Submitted by Fatimah Farah Mohammed-Ali

This Trinidad and Tobago Republic Bank “Kern and Alana’s love story” advertisement is an attack on all Black women. Most of us are already struggling to survive as single mothers. Our Black men are often absent fathers in the home which is the main cause of so many of our sons, brothers and nephews being gunned down every day with their blood soiling the streets. Every day, two and three Black men are murdered like dogs. There are few Black role models for our young sons in the home.

And on top of that, you have our young black successful men leaving and making a new home with other women. The bank advertisement shows a fatherless young man living with his granny. He works hard making a backyard garden to eat food in the kitchen. He studies hard at university. He graduates. He buys a car. And after all that sacrifice and care with his grandmother, he gets a job and wants to settle. And who does he choose to marry? Certainly not a black woman. He is too ambitious and bright for that.

Where does this situation leave the Black woman? According to a 2018 U.S. survey, black mothers are four times more likely to be single and serve as the primary breadwinners of their home, as granny is depicted in the advertisement. The headline of a nbcnews item published in 2010 reads: “Blacks struggle with 72 percent unwed mothers rate”. The article begins: “Debate is growing within and outside the black community of how to address the rising rate of unwed mothers. Seventy-two percent of black babies are born to unwed mothers, government statistics say — and changing that is a complex issue.”

There is a clear link shown between family structure and delinquent or gang behaviour. Children who grow up in a single-parent household headed by the mother appear to be most at risk. This finding was published in an article entitled “Black Single Female-Headed Households and their Children’s Involvement in Gangs” published in 1992. These kinds of advertisements are setting a trend and promoting a model that is destructive to the black community with a negative impact on society with respect to an increase in crime by black youths.

See Relevant Links:

https://www.facebook.com/republicbanktnt/videos/571173347999237

334 responses to “That Multi-racial Advertisement is Dangerous to Society”

1. The Pork Chop Patrol
    The Stand Up Comedian in Comedy Club Amateur Night would be upset to learn the genetic DNA link between pigs and Sweaty Scots is 98% and remaining 2% is neanderthal.

2. David,

So…. why was high brown considered higher status again?

And NO I am not being emotional. There is NOTHING more rational than my argument.

You guys are hilarious!

3. @Donna

It is a stereotyping around social status and seeking by vested agents. Thankfully it is being deconstructed but it will take time.

4. One problem with face bleaching is the rest of the body is a darker shade of black

5. @Donna

The unpacking and deconstruction is a work in progress. We are not there yet. James Balwin is a good follow.

https://youtu.be/NUBh9GqFU3A

6. HA Dub you said you dont read me your actions belie you. your issue is not to much pigment just too much pig Theo sees you.
    What about the millions of whites each year that come down to get darker …cant we all just get a thong

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

This is an experience someone had that HIGHLIGHTED THE SOCIAL DESTRUCTION at its most COMPLETE stage in Barbados…

the person lived in US for quite a few years, lived through quite a few winters which causes the blood vessels to HIDE DEEPLY TO PROTECT THEMSELVES…in so doing IT LIGHTENS THE SKIN…..especially when there is a load of European ancestry involved…..

anyway, the person returned to Barbados, all the people they knew wanted to be seen with them, the person had NO CLUE WHY….and actually THOUGHT IT WAS GENUINE…

about a year later….the blood vessels that were hiding from those brutal winters in US, took their rightful place just under the surface of the skin WELCOMING THE WARMTH and HEALTHINES OF THE CARIBBEAN SUN…and DARKENED THE SKIN TO ITS NATURAL STATE AS IT SHOULD…..no wanted to be seen with them anymore…because they had certainly now GOTTEN TO BLACK…

that is the social destruction of the AFRIKAN MIND in Barbados in all ITS UGLY..

8. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

NO ONE wanted to be seen with them anymore…because they had certainly now GOTTEN TO BLACK…

9. “HA Dub you said you dont read me your actions belie you. your issue is not to much pigment just too much pig Theo sees you.
    What about the millions of whites each year that come down to get darker …cant we all just get a thong”

Did I say that I don’t remember
    See if you can step to this Now try to do this step (Back to the lab)
    The problem you and Theo face is you are not as intelligent and at a lower level lose every argument and have to go back to the lab to develop your dumbness

10. Aha! Here is Lawson to watch you hot airbag AfriKan priders in all your glory!

He must find it all so amusing since HE wouldn’t be marrying any of the poor black women youall would leave behind, struggling to survive!

