To whom it may concern, thanks for the assist – Blogmaster

There is no doubt Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley has become one of the most prominent leaders in the Caribbean since being elected in 2018. She reinforced her elevated status with an impactful delivery at COP climate summit in 2021, the consequence of which she is regarded internationally as the preeminent champion for climate change issues. On the local front history will record her aggressive and contentious push to acquire republican status in 2021 naming local pop star Rihanna as a national hero which fueled public debate.

After two terms in office and in all likelihood headed for a third term the question of the day is – do global accolades make Prime Minister Mottley a stateswoman? And of more concerned for natives — has she governed Barbados with the required skillset that achieving statesmanship requires? Do you know the ‘What is Mottleyism‘ is one of the most read blogs on Barbados Underground.

The Promise of Statesmanship

From basic research a statesman, in this case stateswoman, should not just be a brilliant speaker but also be able to demonstrate the capacity to:

– tackle the country’s most difficult challenges head-on

– lead with an eye on the long-term

– put the country before party and material change before self aggrandisement

– leave institutions, policies, and ‘values’ [BU’s emphasis] that outlive term in office

Mottley checks many of the boxes. She is confident, eloquent, and unafraid to speak some truths to global powers. There can be no doubt she has grown brand Barbados on the world stage and created a ‘sweet feeling’ for many in Barbados and even regionally. Especially coming after Stuart’s tenure, his style was polar opposite. HOWEVER, when we shift the focus from international to Whitehill and Silver Hill, answering the question about Mottley achieving stateswoman status becomes interesting.

Crime: The Crisis that Won’t Be Spun Away

The rise in violent crime since 2018, particularly among young men, is not just a public safety issue – it’s obviously a symptom of deeper social and economic problems. Barbadians have become numb to the violence, while government policy appears to be knee-jerk therefore compromising Mottley’s legacy. Her lack of success (inability) to treat crime as a national emergency continues to leave a blot. She seems reluctant to invest significantly in community-based solutions, addressing mental health issues, education continues to be a political football (by the way, why does a minister of education have to be involved in sharing 11 plus results?). In other words from the ground up? We need to move with haste from pretty talk to action. Imagine the programs that 50 million solidarity giveaway could have created.

Economic Diversification: All Plan, No People

Barbados’ economy remains deeply dependent on tourism and financial services, sectors vulnerable to pandemics, climate shocks, or what the economists refer to as exogenous shocks. Mottley has spoken frequently about the need to diversify into renewable energy, digital services, and creative industries. Are we there yet? Yes it will take time but do we sense any urgency in pursuing these laudable goals for the country? What about the creation of a pharmaceutical industry with the assistance of Rwanda floated in 2021?

The reality is that many ordinary Barbadians feel disconnected from the so-called macro-economic success. We hear Mottley’s ‘believe you me’ speeches but see no material changes happening on the ground. If the benefits of diversification don’t reach the block, what we have is a recipe for the rise in crime we are presently witnessing.

So, Is Mia Mottley a Stateswoman?

She could be. She has the intellect, the charisma, the historical timing, and a global relevance. But she will not earn that title based on what she says to the United Nations. She will earn it based on whether crime in Barbados declines because young people feel disconnected to the national goals. Mia Mottley may earn the title of Caribbean stateswoman BUT only if she delivers on the plan to transform where it matters most—not in the international arena but in the hearts of the natives.

66 responses to “Mottley: Stateswoman or skilled political actor?”

1. I will never flee to the United Kingdom, a place arming and supporting genocide, constantly marching into unjustified wars. I will stay here and deal with the issues of my people. There is a fate worse than quick death at the hands of a robber.

What I dread is being the wrongdoer, not the wronged! If I were a taxpayer in the England or the United States of America, I would fear my contribution to genocide, endless wars and all the destruction that the West brings to the entire planet and even beyond.

Thank goodness that this is not my plight!

2. Mia Mottley became and remains prime minister, not because the majority of us idolise her, but because we rightly rejected the DLP government.

