Mia Mottley out-strategized all comers to win the recent general election by inflicting another 30-0 drubbing on a hapless Democratic Labour Party (DLP). The win is all the more incredible because it was achieved after a 3-year period of unprecedented economic challenges caused primarily by the ongoing pandemic AND the brought forward state of a weak economy.

Besides the chatter about the capacity of the DLP to reinvent itself to be seen as a legitimate choice of a government in waiting, the more immediate expectation is the shape of the new Cabinet and appointments to the Senate expected to be communicated this week. Prime Minister Mottley has signaled among other priorities this second tenure will focused on continuing transformative pursuits to improve how the country does its business.

In 2018 Mottley appointed 26 ministers with several parliamentary secretaries and consultants bolted on. That decision continues to evoke robust discussion pertaining to the insensitivity of the decision given the weak state of the economy. Mottley’s justification was that the perilous state of the economy and the workload required to rebuild the economy justified her decision. Her explanation was summed up in the phrase – many hands make light work. The blogmaster admits the mandate delivered last week probably had little to do with a large cabinet and more to do with a favourable perception of Mottley as leader of government at this time by voters compared to the alternatives on show. 

Political pundits argue Mottley had the difficult job of managing 30 members of parliament coupled with executing government business efficiently. It explains her contentious decision to have appointed 26 members to the 2018 Cabinet. This time around it will be interesting to observe if she repeats the decision- no doubt with the Kingmaker’s blessing- to reappoint a large Cabinet.

Political morality requires Mottley to think carefully about the optics of of another bloated Cabinet to satisfy political expediency at a time many Barbadians are suffering. Mottley is aware of the hospitality sector where employees in the thousands were sent home or suffered reduced pay, middleclass and senior citizens who had to suffer deep haircuts to nest egg investments as a result of the debt restructure and generally a workforce that continues suffer because of significant contraction in the economy are the key considerations. An important trait of a good leader is to make decisions to demonstrate empathy.

758 responses to “Did Many Hands Make Light Work?”

1. The Entity
    One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest
    How many Bajans have gone abroad already
    It’s like counting the Black Sheep in the Family

If you love the Israel Vibration
    Say Forward

Two From Every Family
    And, One From Every City
    I’ll go through for you jah jah
    I be no poo jah jah

Everyday heathen run off them long mouth
    Trying to tell dread say our God has gone away
    They better shut them mouth
    heathen a tell you already
    so I’m going to tell you again and again
    God knows your views can’t get natty confuse
    ‘Cos we seen the light
    and I know we’re right
    just say say say say
    I’ll go through for you jah jah
    I’ll go through
    I will be no no good boo
    I don’t care what they say

I’ll Go Through

Diaspora +100K
    Many Barbadians now live overseas and outside of Barbados; the majority have migrated to Anglophone countries, including around 65,000 in the United States, 37,780 in Canada, some 19,000 in the United Kingdom, and some 500–1,000 Barbadians in Liberia. In addition to Anglophone countries other groups of Barbadians have moved to Latin countries including Brazil, Cuba and Panama.

2. The point is that immigrants who become citizens would be casting their LOT in with Barbadians not just casting their votes. Our fate would be their fate.

And THEREIN LIES THE DIFFERENCE!

I was not born here but I sing like my fellow Philippian,

🎵I en goin’ no weh
    It’s heh I inten’ tuh stay
    An’ if it rise or fall
    I en leavin’ dis lan’ at all.🎶

I have a British birth certificate and a Barbados passport.

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

Would never want to be starting over anything in this unstable environment..which is getting more and more unstable by the day given the volumes of information out there…

…despite all the empty talk, clowns have no control over what happens TO THEM on a 2×3 island when others are the ones whom they have ALLOWED to run the show and control them for multiple decades…

they have even less control over what happens externally…captives/prisoners of their own ignorance and stupidity…

4. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Don’t let them fool you, they put on a great front, a fake show….empty paper bags…..the great pretenders…the politicians will deal with them after their masters are done with the final stages of their planning.

