An approach to creating new pathways to generate economic activity by the Mottley administration has been to discover new and deepen existing relationships with African countries. It is axiomatic that an island built on slave labour should prefer to nurture a wholesome relationship with the Mother Country. Despite the political noise created when Prime Minister Mottley toured African countries early in her tenure, it seems a no-brainer if one considers that commercial trade with traditional markets has increasingly been adversely affected by the geopolitics of the More Developed Countries (MDCs).

Unfortunately in the last 20 years, to pick the period of worse social and economic decline, Barbados has experienced a falloff in thought leadership among key stakeholders – government; public sector, private sector, non governmental organizations; trade unions. The easy path to exploit a service/tourism based economy popularized by the Owen Arthur AND vigorously pursued by his successors has landed the gem of the Caribbean in the spot of bother we find ourselves.

The news that two Barbadian Fintech companies GIFTS and IPAY have signed an agreement with a major Nigerian service provider to allow entry to the Nigerian and potentially to the wider African market represent baby steps but encouraging nevertheless. The Barbados Investment Development Corporation (BIDC) must continue with this kind of trade penetration facilitated by our Embassy/High Commissions. Appointments to these outposts are perceived by the public as a sweet deal with the opportunity to acquire ‘perks’ to feast on return from the overseas assignment.

Barbadians have developed a level of entitlement given our passage in a pre-globalized world. To compete in the present AND future marketplace, strategies to facilitate and sustain a good number on the Human Development Index (HDI) demands urgent change. No ifs or buts. Many years of debate in this space (search BU Archives using tag ‘governance’) and elsewhere point to radical changes that must occur if Barbados is to disrupt the trajectory the social and economic free-fall direction the country continues to be locked. It must begin with key changes to how we educate our people. It must begin with key changes to the governance structure. It must start …

The blogmaster has observed the attempt by the government to fast track digital transformation in the public sector and be a lead influencer in the Barbados space. In October of 2018 the Mottley administration set up a regulatory sandbox administered by the Central Bank of Barbados to allow fintech companies the space to innovate. There was the introduction of robotics at the teaching college. All of this is commendable but the pace must quicken to achieve meaningful outcomes in a world that is on the move. The last administration started on a similar journey to significantly increase penetration to domestic energy supply with renewables, over a decade later we have fallen short at where we should have been. Given the current state of affairs in the country mixed with our obligation to give the next generation a fighting chance to build and protect a quality life, WE must not continue with the vacuous and lethargic approach to leading our affairs.

A favourite quote of the blogmaster is ‘uneasy lies the head that wears the crown’, many think they know but in actuality they know not. The upside is that this is the scenario that gives rise to good leaders. There is a lot the country needs to do and it is good to see a few reforms have started. Let’s hope that more can be completed to quicken the pace of transformation to lead to diversification of our economy and the knock-on benefit to the social landscape of Barbados.

370 responses to “Excellent News BUT …!”

1. 431 km² x 2

Another Barbados can also exist in a parallel universe of the future in a place called Africa.

Business and Banking models can be developed using computer tech for both Barbados’ .

2. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

blah, blah, blah …all of them HATE Africa, Africans and ALL THINGS BLACK…just look at how they have ALL always…MIStreated Black people AND STILL ARE………and now with their HYPOCRITE selves trying to slither and sidewind their way to to the continent with SCAMS…

3. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@WURA-War-on-U July 16, 2021 7:28 PM :blah, blah, blah …all of them HATE Africa, Africans and ALL THINGS BLACK.”

This is not true at all. After some of us have close kin, mainly nieces and nephews who are African. We are always, always happy to see them. We have missed/are missing them terribly during this pandemic

4. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

We love to have them come visit and lively-up the place. We love to share conversations, food, dancing, sea baths.

You are so wrong.

5. David
    We found the report and news conference a few days ago interesting.

As people who do business in Afrika this should be encouraged but not targeting the Whites and other elites in Barbados. Afrika should belongs to Afrikans

Underneath the sysbolism Bajans need to come to the realizations that we are Afrukans, first and last, in the same way Indians are Indians even if in the Caribbean for 200 years.

