Mia Mottley out-strategized all comers to win the recent general election by inflicting another 30-0 drubbing on a hapless Democratic Labour Party (DLP). The win is all the more incredible because it was achieved after a 3-year period of unprecedented economic challenges caused primarily by the ongoing pandemic AND the brought forward state of a weak economy.

Besides the chatter about the capacity of the DLP to reinvent itself to be seen as a legitimate choice of a government in waiting, the more immediate expectation is the shape of the new Cabinet and appointments to the Senate expected to be communicated this week. Prime Minister Mottley has signaled among other priorities this second tenure will focused on continuing transformative pursuits to improve how the country does its business.

In 2018 Mottley appointed 26 ministers with several parliamentary secretaries and consultants bolted on. That decision continues to evoke robust discussion pertaining to the insensitivity of the decision given the weak state of the economy. Mottley’s justification was that the perilous state of the economy and the workload required to rebuild the economy justified her decision. Her explanation was summed up in the phrase – many hands make light work. The blogmaster admits the mandate delivered last week probably had little to do with a large cabinet and more to do with a favourable perception of Mottley as leader of government at this time by voters compared to the alternatives on show. 

Political pundits argue Mottley had the difficult job of managing 30 members of parliament coupled with executing government business efficiently. It explains her contentious decision to have appointed 26 members to the 2018 Cabinet. This time around it will be interesting to observe if she repeats the decision- no doubt with the Kingmaker’s blessing- to reappoint a large Cabinet.

Political morality requires Mottley to think carefully about the optics of of another bloated Cabinet to satisfy political expediency at a time many Barbadians are suffering. Mottley is aware of the hospitality sector where employees in the thousands were sent home or suffered reduced pay, middleclass and senior citizens who had to suffer deep haircuts to nest egg investments as a result of the debt restructure and generally a workforce that continues suffer because of significant contraction in the economy are the key considerations. An important trait of a good leader is to make decisions to demonstrate empathy.

758 responses to “Did Many Hands Make Light Work?”

1. Where is this circular exchange going? Agree to disagree and move on.

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

“You are on a different trip”

you hit the nail on the head…am not into status quo and conventional or the colonial like those who have NO CHOICE….because that IS ALL THEY GOT…and were given….

..i know you and others are UNABLE to grab that concept…it will seem like another dimension and won’t waste time trying to explain….WHEN YOU CAN NEVER GET IT…..it’s an entirely different language….that only certain people speak…you cannot understand what YOU DO NOT KNOW EXISTS…

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

The knowledge was well hidden, not everyone will be able to access or even understand any of it, they barely even understand their every day circumstances after so many decades of living…….ya can lay blame until ya exhausted, it is what it is…none of it can be distilled on a blog too many fragile and unknowing minds., it can be read in books and magazines, but only some will show interest and if ya have access to certain jurisdictions… ya can find the info but it’s always best to have someone knowledgeable to guide you in that timeline…..

the people who are supposed to know, know all about it..i think that’s all we need at this point in time….later on when the younger generations mature sufficiently after exposure to certain things…, they will have full access…it’s really meant for them anyway, and came directly from our ancient ancestors…….who not only created language but many, many publications for us to know who we really are….and HOW we should handle situations…

unfortunately because of indoctrinaton…some will never know…..but their great grands going forward will…

4. If you are smart, read carefully “PM commits to democracy” on BB Today. The speech of our Supreme Leader somehow came from my laptop …

“She added that the much broader constitutional reforms for the new republic would be made chapter by chapter each month, beginning with citizens’ fundamental rights and freedoms.”

Haven’t I been calling for total state restructuring of the constitution for a long time? The cosmetic exchange of GG with President was just the beginning. Many, far more fundamental constitutional changes will follow. I am thinking of the election of the president for 10 years by the people, the power to make emergency decrees and the creation of human duties as a counterweight to human rights.

“But even without it, she said members of the cabinet would be required to declare their assets, more powers would be given to the Whistleblowers Act, and the local anti-corruption agency would be fully staffed.”

Haven’t I been calling for tougher action against the opposition for years? Traitors are to be reported to the Attorney General with immediate effect.

“zero tolerance for both corruption and arrogance”

Traitors are not only those who commit the crime of corruption, but also those who behave arrogantly towards our Supreme Leader and the people.

