Mia Mottley out-strategized all comers to win the recent general election by inflicting another 30-0 drubbing on a hapless Democratic Labour Party (DLP). The win is all the more incredible because it was achieved after a 3-year period of unprecedented economic challenges caused primarily by the ongoing pandemic AND the brought forward state of a weak economy.

Besides the chatter about the capacity of the DLP to reinvent itself to be seen as a legitimate choice of a government in waiting, the more immediate expectation is the shape of the new Cabinet and appointments to the Senate expected to be communicated this week. Prime Minister Mottley has signaled among other priorities this second tenure will focused on continuing transformative pursuits to improve how the country does its business.

In 2018 Mottley appointed 26 ministers with several parliamentary secretaries and consultants bolted on. That decision continues to evoke robust discussion pertaining to the insensitivity of the decision given the weak state of the economy. Mottley’s justification was that the perilous state of the economy and the workload required to rebuild the economy justified her decision. Her explanation was summed up in the phrase – many hands make light work. The blogmaster admits the mandate delivered last week probably had little to do with a large cabinet and more to do with a favourable perception of Mottley as leader of government at this time by voters compared to the alternatives on show. 

Political pundits argue Mottley had the difficult job of managing 30 members of parliament coupled with executing government business efficiently. It explains her contentious decision to have appointed 26 members to the 2018 Cabinet. This time around it will be interesting to observe if she repeats the decision- no doubt with the Kingmaker’s blessing- to reappoint a large Cabinet.

Political morality requires Mottley to think carefully about the optics of of another bloated Cabinet to satisfy political expediency at a time many Barbadians are suffering. Mottley is aware of the hospitality sector where employees in the thousands were sent home or suffered reduced pay, middleclass and senior citizens who had to suffer deep haircuts to nest egg investments as a result of the debt restructure and generally a workforce that continues suffer because of significant contraction in the economy are the key considerations. An important trait of a good leader is to make decisions to demonstrate empathy.

758 responses to “Did Many Hands Make Light Work?”

1. to be an expert you need to tighten up your numbers
    which takes concentration in details
    and understanding
    no fuzzy vague logic will suffice

2. Hold up Mr T
    This dawta can’t keep up with this riddim
    ask me no question I tell you no lie
    ask me no question I play music

The God Sons
    Merry up

3. William Skinner Avatar

@ Miller
    This is all googolie and chinaman. In one voice the PM is shouting democracy while quietly proceeding as she pleases.
    There are procedures to be followed that she must not attempt to circumnavigate on the bogus pretense that she is being magnanimous. However, listening to Brasstacks today, people are falling for the brazen gimmickry.
    I honestly respect that she was given a great mandate, I find that she is getting into making pronouncements without thinking them through.
    That’s why I am following Garth Peterson’s advice that there is provision in the Constitution for the President to appoint two senators and not the PM’s authority to do so in relation to the DLP.
    I also cannot understand why she needs two Ministers in the Prime Ministers Office and has decided she must have a Chief of Staff as well.
    Additionally , the taxpayers are now being asked to pay five Senior Ministers an additional $1700 each per month. This in preposterous after pretending that you were decreasing ministries. She still has the largest cabinet in our history.
    I remain:
    1. That unless the President by means of the Constitution allots two seats to the DLP. They should get none. I don’t believe they should get any .
    2. I am concerned about the PM’s fixation on tinkering so frequently with the Constitution.
    Furthermore she has publicly stated that she has ongoing investigations that the DLP administration engaged in numerous infelicities in several government owned entities. Why is she now wanting the taxpayers to pay them a blind cent in the Senate.
    I also find it strange that we heard absolutely nothing about the corruption being investigated until three days before we went into the polling station.
    But then apparently Lucille Moe did not know she was a dictator until four days before we went in the pooling booth. But that’s vintage Duopoly skullduggery.
    This is all BS but we choose to pretend it is a lovely black cake.
    However, those of us who put country before party will not be silenced.

