Let’s see which tranches were defaulted and exactly the amount. And what value the “books” placed on the asset(s). All neatly hidden, because we can never see what those entities who received the “loans” did with that money, other than defaulting on repayment. Everybody got bailed out except the local taxpayer.

NorthernObserver (call for transparency by BU commenter in the Paradise/Clearwater Bay matter)

Both major political parties continue to baffle the citizenry with ‘bullshit’ and we accept it. Is Minister Ryan Straughn telling he does not have a recent valuation of the Paradise property to share? Why have we allowed another crisis to go to waste? 

At the best of times the Barbados economy was deemed to be fragile because it is a tourism_service oriented economy which makes it ultra vulnerable to what economists warn exogenous attacks from the global economy.

Post-2018 the incumbent Barbados Labour Party (BLP) after winning the general election, recruited a bevy of financial consultants supported by a 26 member Cabinet. Immediately proceeded to opt for a selected default (SD) on foreign and domestic debt. Fate has intervened and the so-called fiscal space created has been eradicated by a raging pandemic made worse by a 2 week period of ash fall from an active volcano next door on St.Vincent.

Acts of nature have tested the adaptability of man from the beginning of time. This is what we must do, adapt.

Is it the imagination of a lowly blogmaster we have allowed our priorities to shift to ‘less pressing’ matters at this time? All local newsfeeds are choked with traffic about transition to a referendum by 30 November 2021 and the consideration by government- supported by private sector- to regulate a mandatory vaccination policy. Further, we had a march reported to be upwards to three thousand people registering public concern. The news from government and Central Bank of Barbados that there is a hole in government’s revenues of 600 million dollars has not registered the same level of protestations from John Public. Is it fully understood the success of expertly managing the economy of Barbados directly impacts quality of life of individuals, households; food on the table, jobs etc? 

The blogmaster smiled this week while listening to a Canada-based Barbadian economist beseeching the government to decrease excise/ad valorem taxes to buffer increasing cost of imports. The fight to satisfy our taste for imported goods and services to feed the consumption behaviour continues.

Covid 19 virus feeding the pandemic has had an uncompromising impact on economies of developing countries like Barbados. Unlike so-called developed countries, scarce resources have had to be redirected to defend against Covid 19. For Barbados the issue is made more acute because of the pre-Covid 19 state of the economy. 

The structure of the local economy means there is limited prospect of achieving real growth in the short to medium term. The weight of years of debt accumulation means more significant fiscal adjustments – that will be painful – have to be made. Coming after about 15 years of economic fatigue this will spur social fallout. The time has come and gone for our leaders, political and social to govern, to lead. A recommended first step in that process is to immediately desist from baffling the citizenry with bullshit and set about the task of setting realistic expectations.

A word to the wise should be sufficient.

236 responses to “A Citizenry Contented to be Baffled by BS”

1. The article is written in the typical whiny manner of the Caribbean. Always calling the master for help instead of helping themselves.

If you don’t like it in Barbados, you can emigrate or start a business like the Williams brothers. I like it very much in paradise. No government since 1966 has forced people to remain poor and work as day labourers.

Local poverty is the result of the self-chosen path, i.e. idleness and the like. Similarly, unemployment is not a law of nature but a free choice to draw welfare at the expense of others instead of starting a business.

Just look at the line-up of our national heroes: All people who have redistributed other people’s hard-earned money as social workers or socialist politicians. That doesn’t impress me at all. We therefore need a second emancipation that frees our islanders from self-inflicted ecomomic slavery.

2. Barbados is a debtor and is presumably robbing Peter to pay Paul

3. Excuse the interruption
    But some things are worth repeating

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=KOzgNFPU4yg&feature=youtu.be

4. Congratulations to our government on the completion of the modernisation of Highway No. 1. Now our honourable villa owners can finally get to their villas again without damage to the chassis. With a platinum coast comes a platinum road.

I will test the route from Cave Hill to Sandy Lane tomorrow and let you know.

5. People’s.

“Just look at the line-up of our national heroes: All people who have redistributed other people’s hard-earned money as social workers or socialist politicians. That doesn’t impress me at all. We therefore need a second
    emancipation that frees our islanders from self-inflicted ecomomic slavery.”
    WURA-War-on-U Bring some ibuprofen.

