Let’s see which tranches were defaulted and exactly the amount. And what value the “books” placed on the asset(s). All neatly hidden, because we can never see what those entities who received the “loans” did with that money, other than defaulting on repayment. Everybody got bailed out except the local taxpayer.

NorthernObserver (call for transparency by BU commenter in the Paradise/Clearwater Bay matter)

Both major political parties continue to baffle the citizenry with ‘bullshit’ and we accept it. Is Minister Ryan Straughn telling he does not have a recent valuation of the Paradise property to share? Why have we allowed another crisis to go to waste? 

At the best of times the Barbados economy was deemed to be fragile because it is a tourism_service oriented economy which makes it ultra vulnerable to what economists warn exogenous attacks from the global economy.

Post-2018 the incumbent Barbados Labour Party (BLP) after winning the general election, recruited a bevy of financial consultants supported by a 26 member Cabinet. Immediately proceeded to opt for a selected default (SD) on foreign and domestic debt. Fate has intervened and the so-called fiscal space created has been eradicated by a raging pandemic made worse by a 2 week period of ash fall from an active volcano next door on St.Vincent.

Acts of nature have tested the adaptability of man from the beginning of time. This is what we must do, adapt.

Is it the imagination of a lowly blogmaster we have allowed our priorities to shift to ‘less pressing’ matters at this time? All local newsfeeds are choked with traffic about transition to a referendum by 30 November 2021 and the consideration by government- supported by private sector- to regulate a mandatory vaccination policy. Further, we had a march reported to be upwards to three thousand people registering public concern. The news from government and Central Bank of Barbados that there is a hole in government’s revenues of 600 million dollars has not registered the same level of protestations from John Public. Is it fully understood the success of expertly managing the economy of Barbados directly impacts quality of life of individuals, households; food on the table, jobs etc? 

The blogmaster smiled this week while listening to a Canada-based Barbadian economist beseeching the government to decrease excise/ad valorem taxes to buffer increasing cost of imports. The fight to satisfy our taste for imported goods and services to feed the consumption behaviour continues.

Covid 19 virus feeding the pandemic has had an uncompromising impact on economies of developing countries like Barbados. Unlike so-called developed countries, scarce resources have had to be redirected to defend against Covid 19. For Barbados the issue is made more acute because of the pre-Covid 19 state of the economy. 

The structure of the local economy means there is limited prospect of achieving real growth in the short to medium term. The weight of years of debt accumulation means more significant fiscal adjustments – that will be painful – have to be made. Coming after about 15 years of economic fatigue this will spur social fallout. The time has come and gone for our leaders, political and social to govern, to lead. A recommended first step in that process is to immediately desist from baffling the citizenry with bullshit and set about the task of setting realistic expectations.

A word to the wise should be sufficient.

236 responses to “A Citizenry Contented to be Baffled by BS”

1. “What many westerners say about small island nations
    Namely calling them Banana Republic”

most westerners would be thinking about monkeys and bananas (meaning blacks are monkeys) and they would say they were only joking (taking the piss / being insulting / hurtful) with their loud evil false laughs and fake smiles so there is no point second guessing them or worrying about what they think which is looking down condescending it’s how they have been brainwashed

2. My ten cents worth is its a good picture of the boss lady.

3. To the whole world and vogue fashion magazine Mia is a strong and successful black woman leader

fact that this escapes “Angela Cox” implies she is no woman

“Josephine Baker banana dance”

4. Somebody in Barbados/Guyana lost their big shipment..

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/08/17/guyana-police-seize-cocaine-airport-detain-woman/

5. I can see Mia becoming a Global Stateswoman / person on the world stage after her stint in power as leader of Little Island and it’s removal of Union Jack pirate flag

6. TLSN August 17, 2021 6:16 PM
    THANKS FOR YOUR KIND WORDS

I STUPIDLY ABANDONED PHOTOGRAPHY AND THE DARKROOM IN OUR BACKYARD WHEN I WENT TO UNIVERSITY

I NOW ADVISE MY WIFE ESPECIALLY ON COMPOSITION AND LIGHTING WHEN I ACCOMPANY HER ON WHAT I CALL HER LIGHTHOUSE CAPERS. SHE LOVES SHOOTING LIGHTHOUSES

MY SECOND SON IS FORTUNATE IN THAT I NEVER DISCOURAGED HIM FROM BEING A PHOTOGRAPER—-OR GETTING SOME TRAINING AT BCC WHERE HE LEARN ED SOME OF THE SORT OF THINGS THAT IN OUR DAY I GOT FROM READING BOOKS AND MAGAZINES IN THE THE PUBLIC LIBRARY AND BOOK STORES IN TOWN.