4. The President Sandra Mason was appointed when the country became a parliamentary republic on 30 November 2021.

5. WS
    Why do u keep eating ur nickers over little shit every day

If there are two senators from dlp place on the senator the dlp will chose the two and the president will appoint them

As it stands now there needs to be an amendment made and this is where Mia / dlp comes in to allow the dlp to have the two seats . If not the president will have to select them as independent senators and those two usually goes to the labor and church ( I think)

6. “2. I am concerned about the PM’s fixation on tinkering so frequently with the Constitution.”

the constitution is being re-written son

throw the old one away and stop being anal

7. 555dubstreetJanuary 26, 2022 7:16 PM

to be an expert you need to tighten up your numbers
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    John2January 26, 2022 8:21 PM

WS
    Why do u keep eating ur nickers over little shit every day

If there are two senators from dlp place on the senator the dlp will chose the two and the president will appoint them

As it stands now there needs to be an amendment made and this is where Mia / dlp comes in to allow the dlp to have the two seats . If not the president will have to select them as independent senators and those two usually goes to the labor and church ( I think)

There is only one number that is important, ZERO, and a child could understand that.

The DLP has ZERO seats so it cannot anoint any senators …. not 1, not 2, ZERO!!

Ms. Mockley is on her own and cannot get a Parliament as per the Constitution.

8. A great deal of preparation has to go into the pretense of show biz and politics.

9. “There is only one number that is important, ZERO, and a child could understand that.”

I was talking about slavery numbers

10. No two ministers – former senator
    Article by
    Anesta Henry
    Published on
    January 26, 2022

Former Opposition Senator Caswell Franklyn says Barbados’ laws do not make provision for two ministers to be appointed to one ministry.

Following Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley announcement of her new Cabinet on Monday, an outspoken Franklyn has declared that the appointment of two ministers to ministries is an unconstitutional development.

However, he said Mottley is not the first prime minister to make such a move. Mottley who became Prime Minister in 2018 when the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) won the General Election also appointed two ministers to ministries in a bigger cabinet.

“The Constitution requires that there is a minister in a ministry and if the minister needs help, he is helped by a Parliamentary Secretary, not by another minister. These ministers have no portfolio you know. They don’t have any responsibility; they can’t sign off on anything.

“We see Dr Sonia Browne as the Minister for the QEH, that is nonsense, there is a Minister of Health. A minister in the ministry is not allowed by the Constitution. But of course, when you have 30 seats, you could do whatever you like and the Barbadian public decided well, they will let her do what she likes. You don’t need all of these ministers, there is no work for them,” Franklyn said.

The General Secretary of the Unity Workers’ Union (UWU) was speaking at a press conference on Tuesday at the union’s 6th Avenue Belleville, St Michael headquarters.

Prime Minister Mottley also announced that Deputy Prime Minister Santia Bradshaw and three other longstanding members of the BLP will serve as senior ministers. According to Franklyn, “There is no such thing as a senior minister.”. He said, in Barbados’ system of governance, a senior minister is considered an honorary position.

“Owen Arthur did it when we took down Billie Miller and then didn’t want to drop Billie’s pay so he made her senior minister and then gave her the same pay as deputy prime minister. This will mean now that all of those senior ministers now will get $1700 more a month on their salaries.

“So this is a salary increase through the back door when nurses are not getting their salary increases and the other public servants are not getting their salary increases. She is finding a way to give ministers by calling them senior ministers and tricking people. It is a way to get their hand in the treasury again. You cut down the number of ministers, but then you raise their pay on the sly so now you carry back up the wage bill again. Who do they think they are fooling?” he said.

The outspoken trade unionist also indicated that while Prime Minister Mottley has cut the size of her Cabinet compared to what was obtained in the 2018 Government, he believes there are still too many ministers.

“Ministers don’t really do work. It is the permanent secretaries that do the work. What they should do is to go and look for jobs and come to the Parliament on Tuesdays. But no, they want to give all of them a job to do nothing. They are still wasting the public’s money,” he said.

As it relates to Prime Minister Mottley offering two seats in the Senate to the opposition parties, Franklyn said the leader would be required to make changes to the Constitution to facilitate such a move.
    (AH)

Source: Barbados Today

11. Barbados have dropped the British figurehead and will be changing its systems of Governance.
    The opposition are paralysed and talking reactionary nonsense about the old British constitution.
    If there is no opposition in place then Government can pass any laws it wants.
    BLP has common sense (self regulation) to pass righteous laws that benefit people.
    But, the danger lies in (hypothetical) bad leadership having overreaching powers.

