An approach to creating new pathways to generate economic activity by the Mottley administration has been to discover new and deepen existing relationships with African countries. It is axiomatic that an island built on slave labour should prefer to nurture a wholesome relationship with the Mother Country. Despite the political noise created when Prime Minister Mottley toured African countries early in her tenure, it seems a no-brainer if one considers that commercial trade with traditional markets has increasingly been adversely affected by the geopolitics of the More Developed Countries (MDCs).

Unfortunately in the last 20 years, to pick the period of worse social and economic decline, Barbados has experienced a falloff in thought leadership among key stakeholders – government; public sector, private sector, non governmental organizations; trade unions. The easy path to exploit a service/tourism based economy popularized by the Owen Arthur AND vigorously pursued by his successors has landed the gem of the Caribbean in the spot of bother we find ourselves.

The news that two Barbadian Fintech companies GIFTS and IPAY have signed an agreement with a major Nigerian service provider to allow entry to the Nigerian and potentially to the wider African market represent baby steps but encouraging nevertheless. The Barbados Investment Development Corporation (BIDC) must continue with this kind of trade penetration facilitated by our Embassy/High Commissions. Appointments to these outposts are perceived by the public as a sweet deal with the opportunity to acquire ‘perks’ to feast on return from the overseas assignment.

Barbadians have developed a level of entitlement given our passage in a pre-globalized world. To compete in the present AND future marketplace, strategies to facilitate and sustain a good number on the Human Development Index (HDI) demands urgent change. No ifs or buts. Many years of debate in this space (search BU Archives using tag ‘governance’) and elsewhere point to radical changes that must occur if Barbados is to disrupt the trajectory the social and economic free-fall direction the country continues to be locked. It must begin with key changes to how we educate our people. It must begin with key changes to the governance structure. It must start …

The blogmaster has observed the attempt by the government to fast track digital transformation in the public sector and be a lead influencer in the Barbados space. In October of 2018 the Mottley administration set up a regulatory sandbox administered by the Central Bank of Barbados to allow fintech companies the space to innovate. There was the introduction of robotics at the teaching college. All of this is commendable but the pace must quicken to achieve meaningful outcomes in a world that is on the move. The last administration started on a similar journey to significantly increase penetration to domestic energy supply with renewables, over a decade later we have fallen short at where we should have been. Given the current state of affairs in the country mixed with our obligation to give the next generation a fighting chance to build and protect a quality life, WE must not continue with the vacuous and lethargic approach to leading our affairs.

A favourite quote of the blogmaster is ‘uneasy lies the head that wears the crown’, many think they know but in actuality they know not. The upside is that this is the scenario that gives rise to good leaders. There is a lot the country needs to do and it is good to see a few reforms have started. Let’s hope that more can be completed to quicken the pace of transformation to lead to diversification of our economy and the knock-on benefit to the social landscape of Barbados.

370 responses to “Excellent News BUT …!”

1. The riots and looting is said to be due to two factions in ANC supporting Zuma who was arrested for corruption and President with possibilities that it has been organised for a coup.

Some ignorant folks here who have never lived in Africa would be happy to see dead bodies in the streets or floating down the rivers.

2. Side note
    “Some ignorant folks here who have never lived in Africa would be happy to see dead bodies in the streets or floating down the rivers.”

Some dead bodies are already in the streets..

3. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

The continent has to BE PURGED of racist animals or Black/African blood will always be running, the young incoming generation understands this better than the older colonial minded leadership who are on a disaster course with destiny….they refuse to remove the scourge of white, indian and other thieves from African lives, and that’s why there will ALWAYS BE CONFLICTS, the animals are too jealous and envious to have around African people..

4. I have no real interest in joining that exchange and withheld the worst part of my comment. I have seen you come after thin skinned Theo on several occasions…

5. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

This South Africa conflict has been bubbling and boiling for years, you have no clue what i know about the continent and i will ALWAYS HAVE MORE SAY THAN YOU…..the corrupt Zuma is the catalyst to blow it all up…..him and his corrupt indian sidekicks..

6. “The continent has to BE PURGED of racist animals or Black/African blood will always be running, the young incoming generation understands this better than the older colonial minded leadership who are on a disaster course with destiny….they refuse to remove the scourge of white, indian and other thieves from African lives, and that’s why there will ALWAYS BE CONFLICTS, the animals are too jealous and envious to have around African people..”

