Congratulations to Prime Minister Mia Mottley for being recognized by TIMES Magazine as one of The 100 Influential People of 2022. Based on reports the rationale for recommending Mottley for the award was penned by ย Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, director-general of the World Trade Organization.

The hope is that Mottley will be able to leverage her burgeoning global brand to improve regional and domestic economies. In recent times Barbadians have not had many high points to celebrate, the recognition of one of our own is a step in the right direction and should assist in bolstering bajan pride which took a hit in recent years.

#congratspmmottley

535 responses to “Prime Minister Mia Mottley Named in Top 100 Most Influential People of 2022”

1. And along the way BU has become the avenue for soft ball politics for govt

2. This seems to be the #1 BU song

3. Mia has become a soft target for scam artist
    OSA did say she had the propensity for dealing with issues that are out of sync with out having indepth thought process for end resultb
    Hence the vaccine scams and govt allowing free loaders like big Cruise to take advantage of the taxpayers after govt gave the go ahead to.destroy the reefs
    Up to present not one cent recovered from the damage

https://fb.watch/dgBFxbB5E1/

4. Wow! That any prime minister, in this day and Wikileaks- Snowden age, who could seriously hold that WhatsApp is really an end to end encryption service, without a back door, as advertised, there is a bridge outside Mariupol which is also for sale. Weโ€™ll take offers here. Starting at 40 billion roubles.

5. We Can’t Take No More (Enuff, Enuff, Enuff) (The Mark Francis Dub)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ekcYwwm-JKk

6. William Skinner,

The talk of the facilitation of overseas voting has changed the environment. Whispering sweet nothings can now easily move the needle.

Those DLP supporters who were not here to suffer the ten years of the last DLP administration are more likely to remain in the DLP camp. The rest of us who habitually voted DLP, either stayed home or voted to wipe them out 30:0.

TWICE!

When Foolish Freundel resurfaced to remind us of “The Glorious Years” the response was an incredulous “wow” and another 30:0.

This is why I say, “He who feels it, knows it.”

Unless the allocation is for one diaspora seat which affords only a literal VOICE in parliament, I think a few hundred DLP votes from diasporians could easily overrule the vote of HE WHO FEELS IT.

Ronnie is trying to take a shortcut. He knows that the road to Illaro Court will be a long and hard one if left to those of us who smelled the shite for ten years.

7. New political party in the works

Barbados will have a new political party by September.
    The New Democratic Progress (NDP) is currently being set up by interests who have chosen to remain anonymous at this stage.
    A spokesman told Barbados TODAY that although they have already set up a Facebook page to attract interest while recruiting members, they have opted not to go public to avoid attracting the usual political candidates.
    Despite the poor showing of new parties on the islandโ€™s political landscape, the NDP is undeterred, saying it will deliver a new type of politics.
    Declaring its motto as Development and Democracy with the philosophy of Friends of All, Satellites of None, the party says it intends to build a political institution to continue the work of the Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow.
    โ€œThe NDP will not engage in opposition politics. Wherever applicable, the NDP will commend the government of the day for any government-established policies that are aiding in the development and upliftment of the people of Barbados,โ€ it said.
    However, it added that when warranted, the NDP will present to Barbadians a โ€œcoordinated analysisโ€ of any government policies it deems unnecessary, wasteful or harmful to the security, values, or financial integrity of Barbados.
    The NDP underscored that democracy is paramount and stressed the need for an equitable society where freedom of speech as well as patience and tolerance for all, are upheld.
    โ€œFreedom of polite and dissenting speech with respectful attention to alternate views must be seen as a community standard. Democracy needs real freedom of speech, as well as patience and tolerance for all concerned.
    โ€œWe believe in democracy, both conceptually and practically, in the way it is defined in the Barbadian Constitution. Dictatorship, communism and fascism are incompatible with freedom and the values of Barbados,โ€ it said.
    The NDP said it would โ€œwork as a public forum for the well-being and advancement of the people of Barbadosโ€.
    โ€œThis will be achieved through pathways of personal development: unfettered access to education and skills training irrespective of experience, age or gender; access to economic participation and freedom of career choice; cultural expression; liberty of conscience and faith,โ€ it added. (SD)