5. “One day u would understand the meaning of the term “derogatory” “

like calling someone a golliwog with a wicked loud racist laugh

https://barbadosunderground.net/2014/04/24/golliwog-type-dolls-on-sale/

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

John..i keep warning yall about the pappyshow…where you will always be the losers….that is as close as warnings i can get to these days..lol

“A senior attorney at law is baffled as to what part of the Constitution the government’s legal advisers are using to guide Prime Minister Mia Mottley in offering the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) two Senate seats.

On Wednesday, the Prime Minister said she had received a legal opinion that cleared the way for her to offer the seats in the Upper Chamber to the party receiving the second-highest votes in the January 19 general election, which her Barbados Labour Party (BLP) won 30-nil, in circumstances where there was no Opposition Leader to choose them.

The DLP has already rejected the offer, saying there is no legal basis for it.

Queen’s Counsel Garth Patterson, in an interview with Barbados TODAY on Thursday, said the Prime Minister would have to point to the portion of the Constitution that gives her the authority to make such an offer.

“What I found strange is that she said she took the advice from the Attorney-General and she was now happy to make the offer. I don’t know if that is political gamesmanship or if she genuinely believes she has the right. I don’t think that is the case. There are powers that are conferred by the Constitution. If they are not conferred on you, you can’t exercise them. So she would have to point to the provision of the Constitution that says she has the right to choose these two senators,” the constitutional expert said.”

7. The parties should decide among themselves what sort of unconstitutional Government they are prepared to offer Barbados or go back to the polls till we get an opposition that can advise the GG/president who the two proposed opposition senators.

We’ve already had two unconstitutional GOB’s, a third one won’t be the end of the world.

8. ““What I found strange is that she said she took the advice from the Attorney-General and she was now happy to make the offer. I don’t know if that is political gamesmanship or if she genuinely believes she has the right. I don’t think that is the case. There are powers that are conferred by the Constitution. If they are not conferred on you, you can’t exercise them. So she would have to point to the provision of the Constitution that says she has the right to choose these two senators,” the constitutional expert said.””

PM makes choices and President approves and authorises them (or not). (It is just a formality). (figureheads don’t do shit).
    Bajans love pretending they understand and speak legalese but they are just confused and bluffing and cannot reason with their cerebrum inside their cranium

9. I was summoned. Leave me out.
    My father-in-law often told me “There are some thoughts that should never wisely be said”.
    Hal’s choice of words could at times be unfortunate and best left unsaid.
    I was one who often proclaimed Hal as brilliant and I still think he is.
    Brilliant, not perfect.

10. William Skinner Avatar

URW. The truth is the truth. As I told you recently , I am not a paragon of any virtue known to mankind. But, I value intellectual honesty. As you have said we have our differences but we are heading the same place.
    One of the great pillars of intellectual honesty is to admit that you’re are not infallible and to quickly acknowledge when you are wrong or even half wrong.
    Quite frankly, among overseas Bajans, I am considered a baby. And they tell me that almost every day. I know Bajans who have been away from home fifty years and over. There is a lot of success and a lot of pain.
    By the time they have achieved success , they have lost family, friends and even visits are a bit depressing because they are seeing the children of their family and friends and don’t know them. It’s a vicious cycle, when one , on the quest for some improvement , has to give up almost anything that is worthwhile at the end.
    There is also a cultural dimension. I have a friend , who has lived more of his life in Brooklyn than than Bim. About ten years ago, he brought home his children to the rock for Crop Over. His daughter , a born and bred American, fell in love with Lil Rick. I am informed that she has not listened to any American rapper since! She is into pure kaiso.
    Children need roots. A Canadian lady now in her fifties told me that on a visit home, around the age of seven or so, her uncle taught her how to catch a lizard. She has never forgotten that!
    I can write a thousand stories. I have advised friends and family , to not give up a job or anything to come chasing the American dream. The price is high…..very high.
    The Caribbean Diaspora must be seen as a part of our new horizon in a different way. And for many different reasons. Indians born and live on the rock then they go back to India to find spouses for their children; Jews , Irish and all other groups are in their Diaspora ensuring that their countries and culture are fully and properly defended.
    When progressive voices talk about the Diaspora , they are talking about he big picture and not only about barrels or who is Dee or Bee.
    However, the mere fact that Caribbean people throughout the Diaspora want to be more involved in their countries is testimony that when all is said and done, home is where the heart is.
    And after mingling with those who call me a baby, I say they got on a plane but they never left Barbados , Jamaica,Guyana or any other island and if they tell you they really left, dey lie !