Lawson,

I told you then that your millionaire basket ballers were mentally enslaved.

Thing is, I don’t need the archives to seek out my European blood. My told me quite recently that her grandmother was “white”. Always heard the story of the white blood but never asked how close it was. It didn’t matter.

Explains my grandfather’s “pretty hair”. GP would have to tell me if it also explains the auburn hair and freckles that pop up on that side of my family.

My grandmother who married him also had “pretty” long hair.

My grandfather and my father never had full kinky hair. Neither do I.

So what do I do with that information? I am happy as a black woman. This does not elevate me in my own eyes. I am interested more in tracing my African roots.

So is my son, who looked like a white man’s child at birth but gradually darkened to “brown skin”. Eyes still light brown, I only recently realised.

But we BLACK and proud and we saying it loud!

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

no wanted to be seen with them anymore…because they had certainly now GOTTEN TOO BLACK…

the destruction of the Afrikan mind in Barbados is TOTAL…

and no amount of pretty words can change that…they have to LOOK DEEPLY WITH THEMSELVES and CHANGE THEMSELVES…

they can thank their DANGEROUS JUDAS POLITICIANS for that lack of important information/EDUCATION…wickedly and MALICIOUSLY hidden from them for the last 100 YEARS…

12. James Baldwin is not new to me. But I know what I know. It has its roots in the idea of CAUCASIAN superiority.

I have listened to people when they speak. I speak to random people I meet. It is still out there, this inferiority complex.

Can anybody remember what Bob Marley’s wife looked like?

Smooth skin darkie! He did cheat and have a child with a white woman BUT RITA WAS HIS WIFE.

I wonder why!

13. LOOKS like, ’cause she is still alive.

14. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

that child Bob had with the white female is Damian…extremely talented and embraced by Rita and the whole Marley clan….she never denied not one of his children…… as the real woman and Afrikan QUEEN she is and steadfastly stood up for each of his bloodline…

Damian’s son, Bob’s grandson is awesomely talented, young kid, got him on my site performing incredibily.

again, all in the mindset…..Rita knows that..

15. Dub,

Many bleach the whole body. They do a full body wrap in Jamaica. I do not know for sure if they do it here.

Those tan just know that tanned skin looks better. They ain’t trying to be black.

Look at Donald Trump, he “tans” or “bronzes”, doesn’t he?

Looks terrible but he looks like a plucked chicken without it. Guess he can’t stand looking like a plucked chicken.

But we KNOW he ain’t trying to be black!

NOBODY is trying to be black. They are simply trying to imitate the aspects that look better to them, slightly fuller lips etc. White people don’t have any.

16. Donna when I was younger I wouldn’t have used you for your vegetables I wouldn’t have used you for your money I would have used you as a surfboard so let’s just agree Color doesn’t really matter in the grand scheme of things

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

It’s only the extremely backward, indoctrinated and MENTALLY RAVAGED trying NOT TO BE Afrikan while REFUSING to EMBRACE THE TRUTH ABOUT THEIR ANCESTRY…

Lawson….Barbados is heavily COLOR-CODED, Slave Codes still in effect…. and they CAN’T GET OVER IT….education would help….but only if they are willing…and if the parliament JUDASES GET RID of the Slave Laws and Slave Codes…..that they GUARD so dearly and jealously.

that has been the struggle for years….getting them to REMOVE THESE CRIME SCENES THAT THEY SEE AS A GATEWAY TO SELF-ENRICHMENT…..and not the fact that removing them would FREE THEIR PEOPLE…from this collage of mental misery..

18. In the 60s, 70s even the 80s the ESTABLISHMENT manipulated the system to ensure desks at the airlines, banks, other prominent businesses etc recruited high brown accepted attendants. Part of the establishment was the media. This is when the stereotyping was normed into the psyche of many Blacks. This is one example, many other covert approaches were used and continue to this day.

