Thanks to Bajan Citizen for producing relevant links to the latest story making the rounds about Mark Maloney being scammed out of US10 million dollars purported to be a payment for 1 million doses of the AstraZeneca vaccine on behalf of Barbados and two other governments.

The blogmaster has two questions:

1. On what basis was Maloney’s company Radical Investments Ltd selected to broker this transaction.
  2. Is the government out of pocket because of the errant transaction.
  3. How does being out of pocket USD6.7 million affect Maloney’s financial state to continue to do business.

Mark Maloney Says $12M COVID Vaccine Deal Was A Scam
https://www.law360.com/commercialcontracts/articles/1422923/barbados-co-says-12m-covid-vaccine-deal-was-a-scam

The case is Radical Investments Ltd. v. Good Vibrations Entertainment LLC et al., case number 9:21-cv-81761, in the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida

Radical Investments Ltd. is a St Lucia registered company owned by Mark Maloney. 

He appears to have been swindled out of $6.7 millon USD from the governments of St Lucia, the Bahamas and Barbados who contributed money to buy COVID vaccines for their citizens.

“In April 2021, the Governments of Saint Lucia, The Bahamas and Barbados initiated a bulk purchase of AstraZeneca vaccines, as the minimum purchase from authorized suppliers was one million (1,000,000) vaccines.”
http://www.govt.lc/news/saint-lucia-s-efforts-to-secure-high-demand-covid-19-vaccines.

St Lucia contributed $7.3 million EC
https://www.caribbeannewsglobal.com/approval-of-direct-purchase-for-astrazeneca-radical-investments-ltd/

Mark Maloney is deputy chair of the private sector group put together last March to fundraise and acquire more vaccines.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/03/03/high-powered-group-ready-to-assist-with-vaccine-financing/

It is not clear what due dilligence Mr Maloney did before entering into this commercial arrangement with Good Vibrations Entertainment LLC. If you were looking to purchase pharmaceuticals would you do business with a company whith a name that connotes mechanical sexual services, and with an address at 21218 St Andrews Blvd Suite 318 that is a mailbox in a UPS store where 175 other fly by night companies also have their “headquarters”???
http://search.sunbiz.org/Inquiry/CorporationSearch/SearchResultDetail?inquirytype=EntityName&directionType=CurrentList&searchNameOrder=GOODVIBRATIONSENTERTAINMENT%20L210002390860&aggregateId=flal-l21000239086-b92f38d8-b344-45fc-b36d-1320f1675828&searchTerm=GOOD%20VIBRATIONS%20AUDIO%2C%20LLC&listNameOrder=GOODVIBRATIONSAUDIO%20L190000122850

1,308 responses to “Mark Maloney Scammed!”

1. India doing something right!!

Home treatment kits.

2. SAntia bradshaw speaks on vaccine scam

3. Dis whole t’ing leaving me wid very, very bad vibrations, enuff to turn me into a radical.

4. @David
    I believe that you are missing the point @ “Cuhdear” @4.37. She is saying that the Deputy PM’s statement contradicts the denial made by the Minister of Health it has nothing to do with Cabinet collective responsibility.

5. I know about collective responsibility, but my question still is if conflicting statements are being attributed to two different ministers.

Whom do I believe?

My brain is not big enough to reconcile the two reported statements.

6. Thanks Sarge.

7. The Minister of Health – a military man – is always referred to as Lieutenant Colonel, has now been demoted to Sargeant as in Sgt. Schultz.

I know nothing

8. A little advice to all “high level officials” when you don’t want to step in the doo-doo. A statement has already been created for that eventuality. The statement is, “NO COMMENT.”

Then let the primus inter pares take the sh!t.

9. @Sargeant

You have to get the context of his denial before passing judgement. There is a possibllity the PM made this deal and he was unaware. People who know Bostic will vouch that he is a no nonsense individual. He does not play.

10. Wunna paying attention ? Doan ease up pun Maloney but dis gettin wussa an wussa

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/09/22/covid-19-update-168-news-cases-881-in-isolation-three-deaths/

11. Our Most Honourable Prime Minister is totally innocent. I hereby acquit her of all charges.

She was merely trying to save our people in the spring of 2021. For that I accord her my personal respect.

Thank you, Mia Mottley!

