of multiple witnesses. Every literate society requires that a WRITTEN record of the marriage is lodged with the PUBLIC and/or religious authorities.

34. @Donna August 31, 2022 4:03 PM ‘Interfering in a marriage, you ass??? Whose marriage have I interferred in?”

She seems to believe that you were trying to t’ief she swibbly old man.

Don’t know what you would do with him if you “succeeded”

35. World A Music
    Out in the streets they call it murder
    Out of Many One
    Cindy Breakspeare was crowned Miss World 1976 and Jr Gong Damian Marley was born 1978

His musical works is arguably not as good as his Daddy’s or that of Peter and Bunny the other parts of the 3 Wailers, but he has become a successful legal ganja planter and entrepreneur who bought control of “High Times” so his Pops would have been proud of the boy

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_GZlJGERbvE

Mixed marriages in politics should be considered in context of each politicians beliefs and policies where their politics are not correct.
    There are many token coconuts in the nasty party of UK Conservatives with questionable marriages and Clarence Thomas’ and wife is also a nasty piece of work. But, I see no evidence Yearwood is selling out his race by crossing the tracks going to the other side of town.

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Too Trusting”

“Gorbachev trusted Too Much” – former CIA officer”

Pacha….i totally see how this happened.

The asses are the ones believe they are STILL INVOLVED IN MY MARRIAGE…..and still don’t know what’s going on around them…or HOW IT’S IMPACTING THEM……..because everybody’s business they believe is their own…

some people get married and NO ONE EVEN KNOWS….

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

If you don’t have A FIRM GRIP on the situation regarding ya welfare, well-being and FUTURE….ya int worth shit…cause ya too busy in other people’s private lives……

38. I ain’t saying nothing about nothing about some such ticklish subject matter

“Getting down to the Nitty Gritty”
    was a popular idiom with the Jolly Old Brits
    But it’s true meaning has been lost along the way
    and you will never find it on google search
    But I man shall reveal the real deal
    it means fucking a black woman
    and comes from the slave ships
    white folks have watered it down
    and will try to say it means
    the gunk at the bottom of the ship
    after washing the “slaves” wenches
    so they are so fresh and clean
    before they are fucked by sailors
    frigging in the rigging
    as there is fuck all else to do

39. “And on top of that, you have our young black successful men leaving and making a new home with other women. The bank advertisement shows a fatherless young man living with his granny. He works hard making a backyard garden to eat food in the kitchen. He studies hard at university. He graduates. He buys a car. And after all that sacrifice and care with his grandmother, he gets a job and wants to settle. And who does he choose to marry? Certainly not a black woman. He is too ambitious and bright for that.”

Too late for me to go back and read all of the comments and when I was here I previously I was very focused and yet distracted,

The statements above are just on black men. I dislike when we start the unnecessary division of our men and our women. it is true that there may be underlying issues between them, but inter-racial relationship also includes the black woman marrying others.

It is necessary to add the following …
    Note: For some the above may contain trigger words, but clearly it does not take a stance on one side of the other. It is not for or against.

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

BU has become too divisive…and gradually got that way even when there were multiple warnings…..

..this is the time for unity and inclusion…..and when i say that IT DOES NOT INCLUDE INSERTING YASELVES IN EACH OTHER’S PRIVATE LIVES…

..learn to separate the serious from the superficial…..if ya can.

have no clue where they got the anti-social idea that they are entitled to make choices for other people..

41. I do not want to join the battle on one side or the other (black men vs black women) but if you look on social media you can see young black men and women launching what I consider as viicious attacks on the opposite sex. This is not productive and often reinforces negative stereotypes.

A bad relationship with one individual does not mean you should apply the same outcome to all future relationships and start labelling others of the same group. It is a fact that people (men and women) will lie, cheat, steal and even murder. You will encounter one or more of these during your passage here, but that doesn’t mean you should condemn a whole group based on a few ugly experiences.

And we need to stop the negative phrases
    N word
    “crabs in a barrel”
    Blacks don’t buy from blacks

a whole lot of negative nonsense that we eventually drill into our children. Those are phrases that divide.

42. These are phrases to describe a behaviour that is being demonstrated. No cover up. If you come to BU to discuss issues and instead prefer to froth all day about black people on a 2×3 island who are ignorant, corrupt, jokers, buffoons etc, the blogmaster reserves the right to describe the condition for what it is – CRABS IN A BARREL!

43. I try to be a good person, but at times I make mistakes.
    I try to walk away, but there are times when you have to say to hell with it and blast away.

Yesterday, I saw my name mentioned twice early in the morning, but I did not reply.
    What I said the night before was done and over and not really worth repeating.

When the day is over and a new day begins, leave the old fights behind.
    Fight if you must, but don’t let it carry on over several days.
    —————xxx——————–
    Have a great day
    L8r g8rs

44. To be clear.
    That was not meant as personal attack.
    And others besides you use the phrase.
    I should have stopped there, but the devil in me must add .. who the shoe fits 🙂

45. Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol Avatar
    Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol

“And on top of that, you have our young black successful men leaving and making a new home with other women. The bank advertisement shows a fatherless young man living with his granny. He works hard making a backyard garden to eat food in the kitchen. He studies hard at university. He graduates. He buys a car. And after all that sacrifice and care with his grandmother, he gets a job and wants to settle. And who does he choose to marry? Certainly not a black woman. He is too ambitious and bright for that.”

[I best chose my words carefully when there are bitches around]

Reading between the lines of this false advertising storyline with some next level intuitive intelligence and gut feel which never lies
    This Black male model actor look’s gayish there are several inverts in the acting industry
    [No Homo]

46. Me no like Dem
    Dem no like me

School Days aka Big Red Bum Ball
    Remember when we were at school
    You were my playmate
    Teacher taught the Golden Rule
    To love one another like sister and brother
    That is right. It is so right.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VVKbhnmzsNo

47. Under Heavy Manners
    One Golden Rule to use in polite public discourse or conversation socially mingling is not to discuss race religion or politics or join in with others doing so. BU is found guilty on 3 counts of these 3 rules and not following polite protocol. Social media ain’t social and civil war ain’t civil.

When they don’t like someone’s song lyrics play them the album

48. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Unfortunately, there has been so much time-wasting over the years, that now people have to ask questions they should already have all the answers for..

am wondering how Heather is coming along with her site…am sure she is appreciating the intensity involved, success is the end result..,,have not seen her in ages.

too busy to be bothered with the mediocre mind games that never go anywhere, preparing my WP site for coders it seems like months now, lots of work to keep myself gainfully occupied……

..everyone should be totally FOCUSED ONLY ON their welfare seeing as the news is getting more and more concerning……no matter what language used, if ya INT PREPARED…that’s on you..

49. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Michael Holding says people must ‘call out’ and ’embarrass’ racists”

i posted this on here last year, but people are more interested in calling out and attempting to embarrass each other, no matter how much IT FAILS…….while giving racists and corrupt politicians who enable all of it a pass…

guess it’s still not a priority…