The Barbados government recently launched the Little Island Big Barbados campaign and immediately those responsible are having to defend against a torrent of criticism from the public. The thrust of the concern: the campaign is a tired concept several islands have used to promote tourism for which Barbados is whispered to have forked out $700,000.00.

In the blog BLP and DLP Cancer of Adversarial Politics the blogmaster raised concerns that are applicable in this case. 

Yesterday the Reverend Guy Hewitt (also see: Is Guy Hewitt the Way, Truth and Light for the DLP?) was featured in the news in clarion voice calling for the resignation of Minister of Tourism Lisa Cummins. The good Reverend as spokesman for the DLP- our government in waiting- has the right to call for the resignation of Cummins. If we want to promote a culture of high performance built on meritocracy, when mistakes are made or persons perform poorly, there should be consequences. Although the facts of the matter have not been disclosed to the public – pending an internal investigation by Chairman of the BTMI Roseanne Myers – there is enough smoke to the story to suggest public concerns are valid given the large sum allegedly disbursed for the campaign.

Source: DLP St. Andrew Facebook Page

A takeaway from the imbroglio for the blogmaster is the use of the resignation tactic by politicians on both sides of the aisle. It was not too long ago the incumbent Attorney General (AG) Dale Marshall called for the resignation of then AG Adriel Brathwaite. There were calls for the resignation of Michael Carrington to resign as Speaker of the House Assembly the revelation he had to pass around a hat to collect donations to make good on a client’s monies owed. The blogmaster joined strident calls for Denis Lowe to resign after the Cahill Expose. Fast forward to the present there have been calls for Dale Marshall over concerns about crime, before that it was Wilfred Abrahams and the sordid practice by GIS staffers to emotionally and physically abuse detainees at the GIS, whomever is responsible for the fiasco at Barbados Revenue Authority re car registrations and the latest Lisa Cummins to step down or be fired. They all survived the job. No doubt when the dust is settled so too will Lisa Cummins, one of those Mottley has pencilled in on her succession plan.

A critical examination of the way recent governments have operated in Barbados is that firing has not been a go to option. The calls from political talking heads for opposite members to resign is all about generating froth to feed a perception of relevance in the eyes of a disengaged and unsophisticated electorate. One has to go back to Arthur’s obvious firing of George Payne and Elizabeth Thompson to find good examples of ministerial sackings. Some may offer that a reshuffle is a form of demotion given the pecking order of some ministries, it is not a firing.

In the climate of adversarial politics the DLP is doing what the system allows for a political party to seek traction and visibility in the eyes of the public. Especially two years out from a general election.

743 responses to “Little Island Big Cabinet”

1. As bad and racist america is the taxpayers sees how the money is spent
    Transparency is not a political cliche but a word well used to expose the demonic forces in govt and those who think it best to push there evil.actions on people
    Hence when people become disgusted and disillusioned the people don’t sit back and send prays upwards but become involved taking actions that shake the foundations of a nation
    That is who they are
    In this 166sq miles govt does as they dam please sufficing the political elite
    The people in turn does nothing but to squawk belly ache and complain
    Talk about america system all u can but it keeps evolving towards change
    While barbados system remains stagnant divided and pleasing to a limited few
    America in the past two years went through a dark economic crisis
    Today america is punching hard and it’s economy is almost driven by all four cylinders
    Meanwhile here in Barbados the PM speaks on slogans and Sunday Closures for supermarkets
    Where there is no vision the people suffer
    Barbadians have arrived at the land called Sufferation staring in headlights looking like deers
    Go figure
    No patriotism in the world would encourage my thinking to live through days of suffering
    None whatsoever

2. Some of the names on the committee are names caught up in the recent debacle of Creative designs
    The problem this govt keeps repeating is one combined of political favours
    Hence turning to the population via a competition would exclude the status quo on the committee from receiving a quick pay check
    Pray tell why it would take so many of these know nothing talking heads to find a slogan
    As I mention when the govt of Barbados wanted to have a Barbados flag design for Indepedence govt involved the whole country
    The winner received a mere 500hundred dollars and his name remains in history
    Committee my big toe bunch of politricks run by Brass bowls

3. Hence when people become disgusted and disillusioned the people don’t sit back and send prays upwards but become involved taking actions that shake the foundations of a nation

Bajan spoke loud and clear in 2018

4. Angela Cox

You are quite correct because as a public worker, your salary is made public, and if you appropriate one cent of taxpayers money is will land you in prison. And off hand I can tell you about one Governor, and three City Mayors whom have done hard prison time for corruption or misappropriation of public funds.