6. Masey Green’s sister Ruby Gaskin, that lives in Holders Hill criticize de modernisation of that Road. She said dem Chinese would do a better job.

I told her keep dem opinions under she dress. Lol Muderrrrrrrrrrrrr🎼🎺

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Tron
    Eagerly awaiting your report. Hopefully you can stop at a few 💦 ing holes along the way. The Cliff is a must stop. And forget the name, but the popular bar inland near Jordans. The food sweet fah daze. I can get 5000 calories on an 8″ plate. And of course Sandy Lane. Stay away from the cocaine lounge, as friends of the deceased McManus wife are watching it.

8. Lordie lordie.

Dem cautions signs on de coast road. Bush bar n de opposite direction, dem serve 12” pork chops straight out de pan..And pot fish too..

Since Bob Chad move on, de cliff prices got better for de new owners 😱

9. @Tron August 14, 2021 4:29 PM “unemployment is not a law of nature but a free choice to draw welfare at the expense of others instead of starting a business.”

Give us poor drones a break do.

I have been unemployed for a total of 12 months in my working life, 4 different periods, and I’ll tell the truth, I enjoyed getting the “free” “government money” for those 12 months of “unemployment.”

Some women my age have never even had a N Insurance/Social InsuranceN/Social Security number, so why should I work more that the 43 full time years that I did?

Stupssseee!!!! Give us a break do. Poor women deserve the opportunity to put up their feet from time to time too, just as the platinum coast wives do for their whole lazy lives.

We just need to get the Trons and other platinum coast men to pay more taxes.

P.S. The temerity of thinking that poor black women are dray horses.

10. Covert.

Why some bajans uses dem own privates, as stealth weapons???

11. “If you don’t like it in Barbados, you can emigrate or start a business like the Williams brothers.”

not everyone aspires to rob the treasury, the NIS, land, bank accounts etc and mooch off the Black/African population or bribe governments.

12. Sweet Sunday Sermon Not
    WURA – War – on – U does not believe in Fairy Tales of God’s Judgement on Judgement Day and will impose Fire and Brimstone Lightning and Thunder Afrikan VooDoo on all Black Politicians who think they are a copy of not right but wrong glowing sickly pale White Ghosts who were a curse on black men women and children

Working is for the mugs.
    Workers say “Tools Down, Capitalism is slavery and white supremacy racism personified , #BLACKLIVESMATTER Socialism is the Black Man’s War Cry”

Be You, Yabby Yabby You, Beware, God Is Watching You (Dub Plate Mix)

13. The unemployed cannot collect
    Workers begging to receive their severance pkgs
    Yet some want to blame the most vulnerable for Barbados economy plight
    Fuh Christ sake
    Govt did not wait a minute to write off loans waive taxes and reduce tax rates for the most wealthy
    The truth lies in those who eat from the govt trough while sucking off govt nipples
    Not the unemployed and the most vulnerable who waits for the crumbs to fall off the masters table
    Tron yuh need to check yuh facts

14. Conquering Lion

(Dub Plate Mix)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fAJ63sbzVlo

15. Govt handed over Harrison Caves to new management
    The long standing employees were handed pink slips with a promise of receiving severance pkgs
    Yet up to present time these former employees wait and wait for their pkgs
    Just like business these former employees have bills to pay which include keeping a roof over their heads
    Govt gets up in Parliament and states that the employees received a substantial amount after being retrenched
    Management of Caves has not been held accountable for the delay in releasing the monies due to the employees
    Daily one hear of loyal and long standing employees begging for overdue monies owed to them from big businesses
    Meanwhile govt keeps mouth shut and the foot soldiers talk smack about the unemployed looking to govt for help
    Govt made promises to help the most vulnerable and supply financial aid for the small business person
    But where is such help but looking at govt record the help has been heading in one direction
    That is towards those whose bread is already buttered like those in the tourism industry who only have to shed a tear and govt runs with lilly white towels in form of financial offerings to dry the tear
    Meanwhile the hard working poor is told to hold strain

16. Where is the transparency and Accountability promised
    An issue like mandatory vaccination
    Govt leaves standing on the table for weeks an issue which has created a divide amongst the people
    Meanwhile the PM issued a deadline for resolution
    What is the outcome nada govt goes into hiding and uses town hall meetings to find resolution
    Where is the AG the one given permission to give legal directives
    On this issue like many other issues govt cannot hide behind PR messages govt incompetence shines brightly

17. With this comment there is some merit. This government continues to add to the distrust between the citizens and government by their lack of an timely update. They say government is a continuum, a large cabinet, with a bevy of consultants with the same result- a lack of timely information. Both major parties continue to add to the apathy exhibited by citizens.