For many of us, it was not a vote for Mia, but a vote against Freundel. In the subsequent general election, I believe the turn out was less. This was because there was less enthusiasm for her government and no corresponding increase in enthusiasm for her opponents.

Therefore, the suggestion that she could shoot somebody in broad daylight on Broad Street and still be idolised is not representative of Bajan sentiment. By how many is she idolised and by how many would she be idolised after the shooting? That is the question. And the answer probably would be, by a few hundred members of the BLP rank and file.

On the other hand, Donald Trump, the one who was obviously astonished when he discovered, and then spontaneously blurted out the words, “I could stand in the middle of Fifth Avenue and shoot somebody and not lose any votes,” has increased his vote count to seventy-nine million. This after he fomented a violent attack at the Capitol and pardoned the violent attackers. We know that he refused to send in the National Guard for hours as he watched the violence from the White House. He is even reported to have agreed with the quest to hang Mike Pence. “He deserved it,” he said.

But who said this of the last election?

“This time the American people got it right.”

But we here living on the 2×3 rock are the stupid ones.

Looka move do! Steupse!

3. Lorenzo
    Artax good to see your sensible and balanced views again.As to John A and Bush Tea,s comment about Mr Sandiford being a statesman I am glad that you pointed out to them the acti9ns of Mr Sandiford back then These two seem to think bajans got short memories.As I recall,Mr Sandiford was advised against regrading top civil servants but went ahead and did so anywhere.Afterwards with the economy in shambles brought the 8 percent cut,which I myself suffered.Later,when challenged by his own Ministers refused to stand down in favor of Mr Greaves I believe at the time.He insisted that a green horn in Mr Thompson replace him.This was rejected and he called elections and lost.This sounds like a statesman to you.It sounds a lot like arrogance and stupidity in my opinion.Mr Sandiford in my view was a good Minister of education but one of the worst PM ever surpassed only by Mr Thompson and Mr Stuart in my view.

4. Strange tourist sounds

WE HAVE HEARD of over-fishing and the practice of dragging the sea bed, but we have not heard of over-tourism until recently when all hell broke out in the south of Spain in Barcelona.

The people rose up and the cry went out: “Tourists go home.”

Could this happen in Barbados? Better we ask, could this be a response to the over-dependence that we may be making by putting all our reliance on one sector? Is the US dollar proliferation confusing us?

Once upon a time we had to go through hoops to get a couple of US dollars with which to travel.

Now US dollars licking dog. Now we see that we no longer have to tread to the Central Bank and wait for permission and declare our sufferance at the airport. Is this really so?

Everybody has US dollars. We have so many US dollars that the Government is asking us to lend them for bonds. What is confusing is whether or not people who have these US dollar deposits are free in their use; that is, if they can take them out of the island. If not their use will only be valid for a devaluation.

This is a worrying trend. Before, when the Central Bank had control of the US dollars in the island, what was in the banks and when we were required to take dollars to the banks, it was easy for the country to have access to dollars for the importation of food and medicine.

Now that control is lost.

What further complicates the equation is the lack of control over the possibly free dollars in the island. As I have said before, we are building six new hotels, many private people are receiving dollars for rentals and the Central Bank will have no means of telling where the US dollars are in the country. This is troubling when it is critical to know where the free US dollars are as we have international obligations to meet demanding high interest rates.

It is critical to know what will happen when the building of the hotels in construction is finished because we will be further in the dark about where the dollars are, what with dollars in the hotels, dollars paid to the hotel, dollars outside of the hotel, dollars paid for local accommodation and dollars tied up in the banks in dollar deposits.

Reminds me of the present roundabout where people have been given $300 but have lost more in taxes and oil products.

Furthermore, it diminishes the use of the Central Bank. Not only that, it shows that we are lost and going nowhere fast. Maybe we may come to the situation where we question the everywhere presence of the tourist when we are totally dependent on their free US dollar.

What about a fallback position after we dance and perlix for Crop Over?

There is an Opposition that so far has not found its feet, leaving us with nowhere to go for a change.

The sweetness of sugar is withering in the fields for lack of rain and attention. We have a population problem where we might need to call out people 60 and older to work the fields as present youngsters are finding easier ways of surviving. A robbery or a shooting every night.