So a fight between the ex leader who was just banged up for corruption but had secret parallel security services to do his bidding
    and the current leader who are both ANC is due to Asians who have lived in Africa their whole life and are more African than you
    that’s some fucked up logic trolling away in the bedroom of your fucked up mind

“I have seen you come after thin skinned Theo on several occasions…”

I don’t got no beef with you, if you are the old Theo who liked to get down and discuss music
    but my gut instinct screams out that anyone who supports Hal and AC must be Hal and AC
    provocative anonymous posting by people in disguise with multiple handles is a feature of BU

7. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Asians who have lived in Africa their whole life and are more African than you

THEY CAN NEVER BE MORE AFRICAN THAN ME. I carry VERY ANCIENT African bloodlines, they have to SIT THEIR ASSES IN A CORNER WHEN AM AROUND….and SO DO YOU…..i got receipts..

8. The BU facebook wannabe african warrior is just an old hag soon to depart the earthly plane shedding the skin she is in

9. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

That’s the best ya got, a big FAIL…our powers will ALWAYS REIGN SUPREME over bottomfeeding, masquerading FRAUDS…..sit back and enjoy the show..

10. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

You stinking creatures come in all ugly forms..and that is what the continent has to come to terms with..

https://youtu.be/XUjV31nApuc?t=141

11. “That’s the best ya got, a big FAIL…our powers will ALWAYS REIGN SUPREME”

Black youths ain’t racist like you

they’re better than that

on next level shit

12. Cuhdear BajanJuly 18, 2021 5:08 PM

The history of slavery in all of the “New World” is well documented,

In fact it has been documented all over the World, both old and new.

It existed in both worlds for millennia.

Then between 1648 and 1833/4 it was abolished.

Amazing how quickly the institution it was ended.

13. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

You KNOW NOTHING about the minds of Black/African youth…they can’t stand you ignorant racists, and know all you want to do is rob them of their future, wealth and resources……like bloodsucking vampires, but they will develop a remedy for you….,…and your bloodsucking ways..i am confident..

14. Quotes from Ghandi:
    Judge for yourself.
    22 May, 1906
    “It was a gross injustice to seek to place Indians in the same class as the Kaffirs.”
    (Vol. V. The Collected Works of Mahatma Gandhi (Electronic Book) (Vol. 98 volumes). New Delhi: Publications Division Government of India, p. 226)

‘Kaffir’ is an extremely derogatory term used to describe the indigenous Afrikan/Black people of uMzantsi Afrika (South Africa)..

15. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Ghandi was a racist and disgusting pedophile…..rapist coolie trash…somehow none of them can seem to stay away from Black/African people or the continent they hate so much, goddamn thieves….

16. Quotes from Ghandi:
    Judge for yourself.
    22 May, 1906
    “It was a gross injustice to seek to place Indians in the same class as the Kaffirs.”
    (Vol. V. The Collected Works of Mahatma Gandhi (Electronic Book) (Vol. 98 volumes). New Delhi: Publications Division Government of India, p. 226)

‘Kaffir’ is an extremely derogatory term used to describe the indigenous Afrikan/Black people of uMzantsi Afrika (South Africa)..

26 May, 1906
    “Thanks to the Court’s decision, only clean Indians or Coloured people other than Kaffirs can now travel by the trams.”
    (CWMG. Vol. V, p. 235)…

July 3, 1907
    “Kaffirs are as a rule uncivilised – the convicts even more so. They are troublesome, very dirty and live almost like animals. […] The reader can easily imagine the plight of the poor Indian thrown into such company!”
    (CWMG Vol. VIII, p. 199)

Ghandi & the Indians want a caste system with the white supremacist at the top & Africans at the bottom.

Africans need to run both of them out of Africa.

17. “You KNOW NOTHING about the minds of Black/African youth…they can’t stand you ignorant racists, “

you must have an ugly face to be so bitter inside

that’s what I am picking up on

a below average loser

18. 555dubstreet on dope.
    Coke Brain.

