An approach to creating new pathways to generate economic activity by the Mottley administration has been to discover new and deepen existing relationships with African countries. It is axiomatic that an island built on slave labour should prefer to nurture a wholesome relationship with the Mother Country. Despite the political noise created when Prime Minister Mottley toured African countries early in her tenure, it seems a no-brainer if one considers that commercial trade with traditional markets has increasingly been adversely affected by the geopolitics of the More Developed Countries (MDCs).

Unfortunately in the last 20 years, to pick the period of worse social and economic decline, Barbados has experienced a falloff in thought leadership among key stakeholders – government; public sector, private sector, non governmental organizations; trade unions. The easy path to exploit a service/tourism based economy popularized by the Owen Arthur AND vigorously pursued by his successors has landed the gem of the Caribbean in the spot of bother we find ourselves.

The news that two Barbadian Fintech companies GIFTS and IPAY have signed an agreement with a major Nigerian service provider to allow entry to the Nigerian and potentially to the wider African market represent baby steps but encouraging nevertheless. The Barbados Investment Development Corporation (BIDC) must continue with this kind of trade penetration facilitated by our Embassy/High Commissions. Appointments to these outposts are perceived by the public as a sweet deal with the opportunity to acquire ‘perks’ to feast on return from the overseas assignment.

Barbadians have developed a level of entitlement given our passage in a pre-globalized world. To compete in the present AND future marketplace, strategies to facilitate and sustain a good number on the Human Development Index (HDI) demands urgent change. No ifs or buts. Many years of debate in this space (search BU Archives using tag ‘governance’) and elsewhere point to radical changes that must occur if Barbados is to disrupt the trajectory the social and economic free-fall direction the country continues to be locked. It must begin with key changes to how we educate our people. It must begin with key changes to the governance structure. It must start …

The blogmaster has observed the attempt by the government to fast track digital transformation in the public sector and be a lead influencer in the Barbados space. In October of 2018 the Mottley administration set up a regulatory sandbox administered by the Central Bank of Barbados to allow fintech companies the space to innovate. There was the introduction of robotics at the teaching college. All of this is commendable but the pace must quicken to achieve meaningful outcomes in a world that is on the move. The last administration started on a similar journey to significantly increase penetration to domestic energy supply with renewables, over a decade later we have fallen short at where we should have been. Given the current state of affairs in the country mixed with our obligation to give the next generation a fighting chance to build and protect a quality life, WE must not continue with the vacuous and lethargic approach to leading our affairs.

A favourite quote of the blogmaster is ‘uneasy lies the head that wears the crown’, many think they know but in actuality they know not. The upside is that this is the scenario that gives rise to good leaders. There is a lot the country needs to do and it is good to see a few reforms have started. Let’s hope that more can be completed to quicken the pace of transformation to lead to diversification of our economy and the knock-on benefit to the social landscape of Barbados.

370 responses to “Excellent News BUT …!”

1. @Donna: “The records are there. Hope that simplifies it for you, Mr. White man.

I will ignore the slight, and give some advice.

Retain some legal talent (perhaps pro bono). Build a case. File a class action.

If done correctly, this could be a “test case” which others can leverage.

I’m actually on your side. Even if my skin colour is not the same as yours.

2. Oh…. and as for numbers…how much did the slaves contribute? The records are there. How did the economy grow during slavery? Wasn’t hard to work out the compensation to the slave owners for emancipation losses, was it? Wasn’t hard to figure out who should pay it either. The GOVERNMENT AND PEOPLE DID.

They only recently finished paying back Lloyds of London.

Haiti only recently finished paying back France for the freedom they fought for in battle. France did not have any difficulty working out who should pay whom or in what amount.

P.S. My mother worked in England as a nurse and therefore contributed to the taxes that repaid Lloyds of London for the freedom of her own ancestors. Numerous other family members did the same.

So much for who should pay whom!

Hope that helps, Mr. White Man, sir.

3. Daddy U Roy meets Big Youth with Mad Professor

4. Why thank you, Mr. White man, sir for your advice!

Consider my comments a test case for YOU.

5. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

kiki the nobody, ya can always go on the continent and pick up all the asian bodies when retaliation comes, ya will fit right in..