And not just name switching. We are to embrace the millions of years of our Afrikan-ness, culturally. And be unafraid to mek White people uncomfortable with it.

For the infantile cultural concontion about a Caribbean-ness cannot exist as a distinct creature, untethered from Whiteness. Indeed, any such derivation must be located under the umbrella of Afrikanity. Forwe the Afrikans were here before there were any other people anywhere.

We trust that this new foray into the Motherland does not meet a similar end as happened under the regime of OSA.

6. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Cuddear…callate..

am speaking about your fraudulent, corrupt, wicked politiciains, lawyers ministers…etc..

.if they love Africa and Africans so much, why is there NO AFRICAN EDUCATION, HISTORY, CULTURE, TRADITIONS etc taught… in the schools and practiced daily by the BLACK/AFRICAN DESCENDANTS in Barbados…in tribute to our ENSLAVED ANCESTORS…why do the Black population on the island KNOW NOTHING ABOUT THEIR African IDENTITIES and CULTURE…

and don’t tell me shite about yall are bajans ya ain’t African and ya white….

why is African cloth, headresses etc looked down upon, sneered at and disrespected by BLACK PEOPLE in Barbados..

why can’t the Black African population have access to their OWN MONEY, opportunities, land, inheritance etc, why are they dependent on a tourism product as THE INHERITORS OF A CONTINENT and all its wealth and resources…..why are they LIVING IN POVERTY IN BARBADOS….WHY IS SO MANY BILLIONS OF DOLLARS OF THEIR MONEY MISSING from the treasury and pension fund ….and why is the criminal minorities controlling the BLACK ECONOMY…

i can go on, but will save my energy to deal with these parliament BEASTS on the continent.

7. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Pacha…Afrika does belong to Black Afrikans…but the sellouts will always try to inject minority criminals into Black/African business and i will go to the four corners of the earth to make sure they do not get away with it……i will bring DOWN hellfire and brimstone.

“For the infantile cultural concontion about a Caribbean-ness cannot exist as a distinct creature, untethered from Whiteness.”

i don’t know what is wrong with them, the WEST DOES NOT BELONG TO AFRICANS…they will never be able to control anything about in its present framework…because of the colonial system that is hundreds of years old, that they did not create and was devised to destroy African lives, and that is all it will ever do…

they are trying to suck from the continent to keep their dreams of a Barbados Slave Society alive….FIRE BURN THESE IGNORANT NEGRO DEMONS…

8. @Pacha

Agreed.

9. Good for the Gifts and iPaye in their abilty to expand their financial foot print into Africa
    After all it should be of great benefit to there overall profability markup along with opening up an economic flow of business interest between Africa and Barbados
    However my interest.ask
    What businesses does Barbados have in Africa at this time and what businesss does Africa have in Barbados
    The banking industry have and already involves itself with tech companies that provide same solutions world wide
    All I get from this news is another line of PR engagement sufficient to suffice

10. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Did i mention that i will let EVERY leader in African countries of note know about these two faced sellout colonial agents and their dirty dangerous plans to keep the Black/Afrcican population captive in the west while they leech off the continent for them and their criminal friends and business partners to enjoy….they are THIEVES..,,who ran the country into the ground and pauperized the African population..

….oh yes i will, EVERY DAY…….ya will not COMFORTABLY OR SAFELY carry ya slave master, criminal tendencies to OUR CONTINENT…..and continue TIEFING what rightfully belongs to the descendants, the SURVIVORS…and got the nerve to carry ya equally evil, DANGEROUS CRIMINAL minorities so they can continue their racism against and stand up on Black people’s necks as they have always done…

i repeat for clarity:

the COLONIAL Barbados government DO NOT OWN A CONTINENT and NEVER WILL…they are SERVANTS of the Black population WHO DO…

keep it up and WATCH YASELVES = regretting it…

11. “As people who do business in Afrika this should be encouraged but not targeting the Whites and other elites in Barbados.”

putting the little island’s interests aside for the moment, we know white ghosts are desperate for rare earth resources required for information technology and would kill for it