19. Indian worship white people/ white skin, they dream to be white.
    That is why a an anti- black racist caste system is still in existence in India.
    In Apartheid South Africa , Ghandi was licking the ass / ball of his white supremacist overlords in order to gain favour, such a weak degenerate individual.
    Let us hear what the white supremacist has to say about Indians:

Princeton academic Gary Bass unearthed what he described as “stunning” material from newly declassified tapes of a conversation between Nixon, his then national security advisor Henry Kissinger and White House chief of staff H R Haldeman, in the Oval Office in June 1971.
    In that conversation, Nixon says, “Undoubtedly the most unattractive women in the world are the Indian women,” repeating “undoubtedly” in a venomous tone. He continues, “The most sexless, nothing, these people. I mean, people say, what about the Black Africans? Well, you can see something, the vitality there, I mean they have a little animal-like charm, but God, those Indians, ack, pathetic. Uch.”
    On another occasion on November 4, 1971, during a private break from a contentious White House summit with Indira Gandhi of India, Nixon makes disparaging remarks about Indians’ sexuality to Kissinger. “To me, they turn me off. How the hell do they turn other people on, Henry? Tell me.” Kissinger’s response is inaudible as Nixon continues, “They turn me off. They are repulsive and it’s just easy to be tough with them.”

20. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Ghandi was licking the ass / ball of his white supremacist overlords in order to gain favour, such a weak degenerate individual.”

just like the dirty beasts politicains/ministers/lawyers/fraudulent TRAITORS in Barbados…they have no shame and are all from the COMMON CLASS…..and will always HAVE TO BEG FOR POLITICAL POWER through votes from the same Black people they HATE…….

power that comes NATURALLY to the children of RA.

21. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Negros in parliaments who collude in corruption with minorities to sell their people into BONDAGE, more HARDSHIPS and CAPTIVITY and bring instability to the country where they are elected should be charged with TREASON and HUNG…

22. rickross

555dubstreet on dope.
    Coke Brain.

Rick Ross is an interesting moniker for one more underground “Bajan” troll who has an opinion and thinks that ±1.216 billion people of Alkebulan should follow ±287,025 “Bajans” bad advice whom to hate from their small limited island of knowledge of self inquiry. Everyone has got an opinion about everything nowadays but is usually useless chatter on the net to stupefy the population that can be disregarded and discarded like soiled tissue. People are people not subcategories of others definitions ignorance and prejudice.

Meet Original Real Legendary Freeway Black Superman Rick Ross Crack Kingpin of LA
    Rick “Freeway” Ross: Crack In The System

23. 555,

It is true that people are people. But it cannot work if we are the only ones saying that.

24. Cudhear Bajan,
    I have nothing to say regarding Chris Halsall, except to say that the man is a punk. I believe he now resides in Barbados. It remains a mystery to me why our world wide black communities tolerates these people.

Europeans should be confined or caged in Europe for the good of humanity. As for the other minority groups, and that includes mulattos who reside in predominately black countries we should ask ourselves this one question: “Do we want these people as our neighbours?”

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2021/jul/18/gross-inequality-stoked-violence-south-africa-warning-to-us-all

25. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

If kiki the nobody was not so insignifant and POWERLESS, he would get a little more of what he truly deserves….getting on BU spewing shit he knows nothing about, DON’T BELONG, and HAVE NO SAY unlike the ORIGINAL AFRICAN BLOODLINES…will always see him LOOKING and sounding LIKE just another racist FOOL..

never think you can take on the original ANCESTRAL African package and win.

as for the no good black face wretches in Barbados’ parliament who believe they can run a trainline of criminal minorities into Africa AND TAKE MONEY/BRIBES FROM THEM TO DO SO….selling the continent to the highest bidders, because sell out nigas cannot help themselves, that’s all they know……..NEWSFLASH!!…the continent DOES NOT BELONG TO YOU AND NEVER WILL….you are NOT AFRICANS, you are SLAVES who are allowed to control the slave system….YOU WILL NEVER BE ANYTHING ELSE…..and ….oh Karma is waiting..

26. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

If kiki the nobody was not so INSIGNIFICANT and POWERLESS

the South African president has to make a decision on corrupt Zuma and his corrupt indian and other minority friends, personally i know what i would do with them…..so they could never poison the country again.