5. john2May 30, 2021 2:34 PM

Hence when people become disgusted and disillusioned the people don’t sit back and send prays upwards but become involved taking actions that shake the foundations of a nation

Bajan spoke loud and clear in 2018

Xxxccccccc

After getting their belly filled with nuff koolaid
    Two years later not a peek
    LoL

6. How do you know the people on the committee is getting paid?

7. Then bring your coolaid and stop serving lemon water without sugar that has no appeal to the public,

8. Taxpayers see where their money is spent?????

Trump people spent so much taxpayers money and gone clear it is not funny! True, taxpayers saw where it went but it never came back!

Enough nonsense about your American DREAMS!

More get away with it than those who get locked up! There are ways, if you are smart.

9. And regardless of Angela Cox’s efforts, we shall speak again and not as she wishes!

10. America in the past two years went through a dark economic crisis
    Today america is punching hard and it’s economy is almost driven by all four cylinders
    Meanwhile here in Barbados the PM speaks on slogans and Sunday Closures for supermarkets
    Where there is no vision the people suffer.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXxxxx

Now you expect little Barbados to come out of a world economic crisis – when no tourist were coming – in 2 years like the great USA.

While for ten year your excuse for the dismal performance of the destructive team was to blame the great reccesion – even thought it was approx 8=9 years after the USA had recovered ( and tourist had never stop coming)

Where there is no memory you will continue to write shite

11. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Little Island, BIG THIEVES.

what did they do with the insurance money paid out to repair the damaged houses after the passage of Hurricane Tomas, that never happened, the money was paid within WEEKS..

.ah wonder if the information is in the big red bag of evidence that was being swung all over the place and the electorate was told that it was to lock up DLP…

12. John2

Now you expect little Barbados to come out of a world economic crisis – when no tourist were coming – in 2 years like the great USA

xxxccccccc

I do not expect miracles but what I expect is for govt policies be founded on creating a path towards economic stimulation
    Instead of talking and doing nothing and creating shit

13. John2

I am safe because had I done what you have stated above, I would have been exonerated by now because the Statute of Limitation.
    Remember John2, I know the Criminal Law like the back of your head.

14. Give them another 8 years like DEM had and you made excuse about the great recession . in fact you should be givine them 16 years not 8 – because this one was worse and although the USA is back we still not getting any tourist yet

Dont come with your diversfying because it dem that stuck is with one egg tourism

15. “Remember John2, I know the Criminal Law like the back of your head.”

That’s the best joke ever. I would bet that you know nothing about the back of John’s head.

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

Get involved, organize a march. But, you need a cause the people will rally around.
    @Donna
    You are becoming far too easy to wind-up. Truth is many other nations are equally as inept as Barbados. The difference is they have deep pockets. The USA for example, hasn’t run a surplus since the 70’s. There is nothing wrong with Barbados depending on what you want to do. Yet, because the public purse has severe limitations, one needs to be careful on the expense and productivity areas.

17. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@john2 May 30, 2021 2:34 PM “Bajan spoke loud and clear in 2018”

You too wicked.

Lollll!!!!

18. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Dompey since you like to read:

https://soba.iamempowered.com/2020-report
    America caught the coronavirus and Black America caught hell. As states began to collect race-based data, a bleak picture emerged: Black, Latino and Indigenous people were getting sick and dying in higher numbers. African Americans are reportedly three times as likely to contract the coronavirus and nearly twice as likely to die from COVID-19 as white people.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Race_and_health_in_the_United_States
    Research has demonstrated that numerous health care professionals show implicit bias in the way that they treat patients.

19. Cuhdear BajanMay 30, 2021 8:13 PM

@john2 May 30, 2021 2:34 PM “Bajan spoke loud and clear in 2018”

You too wicked.

Lollll!!!

Xccccccccc

Wicked ness which takes thr people suffering to unprecedented levels to poverty
    Wickedness which finds crimes and criminal activity running loose in the country
    Nothing to laugh about
    Almost two weeks where gun toting assassins delivered a deadly gun shot to a policeman
    Nothing here to lol about

20. Well Well before the ink is well dried on the slogan committe names
    Jeremy Stephens comes out swinging against the exclusion of PTL name of the list
    Well Well he is correct in his assessment especially an assessment which portrays PTL unselfish ambition for the good of the country in handing govt a gift namely the Welcome Stamp which helped the tourist business to weather the COVID storm and keep in place the weak and shaken foundations of tourism
    Stephen’s assessment gave thought and wonder as to why would govt ignore and overlook such a valuable asset to the committee
    Real talk and food for thought
    Interesting

21. William Skinner Avatar

@ et al
    I read Ezra Alleyne in today’s nation giving our PM all the credit for PLT’s Welcome Stamp initiative. He even listed it in the government’s achievement column. He then went on to shamelessly state that “ we “ came up with it first !
    Well, all is well that ends well ; PLT maintains that he fortunately is so well off that he doesn’t need credit or payment for his intellectual property.
    However his initiative has turned out to be the only workable solution and new initiative in tourism since the current administration took up office.
    Perhaps he should try to come up with a slogan. At least we would get it free .
    What about it Mr. Thompson ?