18. How do you keep a cunt in suspense

“Where is the transparency and Accountability promised
    An issue like mandatory vaccination”

as far as we know there is no mandatory vaccination planned at the moment

easy squeeze make no riot
    stop your protests
    there is nothing to see here

Me no want to buck up on a Roadblock
    a strict curfew shall be imposed 24/7/365
    with no pass for citizens who haven’t had their jabs

19. Barbados joins OECD tax process

By Shawn Cumberbatch
    shawncumberbatch @nationnews.com
    Barbados has officially signed on to a controversial plan seeking to impose a minimum 15 per cent corporate tax rate on all countries, even though it has several concerns about the potentially harmful initiative.
    With a “significant amount” of Government’s tax revenue now generated by multinational corporations which could be negatively impacted by the new deal, the Mia Amor Mottley administration has decided that it would be better to fight from “the inside” for a fairer deal.
    The decision to join the two-pillar plan to reform international tax rules was communicated to international business sector participants last Monday during an online dialogue hosted by BIBA and Invest Barbados.
    The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), which is coordinating the effort, announced it to the world on Thursday and said 133 countries were now on board.
    Not a done deal
    Government’s Director of International Business Kevin Hunte, who is also coordinator of the Global Business Review Task Force, said that Barbados’ decision to sign on did not mean it was a done deal.
    He said Barbados would lobby for a guaranteed “carve-out” that would ensure a continued receipt of taxes paid by companies here established under the economic substance regime. These are entities whose primary income-generating activities take place in Barbados.
    Hunte said Barbados also had an issue with being required to enact legislation under the corporate tax deal by next year before enforcing it in 2023.
    The country is also concerned about the ambiguous terminology that speaks of a corporate tax floor of “at least 15 per cent” and what this entails.
    Hunte said Barbados joined the tax process “from a policy perspective that the seemingly bad press was not doing us any good and it was also better that we articulate our position from within, from inside, working along with other countries who shared similar concerns.
    “There are other countries that share concerns that are similar to ours. And so we took the decision then that we would communicate to the OECD that we would be joining the consensus statement. However, the issues that we have still remain outstanding,” he said.

20. 555dubstreetAugust 15, 2021 7:56 AM

How do you keep a cunt in suspense

“Where is the transparency and Accountability promised
    Xccccccccccc
    An issue like mandatory vaccination”
    Xxxxccccc
    as far as we know there is no mandatory vaccination planned at the moment
    Xxxxccccc
    Where is the legal findings
    PM stated that the AG was given a deadline
    Nine days and waiting transparency and Accountability lacking