12. Constitutional issues doesn’t resonate in the minds of the blp.loyal supporters
    These type of supporters can present insurmountable danger in a democratic society where the rule of laws is directed towards good governance
    Such loyalist rather place party support and loyalty to leadership.ahead of the Constitution

13. “Constitutional issues doesn’t resonate in the minds of the blp.loyal supporters”

Leaving Rome
    The Constitution will be changing from the Babylonian system of the last 500 hundred years, where British influenced the world with Colonial Rule. USA broke away by Revolution and changed it’s Constitution to their own, which can be used as an example of pros and cons of a different system.

14. “Constitutional issues doesn’t resonate in the minds of the blp.loyal supporters”

A Bajan trait is when people do not understand things they will still pretend they do and talk repeated subjective nonsense on a tangent.

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

A way is always found to RIP OFF THE TREASURY….never ending, looking at the bright side that came out of the NO ETHICS or INTEGRITY election…weren’t sure about the numbers before but we can safely say that 29% of the electorate are the SLAVE MINDED that she spoke about on ITV London, she knew exactly who she was referring to….all are the supporters of two useless governments….always knew the exact numbers would be revealed some day..

for years we heard that ministers do very little work, it’s the permanent secretaries who carry work load, the ones who actually work, some are said to be just as lazy.. as the ministers….

AND

still claiming powers they DON’T HAVE..

The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) has rejected an offer from Prime Minister Mia Mottley for the defeated party to nominate persons to fill the two vacant Opposition seats in the Senate, declaring that it is not hers to gift.

Acting DLP President Steve Blackett said Wednesday the offer was not made within the “four corners of the law” and his party will therefore not be complicit in any such arrangement.”

Caswell:

“Prime Minister Mottley also announced that Deputy Prime Minister Santia Bradshaw and three other longstanding members of the BLP will serve as senior ministers. According to Franklyn, “There is no such thing as a senior minister.”. He said, in Barbados’ system of governance, a senior minister is considered an honorary position.

Owen Arthur did it when we took down Billie Miller and then didn’t want to drop Billie’s pay so he made her senior minister and then gave her the same pay as deputy prime minister. This will mean now that all of those senior ministers now will get $1700 more a month on their salaries.

“So this is a salary increase through the back door when nurses are not getting their salary increases and the other public servants are not getting their salary increases. She is finding a way to give ministers by calling them senior ministers and tricking people. It is a way to get their hand in the treasury again. You cut down the number of ministers, but then you raise their pay on the sly so now you carry back up the wage bill again. Who do they think they are fooling?” he said.

The outspoken trade unionist also indicated that while Prime Minister Mottley has cut the size of her Cabinet compared to what was obtained in the 2018 Government, he believes there are still too many ministers.

“Ministers don’t really do work. It is the permanent secretaries that do the work. What they should do is to go and look for jobs and come to the Parliament on Tuesdays. But no, they want to give all of them a job to do nothing. They are still wasting the public’s money,” he said.”

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William….and the beat goes on and long, long road to nowhere BEGINS…..lol…what a thing…

good thing intelligent people KNEW not to join the go nowhere brigade if they want to see UPWARD MOBILITY AND PROGRESS for themselves and their families..

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“However no amount of reparations will make up for the lost of our culture due to the forced migration of our ancestors to the “new world”.

TLSN…i agree wholeheartedly, but there comes a time when we have to MOVE ON from it, our future generations’ survival DEMAND IT….as things stand regarding the islands impacted, it’s really UK and Europe prolonging the matter although they do not want their current and future generations finding out what our ancestors….yes, they are my ancestors too….did to our Afrikan ancestors…but am glad they did not engage with these GREEDY SMALL TIME CARIBBEAN GOVERNMENTS re dishing out reparations money for them to TIEF IT….or it would all have DISAPPEARED into offshore accounts by now, including those of the criminal minorities…

going forward…i hope they understand the intelligent way TO END ALL OF THIS….is to directly ENGAGE with Afrikan descendants re reparations…..the way i see it, apart from no Black government existing back then and should not be involved, KIDNAPPING Afrikans was ONE on ONE and very PERSONAL ….and SO SHOULD BE THE PAYMENTS to EVERY DESCENDANT…in the Caribbean……and NOT ONE DIME to go in the hands of CORRUPT GOVERNMENTS…who in my estimation….STILL DON’T EXIST…in the real world…

taking into consideration that they are not responsible for the slavery on all islands, the French and others also had a hand in it…… Guadeloupe, Martinique and the French Guianas are very vocal about their freedom from colonialists…Europe and UK won’t have to pay for all the other crimes committed..

lol “I also find it strange that we heard absolutely nothing about the corruption being investigated until three days before we went into the polling station.”

