Mia Mottley out-strategized all comers to win the recent general election by inflicting another 30-0 drubbing on a hapless Democratic Labour Party (DLP). The win is all the more incredible because it was achieved after a 3-year period of unprecedented economic challenges caused primarily by the ongoing pandemic AND the brought forward state of a weak economy.

Besides the chatter about the capacity of the DLP to reinvent itself to be seen as a legitimate choice of a government in waiting, the more immediate expectation is the shape of the new Cabinet and appointments to the Senate expected to be communicated this week. Prime Minister Mottley has signaled among other priorities this second tenure will focused on continuing transformative pursuits to improve how the country does its business.

In 2018 Mottley appointed 26 ministers with several parliamentary secretaries and consultants bolted on. That decision continues to evoke robust discussion pertaining to the insensitivity of the decision given the weak state of the economy. Mottley’s justification was that the perilous state of the economy and the workload required to rebuild the economy justified her decision. Her explanation was summed up in the phrase – many hands make light work. The blogmaster admits the mandate delivered last week probably had little to do with a large cabinet and more to do with a favourable perception of Mottley as leader of government at this time by voters compared to the alternatives on show. 

Political pundits argue Mottley had the difficult job of managing 30 members of parliament coupled with executing government business efficiently. It explains her contentious decision to have appointed 26 members to the 2018 Cabinet. This time around it will be interesting to observe if she repeats the decision- no doubt with the Kingmaker’s blessing- to reappoint a large Cabinet.

Political morality requires Mottley to think carefully about the optics of of another bloated Cabinet to satisfy political expediency at a time many Barbadians are suffering. Mottley is aware of the hospitality sector where employees in the thousands were sent home or suffered reduced pay, middleclass and senior citizens who had to suffer deep haircuts to nest egg investments as a result of the debt restructure and generally a workforce that continues suffer because of significant contraction in the economy are the key considerations. An important trait of a good leader is to make decisions to demonstrate empathy.

758 responses to “Did Many Hands Make Light Work?”

1. google allows people who don’t know to google search and cut and paste and act like they know

2. Here thinking that not out.of a preferred choice.of wanting to leave Barbados my father had to make a decision to find an economic security to provide for his family
    Therefore he goes to another country where job security was the better option
    Spends many years provided financial support for his family finances which were placed in the upkeep of Barbados
    However is told that in order for him to vote he must meet a certain criteria of govt policy
    Well.i be dam if that isn’t as close to discrimination along with being treated as an outcast in his place of birth
    Then what is the point being given all the other rights of being a citizen when one of the basic tenets of the Constitution is literally snatched from under the feet
    An individual is either a Barbadian citizen as deemed by birth or is not
    Can’t willy nilly which part of the constitution is applicable to the citizen after being born and bred

3. 555,

Gang violence? No, no, no!
    The Mongoose Gang was the enforcement arm for Eric Gairy, former Prime Minister of Grenada. The Eric Gairy government was overthrown in a bloodless coup by Maurice Bishop (whose father was killed by the Mongoose Gang) and his New Jewel Movement.

I am speaking about the principle of the thing and using an extreme example to illustrate and support my position. I do not believe that the outcome is a forgone conclusion. The opposite could just as easily occur. It could all work out splendidly.

William,

No angst here. We rapping!

4. Any news on who Ms. Mockley has picked as the Leader of the Opposition?

Are we still unable to get the 21 Senators to make up the Senate?

5. I have a sibling who has lived outside of Barbados since 1960. Has visited 4 times in the last 61 years. Does NOT enjoy travel, especially travel by airplanes.
    Did not leave a wife or children in Barbados, so did not need to send support money. On his migration both his parents were younger than 50 and working and did not need any additional support. As the parents became over 75 and required some additional support he put in his 1/11 share to the support of the parents who had raised him from infancy to adulthood, including paying for him to learn a skilled trade. I put in my 1/11th share too, and plenty, plenty, plenty. plenty unpaid hours as we women are expected to do.
    Should that sibling vote in Barbados? I love my sib. But I say no Barbados vote for him. However if he needs a kidney I will be there for him.

What wunna think?

6. Please note that sending money to Barbados to support the “fruit of your loins/fruit of your womb” is NOT investing in Barbados. Because if you do not support your own children, who will then?

Sending money to support your elderly parents who raised you from infancy to adulthood is NOT to be considered as investing in Barbados, because if it is not your duty to look after the parents who raised you, whose duty is it then?