21. BCCI president says all not lost

As prices increase and Barbadians continue to cry out, the Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry (BCCI) has made recommendations to Government on how to buffer the price increases.
    “What drives up prices in Barbados, especially in the supermarkets, comes from the fact that supply chains have had various challenges over the last year that have congested those supply chains,” BCCI president Anthony Branker told the Sunday Sun.
    “We’ve had situations where containers were not being turned around quickly as COVID impacted several ports. As markets reopened, the demand for containers and the demand for goods was great, but shipping companies were not able to match the demand with the supply of containers. They simply did not have the amount of containers required,” he explained.
    Branker said the freight rate from shipments coming from the Far East had “more than quadrupled”, resulting in the price of products bought from China going up and raw materials from there going to the United States (US) and Europe also going up in cost.
    This meant higher prices for places such as Barbados, as the president said the island was an importer and had to pay duties on top of the freight which automatically resulted in price hikes.
    “The main reason for the price increases is because of higher ocean freight rates . . . . No wholesaler is going to absorb a 15 to 20 per cent increase.
    “We are a price-taking country as we manufacture very little and our volumes are very low, so therefore we have to wait until the entire world market settles down. The challenge is if there are any more lockdowns in Asia, it will prolong the situation as the US and EU [European Union] rely on a lot of raw materials from Asia. If they have to pay more, then they will pass that on to us when we buy from them,” he said.
    However, Branker said all hope was not yet lost as the BCCI had tendered some suggestions to Government and was awaiting a response.
    In last Wednesday’s Midweek Nation, Barbadians were warned to expect hikes in the price of poultry and eggs due to a 19 per cent increase in feed prices, which was estimated to leave hundreds of small poultry farmers in danger of going out of business.
    With some estimating the cost of chickens would move from $4.80 per pound to around $7, head of the Barbados Egg and Poultry Producers’ Association, Stephen Layne, said his group had engaged a consultant to help farmers calculate their margins to ensure as little pain as possible was passed on to consumers.
    “It is evident that if we don’t respond, it is going to mean the demise of a lot of farmers, as some of them are already on the brink of going out of business even before these increases. We have been holding prices now for many years and it is a fact that we would have to do a price increase by weekend, but because of the [regulations of the] Fair Trading Commission, we cannot sit together and determine a collective price increase.
    “We have hundreds of these small farmers who are in danger of being knocked out at this stage. These farmers are already under pressure as the hatcheries have also increased their prices for baby chicks as the price of eggs out of the United States has gone up,” he said Dennis Eversley, managing director of Barbados Pig Production Farm in Kirtons, St Philip, said pig farmers would also have to increase their prices.
    Government has pledged to assist the livestock farmers, with Minister of Agriculture Indar Weir saying his ministry was working out the details of alternatives to be tabled.

22. ROOT OF GUN CRIME

Top US Naval official points to multinational organisations
    by Colville Mounsey colvillemounsey@nationnews.com
    Head of the United States’ Southern Command, Admiral Craig Faller, says transnational criminal organisations are to be blamed for the inflow of guns into Barbados, which has been at the root of this country’s struggle with the scourge of gun violence.
    In an interview with the Sunday Sun, Faller said the Government of Barbados had made it clear that stopping guns at the point of origin was a major concern, one which needed an all-hands-on-deck approach.
    ‘Murderous’
    “The issue and the root of this issue are transnational criminal organisations. They are murderous organisations; they operate globally with connections in Central America, South America, Europe and beyond. Their business model includes narcotics, trafficking of people and guns, so guns are a piece of it, drugs are a piece of it, human trafficking, money laundering, extortion are all big pieces of their business model,” he said.
    The high-ranking US naval officer said it would be a mistake to attack the illegal gun issue as an isolated problem, rather than finding the “pressure points” within these groups which would cut the supply lines.
    “The key for all of us like-minded democracies that want to see this scourge defeated is to determine what is the key pressure point of each one of these organisations. So for one organisation it might be their banking while for another it might be their drugs. We can’t afford to just look at the guns, which is indeed a problem. We have got to map each one and determine what is the best instrument to deal with it,” he explained.
    “A strong judicial system that is corruption-free is the biggest deterrent, I have come to learn, and we support that and work with governments in the US through our embassy team.”
    It was late last year that Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith said that despite Government’s efforts to tighten security at the ports of entry, with new scanners and other state-of-theart software, most of the guns which ended up in the hands of criminals were still getting through the border security dragnet.
    Griffith said at the time that over the last two years there had been improvements in terms of security, especially at the Bridgetown Port, but charged that the intelligence garnered by the force revealed that guns were still slipping through the cracks at a worrying rate. It was the second time the top cop made this claim as back in 2015 he issued the same warning, adding that it was possibly done with the cooperation of officials
    at the border entry facilities.
    Guns accessible
    He also said firearms appeared to be even more accessible to the criminal element nowadays and had replaced cutlasses or knives as the weapons of choice for those seeking to commit aggravated burglaries.
    Faller said information sharing through bilateral and multilateral agencies was pivotal to arresting the problem, as the relevant authorities needed to bear in mind that the movement of illicit material was a two-way flow.
    “Partnerships are the key, bilateral partnerships as well as the multilateral partnerships that are resident in these regional organisations. The most important aspect of that is the sharing of information. These illicit materials are not a one-way flow, it is a two-way flow; it could be guns in exchange for drugs,” he said.
    “We have heard loud and clear from the leadership of Barbados and in the region that the guns are a problem, but we can’t afford to focus on just the narcotics or the guns. We have to use a full-court pressure using these regional organisations. The citizens of Barbados and the US deserve no less than a prosperous future for our children and grandchildren.”

