Let’s see which tranches were defaulted and exactly the amount. And what value the “books” placed on the asset(s). All neatly hidden, because we can never see what those entities who received the “loans” did with that money, other than defaulting on repayment. Everybody got bailed out except the local taxpayer.

NorthernObserver (call for transparency by BU commenter in the Paradise/Clearwater Bay matter)

Both major political parties continue to baffle the citizenry with ‘bullshit’ and we accept it. Is Minister Ryan Straughn telling he does not have a recent valuation of the Paradise property to share? Why have we allowed another crisis to go to waste? 

At the best of times the Barbados economy was deemed to be fragile because it is a tourism_service oriented economy which makes it ultra vulnerable to what economists warn exogenous attacks from the global economy.

Post-2018 the incumbent Barbados Labour Party (BLP) after winning the general election, recruited a bevy of financial consultants supported by a 26 member Cabinet. Immediately proceeded to opt for a selected default (SD) on foreign and domestic debt. Fate has intervened and the so-called fiscal space created has been eradicated by a raging pandemic made worse by a 2 week period of ash fall from an active volcano next door on St.Vincent.

Acts of nature have tested the adaptability of man from the beginning of time. This is what we must do, adapt.

Is it the imagination of a lowly blogmaster we have allowed our priorities to shift to ‘less pressing’ matters at this time? All local newsfeeds are choked with traffic about transition to a referendum by 30 November 2021 and the consideration by government- supported by private sector- to regulate a mandatory vaccination policy. Further, we had a march reported to be upwards to three thousand people registering public concern. The news from government and Central Bank of Barbados that there is a hole in government’s revenues of 600 million dollars has not registered the same level of protestations from John Public. Is it fully understood the success of expertly managing the economy of Barbados directly impacts quality of life of individuals, households; food on the table, jobs etc? 

The blogmaster smiled this week while listening to a Canada-based Barbadian economist beseeching the government to decrease excise/ad valorem taxes to buffer increasing cost of imports. The fight to satisfy our taste for imported goods and services to feed the consumption behaviour continues.

Covid 19 virus feeding the pandemic has had an uncompromising impact on economies of developing countries like Barbados. Unlike so-called developed countries, scarce resources have had to be redirected to defend against Covid 19. For Barbados the issue is made more acute because of the pre-Covid 19 state of the economy. 

The structure of the local economy means there is limited prospect of achieving real growth in the short to medium term. The weight of years of debt accumulation means more significant fiscal adjustments – that will be painful – have to be made. Coming after about 15 years of economic fatigue this will spur social fallout. The time has come and gone for our leaders, political and social to govern, to lead. A recommended first step in that process is to immediately desist from baffling the citizenry with bullshit and set about the task of setting realistic expectations.

A word to the wise should be sufficient.

236 responses to “A Citizenry Contented to be Baffled by BS”

1. @TLSN

You report but it must be wrapped in context.

2. O Paralyze Them
    O Devil Is At Large
    O Don’t Worry Yourself
    O Solid Rock I Stand
    O Tribute To Prince Knight
    O Temp Dub

O (Tempo Explosion)

Exercising
    I forgot the most important exercise
    which is the foundation of all exercise
    O Breath Work

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IJ6OB_BRArE

3. That’s exactly what’s going to happen, frauds, impostors, squatters and THIEVES will be SPIRITUALLY PARALYZED..

4. “555…is a nasty piece of shit, a special place will be prepared in Africa for such demons…they will learn that Black/Africans are indigenous to Africa, no one else.”

Nigga please

We plant our fields
    On Solid Ground
    When push comes to shove
    We plant our fields
    On Solid Ground
    Solid Ground
    You cannot move me
    7 times rise
    7 times fall
    We plant our fields
    On Solid Ground
    No one can move me
    We are hear to stay
    We are doing God’s work
    Doing God’s work

You are a damn Cripple and there is no hiding place for the wicked
    No You Can’t Run

5. Enough!

6. Too many Black people like to coddle racists and thieves…look at what DBLP frauds and their coddling of racists for 55 YEARS has done to the population in Barbados….BILLIONS OF DOLLARS MISSING FROM THE ECONOMY….and poverty now a DAILY STAPLE in Black/African lives, with the break down in society TOTAL…….and minority criminals believe they will keep a stranglehold in Black/African lives until they drop DEAD FROM GLUTTONY..

keep coddling them, but at YOURS and your family’s expense, not anyone else’s

7. Here is some baffled BS

Prime Minister Mia Mottley has appealed to the global community to rally to Haiti’s assistance.