7. The point was made by the blogmaster a stipulation can be made that the diasporean should have a minimum of x investable assets to vote.

8. I don’t usually respond to you ac because there is no reasoning with you.

But less than two and fifty votes bought from hard up overseas Bajans
    ( of whom there are many) and my former friend Lashley would be MY and not THIER representative and Leader of the Opposition.

A few thousand votes could overrule ALL of our choices.

It is the right of those who will be governed to choose who will govern them. You guys have the right to return and be governed. Nobody can take that right away.

I do not expect you to see that your right to vote without subjecting yourself to being governed would effectively take away my right to choose MY government.

Nobody has ever been able to convince you of anything that I can remember.

9. Do u understand the term support
    Bajans in general seems to zoom.in one one aspect of a whole which might be divided up into many factors
    Quote cuhdear
    Saying that financially sending money to support a family is not an investment in barbados
    Now back to explaining the levels of financial backing that lends itself to the investment of Barbados
    Building a home
    Buying land
    Investing or buying stocks or shares in companies
    Placing money in banking and financial institutions
    Not to mention the money spent in investing by use of purchasing local goods
    Now what more can be said as the money coming from bajans living in other countries when multiplied collectively can be registered as an investment in the economy
    Go ahead disagree

10. @Donna

The suggestion is to create an extra constituency to total 31 called foe example, Diaspora Box.

11. Or perhaps you can have one seat assigned to all overseas voters. That would give you a vote and a voice.

But if your seat tips the scales then some other option would have to be taken.

12. Cuhdear BajanJanuary 28, 2022 10:24 PM

I have a sibling who has lived outside of Barbados since 1960. Has visited 4 times in the last 61 years. Does NOT enjoy travel, especially travel by airplanes.
    Did not leave a wife or children in Barbados, so did not need to send support money. On his migration both his parents were younger than 50 and working and did not need any additional support. As the parents became over 75 and required some additional support he put in his 1/11 share to the support of the parents who had raised him from infancy to adulthood, including paying for him to learn a skilled trade. I put in my 1/11th share too, and plenty, plenty, plenty. plenty unpaid hours as we women are expected to do.
    Should that sibling vote in Barbados? I love my sib. But I say no Barbados vote for him. However if he needs a kidney I will be there for him.

What wunna think?

Does your sibling live in a country that has a Barbados High Commission or embassy or Consulate?

Surely when it comes time to vote, Bajans overseas who cannot get back to Barbados to vote, should be able to vote there.

After all, missions to foreign countries are regarded effectively as foreign countries.

Countries more advanced than Barbados make provisions for their citizens to vote abroad.

https://bb.usembassy.gov/u-s-citizen-services/voting/

13. Take a walk up your gap and and have a talk with Cynts, your representative in the formerly unconstitutional parliament of Barbados!!

While you are there find out if Cynts knows when the announcement of Ms. Mockley’s appointment to the post of Leader of the Opposition will be and do a lil’ noseying and find out if we will get back Caswell and Crystal as the opposition’s unconstitutionally appointed senators.

I think they were a both a waste of time but some peeps on her seem to like Caswell even if they don’t have a clue who Crystal is.

Not that we looking to push the overworked and underpaid politicians to give us some answers, just that it would be nice to know.

Barbados is getting on very well without them.

Visitor arrivals are up beyond imagination and Test Cricket looms in March.

14. William Skinner Avatar

“Or perhaps you can have one seat assigned to all overseas voters. That would give you a vote and a voice.
    But if your seat tips the scales then some other option would have to be taken.”

I am not endorsing or opposing overseas voting at this stage. However, a discussion such as this needs ideas similar to this one.
    Peace

15. Why can’t this govt do things the right way in avoidance of speculation innuendo and downright shading of illegality
    Now the AG speaks on the issue of the senators telling the dlp to take the two seats and stop grappling about the nilly willy
    Really is this the way this govt proposes to govern
    Isn’t the Constitution no.longer the law of the land
    Is this the new policy of if yuh can’t beat them join them
    Who is to say that if the dlp.takes the seat that sometime down the road the issue returns as a matter of fact to prove that the seats were not legally binding in agreement with the Constitution
    This govt continues to thread on thin ice placing good govern into the bulls eye of absurdity

