A member of the press corps asked the Governor of the Central Bank Dr. Kevin Greenidge a fair and obvious question at last week BIMpay press conference. It was a question that should have been anticipated by the Governor and his support team, yet he completely bungled the reply.

The reporter asked for the price tag of the national project BIMpay, Dr. Kevin Greenidge responded with a level of dismissiveness and arrogance that shocked onlookers:

As much as you would like to hear, I ain’t putting no figure on this. Everybody knows what matters. Are you going to pay for it? No. So why do you want to know it for? Read our financial reports and you’ll see it embedded in there.

What should be of interest is not just that a journalist did their job by asking the fundamental question; it is the immediate, strident public outcry that followed. The backlash from an offended public was so intense that Dr. Greenidge was forced to release a video apology, finally disclosing that phase 1 of the infrastructure cost approximately $6.7 million against a $10 million budget.

Governor Greenidge must be asking himself why a majority of Barbadians reacted so vehemently to his tone. More importantly, we have to ask: why did the political directorate feel compelled to ensure a swift apology for this particular misstep, when so many structual issues are routinely ignored by the same public?

What about the audited financials for the National Insurance and Social Security Service (NISSS) that have been outstanding for over a decade?

What has been the outcome of the investigation into the Home Ownership Providing Energy (HOPE) program, promised by Prime Minister Mia Mottley since March 2024? Despite millions being funneled through the entity, it continues to operate without presenting annual financial reports. The administrative excuse that the government’s own probe has been “compromised” because the Auditor General is conducting a competing investigation is unacceptable.

Why has the government never offered a formal apology for obliterating the $4 million budget allocated to CARIFESTA by an astronomical 783%, resulting in a $31 million overrun?

What about the 83% ($23 million) cost overrun on the importation of 150 prefab steel houses from China? This was billed as a rapid delivery housing solution after Hurricane Elsa damaged homes in 2021. As at today many of those steel frames have never even been assembled and are on the ground rusting or parts stolen.

When Barbados became a republic in 2021, the Constitution was quickly amended to replace references to the Governor General with the President. A comprehensive, homegrown Republican Constitution was promised to the public by November 30, 2026. We are now in June 2026, and there has been little communication to the electorate regarding the status. Because the government commands all 30 seats in Parliament, the two thirds majority required for constitutional change is a non issue. Instead of structural reform, the constitution continues to be tweaked for political expediency, for example the passing of an anti defection law to stop MPs from crossing the floor.

A perennial favourite of the blogmaster is the empty promise made by Commissioner of Police Richard Boyce to investigate a slapping incident by a police officer, a case that has now gone cold after almost three nearly Grand Kadooments.

What is the status of the 2022 agreement with the Rwandan Government that promised Barbadians to create 4000 jobs over 5 years in a new pharmaceutical industry?

Finally, look at the repeated, failed promises from successive governments to reform the dysfunctional public transportation system. For over half a century (50 years), the PSV sector has been permitted to foster a lawless subculture that has actively disrupted the social fabric of our society and derailed the lives of too many young citizens.

Why has the public reacted with so much fury to force an immediate apology from the Central Bank Governor his BiMPay misspeak, while other failures are seemingly ignored by Barbadians?

The answer is obvious to a lowly blogmaster.

Are we there yet?

8 responses to “Why public reaction matters”

1. Why do we have to congratulate at the Governor for doing the ‘right’ thing by apologising?

Disrespect unacceptable

We must never underestimate the power of the media nor the power of the people.

While it was quite an unfortunate response from the Governor of the Central Bank Dr The Most Honourable Kevin Greenidge when asked about the overall cost of the BiMPay project by a reporter at a press conference called by the bank for Monday, we welcome his public apology via a video link on Wednesday evening.

The Governor conceded that it was an “inappropriate” response.

Dr Greenidge was very much in the wrong for his reply to a legitimate question posed by the media who, at the end of the day, are seeking answers to questions that the public deserved to have answered.

After all, as the Governor also said, it was fair question on the cost of BiMPay, and he also had to acknowledge that he should have answered directly.

“There is no place for making light of a question like that. And there’s no place for seemingly being dismissive of the public’s right to know how public resources are being used. So let me say first, I am sorry,” he said.

While there was a public outcry to Greenidge’s response, we acknowledge the fact that he came out and apologised, taking full responsibility for his action.

We applaud this as it was the right thing to do. Owning the mistake and accepting responsibility.

We hope this will be a lesson to all public servants and those who hold high positions in this country.

The reality is you are all working on behalf of the people of Barbados and the diaspora and to whom much is given, much is expected. For the elected politicians in particular, you are working for the people many of whom elected you.

Disrespect will not be tolerated. There is a level of accountability that is expected of those who hold positions and it is the public’s right to ask questions and it is certainly their right to know the answers.

Legitimate question

Transparency is also key and while the Governor stated his concern that he did not want the discussion to reduce BiMPay to one figure, the reality is that this was a legitimate question posed on behalf of the public.

In Greenidge’s words, this project is important, but for it to work and get the buy-in from Barbadians, there must be public confidence.

We appreciate that in his apology which appeared in a 3.50-minute video recording he recognised this was not the way to speak to anyone, far less the media.

