Congratulations to Prime Minister Mia Mottley for being recognized by TIMES Magazine as one of The 100 Influential People of 2022. Based on reports the rationale for recommending Mottley for the award was penned by ย Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, director-general of the World Trade Organization.

The hope is that Mottley will be able to leverage her burgeoning global brand to improve regional and domestic economies. In recent times Barbadians have not had many high points to celebrate, the recognition of one of our own is a step in the right direction and should assist in bolstering bajan pride which took a hit in recent years.

#congratspmmottley

535 responses to “Prime Minister Mia Mottley Named in Top 100 Most Influential People of 2022”

1. Someone mentioned the UN our pussy has been angling for that for a while

2. William Skinner Avatar

@ DPD
    I guess if you canโ€™t fly, sail or swim home, you shouldnโ€™t vote.
    Peace

3. Donna is not 100% against us voting

โ€œUnless the allocation is for one diaspora seat which affords only a literal VOICE in parliament,โ€

4. Quote is from Donna comment

5. TheO,

Of course, some felt it differently. Many party supporters shared in the fatted calf. Others hoped to in the near future. They hold out no such hope from the other party.

Anyway, there is no present scandal as big as the Cahill scandal. That one still seems unreal to me. That one would have sunk us. We are still afloat. So yes, there is a difference between the last government and the current government. Bad, worse, worst still obtains even if not good, better, best.

Vaccine scam does not equal Cahill scam.

P.S. I do not get any barrels or remittances. I do not want any barrels or remittances so the lowdown remarks do not apply to me. The remittances are sent to benefit your families. Not to benefit me. The day your families are not here, you will stop sending your barrels and remittances.

6. Some people still think that changing the system will eradicate corruption.

I believe only in minimising corruption. It is impossible to eradicate corruption as long as human beings are running the system -ANY DAMN SYSTEM.

Minimising corruption is a daily battle. The struggle will NEVER be over!

7. I have lived in this island for more than half of a century and I have never felt as depressed about Barbados as I did under the last DLP administration.

As much as we are struggling now, and even under the terrible setbacks of the last few years, I am happy that there is a new government in the driver’s seat.

If the same government was in office during these turbulent times I shudder to think what would have happened to us.

I know that many of you were extremely concerned about Barbados in those terrible years, as you are now but can any of you say that you were depressed?

There was a pall over the island at that time, a funereal atmosphere, a sense of hopelessness that is not quite present now, no matter what the hardships.

He who feels it knows it. We who felt it pelt anudder 30:o in dem tails!

If you want to vote in constituencies badly enough you will make it here. If you have no presence at all in a constituency why are you voting there.

I have to vote in the constituency in which I LIVE. Why should you be any different? That seems like a special privilege to me.

8. Magnificent a.k.a Magno โ€“ Yu Heard Formula: Cโ‚‚โ‚Hโ‚ƒโ‚€Oโ‚‚ IUPAC ID: (โˆ’)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol Avatar
    Magnificent a.k.a Magno โ€“ Yu Heard Formula: Cโ‚‚โ‚Hโ‚ƒโ‚€Oโ‚‚ IUPAC ID: (โˆ’)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol

“Minimising corruption is a daily battle.”

like exercise you do what you can
    a little effort is good
    more is more better
    and lot more is best

USA has been battling corruption
    drug wars
    terror wars
    anti-money laundering wars
    but they still have biggest problems of drugs, crime syndicates and corruption in power

there is a demand which is met by supply where money oils the wheels for motion
    if there is food and fuel shortages people will have to pay more to get what they need

9. Unless an individual relinquishes their citizenship or engage in illegalities
    An individual right to vote is a guaranteed right within the Constitution under the laws of democracy
    In Jan our Supreme Leader took.it upon herself to overule that law and many voices remained silent and accepted that selfish indignation as a right to do
    Those living in the diaspora are not stepchildren or foster children
    Those living in the diaspora when called upon to help govt in time of need step forward
    Those living in the diaspora pay taxes when visiting the island or in other ways and manner
    Those living in the diaspora should not be on bended knees asking begging or pleaing with govt for a right to vote
    Residing in another country does not take away that right by any means necessary
    Legal right of being a citizen has not changed
    What has changed are a people consumed with self interest even if it means being governed by laws rules that takes away their Constitutional rights
    ๐Ÿ˜”