12. Where is the GIFT in this new initiative for barbadian household
    Let us no run pass the goal post one which must create financial opportunities for barbadians household
    to grow economically with govt finding substantial and sustanial ways to create jobs having a pay day for unemployed barbadians

13. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

William…after robbing Barbados BILLIONS OF DOLLARS…and keeping the majority restricted financially and socially, i don’t know how these parliament sellouts, and the racist minorities on the island and across the caribbean believe they will get away with now attempting to USE AFRICA as their new cash cow, after ripping off as much as they all could from Black people all these decades..

the freaking audacity that they will do so without anyone knowing OR DOING SOMETHING ABOUT IT is amazing.

Africa does not owe minority racists, thieves and slave master wannabes on SLAVE ISLANDS anything…no one does…

if the traitors in the parliament want to feed and maintain island criminals so badly they should SELL THEIR ASSES TO DO SO…

i will put them and their evil intent out on the continent EVERY DAY…for as long as we live..

14. Yes I give govt 4 fours for their ability to send PR smoke signals
    Don’t get me wrong any plan to improve Barbados economy 💯 percent favourability I give
    However two tech companies expanding their financial foot print into Africa does not in my humble opinion expands Barbados profitability margin
    As a matter of fact when govt used these companies govt is charged a fee
    A question which should be asked compared to other tech giants world wide are these two companies fees lower in a competitive nature for local business to generate greater interest

15. Speaking of biowarfare and racial warfare game play..
    the green monkey virus found in laboratory monkeys in 1950’s was allegedly exchanged between US and South African labs which subsequently wiped out the elders of mama Africa. The African Population of 1,340,598,147 has the youngest population in the world.

16. Barbados-West Africa Breakthrough

BARBADOS WEST AFRICA BREAKTHROUGH

https://www.mondaq.com/PressRelease/74138/Barbados-West-Africa-Breakthrough-

17. Telnet partners Barbados company to transform e-payment in Africa – Businessday NG

https://businessday.ng/technology/article/telnet-partners-barbados-company-to-transform-e-payment-in-africa/

18. @ WURA-War-on-U,

Why the surprise? West Africa and Nigeria in particular have long been associated as transit routes for drug smuggling. The South Americans have installed themselves in this region for a very long time. The Caribbean and Africa have weak jurisdictions; both regions’ economies are propped up by their involvement in the illicit drug’s trade.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drug_trade_in_West_Africa

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9705869/Australias-16-cocaine-kingpins-trafficking-billions-dollars-illegal-drugs-Under.html

19. Steuspe

20. These little snippets does not give any real news after you get past the headlines.

21. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

TLSN….we know it’s CRIMES they are continuing to keep the criminal cartel ongoing…the waters in the west is too hot for them right now, notice traffickers just got their hands on the airport services, safer to traffic tons of cocaine etc…. but all eyes will remain on them, they will be watched, never a good idea to be caught drug trafficking, human trafficking, gun running in certain regions…..and if they are caught stealing any of Africa’s resouces which is the plan, all bets are off…that’s the reason for the alerts….using diplomatic immunity hardly helps in certain crimes these days..

don’t mind them with their fintech shit, i know no one who uses their scam but them and their supporters…it is a ruse to get a foothold on the continent…a transference of crimes…some countries EXECUTE criminals like them on the spot….that is the attraction, the crimes they can commit and get away with, like the one they are sending to Dubai..

22. The majority of Africa’s population do not have their own personal bank accounts. Most rely on mobile technologies to pay for a service or to purchase products. The use of Mpesa mobile technology has lifted ten percent of Kenyans out of poverty!

If Barbados is genuine about elevating the economic status of her citizens than why has it not allowed her citizens to benefit from this technology.

23. Here comes the #throwashadecrew.

A couple local fintech companies have made a breakthrough in a large market which has the potential to pioneer others to follow, and you lot can only see the negative. If the archangel Gabriel came down from heaven to bless the deal you lot will still find the negative. What is negative about the potential this breakthrough offers?

Please have the usual tired word.