I STILL HOWEVER INSTINCTIVELY CRITICALLY ANALYZE ALL PHOTOS THAT I LOOK AT

I WILL ALSO INSTINCTIVELY COUNT THE TILES ON THE FLOOR OF YOUR HOME IF I VISITED YOU………(IF YOUR FLOORS ARE TILED) TO SEE WHAT I CAN LEARN FROM HOW YOU HAVE USED THE AREAS OR THE SPACE IN YOUR ROOMS.

I AM ALSO INTERESTED IN TILES, PATTERNS OF LAYING TILES AND MATCHING COLOURS IN TILING….. FOUND TILLING THERAPEUTIC

IN THE PHOTO OF MIA UNDER DISCUSSION IF THE PHOTOGRAPHER HAD PUT HER TO STAND IN FRONT OF THE BANANA SHRUB HE WOULD HAVE DESTROYED THE PHOTO IN MY VIEW, FOR THEN OUR EYES WOULD BE COMPETING MIA VIA BANANAS—-THAT WOULD DRIVE ONE BANANNAS.

IF HE WAS FORCED TO HAVE HER BEFORE BANNANA SHRUBS BECAUSE THERE WERE TOO MANY BANANA SHRUBS AROUND, THEN HE SHOULD FOCUS DIFFERENTIALLY AND PUT THE BANANAS OUT OF FOCUS, AS A BLURR IN THE BACK GROUND

ONE COULD ALSO PLACE HER MORE TO THE SIDE SO THAT THE EXTENSION OF THE BANANA LEAVES LEAD YOUR EYES TOWARDS HER

THE PHOTO AS IS IS OK

7. @GP

You are applying a technical filter to your critique of the photo. The criticism is that it was a bad decision by the PM and her handlers given the topical issue of transitioning to a Republic and the used derogatory reference to ‘banana republic’.

8. @ GP August 18, 2021 11:04 AM

Since you, Doc GP the preacher man and believer in biblical dreams, are a man of so many talents and great aficionado of photography and the palmistry of tiles, why can’t you tell us whether the photo in question is of recent vintage?

For if it is, then you must agree with that old saying that “a picture is worth a thousand words”?

Why juxtapose the leader of a pending republic ‘against’ a bunch of ripening bananas?

9. I happen to love bananas. I have a hand ripening on my plant as we “speak”.

I found the picture looked pretty good but in the context was funny.

What matters to me is what we think of ourselves. If the West think of us as a banana republic then that is their problem. We should get on with our business and surprise them. Success will depend on what we think of ourselves.

10. @ Donna,

I was going to comment on your love of bananas but will do so when i take my mind out of the gutter lol.

11. Next time the PM can replace the Bananas with these.

https://barbados.org/plants/pride.htm#.YR0uJohKjRY

12. RE Why juxtapose the leader of a pending republic ‘against’ a bunch of ripening bananas?

BECAUSE THE PHOTOGRAPHER PERHAPS SAW ONLY THE SUBJECT OF HIS PICTURE AND THOUGHT LITTLE OF THE BANANAS.
    I COMMEND HIM FOR NOT PUTTING HER IN FRONT OF THE SHRUBS AND FOR GETTING THE LIGHTING VERY CORRECT.

HE OR SHE, DID A VERY GOOD JOB
    I DONT EXPECT A PHOTOGRAPHR TO THINK MORE ABOUT SUCH THINGS THAN TO DO HIS JOB AS A PHOTOGRAPHER.
    THERE IS MORE TO LIFE THAN POLITICS

WITH THAT IN VIEW—-HE DID A GOOD JOB.

RE You are applying a technical filter to your critique of the photo. The criticism is that it was a bad decision by the PM and her handlers given the topical issue of transitioning to a Republic and the used derogatory reference to ‘banana republic’.