23. https://www.vogue.co.uk/arts-and-lifestyle/article/mia-mottley
    A good read.
    “Mottley has announced plans to make same-sex civil unions legal and to hold a referendum on same-sex marriage, has set a bold immigration bill in motion, and is opening diplomatic missions in Ghana, Kenya, Morocco and the United Arab Emirates. For Mottley, it is a case of tearing down the old ways to rebuild a country with ambitions for global renown.”

Did we have the referendum on same sex marriage?
    Do you believe Mia thinks the people will support same sex marriage?

24. “A strong judicial system that is corruption-free is the biggest deterrent, I have come to learn, and we support that and work with governments in the US through our embassy team.”

again, i ask, where will he find a corruption free judiciary, surely not in Barbados..

he must be aware by now that there are syrian cartel families on the island CLAIMING to actively fund terror in the middle east..

and

brag to the locals about the death and carnage they cause, and with ease threaten and boast to local police hierarchy on the island that they have a container of guns in the port and the police can’t touch it, that says that the PARLIAMENT RATS have to be involved SOMEHOW that the syrian can make that very BOLD and CONFIDENT statement…unless there is another authority between the police and government that we know nothing about.

25. “Did we have the referendum on same sex marriage?
    Do you believe Mia thinks the people will support same sex marriage?”

It turns out that woman are more intelligent than men (and more sensitive empaths)
    based on A level result data that girls are more intelligent and mature than boys in school
    or are boys just lazy / lazier (except for the girly swots / batty boy scholars like John GP Hal)
    who were freaks that got got on BU censorship for troll porn and whining about comment policy like bitches

Deeper Sacred Love Making
    Tantra~Mantra

Om Kama Pujitayei Namaha
    Salutations to divine worship in the form of love-making.

Inner Tuning: Embracing the qualities of each of the seven chakras, I honour all my actions as the divine expression of Creation.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y9jRjnlbKHw

26. The Godz…
    Brand Nubian Vs Demigodz
    The Godz must be crazy!
    I said The Godz must be crazy
    The Godz must be crazy!
    They said The Godz must be crazy, cause I let my hair go wild
    Lookin like a nappy nigga child
    Black folk say, ‘Cut that bush’
    Quicker than George Bush, drugs get pushed
    They want a nigga clean-cut like the Ancient Greeks
    but the Ancient Greeks, were fuckin freaks
    I’m gonna let it grow like a forest
    Ain’t choppin shit down, that’s why I hear the sound..

Some days I wake up mad and I don’t feel like hearin shit!
    Put all your talkin to the curb Jack, you don’t even know me
    Keep thinkin wild, crush a kid when live, big on stage
    at a show, not even fuckin up my cool flow
    But this country luck’s breakin, there’s a war against the righteous
    But I got a gun, and the God got one
    and his man got one, and we gon’ all be armed
    The scope is aimed at the White House, and still they say
    The Godz must be crazy..
    The Godz must be crazy!
    They say The Godz must be crazy
    The Godz must be crazy!
    (Nobody do I need! Bitch back up!
    You think The Godz is trizznippin?
    You flexin! You betta watch yo’self!)
    They say The Godz must be crazy, cause I don’t bow to the cross
    I even had a Priest get tossed
    Teacher of lies, kept his sword
    And when you do, you’re gonna praise the Lord
    Of all things I could, but I don’t splurge
    Won’t submerge myself, in material wealth
    Just health and well-being through All Eye Seeing
    But 85% of why’all is disagreeing
    See the Black Man is God and that’s an actual fact
    But everytime I scream it yo I’m under attack
    With the crack on my people like a monkey on the back
    Bust it in the brain, fuck it if it leave a stain, no pain no gain
    Black Man, change your demeanor
    It’s gonna be some shit, when they unleash FEMA
    We’re headin, for Armaggedeon, I’m only spreadin the facts yo
    But since I’m black, they say that
    The Godz must be crazy
    Uh-huh, The Godz must be crazy!
    They say The Godz must be crazy
    The Godz must be crazy!
    One day I seen a riff, it was three against one
    Became three against two cause the one man was black
    Now three against three cause Mark the Spark was with me
    Four against three cause Daddy-O from Stet was there
    Was the odds fair? Have they ever been?
    I proceeded with this plan to cut a hole in the grafted man
    But then I chilled, I’ll wait for the war..
    .. then I can off much more!
    Skulls on the pavement, bones to bones
    Sawed-off, mix it with, micraphone
    Whole blocks, filled with, pools of blood
    Stars and Stripes burned up in the mud
    see-Cypher-Punks jump up to get beat down
    Play around with the X and get your eye split
    We’re goin two to the head Sadat X broke bread
    Who said The Godz must be crazy?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DVdBLKIxWwo