“I apologise to a young reporter who was simply doing his job. I also apologise to anyone who heard my response and felt that I was being disrespectful, evasive or unwilling to account to the people of Barbados. That was not my intention,” he stated.

It is also important to touch on the point of respecting the journalists who are also working on behalf of the people of this country.

This newspaper denounces any disrespect of practising journalists as it is their responsibility to seek the truth, to educate, to inform, to ask the niggling questions and get answers to them.

The role of journalists is also to seek accountability especially when it affects people and to have officials deal with matters that are in the public’s interest and good.

While we acknowledge and accept the apology from the Governor of the Central Bank, we hope this incident is a lesson to others who may think this is the way to conduct themselves, or respond to the media acting on behalf of the public.

When there are questions – and in the absence of an elected opposition voice – the media has a much bigger role to play.

2. Bajans demanded an apology from the governor because we don’t have the balls to demand one from his boss – who has been MUCH more insulting and opaque with respect to cost reports, financial performance reports, investigations into housing fraud, vaccine scams, and even recent CARIFESTA malfeasance.

The difference is that the governor did not tell us DIRECT lies about awaiting information, needing parliament approval, …nor did he just simply IGNORE the question.

He just told it as it is.

Greenidge may have drunk a bit too much of the kool aid (especially since his most honorable status – and his regular TV features), and as a result, may have ACTUALLY thought that twine is longer than time…

What a place nuh!!

3. There’s even a nexus between the use of the iconography of Bussa here and the contradictions cited within the Bajan collective imagination and those who rule them.

On Bussa, Barbados sent a delegation to Ghana this week to a conference about Reparations as attended by many other Afrikan countries sic, no costs were given for that. No costs were ever given for Mottley’s constant flying.

Even as Bajans continue to see no contradictions between those who died fighting for freedom and the bureaucrats who have since pretended to be or those whose cencentration was only about money.

That the GoCB response has anímated some should not be overestimated in ways which suggest that other such issues might be unearthed and given renewed attention. That will never happen!

That reaction is best understood as the exception which proves the rule. The rule being that the dynamics of power relationships in Barbados for those “in power” have always given the exclusive right for them to do whatever they liked. Democracy!

Where was this irrighteous indignation when this government changed the ability of elected representatives, as by personal right, to decide on which side of the floor they should sit?

The over concentration on spending and the misuse of public funds while ignoring the structural issues which further spawn the deepening perceptions by officials that they can do whatever they like, as exemplified by the GoCB, turned out to be merely the exception which proves the rule, the rulership!

This is the boiling frog syndrome.

4. Is there not another structural contradiction with Greenidge.

On the one hand, you call him ‘the most honourable’ a title which should have been reserved for the Goddess alone …..

Meaning Mother Earth

And on the other, you suppose that this be knighted ‘the most honourable’ peon is capable of the most dishonourable public behaviors there could have been.

These are the contradictions which cannot be avoided when humans are deified while still alive.

But nothing will taper the propensity of Barbados to continually reinforce the fiction of the all-powerful ‘respectability’ ethos.

5. @NATION CITATION BY THE BLOGMASTER

“While it was quite an unfortunate response from the Governor of the Central Bank Dr The Most Honourable Kevin Greenidge”…

WHO WRITES THIS KINDA’ SHYTE****

#KevinGreenidgeIsACUNT*

Bajans need to stop “BLOWING FOUL SMOKE UP PEOPLE’S BACKSIDES”!!!

There is “NOTHING HONOURABLE” about Kevin Greenidge – “HE IS AN ARSEHOLE” whose “MANNERISMS” & “DEPORTMENT” – #Stinks2HighHeavens

WISH I COULD CALL OUT THESE DIRTY BASTERDS 2 THEIR FACES!!!

But I must remember that Bajan are like *BRITS* – SPINELESS* WHEN IT COMES 2 OPEN CONFRONTATION!!!!!!!!!!

#SMDHID

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

Lol…so the story is…Dr Greenidge apologised.
    Effing you forget, the GoB managed to post nearly $1.5B in expenses, years late, this past March. So getting phase 1, so far, doesn’t tell us shit. Are the phase 1 expenses all tallied, or is that 59% so far? And what is the budget for ALL phases?
    A distraction.
    It was his initial reply and tone that begs the question, wtf was he thinking? Even @enuff could have told us within seconds an apology would follow.
    I would imagine other expenses are also “embedded” we just have to “look for them”. Too sweet.

7. @ No
    What this all VERIFIES is how naive Bajan BBs REALLY are, …and the extent to which our eddykashun shitstem has succeeded in producing a generation of sheeple.

What even is the PIONT of asking Greenidge about sharing the cost?
    – When anything can be added or reassigned wily nilly in the background?

– when ‘budgets’ are created arbitrarily and posthumously

– When no one has independent access to the details – now that they got rid of the Auditor General?

– When ‘expenses’ can be ‘post-assigned’ and passed in block in the Mafia parliament next year …or two?

Shiite, it is possible that even Greenidge himself is unaware of the REAL cost.
    Who bothers about cost when you have FREE BB money to spend and no one to question you?

He was probably just taken aback by the audacity of the question…
    His response (straight from the playbook of his Boss) did not work for him, because he carries the aura of a compliant yard-boy, rather than that of a mafia boss, ready to cuss and get on like a black hat.

What a place sweet!!!