16. Somebody ought to tell the AG stop.playing politics with the highest law of the land
    Nothing written in the Constitution should be dismiss as nilly willy
    The Constitution was put in place so that leaders does not infer what they belive is right moral or proper
    Throwing the Constitution out and replacing it with policies that are sweet sounding and plays to a political audience is downright immoral and illegal
    It is about time some put a leash on this govt performance

17. The question which ought to be asked
    Is why would Mia make the offer which is said not to the in accordance with the Constitution
    Motive and intent are the two factors giving cause to
    deception as a reason
    Xxx
    ..watch some fool come out to rubbish my comments

18. William Skinner Avatar

I am astonished that an Attorney General could act so flippant when it’s obvious that it’s the President’s call and he is being blatantly political. He knows the Constitution has to be followed or amended . What the hell is this man’s problem ?
    We would never see Sir. David Simmons behave in this manner.
    Marshall like the one before him is a huge embarrassment.

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

William…i don’t remember anyone crying and pleading in the diaspora to vote in Barbados, it may just have been a throw away suggestion/comment from someone at some point….some have been out there for decades and never voted where they are domiciled, that too is exercising your constituional right……..

.why would they even entertain voting in very suspect vote buying elections in Barbados that produce nothing of value to the majority population……when 60% of the population on the island REFUSE TO VOTE…..i am stumped…has to be wishful thinking…..diasporans DON’T CARE about the corrupt process enuff to get involved…..don’t like the stench…….yall should speak to some of them…

20. @William

What makes you think the constitution will not be amended?

21. The AG is a politician, the DLPis being grounded into the dust by Mottley.

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“I am astonished that an Attorney General could act so flippant when it’s obvious that it’s the President’s call and he is being blatantly political.”

with all round never ending corruption so deeply fixed that it’s now a talking point in the diaspora…..and if you reread the Guardian publication from TLSN a major concern for certain countries, then it REALLY SINKS IN what the people have to look forward to for coming GENERATIONS is MORE CORRUPTION, uppity illegal behaviors, more THEFTS of their treasury and pension money via exotic scams mixed in with the metaverse… and more elaborate lies……..and you are astonished, nothing to be astonished about, take it in STRIDE and protect your family on the island from what is ahead…..

btw according to what is being seen on the ground, there is a very heavy influx of the muslim population, don’t know where they are coming from, could be anywhere..

.self protection are the key buzz words..

23. DavidJanuary 29, 2022 6:57 AM

The AG is a politician, the DLPis being grounded into the dust by Mottley.

Xxxx
    Correct
    political deception of the highest order

24. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

self protection are the key buzz words..

and if ya don’t…..DO NOT come on BU crying….ya will get laughed at…suffer in silence and cover it up, it won’t be the first time, it’s a national pastime, cause no one will care or want to know, folks like myself would use the knowledge and info for other purposes….ya on ya own for sure……..

25. William Skinner Avatar

Occasionally, we can at least talk about the role of those in public office and not the politics. You talk about civic responsibility and then in the next breath give these public figures a pass.
    We expect an Attorney General to know what is appropriate. There is a reason why the AG is appointed almost immediately after elections. Like it or not he’s the ultimate law enforcer.
    The elections are over and the people have spoken.
    Marshall has lost every legal fight with Caswell Franklyn. The PM said she will consult with him. After that she publicly put an offer on the table that was not hers to make. No doubt the AG advised her badly and now he comes trying to save face.
    That’s why citizens prefer not to be involved. I don’t give a rats ass about the DLP being slaughtered or “ grounded” but the Attorney General ought to know elections are over and we the people have chosen our government.
    I have no further comment on this issue.
    Peace

26. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    “William…i don’t remember anyone crying and pleading in the diaspora to vote in Barbados………”
    Not necessarily so. There was a meeting , a few days ago, of an organization and the idea of overseas voting was presented.

27. @William

The blogmaster is not preventing you from discussing the issues through your civic minded lens. Politicians will be politicians, political parties will be political parties. Do you have any idea why Mottley called the election two days before Errol Barrow Day? While the DLP is consumed with if the accept handouts or not the beat goes on on the other side. Bare in mind Mottley has the political capital to take body blows while she sets her agenda.