5. ““You are on a different trip””

it’s mind blowing what people pick up on and what they ignore when arguing on net blowing their trumpet

but your works here are clumsy

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

i think after being on here this long…i should know what will work and what won’t…and should know my people better than you would any day of the week…same way you know yours better than i would any day of any week……

but…in other locales that are receptive due to their exposure to what some can never imagine exists…there is a huge difference…

don’t worry ya head, none of it is meant for you…..you have your own….who it is meant for are getting what they need, are quite satisfied……and progressing as intended.

i will repeat….i don’t do colonial, conventional, status quo or anything that REQUIRED/still requires BRAINWASH to reach a certain level in someone else’s make believe world…we have everything we need to remain in the natural world designed by our ancestors, and that is what i feel most comfortable in…

.what’s the point of castigating those responsible with ya every breath and EVERY POST, but ya CANNOT LIVE OUTSIDE OF THEIR CONTRIVED WORLD and don’t even know there is another way or that other worlds exist………lol…

7. There is no way the Constitution can be changed to comprehend zero seats for the opposition without its intent to create a Parliamentary Democracy being made void.

A Parliamentary Democracy cannot exist without an opposition.

We have two choices, go back to the polls till we get an opposition or find a way of creating an unconstitutional Government for the third time that is acceptable to all parties who contested the elections.

That is a no brainer …. or ZERO brainer for those unable to understand no or none but can understand ZERO.

Personally, I favour the proportional representation way with only top performing candidates getting seats.

Rank the BLP candidates according to largest gap between each and the opposition and chose the top tier, largest first.

Rank the DLP according to smallest defeat and chose the top tier, smallest first.

Ditto other parties.

Allocate seats on a pro rata basis with only the top performers going forward.

To get once again the rubbish as happened last time with Reverend Joe will only further alienate the electorate.

Next time, if there is one, we may see the 41% cut in half as more and more people become completely pissed off with the performance of the 20 ministers and 10 seat warmers/discards.

A half decent opposition will keep the Government on its toes and create some excitement to a Parliament that has become a dud.

8. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

btw…William…..there is big confusion going on other platforms regarding some comment made about worshipping other gods….another distraction no doubt….but we always knew the nonsense religions practiced was going to turn into another massive COCKUP once properly weaponized……..because they too are contrived and given to the gullible to fight over just like they do with the nuisance politics….

lost in space does not begin to describe how all of this is now unfolding…

face coverings no long legally required in UK…let’s see what those who must follow do….i know am wearing…the guinea pigs can go right ahead and start spitting in each other’s faces again…

education reform for the island…heard this talk before, don’t want to jump the gun and say anything just yet, but reform does not mean turning young minds into yardfowls and pimps for government ministers, so i expect to see REAL REFORM…and no more UNDEREDUCATION and miseducation….to turn populations into voters and consumers ONLY…….

it’s sickening and people are APPALLED…that it actually happened over these many decades…

9. “i think after being on here this long…i should know what will work and what won’t…and should know my people better than you would any day of the week…same way you know yours better than i would any day of any week……”

it’s a waste of time rehashing 2020 exchanges beefs
    but you and your people versus me and my people
    is the peak Waru nonsense of minority dislike / hate
    while claiming to be a radical activist and being a white apologist
    mistrusting your leaders may be justified or excessively incorrect

the last word shall be the nut jobs to linger on

10. “There is no way the Constitution can be changed to comprehend zero seats for the opposition without its intent to create a Parliamentary Democracy being made void”

Democracy separates the wheat from the chaff : to judge which people or things in a group are bad and which ones are good

11. I was very pleased with our Supreme Leader in a February 15 press photo. She was wearing a beige safari shirt with epaulettes. That’s the way it’s supposed to be.

Our citizens need a strong Commander in Chief!

12. The Sum Total of Opposition Seats in Parliament = 0

Mia and her Team are are the Super_Heroes
    XYZ and all their teams are the Zeroes {000000000000000000000000000000..000}

Magno the magnificent

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PymwZiSNmMk

13. William Skinner Avatar

@ DPD
    I was just informed that my reference to a “ Contractor moment” might not have been that clear to others: Here it is:
    Nari Contractor
    Mercifully, serious injuries are rare, but in 1962, India’s young captain Nari Contractor was left critically ill after being struck on the head by West Indies fast bowler Charlie Griffith. He made a remarkable recovery and while he did return to the game, he was never again picked for his country.

14. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William…none of this will end any time soon, will continue to escalate until people SAY, THAT IS IT….and remove themselves COMPLETELY..but we know who will and who won’t.