WELL I WAS A KEEN PHOTOGRAPHER ONCE.
    I KNOW ABOUT THAT. SO I STICK TO THAT. BECAUSE I SEEK TO STICK TO THINGS I KNOW ABOUT WHEN I MAKE PUBLIC UTTERANCES THE CRITICISMS ARE RIDICULOUS.

IF SHE WAS POSED IN FRONT OF THE CAREENAGE, I GUESS NO ONE BESIDES ANGELA COX WOULD THINK THAT SHE SHOULD BE THROWN IN AS THE EARLY AMERICAN COLONISTS DISPOSED OF VERY GOOD TEA IN THE BOSTON HARBOUR.

IF SHE WAS POSED ON THE TARMAC AT GAIA SHOULD WE SAY THAT SHE WAS FLYING AWAY FROM HER DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES?

WHAT WILL WE SAYTHEN IF SHE GOES TO THE GARRISON? OR TO THE GRAVESIDE AT A FUNERAL?
    THE CRITICISM IS RUBBISH. MEN TALKING SHIT ABOUT A GOOD PICTURE…..ONE OF THE BEST I HAVE SEEN OF HER.

SHOULD SHE NOW GO INTO HIDING AND TAKE NO PHOTOS AT ALL.

GOD HELP US IF SOME ONE PHOTOGRAPHED HER IN A POWDER ROOM WITH THEIR CELL PHONE CAMERA

13. Hants,

You should. The bananas I was speaking about get me much more excited, since they come with plenty benefits and none of the disadvantages, being attached not to problem people but to plants I get to cut down and throw on my compost heap. They therefore remain useful even unto death and beyond.

Not a bad return for a free sucker, some rainwater and a lot of free-falling bovine excrement.

14. GP
    The optics were wrong and distasteful
    The pic sent a bad and incentive message
    This pic would capture the eyes of a world wide audience
    Now go.read yuh Bible and try to unravel the mystery of a risen Christ u only having the imagination of seeing things that are by logic can’t be seen

15. “Don’t you love a farce? My fault, I fear
    I thought that you’d want what I want, sorry my dear
    But where are the clowns? Send in the clowns
    Don’t bother they’re here.”

“Send in the Clowns” – Barbra Streisand

16. The pic sent an incentive message HOW ? THAT SHE WAS AS PRODUCTIVE AS A HAND OF BANANAS AND THAT AFTER CUTTING DOWN THE BANANAS THAT THE BANANA SHRUB COULD BE USED STILL ON A COMPASS HEAP ASS DDD POINTS OUT?

This pic would capture the eyes of a world wide audience

INDDEED, AND IF THE PICTURE CAPTURED the eyes of a world wide audience AS I HAVE POINTED OUT ABOVE THEN IT IS A BETTER PICTURE THAN I THOUGHT, YA IRRITATING DUMMY
    WHY YOU DONT GO UP ST PHILIP AND LETT DDD TEACH YOU SOME SENSE YA IDIOT
    YOU PUN BU 13 YEARS SINGING THE SAME SILLY SONGS—- RARELY DO YOU TALK ANY SENSE.

17. @ David,
    How do you propose fixing the problem of racial injustice whether it be in South Africa or Barbados by ignoring it?

Using the term “Stop the vitriolic emissions.” was shameful and unnecessary. I presume when Barbados becomes a republic we will be ready to discuss racial injustice?

https://www.theguardian.com/media/2021/aug/18/society-of-editors-withdraws-claim-that-uk-media-is-not-racist

18. Refusing to state publicly the adverseve EFFECTS and DEATHS related to the vaccine trials is WICKEDNESS……it’s no secret people are being INJURED and DYING everywhere…but the frauds in Barbados are acting like the island is the only country in the world not having these experiences, ya can never trust the deceitful negro..especially when they would refuse to pay out for injury associated with the vaccine….that’s why no one trust yall..