27. “Did we have the referendum on same sex marriage?
    Do you believe Mia thinks the people will support same sex marriage?”

how is that even important right now, it’s all cosmetic…

of more importance is AFRICAN THEMED education in the schools for Afrikan descended children to KNOW WHO THEY ARE……

AFRIKAN CULTURE, TRADITIONS etc REINTRODUCED to the Afrikan descended population…AS AN ENTITLEMENT……

building real brideges to the continent so that the AFRICAN DESCENDED population can see for themselves where their ancestors originated and build upon that….

there will be no slithering into the continent using fraudulent diplomatic immunity to set up thefts….never going to happen…perish the thought…

“Morocco and the United Arab Emirates.”

the only good use i see for those two is if things get too overbearing financially….they can always SELL some yardfowls/Slaves…am sure they will be happy Enuff to volunteer…

28. Mottley and another one of her empty referendum promises
    Not gonna happen
    Barbadians prides themselves on being a Christian society and would not support by referendum same see marriages
    Another distraction at the most appropriate time to take populace mind of the burning issues like the economy
    An economy which like the Haiti earthquake is taking house and lives as the economic rafters buckles under the pressure of govt policies to pay debt

29. Agree with you, just like the promise BOTH governments have broken about delivering integrity legislation. Since 1970 the promised was made.

30. Theo…that is how they distract people, with the irrelevant, they have all been doing their same-sex act for how many decades via hypocrisy, so how will any of that make it any different….

that is to deflect away from refusing the people a voice in the republic referendum..

their priorities remain warped and twisted.

31. DavidAugust 15, 2021 10:40 AM

Agree with you, just like the promise BOTH governments have broken about delivering integrity legislation. Since 1970 the promised was made

Xxxxxx
    Yeap.so what are u going to do ?

32. Theo

For Mottley, it is a case of tearing down the old ways to rebuild a country with ambitions for global renown.”
    Xxcccccccc

For Mottley, it is a case of tearing down the old ways to rebuild a country with ambitions for global renown.” and her legacy
    Xxccccc
    Three years has caught Mottley in a tail spin of tearing down
    Yet to see any thing that was torn down rebuild
    The Ram merchandise outlet was torn down replaced and corridor off with an empty space
    The NIS building torn down to be replaced by a park
    Next the Queen Head which will.be replaced by God who knows what
    Above and beyond all the above said
    Barrow named being caught up in a move to tear down while building a legacy for Mia under the direct action of Republicism

33. It is what your dishonest political actors and others from the other side will do about it. We know you will support a DLP path.

34. “that is to deflect away from refusing the people a voice in the republic referendum.”

Yes. To say “we will have same-sex marriage” is more challenging than saying we will become a republic.
    Republic – Easy win – make a decision and look like a natural leader
    same sex marriage Controversial topic – pass the ball to the people

35. Are you allergic to haters

Syria is in Asia
    Gaza, Palestine is in Africa and Middle East
    Egypt is in North East Africa

36. @ TheOgazerts,

same sex religious / legal marriage is a ontroversial topic in Barbados.

There are same sex co-habitation in Barbados that would be a legal common law marriage in Canada.

37. As citizens we have to stop drinking the koolaid. The US pursuing their political agenda have succeeded in destroying another country- Iraq, Libya now Afghanistan to name only three.