Xxxxxxxx

Baffled. Well I be dammed

Asking ? Does she not know that the global Community would have been aware and step up efforts to aid Haiti
    Of Course she knew

Xxcccc

After all another avenue by which she can grab hold of publicity

8. Solid Solid Ground
    We are Jah Rock of Gibraltar
    We are doing God’s Work
    On Solid Ground
    We don’t watch no heathen
    Heathen have to dress back

9. You no fight against the man that drinks rum, but, you fight against the Sensie Man

10. We remember your position to allow Haitians entry to Barbados. Your politically motivated mouthings …

#miarentfreeinhead

11. David,

She once revealed that she is married to a Haitian.

12. @ Donna

She also revealed being the manager of a large company.

13. DavidAugust 17, 2021 5:57 AM

We remember your position to allow Haitians entry to Barbados. Your politically motivated mouthings …
    Xxxxxccccc

DonnaAugust 17, 2021 6:54 AM

Another stupid talking point
    Steupse
    Xxxx
    DonnaAugust 17, 2021 6:54 AM

She once revealed that she is married to a Haitian.

Really never knew that

Xxxxxx

ArtaxAugust 17, 2021 7:19 AM

She also revealed being the manager of a large company

Xxxx

Well that I remember
    Xxxxxx

14. The BU Archives.

#priceless

15. She was a Manager at the Financial Times and was a good subservient bamboozled bajan negro working for the white man who believed marrying someone white was a move up in social status and a good career move. Hal refers to himself using the she or he pronoun depending on which anonymous monikers he/she is adopting in disguise as an undercover snitch bitch / news reporter / spy engaging in black / white / grey psychological operations / DLP propaganda / dark arts working as a a troll operative fighting and shit stirring daily from 9 to 5.

16. You are wrong Kiki, move in.

17. My gut instinct is screaming you are wrong King David.
    Hal is employing VPNs Visible Panties Networks to hide his IP address.
    There cannot be more than one DLP troll on BU like ACX HALX with same psychometric parameter results and I got proof.
    It is not often I get 5 Gold stars on BU with the BU haters watching and lurking ☆☆☆☆☆
    Dem No Like Mi Address, Lutan Fyah, 225th St. Dubwise Style, Bullwackie

18. Leave it alone please.

19. 555dubstreetAugust 17, 2021 8:12 AM

My gut instinct is screaming you are wrong King David.
    Hal is employing VPNs Visible Panties Networks to hide his IP address.
    There cannot be more than one DLP troll on BU like ACX HALX with same psychometric parameter results and I got proof.
    It is not often I get 5 Gold stars on BU with the BU haters watching and lurking
    Xxxxxxxx
    More Baffled Bull s.hit
    My gut instinct laughing out loud

20. DavidAugust 17, 2021 7:28 AM

The BU Archives.

#priceless
    Xxcxcc
    Priceless Bull sh..it
    Wuhloss muh belly.
    Cackle cackle

21. So far your last 4 comments qualify.

22. Baffled

Whose idea was this
    Cackle cackle

content://media/external/downloads/2398

23. All well my download failed
    But Some one thought it a good idea to have Mia front cover of vogue Magazine smiling from ear to ear posing in front of a backdrop of pic of bananas 🍌
    Can’t this woman say no to photo ops
    Especially those that make her personality look like a Jac. A.sss
    Certainly this pic was one which she could have said He’ll No

24. “Especially those that make her personality look like a Jac. A.sss. Certainly this pic was one which she could have said He’ll No.”

Hmmmmm………

Seems as though WHATEVER Mia Mottely DOES, OFFENDS you. When she speaks, you complain…….. if she remains silent, your complaints are louder. Even her taking vacation OFFENDED you.
    And, you’re now ‘GRIPING’ about her photograph.

What is wrong with the photo?
    If someone’s ‘personality’ is defined by their characteristic patterns of thoughts, feelings and behaviors, which makes them unique, then, please explain how does a photo “make her personality look like a jackass?”
    Why “should she have said Hell No?”

You remind me of your fan club’s chairman who, when he couldn’t FIND ANYTHING about Mottley to CRITICISE, would descend into the ‘realm of absurdity,’ by ‘talking nonsense about “her eyes staring, hands flaring and fist pumping.”

Mottley CONTINUES to live, RENT FREE,………….