“Teen who had heart attack after vaccine dose to receive $225,000

Staff Writer, Singapore·Editorial Team
    Mon, August 16, 2021, 5:47 AM·2 min read
    Vials of the Pfizer-BioNTech Comirnaty coronavirus disease (COVID-19) vaccine are pictured in a General practitioners practice in Berlin, Germany, April 10, 2021. REUTERS/Fabrizio Bensch
    (Reuters file photo)
    SINGAPORE — The 16-year-old teenager who suffered a heart attack six days after receiving his first dose of the Pfizer-BioNTech/Comirnaty COVID-19 vaccine will be eligible for a one-time financial assistance of $225,000.

This will be provided under Singapore’s Vaccine Injury Financial Assistance Programme (VIFAP), said the Ministry of Health (MOH) on Monday (16 August) in a press statement.

It added that medical investigations have found that the youth had developed acute severe myocarditis which led to the out-of-hospital cardiac arrest.

“The myocarditis was likely a serious adverse event arising from the COVID-19 vaccine he received, which might have been aggravated by his strenuous lifting of weights and his high consumption of caffeine through energy drinks and supplements,” it said.

The teenager is currently “recovering steadily” and undergoing inpatient rehabilitation, the MOH added.

“He is making good progress and can perform his activities of daily living without assistance,” it noted adding that the teenager will likely be discharged in the coming weeks. However, he will also likely require outpatient rehabilitation for some time before he can return to school and resume other activities.

The medical team will continue his treatment and monitor his condition, said the MOH.

“The independent clinical panel appointed to assess and adjudicate the VIFAP application found that while he has made good improvement, because his condition was severe and critical, he will require treatment and rehabilitation for some time yet to continue his recovery,” added the ministry.

Based on ongoing pharmacovigilance monitoring by the Health Sciences Authority (HSA), while there is a small increased risk of myocarditis or pericarditis following the administration of the COVID-19 vaccines, the local incidence rate remains low at 0.48 per 100,000 doses administered.

The majority have responded well to treatment and have recovered or been discharged well from the hospital, said the MOH.”

19. @TLSN

Are you serious? Do you believe the problem of racial injustice as you described will be effectively addressed by engaging in vitriolic emissions?

20. @ David,
    Could Claudette Colvin’s refusal to give up her seat to a white woman on what was then considered a segregated bus, in fifties America, be considered a vitriolic act?

21. GP
    INDDEED, AND IF THE PICTURE CAPTURED the eyes of a world wide audience AS I HAVE POINTED OUT ABOVE THEN IT IS A BETTER PICTURE THAN I THOUGHT, YA IRRITATING DUMMY
    WHY YOU DONT GO UP ST PHILIP AND LETT DDD TEACH YOU SOME SENSE YA IDIOT
    YOU PUN BU 13 YEARS SINGING THE SAME SILLY SONGS—- RARELY DO YOU TALK ANY SENSE

Xxxxxxxxx
    Steupse
    Xxxx
    A look Inside the mind of an intelligent man

Lawd have mercy

22. @TLSN

We are on different pages. Forget it.

23. @ Gp
    Since u got all the sense in the world
    Now go.read yuh Bible and try to unravel the mystery of a risen Christ u only having the imagination of seeing things that are by logic can’t be seen
    AND WHILE YUH AT IT
    TELL BU HOW MANY MORE YEARS WEEKS OR MONTHS BEFORE JESUS COME AGAIN
    NOW GO PICK THE MOTE OUT YUH OWN EYE

24. EVERY TIME THERE IS THINGS THAT LEND THEMSELVES TO DISASTER OR CASTASTROPHY HAPPENINGS IN THE WORLD
    GP COMES ON BU AND SPEAK HIS BIBLE INTEPRETATION OF END TIMES
    YET AFTER MANY YEARS OF SAYING THE SAME TRIPE OVER AND OVER AGAIN THE WORLD CONTINUES IN THE SAME MANNER WHILE IS MOUTHINGS AND CARRY ONS LADEN WITH INSLUTS DEFINES THE LOWLIFE CHARACTER THAT HE IS

25. Every blog posted you find a way to criticize Mia Mottley and the government.

What is your point.

26. Gone to agree with GP here.

It takes a special kind of reasoning to look at that picture and come up with a negative.