38. “same sex marriage Controversial topic – pass the ball to the people”

keep the gossiping into people’s sex lives going and circulating among the population until 2023….who sleeping with who….sleight of hand…..but not this time..

39. Reputedly the biggest economy in the world, look what the US government is doing.

https://www.nytimes.com/2021/08/15/us/politics/biden-food-stamps.html

40. @ NorthernObserverAugust 14, 2021 9:26 PM

As you hopefully know, the Cliff is a construction site!

Apart from that, the road is very well done. However, all the side roads to the eastern highway are still in a desolate state. Obviously no one has taken care of these roads since the rebellious Barrow declared independence. I counted at least 500 potholes on the secondary road along Mullins Mill.

41. ‘la presidente’

” And so she leads her government like a transformational steam train. Barbados is unused to change, but a little more than three years into the job, Mottley has announced plans to make same-sex civil unions legal and to hold a referendum on same-sex marriage, has set a bold immigration bill in motion, and is opening diplomatic missions in Ghana, Kenya, Morocco and the United Arab Emirates. For Mottley, it is a case of tearing down the old ways to rebuild a country with ambitions for global renown”

42. Sad.

The people of Haiti needs are, food and money.

We don’t need to use Haiti as an example to fester our personal political views. It’s not ethical.

In the past decade that country has endured devastation immensely.

Haitian President assonated July 7, at his home.

The judge investigating the assassination of Haiti’s president stepped down Friday, less than two days after his clerk was killed, throwing the probe into further disarray five weeks after the country’s leader was gunned down in his home.

In a letter, Judge Mathieu Chanlatte, the judge investigating the murder of President Jovenel Moïse, said he was submitting his resignation from the case for “personal reasons.” It couldn’t be determined whether Mr. Chanlatte’s exit from the case had to do with the death of his chief clerk,…

On Saturday morning, a magnitude 7.2 earthquake struck Haiti, centered about 90 miles west of the capital of Port-au-Prince, damaging hotels, churches, and numerous homes. Reuters reports that local authorities said more than 700 people were killed, and at least 1,800 were injured to date.

Tropical Storm Grace heads toward quake-ravaged Haiti.
    As people in Haiti desperately search for survivors from a devastating earthquake, the threat of yet another natural disaster looms over the island.

This country has problems beyond our comprehension.

We need to offer up prayer for the people of that Country.

43. The USA South Command guy is ashamed to admit that it is the USA loose gun policy that is responsible for the high murder rate in the region. Transnational syndicate has nothing to do with gun violence in Barbados. It is unsophisticated Bajans in the USA who are shipping guns to Bim by various means, aided by corrupt officials at the point of entry.

44. DavidAugust 15, 2021 11:25 AM

It is what your dishonest political actors and others from the other side will do about it. We know you will support a DLP path
    Xxxxxx
    Hope that all.other political actors from other sides would leave that political hot potatoe.in the hands of the blp exactly where it belongs

45. Is it possible those guns are arriving via submersibles to random locals around the island. Via directional finders and modern lighting systems.

46. Most of the guns are arriving here from the South Eastern United States through our formal ports of entry. Florida is a known hot spot for this type of activity. The USA could care less about the increase gun violence in Bim. Just take at look at mexico gun violence, it makes Iraq look like peaceful paradise.

47. @Theo

The same sex referendum will be held the same way the Republic one was held. I can tell you of 2 foreign investors who have put their plans on hold here until more is learnt about the constitution that will govern the back door introduction of this Republic. The PM needs to put her plans on hold and educate the voting public of ALL that is involved with this Republic rush. Will we be held to ransom like Guyana? Will we be a China or Russia, what exactly is in the fine print of our nice new Republic constitution?

You can’t offer people free education and them treat them like sheep.

48. The gun violence has gotten so bad in mexico, that the mexican government has decided a few weeks ago to sue the gun manufacturers in the USA. The lawsuit is a longshot, but rather a symbolic one.

49. You have drug cartels in Mexico with deadly weapons, gears, and equipment who can go toe to toe with the mexican military. They even have the capacity to take down military planes. All these capacity courtesy of its neighbour to the north. All the USA government care about is the one way flow of drugs reaching their shore.