8 days post election and NOT A PEEP about DLP corruption anymore, but an offer which DLP says is ILLICIT coming from the PM who has no such powers, made to install them in the parliament…. not a word about investigation into corruption……fools deserve to be fooled.

nevertheless, am sure the imps and pimps are very proud….

the Guardian article is so COMPLETELY ACCURATE, it has to get a mention in my next book.

18. So this is a salary increase through the back door when nurses are not getting their salary increases and the other public servants are not getting their salary increases. She is finding a way to give ministers by calling them senior ministers and tricking people. It is a way to get their hand in the treasury again. You cut down the number of ministers, but then you raise their pay on the sly so now you carry back up the wage bill again. Who do they think they are fooling?” he said.

“Ministers don’t really do work. It is the permanent secretaries that do the work. What they should do is to go and look for jobs and come to the Parliament on Tuesdays. But no, they want to give all of them a job to do nothing. They are still wasting the public’s money,” he said.

Often when people endlessly make accusations it is more a reflection of themselves
    Liars assume everyone else is lying etc..

or in this case
    Caswell is another low life politician looking for his pocket using every little dirty trick in the book of hook and crook with hyperbole

Self-gain self-interest bigger bank seems to be the ultimate MO of most or many Bajan politicians

Checks and balances in new constitution will need to address regulation of Government to be enshrined in laws such as Integrity Legislation, Human Rights, Reviews of Standards, Individual Competencies and Achievements, which will need to be ongoing exercises with regular changes

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TLSN….the AU and sixth region government wanted to give stimulus checks to Afrikan descents in the diaspora and they found a safe and EFFICIENT way to do so, i got one…

..Europe and UK can do the same..they control the banks…..that’s assuming they want all this nightmare to go away or prefer to PROLONG IT INDEFINITELY….don’t think that is what our ancestors would want……i can say that because I GOT SAY…

with actual geniuses delving deep into the research of critical race theory and cancel culture and the new age way to hide and ban the knowledge of what really occurred…it would be cheaper to just pay out descendants and save themselves future grief. in EVERY SPHERE…but that’s up to them, some people have a penchant for not listening until the shit BOILS OVER…

20. William Skinner Avatar

Most U.S. citizens 18 years or older who reside outside the United States are eligible to vote absentee for federal office candidates in U.S. primary and general elections. In addition, some states allow overseas citizens to vote for state and local office candidates and referendums.
    In some states, U.S. citizens who are 18 years or older and were born abroad but who have never resided in the United States are eligible to vote absentee.

Barbadians living overseas remitted $94 USD or million or $188 BD to their country in 2021. and we have people like @Lorenzo and others who come on BU and state that “ overseas” Bajans don’t live ‘bout here and don’t know wuh happening and they should essentially be told not take any interest in an election in their country or try to “ influence “ how people vote.
    No wonder that Bajans in the Diaspora are now demanding not only that they be allowed to vote but that they should have representation in Parliament.
    They have obviously read the nonsense here and elsewhere and are now responding vigorously to letting their collective voices be heard.
    Oh yes @ Lorenzo and company , they know what going on and the figures don’t lie. The people complaining about their barrels being held up in the port don’t lie .
    So next time you open yuh mout to talk nonsense think first.
    They know what’s going on and that’s why they sent $188 million and that is only what came through the official channels bet your life it’s a lot more than that.
    So, next time you pass through a neighborhood and you see a carpenter working or a child on their way to school. It is quite possible that the piece ah change to fix the house or buy the pretty bag came from your despised overseas Bajans
    Now go and spend the piece a change and start to talk common sense.
    $188 million ain’t small change.
    You and your kind are an embarrassment to all Bajans. And by the way thousands of the tourists that now propping up our country come herevbecause the Bajans overseas promote our country positively regardless of what clowns like you and others think.
    Enjoy some of what they send but support the party of your choice and continue to take an interest in our country’s affairs.
    We in this together . That’s who we are.
    I gone

21. @William

You will have the opportunity to submit your thoughts when the national discussion about the new constitution starts up.