28. Shimmy Shimmy Ya
    Came out my mama’s pussy, I’m on welfare. Twenty-six years old, still on welfare. – Ol’ Dirty Bastard

Overseas Posse and Mongoose Gang say Overseas Voting are a Good Thing
    Theo AC William (possibly Hal) would like a dabble
    (Hants Sergeant and then some would probably like a dab)
    Donna DPD Cuhdear are marked by their nature as negatory but are still building their arguments
    African thinks TheO should go to Afrika

29. David
    While the DLP is consumed with if the accept handouts or not the beat goes on on the other side. Bare in mind Mottley has the political capital to take body blows while she sets her agenda.
    Xxxx
    Well.Well.
    An issue that present a face of all seriousness which affects the governing of the country
    Is being called hand outs
    Is this the level of political correctness Barbados finds itself
    That being the case why bother to vote

30. You can look forward to three months of pummeling until the DLP holds its special meeting. Don’t be surprise if there is some politics of inclusion to come.

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William….READ again..

btw according to what is being seen on the ground, there is a very heavy influx of the muslim population, don’t know where they are coming from, could be anywhere..

have seen them myself and understand things much better..

let the BU big mouths say something to or about them..

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“There was a meeting , a few days ago, of an organization and the idea of overseas voting was presented.”

they need to do A LOT, A LOT of research first before diving in..

33. “You can look forward to three months of pummeling until the DLP holds its special meeting. Don’t be surprise if there is some politics of inclusion to come.”

You love politics, but others switch off and turn over to another channel. Bu is getting boring, maybe AI bots can generate comments in the discussions.

34. William Skinner Avatar

Ok. I relented and will ask you a question:
    Do you think it is appropriate for any AG to behave in this manner?
    Peace

35. ” there is a very heavy influx of the muslim population”

Africans are nice people with a friendly smile and you give them a bad rep
    Bajans Indians Syrians Whites Muslims are nice too
    Racism of whites fucked up the world now people copy their fucked up ways
    99% Blacks are not racist so racists cannot represent them

36. Love the games being played! If only it were a game though.

#sophistry?

AG explains that DLP, Govt and President must hold talks on proposed Senate seats

Article byKareem Smith
    Published on
    January 29, 2022

The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is being warned against allowing the “silliness” of the previous election campaign to deny them representation in the Senate.

Attorney General Dale Marshall declared in an interview with Barbados TODAY on Friday that the newly elected government has no intention of selecting opposition senators. He said the administration was seeking to ensure, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that the two Senate seats are chosen by the DLP.

To achieve this, Marshall explained that a discussion with President Dame Sandra Mason, the government and the opposition parties would have to occur.

“If an opportunity comes to allow you a voice in the highest court of the land and you want to engage in an exercise in sophistry, just because you want to do political posturing and argue highly technical points, then so be it,” Marshall told Barbados TODAY.

“But let’s come back to the real world and the real world is that if the President wanted to, the President could appoint somebody from the Kingdom Alliance [Party] and somebody from the Alliance Party [for Progress] and leave the Democratic Labour Party outside.

“All we are saying is that we need to circumscribe the exercise of the president’s discretion and we think that a reasonable way of doing it is to say the two [opposition senators] should represent the party that next gained the most votes. To us, it makes perfect sense, but instead, they want to engage in sophistry and argue that it is not our gift to offer,” the AG lamented.

The Constitution currently allows the Leader of the Opposition to select two Senators. But with the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) holding all 30 seats in Parliament, there is no Opposition Leader, allowing the President to make selections on her own discretion.

As a result, the Government is proposing a constitutional amendment that allows the party accumulating the second-highest general election votes to make the selections.

Earlier this week, interim DLP president Steve Blackett rejected the offer on the same day Prime Minister Mia Mottley declared that a legal opinion on the matter supported the proposed amendments.

Since then, Queen’s Counsel Garth Patterson contended that Mottley did not have the right to make the changes. He contended that the Senate would have to be properly constituted with the appointment of all 21 Senators before any laws could be changed.

However, Marshall, who declined to release details of the legal opinion, said: “We never said we were going to appoint anybody. We can’t, we don’t have the power to. So it just tells you straight off the bat that they want to engage in silliness, but the election is gone. Stop wasting time. Take the opportunity and let’s move on.”

“We are serious about the offer, but it requires a parliamentary intervention and that parliamentary intervention had to be initiated by the Prime Minister and her team. So all we’re saying is that we should have a discussion to determine what amendment would be made to the legislation, but they seem not to understand,” Marshall added.

On Wednesday, during the official swearing-in of MPs, Cabinet ministers and Government Senators, Mottley explained that her intention was to preserve the two-party democracy.

However, some have accused her of attempting to make too many ‘willy-nilly’ constitutional changes.