11. Love this comment William. It has the grist an intelligent debate about the role of the diaspora should play.

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

could you believe that, after saying they will investigate and prosecute DLP for corruption….or which ever word suited their drivel at the time…imagine that…lol

13. The highest of the higher sources says
    if allowing two alleged DLP cadres to have two new seats in the Senate of the Republic of Barbados is unconstitutional
    maybe they could sit on someone’s lap or on the floor

14. angela coxJanuary 28, 2022 6:13 AM #: “Your last two comments are perfect examples
    More often than not your comments are laid out with hot button messages to cause ruckus.”

angela cox

If my contributions offend you, rather than allowing yourself to become disturbed, wouldn’t it be a better decision for you to SCROLL PAST them?

Similar to how you were advised, I will “stay the course; and will not get distracted. My views are valued as equally as others.”

So, whether you like it or not, whether you disagree with me or not, whether you believe I’m causing “ruckus” or not, I will CONTINUE to ‘speak’ the truth as I see it.

As I ‘said,’ the ONUS is on you to SCROLL PAST.

15. William Skinner Avatar

Thanks .
    Peace

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Brilliant, not perfect.”

perfect is boring, it’s only the IMPERFECT expect perfection and don’t care how many times ya SHOW them that NO ONE IS PERFECT and were not meant to be, it’s the more they try to bully others into being perfect while they themselves REMAIN IMPERFECT…steuppsss….

“The Caribbean Diaspora must be seen as a part of our new horizon in a different way. And for many different reasons. Indians born and live on the rock then they go back to India to find spouses for their children; Jews , Irish and all other groups are in their Diaspora ensuring that their countries and culture are fully and properly defended.”

and what must be admired about them all is…they KEEP THEIR ANCESTRAL CULTURE/HERITAGE…and will destroy anyone who tries to take it away from or STOP THEM FROM recognizing and practicing what their ancestors left, no matter how they got the culture to begin with…

William…..it’s the socialization that begins in the primary schools, i have met many of those, they never get over it…there was never a government in place to reverse a lot of miseducation and misinformation//

there have been complaints that when asked about their Afrikan heritage that too many declare that they are neither black nor Afrikan…and two clowns, one in Barbados and one in US went so far to claim, “ya aint see how straight my hair is (with chemicals) i ain’t no Afrikan and i ain’t black”….so that’s why they are TREATED they way they act, like they have NO CULTURE… because they diligently act like they don’t.

17. Nah you WEREN’T SUMMONED. Never had you in mind, therefore, you weren’t included.

18. Thanks.
    Apologies then.

19. A feeble and insignificant excuse about those living outside casting lots for those living in the island
    Feeble and insignificant because barbadians first are citizens by birth and are entitled to all the rights as those living on the islands
    Barbadians also have a right to determined who should represent their interest simply because Barbadians living in other countries provides economic support for the island by way of paying taxes and in other forms of social and economic relief
    Taxes which go to fixing roads building schools and other necessities which help to keep the country functioning
    Hence those individuals should not be treated as outcast or foreigners in their own land

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

btw…most of them don’t even know that the Tuk Band and the Wari game they play …i think that’s the spelling….is the remnants of their glorious Afrikan culture that through genetic memory survived.

21. Will be interesting to see if our conversation for 2022 to 2025 mirrors that of 2018 to December 2021.
    Presently we have 30-0
    appointment of senators and absence of an opposition
    Looming constitutional amendments
    How many ministers???
    ….