..at least the process has started…where there was no process before…..PROGRESS….

borders in the Caribbean should be opened completely, but a one Caribbean state is harder to fathom…given that many islands had different rulers at different times, divided by languages and cultures, the French, Spanish, British, Portuguese, at one time Scandinavians were around,, the different languages will not help, although i see Chinese and Portugese courses are being offered….but there is no changing some mentalities..

………it won’t work, cause no one would want the Dominican Republic anywhere around them with their Black hatred and still lynching Black men….or Guyana with their embedded racism against Afrikan descended people….

It’s idealistic….but all that damage cannot be undone….not in this century…and we still got nearly 80 years to go before the next one…

ya leaders are too UNSKILLED and one dimensional..no one has faith in any of them

the better move is to MOVE ON……there is better to be found and i like having the best of both worlds…

15. @David

After Cynthy said she didn’t want to be included ( we have to take the PM’s word for that) in the new Cabinet you floated the possibility of a byelection in St. Thomas in the next two years. One’s mind wanders to a favourite son who could be “persuaded” to run in that constituency. One also observes that one Rawdon ADAMS was not selected to serve in the Senate again, does that mean that he has fallen out of favour with the boss or is he working like a busy bee behind the scenes waiting for the bell to be rung.

16. @Sargeant

The blogmaster’s read is that RA does not have the appetite for politics, he seems happy dabbling in business with the deputy Prime minister’s better half.

The word is Trevor Prescod is not well at Harrison’s. We pray for his recovery.

17. @David
    Before anyone gets the wrong idea I know you mean the Deputy PM and currency ventures, was wondering about Prescod’s absence from the swearing in, hope he recovers.

18. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Someone said he passed away, don’t know how true..

19. and the beat goes on

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Still gotta wait for confirmation, might be just rumor.

21. DavidJanuary 27, 2022 3:18 PM

@Sargeant

The blogmaster’s read is that RA does not have the appetite for politics, he seems happy dabbling in business with the deputy Prime minister’s better half.

The word is Trevor Prescod is not well at Harrison’s. We pray for his recovery.

Hope he gets well soon.

Meantime, Duguid looking like a shoo in for LoO!!

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

John…yall don’t get tired of the pappyshow…the whole fraud show..and going around and around every day….with no progress and nothing to show..

23. Here’s the thing with overseas voters. They may very well outnumber those who have to live with the consequences of their votes.

I do not see how a logical person could think that to be right. That people, however well-intentioned, should chart the course for others.

So… if you guys vote in a Gairy ….

I have always heard it said that one should lie in the bed one has made for one’s self.

Never heard it said that one should lie in the bed made up by others while those who made it have no intentions of lying in it again.

You could call me any name you want but I do not think I should have to live with the government you guys choose.

Maybe you will succeed in getting what you seem to think are your rights. But I hope you guys are prepared to accept the grave responsibility for the future of MY grandchildren and not YOURS.

24. Funny how remittances come with strings attached.

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Skinner, well mine was more a rising ball and you definitely didn’t take it on the noggin… u swatted it away easily enough. Your 20-20 reference is apt tho … the freewheeling batting style of that genre seems to have ushered almost perfect eyesight as even mighty bouncers are put away more easily for 6 these days!

I get it that technology allows us to “have a proper system of overseas voting* but I am one of those that do not want tech incorporated into ALL aspects of life for its sake if there is only incidental value rather than incrementally strong improvement.

I have not heard a compelling argument for how the votes from overseas Bajans improve our local governance or enhances any legislative processes…. Let’s identify any solid benefits … first.

I could see this matter rapidly deteriorating to the situation seen across many US states: a backlash to the expanded vote access due to allegations of fraud.

And @David, you saw my name on that published voter list did you 🙈😇 !

26. @Dee Word

You have not heard a compelling argument because national debate has not started.

27. Why are barbadians living in the dispora called overseas bajans
    I find that naming or labelling some what tacky and one which has created divisive attitudes amongst those living at home and abroad
    Not all barbadians living abroad and in some cases have the financial resources where withal to travel
    Some also might have medical issues which might have handicapped them in travels
    Others might have pressing work related duties during election time in Barbados which can interfer with their ability to vote at home
    The red herring concept of voters fraud is not a problem for the Barbadian living in the dispora to solve
    The global community opens up plenty avenues by which govt can rely on to solve issues of interference
    Barbadians working in other countries are still barbadians by birth and should be allowed to vote
    There are Barbados embassy’s in countries by which ballots can be delivered by voters and properly scanned and sent to the relevant offices that handle voting in Barbados

28. @ Donna,
    You sound very rattled. Have no fear, Auntie Mia is preparing to seal the island’s fate with 80,000 immigrants plus members of their extended family.
    Would not the country’s interests be best served with ther diaspora or a pack of divided foreigners with no knowledge of their host community.