12. Now we see the spin :Maloney is an idiot. Really. Very good thing . The man mek millions and millions and now we feel he get trick and is some kind of victim? ?
    Oh be careful because according to one minister “we agreed “but the substantive minister said knows nothing about it ?????
    This is serious when it comes to cabinet collective responsibility. Richie aHaynes ( Minister of Finance) promptly resigned when Sandiford appointed Cox as Central Bank governor without his prior knowledge. Bostic cannot remain in cabinet if a decision like this was reached without his knowledge. Why wasn’t he consulted?????
    If Bradshaw is lying Bostic is telling the truth. If Bradshaw is speaking the truth Bostic is lying. One of them is casting aspirations on the cabinet .
    The question: Who told Maloney to procure vaccines and why was it done in stealth? Why are we now hearing about it?
    Somebody slip up. Perhaps the Duopoly is getting a bit careless……….not likely. These political criminals always have another trick up their sleeve.
    Spin dat. Bowl a Chinaman.

13. Another story that appears DOA.🤭

14. @David September 22, 2021 5:04 PM “There is a possibllity the PM made this deal and he was unaware.”

My dear David:

What are you saying? That our honourable Prime Minister would have know of this since April, and up to yesterday the Minister of Health had not been told? Are you implying that in a crisis our PM is keeping secrets from her own Cabinet? And in this case specifically keeping secrets from the Minister responsible?

That would be a real-real serious thing. If that is the case and I was the Minister, the PM would have my resignation on her desk all like now. I could not continue under the circumstances, crisis or no crisis, because that would have been to be treated with gross disrespect, or to use Owen Arthur’s phrase to be treated “like a boy in the yard”

And I am not D. Not B either, although I voted B in 2018.

15. What the blogmaster stated is clear, If Bostic said he does not know, he does not know.

16. @David
    You really want me to suspend common sense? Maybe Bostic is all of what you say he is, but I find it inconceivable that the PM would make a deal for a supply of vaccines and not inform her Minister of Health.

Here is part of the Deputy PM’s statement as reported in the Nation

“I think on many occasions you have heard the Prime Minister (Mia Mottley) and Health Minister (Lt Col Jeffrey) Bostic tell the country we are awaiting the arrival of vaccines, and on different occasions, we kept saying we were trying to source those vaccines and they should be arriving shortly. That really was what that was connected to.”

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/09/22/regional-company-tried-secure-vaccines-no-taxpayer-money-spent-bradshaw-says/

17. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

Re David September 22, 2021 1:29 PM
    It is a big facepalm moment for Mark Maloney. Was his mind so far down the money making road that he didn’t do any real due diligence?. Also the Minister response was vague. I highly doubt he didn’t know about this arrangement with Mr. Maloney. What he probably didn’t know was the specifics of end result i.e. that Radical Investments Ltd was in fact scammed and had to take take legal action

18. @William Skinner September 22, 2021 5:16 PM “Now we see the spin :Maloney is an idiot. Really. Very good thing . The man mek millions and millions and now we feel he get trick and is some kind of victim?”

I don’t see Mark Maloney as a victim..

I don’t know if he get trick or not. The USA courts will decide that.

One does not need to be a great intellect to make millions. Many great intellects make little money. For example how much money did Albert Einstein make? How much money did Derek Walcott make? How much money did V.S. Naipaul make? How much money did Arthur Lewis make?

Plenty of ruthless people make millions. I don’t know Mr. Maloney, so I don’t know whether or not he is ruthless.

19. @Sargeant

We will find out because Bostic even with a moribund press corp, will be asked to explain himself.

Could be a case of Mottlley triggering plausible deniability on behalf of Bostic. What we know is that even if taxpayers are not out of pocket it does not look good for the government and presents political fodder for an Opposition on life support.

20. @Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

Be careful, MAM2 is one of our leading lights!

21. Didn’t even call Astra Zeneca? Didn’t even call the British High Commission here? Didn’t even call the U.S. Embassy to see whether knew anything about the American citizens or residents mentioned in the legal papers? Didn’t even check with the Better Business Bureau to see whether any complaints had been registered against the individuals or companies? Didn’t even ask the Barbados High Commissioner in the U.K. to contact Astra Zeneca? Didn’t even ask the said High Commissioner to contact the British Minister of Health to try to find out about Astra Zeneca’s policies?

Looka I got a bridge in Brooklyn to sell. I asking USD$12 million.

22. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar

Cuhdear Bajan September 22, 2021 5:28 PM

“One does not need to be a great intellect to make millions. Many great intellects make little money. For example how much money did Albert Einstein make? How much money did Derek Walcott make? How much money did V.S. Naipaul make? How much money did Arthur Lewis make?

Plenty of ruthless people make millions. I don’t know Mr. Maloney, so I don’t know whether or not he is ruthless.”

Very true but what you don’t hear is some of the mistakes they make along the way in earning these millions. Also Mark Maloney may just be shrewd and not “ruthless”.

