The dust has settled on the St. James North by election. As predicted by all and sundry including Barbados UndergroundA redundant St. James North by election – Chad Blackman of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) destroyed the main challenger Felicia Dujon of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) by capturing 2 723 votes to 468.

The St. James North is supported by the numbers as a BLP stronghold and running Dujon, who has been one of the more visible members of the DLP, must be seen as an error in political strategy. Surely Ralph Thorne and his minions were aware Dujon would be nothing more than a sacrificial lamb by naming her a candidate?

Of interest to political pundits is the opportunity to observe the national swing indicator. It is normal to expect a movement away from government after two or three terms. However, we are not operating in normal times are we.

Truth is, there is still the pall of the Ronnie Yearwood vs Ralph Thorne clash hanging over the DLP. The BLP winning St. James North seat must be assessed against the public perception of a beleaguered DLP trying to find its way. The blogmaster is of the view voters preferred to go with the status quo rather than risk the uncertainty of the ‘unknown’. It does not mean DLP would NOT have won had all things been equal but the by election would have generated traditional stats for analysis.

All post election commentary is centred on the need for the DLP to get its house in order. Hopefully the ‘poor’ performance in the St. James North by election will encourage sober reflection in George Street. One thing the result has confirmed is that the DLP is not seen as a credible alternative – although Barbadians maybe fearful of a one party state. This week was an opportunity to signal to the ruling BLP its discomfort with the lack of opposition representation in the Lower House. Unfortunately the DLP and the other candidates did not engender the confidence of the electorate. This should be a deep concern for Barbadians..

One suspects were a general election to be held tomorrow, the result will be the same give or take a seat or two. The BLP would inflict another shellacking on the opposition. This would be more to do with an inadequate political opposition rather than voters being happy with the performance of the incumbent BLP government. Barbados maybe headed to a crisis of governance in the not too distant future.

One cannot directly blame Prime Minister Mottley or the late Owen Arthur for aggressively practicing the politics of inclusion. However, it should not be ignored any fallout from the strategy which weakened opposition ‘talent’. What it exposes is the lack of a differentiating philosophy between the two main political parties exemplified in the political leader of the DLP. First a DLPite, then a BLPite now a DLPite. There is no law against crossing the floor in Barbados but there is a good case that it challenges the perception of politicians by an apathetic electorate.

119 responses to “DLP rejected, again”

1. The British system of Government does not work in Little Island
    where there are 2 parties with much of a muchness who are similar and the same
    and in practical terms everyone is known by everyone

Perhaps seats and PMs could be selected with local individuals standing
    and there are no parties
    and no divisions
    no adversarial politics

bit like school elections for class president and senior school council where all students are friends

2. “Perhaps seats and PMs could be selected with local individuals standing
    and there are no parties”
    ~~~~~~~~~
    Kiki,
    Do you mean like is proposed in BU’s 10 – point Plan?

@ John A
    But there is an even BIGGER problem Boss…
    Bajans LIKE it so…
    As long as HANDOUTS are promised – free houses, free care, and people can get their windows fixed with free $300 grants…

BBs are ALWAYS ’se vende’…

3. “The following 10-point plan has been championed by BU family member Bush Tea for several years and endorsed by Barbados Underground.”

BU’s 10 point plan is a tad long winded

but a new system is required to replace the legacy system inherited when the Brits closed down shop in history story

New System Design
    An organic holistic approach should be adopted which will develop over time with fine tuning from deeper practice

K.I.S.S. keep it simple stupid

4. $300 Payments scheme ..

.. could have been used to set up local breakfast programs for poorest children
    .. or soup kitchens etc etc

local community volunteer team politics is the way to go for small communities

5. “local community volunteer team politics is the way to go for small communities”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    …..then what would the lotta shiite lawyers and economists do for a living…?
    Beg?

6. “…..then what would the lotta shiite lawyers and economists do for a living…?
    Beg?”

the gig is over
    ‘experts’ are used to design computer systems to replace mindless repetitive tasks
    AI is developed for tasks typically associated with human intelligence, such as learning, reasoning, problem-solving, perception, and decision-making.

the correct phrase for these ‘lotta shiite lawyers and economists’ is they can spend ‘some down time on the beach’ to plan their next hobby career to meander along the path of life which is about the journey and not the destination

7. Lorenzo
    Bushie,you are expert in all things.What is your problem with persons receiving money to help them in whatever way they feel?Over 150,000 people have since received the $300.Clearly they do not agree with you.Tell which government you ever run.This is not a bread shop we ate talking about.

8. This actually made it to press in BT.
    “Barbados is at a critical juncture as it braces for another hurricane season, with a backbench parliamentarian warning that the country’s current insurance regime is ill-equipped to protect its citizens from catastrophic loss amid mounting climate risks.
    Minister of Industry, Innovation, Science and Technology and MP for St Michael South Central, Marsha Caddle on Tuesday urged sweeping reforms to ensure insurance is more equitable and accessible for all Barbadians.”
    We have now, backbench Ministers.

