Congratulations to Prime Minister Mia Mottley for being recognized by TIMES Magazine as one of The 100 Influential People of 2022. Based on reports the rationale for recommending Mottley for the award was penned by ย Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, director-general of the World Trade Organization.

The hope is that Mottley will be able to leverage her burgeoning global brand to improve regional and domestic economies. In recent times Barbadians have not had many high points to celebrate, the recognition of one of our own is a step in the right direction and should assist in bolstering bajan pride which took a hit in recent years.

#congratspmmottley

535 responses to “Prime Minister Mia Mottley Named in Top 100 Most Influential People of 2022”

1. John 2,

Simultaneous posting from two fools, apparently.

2. The topic or issue of Stuart has been put to rest twice
    What is now relevant and at stake is a govt propensity many times over to trample on people’s rights
    For the record Stuart never pulled the people and country in that direction
    Also for the record the issue is once again being brought to table by the new President of the dlp
    It is about time all and Sundry takes Stuart name out of mouth and deal with a govt who have further plunged the. Country into massive debt unable to create a fiscal environment upon which the debt can be paid along with having a pretense form of a democratic govt under a non-existence Republic Constitution heralded by a PM whose governance is founded by PR.messages and left over cold soup by past administration Hence we have a dried up election called Hyatt no where
    to be seen in sight
    Not forgetting that the PM made a promise that the Construction of Hyatt would begin in Jan
    Jan comes Jan gone
    The country being worst off than before lead by a PM who.promised better
    High unemployment
    Low wages plenty
    High taxes
    Over bloated govt consisting of over paid consultants and advisor all said to managed an 2×4 island consisting of a population of two hundred and seventy five thousand
    Four years and counting yet no financial relief for the most vulnerable
    No the sounds of Barbadians living overseas don’t count as citizens is frightening
    Calls mostly made by govt foot soldiers who might have never read the context of The People’s rights to Freedom as originally written in the Constitution

3. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved

246 Radio London..is giving very accurate information to THE CITIZENS on how to combat the corrupt court and parliament players….there is contact information…

ya want corruption AND MASSIVE THEFTS TO END,,,,

STOP VOTING FOR AND ELECTING THE CORRUPT….if you don’t, you are part of the problem…time for the majority population to self govern…

4. Steuspe

5. Never get your rights wrong.
    People have the right to vote provided they are on the electoral register.
    There is no postal or overseas voting so they have to do it in person at a polling booth.

6. That should read “the majority of Ds did not vote D in the last two elections”.

By the way, UN standards are standards I accept only if they make sense to ME. There are plenty of laws even that make the law look like an ass.

WHO DEM IS? I HAVE MY OWN BRAIN TO USE.

Choosing a governmen
    t should be reserved for those who will be governed.

That is the only fair way. But you do deserve to be HEARD.

7. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

And…evabody corrupt name getting called for the diaspora to hear……..wuhloss…

8. William Skinner Avatar

I have never suggested you or anybody is an โ€œ apparentโ€ ifool. Different opinions are not synonymous with fools.
    Itโ€™s here that I finish with this discussion for the time being.
    Peace & Love

9. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

and that “steuppss” from the same blogmaster WHO had a whole thread about the citizens NOT HOLDING THE CORRUPT GOVERNMENTS ACCOUNTABLE…or performing their civic duties BY PARTICIPATING….

i did not make up any of that, same thread caused debate on the blog which it appears is meant to GO NOWHERE……

10. UK preaching about Corruption in Caribbean and Africa has it’s own agendas which entail British overreach double standards and hypocrisies. Their Negative Tropes stick and cause shallow thinking in arguments and ignore sovereignty.

11. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

That’s where the little to no credibility on BU ALWAYS takes a massive hit…from my first week on the blog realized that a gaggle of clowns wants to tell you as a Black person, because they cannot do it to anyone else, how to think, what to say, how to feel and what to do…and recruiting empty-headed anonymous fowls as though that’s why the blog was created.

i will be damned if i ever allow those with backward, narrow agendas and even more limited intelligence to direct or dictate…any of that for me..

Bushman…people in the diaspora are free to vote if they want, no one on BU can stop that, most don’t because of the corruption…..no one in their right minds keep voting for the KNOWN CORRUPT repeatedly over decades every election cycle..and then COMPLAIN how corrupt both governments are…..every damn day…lol…time to break that cycle of self implosion…

12. TheO,

I forgot to commend you for your lovely expressions of appreciation to your wife. If only we had more of that attitude there would be ripple effect that would change the world.