22. “Hence those individuals should not be treated as outcast or foreigners in their own land”

9 out of 10 Overseas Bajans who are neither here nor there but still have delusions of grandeur prefer to say

(John 4:44). … Jesus said to them, “Only in his home town, among his relatives and in his own house is a prophet without honour.”…

23. Totally agree that Hal.is a brilliant mind
    His knowledge and experience which he gave about the global world I much appreciated
    I would also say that he was scoffed and demeaned which at times he gave needed responses to how he was treated
    Hence the term bajan condition was pelted towards those on the blog who used a hatchet type approach to be unreasonable with him
    Most people on the blog did appreciate his reservoir of knowledge all at no cost

Say the above to those who think that underwriting the term bajan condition falls within the same perimeter or can be measured as an excuse suffice as a play on words relative to the term ” overseas bajan”
    How about Yankee bajan a term that sets out to isolate and place Barbadians as outcast

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

As much as i will NOT get involved in government’s promised transformation re the miseducation system that’s still in place….they are free and welcome to take any information they deem useful to aid in the transition..from the colonial to the STILL UNKNOWN historical Afrikan heritage/culture….from my websites…much more will be added as we go along…

that’s one of the reasons the websites exist, it’s a source for information for the melanated youth so they do not become further TRAPPED and unknowing like the older generations…..

as soon as the upgrade to the WordPress site is done and the information better organized…it will be more concise..

25. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    Once General Gowon , President of Nigeria visited Barbados. Before he came, a primary school teacher, was asked to assemble all the class 4s in the hall and give them some talks on Africa.
    Everything was going quite well until the teacher started to talk about the Ethiopian Coptic Church and religion.
    The classes were immediately stopped by the head teacher, a prominent member of the Black upper class society.
    General Gowon came, he gave the country some pianos. He was subsequently overthrown.
    This was back in the 70s.
    There can be no change until we educate our children about their historical roots.

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The information in the magazine was given to me free of charge from some very generous people on the continent, that is why i will not charge for it….and anyone can use it for educational purposes..

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Everything was going quite well until the teacher started to talk about the Ethiopian Coptic Church and religion.”

and that’s the information they need the most, and when they read the info provided they will understand w…..our ancestors created BOTH politics and religion, they created EVERYTHING…..but none of it was not meant to be the poison to Black/Afrikan it has all become…

“The classes were immediately stopped by the head teacher, a prominent member of the Black upper class society.”

the low grade clowns pretending to be elite upperclass and pedigreed…

“There can be no change until we educate our children about their historical roots.”

LOUDER…so the clowns and pretenders in the back can hear..

.i will fund the sites to keep the flow of information going, but that’s it..

28. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

our ancestors created BOTH politics and religion, they created EVERYTHING…..but none of it was meant to be the poison to Black/Afrikan lives that it has all become…

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…if only we had that information the Nigeria President was trying to share/impart from the 1970s…what a difference it would have made, now we have to play catchup….without being caught up..

but their self-hatred for all things Afrikan got in the way and they have paid an extremely steep price…

30. William Skinner January 28, 2022 8:40 AM #: “There can be no change until we educate our children about their historical roots.”

@ Mr. Skinner

I agree with you wholeheartedly.

However, let’s be reasonable.

Do you actually believe Barbados Underground, which is essentially a discussion forum where specific topics are posted for debate, is the appropriate forum to “educate our children about their historical roots?”

How do you or anyone else know whether or not BU contributors are educating their “children about their historical roots?”

You cannot assume they are not or that people aren’t aware their of African roots, simply because they may not want to engage on the topic in this forum.

This is the age of technology and there are so many authentic, credible sources of information for the youth to access to provide them with the necessary information.

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

let me rephrase again, because people are inherently stupid and will tend to get the WRONG IDEA…

our ancestors created BOTH politics and religion, they created EVERYTHING…BUT not in this FORMAT…that is like a curse……AND none of it was meant to be reconfigured, MISUSED and ABUSED TO be the poison to Black/Afrikan lives that it has all become…

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

and yet..with all the technology and access to this and that credible platform, we still see so many on BU dumb as rocks…lol…with no clue to what is really happening….and cannot tell any of us about their Afrikan heritage….steupppppppppsssssssss…..

33. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    1. I did not know that some subjects were not appropriate on BU.
    2. I never wrote or said that anybody on BU was not educating their children about their roots. If so, kindly guide me to that inference or statement.
    3. I don’t understand how a truthful story about a primary school teacher could bring such a response
    4. I merely stated that our children need to be exposed to their historical roots
    Question: Is there any breach in the contribution/s I wrote re: Africa / historical roots. If so inform me and I would request that you pull them out of your blog.
    Thanks

34. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    Respectfully, I am awaiting word from the owner of the blog before commenting on whether such topics are appropriate in this forum.
    Peace

35. William you have been posting long enough to know how things work on BU. The blogmaster gives latitude- sometimes to much- to discuss most issues under the Sun. What the blogmaster does not like is the approach of a few commenters who on a daily basis can be predicted to refer to Black bajans as dumb, stupid, ignorant and other pejorative terms. The blogmaster will intervene if in his opinion the quality of the blog is being compromised.

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Personally….due to a response i got, I would not post certain things about Afrika and information directed to the youth on BU anymore, i have my own websites and many other platforms for that…….you may get a different response, but am glad i got the one i did, would not have known how people felt otherwise…

….there are still minds that HATE all things Afrikan and would only be interested in what can be TAKEN/STOLEN from the continent to feed their lazy, slaveminded asses, just as they are only interested in the remittances from those in the diaspora…….but the leaders on the continent already know all that…

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“4. I merely stated that our children need to be exposed to their historical roots”

there are many other platforms also now gearing up toward that…wholesale education about Afrikan heritage so that the youth are no longer educationally DISENFRANCHISED…i was fortunate to be contacted…

not every platform will be prepared or have access to the requisite information….that i know..you MUST have continous/prolonged access to VOLUMES needed to PULL THAT OFF…..

38. FYI for your information
    Your website is not on the radar
    You can add it in the website link
    You can also create distribution lists

39. Can we discuss issues please? One thing some of you have perfected is hijacking the blogs with trivia.

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…i got called a back to Afrika IDIOT on BU among other things…..but ya done know i don’t even blink at those names….but when am ready,…..they can’t handle any of it…

41. William Skinner January 28, 2022 9:30 AM

I did not know that some subjects were not appropriate on BU.

Seems as though you DO NOT UNDERSTAND the DIFFERENCE between making a definitive statement or ASKING a question.

I simply ASKED, Do you actually believe Barbados Underground, which is essentially a discussion forum where specific topics are posted for debate, is the appropriate forum to “educate our children about their historical roots?”

You could’ve responded with ‘yes,’ ‘no,’ or remained silent.

I never wrote or said that anybody on BU was not educating their children about their roots. If so, kindly guide me to that inference or statement.

You’ve ONCE AGAIN demonstrated your inability to differentiate between a question and a definitive statement.

I ASKED you a SIMPLE, STRAIGHT FORWARD question and NEVER mentioned ANYTHING that would SUGGEST what you wrote at # 2.

I don’t understand how a truthful story about a primary school teacher could bring such a response

What response are you ‘talking’ about?

Please indicate to me what is the correlation between my questions and what you wrote at # 3?

I merely stated that our children need to be exposed to their historical roots

And, I merely ASKED you TWO SIMPLE QUESTIONS, based on that comment.

42. William,

I hear you clearly (while ignoring the Bajan remark dropping from the usual childish places).

As I said, Bajans abroad should be afforded the respect due. I too believe that roots, both Caribbean and African are as essential to human life as they are for plant life.

But my problem with overseas voting is based on the principle that those who vote in Eric Gairy should be in the firing line of his Mongoose gang.

I can see no argument that can beat that one.