Be very careful with what you wish for. Peace.

29. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Fair enough @David.

I do pray that the blogger who spoke at 6:49 PM is not a best example of the tone of that debate … but I will await at least one compelling item from said debate.

This is gobblygock : _*Why are barbadians living in the dispora called overseas bajans […] I find that naming or labelling some what tacky and one which has created divisive attitudes amongst those living at home and abroad..”*

Alright, let’s call them ‘Bajans who do not live in Barbados’. … who are residents or new citizens in another nation who live, work and raise families there …. and who made a deliberate decision to leave the island and its political development for different vistas!

Steuupse!

30. William Skinner Avatar

Your concerns are valid but I don’t think it’s about remittances with strings. It’s rather that many want to invest a lot more in their countries and want some measure of presence and involvement in the political/governance process. From where I stand there is a bigger picture here. Note that Barbados alone is not my consideration. As you have also agreed or at least are receptive to a more lasting Caribbean union; we have to look at all new approaches.
    As @David suggests, let’s see what comes out of the national debate about not only overseas voting but the need to truly tap into the vast human resources and economic opportunities within the Diaspora, as we forge new ways of making the entire Caribbean more unified and self sufficient.
    The Struggle continues

31. A separate constituency single seat for those abroad reflects their status and does not interfere with local politics.
    A lot of people have given up their citizenship to become a citizen of other countries like UK, USA, Canada etc,
    but they should be able to reapply for dual citizenship again (for a $1-2K fee) to be able to live work stay do business but property vote etc.

32. angela cox January 27, 2022 6:49 PM #: “Why are barbadians living in the dispora called overseas bajans. I find that naming or labelling some what tacky and one which has created divisive attitudes amongst those living at home and abroad.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I agree with you 100%.

But, in all fairness, you should ask yourself who started the “labeling.”

A particular ‘pseudo psychologist’ began this silly discussion by categorizing us into ‘stay at home Bajans’ and ‘overseas Bajans.’

The guy ‘diagnosed’ ‘stay at home Bajans’ as being ‘appallingly ignorant’ people living on a ‘backward’ island and having some ‘condition’ that is synonymous with them only.
    He would warn people not to return to Barbados and if they do, to be careful of being ‘ripped off’ by artisans, taxi operators, shops, etc.

His assessment of ‘overseas Bajans’ was that they were fortunate to have ‘escaped the cave,’ (an obvious reference to to Plato’s ‘The Allegory of the Cave),’ which resulted in them with the ability to think more reasonably and rationally than their ‘stay at home’ counterparts.

I could provide the forum with many more examples, but choose not to do so at this time. But, another individual who usually talks loud, endorsed the guy’s ‘theories,’ while ‘saying’ he has a ‘brilliant mind.’

People were offended by the characterizations and, rightfully so, reacted accordingly.

The discussion has now been conveniently shifted to focus primarily on the importance of remittances.

33. Artax why do u like to start strife or mischievous
    U know all too well that no one on this blog initiated that term “overseas bajan ”
    Then as if your unwarranted untruth was not enough u decided to launch a broadside attack on another blogger
    Previously I have called u out for starting and engaging with fires by which other bloggers have started
    Now here u go again with your arsenal of molotov attacks on a blogger that doesn’t roam the halls of BU any longer
    One thing to disagree but another to be the architect of unwarranted mischievous attacks and to which I say is wrong

34. Just like not everyone likes to.be called dribbler since such a name carries demeaning references
    Calling a Barbadian an overseas bajan can conjure up references to out cast or forgotten or persons having no.interest in their home land or strangers to.their homeland
    Barbadians no.matter their status or where they live are proud of their home and would preferably be referred to as Barbadians
    Overseas bajans my foot
    Steupse

35. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@AC, I consider this discourse about the term “overseas Barbadians” the regular stupid semantics engaged on blogs.

If I am a footballer or think of myself as continuously being nimble being called “dribbler” is an awesome compliment.