Happy anniversary in advance!

13. William,

I did not mean to imply that you have ever called me a fool. Neither have I ever been inclined to call you one.

I was simoly referring to the fact that John 2 and I came up with the exact same example at the exact same time. You know the saying, “Great minds think alike and fools seldom differ.”

I think you are needed on the blog where the Great Bushman has just called me an idiot for feeling hopeful re our co-operation with Guyana.

What are your thoughts on that?

14. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Somebody please explain that level of non-logic to me, they don’t want Black people in the diaspora to vote but they themselves VOTE FOR THE CORRUPT…like clockwork every election cycle FOR DECADES…

make it make sense..

15. Simple. With human governments, there is corrupt, more corrupt and most corrupt.

A fact of life.

Not voting will not ensure that corruption ends.

The politicians and their families will vote. Their cronies will vote. And a winner will be declared. There will be a government.

This is the system we have. Until it changes, this is what we must work with.

There was a hair dye commercial long ago in which a woman tossed her newly dyed hair and said proudly, “I did it and I’m glad!”

Well, Donna did it and she’s glad!

And no amount of cussing from anyone who thinks they are superior, while living in La La Land, expecting human beings OF ANY RACE to deliver Utopia for black people in this lifetime, will intimidate me or convince me that they are superior.

The tortoise plodded along and won the race, they say.

16. Seems to me that what needs explaining is why diasporians are so determined to have the right to vote overseas when it makes no sense to vote in the corrupt system.

What difference does it make to them, then, if they get to vote for the corrupt duopoly?????????

While you ponder…. I gone. I shall return to read the stupid ass cussing and lol accordingly.

17. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

There lies the problem right there…the inability to see beyond the basic…

.a recipe to repeat the same old and expect different results

…some say short circuited thinking…maybe true….but there is so much more,

mental block…..

stockholm syndrome….etc…myriad social issues…

one’s things for sure, there is a problem..

.and had not for the younger generation…i would feel comfortable allowing the older heads to die off in it….as they are bound to anyway, they fight to keep a system of destroy themselves going, fine, but do it to yourselves only, stop trying to recruit and convince others who can see it for exactly what it is….

18. Corruption is performed by individuals abusing positions of power and can also be systems of corruption where teams of people work together circumventing checks and balances. Like all crime white criminals are viewed as individuals running game, black criminals infer the stereotype that all blacks are criminal. Policing is weak at investigating white collar and Government / Public Service crime.

19. No cussing here.

We are not that far apart.
    Struggling to understand what is different when a person comes home and vote or if he/she stays away and vote. His/her vote is unlikely to be any different. This requirement that you come ‘home’ is very similar to the poll tax which was used to deny African Americans their vote. Applying a financial hurdle to overcome.

And let us be clear that even if you are on the island, you can also be denied your right to vote. Do you remember how they treated people infected with COVID -19.

Again, I find it difficult to understand why you wish to be solely responsible for olselecting corrupt officials from the duopoly. Let us in the Diaspora in. Widen the tent.

20. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Again, I find it difficult to understand why you wish to be solely responsible for olselecting corrupt officials from the duopoly. ”

there is NOTHING they could say or do to make that make sense….it’s the true definiting of madness.,,,,RESERVING. exclusive rights to elect corrupt politicians…to those who live on the island only….

21. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

true DEFINITION…of madness..

diaspora voters would rejig the status quo and that is exactly what the pretenders don’t want….it will definitely upset their delusional class placement….among other petty things…that is what they don’t want..

.socialized in selfishness…even if it’s killing them..

22. The issue here supersedes what people decides to do with their Constitutional rights but govt intent on taking away those rights within actions govts belives are correct
    Any measures which are outside the tenets of the Constitution are null.and void for reason their are mostly found on emotionalism and political rhetoric

23. USA has
    54,509 Barbadians
    {53,785 were born in Barbados}

UK has
    21,601 born in Barbados

the 1 seat for those abroad seems copacetic

24. “Any measures which are outside the tenets of the Constitution are null.and void for reason their are mostly found on emotionalism and political rhetoric”

you were also saying there is no Constitution
    it must be total anarchy at the moment

25. The constitutional reform committee has not heard/received a single submission, so what rights the government is โ€˜intent on taking awayโ€™?

