Thanks to Bajan Citizen for producing relevant links to the latest story making the rounds about Mark Maloney being scammed out of US10 million dollars purported to be a payment for 1 million doses of the AstraZeneca vaccine on behalf of Barbados and two other governments.
The blogmaster has two questions:
- On what basis was Maloney’s company Radical Investments Ltd selected to broker this transaction.
- Is the government out of pocket because of the errant transaction.
- How does being out of pocket USD6.7 million affect Maloney’s financial state to continue to do business.
Mark Maloney Says $12M COVID Vaccine Deal Was A Scam
https://www.law360.com/commercialcontracts/articles/1422923/barbados-co-says-12m-covid-vaccine-deal-was-a-scam
The case is Radical Investments Ltd. v. Good Vibrations Entertainment LLC et al., case number 9:21-cv-81761, in the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida
Radical Investments Ltd. is a St Lucia registered company owned by Mark Maloney.
He appears to have been swindled out of $6.7 millon USD from the governments of St Lucia, the Bahamas and Barbados who contributed money to buy COVID vaccines for their citizens.
“In April 2021, the Governments of Saint Lucia, The Bahamas and Barbados initiated a bulk purchase of AstraZeneca vaccines, as the minimum purchase from authorized suppliers was one million (1,000,000) vaccines.”
http://www.govt.lc/news/saint-lucia-s-efforts-to-secure-high-demand-covid-19-vaccines.
St Lucia contributed $7.3 million EC
https://www.caribbeannewsglobal.com/approval-of-direct-purchase-for-astrazeneca-radical-investments-ltd/
Mark Maloney is deputy chair of the private sector group put together last March to fundraise and acquire more vaccines.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/03/03/high-powered-group-ready-to-assist-with-vaccine-financing/
It is not clear what due dilligence Mr Maloney did before entering into this commercial arrangement with Good Vibrations Entertainment LLC. If you were looking to purchase pharmaceuticals would you do business with a company whith a name that connotes mechanical sexual services, and with an address at 21218 St Andrews Blvd Suite 318 that is a mailbox in a UPS store where 175 other fly by night companies also have their “headquarters”???
http://search.sunbiz.org/Inquiry/CorporationSearch/SearchResultDetail?inquirytype=EntityName&directionType=CurrentList&searchNameOrder=GOODVIBRATIONSENTERTAINMENT%20L210002390860&aggregateId=flal-l21000239086-b92f38d8-b344-45fc-b36d-1320f1675828&searchTerm=GOOD%20VIBRATIONS%20AUDIO%2C%20LLC&listNameOrder=GOODVIBRATIONSAUDIO%20L190000122850

1,308 responses to “Mark Maloney Scammed!”
I have a lot in common with many of the matters raised by @WURU over the years, and the positions taken. These kinds of things are very subjective because they may have roots in deep ideological and philosophical persuasion.
On this vaccine matter, I suspect that it will be played out in the US court system and those involved with their deep pockets will find adequate cover to obscure whatever misdeeds they have committed.
The former PM of St. Lucia has already publicly admitted that it was “ a bulk purchase agreement/arrangement involving his government , ours and one another.
The struggle continues.
Based on what Deputy PM is saying no money was given to Maloney by Barbados government.
Vice captain Santia bowling an over of spin. .
I listening on VOB929
From what former PM Anthony is quoted in the media as saying, St. Lucia paid over money to Maloney. The only question that remains is why was Maloney accepted as a bona fide broker for vaccines.
#desperatepeopledodesperatethings
“Based on what Deputy PM is saying no money was given to Maloney by Barbados government.”
Bostic says he don’t know the company either …Radical Investments Ltd..
but St. Lucia and we are yet to hear from Bahamas, but they too would have handed over funds in anticipation of receiving vaccines….it’s not easily available and it’s not like anyone is going to give them away for free.
….the government is LYING…..they can’t afford for IMF, CDB and IDB to hear they running scams with those loans…so who is going to lend them vaccines, and just watch maloney taking millions he don’t have cause he has to TIEF from the treasury anyway to pay for the same vaccines…..
as long as they stay in their corrupt little lanes in Barbados and Caribbean..