If it’s you playing the feeble word games daily on the blog then being a ‘dribbler’ is surely demeaning.

Absurdly irrelevant !

I am a Bajan …. overseas, overland, non-resident emigre, former Phillipian. resident, returnee or whatever is stupid semantics.

36. @Angela Cole,
    There was a reason why the British journalist employed the term “Bajan Condition”.

The so called overseas bajans appears to be more of a threat to black bajans than the IMF and all the other minority groups combined in a few peoples’ distorted minds.

AC, stay the course; and do not get distracted Your views are valued as equally as others. It is a shame when certain commentators stray into divisive territories simply because they have a hatred for an individual.

The man in question was a valued asset on BU. He was a font of knowledge. Wherever he is, I am certain we the BU family wish him well.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=iS27tv_FQ3M

37. angela cox January 27, 2022 10:30 PM

RE: “Artax why do u like to start strife or mischievous.”

Please indicate to me where I have “started strife?” But, that’s the typical response from someone who does not like the TRUTH.

It’s laughable when A DECEITFUL HYPOCRITE such as you, angela cox, who has a KNOWN HISTORY of often presenting “unwarranted untruths” to BU and COMMENTING on them as though it was FACT, could come here with a ‘straight face’ and ‘tell’ us about “starting strife, being mischievous, unwarranted untruths and launching a broadside attack on another blogger,”…….. and to LECTURE us on morals and behaviour.

Remember the video you posted to BU in which the narrator was promoting several untruths about the new Fairchild Street market project and you CONTINUED to comment as though what he said was TRUE, despite being provided with the necessary evidence that proved otherwise?

RE: “U know all too well that no one on this blog initiated that term “overseas bajan. ”.”

I’m putting it to you that you’re LYING.

I NEVER make a comment on BU without FIRST verifying if it is correct or presenting any proof to substantiate my claims.

I know many of you have ‘short memories,’ in that you make certain comments and DENY doing so when REMINDED. That’s one of the reasons why many of you HATE to read the phrase, ‘BU archives,’ as evidenced by the negative connotations you associate with it.

Bajans were categorised on BU, into ‘overseas Bajans and stay at home Bajans.” Ask Donna. She was called a ‘convert’ who wanted to do more than someone born in Barbados, for expressing her dissatisfaction with those characterizations.

38. angela cox January 27, 2022 10:30 PM

RE: “Then as if your unwarranted untruth was not enough u decided to launch a broadside attack on another blogger.”

I’ll remind you, angela cox, EVERYTIME I had to highlight any misinformation or “unwarranted untruth” you presented to BU and PROVING it WRONG in the process, the SAME blogger you’re DEFENDING, “decided to launch a broadside attack on me, another blogger, to say I was a ‘cyber bully who was cyber stalking you’ and is in need of psychiatric help.

RE: “One thing to disagree but another to be the architect of unwarranted mischievous attacks and to which I say is wrong.”

The same blogger ‘said’ I go to other Caribbean islands to get drunk; repeatedly LIED about me not knowing the difference between the stock market and the economy, or sarcastically calling me ‘bookkeeper,’ and a ‘slimy pig,’ simply because I DISAGREED with his opinions or proved them wrong.

I’ll also remind you of his snide, pejorative remarks, calling other “bloggers” ‘hungry dingoes, hyenas, wild barking dogs, wild beasts and savages that should be in the jungle, mealy mouthed keyboard warriors and appallingly ignorant semi-literate buffoons,’ were RESERVED SPECIFICALLY for those contributors who did not agree with his opinions.

Unfortunately, it WASN’T “a shame when you and certain commentators” DID NOT DEEMED him to be “the architect of unwarranted mischievous attacks” or ‘talked’ about “straying into divisive territories,” nor did you ‘say’ he was WRONG to do so at that time.

By REMAINING SILENT, you ENDORSED his behaviour simply because he was defending you.

A perfect example of DECEITFULNESS and HYPOCRISY.

RE: “Previously I have called u out for starting and engaging with fires by which other bloggers have started. Now here u go again with your arsenal of molotov attacks on a blogger that doesn’t roam the halls of BU any longer.”

More rubbish. What “fires have I started or engaged in by which other bloggers have started?”

So, as long as we SING the PRAISES of “a blogger that doesn’t roam the halls of BU any longer,” ‘saying’ he’s “brilliant, has a brilliant mind, was a valued asset on BU and a font of knowledge,” IT IS OKAY.