22. LITTLE ISLAND, BIG TRICKSTERS

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Rastafari still disadvantaged, says Rock

The Rastafarian community is accusing the Government of covering up its true intentions towards the movement and to the country in general.

In a strongly-worded declaration today, president of the African Heritage Foundation (AHF) Paul Simba Rock again sought to make a case for cannabis to become legal and accessible to all the people of Barbados.

Rock, who is also Public Relations Officer of the Rastafari Progressive Movement (RPM) is demanding “just cannabis reform” for all and not just some.

“The Rastafari community in Barbados continues to be disadvantaged by the Government of Barbados as far as cannabis justice is concerned,” he said.

He argued that the foundational position of the Rastafari community is that cannabis has medicinal and spiritual properties and as such should be made legally accessible to all the adult population.

“It is the further position of this community that cannabis should be legal, however, having it regulated in a manner that affords all Barbadians the green light to cultivate a couple plants for their medicinal and spiritual uses in the privacy of their respective homes,” the Rastafarian leader suggested.

He added: “No other working relationship can be built with the Government of Barbados as it relates to cannabis while we the people of Barbados remain cannabis criminals. Our brothers and sisters remain in prison for seeking to economically empower themselves through the sale of cannabis, as the Government is not setting themselves to do. How can this be moral?”

Rock demanded equal treatment for the Rastafarian “brothers and sisters” contending that the government’s claim that it cares, is not reflected in its actions.

“The BLP is trying to cover up its unconscionable actions as it pertains to the people of Barbados and the Rastafari community, by trying to make it seem like they are working in the best interests of the people. They are not! The Rastafari community demands the same respect that is given to Caucasian people, Syrian people and the well-to-do African descended people in Barbados,” he said.

Rock asserted that no one wants to be ruled by an unjust and uncaring government. “The words spoken by the Prime Minister that she cares is not manifested in her actions,” Rock pointed out.

He recalled that the head of the Barbados Cannabis Licensing Authority Dr. Shantal Munroe-Knight recently announced that her agency signed a memorandum of understanding with the Technical and Vocational Educational Training (TVET) Council as it pertains to cannabis cultivation for the medicinal cannabis industry.

“The unconscious, uncaring nature of the Barbados Labour Party utilized the expertise of Rastafari, namely myself, to assist with the creating of teaching modules that will be used within their intended cannabis cultivation course. I was chosen to assist with this initiative due to my experience in cultivating cannabis. Please note that I like many others, due to unjust cannabis laws have had to, and continue to, risk lives and freedom to preserve a Barbadian cannabis culture.

“This means the immoral nature of the Government will allow it to utilize my knowledge of cultivating cannabis while actively seeking to incarcerate me if they catch me growing a few plants,” the spokesman for the Rastafarian movement stated.

Rock noted that it was recently reported in the local news that the Government would be making allowances for the Rastafari community to cultivate an acre of cannabis to be sold within the medical cannabis industry.

“It must be noted that no discussions have been held with the Rastafari community as it pertains to this. Furthermore, one acre of land to cultivate cannabis for the medical cannabis industry does not address the issues pertaining to cannabis that the wider Rastafari community has,” he added.

He accused the Government of jumping the gun on publicizing its plans for the use of land which will be used for productive reasons by Rastafari.

“While waiting for a meeting with the Minister of Agriculture and the Prime Minister to discuss issues pertaining to the wider Rastafari community, including just cannabis reform, the government has gone ahead and announced plans for this acre of land for Rastafari to cultivate cannabis for the industry. This was thought to be highly disrespectful by the majority of the Rastafari community, who then exited a WhatsApp chat designed by new party member Rodney Grant and veteran party faithful Trevor Prescod to facilitate that meeting,” said the spokesman for the movement.

Rock said the Government continues to attempt to divide the Rastafari community on its stance as it pertains to cannabis by discussing issues and solutions to the issues with a few Rastafari brothers and sisters who are BLP party faithfuls.