19. The only point that Bu “people” should agree on and to build on is..

“Racists are Scum”

So let’s take it from there

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

In fact….all of that they keep as WEAPONS against the Afrikan population, so that others can practice racism, TIEF and BENEFIT……..should be CRIMINALIZED….but we can watch them going forward to see what sleight of hand they apply….while they and the country SINK TO THE VERY BOTTOM…

KARMA and RETRIBUTION..

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Once the Afrikan populaton come to the understanding that all the Black self-hatred on the island is the FAULT of the parliament TRAITORS and REMOVE THEMSELVES from their orbit…..to save THE MINDS and MENTAL HEALTH of this and incoming generations…. or it will NEVER END, once there is corruption and BRIBERY OBLIGATIONS TO FULFILL.

that is THEIR PRIORITY and has been for 4 GENERATIONS…they will never end it voluntarily unless FORCED TO…

22. Of course, colour SHOULDN’T matter. It is ALL SILLY!

It wouldn’t matter to me at all if it didn’t matter to the world.

Fact is that it has been made to matter. It can be determine LIFE or DEATH in many, many, many ways.

There’s nobody going to look out for us black folk and make it all go away. Therefore it is up to US to insulate and uplift ourselves as much as possible.

How do we do this? By uniting and sticking together to combine our forces to forge a path for ourselves in this world that is SO OBVIOUSLY against us.

We who are of PREDOMINANTLY AFRICAN DESCENT, have no friends in this world. We must be our own friends. We must be close-knit. We must close ranks…the same way that the other people close ranks. We must help EACH OTHER up from being dead LAST in EVERYBODY ELSE’S pecking order.

23. Donna August 31, 2022 6:20 AM

Last/last

RE: “But how do you know that the women who take offence at black men marrying white women are the same ones who defend the rights of women to make do what they want with their bodies even to the extent of remaking themselves in the image of the European idea of beauty?”

“WE,” in my comment, is NOT a SPECIFIC REFERENCE to “women who take offence at black men marrying white women…..”

I made the comment referring to the ‘SAMPLE’ of the ‘population,’ (men and women)……that hold the opinion women are free to bleach their skins etc…… “all in attempt to look as close to Caucasian as they possibly can,”…… but, “find it offensive when they marry Caucasian men.”

RE: “Has it occurred to you that these women who bleach their skin and wear Indian hair weave may do so because they know the preference of men?”

Yes, I am AWARE of what you outlined in your above comments.
    However, I am NOT referring to those persons.

But, then again, I remember you ‘saying,’ “DONNA IS FREE TO INTERPRET IT AS SHE PLEASES AND TO HAVE HER OPINION….”

So, it is upon that basis I believe we should ‘agree to disagree.’

24. William Skinner Avatar

“I believe in recognizing every human being as a human being–neither white, black, brown, or red; and when you are dealing with humanity as a family there’s no question of integration or intermarriage. It’s just one human being marrying another human being or one human being living around and with another human being.”
    ― Malcolm X

25. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…OUR bloodlines ARE TOO DIVERSE for anything else..

26. My silly statement.
    Race is complicated. A phrase that I have seen used regularly is ‘crabs in a barrel’.

It is one of the worse stereotypes that there is. We need to clean up our own language before stepping on the soapbox.

27. William Skinner Avatar

@ WARU
    There is a reason that I try very hard not to use personal examples in discussions. I think Professor Barriteau recently alluded to this point.
    Like I said earlier, it is really irrelevant whom a person chooses to marry. I am no relationship expert but there are many people in mixed marriages who will say that they never expected to marry outside of their race.
    I did not know that when a Brother or Sister married outside our race that this was a traitorous act. I always thought that decision was one made by them for them.
    I guess that Obama’s father committed such an act and that he should have married an African.
    I also never knew that marrying outside the race was a rejection of Black men or Black women.
    So, apparently marrying outside the race makes one whiter and marrying within the race makes one blacker.
    In a funny way , I think that we should be a bit more careful when quoting Kofi Annan, who said that , Barbados was punching above its weight. The Brother was married to a white woman. So, he obviously was on his way to becoming white. Yuh gotta to wary of such Brothers.

28. LAST

Your question was (paraphrased) – how can we take offence at black men marrying white women and then assert that women are free to change their appearance to look Caucasian.