27. People Funny Boy People Sokup Boy
    If Abigail Mitchell was not born so buttoo (pure ugh!) she would not be so Sokup so, blowing a white horn
    why people fuss boy, why people suffer so, why people weird boy, why people funny boy

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PGsEPYuu8Kg

28. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

The continent MUST start EXECUTING DEMONS…to stem the tide of ugliness created by racists and heading its way…

29. Black Foundation Dub
    Poor Old Bajans
    with their Karma
    They removed the chains
    but they use us with brains

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bRUPdQumRv8

30. Slavery was cultural robbery
    a life of slavery was our history
    Slavery was was was was

31. Black History Awareness
    should really be called White History Awareness
    of past crimes and overdue debts to humanity
    for those who are out of pocket and dead broke

32. Slave Trade V Kunte Kinte African Warrior

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-l3QOZY7C1M

33. https://www.nationnews.com/2021/07/19/bbc-spyware-sold-governments-targets-activists/

we have known about this for quite a few years, we also know the little negros love to jump into anything that would give them an upperhand to keep their people in political, social and financial bondage and long term captivity for their own benefit….if ya think we did not know, ya very wrong… …that’s why you can’t see what is coming at ya, like a freight train….the acela.

34. Roots and Culture
    On the day Kunta is born, his Father Omoro Kinte, a Mandinga warrior, is king.
    It was his duty to keep the peace in the city of Juffure and also to protect the people from being abducted by African slave traders, the Koros, and sold off to English slave traders.
    Upon returning home from duty and witnessing the birth of his son, Omoro takes the baby boy out into the forest and there, under the beautiful stars of the African night sky, presents the boy to his ancestors.
    But before Omoro presents the boy to his ancestors, he first speaks to the baby.
    Please note that at this stage Kunta is only but a baby, therefore he could neither understand what his father was saying nor could he reply or ask any questions.

Allow me to quote Omoro’s words to his son:
    “You must hear your name first.
    You are Kunta Kinte, Son of Omoro Kinte, Son of Kairabha Kunta Kinte and Ayisa.
    You must always honour your ancestors, the ones who love you and watch over you.
    Your name is your spirit.
    Your name is your shield.”

Some years later, on the day Kunta becomes a proud Mandiga warrior just like his father before him, he is abducted by the Koros and sold off into slavery.

He leads the black people on the slave ship in an uprising as they tried to take over the ship but they fail and lots of black folks are killed.

Toby better known as ‘Kunta Kinte’, is a character from the American television series Roots, which talks about slavery and follows the life of the young boy from his abduction in Juffure in The Gambia, his journey across the sea in chains and his arrival in America where he is sold off to a whiteman named Wallace.

Value and importance was whipped out of the people.

With each lash, blood was spilt, and with each lash, a piece of the blackman’s history was erased, with another lash, his spirituality was vanquished.

With the final lash, the blackman’s shield fell; he became vulnerable and helpless and Omoro’s words of exhortation: “Your name is your shield,” were made empty and void.

35. Babylon Underground
    CCTV
    Dub Surveillance
    Battle Field
    Battle Field Dub

Hear me Now
    It is time for the cunt hole with small balls who is watching others comment and marks down 1 star and makes no comment like a passive aggressive bitch to man up and fess up to their filthy ways and wash their stinky stale renk vagina

there are (3 or 1) prime suspects
    Hal
    AC
    ToG

and a 4th
    DofBU

The star rating bollocks must be removed forthwith

36. @Cuhdear Bajan: “It is possible that a person can be extremely intelligent in one area and hopelessly ignorant or just downright stupid or dishonest in another area.

Agreed. But please trust me I was not being (intentionally) dishonest. It is well documented that I can be profoundly ignorant (and, often, stupid). Ignorance can be corrected.

I should have Googled more before making the claim that Canada never had slaves. This was incorrect, and I apologize for the error.

At the end of the day, my fundamental argument is simply that we cannot change the past. We can only act now, to change the future.

Inequality has always been a real thing, and is getting worse at an accelerated rate. How do we (the global we, because this is a global problem) fix the systemic imbalance?

37. Chris Halsall,

You change the future by acknowledging the debt and committing to repay it. Instead, the G7 is talking about “reclaiming their taxes that we have not earned through offshore companies”.

At the same time they, and ordinary citizens like yourself, baulk at the term “reparations”.

So…. how do you suggest we fix THAT?

Should THEY not allow US to reclaim the wealth THEY did not earn?

It wasn’t so long ago. My great grandmother was born in the 1890s. Bet she met an old, former slave or two. And I knew HER.

38. The future depends on a reckoning with the past. The recent past. Yet the white man does not want to focus on the past. Tells us to look to the future.

Steupse.

39. @Donna: “Should THEY not allow US to reclaim the wealth THEY did not earn?

That is a very complicated subject domain. Something the late (and truly great) ROK and I had many discussions about over our many years working together.