LOL David you saying one of the mucky mucks used there own money??? that’s hard to believe.. Letting a bajan middle man get between your money and the product seems dicey, now you have me questioning if that Rollex I had someone buy for me is fake..
So many people are so glad it happened, that’s when ya desperate to promote and enrich criminals who don’t deserve it…..turned the island into a pariah infested with scam artists who can’t be trusted with anyone’s money and everyone has to be made aware.
mia’s words returning to bite hard…”maloney should be in jail” says Mia…then, we need is money…no, YOU NEED HIS MONEY that was ripped from the treasury…stop SPEAKING ON BEHALF OF BLACK PEOPLE….
@Lawson
If the government is out of pocket it is not information that can be hidden.
Artax,
Yup! I was surprised it did not come earlier. There was really no need to slip it in here. He could simply have agreed with her comment. We were all focussed on the comments rather than the person commenting.
But the archives show that Wura is a loose cannon. William cannot change the archives.
Loose cannons tend to do more harm than good.
William’s agenda is to discredit The Duopoly. I keep saying that The Duopoly can easily be discredited using truth and truth alone.
Mixing lies or misinformation in with the truth is counterproductive, as it damages credibility.
The story of The Boy who Cried Wolf is a story that even children understand.
Yet here we have grown-ups who do not get it!
P.S. Here the poor old woman goes again with her jealousy refrain. So many accomplished people in the world and she thinks I would choose her to envy instead of one of them.
Let us not be distracted! The topic is -The Mysterious Case of the Unholy Alliance of Double MMs!
All.well.and good for PM Bradshaw to become a talking head for govt
However the question still remains I money was not passed over to the scamming company
Why would govt of Barbados be mentioned in the law suit for the recovery of funds
On reflection, it may be that the Prime Minister went ahead and entered into an ‘agreement’ with Mark Maloney unknown to the Minister of Health OR that the Cabinet of Barbados agreed to SECRETLY purchase vaccines through Mr Maloney with funds from the public purse. If either of these is correct, the head of government which is the Prime Minister should resign.
f normalcy.
In April 2021, the Governments of Saint Lucia, The Bahamas and Barbados initiated a bulk purchase of Astra Zeneca vaccines, as the minimum purchase from authorized suppliers was one million (1,000,000) vaccines. “Saint Lucia’s contribution towards this arrangement was seven million three hundred and thirty-five thousand, six hundred and thirty Eastern Caribbean dollars and fifty-six cents (EC$7,335,630.56) to secure one hundred thousand (100,000) vials of the vaccine.”
That US $2.5M.
I would expect that for 100k vaccines out of 1M vaccines, the expense for St Lucia would average out to US $1.2M out of $12M.
Is there a story coming out of the Bahamas yet or are they still in the dark? The matter of payment will be solved when it is found out how much money they paid for their vaccines upfront to that con artist.
Anthony admitted St. Lucia handed over 7.3 million EC.
Barbados admitted zero dollars handed over.
Bahamas no word yet.
What cannot be refuted is that this is a big dent to Maloney’s professional reputation .
I have no agenda. I am very critical of two political parties that continue to , in my opinion , act outside the interest of the masses. It’s a position I have held since the mid70s although from time to time , I do agree with some policies.
My agenda is to see the socio economic condition of the masses improve. I am not saying that there has been no improvement but as you wrote recently, we seem to have slowed down from back in the 70s.
My other agenda is to see the creation of One Caribbean Nation State.
As you correctly stated, DLPBLP discredit themselves quite adequately.
Up to this very day.
How others express themselves is really up to them.
Any one waiting for further evidence that Barbados is a Failed State
Barbados govt has undermined the integrity of the country
The leader has been exposed as one running butt naked after scams and cheap fixes
This is only some of what is being said on other forums a very small portion….no one is surprised and everyone who is not a yardfowl or a Slave wants she and the maloney bizzy cow bjerkham tempro, clarke…the wannabe slave master brigade and the whole minority criminal side show of thieves and selllouts gone from Black lives permanently.