Source: BT

8. The Silence of the Lambs
    By Roderick P. Harris

In a matter of days, Thursday, June 2 to be exact, would mark one month since the Democratic Labour Partyโ€™s (DLP) membership voted for Dr. Ronnie Yearwood to lead that political institution. I, like many Bajans, have paid rapt attention to the presidentโ€™s few speeches and actions since then.
    On the night of his victory, the partyโ€™s membership welcomed him with open arms and celebrated the man who four years ago, in 2018, went up for nomination to represent the ruling Barbados Labour Party (BLP).
    It was as though the party was content with simply having a fresh face at the helm. But those cheers aside, the good doctor, his advisors and supporters must know the comeback of that great Party is not determined by the noise in George Street alone. No matter how loud the congratulatory screams, Dr Yearwood must now prove himself and get real results fast.
    Some would say it is early days yet, but I beg to defer.
    There was a buzz and an interest in the events of May 2 when he was elected. So far, he has failed at capitalising on that keen interest.
    He has done very little publicly, if anything, to show why he is best fit to lead. He is still to outline a clear vision for the Party. He has failed to use the momentum of that election to endear himself to the masses. For the Partyโ€™s sake, I pray that he changes this publicly inactive strategy we are witnessing.
    Dr Yearwood has taken the reins of the party yet by his absence, he appears to be lagging, lacking aggression and the will to go for the political jugular of the Government.
    Why the hemming and hawing? Why should people be on social media with posts asking about the NEW president who should be making headlines and dominating the news? He has claimed that the DLP was the โ€œDear Living Partyโ€ and the party of the people. Today, I am wondering if he still believes that which he said.
    The people of whom he speaks are suffering daily.
    The people of whom he speaks are faced with an increasing cost of living each and every day.
    The people of whom he speaks must sit by and watch as one Barbados reaps all the sweets while the other Barbados sucks salt.
    The people of whom he speaks must look on as the countryโ€™s leader globe trots and creates her personal legacy while they scratch their heads to find money to pay their bills.
    The people of whom he speaks are subjected to living in a country where killing and bloodshed happen almost every week.
    The people of whom he speaks are left with no political voice for the voiceless.
    If the people are the focus of this renewed DLP, how is it that the president is not advocating for said โ€œpeopleโ€? We are now in a period that can best described as Thomas Harrisโ€™ 1988 novel and the 1991 Hollywood horror movie: The Silence of the Lambs.
    It was bad when the DLP did not speak publicly after the shock of the 2018 elections, but at least then the โ€œpeopleโ€ had Opposition Leader Joseph Atherley and Caswell Franklyn speaking and agitating on their behalf. But there is no Opposition this toss, yet the party with the second largest majority at the January polls has gone silent. A political institution of 60 years is now mum.
    It is now six months since the election, yet the last time we heard sound, logical and structured political opposition from the party was its response to Governmentโ€™s Budget in March.
    Mr President, a speech filled with cliches, catch phrases and rhetoric will not work. The people already get enough of that from the countryโ€™s leader. You continually say: โ€œCome under the tentโ€, โ€œThe sun will shine on us allโ€, โ€œThere is no fresh guard or old guard but one guardโ€ etc . . . Question: Why is that โ€œone guardโ€ not guarding the people at this perilous time? The people want a voice that agitates.
    The people want action.
    The people want the Party of the great Errol Walton Barrow to regroup, rebuild, rise up and become the formidable adversary it once was.
    The people are looking to the DLP to keep Governmentโ€™s feet to the fire so that they can get the best governance possible and leadership that is not preoccupied on building a personal profile. Why the silence? Why the timid approach? Why no show of force? Why is the President and by extension the party silent? The party that has produced four of the islandโ€™s eight prime ministers has seemingly abandoned the people. How can this be? I have been around long enough to know that there is no place for a continued one-party regime in Bim. I have voted for and against both parties. But I know the country needs both parties firing on all cylinders.
    I have news for you Mr President, it is possible to walk and chew gum at the same time. Whatever is going on in the DLP must hold the same weight as the issues plaguing and hurting the people.
    The people are the ones to whom you will come a-calling.
    The people are the ones who will get you from George Street to Parliament.
    What is sad is that your party is not devoid of fresh, youthful minds who can speak on these issues. It needs not be a one-man show.
    Funny enough you have a good mixture since there are also some experienced former parliamentarians who can bring the political fight to the Government as well. What is the hold-up? You are surrounded by some bright, fresh minds in Dawn-Marie Armstrong, Kemar Stuart, Ryan Walters, Courie Cox, Oldwin Skeete, Rasheed Belgrave and others.
    The seasoned politicians still have much to offer: former president Verla DePeiza, former ministers Richard Sealy, Michael Lashley, Steve Blackett and your defeated presidential rival Dr David Estwick are but starting points.
    There is no plausible reason why the party should be silent even if you are busy readying yourself โ€“ personally โ€“ for this new task ahead.
    The party, or any institution for that matter, is and will always be bigger than any ONE individual.
    This wonโ€™t be a catwalk, you will have to make some tough and unpopular decisions.
    But, Mr President, the members have placed their trust and faith in you; it is now time to get on with the job of leading.
    Mr President, trust your team. Get them noticed. Get people listening, lest the DLP finds itself complicit in a humiliating three-peat general election Bees-wash defeat.