To start with, exactly how would you put numbers together for the claim? Next, who would be the claimants? In what jurisdiction? Against who, exactly? I don’t believe “US” and “THEY” are accepted terms in litigation.

I’m not trying to be pedantic. I resonate with the energy. But “intractable” is a real thing in some spaces.

“Never again” should be something we all work towards (IMO; as a Cracker), which includes economic slavery. Universal Basic Income (UBI), perhaps? As the robots and AIs controlled by multinationals take over most work traditionally done by humans to pay for their daily bread and lodging.

40. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“But please trust me I was not being (intentionally) dishonest. It is well documented that I can be profoundly ignorant (and, often, stupid). Ignorance can be corrected.”

if i ever find the name Halsall in my ancestral bloodline, ah will still claim ya as an “ignorant” cousin….I claim alll ancestral cousins..

41. White people’s brand new excuse about not educating and informing people about their wicked slavery ways is that it will cause mental health issues with white children when they realise what a bunch of evil cunts their ancestors were and still are. In reality people have not changed and are the same as they ever were so a white person abusing a black in the past is exactly the same bad karma and crime to humanity as if it was today. Chris Halsall should now become most vocal about reparations if he has a conscious conscience.

42. @dub5
    “there are (3 or 1) prime suspects
    Hal
    AC
    ToG

and a 4th
    DofBU”

There you go again. I would like to come here and just participate in the discussion. Nothing more, nothing less.

I have a similar level of irritation when someone calls my name (for no reason) as you have when you get one star. Can’t we be two ships passing in the night?

To use a Bajan expression.. “my fruits must be low hanging so that everyone attempts to pick them”

43. @Chris
    I consider “Never again” as the most powerful phrase in the English language. It speaks of a determination and a purpose that is steadfast and unending. It states that there can be no repetition of past horrors.

A very powerful phrase.

44. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

This dude also has business on the continent…..we don’t need some half-assed blogger in UK to tell us what’s going on, on OUR CONTINENT…..it’s our continent.

https://www.instagram.com/tv/CRdiIP0HDJG/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link

45. “Can’t we be two ships passing in the night?”

I will pass on that offer as that idiom means to have a one night stand

To use a Bajan expression.. “my fruits must be low hanging so that everyone attempts to pick them”

Bajans are so ignorant they project their hatridge of Indians in Barbados onto Mother Land of Africa that they have never ever been to.
    What Barbados needs is to be flooded with more Asians so they give up on their bitter hate and racism with everyone around them or move to a place like Watford to escape them all like the English do

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D66ZffgOlWc

46. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Mia thinks she can take her trash minorities from Barbados and the Caribbean and carry them to join that party of savagery against African people…GO RIGHT AHEAD…THEY ARE WAITING…

47. WURA-WAR-on-U
    Mia thinks she can take her trash minorities from Barbados and the Caribbean and carry them to join that party of savagery against African people…

Do you often suffer from panic attacks and meltdowns
    which basically stem from ideas in your monkey mind
    which are totally disparate from reality and experience

you sound like someone who has never had an Asian friend in your life and stereotype them as something they are not

48. See what mean??? All kinds of excuses the white man is coming up with before he even acknowledges that I am correct in principle.

My man, “US” is the colonised islands predominantly inhabited by the near descendents of former slaves. The vast majority of my family live in one area. They all carry the name of the plantation owner. Not hard to guess that their ancestors worked on a particular plantation.

But we are not suggesting payouts to individuals. We are suggesting the building up of the countries in which they live. And as to who should pay – “They” are the Government. The wealth they stole built up the colonizing countries as a whole. All citizens benefitted and continue to benefit in unequal measure. They pay taxes in unequal measure and so they would pay in unequal measure as the taxes would be the source of the reparations.

But that does not stop Richard Drax from relinquishing his Barbadian plantation to the people of Barbados, neither does it stop institutions whose wealth can be traced to slavery from making their own reparations. The records are there.

Hope that simplifies it for you, Mr. White man.

49. “Bajans are so ignorant they project their hatridge of Indians in Barbados onto Mother Land of Africa that they have never ever been to.
    What Barbados needs is to be flooded with more Asians so they give up on their bitter hate and racism with everyone around them or move to a place like Watford to escape them all like the English do”

I will go back to the poem. Generally, there is no reference to sex.

Again, I think you are again mixing me with others. I have no interest in this discussion.