Worse case scenario the other islands are now targets for scams from minorities in Barbados. That’s the only place left for them. They can’t carry their scam show to Europe or North America and Afrika is watching.
but BU dunces will like to make it about me…🤣🤣
The people are understanding that they ARE SEVERELY HANDICAPPED by thE traitors in parliament.for 55 yeare and it will continue if they don’t rid the island of them.
“The obsession of the Mottley administration with Mark Maloney’s financial might is extremely disrespectful but no longer puzzling to the Barbadian public. It is who she is. The talk about economic enfranchisement and creating opportunities for other businesses prior to the last election was merely convenient for the occasion. Such a message served its purpose of gaining votes for the BLP. While many Barbadians will not care about the outcome of the law suit filed by Mr. Maloney in the United States, we ought to be thankful that the deal went sour and no vaccines were imported to Barbados and elsewhere through the company. It is frightening to think that compromised vaccines could have reached Barbados (and elsewhere) given the character of those persons involved in the deal with Mr. Maloney’s company. Once again the reputation and image of Barbados have been tarnished by the decision making of the Mottley administration.”
William Skinner,
What you have articulated is an agenda. And in order to accomplish it, you believe we need to get rid of the Duopoly.
Who is arguing?
The other Caribbean islands have to stay on HIGH alert and be very vigilant about the crooks in Barbados….the government agents…..very dangerous people…there is nothing left on the island for them to steal so they are looking for greener pastures…
This writer is unsurprised.
Firstly this Mark Maloney’s mindset could have made him a mark, pun intended, for any range of international swindlers.
Secondly, while he purports to be the inheritor of the Cow Williams hegemonic control and ownership of everything in Barbados and further afield, including the satraps for regional governments this boy lacks a sufficiency of international exposure, contacts, investigatory methods and verification systems to vet such deals.
Thirdly, Mia Mottley and the other excuses for prime ministers in the whole region are equally as idiotic. These are the people who continue to look for some “great” White or near White hope in people like Mark Maloney, a mark which is now maloney.
Fourthly, there are many Caribbean nationals living amongst these snakes who possess the sophistication, relevant industrial experience, etc to properly handle such transactions but governmental graft and a chronic inability of presuming other than that only the ilk of a Mark. Maloney are to mek money will be the end of us all.
Fifthly, we’ll bet you that some government minister or fixer within or around this Mottley regime, was expecting or already received certain “ex gratia” payments under the table. Criminals making money hand over fist even as Bajans die from Covid. We will never be a serious people until such crimes are dealt with in equal measure.
Sixthly,wWe reaffirm our stance that the only way to have accountability is a right to recall instead of the fake and neglected transparency bullshiiiiit you bought into last election. This regime should be immediately brought down for this one act of mismanagement alone.
This may shed some light on the matter
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/09/22/no-radical-ties/
psychologically when people have no mind and clear their mind of preconceived thoughts and bias to observe situations then they can look at things from an impartial not partial perspective
Lastly, before the defender of Maloney comes to say he ain’t no White man. There are some as Black as midnight and are in all other ways culturally Whiter than those at the centre of their consciousness.
If 5 plus million dollars out of 12 million was returned to maloney from the scamsters…why did St. Lucia at least, not get back their money….they are not sounding like that did, but crooks got paid 2 million for the arrangement…
Because according to what was said earlier…there is mucn more in this mortar than the pistle…and any country that lost millions of dollars in the scam…should go after maloney as agent for the Barbados government….as the claim said..
@Critical Analyzer September 22, 2021 8:26 AM “at the very least some of the parasites inside you would have been killed and people with rheumatoid arthritis would have gotten some relief.”
Try this for your intestinal parasites “Albendazole, also known as albendazolum, is a medication used for the treatment of a variety of parasitic worm infestations. It is useful for giardiasis, trichuriasis, filariasis, neurocysticercosis, hydatid disease, pinworm disease, and ascariasis.”
Why is Barbados paying handsomely to keep Ambassadors and High Commissioners in many countries and don’t use them to do work for Bajans? Sourcing and buying vaccines should be the work of these highly paid functionaries, that is what they are sent to these countries for, not some second rate middleman who knows nothing and sits in an office in
Barbados. Secondly, does Barbados not have a Procurement Department (Ministry), or procurement sections in each department to do what Maloney was hired to do? Turd world graft.