In response specifically to the proposed appointment of 18-year-old Khaleel Kothdiwala to the Senate, Marshall noted that only three constitutional amendments were made last year and, on each occasion, pressing matters were addressed.

“If it is being argued that we should not make these amendments to the Constitution now, that they should await a larger review until the new Constitution, it would mean that we would be deferring the need to make important changes as the circumstances now require,” the Attorney General said.

“We are proposing to amend the Constitution to reflect that at 18, a person can be appointed to the Senate, and Cabinet has agreed that at 18, a person can be elected to the House of Assembly.

“I don’t see what’s willy-nilly about that. To me, if you can join the police force or join the army or raise a family at 18, I can’t see any reason why we should say that you can’t offer yourself to public life in that way,” he added. kareemsmith@barbadostoday.bb

Source: Barbados Today

37. DavidJanuary 29, 2022 7:51 AM

You can look forward to three months of pummeling until the DLP holds its special meeting. Don’t be surprise if there is some politics of inclusion to come.

Xxxx
    Meanwhile going forward and onward I will continue to pummel govt policies that only seems to fit their own self interest

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Africans are nice people with a friendly smile and you give them a bad rep

that’s because am NOT A SLAVE….you should smile some more yourself…

39. Then leave.

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

hope when KARMA and RETRIBUTION comes around…..they can ALL HANDLE IT..for what they have done…when they are on their sick beds and death beds moaning groaning and confessing, they believe they should get forgiveness…..BUT THESE CRIMINALS deserve only PAIN and SUFFERING…the same they have dished out to the majority for upwards of half century…and given certain events, it’s very clear they do not plan to stop..

41. @William

How the framers intended is for the AG to be the champion and guide to maintain law and order in the country.

42. Do that until your weave gets grey.

43. Steuspe

44. “Love the games being played! If only it were a game though.

#sophistry?”

The Barbados Slave Code 1661 preamble to provide a legal basis for slavery stated by nature Blacks were inferior subhuman and were subsequently bred to make colonies of slave babies to serve in dominion to the superior white man

The Modern day former Colony is building a new structure as a Republic

Religion and Politics are deemed topics to avoid in conversation as they bring out strong views heated arguments and division, but the Bu brings it all out like pus

Out of Africa
    Whole World is Africa
    Modern Barbados is reaching out to the Barbados Diaspora and anyone else
    Africa is reaching out to African Diaspora and anyone else
    The Explosion is becoming an Implosion a Biblical Revelation manifestation dispensation
    Black Uhuru – Whole World Is Africa

45. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    People grow up ! Are we seeing an influx of Muslims or are the Muslims and the Indian population in general , simply becoming more visible?
    It may very well be a combination of both.
    I know some jokers will accuse me of being racist but I have been called that before. Coming from some, I actually consider it a very welcomed compliment.
    Don’t you think that young Kothdiwala’s meteoric rise to political stardom will
    influence a higher visibility ?
    It’s amazing that Mottley has spent nearly thirty years in Parliament and now suddenly realises that 18 year olds should be given a voice.
    Connect the dots. A certain gentleman once told me that changing demographics and wealth turned an entire city with a bigger population than ours upside down. I can’t remember his name now but……connect the dots.
    Peace

46. Don’t go there William. Khaleel is a Barbadian. The blogmaster attended school with minorities born in Barbados. Just like in your neck of the woods Barbados is a cosmopolitan society.

47. “that’s because am NOT A SLAVE….you should smile some more yourself…”

God don’t like Ugly
    Your avatar picture is an improvement
    but, if you click the bigger picture
    it could do with photoshop
    or a cartoon app

48. Some of you on the blog debate by bouncing from pillar to post.

49. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

No..these are different, they are not your typical every day garden variety indian muslims…from the Caribbean or India……the game has moved to another level….as i said, saw them myself…DOTS immediately connected…

“Don’t you think that young Kothdiwala’s meteoric rise to political stardom will
    influence a higher visibility ?”

that was the distraction…always look out for what is REALLY HAPPENING…during the distraction..

“I know some jokers will accuse me of being racist but I have been called that before.”

ignore jokers, you did not see in their very next comment they called Africans slaves…lol..

“Africa is reaching out to African Diaspora and anyone else.”

you really have no clue what’s going on in Afrika RIGHT NOW with the population WHO ARE THE YOUNGEST ON EARTH…ya would if you would pay more attention since i stopped posting certain things, but they are MY PEOPLE so ya will have to find out on your own…..

50. Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Deep Moaning Blues