But, to highlight his other idiosyncrasies and how some of us were verbally abused and insulted by him, means I’m “starting fires, causing strife, being mischievous, coming with (my) arsenal of molotov attacks,” because I hate him.

Another example of DECEITFULNESS and HYPOCRISY

I guess the attacks he leveled at me and especially David BU, meant he loved us.

Let me remind you of something I mentioned to you a few days ago, “you need to reinforce your glass house before throwing stones.”

39. On cue!

Barbadian diaspora wants greater role in development

THE BARBADIAN DIASPORA should be given a greater role in the future of the country, including having the right to vote.
    Historian Dr Richard Drayton, as part of his address on Wednesday entitled The Barbados Election Of 2022: What’s Next For The Nation And Its Diaspora? noted there was very little mention of the diaspora in the manifestos of the main political parties.
    “I noted the DLP (Democratic Labour Party) manifesto did not speak to the issue of the diaspora in any way that I spotted and the BLP (Barbados Labour Party) one scarcely does. The question of the diaspora and elections are issues which should be connected.
    “This is not a problem Barbados faces uniquely but there are countries around the world which have found ways to include its overseas citizens in their parliamentary process. We are not talking about giving the diaspora preponderant power to decide how laws are made in Barbados but just giving it a voice proportionate to the contributions it is expected to make.
    “One of the great tragedies of our competitive political party system is that when a party is out of power, half of the population or more is immediately deemed to be not worthy of involvement in Government decision-making and consultation. We have a very wasteful attitude towards talent – possibly because we think we are so rich in talent we don’t need to reach out. I think to include the diaspora in the electoral process, even if only in a token way, would actually be an important thing,” he said.
    Drayton was the featured presenter in the National Council of Barbadian Associations UK (United Kingdom)/ Bajan HUB UK online discussion. The panellists included association chairman Richard Alleyne, author Pamela Haynes and chairman of the DLP UK branch, Anderson Connell. The more than 100 participants hailed from the UK and United States and the floor was open for comments and questions from anyone.
    In his presentation, Connell asked how the diaspora could do more and said the ability to vote would be a step in the right direction.
    “It doesn’t matter who won the election, it’s about how can we leverage the skill sets and talents of the diaspora. Unless we are able to collate the talents and skillsets of our people, we are wasting our time. The idea of giving the diaspora the ability to vote is a very attractive one and I think that needs to be pushed,” he said.
    Afraid to vote
    On the issue of the election results, Connell said there was not much doubt the BLP would have won but what was troubling was the number of people who felt afraid to vote or felt their vote did not matter, adding many DLP supporters had already felt it was a lost cause.
    Drayton agreed this was a serious matter as he said there were a significant number of Barbadians who had lost faith in politics to provide solutions to their problems, as evidenced by 60 per cent of Barbadians abstaining, though voting was also affected by the COVID-19 virus.
    The professor, in giving his analysis of the elections, said that the BLP again earned an overwhelming victory, there were the beginnings of a small swing back to the DLP in areas such as St Philip, St John and parts of St Michael, especially in St Philip North where he said there was “a glimmer of hope” as the DLP’s Michael Lashley earned the most votes of anyone in the party, narrowly losing by 235 votes. Even so, he predicted Barbados would remain a mostly one-party Government for at least one or two more elections, although he added politics could be unpredictable.
    Some of his other observations were: Barbados was still not ready for a third party; the DLP was “three steps behind” when the elections were called but were still the most prepared and the BLP had lost a little of its appeal as some people were upset about the lack of consultation in certain aspects.
    Some of the other issues raised included Barbados’ debt, accusations of votebuying and questions about campaign funding as well as support for the inclusion of women in key roles and the fact Barbados held another violence-free election.
    (CA)

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“and all the other minority groups combined in a few peoples’ distorted minds.”

I won’t worry with them, right now they are on the OUTSIDE LOOKING IN and DON’T EVEN KNOW it with the usual suspects plotting and planning for THEIR LIVES….and none look like them, there was a time they would have gotten early warnings but NOT ANY MORE….let them search and find the information themselves…other people have their families to take care of and make sure they know..

they know everything, let them figure it out.

that critical info is for the young to disseminate and share among themselves, no one has the time or energy for stupid old people who can’t learn anything, i certainly don’t have the time…got much better things to do…let them find out the hard way, if they ever find out at all, because 3/4 of the things that go in Barbados….THEY KNOW NOTHING ABOUT…and would be SHOCKED at what has taken place in the last year…

they only mention diasporans in terms of RELIEVING THEM OF WHAT THEY WORKED HARD FOR through rain and snow and hail and over 100% degree heat…with harsh social conditions for decades..

leave these people let them meet their Karma..it’s right around the corner…and those who hate them the most will DISH IT OUT TO THEM expertly…..just watch it unfold..