22. Waru / African Online etc

You speculations and lack of trust about Government motives from what you heard are OTT

But, the timing of information coming out, implies Governments will be channels for agreements for Custody and Dividends etc, and discussions and planning may be underway already unofficially

Beckles is the Go To Expert for Caribbean Slavery matters
    {B Line) your personal view and opinion may not matter

footnote: Government Quid Pro Quo want their foot in Africa

23. Then we have people on media platforms in reference to Mia offer to the dlp giving advice to think process and not worry about the Constitution
    These are so called activist who really doesn’t understand the process of law and order
    It is apparently clear that some of the PM loyalist rather push an.agenda than principle regulations and laws set forth in the Constitution for proper guidance
    These individuals should step back and rather than give advice wrapped up.in.political propaganda give a pause to what they are saying

24. The number of constitutional amendments and the reasons for them bothers me.

It appears that we cannot amend for major issues as even that required for being a Republic is still due. But we make changes here and there when it suits our purpose.

These little nips and tucks here and there would have eventually given us. Frankenstein monster. Now, I wait to see what will be the outcome when it is ‘fully’ amended. Meet the son of Frankenstein??

Just a concerned citizen.

25. William Skinner Avatar

I think that those in the Diaspora will get a good response from Mottley. There was a recent virtual meeting which prompted my response.
    I recall at the beginning of COVID, many organizations got together and sent tablets for the underprivileged. Unfortunately, a lot of these good works were not known or mentioned in the press.
    In order to build the new Caribbean Nation we need our people in the Diaspora. I am very serious when I say that Mottley will be very supportive.

26. @William

The blogmaster endorsed the suggestion from Cyprian to create a Diaspora Constituency, the MP selected it would be the job to satisfy those constituents. A Barbadian is a Barbadian whether at home or abroad and should be made to feel so. This idea of only reaching out to the diaspora with a begging bowl is redundant and hypocritical.

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Barbadians living overseas remitted $94 USD or million or $188 BD to their country in 2021. and we have people like @Lorenzo and others who come on BU and state that “ overseas” Bajans don’t live ‘bout here and don’t know wuh happening and they should essentially be told not take any interest in an election in their country or try to “ influence “ how people vote.”

the SMALL MINDS…but have no problem if nonblacks who don’t live on the island or even if they do, just see them all as Slaves…..control and change things in the legislature to keep them at the bottom of the social ladder…they don’t open their stupid mouths to say a word about any of that…useless BREATHERS…

William….you do know that many in the diaspora have other more progressive plans and not everyone wants to be UNDER go nowhere governments…

28. This may help in understanding what zero means.

29. “The blogmaster endorsed the suggestion from Cyprian to create a Diaspora Constituency”

Begging your pardon, is there a link?
    Trying to figure out how it would work? A 31st constituency?

Why not have them voting in the constituency of birth? That would be complicated and throw the polling in disarray. Would be surprise if we had more than 10% eligible actually voting.

But good food for thought.

30. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    “William….you do know that many in the diaspora have other more progressive plans and not everyone wants to be UNDER go nowhere governments…”
    I do know. There are many in the Diaspora, who are so despondent with how their countries are being managed, that they often suggest that they were managed better under the crown.
    People who don’t understand this frustration interpret it to mean a put down of their countries .
    About ten years ago, a survey was carried out in Jamaica , and 54% of those responding, said they believed that the country would have been better off if it was still under British rule. I was shocked!
    About a year or so ago , I heard a caller to Brasstacks say that the social services to the poor were better delivered under the colonial government. This represents the astonishing failure of our leaders. Imagine people literally jumping out their skins because their garbage was collected or they can now get a bus. We would have thought these were basic services provided by a government. Now we have police and nurses who can’t get paid.
    But we need five senior ministers and two ministers in the PMs office.
    Mottley has always spoken about the importance of the Diaspora and we have to hope they she implements rather than talk.
    Like you have been saying , the masks have been now removed and people are no longer interested in leaders and politicians who believe they could use the same white/ colonialist bogey man to frighten people. Even here on BU some are hiding but I personally will like them to come from behind the rock.
    They want to shut down those who are simply asking questions that any citizen should ask.
    People who live in the Diaspora confront the common enemy every day.
    The struggle continues.