27. TheOGazertsAugust 18, 2021 5:13

It takes a special kind of reasoning to look at that picture and come up with a negative
    Xxccccc

In the same thinking u would also say that it takes a certain kind of reasoning for the removal of black images that depicts blacks in derogatory manner in commercial
    I think some rather forget the history of blacks and the stereotypical images that lend themselves to how other people of different races see blacks
    I know I am not alone in my observation of the sterotyping of having Barbados PM photo against a backdrop of a bunch of bananas
    Funny to some but downright laden with a bunch of racial overtones

28. The country has followed others and become so polarized along political lines it is an embarrassment. A simple picture with beautiful green vegetation as a background is criticized. The ability to be rational is a fading characteristic.

29. DavidAugust 18, 2021 5:26 PM

A simple picture with beautiful green vegetation as a background is criticized. The ability to be rational is a fading

Xxxxxccccccc

That is your opinion
    Xxxxx
    Mine differ along historical facts
    That u cannot argue or ignore
    Unless u are ignorant of your history

30. I make no apologizes for uncovering the racial bigoted tones captured in that photo
    For too long blacks have allowed the lily white establishment to set the pace and narrative as to the way black thinks
    This pic should take one mind back to the days when blacks were place in a catergory of being stupid and dumb and unable to think for themselves but was expected to adopt and adjust to what their slave masters said was in their best interest
    That photo symbolizes all of how the white establishment protray blacks with an expectation that blacks would adjust and accept the racial overtones embedded in the picture
    Going by some of the comments here the establishment might be right

31. @ GP August 18, 2021 3:28 PM

We are surprisingly glad to see you are observing the Bajan PM in a ‘blindingly’ positive photogenic light and not through your usual “Prime Wicker” derogatory lens.

Even against the background of a bunch of bananas instead of a bearded fig tree or the flowering pride of Barbados she certainly makes a much more attractive image than any of the nondescript wives of your beloved Trump.

We wish you would also extend similar courtesies to ex-Pres. Obama and his family along with the current VP Harris.

Why not see these ‘history-making’ black personalities through your new-pair of colourful spectacles in the way you are eying the PM Mottley of Tappin photo agency?

Would you, Doc Reverend GP with your newly-acquired rainbow vision, be willing to change your mind on same sex-relationships now that you can see how ‘beautiful’ a husband a woman can turn out to be?

32. Any Black thoroughly knowledgeable in their historical background would NEVER NEVER take a photo that is steeped in racist tones and fully laced in derogatory messages
    Mia claims to be a person knowledgeable and well schooled in history which would speak of the mistreatment of Black people
    Therfore it is mind-boggling that Mia would encourage herself to put the history of the black race aside and creep gingerly under the covers of a white establishment who saw no wrong or harm in their depiction of a PM photo against a backdrop of a bunch of bananas
    Mind-boggling indeed

33. DavidAugust 18, 2021 5:01 PM

Every blog posted you find a way to criticize Mia Mottley and the government.

What is your point

Xxcccccc
    When Mia does something that is of service to people and country
    Then there will be no criticism from me
    So far she has done nothing hence the criticism would continue
    That pic is deserving of criticism In as much it also exposes Mia ignorance of Black history

34. Your problem is hat DLP Conference not streaming.Do not worry, it just restarted.

35. @ David

That “the optics were wrong and distasteful, The pic sent a bad and incentive (insensitive???) message and This pic would capture the eyes of a world wide audience”……………

………. are angela’s cox’s OPINIONS and perhaps those who, according to you, are in her ‘social media bubble.’

Or, could it be the goodly lady enjoys being ‘deliberately provocative?’

I’ve seen favourable comments about the photo from Barbadians and people in various Caribbean islands.

However, it does not mean either opinions are the general consensus of all Barbadians.

Additionally, it may not necessarily be a situation where Barbadians are “becoming polarized along political lines.”
    If you were to examine social media platforms and listen to the ‘call-in-programs,’ for example, you’ll realise the ‘universal set of yard-fowls’ are divided into at least two ‘sub-sets’ that spew the same rhetorical political diatribe EVERY DAY.

‘Set A’ comprises of a particular group of individuals using specific names that dominate on-line forums, such as Facebook, BU or the comments sections of on-line newspapers……….