24. Reading and rereading. Unable to find how an ask for more information is negative.

“These little snippets does not give any real news after you get past the headlines.”

25. Last time I used the words ‘throw shade” I had someone rushing to beat me up. That’s so funny.

26. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Africa is a soft target, outside of Nigeria, some countries are not savvy to these types of criminals…and that’s what they are banking on, but they banked wrong…the nerve of keeping Black descendants confined in a slave society, in poverty while they run amok on the continent will be their undoing….all that was needed were the right ears.

27. “Here comes the #throwashadecrew.

A couple local fintech companies have made a breakthrough in a large market which has the potential to pioneer others to follow, and you lot can only see the negative. If the archangel Gabriel came down from heaven to bless the deal you lot will still find the negative. What is negative about the potential this breakthrough offers?

Please have the usual tired word.”

Do Bajans have the best brains for IT technology
    what about Asians
    what about #throwashadecrew

28. @ David,
    You sir are SLOW! I have argued for a number of years that Barbados should bring Mpesa to the country. All the evidence was out their: Mpesa was and is a massive success.

I believe our minority communities were unwilling to allow this business model to take root in Barbados.

29. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Theo…don’t be distracted…how crimes are committed on the continent is different these days, the last 60 years, no one has to use countries as a bully weapon anymore, you USE COMPANIES….and slither ya way in and THEN start committing crimes.

African countries have had to live with this evil for decades, they know how and why it’s done, these small island criminals are late to the party and have the distinction of being EXPOSED even before they got started properly..

…through corrupt island governments like Barbasdos’, they grabbed the first opportunity they got, where Africans in the diaspora have been called back to the continent as descendants,,……….. to sidewind their way in…but they WILL NOT USE THE BLACK POPULATION AS LEVERAGE to steal birthrights…all of this comes with CONSEQUENCES that they are not familiar with…and the right people to deal with them.

30. @TLSN

What makes the demand for such a service in Barbados that is heavily penetration with telecom regs?

31. I remember the response and the tone of the response when some of the “crew” asked “what will be different when we become a republic”.

Subsequently, I have seen the reverence given to the same question when posed by others.

Sometimes, I sit and watch the verbal masturbation, the high sounding phrases, the pats on the backs and know that it all adds to nothing.

32. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Pacha…you know if the BU crowd would attack LESS and CONNECT MORE to their ancestral lands, they would know MUCH MORE than they do now about what IS affecting them with CRIMINALS IN CONTROL.

…..instead they are trapped in a SLAVE SOCIEY talking utter shite about go nowhere colonial politics….to keep themselves distracted.

33. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Do Bajans have the best brains for IT technology”

i don’t know who they think they are fooling, their IT curriculum in the schools have NEVER BEEN UPDATED…..thanks to PLT a semblance of specialty is being introduced.

one little criminal from a cartel family studied IT and created companies running the bitcoin scam and have since partnered with the likeminded across the region, but somehow they believe they are experts compared to Nigerians and others….

i have family members who are on DEMAND WORLDWIDE…

mangy.dogs return to their MUCH-HATED AFRICAN VOMIT…

34. Sometimes, we think the same thing…
    Was thinking of reincarnation and of Bitty earlier.

35. “Do Bajans have the best brains for IT technology”

“i don’t know who they think they are fooling, their IT curriculum in the schools have NEVER BEEN UPDATED…..thanks to PLT a semblance of specialty is being introduced.”

That was a tongue in cheek comment about good and bad brains
    but IT industry is an international speciality beyond national borders

you tend to start arguments with a premise Barbados Government cannot be trusted and want to rob shoot and kill like British pirates

The crack pot principle – strength in weakness
    the moral of the story is we all have our flaws

36. Instead of complimenting the two companies for making the breakthrough to inspire others to work to emulate what do we get first up from the #throwashadecrew?

37. Have a great day everyone..

Ask for more than a headline.
    Do your own research.
    Here is a part of the code I live by

“GO PLACIDLY amid the noise and the haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence. As far as possible, without surrender, be on good terms with all persons.

Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even to the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.