……… in your head, in your head,
    rent free, rent free, rent free, hey, hey,
    What’s in your head, in your head,
    Mottley, Mottley, Mottley, hey, hey, hey,
    Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
    Hey, oh, ya, ya-a……….

Apologies to ‘The Cranberries’ and their song, “Zombie.”

25. Murdah!! Head of a banana republic.

26. Is she the PM of Barbados or a banana Republic
    Why couldn’t the backdrop be one of our country heritage
    Even the map would have been better
    The picture is symbolic of what of how the West think of small island nations

27. Gotta admit that picture is kinda funny!

But we are no more banana republicky than the US of A, judging by the events of the last four and a half years.

28. And judging by the big blunder of today!

America is a mess!

29. Angela Cox,

You hardly say anything about yourself. I am not likely to forget it when you do.

Are you a compulsive liar?

30. “Murdah!! Head of a banana republic”

that one was making the rounds since last week…some said appropriate.

31. @ David,
    Is Mia’s photo “wrapped in context.”?

32. @TLSN

What is your filter telling you about the photo?

33. DonnaAugust 17, 2021 3:18 PM

Angela Cox,

You hardly say anything about yourself. I am not likely to forget it when you do.

Are you a compulsive liar?

Xxxxxx.

What would u like to know about me
    Furthermore what difference would it make
    As far as I know my compulsion drives me to point out faults which others in turn call lies

34. That backdrop was deliberately set to put in the minds of those seeing it
    What many westerners say about small island nations
    Namely calling them Banana Republic
    Mottley should have shun being used as a poster child for such a message
    The words which should be stamped across that photo is blatant derogatory

35. You are the last person any sane person will accept a comment about Mottley. If she was standing in front a white wall you would find a reason to criticize.

36. Was it not so.long ago when blacks whose faces covered name brand foods in a manner which sent derogatory messages as branding a race in a racial stereotypical manner those faces were removed from the product because of outrage from the wider black population in the USA
    This pic depicts such racial sterotypical overtones and barbadians here and abroad should let vogue know we ain’t at all happy with that photo
    But then again knowing the publicity hound Mia is she thinks it is OK to be used and made fool of by the international press for a photo op
    What next she in a watermelon patch
    A gawd awful photo that needs to be removed

37. @ David

‘Spot on!’

If the photo was taken in front of ‘Government Headquarters, she would have found some absurd reason to criticise it.

And, where is the evidence that “the West think small island nations are banana republics?

38. DavidAugust 17, 2021 4:41 PM

You are the last person any sane person will accept a comment about Mottley. If she was standing in front a white wall you would find a reason to criticize

Xxxcccccc
    More baffled sh.it
    Your criticism does not warrant a sane reply
    Except to say you are crazyv

39. ArtaxAugust 17, 2021 5:01 PM

‘Spot on!’

If the photo was taken in front of ‘Government Headquarters, she would have found some absurd reason to criticise it.

And, where is the evidence that “the West think small island nations are banana republics?

Xxxxxxx
    More baffled sh.it

40. The photo is gawd awful
    In an age of enlightment when people ears and eyes are wise to how they expected to be treated
    It is dumfounding that the so-called intellectual on BU rather beat the messenger while closed eyes to a blatant disrespect of the black race in as much as to use the PM of Barbados as a poster child for sterotypical racial messages
    It is no secret that small island nations are referred as Banana Republic and the use of Mia as a prop standing in front a bunch of bananas send that message
    With all the consultants and big wig friends and associates surrounding her the word DONT should have been spelled out to Mia before she took that gawd awful pic

41. AS AN OUTSTANDING PHOTOGRAPHER IN MY DAY, I CAN NOT SEE ANYTHING WITH THE PHOTO OF MIA—WHOM I DO NOT LIKE–STANDING NEXT TO A BANANA SHRUB WITH A HAND OF RIPENING BANANAS. IN THE BACK GROUND

MOST AMATEUR PICTURE TAKERS WOULD TAKE A PHOTO JUST LIKE THAT
    MOST AMATEUR PICTURE TAKERS WOULD GET THE SUBJECT NEXT TO AN OBJECT THEY CONSIDER TO BE PLEASANT

RATHER THAN THINKING THAT MIA HAS GONE BANANAS, AN INTELLECTUAL MIGHT THINK THAT THE PICTURE IS MEANT TO ASSOCIATE HER WITH PRODUCTIVITY …..WHETHER REAL OR IMAGINED.