Pacha…Franz Fanon…Black Skin, White Mask….and particularly dangerous..
“Thirdly, Mia Mottley and the other excuses for prime ministers in the whole region are equally as idiotic. These are the people who continue to look for some “great” White or near White hope in people like Mark Maloney, a mark which is now maloney.”
is it any wonder i keep telling them DO NOT SPEAK FOR OR ON MY BEHALF on my ancestral lands, or my family…they are an embarrassment and only suitable to stay where they are…
Nuff said..
“Criminals making money hand over fist even as Bajans die from Covid. We will never be a serious people until such crimes are dealt with in equal measure.”
and they got bigger problems because investigations will continue into how 2.3 TONS OF COCAINE could leave the island undetected…..the arrival is a whole nother animal…including that of guns….now people are talking so ya gotta sift through the chatter….in the meantime the police are BREAKING DOWN DOORS IN UK….lol
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/five-arrested-in-dawn-raid-after-2-3-tonnes-of-cocaine-worth-190m-seized-from-luxury-yacht/ar-AAOI7xq?ocid=msedgntp
Was a reputable local company like Collins Ltd approached to source the vaccines or were the morals too high?
Until now, I thought Mark Maloney was a smart businessman. With his naivety, he could also become a DLP minister.
It is common knowledge that at present, given the global shortage, vaccine manufacturers only supply governments directly, and they may pass the vaccine on to other governments. There are no intermediaries so far.
As is well-known, there have also been numerous offers from dubious dealers in Europe. All proven to be fraud.
Seems like this Maloney geezer is worth many millions of dunza anyhow
Trapped in the Psychological Game – Sadhguru
While playing a game might bring you joy for a while, Sadhguru asks, what if you were trapped in a game you couldn’t stop playing? This scenario reflects the many ways in which we trap ourselves in our own psychological drama of thoughts and emotions. This drama, says Sadhguru, is like a cloud blocking the sun – it prevents us from experiencing life the way it is.
@WURA
The apologists will deny anything that exposes their political parties. They would want us to believe that Maloney just got up one morning and decided to sell the government vaccines.
Why weren’t we told that he was trying to source vaccines for the government. Now they are attempting to drag Rihana’s name into the mess. Everybody knew that Rihana was trying to get ventilators that was not a closely guarded secret.
@ Pacha
You are correct. People invested and they were probably close to or part of the political/ corporate establishment. If this deal had been pulled off , the public would have been kept in the dark.
Cahill, Vaccines same BS.
The truth is that many people referred to as “elites” are not elite. The only elite is the elitism of intelligence.
I see that the St. Lucian people have been intelligent enough to turf Chastanet’s party out of office. Good.
Perhaps Bajans will be intelligent enough to do the same.
We will see.
People are dying because other people were foolish enough to hand over millions of dollars for vaccines which were never delivered, so therefore our vaccination program was slowed down. People died.
Somebody should be charged with manslaughter.
@Simple Simon
Did the deputy prime minister advise no money passed to Maloney ?
So….. no taxpayers’ money then? Asking for a dunce.
😂😂😂😂😂😂😂
Given the company name and address, it must have been clear to Mark Maloney and his friends from the start that this was not a real deal.
The question remains whether it was a sham deal and who really profited from it. The name of the company sounds suspiciously like porn. Was the deal meant to stave off the personal bankruptcy of our Texas prisoner in his orange jumpsuit?
Of course, we cannot expect any clarification here from our incompetent DPP. Hopefully, the prosecutors in Florida will look into the matter.
It seems as if Atherly leader of the opposition saw this scandal coming and made a decision to distance himself from govt when asked by Mia to sit with govt at the IMF table
Most likely this attempted ploy would have place the govt I’m a position tbe seen as been unified or bipartisan
Mia likes to make moves that present her in a good light
However Atherly was not blindsided mostly knowing how Mia can use tricks or position herself to look like a good person looking out for the country best interest
This scandal would rock the political foundations of this 166 sq miles
Meanwhile Mia must be praying that while on her visit to the UN the international media does not approach her to ask questions about the scandal
Like how much did Barbados invest
Hiding the fact would only make the internation media dig for more
Meanwhile the local media has to stay underground listening to what people have to say
BT step up awaiting to hear from the others
What a day in politics
Silly people.