Your question only makes sense if those who take offence are the same persons who assert the women’s freedom to adjust their appearance.

Are you okay? You are not your normal self lately. Concentration problems?

P.S. I assert the right to hold my opinions IF THEY MAKE SENSE.

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“I did not know that when a Brother or Sister married outside our race that this was a traitorous act. I always thought that decision was one made by them for them.”

it only bothers malicious gossipy people…..their bloodlines tell their own tale that most of them know nothing about…and if they did would immediately shut up…

‘crabs in a barrel’.

it’s a very serious MENTAL DILEMMA……not dissimilar to BLACK SELF-HATRED that needs ERADICATING from every Afrikan society….especially in Barbados….it contributes SIGNIFICANTLY to generational poverty….which is already a thing because of SYSTEMIC BLACK OPPRESSION and DISENFRANCHISEMENT…..that TRAITOR governments enable and allow..

“in a funny way , I think that we should be a bit more careful when quoting Kofi Annan, who said that , Barbados was punching above its weight. The Brother was married to a white woman. ”

could you imagine that…the brother made an off the cuff remark and 15 YEARS LATER they can’t get over it….and made it PUKE WORTHY…..but he was the head of the UN at that time, so they would bleed it dry…the social climbing FRAUDS…

they don’t care that his wife is white, they TIEF a throw away remark and still KILLING US WITH IT…

but let someone they HATE who is married to someone other than a black person say it and they would ostracize that person and their future generations…the ARROGANCE and IGNORANCE is miles deep…

30. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…..what’s very funny, is that the white wife probably wrote many of his speeches…..that’s what the wives and husbands of these famous types usually do…

31. Excuses, excuses, excuses!

I, LIKE MALCOLM X, BELIEVE THAT THE WORLD SHOULD SEE IT THAT WAY.

BUT IT DOESN’T NOW, DOES IT?

ALL OVER THE PLACE TALKING BLACK THIS AND BLACK THAT BUT NOW WE ARE ALL ONE, BEING SO DIVERSE IN OUR BLOODLINES.

So then, it matters not that the predominantly European descended Barbadians and predominantly Indian and Syrian descended Barbadians receive the patronage of the predominantly African politicians and the majority black (are we still black?) population.

Because we all share bloodlines and so we all are human beings.

You people argue in circles! HILARIOUS!

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

from day 1…i have ALWAYS dealt with the CRIMINALITY……of racism, oppression, disenfranchisement, suppression, THEFTS OF ESTATES, VAT, TAX DOLLARS AND PENSION MONEY from the Afrikan population……by criminal MINORITIES and the frauds for governments who enable, support and PROTECT them….for THEIR CUT…

which has NOTHING to do with who marries whom…

ya have to learn to COMPARTMENTALIZE ISSUES….

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha……years and years of this….it’s a good thing i have other systems in place.

what use is the miseducating system except to keep them going AROUND AND AROUND IN CIRCLES…if they don’t JUMP OFF…dog will eat what little dinner is left….that the THIEVES have not already parked offshore…

but we have told them repeatedly, and still……

34. COMPARTMENTALISE MY FOOT!

The trouble with black people is that they are the only ones who do it!

STEUPSE! WUNNUH TOOOOO FUNNY!

35. Enough of you jokers for the day! You all ain’t serious!

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

This is what happens when you DON’T COMPARTMENTALIZE SERIOUS ISSUES…they get taken out of context…i saw this earlier but only just read it..

“Meghan marrying a white prince doesn’t compare to overcoming apartheid, says Mandela’s grandson
    Hannah Furness – Yesterday 15:26

A grandson of Nelson Mandela has said the wedding of Meghan Markle and Prince Harry can “never be compared” to the historic release of the anti-apartheid campaigner from jail, speaking of his “surprise” at the two being linked in a recent interview by the Duchess of Sussex.
    Zwelivelile ‘Mandla’ Mandela, an MP, said the 1990 release of his grandfather from prison after 27 years was “based on overcoming 350 years of colonialism with 60 years of a brutal apartheid regime in South Africa”.

“So it cannot be equated to as the same,” he said. “It can never be compared to the celebration of someone’s wedding.”