10. #BlackLivesMatter Vocals
    The straw that broke the devil’s back was named George Floyd
    We Canโ€™t Take No More (Enuff, Enuff, Enuff)

11. Individuals having a mindset that allows them to belive that taking away persons Constitutional rights in any shape form or manner especially if there is no real concern by.which the country or people would be harmed within that said mentality lies a dangerous thought process that enables govt to overrides Constitutional laws and rewrites with impunity what govt belives is best for a country
    This dangerous approach has been fought tooth and nail against for people to have rights now today one realizes that a few fringes are still left to be fought against as the call for voters rights in barbadians living in the diaspora are being met with all types of asinine excuses by those whose thought process by pass the laws written within the Constitution and introduces what they belive is right
    ๐Ÿ˜”

12. William Skinner Avatar

This is not about your or my feelings about the Democratic Labour Party or the Barbados Labour Party. This is about Barbadians.
    You are speaking as if overseas voters will only vote for the Democratic Labour Party.
    You keep harping on what would have happened if this or that had happened . You donโ€™t know.. Simply as that.
    The electorate dealt with Stuart and Company as they have voted in or out each party from time time. That is how Democratic works.
    Your argument is weak and you will deny others to have the right to vote simply because the entire country had a poor government between 2008/2018
    You are of the opinion that the voice of Barbadian citizens should be silenced in expressing their rights to vote because they donโ€™t live on the island.
    You cannot overlook the millions upon millions of dollars and other skills that our brothers and sisters contribute to their homeland and they do it regardless of whom is in power.
    In straight forward language : Barbados belongs to all of us and all of us must have a say. This is not about Stuart, Mottley or whoever went before or whomever will come in the future..
    No Barbadian citizen living at home or elsewhere is responsible for poor governance. We all must have the opportunity to vote .
    You are no soothsayer and you donโ€™t know if one of these days there will be a worst government than the one you keep lamenting about.โ€™
    You are just a citizen and so is every other Barbadian and they deserve every right you have.
    Barbadians dealt with Stuart and Company twice and when they are ready they will deal with Mia and Company or whomever they would have to deal with at the ballot..

13. Cabinet okays Constitution Reform Commission
    Cabinet has approved the establishment of a Constitution Reform Commission to recommend changes to the constitution given Barbadosโ€™ Republic status.
    Attorney General, Dale Marshall, revealed that retired judge Christopher Blackman was the chairman and that the other members of the commission will soon receive their warrants.
    He stated: โ€œWe have agreed to the composition of that commission. So we are embarking on a process of constitutional reform. All of the persons who we recommended for appointment have been contacted and have agreed to serve and therefore the Cabinet Secretary is now in the process of liaising with Her Excellency for the preparation and signing of those warrants.โ€
    Marshall explained that persons would be appointed under a special instrument called a warrant of appointment.
    โ€œI am hopeful that those things will all be accomplished
    between now and the middle of June,โ€ he said adding that the team was anxious to get the job done.
    In relation to the much anticipated breathalyser testing, Marshall said it was still on hold.
    Important things
    โ€œThere are a number of things that we consider important before we put that initiative in place. We are ready for it; we have all the equipment for it and there is training that has been done for it,โ€ he said, adding that it was โ€œvitally important for us to make sure that all the elements of the public transport system are working because when people go out they have to be able to get back homeโ€.
    Marshall stated: โ€œIf we donโ€™t make sure that those things are done right what will happen is that people would try a thing and we donโ€™t want them to have that opportunity; we donโ€™t want them to have that excuse and therefore we are putting all of those measures in place.โ€ (MB)

14. Presently.Barbados being a Republic does not have a Constitution representing the changes which govt proposed to made within the tenets of a new Constitution
    Presently all legislation written reflects the old Constituion which begs the question if and when the new Constitution is written how would the laws written reflect what is being written in the new Constitution
    Presently the govt is not fully constituted as written in the Constitution
    An election called during a pandemic
    People’s right overruled by govt intent
    How would such measures be handled or written within law of the new Constitution if barbdos intends to be seen as a country guided by democratic law
    Govt has already pulled the lever downward against democratic laws
    Yet there are people asking govt to pull.the lever further downward away from a democractic process ๐Ÿค”

15. The country is presently operating under the pre republic constitution with an amendment which installed a local head to replace the Queen soon to be King of England. There were also a few changes that saw the name of the police force and others changed to delete the word ROYAL. It is misleading to suggest otherwise.