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

They will never in a million years believe that they are the OUTCASTS on the island….that’s how blind they are and cannot see themselves as usual…been watching them for years in amazement….that’s why had to wind down from that energy drainer to nowhere.

all these years on a blog with available information, was very generous with it too, until recently…..and here they are at the very beginning still….steuppppss….and only those with the same mindset would admire that…

…and apparently for them, changing mindsets in IMPOSSIBLE…just as impossible for those who claim they will be transform the miseducation and misinformation system, when we know they DON’T KNOW WHAT TO DO…in terms of developing the right type of education for YOUNG BLACK MINDS…..and no one who does is inclined to help them because they will SCREW THAT UP TOO…with ignorance, because that is what they are used to..

that is what ya dealing with…

TLSN …am sure you can find some young people in UK and Barbados to share info with or give it to your grands and they will share it….they need it more….btw…thank you for those informative links..they are priceless.

42. William,

Thank you for acknowledging that my concerns are valid. It has nothing to do with hatred for Bajans living overseas. That would be stupid.

I actually had no issue with overseas Bajans being recruited as Chief Justice or senators. They are Bajans, after all and many of them are my very close relatives and friends.

My problem relates only to electing our government.

Imagine that those living overseas, if overseas voting is facilitated, could vote in a Gairy while never having to face his Mongoose Gang!

I can see your point about wishing to invest but I believe there are other ways to address the legitimate need for influence.

This is the kind of discussion I welcome.

Thanks again.

43. Artax
    What fires have I started
    Xxxxxx
    Your last two comments are perfect examples
    More often than not your comments are laid out with hot button messages to cause ruckus

44. @dribbler

One day u would understand the meaning of the term “derogatory” “

45. While others speak reasonably and rationally, some continue to talk loud and say nothing while speaking about HAVING OPTIONS and Barbados not being on their list.

That is precisely the kind of person who should NOT be choosing who governs Barbabadians. Such a person has only the toes of one foot in. We need those who are ALL IN.

46. Barbadains should welcome any credible avenue towards allowing Barbadians living outside the country to place a vote
    Presently barbadians living on the island for whatever reason have made a decision to abandon their right to vote
    These constant poor show of voting results should not be taken lightly in a democracy
    including barbadians residing in other countries would give a more fair balanced and reasonable outlook on future voting results
    PM has said that the birth rate in Barbados has slowed and if this trend continues the economy of Barbados would get a hit
    In the same vein so would the voting numbers crumble
    Govt has also given thought to allowing a massive amount of immigrants to reside on the island with thought in mind to rebuilding the population
    Without doubt many of those immigrants who are not barbadians by birth would be allowed to vote when becoming citizens while the Barbadian by birth living in foreign lands for many years have yet to cast a vote

47. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

““One of the great tragedies of our competitive political party system is that when a party is out of power, half of the population or more is immediately deemed to be not worthy of involvement in Government decision-making and consultation. We have a very wasteful attitude towards talent – possibly because we think we are so rich in talent we don’t need to reach out. I think to include the diaspora in the electoral process, even if only in a token way, would actually be an important thing,” he said.”

this is one of the reasons the island has degraded to SUCH AN EMBARRASSING LEVEL..

LOW GRADE MENTALITIES leaking from the haunted house parliament and trickling down into a vulnerable society;….now they are all back at THE VERY BEGINNING….with no one who understands the predicament…willing to start over with them,,,hell no….i personally gave up 9 years already, others gave up much more….don’t know one person with the skills who would be willing to WASTE more energy after they have wasted nearly 20 YEARS ….and those on BU with their stupid posts…….with technology that could help with the changes right at their fingertips and they ignored it….they had the opportunity and WASTED EVERY MINUTE…while most people moved on to things that are more constructive..

All we can do now is watch outcomes and wish them the best after what is being PLANNED FOR THEM by those who have planned for them for over 6 decades….THEIR OWNERS..

most people in the diaspora will NEVER tolerate any of that, after what they have seen and experienced out there…….