Are we therefore happy that building six new hotels will bring an answer to our woes? We cannot go back to the time when the Central Bank had control of our US dollars.

Furthermore we cannot steer the US dollars in the island in a direction planned by Government. The Government itself is probably giving and taking and shuffling the cards for want of an opposition and does not live in fear of losing control.

Meantime the granting of $300 to the people is something that can come in handy for a while but is quickly spent on taxed items and is a crude and cheap response to cries of poverty. Are we catching at straws when there is no clear direction in asking people to invest in US dollars that they cannot take out of the island without the permission of the Central Bank?

More importantly, is the interest rate on the borrowings to protect the value of the currency hurting to such an extent that we are asking Barbadians to put themselves in a position of easing the Government of hurting international rates?

Harry Russell is a banker.

5. Another council, this its the Barbados Facilitation Council.

https://biba.bb/government-to-launch-business-facilitation-council-to-cut-red-tape/

6. Every time that the PM speaks now, she is making the warning given to us by her former boss OSA – seem more and more relevant and dire.

Her clinging to macro indicators – mostly compiled and provided to mislead IMF, IDB and other international con artists (who do NOT really CARE about such details) is a clear indication of her Achille’s heel of focussing on FLUFF, while ignoring – or being INCAPABLE of dealing with, the BASIC issues on the ground.

The ongoing lack of a Republican Constitution after so many YEARS now is a clear INDITEMENT against the PM’s now obvious IMPULSIVE rush to transition the State.

The Ongoing failures in Education – which has been under HER PERSONAL HAND now for two decades – except when the DLP clowns fumbled that ball – is another…

Her BROKEN PROMISES – with respect to dealing with HOPE, STEAL HOUSES, NIS, Four Seasons, Clear Water, Transport Board, CLICO … OR with practically ANY of the issues raised by the Auditor General now resonates….

If Thorne could be a bit more FOCUSSED in his presentations (rather that trying to impress with his boring courtroom drawling) it may become even clearer to Bajans EXACTLY what Arthur was warning us about…

Arthur was about details and timelines… even when misguided.
    But he saw the GREATER DANGERS of intuition, fluff and emotional rhetoric…

The higher that a popular primate climbs, the more he is exposed…

What a place!!

7. Integrity Legislation.

8. NorthernObserver Avatar

“The proposed cross regulatory Business Facilitation Council will be chaired by the Ministry of Energy and Business and include representatives from:

Regulatory agencies
    Ministry of Finance
    Business Barbados
    Invest Barbados
    Export Barbados
    Planning and Development Office
    Customs
    National utility companies
    The banking sector

Its mandate will be to identify and remove daily regulatory bottlenecks, with quarterly reviews to ensure progress and accountability.”

This is what a former colleague called a “Circle Jerk”.
    The primary offenders are Business Barbados (formerly CAIPO), and the Banks. Planning and Development and Customer are a secondary set of operational hurdles.

I hope they hold quarterly meetings in exotic locations 😁 And invite a few business owners who have to deal with them.

9. NO. You had me with circle jerk
    This is the more common usage today. It describes a group of people who:
    Are excessively focused on their own opinions and perspectives.
    Engage in mutual praise and validation, often without genuine substance or critical evaluation.
    Create an echo chamber where opposing viewpoints are discouraged or ridiculed.
    Are seen as self-congratulatory and out of touch with reality.