16. Wouldn’t it have been better if the change to Republic was dealt within a frame work directed by good governance with a construct that provided clarity of and within purpose for country and people instead of a half-assed knee jerked laws and ammendments
    The people are tired of what is and what is meant to be
    Barbados became a Republic which in many minds was legacy driven
    That is the problem and a problem which leads to suspicious motives

17. “That is the problem and a problem which leads to suspicious motives”

Nobody gives your complaints any considerations as your motives methods opportunities are known to be bad minded, and detract from promoting DLP regardless of their new efforts to repair the damage done to their credibility.

Troll farms are paid per post not quality of argument content and result in irritating spam noise dishonest twisting of truths.

18. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved

Again…WHY do these basic rights of Black people born on the island but immigrate due to stagnating circumstances and corrupt governments…have to be explained OVER AND OVER ON BU…

people not born in Barbados, not even Black, control WHAT GOES ON IN BARBADOS, always have, always will as long as the corrupt colonial slave system stays in place……and ya don’t here not one shite from these self-haters…

“Your argument is weak and you will deny others to have the right to vote simply because the entire country had a poor government between 2008/2018
    You are of the opinion that the voice of Barbadian citizens should be silenced in expressing their rights to vote because they donโ€™t live on the island.
    You cannot overlook the millions upon millions of dollars and other skills that our brothers and sisters contribute to their homeland and they do it regardless of whom is in power.”

19. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…if you and a few others don’t post intelligent discourse, everything just devolves into Black self-hate…a BU trend…

..and don’t let’s forget the fowls……lawd, they make sure that nothing rises above their low level anonymous corrupt mindedness.

20. As far as I know, you have the right to vote once you get here to do it. There is no right to expect the government to set up overseas voting.

I neither hate diasporians nor fear them. I simply believe that we who live here under the government are more likely to respond to the circumstances because we are feeling the effects.

Who knows what could have happened if the rather large contingent of loyal DLP voters, somewhat insulated from the realities on the grounf, had kept the DLP in office?

I voted DLP until 2018 BECAUSE I felt the effects of their disastrous “stewardship” and realised that Freundel was totally disconnected from reality.

So did many others who traditionally voted D.

30 freaking 0! We were voting for our lives!

I don’t care who thinks that they are more intelligent and more aware. I live here and I am extremely happy that she who felt it got the chance to vote it out!

21. William Skinner Avatar

Just read of another Barbadian six year old golfer, who will become the youngest Barbadian to represent the island , in any major international competition.
    Last time, it was another six year old selling her first painting.
    Those of us , not concerned with the petty machinations , of a visionless political class , bent on destroying the island , know that our youth have all the inner strength and resources to make Barbados far greater than it is today.
    These children were born , I think, during the Lost Decade.

22. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

people not born in Barbados, not even Black, control WHAT GOES ON IN BARBADOS, always have, always will as long as the corrupt colonial slave system stays in placeโ€ฆnot only are these control freaks not born in Barbados, most don’t live on the island, never even visited and never will….but they pull every string attached to the house negros…

but ya hear no complaints from self-haters…

23. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“just read of another Barbadian six year old golfer, who will become the youngest Barbadian to represent the island , in any major international competition.
    Last time, it was another six year old selling her first painting.”

i must ask, why are these things not big news, surfers and race car drivers competing internationally are shoved down our throats, although they are mediocre at best, nothing outstanding about them that i can see, …..we apparently only see our star athletes because dey int got no bajan white or other minority ones with that kinda stamina….

……fake class and shite color will finish the pretenders off…

24. Yuh got de same rights that I have. Get tuh de polling station and VOTE!

Seems to me that you are more concerned with your rights than anything else. And yuh actually want MORE rights than we do!

Some people have to borrow bus fare to go and vote. Some have to spend money on gas. Wunnuh can spend plane fare.

25. Or else, have one Diaspora seat that affords you a voice in parliament. That was one of the proposals FROM OVERSEAS. There are many overseas bajans who agree with me. Their views were recorded in the Sunday Sun.