………… and, those in ‘set B’ are known as ‘frequent or regular callers’ on VOB’s ‘Brass Tacks’ or CBC’s ‘Talk yu Talk’ (e.g. ‘Tall Boy, Stats Man, Wesley, Ms Undecided, Straker’s Tenantry, Alvin).’

Then, there are some individuals who occupy both sets, in that they use both forums.

They seem to believe that, by repeating their political opinions ‘ad nauseam’………. ‘ad infinitum,’ they automatically represent the general consensus of the population.

36. DavidAugust 18, 2021 6:46 PM

Your problem is hat DLP Conference not streaming.Do not worry, it just restarted
    Xxcccccccc c
    Steupse
    Get back to the topic at hand which in my humble opinion drives home a point (also) Mia ignorance of her own history

37. Don’t care who or how many agree disagree or whatever position each choose to take
    I stick by my position
    Mia is WRONG WRONG to allowed vogue the lily white establishment who have over the years set social standards and narratives they seem acceptable for all to abide
    Just a take a look at their articles which contribute to how people should behave and adapt and adjust to what they belive are the normal moorings of life
    Mia was caught up in the glee and euphoria of vogue magazine without thought of how the pic would reflect on the history of the black race bow without thought or reasoning of understanding a racist message which would be captured next to her in the picture

38. @Artax

Also Instagram.

39. William Skinner Avatar

You wrote: “ The country has followed others and become so polarized along political lines it is an embarrassment. “

I told you almost 1000 times that nobody plants okra and reaps pepper. We reap what we sow.
    We didn’t “ follow others”. We chose to be exactly how we are. To blame others for our political garbage is preposterous !

40. @William

Nonsense!

41. angela cox August 18, 2021 7:52 PM #: “Don’t care who or how many agree disagree or whatever position each choose to take, I stick by my position.”

Okay. We have to accept you’re entitled to your opinions.

But, I hope you’ll ACCEPT the fact that, those people who believe “Mia is RIGHT, RIGHT,” are ALSO ENTITLED to THEIR opinions as well.

What are you trying to achieve by repeatedly mentioning “the photo is gawd awful, racial bigoted tones, history of blacks and the stereotypical images, a message which is disparaging,” etc………. when doing so has not been SUCCESSFUL in CHANGING their minds?

WHY NOT ACCEPT SIMILARLY to how you’re prepared to “stick by (your) position,” they’re also prepared to stick by theirs………

……….. AND MOVE ON.

42. William Skinner Avatar

Answer the question: Who are we following? We have collectively all contributed to this polarization. Burying our heads in the sand to protect and defend our party of choice even in the face of insurmountable evidence that the country was systematically falling apart and that the political directorate was being reckless and I mean Dees and Bess.
    Save your blasted crocodile tears David. Your position is preposterous bordering on a perverse intellectual dishonesty.

43. WURA-War-on-War Avatar

Despite all the controversy surrounding the pan or “plandemic” and the vaccines which should NOT have been seen as a one size fits all, this makes perfect sense to me. Pfizer is known to cause inflammation etc around the hearts of young men, but a completely different adverse reaction, but equally dangerous in young women, but compared to the even more deadly Covid, not a lot of choices available.

“The Conversation
    Sign in
    Elderly people lined up for their COVID vaccine.
    Daniel dal Zennaro/EPA
    Most COVID deaths in England now are in the vaccinated – here’s why that shouldn’t alarm you
    July 14, 2021 6.24am EDT Updated July 15, 2021 10.30am EDT
    Christian Yates, University of Bath
    More vaccinated people are dying of COVID than unvaccinated people, according to a recent report from Public Health England (PHE). The report shows that 163 of the 257 people (63.4%) who died of the delta variant within 28 days of a positive COVID test between February 1 and June 21, had received at least one dose of the vaccine. At first glance, this may seem alarming, but it is exactly as would be expected.

Here’s a simple thought experiment: imagine everyone is now fully vaccinated with COVID vaccines – which are excellent but can’t save all lives. Some people who get infected with COVID will still die. All of these people will be fully vaccinated – 100%. That doesn’t mean vaccines aren’t effective at reducing death.