43. @ David
    Thanks for your prompt response. I will continue to treat your blog with the respect , I have displayed over the years.
    Peace
    @ WURA
    Clearance granted. We all have our favorite subjects; agriculture, the Duopoly, Internatioal affairs, regional unity, Africa/ historical roots , daily back and forth with the views of those with whom we differ , court jester, etc,
    According to the Blogmaster he is quite lenient . I think so as well.
    It’s laughable that I have to even pause to post something like this.
    But I was always taught : ever so welcomed wait for a call.
    But you are correct. I was upbraided as a young man by many when I spoke of Africa and Black power, Over fifty years later , I still get licks for it.
    There are some people who are not convinced that we need to dwell on that part of our history.
    Funny thing is that only this morning, I read in the papers the Barbadian Jews reminding us about the Holocaust. They were in their Synagogue.
    Peace .

44. staying on topic of the did-many-hands-make-light-work issue thread in a different context

one of the benefits for countries becoming poorer (for the richer) is the poorer become servants for the richer for next to nothing

45. @ Artax
    William Skinner January 28, 2022 8:40 AM #: “There can be no change until we educate our children about their historical roots.”

@ Mr. Skinner

I agree with you wholeheartedly.

However, let’s be reasonable.

Do you actually believe Barbados Underground, which is essentially a discussion forum where specific topics are posted for debate, is the appropriate forum to “educate our children about their historical roots?” (Yes)

How do you or anyone else know whether or not BU contributors are educating their “children about their historical roots?”( I do not)

You cannot assume they are not or that people aren’t aware their of African roots, simply because they may not want to engage on the topic in this forum.(Correct)

This is the age of technology and there are so many authentic, credible sources of information for the youth to access to provide them with the necessary information.( Correct)
    I hope this clarifies my position.

46. @Donna,
    For your argument to be bullet proof, you would have to convince us that Grenadians in the Diaspora voted in Eric Gairy

Perhaps it was the locals who voted him and inclusion of the Diaspora is the remedy

47. Artax

William Skinner January 28, 2022 9:30 AM

I did not know that some

subjects were not appropriate on BU.

Seems as though you DO NOT UNDERSTAND the DIFFERENCE between making a definitive statement or ASKING a question.

I simply ASKED, Do you actually believe Barbados Underground, which is essentially a discussion forum where specific topics are posted for debate, is the appropriate forum to “educate our children about their historical roots?”

You could’ve responded with ‘yes,’ ‘no,’ or remained silent.

I never wrote or said that anybody on BU was not educating their children about their roots. If so, kindly guide me to that inference or statement.

You’ve ONCE AGAIN demonstrated your inability to differentiate between a question and a definitive statement.

I ASKED you a SIMPLE, STRAIGHT FORWARD question and NEVER mentioned ANYTHING that would SUGGEST what you wrote at # 2.

I don’t understand how a truthful story about a primary school teacher could bring such a response

What response are you ‘talking’ about?

Please indicate to me what is the correlation between my questions and what you wrote at # 3?

I merely stated that our children need to be exposed to their historical roots

And, I merely ASKED you TWO SIMPLE QUESTIONS, based on that comment.

Xccc
    PITCH Fork interrogation
    Baffled shit
    Never ceases to amaze

48. So…if Richard Drayton votes in Eric Gairy will he return to face the bullets with me when he realises his mistake? See, no matter what influence he wields from afar, it is nothing like standing beside me in battle, facing down the bullets.

Or perhaps he will open his home to shelter me and my son when I am forced to flee in fear of my life.

If I choose Gairy then I face the Mongoose Gang.

If you guys vote in Gairy, then you guys should be facing the Mongoose Gang, not influencing from your safety overseas.

It makes THE WORLD of difference!

Let the debate begin!

49. Now… did many hands make light work? Well …maybe….but I did not vote for light work. I voted for hard-working ministers.

Nobody promised it would be easy to deliver on promises.

The cabinet was too large. The cabinet is STILL too large.

Are we getting what we paid for?

The last minute addition of Duguid begs the question –

WHY?

And WHAT did she find out two days ago that she did not know two days before?

The size of the cabinet was and still is determined by political circumstances rather than on the basis of work load.

I dun wid dat!