Last time we agreed that my position was reasonable. Now you say my argument is weak.

I say that yours is emotional, as usual.

AND WEAK!

26. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Apparently, there is another 246 Radio show out of London this morning, more exposure for the corrupt/thieves, the fowls and the wannabes…murdahhhh!!…too much for me to keep up with these days…lol

27. And the “what if” argument is very valid.

Wunnuh cyan feel from afar what we are feeling here to the degree that we are feeling it.

Human nature. Distance creates a buffer.

28. And you shoukd try to read with understanding. NOWHERE did I suggest that all overseas people would vote DLP. I said that loyal DLP supporters who live overseas were less likely to change their vote as I did.

Because they were not here to wade through the shit!

So BLP voters would have voted B and DLP voters would mostly have voted D.

For an emotional person, you show little understanding of how human beings think, feel and act.

Now a traditional DLP voter waiting at a busstop or in a busstand for three hours going and coming EVERY DAMN DAY, a person whose child constantly misses school because of transportation issues while hearing a prime minister talk shite about “everything is still functioning” is more likely to KNOW de man talking shite and vote his ass out than one who is only hearing a person tell of the difficulties.

This is sound human behaviour “doctrine” that cannot be refuted.

He who feels it knows it.

29. How does the fact it would have been ideal to have had a โ€˜republic constitution, have to do with saying Barbados does not have a constitution?

30. @William

You exist in generalizations. The issue is never if Barbados produce citizens that can compete on world stage. It is establishing a structure to produce more instead of a few exceptions to the rule.

31. Skinner you want to vote catvh a plane and come home.Agree with Donna 100% percent.Why should people who live here have to be led by some party we do not want because of overseas dems like Ssrge, Hants, AC , Baje , Gazzerts and you.Perhaps given the opportunity Mr Stuart would still be PM not speaking to the voters.No way jose.Your other comment about DLP and BLP same thing is hogwash.Perhaps in ideology but there is no comparison to be made in leadership quality between Mr Arthur, Ms Mottley, both Mr Adams amd on the other side Mr Sandiford as he was then, Mr Thompson and Mr Stuart.None whatsoever!The only exception would be the excellent Mr Barrow on the dems side.Therefore yoy are living in la la land as usual.I gone.

32. William Skinner Avatar

Yes. I said reasonable but that does not mean I cannot find your overhaul position to be weak because you are constantly alluding to that nonsense about a lost decade and talking about who live in a constituency would know how to vote.
    You can have all the pot holes , unemployment, water shortages in a constituency; the Bees will still vote Bees and the Dees will still vote Dees , when the majority of them enter a booth.
    So that premise especially in our geographical lay out is still weak.
    You are missing the point: You want to give the Diaspora one seat. I am seeking to have all Barbadians one vote.
    In debating an issue, one always respects a โ€œ reasonable โ€œ position but that does not mean they canโ€™t find your total premise outside of that position weak.
    I donโ€™t care how you vote ; I only care that you have the right to vote.
    You said that giving those citizens who live outside the right to vote sounds like a โ€œ privilegeโ€. It is a right the same right you have.
    Your vote is no privilege it is a right,

33. It is justified to refer to the period as the lost decade. It was when the country with Thompsonโ€™s sickness and then death was allowed to sale rudderless at a time post financial meltdown it caused accelerated harm to the economy of Barbados. Even Freundel Stuart admitted that he was not the type of man to manhandle the situation until he received a mandate from the people. A mandate he stretched 3 months past the traditional time.

34. The DLP is now being punished for how the party/government negotiated that period.

35. To make it simple for you to understand William, the situation we now find ourselves was created by what occurred in that infamous period.

36. WS

As of today do you have a right to vote in Barbados/ or when was it taken away?

37. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

And to think that google is so easily accessible..and all human rights are posted online…

“The right enacted into law and legislation of a country or jurisdiction that gives all citizens of a specific legal age the authority to vote in a public election or public referendum.

All countries of the world have a right to vote at the United Nations.”

so why would ALL COUNTRIES have a right to vote, but the citizens have no such right, regardless of where they live…hopefully this explains to those who know no better….VOTING RIGHTS…

38. Right vs accommodation

39. @John2

Is it more accurate to say overseas Bahamas can vote if their names have not been purged from the electoral register?

40. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Why is it that some keep trying to change reality to suit their warped version of what Black people should and should not do or say, what they should and should not have access or RIGHTS to…..and they want sensible people to take them seriously..

..it’s like a mind disease that spreads like wildfire..

41. @Lorenzo

I seemed to have attracted your attention again, FYI as long as I am overseas I have no interest in voting in a Barbados election and I can safely say neither does my wife.We are both registered to vote in a ChCh constituency but that is neither here nor there.
    BTW why are you opposed to people in the diaspora voting in a local election? If you are worried that they will vote DLP simply say that they have to vote in the last constituency in which they lived in that way their vote will have no impact on the outcome of the election.

Yuh happy?

42. William Skinner Avatar

@ John 2
    I never said that any right to vote was taken away. You know what overseas voting means: you donโ€™t have to be in the country to vote.
    Gimme me a breakโ€ฆโ€ฆpleeeeese.

Itโ€™s nonsense ! The previous administration was probably the worst we ever had but all the damn problems we have were not created in no so-called lost decade.
    And four years later the frigging problems still there and they were tgere long before COVID. Right now the country broke and owe everybody money.
    I give Mottley and Company some credit but thatโ€™s about it.
    We are here talking about electoral reform. Stuart and all of them getting the blasted unearned pensions and there isnโ€™t a shit we can do about it.
    We are four years into a new administration that has borrowed money from everybody while giving away and forgiving millions upon millions of dollars .Everything gone up from bus fares to water and they all went up before COVID.
    We have a bundle of dubious Senior Ministers; the PM has her own Secretary and about three ministers in her office; we still have the biggest cabinet ever and almost every policy is either announced before itโ€™s fully thought out- the abolition of the Eleven Plus being the latest fiasco.
    Looks like we now have the lost fourteen years .

43. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha….you can ask me again why i bother, this time it’s just in case young people, who should NOT be on BU soaking up these go nowhere mindsets…….are reading all of this and am making sure they are not MISLED by a gang of idiots…

44. Bushie is here trying to rationalize exactly WHY people who have CHOSEN to live in a foreign jurisdiction even WANT to vote to decide who runs Barbados. One would think that wunna would be much more interested in voting to decide if Trump comes back or if Trudeau keeps his beard.
    Another case of wanting to be in Church AND Chapel at the same time?

We welcome the feedback – even the lukewarm consultations, BUT…
    Take some advice from Tammy B, ….and recluse wunna selves from the administrative business of Barbados IF wunna have CHOSEN to live in Babylon.
    Bushie donโ€™t even support the โ€˜visit and voteโ€™ shiite….
    We like wunna bad,
    …but…
    If yuh Out, STAN out!!!

45. @William

Again you missed the point. The blogmaster was careful to use the word accelerated decline. You may carry on smartly.

46. @Bush Tea

Retired Justice Chris Blackman has men appointed of another committee to receive and recommend suggestions for constitutional reform. Those here there and everywhere have the opportunity to present. We wait.

47. @ Lorenzo
    My Brother, I donโ€™t know who discussing leadership here.
    I thought we were discussing electoral reform and whether your Barbadian brothers and sisters , living overseas should be able to vote without having to catch a plane or swim to Bim.
    Oh well, you have a good weekend.
    I gone

48. Again, yuh got de same right tuh vote as I have. Get tuh de polling station and vote! If nuhbody doan turn up to push de disabled person’s wheelchair tuh de polling station he doan doan get tuh vote. If I in de horsepital and cyan get tuh de polling station I doan get tuh vote.

All I am hearing here is concern for YOUR RIGHTS. It is very telling actually. Speaks volumes.

49. โ€œI donโ€™t care how you vote ; I only care that you have the right to vote.
    You said that giving those citizens who live outside the right to vote sounds like a โ€œ privilegeโ€. It is a right the same right you have.โ€

If for some reason Donna end up in hospital on voting day. There is no accommodation for her to vote. To exercise her right to vote she got to get her but to HER polling station

50. And NO local Ds certainly did NOT vote D in the last two elections!

Talk about weak arguments!

Wuhlaus!

He who feels it knows it. Only the governed should decide who governs them.