This column was submitted as a Letter to the Editor.

Source: BT

9. I told you. From Week 1. He would have been seen as more Decisive if he had come out with some sort of shadow cabinet – which could be adjusted or added to in the future

10. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved

“who could seriously hold that WhatsApp is really an end to end encryption service, without a back door, as advertised, ”

we have for years been laughing at them believing that we don’t know they listen to everything…lol

11. Wow masses rattling their spears across social media

Mia pomosetting on the world stage, she is PM, in name only, she is not in touch with ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡งreality, so every thing falling apart, the ministers on mute, getting a salary and a pension, so they don’t care either way, blame all the fkery on COVID, monkey pox, and Russia, the most blighted government in ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡งhistory

12. @ David

After I read:
    “NDP is undeterred, saying it will deliver a new type of politics.”

I said to myself, “Okay. A new party, desirous of ‘delivering a new type of politics, should be given an opportunity to articulate its political philosophy and socioeconomic policies.

However, I became a bit disappointed, after reading the following comments:
    “Declaring its motto as Development and Democracy with the philosophy of Friends of All, Satellites of None, the party says it intends to build a political institution to continue the work of the Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow.”

I heard the newly elected DLP president say, ‘in one breath,’ he plans to practice ‘new politics,’ and in another, mentioned Barrow, ‘free secondary education’ and all the usual other ‘go to phrases’ politicians use to solicit emotional responses from the electorate.

We’ve already acknowledged there aren’t any significant political, philosophical and ideological differences between the DLP and BLP.

The NDP seems to be heading in a similar direction. ‘New politics and Barrow.’
    I cannot understand why politicians refuse to be innovative, creative, independent thinkers, rather than attempting to mold themselves and their political parties in the image of Errol Barrow?

Perhaps the time has come for the introduction of a new word, ‘triopoly,’ to replace ‘duopoly.’

13. “…….. the ministers on mute, GETTING a SALARY and a PENSION…….”

๐Ÿคฃ ๐Ÿคฃ ๐Ÿคฃ

14. @Artax

Seems to be a splinter from the DLP. We have to wait to hear more. Never could understand why new political parties feel to release information in drips and drabs.

15. โ€œโ€ฆโ€ฆ.. the ministers on mute, GETTING a SALARY and a PENSIONโ€ฆโ€ฆ.โ€

Is this what is being said across social media?