6. @Donna: “Consider my comments a test case for YOU.

No problem. I actually enjoy being tested. It makes sure I’m sound in my reasoning (or will be quickly corrected if I’m in error).

Without meaning to put too fine a point on this, please note I always post using my real name.

I stand behind what I say. Many don’t (for reasons I don’t fully understand).

7. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

most people on the blog are known…and post on FB and on many other platforms under their own names. BU is one of the few places people use monikers.

8. “kiki the nobody”

nobody is a nobody you dumb bitch everybody is somebody you fuckwit

“ya can always go on the continent and pick up all the asian bodies when retaliation comes,”

face it love you will never get a ticket for a plane or a train ride to Mount Zion in Africka in this life time
    and you just wish others to kill innocents as you are too weak to do anything physically mentally emotionally spiritually you are too sick

Equal Rights Style Dennis Emmanuel Brown & Big Youth
    Every man has an equal right
    To live and be free
    No matter what colour, class or race he may be

Treat him right, Lord and oh, treat him good
    Take a tip from me, don’t hang him on a tree
    You should never give against another man

‘Cause every man has an equal right
    To live and be free

Remember how we’re all of flesh and blood
    Lift your brother up, don’t push him in the mud
    You should never give against another man

Every man has an equal right
    To live and be free

Treat him right, Lord and oh, treat him good
    Take a tip from me, don’t hang him on a tree
    You should never give against another man, no

To live and be free

Remember how we’re all of flesh and blood
    Lift your brother up, don’t push him in the mud
    You should never give against another man, no

To live and be free

9. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Ah take it all of this was unexpected for kiki the nobody…ya aint seen nothing yet, buckle ya seatbelt..

10. My name is Donna. I post so much about myself that I am easily identifiable by those who know me. My son’s teacher identified me in a jiffy. She did not even know me. I have posted about a rather memorable event at the Oistins Police Station, so even the police can identify me. As I recall, that was the first time I had to deal with your ignorance when you sought to tell me how I should respond to a policeman who threatened to beat my little school boy child to a pulp for no justifiable cause.

But I walked into that station and told them if ever they tried that, they would have to kill me, because it would not end before I died. There were two ways to interpret that. I think they got my message. Had the station in an uproar for an hour or more. I don’t scare when I’m angry. The policeman sees my child and keeps his ass far away.

So… I am not hiding from you or anybody but you do not need to see my face. Deal with the validity of the argument. You can rest assured that if you do need to see my face, you shall. And my words shall be the same in person.

11. @WWoU: “BU is one of the few places people use monikers.

If true, I would argue it is sub-optimal. I have raised this issue before, and was told that “some are not comfortable speaking” and that I should just drop the subject. Something about me being White gave me the special privilege.

Carl Moore had a valid argument, but he couldn’t stand the low SNR and constant attacks.

Defamation claims against those speaking the truth are real. It costs real money to defend claims against “We don’t like what you’re saying, so we’re going to cost you a lot of money to defend your right of free speech.

http://www.ideas4lease.com/blog/2008/02/29/a-funny-thing-happened-on-the-way-to-the-competition/ — This article actually got me served with a threatening letter from C&W. It cost me about $10,000 to make the problem go away. And the traditional fourth estate here in Barbados would never touch my language again.

No issues. But memory…

12. @Chris Halsall

Why is this matter being discussed? BU is an anonymous blog and there is a good reason. Unfortunately this type of blog means the dull and the intelligent can have a say and time has to be spent panhandling to discover nuggets of wisdom. Let us move on man. If Carl Moore prefers to contribute via a traditional medium he is free to do so. It takes all kinds of channels to make it happen. They all read silently, so who are the hypocrites? Steuspe.

13. @Donna: You can rest assured that if you do need to see my face, you shall. And my words shall be the same in person.

I trust that is true. And I suspect I would rather have you on my side than on the other in a dark space.

14. @David: “Why is this matter being discussed? BU is an anonymous blog and there is a good reason.

Please forgive me for being profoundly stupid, but I don’t understand why there is a need to be anonymous. I never have, and never will, understand the upside (unless explained to me using very simple language).

Fear is the only argument brought forward to explain this. Fear is irrational.

15. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Carl Moore had a valid argument, but he couldn’t stand the low SNR and constant attacks.”

Moore deserved his attacks, while he was posting rubbish about exposing bloggers, people like myself were on FB going after everybody using my real name, i even posted my name here twice, Moore was using malice to go after those who posted what he did not like or want to read…while hoping someone would get sued, the weak mind of the coward…the truth hurts stupid people..

16. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Moore won’t want to meet me with my real name, he would run..

17. Donna I think what .Chris was trying to say is….. lets get a look at you….. to see if the cops had a justifiable cause for wanting to beat your kid.

18. @Chris

10 grand is not available to all and sundry. Hope the signal is strong for you.

19. @WWoU: “Moore won’t want to meet me with my real name, he would run.

chalsall@chalsall.com

I have a history of not running.

I once showed up at the Garrison for a fight arranged on this Blog, actually. The other party never showed up (although there were apparently witnesses to the non-event).

20. @David: “10 grand is not available to all and sundry. Hope the signal is strong for you.

That was a serious “hit” on me, as well. Considering I /thought/ I was working on a particular agenda for a particular Minister, and retained /her/ law firm for the defense.

Again… No issues. But, memory…

21. “Ah take it all of this was unexpected for kiki the nobody…ya aint seen nothing yet, buckle ya seatbelt..”

you seem to believe you represent what Africa / Africans think
    but you represent the darkside
    trolling away in your bedroom
    which has the ambience of a coffin

anyway that’s enough engaging with the mental retard of BU
    so fuck off

Them Never Love Poor Marcus

Them never love, never love, never love poor Marcus-they
    never love him, oh no
    Them never love, never love, never love poor Marcus
    Till they betray him
    Him own brethren sell him fe rice ‘n’ peas
    They didn’t know there would be days like this
    now do you man waste in such a squeeze, yeah
    Men like Bag O’ Wire should burn in fire the betrayer of
    Marcus Garvey
    Till the betray, one bredren sell him for rice and peas
    They didn’t know there would be days like these
    Now the human race in such a squeeze, mmm Yeah
    Men like Bag O’ Wire should burn in fire fire fire, Lord
    betrayer.
    Black man come together, unity is forever

22. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

I saw a few of those on BU, one offered to show up with a gun to shoot another blogger, one dared me to meet them in the park, some dangerous yardfowl, they just don’t understand that others can be just as dangerous or even more dangerous than them…..a waste of energy and oxygen..

the finale is, they have all been exposed for years and years on end, they may as well stay in their little slave society holes, they have become powerless and insignificant……..people like myself have moved on way above and far past the small island diseased mind…..

….the continent beckons these days, the last frontier…

23. “I once showed up at the Garrison for a fight arranged on this Blog, actually. The other party never showed up (although there were apparently witnesses to the non-event).”

Jack Bowman said he was there

it was all just a bunch of drama queens hand bags and big girl’s blouses anyway

24. @5ds: “it was all just a bunch of drama queens hand bags and big girl’s blouses anyway

Yeah. Agreed.

But I actually showed up. In “meat space”. Ready for whatever happened.

25. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@WURA-War-on-U July 19, 2021 11:09 AM ….if ya think we did not know, ya very wrong…”

I would bet anything that ya read it in the Nation this morning for the first time just like the rest of us.

26. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

That’s the kind of stupidity ya get on small islands when people have very little to do, people will leave their homes to turn up at some dare another fool posted on a blog ..to get killed…

.thing is all the information they were trying to hide about corruption, a whole government got kicked to the curb, the money laundering, billions stolen from the population, the oppression, suppression, the slave society, racism, the gunrunning and drug traffficking, the human trafficking UN has told them about incessantly, the neocolonialism and crypto-racism….ALL came out in volumes they could never even imagine, and now they are rendered IMPOTENT….they can’t make a move without being watched…so the threats were all for nothing….and they got a bigger problem confronting them, but they can’t see it yet…..and am definitely not going to be the one to tell them…

27. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“I would bet anything that ya read it in the Nation this morning for the first time just like the rest of us.”

ya would LOSE…. did the Nation also tell you HOW ya can find out WHO IS USING PEGASUS to infiltrate ya phone…….when ya see it tell me……that information has BEEN AROUND FOR A FEW YEARS…..don’t you realize that yall ALWAYS FIND OUT THINGS …LAST….

28. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Chris Halsall July 19, 2021 12:25 PM “…I apologize for the error.”

Accepted.

@Chris Halsall July 19, 2021 12:25 PM”At the end of the day, my fundamental argument is simply that we cannot change the past. We can only act now, to change the future.”

True.

@Chris Halsall July 19, 2021 12:25 PM “Inequality has always been a real thing, and is getting worse at an accelerated rate. How do we (the global we, because this is a global problem) fix the systemic imbalance?”

A difficult question. There must be a million answers to the question. I would suggest as a beginning a better more truthful education for everybody. I am happy to hear other people’s ideas.

29. @WWoU: “That’s the kind of stupidity ya get on small islands when people have very little to do, people will leave their homes to turn up at some dare another fool posted on a blog ..to get killed…

But… I called the bluff. And am still alive. I proved a point. Threats are cheap, and those who fear are weak.

30. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Most of the people who threaten bloggers are hardcore yardfowls with slave mentalities, useless empty vessels, that’s why they got a special mention in someone’s book…..i still won’t turn up to meet those public nuisances and menaces anywhere….though…i consider it a step down..

31. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna July 19, 2021 2:28 PM “P.S. My mother worked in England as a nurse and therefore contributed to the taxes that repaid Lloyds of London for the freedom of her own ancestors. Numerous other family members did the same.”

And 3 of my siblings and an aunt also worked in the UK, and their taxes helped to repay Lloyds Bank which had provided the initial capital to the British government to repay Caribbean slave owners for the loss of “their” slaves.

32. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

And who are we?

My family were enslaved on plantations at White Hall, St. Peter and at Mangrove, St. Peter.

33. @Chris

Leave it alone. You signal is getting low.

34. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

My father’s mother was born at Whitehall, St. Peter in 1879, 41 years after slavery/apprentiship ended, therefor the daughter or granddaughter of enslaved people. She died within 3 or 4 miles of that location 90 years later. It is not so long ago. Neither the oral or written histories are yet obscured.

35. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

There is a saying in Barbados’ vernacular still “do you think that I own Drax Hall and Kendal” which is a metaphor for “do you think that I am fabulously rich?” When your family name is a synonym for fabulously wealthy…

36. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Yall realize that ya only became free from paying off slavemaster debt…for enslaving your ancestors…. in 2015….6 years only….AND

the wretches in the parliament now want yall to repay loans from the billions of dollars they and their minority criminal friends TIEF FROM YALL when wrecking the economy……..and are hellbent on PUSHING ya right back into bondage to pay back WHAT THEY TIEF while am sure TIEFING some MORE and SELLING YA OUT IN THE BARGAIN….

…and not even making a way for you and your current and future generations to ACCESS YA AFRICAN BIRTHRIGHT in the moral way……..they are already setting up minority criminals to enjoy that…going around yall…but they did not see what was coming at them, that’s the only reason yall may get spared…

more modern-day slavery to benefit them and minority criminals……..but only if yall allow them…

this criminal behavior by the frauds who will be begging you for votes as soon as December 2022…you have to bring to an end…..no one else can do it for you…

37. @BU.David: Copy. Thank you for the advice.

@Cuhdear Bajan: “Neither the oral or written histories are yet obscured.

It is critically important to have accurate records for any and all claims (and historical research).

For the Oral histories, use the Apps available on modern Smart Phones to record what people remember. Send those recordings off to many different places.

For any written records, take pictures of the documents (and scan them if possible) and then entrust with seriously trusted people.

My apologies if I’m telling anyone how to chew gum.

Accurate archives are both an art and a science.

38. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

The Drax family alone received the equivalent of £502,996.91 for their 189 slaves. That money was borrowed from Lloyds of London, and repaid by the British taxpayers. Taxes extracted from the pa ycheques of Donn’s parents and my siblings helped to pay off the loan used to pay off the Draxes and other slave holders.

How about for a tiny start repaying my still living siblings and Donna’s still living parents that portion of their tax money used to repay these fabulously wealthy slave owners and descendants of slave owners?

39. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

As i said:

It’s time to get these criminal minded governments up on human rights charges..

..ya don’t need glasses to see that ya will be pushed into slavery…..it happened PRIMARILY because both governments tief and helped their minority friends tief 5-6 BILLION DOLLARS OR MORE from the economy over time….

“by Patrick Gittens

I have a completely logical observation to make. I work daily with numbers and figures which are rather impersonal and seldom lie. Now, whether one wants to attribute our dire situation to the COVID-19 pandemic, unprecedented borrowing, government’s ineptness, bad luck or burying our national flag in Ghana, the fact is that our economy is in serious trouble. Our country is in peril.

It is in a worse scenario than it was prior to the 2018 general election. What the present government has managed to do is to utilise public relations so well and influence the mainstream media so significantly, that the full unvarnished facts of our crisis situation are never truly explored and explained by hitherto social and political commentators.

What we often get is akin to a doctor telling a terminally ill patient, “you’re dying but you have lovely teeth” or saying to an attractive, destitute pregnant woman, “you’re going to have a beautiful baby living with you in the hospice.”

But there has been complicity at several levels in trying to bury the truth, twist the facts and just blatantly ignore social realities. Does anyone remember the downgrades which Barbados received on an almost monthly basis because our economy was floundering?

Moody’s and S&P seemed so preoccupied with Barbados that one wondered why would a seemingly insignificant country with a population that could be divided equally between Detroit Metropolitan Airport in Michigan and John F Kennedy International Airport in New York,
    merit such scrutiny?

Of course, the ego of most Barbadians might not have allowed them to ponder that question as we actually believe that we punch above our weight in the global scheme of things. Every time I see our leaders at the Grantley Adams International Airport waiting for vaccine handouts, or greeting the arrival of garbage trucks at the Bridgetown Port,
    I smile at that punching analogy.

Does it not arouse suspicion that despite our worsening situation the ratings watchdogs have lost their bite and their growl? “Do not mind the amputation of your leg, sir, you are going to save a lot of money on new shoes.”

If I were a politician on the outside wanting to get in, there are certain friends I would want to keep, whether they be in the media, ratings agencies, business community, underworld, universities, wherever.

And I would reward them, keep them on my payroll. The time will obviously come when they will play a pivotal role in making sure that the tale that is spun comforts citizens with the knowledge that when they die, the positive part of that death is that the cost of living significantly drops.”

40. @Cuhdear Bajan: “How about for a tiny start repaying my still living siblings and Donna’s still living parents that portion of their tax money used to repay these fabulously wealthy slave owners and descendants of slave owners?

As I hope I made clear, I am not against this idea. And, it is actually possible.

Ignoring BU.David who would prefer I remain silent at the moment, such an arrangement would have to be established within a legal framework. Most likely, in a court of law.

It doesn’t just magically happen. The work required starts on the claimants’ side.

So… Get to work on your claim.

Happy to help. Seriously.

41. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Chris Halsall July 19, 2021 3:52 PM “Please forgive me for being profoundly stupid, but I don’t understand why there is a need to be anonymous. I never have, and never will, understand the upside (unless explained to me using very simple language).”

@Chris Halsall “It cost me about $10,000 to make the problem go away”

Many of us, maybe most of us do not have a spare $10,000 to make the monsters go away.. That is the explanation in very, very simple language.

42. @CB: “Many of us, maybe most of us do not have a spare $10,000 to make the monsters go away. That is the explanation in very, very simple language.

Thank you. Sincerely. Understood.

To be very clear, that invoice was both surprising and difficult. It took me time to pay that off.

I learnt a lot during that exercise. Particularly considering I /thought/ it would have been covered by a certain person. I /thought/ it was an excellent opportunity for “discovery”. Alas, they had other ideas.

What doesn’t kill you (often) makes you stronger.

43. “Ignoring BU.David who would prefer I remain silent at the moment, such an arrangement would have to be established within a legal framework. Most likely, in a court of law.”

Not sure if it is deliberate but you are giving terrible advice leading people up the garden path on a wild goose chase

maybe you have some form of intelligent autism

the only position to take is that reparations should / must be paid

and guilty nations should declare their intent to do so or have Government removed and replaced by parties who will make good for damages

44. @5DS: “maybe you have some form of intelligent autism

High probability. Some argue I’m actually dumber than bricks.