My father whose formal education ended at age eleven, solely because he was a poor black rural boy, instructed me when I was building my house “do not put all of your money into a contractor’s hand up front. Hand him the money bit by bit to purchase materials and enough for him to pay himself and his crew their weekly wages.”
I mean what sort of idiots hands over millions without receiving any of the product? If the supplier was so poor-ass that he/she/the company could not wait for some of the money until 90 days after delivering the product, then NOBODY had any business doing any business with them.
P.S. My father told me to do the same with lawyers. If they are not willing to accept part payments, find another lawyer. And give the lawyer a “certified” check/banker’s cheque at the end of the process when he/she actually puts the “papers” in your hands.
I’ve heard of people who handed lawyers hundreds of thousands and never received the product/house/land. Pure idiocy.
Remember these words from the Desiderata “Exercise caution in your business affairs, for the world is full of trickery.”
These words were true 100 years ago, and are still true today.
If the information from our Honourable Deputy Prime Minister is correct that Mark Maloney has to bear all the losses himself, he is a true patriot and national hero to me. Have our rebellious welfare statesmen and trade unionists ever spent $6 million from their own coffers to help our island? No, they lived exclusively at the expense of others.
“@WURA
The apologists will deny anything that exposes their political parties. They would want us to believe that Maloney just got up one morning and decided to sell the government vaccines”
🤣🤣😂😂
“Until now, I thought Mark Maloney was a smart businessman. With his naivety, he could also become a DLP minister”
been calling him a semiretard for years..met that joke while he was training by bigger crooks than he was at the time on what to do with the negro dummies in the parliament since he is about 2 levels higher than the sellouts in terms of semi retardism wickedness and antiblackness, no one can touch those traitors for Black/African self-hatred except the fake elite maloney types of boer apartheid thieves.
it’s only the extremely, mis +uneducated who would be so lowcrawling that they would let a boy like him get over them when they claim to be the most intellegent. with the most churned out paper degrees….
i was dead serioius when i said, it was doubtful maloney could spell the word pharmaceutical, i have no clue why he would name a company radical and they venture into that market….but what do i know..
yes, i met him more than once and was not impressed at any time….takes a lot to impress me….the little negros are an embarrassment…
FearPlaySeptember 22, 2021 3:30 PM
Was a reputable local company like Collins Ltd approached to source the vaccines or were the morals too high?
The Collins family was a Quaker family from up north, St. Lucy and St. Peter.
There was a branch in Christ Church in the vicinity of Searles.
In fact Judge Charles Collins was buried in the piece of land just above the Clay Pigeon Club not far from Burnetts where legend had it that a one foot man would appear on crutches on a night and ever time his peg leg hit ground there was fire.
@John September 22, 2021 4:21 PM ” legend had it that a one foot man would appear on crutches on a night and ever time his peg leg hit ground there was fire.”
I like it a lot better when you stick to telling folk tales.
William…the idea was to pull a Bitt CON and build up resume as vaccine suppliers but they really need to stop XmultiplyingXXXXX the continents’ population X their SCAMS…they are forgetting that many people have tracked them through their years….
plus am such a pleasant lady that i will make sure you are RIPPED TO SHREDS…
yall chose the wrong era…
vaccine scam
I came across this situation from Taiwan when I was analysing its performance a month or so ago.
The private sector did get involved but for different reasons.
https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2021/09/mia_mottley.mp4
anti vaxers would have paid for the fake shots just so they can get the vaccination passport., but now you have let the cat out of the bag probably not.
When Santia Bradshaw says “we agreed to facilitate” who EXACTLY is “we” is that “we” the royal plural? Or does that “we” mean Cabinet? And if the “we” means Cabinet, how does that square with the report in Barbados Today where the Minister of Health is said not to know anything about Radical or the attempt to purchase millions of dollars worth of vaccines to be used by his Ministry?
Since I find it impossible to believe 2 conflicting statements, whom they should I believe?
The Acting Prime Minister or the Minister of Health?
@Simple Simon
Does it matter? When a minister as a member of cabinet makes a decision there is something known as collective ministerial responsibility