23. I know they are not taking this seriously, didn’t listen myself but heard they said that they invested in or with some other companies but not that one. i suppose they mean Radical Investments and they got back the money .without elaborating…Whatever that means…did yall invest in FAKE VACCINES.with the companies ya invested with……we know ya did something and it blew up. Told yall to GET OUT OF BLACK LIVES…but keep ya slaves and yardfowls…no one likes or want heavy baggage.

24. @David September 22, 2021 5:35 PM “plausible deniability”

I lookin’ but I can’t see anything plausible here?

Wha’ part it is David?

25. Looka I got a bridge in Brooklyn to sell. I asking USD$120 million.

26. As I said I don’t know the man. For all I know he may even be the second coming of Christ. But wait! He–Christ–didn’t make a lot of money either.

27. “Looka I got a bridge in Brooklyn to sell. I asking USD$12 million.”

These think they dealing with old fools or the decayed brains of yardfowls. They can’t even sell that to my 5 year old grand daughter, she would drilll them and make them feel small…

These love to disrespect and insult Black intelligence.

28. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar

David September 22, 2021 5:37 PM

“Be careful, MAM2 is one of our leading lights!”

My response:- (“facepalm”)

29. I for one would need more information on this than simple denials before I form my opinion. St Lucia says Barbados was involved but Barbados says they were not. We will see how this unfolds as more comes to light.

In the meantime today we crossed a sad threshold where our percentage of positive against tested clipped 10%! We are not winning this battle for sure even with the curfew and other methods in place. Only God knows what the next round of measures will be.

30. @Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV September 22, 2021 5:43 PM “…shrewd…”

I guess Jesus wasn’t too shrewd. Anyway he got a couple of billion of followers, many of them on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc.

Don’t know how he managed to do it.

31. https://today.caricom.org/2018/10/17/carpha-and-oecs-pharmaceutical-procurement-service-begin-new-partnership/

The Organization of Eastern Caribbean States/Pharmaceutical Procurement Service (OECS/PPS) has a new partnership with the Caribbean Public Health Agency/ Caribbean Regulatory System (CARPHA/CRS) that will require all anti-retroviral (ARVs) medicines to receive approval by the CRS in order to participate in the upcoming OECS/PPS ARV tender in June of 2019.

The CRS is a regional regulatory mechanism, endorsed by Ministers of Health of CARICOM Member States, that is implemented in technical collaboration with the Pan American Health Organization/World Health Organization (PAHO/WHO). The CRS seeks to increase the number of quality products on the CARICOM market through reliance on a select group of reference authorities for medicines approvals, including the US Food and Drug Administration and WHO Prequalification Program.

QUESTION TWELVE: So was this organization consulted before newbies were asked to procure vaccines?

32. Santia Bradshaw think all bajans are stupid
    Why would govt name be mentioned in this Scam if govt did not give any money as a security deposit to buy the vaccine
    Look
    Scam artists are not idiots and the same agreement made with other countries involved would have applied to Barbados
    For the simple reason Scam artist count there chickens before they hatch knowing full.well they can be caught
    Santia u are too smart to be holding umbrellas over Mia head
    If Barbados name is entered into the law suit then there is more fire than smoke getting ready to erupt

33. QUESTION THIRTEEN: And if the above organization wasn’t useful is procuring vaccines, why was it felt that a businessman with no experience in procuring medicines would be able to get it done?

QUESTION FOURTEEN: And why did the businessman believe that he would succeed when the experts in procuring medicines had “failed”?

34. David
    Is it not unwise to presume that because a politician gives a denial that he is less than guilty?

In the alternative, should we not presume guilt until proven otherwise, knowing the culture of rampant official corruption?

Consider that there are bureaucratic mechanisms enabling the appearance of the absence of knowledge.

Knowing how cabinet goverment works we highly doubt that such a large expenditure, involving 3 states, with a central or lead country, could have escaped the attentions of all three governments.

35. Oh what a mess! It is highly probable we have imported a certain percentage of counterfeit vaccines. Especially given the opaque procurement methods employed by a local businessman. Is it wise for unvaccinated people to accept a covid-19 vaccine with the information they now have at their disposal? Probably not. How likely is it that the high numbers of recent deaths and the increase of covid-19 cases are related to a number of fake vaccines which have already been injected into the arms of our citizens? We cannot dismiss this possibility.

I was one of the first people on BU who demanded our government to bar entry to tourists as the country did not have access to the vaccine and was putting their citizens at risk. To date we have focused on the monies that have been lost in this transaction which has been referred to as a scam. We need to investigate the authenticity of our current covid-19 stocks. We also need to recognise both the government’s and the employer’s obsession of vaccinating the population and their workers with vaccines from uncertified sources . Neither group can be trusted.

The health and well-being of a population of nearly 300,000 has undoubtedly been compromised.

36. @ John A September 22, 2021 6:03 PM

Give me a break!