9. Lorenzo
    Did I just hear Ms P say she is not a supporter of any party on Brasstacks.Well well I cannot believe this in my view dem could be serious.Why are these gems always hiding.Then goes onto to attack Ms Thompson talking about being nasty to Ms Armstrong.This is the same Ms Armstrong who was nasty to Ms Mottley before and had to apologize.What goes around comes around.I gone.

10. He that giveth with one hand taketh with the other. This month people who are salaried will see their NIS has gone up and a new tax added that is to help rebuild something or the next. Em is a new tax all the same however wunna dress it up. So wunna will get the $300 sweety once, but I coming for the increases off every pay cheque starting May!

11. “Bushie, you are expert in all things.What is your problem with persons receiving money to help them in whatever way they feel?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~`
    @ Lorenzo
    Bushie is not inclined to get into an argument with a Yfowl, …but just to clarify…

Bushie IS INDEED ‘an expert in all things’, but ONLY because he is able to access an UNLIMITED knowledge source at will….
    (Bushie is assuming that you know the SOURCE of REAL wisdom.)

THE problem (NOT Bushie’s) with persons ‘receiving money to help them in whatever way they feel’ is that you are CREATING A CULTURE OF BEGGARS, MENDICANCY, and DEPENDENCY.
    The role of government is to cultivate a population of PROUD, PRODUCTIVE, CREATIVE, INDEPENDENT, RESOURCEFUL citizens, who can MAXIMIZE their own personal human potentialities and perhaps contribute even at the GLOBAL stage.

The OBJECTIVE of politicians and their lackies, is to create a cadre of DEPENDENT, mendicant, appreciative and obedient POOR brass bowls, who can DO NO BETTER that kneel at their feet in order to survive… and to ‘give dem de vote and watch dum’.

…any follow-up queries you want the bushman to relay…?

12. Lorenzo
    You are spouting bare crap.The best way to escape dependency is to have a job where you can provide for your family and yourself.Based on recent information unemployment is down which tells me persons are getting jobs and the economy is certainly doing a lot better than pre 2018.What nonsense you spouting.I repeat you are a know all.Tell us which government you ever run except your mouth.

13. Wunna need to get out the fish bowl yuh hear. Clueless!!

14. @ Enuff
    Boss, why you don’t rein in Lorenzo doh?? … before he get himself a serious bush whacking??!!

1 :
    “The best way to escape dependency is to have a job where you can provide for your family and yourself”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Close….
    The BEST way is to become an entrepreneur – where you can even OFFER jobs to those
    who may not be at your level of independence.
    The WORST is to be encouraged to accept alms and political favors.

SO!!
    How does handing out easy bribe money contribute to such personal independence?
    Is THAT not ENHANCING dependency …and not escaping it…

You like you GUZZLED the kool aid…yuh.

2:
    “Based on recent information unemployment is down which tells me persons are getting jobs and the economy is certainly doing a lot better than pre 2018”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    That is propaganda, designed to impress LITTLE fragile minds.

UNEMPLOYMENT figures ONLY count those who are ACTIVELY seeking formal employment.
    No wonder you THINK they are ‘down’……
    – No rastas are counted – (Kiki aint wukking fuh Babylon…)
    – No bad-boys are included – dem got other plans
    – Hardly ANY of those hoards of unkempt young males with fancy hairdos, ear rings, and their donkeys on display, gets included.. (except dey mudda or grannie keep sending in job applications fuh dem…)

The ONLY EMPLOYMENT that is UP, relates to the THOUSANDS of Chinese and other foreigners who have got work permits from your guvment – to benefit from the hotel projects that Bajans will have to pay back LOANS for…

Talk bout suicidal policies…

Yuh better stop spotting yuh bright headlights on Bushie..
    …and spot dem on the people that running de country…
    Murduh!!
    Sweetest kaiso in YEARS….

15. @ Bushie

May you miss the whole point about the $300 gift.

It was a distraction from the new tax that was brought from this month called the restructuring something or the next and the higher NIS from May. It did not have to do with no sharing no bouty nor nothing so. I mean cuhdear if things so bountiful how come you had to hit working people pocket with more NIS and this new tax, i think it showing as RSS on the payroll or something so?

Always look for the reason cause charity dont come without a price!

16. What the handout does is to reinforce unwanted behaviour driving consumption spending in the population. We are a country still struggling with fiscal challenges but our government by its actions is not encouraging frugal, thrifty and smart behaviour given our circumstances.

17. […] The dust has settled on the St. James North by election. As predicted by all and sundry including Barbados Underground – A redundant St. James North by election – Chad Blackman of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) destroyed the main challenger Felicia Dujon of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) by capturing 2 723 votes to 468. […] Source link […]