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…we don’t even have to do anything like arguing or convincing like we spent SO MANY YEARS DOING BEFORE…

…..HISTORY and REALITY can both speak very clearly, VERY LOUDLY…..and convincingly for themselves…these days..

these are now the times we are living in…

trying to get off of bed rest so i can spend more time writing…can’t waste any more of it or energy on the crazy……

38. The problem here may not be a lack of compartmentalization, but that the duchess is taken seriously by many people.

One of the issues of concern is the many issues that Barbados faces. Though we make general statement at times, we tend to do a lot of compartmentalization. The slow pace of justice, no sunshine laws, NIS …. tend to be treated as separate issues, when they all represent the failure of an irresponsive government.

I don’t know how we can patch all, but fixing one item at a time is not the solution.

39. I will soare you typos and bad grammar and start using a computer in future

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“we tend to do a lot of compartmentalization. The slow pace of justice, no sunshine laws, NIS …. tend to be treated as separate issues, when they all represent the failure of an irresponsive government.”

that is NOT compartmentalizing….that’s a CORRUPT SYSTEM..misused for just that purpose..

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

there is this lawyer, still alive in his 90s….he told us for DECADES….that the problems in Barbados….stem primarily from THE CORRUPT SYSTEM…..he repeated it like a mantra….trying to get people to understand, of course we DID NOT UNTIL NOW…

unfortunately, he now has dementia and don’t understand that we FINALLY GOT IT…too late for the people if they DO NOT REMOVE THEMSELVES..

42. Bring on the 80,000 from wherever! How about more Syrians!

43. “Your question was (paraphrased) – how can we take offence at black men marrying white women and then assert that women are free to change their appearance to look Caucasian.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~

IF your above comments was directed to me, perhaps you may want to INDICATE WHERE, in my original contribution, I ASKED ANY QUESTIONS pertaining to “how can we take offence at black men marrying white women and then assert that women are free to change their appearance to look Caucasian?”

44. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Bring on the 80,000 from wherever! How about more Syrians!”

good idea….cause i know the first thing they will do is get rid of the useless breathers…yall have only had a couple hundred over the last 6 decades and look how much DAMAGE THEY DID….

45. And improve the lot of the “majority black population’?

The same Syrians yuh always cussing?

Murdaaaaah!

46. In the INTEREST of CLARITY, below is my original contribution:

“Women are free to bleach their skins, straighten their hair or wear blonde wigs, wear blue or green contact lens, nose and lip surgery…… all in attempt to look as close to Caucasian as they possibly can……

…… but, we find it offensive when THEY (women) marry CAUCASIAN MEN.”

The above is a DEFINITIVE STATEMENT, and NOT a QUESTION.

To ‘say’ I ASKED, whether paraphrased or not, “– how can we take offence at BLACK MEN marrying WHITE WOMEN”……

…… is a BLATANT MISREPRESENTATION of me stating, “……but, we find it offensive when THEY (women) marry CAUCASIAN MEN,”……

TWO COMPLETELY DIFFERENT ARGUMENTS.

47. Let it be hearby known that I have never expressed hatred of any “brother” or “sister” who marries outside of their race! Neither have I branded them a traitor.

It is their choice to marry and my choice to hold my opinion on their choice. But my opinion does not extend to hatred or treachery.

What I have said, (and who doan like up could lump um), is that I find it suspect and I will not be voting for anyone who does so. What I have said is that I find it strange that people who jump up and down all day, talking about being proud of Afrikan heritage, believe that finding someone who shares it, to share their life with is unimportant. I would find it suspicious that people who care so much about black people could not find that black person to shower with the ultimate care.

I will always be suspicious of such people who talk the talk but don’t walk the walk in their private lives.

48. Bad things always happen in three over the decades that can be linked 60 years of apartheid,350 and years of colonialism and didnt megham lose a button off her best top

49. @ Donna who wrote ” who care so much about black people could not find that black person to shower with the ultimate care.”

I hope you found yours.lol

50. @ Donna,

Barbados welcomed its first direct Ethiopian Airlines flight from Lagos, Nigeria this morning as the island prepares to host the first ever AfriCaribbean Trade and Investment Forum

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/08/31/delegates-arrive-for-major-investment-conference/