16. Too many similarities between Mia and that BLM leader (the obese lesbian one)
    Both got access to loads of money and have nothing to show for it, other than places the take nice pictures and hold parties
    Both never miss an opportunity to beg for more money
    Both refuse to take accountability or even acknowledge mistakes

17. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Tell de fowls dat i int de body wid de conspiracy…people got recepits..

.the saying by seniors long gone is trouble don’t set up like rain….ah wonder who they will blame for this,,,

“One of the victims in the massive Barbados land fraud scandal that has caused Bajans to distrust their own legal profession has named Alair P. Shepherd QC as one of the attorneys whom they allege was a participant in the theft of real estate belonging to their family. We are aware of which specific property was involved, but are withholding that information as it is part of an ongoing investigation.

Whilst this is only an accusation, and must be proven in a court of law, that reckoning will be, we understand, filed in a court of law outside of Barbados, due to the systemic corruption that has infected the local court system, as well as all aspects of official and government life there. The personal involvement of officials at the highest level of government has rendered the court system a cruel joke, being played upon citizens who possess valuable land, handed down through their families, and which Barbados’ power elite covet, either for resale to foreign companies intent on tourism development, or to transfer to a member of their criminal conspiracy.”

18. Toooooooooooooo late!
    For there is no road back, except the measures taken by the only real national hero General Bussa, once dictatorship, de jury, has been so firmly established over many years. And Mia Mugabe Mottley is the very embodiment of the fascist state.

That state media, all of them, engage in self censorship and the manufacturing of the consent for the dictator to do as she wishes, all talk about democracy is quaint and properly belongs in the museum.

Ignorance so abounds that democracy as an economic construction, at root, is already in the global museum. Wealth distributions patterns alone as currently seen make idiots of those under the eponymy that voting could make a difference. If that were true voting would be illegal.

That the show pony of Washington.in Barbados could prove herself as an unserious empty vessel and still presume to lead the feckless is the very perfection of fascism with American characteristics.

19. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David re “Never could understand why new political parties feel to release information in drips and drabs.” wha yah mean tho!

You are a PR maven of years experience so don’t play dat! You know full well that’s a ploy to attract, maintain and pull in the targeted… just like de old fairy tale where the witch leaves drips and drabs of tantalizing morsels in the woods to catch the interest of the gullible wanderer!

The problem of course is when some other forest denizen puts their own crap – literally so – all over the morsels and its lost to its intended target … ๐Ÿคฃ

@Artax, also come on now re “I cannot understand why politicians refuse to be innovative, creative, independent thinkers, rather than attempting to mold themselves and their political parties in the image of Errol Barrow”.

Fah trute, you don’t understand ๐Ÿ˜‡.

An absolutely singular and seminal figure in de Bajan political-scape and you wondering why politicians here (and undoubtedly for next millenia) will invoke the ‘father of our nation’!!

He is a larger than life personality that still inspires the best (or worst) motivations to energize the masses !

But I was quite moved … (to tears almost … it was so touching ) with that NDP acronym… oh dear, oh dear ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ Not!

Stay well all.

This is great theater…. a political party starting its publicity push by withholding names of its founders while trying to steal the thunder of the new DLP leader with generic BS verbiage.

What an entrance and impact … I can just see them blowing us away with awesome policies and plans just now. ๐Ÿคฆ๐Ÿพโ€โ™‚๏ธ Talk about exciting drips and drabs!

20. “How ex-Gambia President Yahya Jammeh’s US mansion was seized”

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-58924630

21. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

It feels so good to tell and show the young generation how these politicians, lawyers and their historical DIRTY DEEDS, FINALLY CAUGHT UP WITH ALL OF THEM..

I hope Kootchie Koo (KK) is paying attention..

22. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

They will beat that archaic fraud of a word “democracy” to DEATH….many decades after everyone else has abandoned it..and moved on to something new…

” If that were true voting would be illegal.”

worth repeating for the fowls who wasted so many years trying to recruit everyone into slow learner fowlship…

demasiado tarde….indeed..

23. “He is a larger than life personality that still inspires the best (or worst) motivations to energize the masses!”

@ dpD

I’m have a different opinion.