The risk of dying from COVID doubles roughly every seven years older a patient is. The 35-year difference between a 35-year-old and a 70-year-old means the risk of death between the two patients has doubled five times – equivalently it has increased by a factor of 32. An unvaccinated 70-year-old might be 32 times more likely to die of COVID than an unvaccinated 35-year-old. This dramatic variation of the risk profile with age means that even excellent vaccines don’t reduce the risk of death for older people to below the risk for some younger demographics.

PHE data suggests that being double vaccinated reduces the risk of being hospitalised with the now-dominant delta variant by around 96%. Even conservatively assuming the vaccines are no more effective at preventing death than hospitalisation (actually they are likely to be more effective at preventing death) this means the risk of death for double vaccinated people has been cut to less than one-twentieth of the value for unvaccinated people with the same underlying risk profile.

However, the 20-fold decrease in risk afforded by the vaccine isn’t enough to offset the 32-fold increase in underlying risk of death of an 70-year-old over a 35-year-old. Given the same risk of infection, we would still expect to see more double-vaccinated 70-year-olds die from COVID than unvaccinated 35-year-olds. There are caveats to that simple calculation. The risk of infection is not the same for all age groups. Currently, infections are highest in the youngest and lower in older age groups.

Two young people wearing masks.
    COVID infections are currently highest in young people. Andy Rain/EPA
    Think of it as ball-bearing rain
    One way to imagine the risk is as a rain of differently sized ball bearings falling from the sky, where the ball bearings are the people that get infected with COVID. For simplicity’s sake, let’s assume there are roughly equal numbers of ball bearings in each age group. In each age category, there is also a variation in the size of the balls. The balls representing the older groups are smaller, representing a higher risk of death.

Now imagine there’s a sieve that catches many of the balls. Most people who get COVID will not die (most balls get caught in the sieve). But some of the smaller balls fall through. The older you are, the more likely you are to fall through the holes. The balls that make it through the first sieve are hugely skewed towards older age ranges, represented by the smaller ball bearings. Before COVID vaccines came along, the people that fell through the holes represented the people who would die of COVID. The risk was massively skewed towards older people.

Vaccination provides a second sieve underneath the first, to prevent people from dying. This time, because we haven’t vaccinated everyone, it’s the holes in the sieve that are of different sizes. For older people who’ve had both doses, the holes are smaller, so many ball-bearings are stopped. The vaccines will save many of those who would previously have died.

For younger people the holes in the vaccine sieve are currently bigger as they are less likely to have received both doses and so more likely to fall through the sieve.

If all the filtering were just done by the second sieve (with no skew in risk of death by age, represented by the first sieve), then we might expect younger unvaccinated people to account for a larger proportion of the deaths. But it isn’t. The first sieve is so hugely biased towards older people that even with vaccination, more of them slip through the second sieve than the younger unvaccinated people. Given the UK’s vaccination strategy (vaccinate older, more vulnerable people first), you would expect high proportions of the people who die from COVID to have been vaccinated. And that is exactly what we see in the data.

The fact that more vaccinated people are dying than unvaccinated people does nothing to undermine vaccine safety or effectiveness. In fact, it’s exactly what we’d expect from the excellent vaccines, which have already saved tens of thousands of lives.

Correction: An earlier version of this article stated: “The report shows that 163 of the 257 people (63.4%) who died within 28 days of a positive COVID test between February 1 and June 21, had received at least one dose of the vaccine.” It should have read: “The report shows that 163 of the 257 people (63.4%) who died of the delta variant within 28 days of a positive COVID test between February 1 and June 21, had received at least one dose of the vaccine”.

44. The banana tree + republic + the dangerous and deceitful = en vogue.

45. Caught in that Photo is our PM being used as a poster child for stereotypical images
    Along with exposing her ignorance of black history and the negative affects which stereotypical has negatively impacted the black race
    With all the disparaging remarks that have been tossed my way because I dare point out the blatant disregard by vogue towards the black race
    Here comes one clown 🤡 named Artax to tell me what I must say and how and when and how many times
    What Artax might have forgotten that freedom of speech is a Constitutional right
    Hence he cannot tell me what to say and when to Move On
    The subject of racism is one that has no time limit or expiration date
    Sending a message to those in power who believes that there is always a place and time to indulge in racist practices and engage blacks in the art of providing images of total disrespect towards the black race must not be tolerated
    Messages sent must be harsh and repetitive
    Our PM must also know that a picture is not only worth a thousand words but can be a reflection of how others think of us and of themselves
    Images matter

46. Their criminal minority social partnership parasites want to test it in court….START TESTING….where the hell do BULLIES get off on forcing VOLUNTEERS to take a vaccine or anything else, they won’t want to pay them anyway and they are performing a free service btw…as*holes with their wannabe slave master mentalities..