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

besides…there is a 6th Region government…..ALREADY making strides in the last 2 years… that those who perch themselves in parliaments SUCKING ON TAXPAYERS and pensioners nonstop…. have not done in over 60 YEARS….

32. It was a suggestion on Brasstacks talk show this week.

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“People who don’t understand this frustration interpret it to mean a put down of their countries .”

only the useless breathers, people with low intelligence misinterpret everything to suit their know nothing agendas, nothing they say or think counts..

“About a year or so ago , I heard a caller to Brasstacks say that the social services to the poor were better delivered under the colonial government. This represents the astonishing failure of our leaders.”

they made sure UNDEREDUCATION remained firmly in place..,,and that is the result…no critical thinking or analytical skills to drive progress..

“But we need five senior ministers and two ministers in the PMs office.”

wannabes, now mimicking the US with a waste of taxpayer’s money on a chief of staff and his or her staff….COPYCATS…

“People who live in the Diaspora confront the common enemy every day.”

easier to confront when you know what they look like….much harder wihen they look like you and in their Black Skin, White Masks…roles..

34. Clean Up of Troll Shit on did-many-hands-make-light-work is required

“This may help in understanding what zero means.”

if there is zero opposition
    there are zero representatives in Parliament
    with zero consideration in applicable Constitutional Law

It does not mean there is zero Parliament Senate Government or Republic

Flogging a dead horse is an Anglophone idiom that means that a particular effort is futile, a waste of time without a positive outcome, …

Argument by Repetition – Logically Fallacious

Description: Repeating an argument or a premise over and over again in place of better supporting evidence.

Logical Form:

X is true. X is true. X is true. X is true. X is true. X is true… etc.

35. Barbadians living overseas remitted $94 USD or million or $188 BD to their country in 2021. and we have people like @Lorenzo and others who come on BU and state that “ overseas” Bajans don’t live ‘bout here and don’t know wuh happening and they should essentially be told not take any interest in an election in their country
    +++++++
    You do know that there is a Lorenzo who has been named to the Senate, how many people you know name Lorenzo? In the past I have said Lorenzo is Lorenzo H but he has not responded, anyway the proof of the pudding is in the eating so when he signs off on his speeches with “I gone” the cat will be out of the bag.

I gone

36. The British System around the World has been modified in it’s colonies across continents Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica, Europe, and Australia. Self Independence is positive but can have negative issues and problems along the way. Colonial legacy systems still tend to be more British than the British though stuck in their past not moving forward.

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Beckles is the Go To Expert for Caribbean Slavery matters”

but so far only successful in getting reparations from a university and a private donor…..for EDUCATION….that is his forte…

reparations for Afrikan descended populations singularly… is much more involved than that..

..and in keeping with their insular world, none of them have thought of it like that because they are so DESPERATE to get their slimy hands on billions of dollars while the descended GET NONE…

38. I was referring to his knowledge of slavery facts and figures which through daily practice are embedded in his mind
    He is also the chosen mediator in progressive arbitration
    (a Guru mentor, guide, expert, or master of certain knowledge in the field)

39. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

reparations for Afrikan descended populations singularly… is much more involved than that..

try not to LOSE the thread, this is the perfect opportunity for UK and Europe to show themselves as the heros instead of the VILLIANS in all of this by FINALLY DOING THE RIGHT THING…

but only if they want…

40. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Skinner and @David change is good, meaningful change is better and truly impactful change is awesome…. are u both suggesting that we can get any form of change with creating a _”Diaspora Constituency, the MP selected it would be the job to satisfy those constituents.”*

How exactly does that work (not the simplicity of video meetings) and how does it differ from what has been done for generations where Bajans across the diaspora could interact with their consul generals .

Also for years politicians have paid homage to the diasporian Bajan with almost required travel into Toronto, Brooklyn or Reading … the significance of the income repatriated has NEVER been lost on these politicians .

But where is the impactful change of any supposed new representation … I am really not sure where the perspective has evolved that *… Bajans in the Diaspora are now demanding not only that they be allowed to vote but that they should have representation in Parliament.”

What major change in life is driving these demands???

I see an insidious attempt for vote stuffing with this ‘overseas voting’ and can’t see meaningful UPSIDE to a group of disparate Bajans in Brooklyn, Tampa or an Atlanta suburb having a ‘voice of representation.’

If the people of Bdos see overseas voting as necessary then so be it … I would only support voting for Bajans who are working for the govt or studying overseas .