Similarly to how Barrow’s philosophy may have perhaps originated with him, why can’t aspiring politicians be creative and independent of thought to conceptualize their individual sociopolitical philosophies…… as well as develop progressive, innovative socioeconomic policies?

I believe today’s youngsters may want to hear about Grantley Adams and Barrow from a historical perspective.
    But, do you really believe they want to hear what those gentlemen DID as the basis for what present politicians plan to DO?

They can only be described as lazy.

24. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TLSN…re The Gambia…their greed always gets them in the end.

25. @Artax

A philosophy cannot be crafted with mere words. For it (philosophy) to resonate with the target it is usually preceded with seminal event or events of which the purveyors of the message are perceived by the public as identifying.

26. “A philosophy cannot be crafted with mere words. For it (philosophy) to resonate with the target it usually is preceded with a seminal event or events of which the purveyors of the message are perceived by the public as identifying.”

Yes, I’m fully aware.

27. William Skinner Avatar

The real truth is that we all smelled the shit for ten years . If that means we should smell shit for twenty more so be it.
    Stuart and Company and Mia and company is the same shit.
    So we can go ahead and blame everything that has happened and ignore everything that is happening.
    I donโ€™t know how that works but I know shit is shit although the smell may or may not vary or may vary a little bit.
    The damn man that Mia and company said was the architect of the shit , up in Washington living big with Miaโ€™s blessings.
    Nobody in the Diaspora ainโ€™t put him there ! Nobody in the Diaspora responsible for the mishandling of the economy by either Bees or Dees.
    This nonsense aboutโ€ overruling our voteโ€ is not grounded in any serious thought.
    You or nobody have the right to determine who is to benefit and who is to suffer under any government in Barbados:
    It shows at the very root of this position is some believed entitlement to saying who is more Barbadian than who is not.
    Respectfully it cannot hold water .
    The rights for Bajans living outside to vote has been discussed long before Stuart and Company ruined the economy.
    It was a very prominent discussion in the eighties. Many Barbadians living in the Diaspora have fought for the rights of marginalized and exploited brothers and sisters living on the island. Many had to get out before they were completely destroyed.
    The next thing we will hear is that Bajans who have lived outside for a certain period should not be called Barbadians and should be banished from their country forever.
    If I am not mistaken , David Thompson was born in the Diaspora. We have people who are not born Barbadians voting because they have citizenship. We have Barbadians not born in other countries voting in those countries.
    It is morally incorrect to deny somebody the right to vote on the grounds that they
    live outside their country and they donโ€™t feel the problems and therefore should take some second position. Really !
    And then we come here shouting: All ah we is one and we all in dis together.
    Your position is insular and respectfully I canโ€™t agree with your reasoning.
    Peace

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, a tad ‘memo of understanding’ imposing word style ๐Ÿ˜Ž but very well stated @3:39, regardless.

Thus @Artax if you are aware then you recognize that present day pols invoke what “THEY did” to create that resonance to the “seminal” political acts and thus seek to cloak themselves as placed to offer the same vision and passion to enact SIMILIARLY meaningful, present day policies and programs. Just as those maguffy predecessors did in their day!

That’s not being lazy … that’s merely a step on the ladder of political gamesmanship!

29. @Donna,
    I am unable to understand your unnecessary fear of us in the Diaspora being able to vote in local elections. Arenโ€™t we sons, daughters, parents, uncles, aunts, relatives and friends of those in Barbados? Wouldnโ€™t we have the same interests and concerns as our relatives? Wouldnโ€™t we share their pain? Isnโ€™t our navel strings and root as firmly planted on the island (and for some) even more so than many who remain on the island?

How will they deny us the right to vote and at the same time seek to import as many as possibly 70,000 new voters? Given our strong and apparent dislike of self, these new imports may result in drastic societal and cultural changes. These new arrivals may โ€œfeel itโ€ and โ€œknow itโ€, but they may not feel it or know in the same way as you. The difference between the new arrivals and those already on the island may be even greater than those of us in the Diaspora.