“Father claims discrimination against vaccine centre workers who refuse jab – by Emmanuel Joseph August 18, 2021
    The Government’s Vaccine Resource Centre is facing a possible lawsuit over claims of employment discrimination and alleged unfair dismissal.

Rickey Harrison is alleging that his 21-year-old son and five other University of the West Indies (UWI) graduates were “unceremoniously dismissed” as data entry workers from the centre for to refusing the COVID-19 vaccine.

But the man who set up the facility, Major David Clarke, the joint coordinator of the National Vaccination Programme, on Tuesday categorically rejected claims of discrimination, insisting the workers were volunteers and that it was essential they be in a “bubble” of inoculated staff.

Major Clarke said: “This is a vaccine unit. This is what we do. So I can’t have people in the vaccine unit that are not vaccinated. How can we be pushing something that we are not willing to take ourselves? If the whole unit goes down [with COVID], what is going to happen to the vaccine programme?”

Harrison said he was currently exploring the possibility of taking the unit to court, claiming that there is no law in Barbados which says that a person has to be vaccinated in order to maintain a job.

“I have looked at the Constitution of Barbados, particularly Section 11 and Section 23; and it speaks to discrimination… and I have also had a cursory look at the Employment Rights Act to see where my legal legs would stand me…but I certainly intend to have this matter pursued because it is a clear case of discrimination,” he told Barbados TODAY

The disgruntled father further claimed: “We know that there are nurses who work on the frontline who have refused to take the vaccine. I certainly know of nurses who have not yet taken the vaccine and say they have no intention of taking such.

“It is fair to say that I will be exploring the possibility of taking legal action against this particular entity.”

In a separate voice message posted earlier on social media, Harrison said that while Government was saying it had no policy in place for mandatory vaccination, “on August 16, 2021, seven university graduates between the ages of 19 and 23, were unceremoniously dismissed from their jobs of data entry personnel at the Vaccine Resource Centre headed by Dr Elizabeth Ferdinand and Major David Clarke”

47. Do your own research, follow protocols, develop your own system of protection, stop listening entirely to wannabe experts who have to take direction from CDC and WHO….listen even less to the vaccinated who believe they are invincible, special and chosen, it will save your life.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/coronavirus/delta-variant-can-still-be-transmitted-by-people-who-are-double-jabbed-study-finds/ar-AANtHfH?ocid=msedgntp

“People who become infected with the Delta variant even after being fully vaccinated may still pass the virus on, undermining hopes of herd immunity, new research suggests.

Scientists at the University of Oxford found levels of the virus could be just as high in people who get COVID despite having both jabs as in those who haven’t been vaccinated.

Dr Koen Pouwels, one of the lead researchers of the study, said: “The vaccines are better at preventing severe disease and are less effective at preventing transmission.”

48. This is a reminder from your blogmaster – listen to your medical doctor. ask your doctor questions about Covid and to clarify concerns you may have.

49. angela cox

You never cease to amaze me. You read, yet you do not understand what you read.

Remember, you wrote, “Don’t care who or how many agree disagree or whatever position each choose to take, I stick by my position.”

By accepting your right to express and “stick to your position,” while suggesting you should likewise extend similar courtesy to other people’s opinions means, I “have forgotten that freedom of speech is a Constitutional right?”

How is ASKING what you’re trying to achieve by repeatedly mentioning the same points, when doing so has NOT been SUCCESSFUL in CHANGING people’s minds from their opinions, TELLING you “what you must say and how and when and how many times?”

The mere fact you’re repeating the SAME points WITHOUT developing or presenting them in detail, clearly indicates they are not YOUR THOUGHTS or IDEAS, but a regurgitation of what you read on social media sites about the photo.

angela cox…….. the resident BU 🤡 clown.