@5DS: “the only position to take is that reparations should / must be paid

A possible position. Not the only.

And, I keep asking. How, exactly, would that work?

Seriously, I would like to be informed about this. No one speaks with authority. WTF?

45. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“No one speaks with authority. WTF?”

that’s the noise..

i keep telling them they are ALL approaching it from the wrong angle, but they are allowing dollar signs to dazzle their eyes and don’t realize they will STILL be trapped in the same old colonial slave system…with the corrupt in the parliament… already stating that they will not give them A DIME IN REPARATIONS in their hands, when they tried to extort 50 billion dollars from UK recently for them and their minority criminal friends to start the St. Lucy Project….and got figuratively shot down……

they will have to figure the rest out on their own, been hearing the boast for years about a vary 90 something % literacy rate, so it should not be a problem.

46. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

I did not stutter….they tried to extort 50 billion dollars from UK and had the nerve to publicly tell the people that they would get no reparations because the money was for infrastructure, but did not bother to tell the survivors that they had a scam between them and their crooked minorities with a blueprint they cobbled together under the Owen government which was at least 16 plus years old and amended periodically, to build a city in St. Lucy and never bothered told the people any of that, did not plan to give them the reparations they ARE entitled to IN THEIR HANDS either..

.and if any yardfowl/Slave dare push their head out, am gonna start posting pages…..just before election.

.the parliament SNAKES need a very RUDE awakening, their aim is to keep the descendants in poverty forever….so that trash indians, syrians and parasitic whites can feed off them and their children nonstop…..but it’s entirely up to the Black majority to let it happen……or continue..

47. “And, I keep asking. How, exactly, would that work?

Seriously, I would like to be informed about this. No one speaks with authority. WTF”

Ong Namo Guru Dev Namo

Sat nam

I cannot be assed to spoon feed dummies who claim or feign ignorance in some such matters

I have literally spent and wasted months of my life on BU on this subject matter arguing with trolls playing dumb

there are plethora of BU threads to search under reparations and beckles to research above the line and below the line comments and for a forensic breakdown of concepts and views

this thread slavery reparations for duumies is a good starter
    https://barbadosunderground.net/2017/10/17/reparations-made-simple-or-almost-everybodys-guide-to-reparations/

UCL databases shows
    Commercial: Evolution of firms receiving slave compensation and their redeployment of slave wealth into other investment
    The records of the Slave Compensation Commission, set up to manage the distribution of the £20 million compensation paid to slaveowners for their property (blacks who were humans and made slaves) shows the value of last generation of slaves
    A tefal like yourself can do a wind back book cost calculation for value of 20 generations of slaves before them

My finger in the air wild ass guess was the same amount paid to bail out banks in global financial crises qe programmes would be good to go from memory this was circa £500b for UK and $1.5tr for US which you can also verify when you do your due diligence

the Devil Brits and Yanks should look at is as redeeming their souls
    as a so called buddhist like you can look at it as action for your karma

48. Now… the first thing the courts will tell you is that slavery was not illegal at the time and so they owe us nothing.

This is not something that can be won in their courts of law.

Quite frankly, I expect no reparations from the British Government.

But what I do expect is they stop with that G7 shit that further rigs the system in their favour.

Chris Halsall,

No fear on my part. I too used to post elsewhere using my real name. I came to BU and I found it to be different but I still used my real first name.

I post nothing defamatory because I don’t spread gossip in daily life. If I tell an interesting story that I have heard I leave out the names. Besides which, there are ways to get your point across without crossing into defamatory territory. So really, I have nothing to fear legally and since I need no favours, I have nothing to fear from politicians.

And I would not say I have $10,000 to toss around foolishly but I could pay it if it was for a worthy cause. If my words would make a difference and if I had proof in my hands, I would speak openly in person, far less on BU with name and accompanying photo.

49. Poor Lawson,

Still trying to get that photograph, I see.

50. Thank you, 555. He says, “No-one speaks with authority.” We showed him where to start looking off the top of our heads. Obviously, we could not be expected to work out the exact figure ourselves. That would take a lot of research and is better done by experts. And has been so done, it seems.