The dead of the last weeks are possibly notorious vaccination refusers. Maybe there was even suicide involved.

Those who are vaccinated have nothing to fear, maybe a bit of a cold. LOL.

We will have a great winter season – provided we vaccinate 200,000 people by autumn. Then we won’t need any more masks either. If you don’t get vaccinated by then and catch a bad cold, it’s your own fault.

37. MARK MALONEY WAS TRICKED INITIALLY BY A TRICKIDADIAN A WOMAN.

A PROMISE IS A COMFORT FOR A FOOL.

38. Santia some legal advice if you were not party to any of the agreements keep mouth shut
    This type of Scandal that involves the PM name should be handled by the PM in one of her Press Conferences when she returns
    But why would Santia talk on behalf of the PM especially when mention of the PM involvement is now known
    Makes a case of a PM having something to hide

39. This meeting with the PM is on noe

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83866745232?pwd=OTFXU05iRkxOc05Xcmg0Z01vU0t2UT09

Meeting ID: 838 6674 5232

Passcode: 627804

40. @TLSN

Relax and stop ‘running’ at the mouth. All of our vaccine so far made public were donated by governments or part of COVAX. Chill man.

41. “We need to investigate the authenticity of our current covid-19 stocks.”

What?🤣🤣🤣🤣

42. They never thought the day would come when they must be held answerable AND accountable…..they have gotten away with this for decades….no more…

43. @Pacha

We know what was filed as part of a law suit which means nothing until process by a court.

We know deputy PM advised this was a private sector led initiative to procure vaccines and Barbados in the arrange to did not pay over funds.

Until we hear more info what is left but to speculate?

44. Easily to dispel this…what did the government invest in with other companies and was it vaccines…they claim they got back the money…so what was that about, was it to buy air, ice? What?..

45. @ John A

I need to avail myself with all the relevant information as well, rather than rushing to make comments that are based on speculation and personal assumptions.

46. If we look very closely at the death rate among the vaccinated, we see that for this group Corona is at least as harmless as the flu, maybe even more harmless. Thank you, Mia Mottley, for giving us the great BionTech vaccine!

Our government should therefore finally abolish the Taliban Corona measures such as mask-wearing and quarantine for vaccinated arrivals. Those who are not vaccinated on the island and fall seriously ill have only themselves to blame. Our government should also finally muzzle the errant BAMP president who on the one hand demands strict quarantine for entry, but on the other hand sows doubt in the vaccination campaign with words like “freedom of choice”.

47. @ TLSN September 22, 2021 6:30 PM

Casting doubt on the vaccination campaign?

A local DLP grandee called “Elon Musk” gave me a hard time on BU. Be that as it may, what else should I expect from a wild man without proper social background.

Let’s get serious now. You are ventilating the very theses that the DLP grandee named “Elon Musk” claimed were NOT DLP theses at all. So either you are not a DLP supporter or “Elon Musk” is nothing more than a notoriously lying DLP grandee.

My money is on the latter!

p.s. The vaccines originating from the USA are 100 per cent genuine.

48. David

No need to speculate at all. We have enough facts to form a political judgement.

We know that 10.2 million dollars is gone. That a claim was made in a Miami court. That a former prime minister of ST. Lucia has admitted such a deal was made with Maloney by three governments. We know that it is not unreasonable to presume that Bajan politicians and their controllers have always sought to engage in misappropriation. We could go on and on.

Certainly, you were far more disgusted with the actual of alleged criminal activities of former minister D. Lowe. We can easily construct a straight line between Lowe and the stench of this emerging imbroglio. Some might even contend that Lowe’s crimes or intended crimes did not have a body count.

49. @Pacha

The blogmaster is not happy the haste with which the Mottley government embraced Maloney, especially after The Grotto scam.

50. @ Enuff September 22, 2021 5:17 PM
    Another story that appears DOA. (Unquote).
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Even you the billion $ project manager would have been more successful in delivering the I million vaccine goods.

We strongly advise you to lie low on this current scam. The wicked witch Wura the Salemite now has your balls in the palm of her hands on this one.

And you don’t want to scream (out) do you, now?

Not even the John No.2 or your fellow yard-bird Lorenzo can come to your rescue.

This not a case of two illegal deputies.

This is NOT the Hyatt where the profits were in the demolition of the Ram’s rat pen and not in any erection of an imaginary hotel.

As your nemesis “BAJE” pointed out:
    A thief stealing from a crook not only makes God laugh but also the Devil do a No.2.

Maybe the same conman Malmoney can now sell his interest in the Hyatt scam along with his duty-free Mercedes to settle the bill for the ensuing huge American legal fees.

Banana republic, here Barbados comes!