BUT AS PHOTOS OR SNAP SHOTS GO IT IS A GOOD OUTDOOR PICTURE, AND A GOOD PHOTO OVER ALL.
    ALL THE IMAGES ARE SHARP
    THE LIGHTING IS GOOD
    THERE ARE NO REAL SHADOWS IN HER FACE
    THE PICTURE IS WELL BALANCED
    MOST IMPORTANT THING SHE IS NOT STANDING IN FRONT THE BANANA SHRUB SUCH THAT IT APPEARS TO BE GROWING OUT OF HER HEAD——-A VERY COMMON ERROR THAT AMATEUR PICTURE TAKERS MAKE

FINALLY ANGELA, MIA LOOK BETTER THAN YOU, AND SHE BETTER LOOKING THAN YOU
    YOU DONT HAVE ANY COMPARABLE PHOTOS, CAUSE YOU MORE UGLY THAN GOD’S DOG as my father used to say.
    IF WE WERE TO MEET YOU PUN DE ROAD PUN A DARK NIGHT, MOST OF US WOULD HAVE OUR HEARTS FAILING FOR FEAR, AND WOULD GIVE THANKS TO GOD, AND ASK HIM TO TAKE US ON THE SPOT,
    CAUSE YOU REAL REAL REAL UGLY, BOTH WITHIN AND WITHOUT .

42. @ GP,
    I’m highly impressed with your appraisal of Mia’s photograph. You have gone up in my estimation. Not only are you a religious scholar and an academic; we can now add a photography critic. One point you have overlooked: artists throughout the ages have always included subtle references and subliminal symbolism in portraits of their past Kings and Queens, and their rulers, as a means of undermining them.

43. GP

FINALLY ANGELA, MIA LOOK BETTER THAN YOU, AND SHE BETTER LOOKING THAN YOU
    YOU DONT HAVE ANY COMPARABLE PHOTOS, CAUSE YOU MORE UGLY THAN GOD’S DOG as my father used to say.
    IF WE WERE TO MEET YOU PUN DE ROAD PUN A DARK NIGHT, MOST OF US WOULD HAVE OUR HEARTS FAILING FOR FEAR, AND WOULD GIVE THANKS TO GOD, AND ASK HIM TO TAKE US ON THE SPOT,
    CAUSE YOU REAL REAL REAL UGLY, BOTH WITHIN AND WITHOUT .
    Cxcccccc
    Lie yuh tell u never met me
    And u çall yuh self a Christian
    Xccc
    More baffled bull shit out of the mouth of a born again Christian

44. I thought it was a good picture also.
    Looks as if she has her critics reading banana leaves.

How ridiculous will the criticism get?
    She is outside of a window… She is not a team player and prefer to be on the outside looking in.

Her palms are open as if she is begging the IMF for money. Always begging or borrowing…

Those criticism has no staying power. I believe she is a very tough competitor and if you want to beat her, you will have to bring more than a two minute laugh.

45. I’m shocked that so much negativity could be read into a simple photograph. Now I’m reading about “subliminal symbolism in portraits to undermine Mottley.”

So, am I to believe ‘Vogue’ is either owned by or acting on behalf of Barbarians who are fed up the PM’s tenure and as such, management instructed their photographer to photograph her behind a backdrop that included a banana plant so as to undermine her?

But, then again, such thoughts shouldn’t surprise me, as some people are predictable.

Why couldn’t it be “we’ve overlooked the point that” she CHOSE the location?

And, it’s dumbfounding that BU’s resident ‘slave fowl’ found the photo to be a ‘blatant disrespect of the Black race’………….

…………but, her eyes were ALWAYS CONVENIENTLY CLOSED whenever the chairman of her fan club was disrespecting the BLACK RACE, each time he likened contributors to ‘wild beast and savages that should be in the jungle,’ ALL “subliminal, sterotypical racial messages” that racists often associate with Africans, especially in the movie industry.

Much ado about nothing.

46. “………..and if you want to beat her, you will have to bring more than a two minute laugh.”

We all know angela cox will try to extend “a two minute laugh” and generate as much mileage from it……………. for as long as she could.

47. Not here to win friends or be a part of agreement parties
    The pic is gawd awful
    It sends a message which is disparaging in the same way that blacks have been used in stereotypical advertisment
    Which by the way such ads were removed
    If we want to be part and be seen as an enlightened people in the global Community
    We must not allowed self gain or self interest tactics be part of the way the world think of us
    Can’t repeat enough the pic sends a horrible message