26. 555dubstreetMay 28, 2022 12:38 PM

โ€œAny measures which are outside the tenets of the Constitution are null.and void for reason their are mostly found on emotionalism and political rhetoricโ€

you were also saying there is no Constitution
    it must be total anarchy at the moment

Xxxxxx
    Don’t worry yuh little di..c head about what I say
    You have no intentions of voting any way

27. DavidMay 28, 2022 1:11 PM

The constitutional reform committee has not heard/received a single submission, so what rights the government is โ€˜intent on taking away

Xxxxxx
    Six months later what a farce
    Shame shame

28. “Bushie is here trying to rationalize exactly WHY people who have CHOSEN to live in a foreign jurisdiction even WANT to vote to decide who runs Barbados. One would think that wunna would be much more interested in voting to decide if Trump comes back or if Trudeau keeps his beard.
    Another case of wanting to be in Church AND Chapel at the same time?”

Oh gaaawd this is a beamer!!! ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

29. “Donโ€™t worry yuh little di..c head about what I say”

you are old and stale granny

a social media legend in your lunchtime

who proves reasoning with anonymous people’s nonsense is a waste of time and a waste of life

carry on talking poo

we have learned the lesson not to engage with stupid

30. Informative post ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ™

31. William Skinner Avatar

Understood.
    โ€œ I think you are needed on the blog where the Great Bushman has just called me an idiot for feeling hopeful re our co-operation with Guyana.

What are your thoughts on that?โ€

I have agreed with Mia refocusing on our relationship with Guyana. A million years ago Dr. Eric Williams identified Guyana as the potential food basket for the entire region.
    Errol Barrow said a million years ago:
    โ€œ We are a family of islands nestling closely under the shelter of the great Co-operative Republic of Guyana. And this fact of regional togetherness is lived everyday by ordinary West Indian men and women in their comings and goingโ€™s.โ€
    I also support Mia rekindling ties with Africa .
    I really donโ€™t know if I am needed on the blog lol, but I know youโ€™re not an idiot and on this occasion the Great Bushman is wrong on all counts.
    And I know that you have been more positive about my dream of one Caribbean Nation than many others on BU.
    Peace
    PS One thing about Bushie – he gives a punch and he takes a punch. He put a few in me recently ๐Ÿ˜Š

32. TheO,

The difference it makes is only that the numbers will be much smaller if you have to catch a plane and come home to vote. The chance of these few votes overruling our choice will be much less.

P.S. I expected no cussing from you.

33. How could diasporian voters have rejigged the status quo in the last election unless they had voted in one of the ridiculous third parties that we soundly rejected with damn good reason.

Steupse!

34. Hang on guys. A look at the attendance records suggest Enuff’s shift end in 25 minutes.

J2 should arrive at 5:30.

A Lorenzo fly-by is expected but cannot be predicted.

The blogmaster was originally selected as an umpire but usually comes out with a bat in hand and stands in front of the wicket is now expected to hold the fort until J2 arrives.

It looks as if AC will be batting, bowling and fielding this afternoon. The greatest all rounder coming out of Barbados and not making the WI team.

I am in the oval watching.

35. The hatred for BU against our benevolent Prime Minister is beyond comprehension. Perhaps because she is a woman who does not submit to the slavery of men?

Each day I pray for our Supreme Leader and our government, that Goddess Bim Almighty will guide and protect them.

Bim bless Mia Mottley and Barbados!

36. I scroll past AC these days. Only Artax seems to play in her matches. Few spectators as well.

NTSThere.

37. Dr. RONNIE Obama Yearwood has pick the right fight hopes he takes the fight straight up in the face of Mia who poses as the most influential person in the world
    Be interest to see how her influence stacks against the diaspora rights enshrined in the constitution founded on democracy one which gives citizens a right to vote
    Although she tested the waters at home going outside the comfort zone of her home turf might prove to be an all different ball game when international media eyes and ears are tuned into the issue
    Hope Dr. Yearwood pursue the issue with much tenacity

38. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

rejigging the status quo has nothing to do with politics…

i was not raised to see everything through political lenses…..it has benefitted me greatly in many ways…

39. Ac, Mr Ronnie Yearwood is a political nightwatchman simular to Ms Depeiza who thought that beating Rev Hewitt and Mr Pilgrim made her a national leader.When the the real deal came she gailed miserably.In my view the same fate awaits Dr Yearwood if he lasts until the next elections.I have my doubts about that.I gone.