@Skinner, btw we are often reminded by you that what happens in the US is really NOT relevant to Bim so quite surprised that you would cite their overseas vote processes to make ur case 🙈 … just saying!

41. “Try not to LOSE the thread, this is the perfect opportunity for UK and Europe to show themselves as the heros instead of the VILLIANS in all of this by FINALLY DOING THE RIGHT THING…”

I’m not losing “the’ thread
    your main concern seems to be about blak scammer jammers ripping off blaks
    you could send Beckles a copy of your book and outline your concerns about reparations and even request if you can provide input in any process as an interested stakeholder party

I was pushing whites to accept their roles as villains
    #BLM protests fires burned
    whites were on the backfoot

42. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“I was referring to his knowledge of slavery facts and figures which through daily practice are embedded in his mind”

his knowledge is limited to recent events 1400-1800s. from east to west…this journey is over 3,000 years old….he has very little to no info about that one….not interested in his role, i got my own…if he can get universities and private donors to pour money into education…more power to him..

and ya still not getting ya hands on any reparations pay out as you too was salivating about some years ago…..and also ended up holding a BIG ROCK…….lol

43. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

and ya still not getting ya hands on any reparations pay out as you too was salivating about some years ago…..and also ended up holding a BIG ROCK…….lol

you know WHY right? because IT’S NOT YOURS EITHER…..

44. “and ya still not getting ya hands on any reparations pay out as you too was salivating about some years ago”

that was in your mind
    and not my mind

you may be deluded or paranoid
    or dumb as I said before

slavery was the biggest crime in humanity
    due to capitalism greed
    and it’s collateral wealth management
    build the generational wealth of slave traders
    and shareholders and kings and queens
    and global industry

45. @ DpD
    “@Skinner, btw we are often reminded by you that what happens in the US is really NOT relevant to Bim so quite surprised that you would cite their overseas vote processes to make ur case 🙈 … just saying!” Thanks for the attempt at “Gotcha” lol. I was trying to point out that other countries allow overseas voting while there are those on BU who don’t even want overseas Bajans to indulge in talking about the elections or “influencing ” how others should vote.
    However I maintain that as we move toward a new Caribbean State and New Caribbean Economic Order, we must extend our efforts to our brothers and sisters in the Diaspora. I however disagree with you that we can’t or should not extend Diaspora voting beyond overseas government workers and students. With technology we can have a proper system of overseas voting.
    Man, you are always on the ball . I certainly will not advise any batsman to face you when the shadows are lengthening at the oval. Without 20/20 vision, it would be a Contractor moment.

46. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

yeah right, take it ya cooled off since then on investing reparations money for us, but anyway:

“slavery was the biggest crime in humanity
    due to capitalism greed
    and it’s collateral wealth management
    build the generational wealth of slave traders
    and shareholders and kings and queens
    and global industry”

and it’s time to make amends…..to descendants…no one is arguing that…not even John and Moneybrain anymore…lol they learned their lesson the hard way…

everyone wants to jump on the reparations bandwagon, even saw the indian dude in Guyana PM or president or whatever they call them some months ago all of a sudden talking about he will get reparations for Afrikan descents like someone asked him, had to set him straight that his ancestors were NOWHERE in the Caribbean as indentured servants when ours were in SHACKLES and CHAINS so stay to hell out of our business given their track records of documented extra judicial killings and terrorizing Black people in Guyana…along with a multitude of other criminal and human rights violating acts that they are under investigation for…

.. don’t know who is telling him he has some right, but he should know he too is notorious just like those who is encouraging him…

…when people hear billions of dollars they immediately turn stupid and want to get into the act to TIEF….we can handle our own Afrikan business so BUTT OUT….

Kiki…too many FRAUDS out there…

47. “yeah right, take it ya cooled off since then on investing reparations money for us, but anyway:”

it was a simple concept about fund management directed to Beckles which he took on board but you got all uppity and offended like you matter

I think you are sub-par in the genre of slavery reparations novels, but I have not read your works, nor Beckles or Ta-Nehisi Coates but those two have spoken in Parliament and Congress and made connections with Heads of State and have recognition and are consulted in the steps forward

You are on a different trip

48. Do it yourself .

49. @Dee Word

We have people like yourself still on the voter’s list who can return to Barbados to vote.