10. Political party recognition, abolition of floor-crossing a possibility
    The door to constitutional recognition of political parties and an end to parliamentarians switching allegiances was left wide open as Prime Minister Mia Mottley endorsed a landmark proposal to formally register and regulate parties.
    Since Independence in 1966, the Constitution of Barbados has been silent on political parties. Members of Parliament are elected to represent the constituency rather than a political party. But on Tuesday, Mottley suggested the time had come to bring greater transparency and structure to political party operations on the island.
    “The commission took the view that political parties ought to be registered and that to qualify as a political party an entity has to have a chairman, a treasurer, a principal place of business, and a bank account,” she said. “But that failure to register should not be a bar to any group in calling itself a political party, or from running in an election.”
    The prime minister described the current situation as a “farce”, declaring that political parties are the backbone of parliamentary democracy and deserve to be properly regulated. Registration would also pave the way for party names to appear on the ballot next to candidates, enhancing voter clarity, she claimed.
    While not naming him directly, Mottley’s comments were a clear reference to Christ Church South MP Ralph Thorne, who last year severed ties with the ruling Barbados Labour Party and joined the Democratic Labour Party, becoming the new opposition leader.
    “There are people like the member for Christ Church South who may feel that they got elected on their own merit, and that the party to which he belonged then, the Barbados Labour Party, had no part in his election,” she said.
    Quoting the legal luminary Jack Dear, who died in 1997, she added: “You argue a case once in court. I say simply that whatever else the member for Christ Church South will have to say on how he got elected and who helped him get elected, we will argue that case once—this time not in a law court, but in the court of public opinion at the next election.”
    Mottley went further, signalling her personal support for a constitutional change that would require MPs who cross the floor to return to the people for a fresh mandate.
    She said: “There is a strong view that there should be an immediate return to the electorate, should a person cross the floor and seek to leave the party from which they are elected to be able to continue to serve.
    If they win the seat, there is no problem, but what they have done is to go back to the people who elected them in the first place and allow the people who elected them to make the decision whether they want to elect them again in the Parliament of Barbados.
    “I can only say that I am a strong supporter personally of that, because I believe that anything else other than that is disingenuous at best. It does not leave room for the people who we represent to be able to have a say.”
    But the prime minister also rejected the idea of adopting proportional representation based on party lists, insisting that such models often lead to autocracy and erode voter choice.
    Mottley said: “In the countries where I have seen party list voting, there is a dangerous descent into autocratic behaviour, and into a narrow vision that often does not reflect the considerations of the wider public. This is a matter that people of this Parliament, on top of the recommendations of this Parliamentary Reform Commission with all of the consultations that it has done, will have ultimately to sign off on.”
    She insisted that Barbadians have long proven that, though they may align themselves to a political party on the surface, they remain fiercely independent when it comes to their vote.
    (SB)

11. Fiddling with shiite while Bridgetown burns…

…and
    Talking nonsense about ‘winning seats’ when a clear MINORITY of eligible voters bothered to even vote…

The actual Election Results were:
    BLP votes – 30%
    DLP votes – 10%
    All ah Wunna F/ OFF – 60%

Most of the current MPs have Freundel to thank for their ‘victories’ …
    – since Bajans actually VOTED HIM AWAY, RATHER than endorse the alternative evil.

Steupsss…
    The PM is actually more of a legend in her own mind.

12. Ralph could do the honourable thing and (a) call a by election or (b) talk to his constituents to see if they want one…

Hijacking the DLP party leadership with a single seat was a corker in ungentlemanly conduct and anally retentive misinterpretation of DLP constitution.

The new Law could be called The No Ralph Thorne Law

13. @ Dub
    How about YOU do the honorable thing, and focus on British and Sri Lankan business – …and keep your snout out of Bajan politics?

Are you some kind of paid political lackie …or on-line hitman?

…Can you explain your biased interest… for the record?
    …or would that jeopardize your assignment.

Asking for a friend…

14. LOL @ David
    Weir cannot answer Wood’s pointed questions on the pressing subject of the dying sugar industry in Brassbados, cannot even SPEAK on it – UNLESS guided by Mascoll (The PM’s new undercover agent), and he has nothing coherent to say about food security in the face of mounting global chaos.

BUT…
    He can write articles explaining why Barbados should be a PARRO State – begging and borrowing our way through life (while our strong young men lime on the blocks), and now has the time and expertise to advise the FAO in Rome on how to agriculture viable…

Is he yet ANOTHER ‘away from home’ BS artist?

Perhaps he is gunning for the role of Emperor himself now…
    …lotta shiite talk about matters OUTSIDE of your portfolio, and not a word about what you were elected / appointed to do… while it all falls apart.

All he needs now is a nice scarf…

What a place!!