40. Donna May 28, 2022 5:35 PM #: “Only Artax seems to play in her matches.”

If by sometimes highlighting ac’s misrepresentations of the truth is considered to be “play in her matches,” then, so be it.

However, won’t you also consider someone who improvise a poem for himself, from an ac misrepresentation and then gives her credit for being ‘creative,’ while cheering, “you go girl,” from the sidelines,’…….. “playing in her matches” as well?

41. “……in the face of Mia who poses as the most influential person in the world…..”
    ~~~~~~~~

Yuh see wuh I mean?

A misrepresentation of the truth.

42. For the “Superior One”

We wish to reserve the right to elect the LEAST CORRUPT GOVERNMENT.

Because….. HE WHO FEELS IT KNOWS IT AND WILL CONTINUE TO FEEL IT MORE THAN ANYONE WHO LIVES OVERSEAS COULD EVER DO.

IF THAT MAKES NO SENSE, THEN I CANNOT HELP YOU.

43. And that goes for TheO too but without the attitude.

44. And for those who refuse to take the tenets of the Constituion with all serious
    It is time one take a good read with understanding
    It settles the matter of inclusive rights for all citizens
    Read and let it sink in ko

45. When Dr.RONNIE Obama becomes PM of Barbados the most vulnerable would have a seat at the economic table
    The bloated oversized govt of indulgence handed to the people by Mia would no.longer serve purpose
    Fiscal responsibly would become the order of everyday goverance
    The committees of committees and producers of nothingness would be something of the past the voices of ordinary bajans would be of importance
    Which means money saved from the extinguishing of advisors and political hogs eating from govt trough would be used for the betterment of the people interest
    Money set aside to help the most needy survived the economic blows of high taxes that the Mottley administration have placed on the backs of the people Also the overseas bajans whose sweat and toil in foreign land much of which played much importance in uplifting and to the support of the Barbados economy would be welcomed with opened arms as true patriots who are willing able and deserving to execute their Constitutional rights to vote
    Let that sink in

46. And for those who live overseas, “Catch a plane!”

The Constitution makes no stipulation to facilitate overseas voting.

If you wish to suggest it for the New Constitution then do so.

I will oppose.

We will see where the chips fall.

47. I have the right to own property. There’s nothing in the Constution that says the Government must hand it to me.

It requires my effort.

I have the right to life. But it does not mean the government must bend over backwards without any effort on my part to preserve it.

And in some curcumstances I can even lose that right and the government can take that life away.

Go and come again!

48. I’m sorry but did you not say that overseas VOTERS would shake up the status quo?

You can, of course, shake up the status quo WITHOUT VOTING. NOONE can stop you from doing that and noone should even try.

Artax,

I’m sorry. I should have mentioned that you always beat her by an innings and 500 runs with four days and two and three quarter sessions to spare.

Not much of a match! That’s why TheO is in the commentary box alone.

I don’t “listen” to his “poems” anymore.

49. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I have great hope for the younger generations…they are more in tune with reality, if interacting with them and my grands is anything to go by……..am proud of them, but they are never to be sucked into the status quo of not knowing, of self-reduction and sadistic politics…by contrived methods.

We are responsible for opening their eyes to these phenomena…and deceit…. by wicked adults..who go to extremes to deceive their own..and leave them trapped in a tainted condition…

50. Yet some here insist in creating a story of stepsisters brothers and cousin of barbadians residing in foreign land
    Bajans by birth nevertheless are being verbally executed by mouthings of their own living on home turf because asking for govt to provide other ways and manner for them to execute their voting rights
    How meanspirited how selfish and what triggers such narcissistic behaviors in them
    Only God knows
    Such things as age restrictions medical health and in some circumstances availability of funds to travel is not giving any consideration
    Just simply applying a test which in their minds results in one size fits all
    Such a wicked mentality and a thought process to hold and to have to exclude your own brothers and sisters from voting
    Yes selfish attitudes would be the downfall of this 2×4
    Carry on smartly one day coming soon those who see all things in black and white would find out the hard way