“These are duty-bound to agree and praise the BLP for whatever crumbs they see fit to dust of the table for us. This has proven detrimental to the Rastafari community, although beneficial to the individuals in question,” the AHF president declared.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/05/29/rastafari-still-disadvantaged-says-rock/

23. @W Skinner

PLT has long signaled his disdain for traditional tourism, why do you think he would be interested in coming up with a slogan?

Unless he used a retread “Barbados, not bout hey”

24. NO,

What exactly do you mean by easy to wind up???????

You just admitted that the people are talking bare shite!

So pointing that out is a flaw in ME?????

Wuh I even watch where they say the IRS is terrible at collecting taxes from the rich. They only pursue the middle class.

They are no different from Barbados.

I do not understand the approach. These people claim to desire the upliftment of black Barbadians yet all they do is perpetuate the white man’s myth of superiority!

How the hell does that advance their stated objective?

We are here arguing our points. I am not supposed to point out flawed reasoning and downright shite?????

Steupse! Typical male response. I am an emotional female even when or ESPECIALLY when I am making sense.

Double steupse!

Now YOU are talking shite!

25. Rock, has echoed in the latter part of his statement what I have been saying along about the PM, that she shows favoritism to the loyal BLP cronies namely: Neval Greenidge, Oral Williams, and many others who supports the BLP agenda. And this kind of narrow-minded and partisan politics have place on the Barbadian landscape whatsoever.

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    The same thought crossed my mind. @PLT has spoken clearly his opinions on traditional tourism. They will no doubt clash with many, and not be welcomed in certain circles.

27. And this kind of narrow-minded and partisan politics have place on the Barbadian landscape whatsoever.

Dompey

That is the type of politics you does practice. You say prostitution legal in Barbados because the BLP legalise it.

Wait, what problem you have with Neval Greenidge and Oral Williams? Every time you come on the blog you talking some shite bout Greenidge and Williams.

By the way, how come you ain’t mention that Bertie Hinds the former deputy commissioner was a DLP cronie and wunnuh wanted he to be commissioner? Since you is a police lackey, why you don’t talk about how Guyson Mayers unfair a lot of policemen with their promotions when he was chairman of the police service commission?

Uh bet yuh ain’t gine want to talk about them things?

28. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Northern…the island will stay at the bottom until all these CLOWNS are gone.. PERMANENTLY out of the people’s lives, then there will be A REBIRTH…but they GOTTA GO..

.PLT would have done wonders for them and their dumb, uncreative selves, he can now do so privately and help the population DIRECTLY, its a small population, he can help in groups and complete it in 5 years or less, others are also doing other things…,,he will find no acceptance because he is an independent thinker and not a slimy little yes man or a fowl Slave…but they are the ones SINKING LIKE A ROCK…and carrying their useless fowls with them…..no one else..

Little Island, BIG SELLOUTS…

29. What exactly is a political crony? Can anyone explain to me the difference between exercising one’s political rights, supporting a political party and being a political crony?

How does this cronyism play out in the police force?

How does a political agenda manifest itself within the police force?

What is the difference between the political agenda of the BLP and the DLP with respect to crime fighting?

I am asking because I do not know.

30. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

“I read Ezra Alleyne in today’s nation giving our PM all the credit for PLT’s Welcome Stamp initiative. He even listed it in the government’s achievement column. He then went on to shamelessly state that “ we “ came up with it first !”

PLT is determined to help, were i him i would focus only on helping the young..

Ezra Alleyne has no shame, but that’s them, shameless and publicly claiming someone else’s intellectual property is theirs, but people are waiting on them to steal this years CXC work belonging to the kids, some of the schools got away with withholding the kids paintings already, they will be famous should they steal anything else from those kids, some of whom their parents are currently struggling to survive and send them to school, but they don’t care, they will tief it and sell it for millions and don’t give them a dime or their due recognition..

but ALL THEIR NAMES WILL BE CALLED EVERYWHERE…those who stole last years work from those kids and those who plan to pull another THEFT THIS YEAR..

they tried to make an end run with the HC kids who developed the gaming program but they MADE A BIG MISTAKE and backtracked…their lying yardfowl was already on GIS popping shit like if they created it while hiding it from main media, but weren’t they shocked how that one worked out….let them try that again with any family member of mine and they will see..

these are beasts, non-human and vicious..

but the above was created JUST FOR THEM…

31. Barbados disrespecting Rastas over Holy Herb is same as Barbados disrespecting Rastas in general all the time.
    White countries have more respect for Rastas than Barbados.

32. 555dubstreet

How was lock up? I en see yah tall dis weekend, so I figure de police may have wrapped yah en plastic and let yah have it?

33. Ethiopian Kings

34. 555dubstreet

I think a lot of so called educated Barbadian see the Rastafarian Movement as an isolated entity which have no real intention of integrating into the mainstream society.