What about the vote itself? Isnโ€™t it obvious that some know it and feel it differently? In the last election 57% of eligible voters that did not vote; did they not know it or feel it?
    Did only the 30% voting for the BLP (the ruling minority) know it and feel it?
    What about the 11% who voted for the DLP, did they know or feel it?

2022 election
    BLP — 78,720 (29.6%)
    DLP — 30,273 (11.4%)
    APP? — 3,205
    SB — 699
    BFP –191
    New Barbados Kingdom Alliance 122
    Barbados Sovereignty Party 120
    Independents 705
    Total voting 114,035 (42.8%)
    Registered Voters 266,330

Perhaps the real fear is not the number of votes from the Diaspora, but that local people are not voting in the elections. Look at the numbers above and note that with a 70,000 increase in the population they will be begging us in the Diaspora to come home and vote.

30. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@TheOGazerts May 27, 2022 4:55 PM “Wouldnโ€™t we have the same interests and concerns as our relatives? ”

Not necessarily Theo.

You know the saying “tongue and teet does disagree.”

31. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Skinner, as we have the benefit of so much data these days I would hope the final decision to allow overseas voting in a full and comprehensive way beyond what currently exists is done after solid research on the impact and disadvantages it brought.to nations as small as ours who have it in place.

I believe I am an ex-pat type who has always paid close attention to what’s happening at home because I always saw my absence as merely a happenstance … and still do!

I have been deeply informed yet despite that I don’t believe that over the years I was always in the best position to have offered an ‘informed vote at home.

There are many better informed than I am and many more horrendously misinformed.

I don’t think any of us deserve any special voting rights if we are overseas … and unless that research shows differently and PARTICULALRY confirms that these votes are not going to be manipulated with thousands of them fraudalenty converted I will remain so disposed.

If I am so moved to vote for a local MP I can plan my vacation around the elections and do so right there in Bim … what’s a lil coin once every four or five years to show my passion!

Lata.

32. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Waru

It looks like there are a fair number of naughty American lawyers

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_disbarments_in_the_United_States
    List of disbarments in the United States

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Disbarred_American_lawyers
    Category:Disbarred American lawyers {125 pages)

33. @ TheOGazerts,

Just shut up and send money and barrels as will be needed sooner or later wen de hurricane come. lol

34. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Lawyers_disbarred_in_the_Watergate_scandal
    Category:Lawyers disbarred in the Watergate scandal (11 pages)

35. When Dr. RONNIE Obama Yearwood speaks it will force many to listen
    Reason wny many diehard blp footsoldiers on social media are frothing at the mouth

36. BU Therapy
    Who would have thought the average bajan had do many issues in their tissues buried deep that would surface from topic of the PM being given an award for making her name in the worldwide spotlight.

37. Add to this – all the voters have is a choice of B or D. So far, regardless of whether the score is 61-0 or 16-14 there really is no difference between the two teams. However, some act as if the 5-year placebo we call an election really makes a difference …

38. It makes a difference because it creates the opportunity for interventions/change.

39. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“List of disbarments in the United States”

“Category:Disbarred American lawyers {125 pages)”

EVERYWHERE….except Barbados…

“It is morally incorrect to deny somebody the right to vote on the grounds that they
    live outside their country and they donโ€™t feel the problems and therefore should take some second position. Really !
    And then we come here shouting: All ah we is one and we all in dis together.”

thought that was put to rest, guess not.

40. BU Misery
    The musical scratching of 555.

41. My point is that voters in the Diaspora will not have a blank slate. Like the rest of Barbados, we vote B or D. We may tilt the scale in one direction, but the outcome is one of the duopoly.

42. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Hants May 27, 2022 5:17 PM “Just shut up and send money and barrels as will be needed sooner or later wen de hurricane come. lol”

If you and Theo have close relatives here, minor children, elderly parents, spouses of course you should send money and barrels. Dutiful sons and daughter, mothers and fathers, husbands and wives contribute to the support of their dependents. But I would bet anything that most people don’t send money or barrels to strangers. NOBODY in the great white north has ever sent me money. The occasional barrel “yes” and I send north once or twice each year traditional Bajan treats, rum, sugar cakes, gauva jelly made by my own hands etc. Fair exchange I think,

But please don’t wish a hurricane on us. Even with good insurance once the insurance companies apply the deductibles households are still left with thousands of dollars in repairs. And hurricans are NOT our fault. Not even the lawyer/politicians cause hurricanes.

So give us a break nuh!/

And besides a stray hurricance can come up your side. Don’t tell me that you have forgotten Hurricane Hazel already.

“Hurricane Hazel was the deadliest, second costliest, and most intense hurricane of the 1954 Atlantic hurricane season. The storm killed at least 469 people in Haiti before striking the United States near the border between North and South Carolina as a Category 4 hurricane. After causing 95 fatalities in the US, Hazel struck Canada as an extratropical storm, raising the death toll by 81 people, mostly in TORONTO.”

Some of my former colleagues still remember Hazel with fear. They were children/teens then but they remember.

It has happened once, with global warning it is almost certain to happen again. I have many relatives, friends, former colleagues in the GTA. I won’t wish a hurricane on anyone.

43. “The musical scratching of 555.”

Have you got any naked pictures of your wife?

44. @AC
    “When Dr. RONNIE Obama Yearwood speaks it will force many to listen
    Reason wny many diehard blp footsoldiers on social media are frothing at the mouth”
    I see it… Short but sweet
    –The missing ’70’ percent-
    All of Yuh hear muh
    Now we have Ronnie Obama
    Speaking in soft silky tones
    Bringing comfort to our weary bones
    But watch the BLP foot soljahs
    Shouting out their love of Mia
    Talking of a 61-0
    And here is what they choose to ignore
    30 seats and 30 percent
    They do not care where the other 70 went
    Rejecting facts and seeing fiction
    Ignoring scams and outright corruption
    Talking of sphere of influence
    Abandoning common sense
    Just wanting to scream and fight
    Preferring darkness to light
    Rejecting the upgrade to a dated Mia
    The new, the improved Ronnie Obama

Girl you are the best. You go girl

45. In June, it will be 32 years…
    To my queen

46. William Skinner Avatar

@ DPD
    There is one question and one question only: Should one be denied to vote because he or she lives outside their country?
    We have to disagree with your position. This is not about who lives here and who does not. With all the forms of modern technology , overseas voting for a population of just over three hundred thousand , should not present any major problems.
    However, I respect you for not basing your position on what any party did or did not do in office.

47. would you like some, I have a load of photos for sale

48. A few… nudes only…. wife only,,
    Hang on to those of your mama

49. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Skinner, if the question is simply “Should one be denied to vote because he or she lives outside their country?” then I would say ‘NO, OF COURSE NOT’. And I would add that currently NO SUCH limitation exists! You or I or any of the over 150,000+ Bajans who live outside our lovely island can vote in any locally held election.

The question you are really posing if ‘why has our EBC not established a valid process to allow votes from expats to be tallied in local elections with all these forms of modern technology’?

Well back in the 80s when you noted talk of this was raised previously I am sure that the concerns of SECURELY MANAGING such an undertaking were paramount and NOW despite the facile phrase ‘all the forms of modern technology’ that remains my BIGGEST concern.

Excuse the apparent contradiction but this has nothing and everything to do with “what any party did or did not do in office.” I am a practical fella and I foresee any expat voting process to be an exercise in ABSOLUTE corrupt fraudulent vote rigging in our very small and currently ridiculously OVER-represented constituencies.

I will not get into any what if scenarios but will simply state that there is NO way the DLP would have been vanquished 0-30 in 2018 if overseas voting was allowed … they would not have been able to finagle a victory from the debacle they created but boy would they have tried!

THAT’Ss my absolute fear …. the fraud that will eventuate in managing such a process… that and the fact that ANY Bajan can vote now if they simply get their backside on the island when the time is called.

This is a non-issue waiting to explode into a massive problem and I do NOT favor it atall!