Avoid loud and aggressive persons; they are vexatious to the spirit. If you compare yourself with others, you may become vain or bitter, for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself.”

Have a great day.

38. This is about local companies having the opportunity to compete in the global space. If these two companies can do perhaps, just perhaps others will be able to. It also gives the oversight bodies an opportunity to tweak the regulatory framework to enable the environment for others to be improved.

39. “Instead of complimenting the two companies for making the breakthrough to inspire others to work to emulate what do we get first up from the #throwashadecrew?”

Who specifically is in the #throwashadecrew
    could you name and shame them all in a list

I tend to include myself in the overseas posse
    and wrt loyalty to bajans I can take it or leave it

I view myself as an internationalist
    I am a member of the human race

I tend to view Hal AC Theo as one single entity with thin skin and self praise for each other
    and they could well be on your #throwashadecrew blacklist

heres a couple of random videos they may find interesting or not or whatever

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LiG1DcqYjXU

40. “This is about local companies having the opportunity to compete in the global space. If these two companies can do perhaps, just perhaps others will be able to.”

Problem is..
    when companies set up feasible business models
    international competition will undercut them
    investing in expensive newer and better technology
    and the originators make losses and go bust

41. Focus on the issue.

42. Focus on the issue.

OK
    That sounds like a Zen Master – Live thy moment principle
    (but also raises same burning question again ..
    .. Who?)

43. “I tend to view Hal AC Theo as one single entity with thin skin and self praise for each other”

I don’t know if to laugh, cry or curse. I consider being lumped with Hal as a compliment (to each his own). Being lumped with AC is still being reviewed.

I doubt that Hal has ever utter a word of praise for Mr Williams. He and I have both complimented AC when she did a great job. I have criticized AC when her effort was flawed.

I see that you have joined the #BagAndTag crew. A crew determined to impose it’s will and opinion on others AND lump all those who differ together. Try elsewhere.. no cigar
    To:
    #BagAndTag
    #LumpAndIntimidate
    From
    Theo (with love 💕)

44. https://www.mondaq.com/PressRelease/74138/Barbados-West-Africa-Breakthrough-
    Xxxxx
    Another PR nugget by govt that begs the question then what

45. Barbados is soon to become a republic. Mia has decided to embrace mother Africa. Who are we going to call to restore this 400 year separation from our ancestors? A couple of Indian minority business boys!

46. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Was thinking of reincarnation and of Bitty earlier.”

they are one and the same, the syrian, indian, white criminal cartels using the corrupt parliament negros in Barbados to make inroads into Africa, and leave the descendants behind trapped in their web of captivity, oppression and economic bondage, they have extended it to include ALL THE CRIMINAL MINORITIES across the Caribbean…… with their covetous, greedy, envious of Black people selves..

it was a long term plan, they knew Africa was calling Africans in the diaspora home since 2017and kept it secret and the information away from the people, both evil corrupt governments did that……..

47. On some meditation for manifesting through breath visualisation of self transformation principle and invocation of energies to my mind I and I think Waru may be alluding to setting up business in Africa must be selfless and respectful for the development of Africa for good karma

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5phjR5LGGu8

48. “they are one and the same, the syrian, indian, white criminal cartels using the corrupt parliament negros in Barbados to make inroads into Africa”

white folks have got you hating other non-whites just like they do
    you should divorce all of them as they can never be trusted as business partners or people to work for

49. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“This is about local companies having the opportunity to compete in the global space.”

this is about local minority criminals with inside information from the traitors in the parliament JUMPING IN FRONT AFRICAN DESCENDANTS to hit the continent running to COMMIT CRIMES….and see what they could TIEF..

it’s a good thing yall have NO CONTROL over what is disseminated on the continent….as Africa has already been warned, maybe they will sit their asses quietly now that they know they have been IDENTIFIED…

INDIVIDUAL IT specialists schooled outside of Barbados etc and around the diaspora have been COMPETING in the global space for OVER A DECADE…some in European countries and even the continent have done so for over 25 YEARS….successfully….these fly by night as*holes are flying by the seat of their pants.