35. 555dubstreet

I remember went Ibo was the first Rastafarian in Barbados and a Dred who endured a lot of harassment from the police, and element of the general public back in the early 70s.

36. Sorry when

37. Dompey the Toe Rag

Why you so full of shit like Hal in same Time Zone as him GMT

38. Donna, I feel you should ask Dompey them questions. Look at what he say.

Rock, has echoed in the latter part of his statement what I have been saying along about the PM, that she shows favoritism to the loyal BLP CRONIES namely: Neval Greenidge, Oral Williams, and many others who supports the BLP agenda.

39. You can take the Slavery out of Barbados but you can never take the Slave out of the Bajan man and woman

Black man time / Slaving version

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wi9vU-d0iEE

40. 555dubstreet

Do you remember Ibo the first Dred in Bim …. Ibo rode a donkey back in the Early 70s?

41. 555dubstreet

Yep …. You can take the man out of the Ghetto, but you cannot take the Ghetto out of the man. Original quote …cogito ergo sum ….Descartes …..I think therefore I am …..

42. 555dubstreet

A man is a subtotal of his thoughts, and his thoughts determines his thinking …. and his thinking determining his actions …..

43. Sarge @ NO

Becareful You dont g’et pinned to the government

44. @ Donna

You asked some very interesting questions. I’m sure you know Dompey won’t answer them.

What I would like him to ‘discuss’ is the circumstances surrounding the appointment of Erwin Boyce as deputy Commissioner of Police.

But, when he is challenged to discuss these issues or is given an alternative perspective, he REMAINS SILENT and runs away, preferring instead to ‘talk’ his usual shiite about “CID detectives,” policemen molesting school girls after school sports and notorious criminals “back in the day” …… over and over and over again.

Heard a DLP spokesman on Saturday calling for the resignation of AG Marshall, while reminding us the DEMS approach to fighting crime was repairing and building police stations and buying police vehicles. He did not mention at least ONE policy initiative introduced or implemented by then AG Brathwaite.

Rather than admit successive BLP and DLP administrations have allowed crime to progressively escalate under their watch, the DEMS now want to convince us Mottley inviting alleged ‘drug lords’ to the opening of Parliament is responsible for the recent upsurge in crime.

45. Side note.
    “I read Ezra Alleyne in today’s nation giving our PM all the credit”

I am searching for the link to EA’s piece.
    The blogmaster often provides it but I have not seen it here.

EA’s pieces are usually very limited in content. Some vague reference to the constitution, add in a few local politicians/judges names, and a mention of Margaret Thatcher to remind us of his stay in England.

It is bold of him if he departed from the usual script.

46. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    The more we read these half baked almost insulting verbiage either trying to defend the BLP or the DLP, the more I realise that “ we like um so” . In every damn instance the same repetitive crap and trying our utmost to defend the indefensible on every occasion.
    Always about frigging personalities and never about the blasted issue at hand. A PM is castigated for making a blunder taking a phone call.
    Response: She is not like Stuart , she talks to everybody;
    Some idiot comes up with the poorest marketing theme/slogan / whatever
    Response: A frigging fifty person committee to correct elementary nonsense .
    What’s really going on here ? Then we talk about young people. Come on , I am a big Gabby fan but if yuh gine mek up real, make it a primary school competition. Let each school submit one slogan and then let Gabby/RPB choose and develop the winning entry. The school gets the credit. And a smile on every primary school child face because they all now have a real hero from amongst them. That’s how you develop a nation.
    The country frigging well brainless not leaderless we just brainless.
    I guess the response will be: So is Boris Johnson and Joe Biden…………..

47. WURA de Salemite
    “Slow Thinking Fowl Slave….so why didn’t you post that you meant the Bellairs Institute of whatever, Barbados does not have the patent for that name.”

Now catching up and clearly you’re still struggling. Even slow learners know when one says Bellairs in the context of marine-related issues in Bdos it means the long-established McGill University facility in Holetown. You clearly were unaware of its existence and/or work; hence your purported warnings on BU based on knowledge gained in Queens. How the issue of patents got into the discussion? Unless you really meant to say trademark but as you’re not a “slow learner” the difference between patent and trademark eludes you.🤣🤣

48. Advertisement with the PTL visitors (working + enjoying the island.
    BARBADOS…this is who we are!

Same thing with Ross students
    BARBADOS…this is who we are!

Sagicor home in project in St george

Sandals

Can even keep the little island big Barbados but just add it on

(A seen of crop over with RIRI)
    Little island big Barbados…..this is who we are! ( we would get to use what already paid for)