The Barbados government recently launched the Little Island Big Barbados campaign and immediately those responsible are having to defend against a torrent of criticism from the public. The thrust of the concern: the campaign is a tired concept several islands have used to promote tourism for which Barbados is whispered to have forked out $700,000.00.
In the blog BLP and DLP Cancer of Adversarial Politics the blogmaster raised concerns that are applicable in this case.
Yesterday the Reverend Guy Hewitt (also see: Is Guy Hewitt the Way, Truth and Light for the DLP?) was featured in the news in clarion voice calling for the resignation of Minister of Tourism Lisa Cummins. The good Reverend as spokesman for the DLP- our government in waiting- has the right to call for the resignation of Cummins. If we want to promote a culture of high performance built on meritocracy, when mistakes are made or persons perform poorly, there should be consequences. Although the facts of the matter have not been disclosed to the public – pending an internal investigation by Chairman of the BTMI Roseanne Myers – there is enough smoke to the story to suggest public concerns are valid given the large sum allegedly disbursed for the campaign.

A takeaway from the imbroglio for the blogmaster is the use of the resignation tactic by politicians on both sides of the aisle. It was not too long ago the incumbent Attorney General (AG) Dale Marshall called for the resignation of then AG Adriel Brathwaite. There were calls for the resignation of Michael Carrington to resign as Speaker of the House Assembly the revelation he had to pass around a hat to collect donations to make good on a client’s monies owed. The blogmaster joined strident calls for Denis Lowe to resign after the Cahill Expose. Fast forward to the present there have been calls for Dale Marshall over concerns about crime, before that it was Wilfred Abrahams and the sordid practice by GIS staffers to emotionally and physically abuse detainees at the GIS, whomever is responsible for the fiasco at Barbados Revenue Authority re car registrations and the latest Lisa Cummins to step down or be fired. They all survived the job. No doubt when the dust is settled so too will Lisa Cummins, one of those Mottley has pencilled in on her succession plan.
A critical examination of the way recent governments have operated in Barbados is that firing has not been a go to option. The calls from political talking heads for opposite members to resign is all about generating froth to feed a perception of relevance in the eyes of a disengaged and unsophisticated electorate. One has to go back to Arthur’s obvious firing of George Payne and Elizabeth Thompson to find good examples of ministerial sackings. Some may offer that a reshuffle is a form of demotion given the pecking order of some ministries, it is not a firing.
In the climate of adversarial politics the DLP is doing what the system allows for a political party to seek traction and visibility in the eyes of the public. Especially two years out from a general election.
John2June 2, 2021 5:16 PM
Mari
Whats the real solution?
How was the near shore Waters (fresh and sea) faring before the plant was put into operation ? Investigate that!
I / we await your report
Xxxxxxxxx
The sewer plant was built with the intent of addressing those problems
The question which u need to ask self
Is if the objections with the intent of finding resolution to all those problems spoken of before has been done
My critical eyes says No giving the past evidence of sh.it which overflowed in the street and the continuation of effluent pumped in the ocean
Miller….someone wondered how come this government got a committee for everything EXCEPT for who is TIEFING the people’s money and who is trafficking, importing and distributing the GUNS…it is a fair assessment..
Little Island, Big Frauds…
“I had long known about the threats to coral reefs because it is taught in school.”
check out the fraudulent fowl Slaves…so you were taught about coral reefs in school….so what made your school different to Mia’s school or the minister of Maritime whatever school that they didn’t know…,,and how come you TOLD NEITHER OF THEM about the potential for disaster and permanent reef damage….
so what good is the information to you, when ya kept it to yaself…and when ya finish hurt ya head with that…..
how come no one in the parliament, all those taxpayer sucking ministers, fake experts and consultants didn’t seem to know either….and they ALL WENT TO THE SAME SCHOOLS.
@ WURA-War-on-U June 2, 2021 6:14 PM
There is an old Management concept called “Management by Objectives” made popular by an old but well-known ‘Management’ theorist called Peter Drucker.
Well, we have another style of management called ‘Management by Committee Appointment’ to contract-out the responsibilities of an overly obese Cabinet.
Under this style of public sector management the senior public sector managers aka senior civil servants could as well take early retirement.
BTW, have you noticed since the boss lady farted in his face and damaged his undercarriage the red yard-fowl with the cock-fighting ring tag marked “Enuff” has gone rather soft?
Mari
Where was the shit going befire the plant was built?
@angela cox June 1, 2021 7:24 PM “Marine biology takes years of training and because of his knowledgeable ignorance he could not launch a fight against the PM decision.”
Even while it may be true that the Minister has no training in marine biology–and indeed a Minister is not necessarily expected to be an expert in the Ministry he oversees–I am absolutely certain that there are marine biology experts, with years and years of training and experience currently on he payroll of the government of Barbados, and others also available in Caricom. The government could have consulted these real-real experts, some of our very, very bright young people. Did the government do so? If not why not? In this the government has screwed up big time, and the thing is it is not an error that can easily be fixed with money. Coral reefs like people take many decades to come to full maturity. It is as though you killed my children and then offered me money as “compensation”. Money cannot return my children to life. However this does not exempt the cruise line companies from paying compensation so that the work can be started on building artificial reefs. I shudder to think of the damage to west and south coast beaches if we have a hurricane that comes from the west as Hurricane Lenny unusually did in November 1999. Lenny barely brushed pass Barbados, yet caused damage along the west and south coast. I remember walking along Trevor’s Way in Bridgetown and being shocked at the power of the waves, and later at the damage to the trees there. Later Lenny strengthened to a category 4 and caused significant damage to the west coasts elsewhere in the Caribbean. I know that a good number of our government officials were children in November 1999, but written records exists, and well educated marine specialists local and regional are available to the government. In this 21st century we do not only have to be guided by the science, we also have to be guided by the history.
John2June 2, 2021 7:02 PM
Mari
Where was the shit going befire the plant was built?
Xxxxx
I.already explore that question with my earlier comment
Xxxx
@TLSN June 2, 2021 10:15 AM “Once we change our status to a republic things will deteriorate further. Prince Charles may soon become king in the mother country. Perhaps we would should wait a while before declaring ourselves a republic.”
“Buckingham Palace banned ethnic minorities from office roles, papers reveal. Documents also shed light on Queen’s ongoing exemption from race and sex discrimination laws.
The documents also shed light on how Buckingham Palace negotiated controversial clauses – that remain in place to this day – exempting the Queen and her household from laws that prevent race and sex discrimination. They reveal how in 1968, the Queen’s chief financial manager informed civil servants that “it was not, in fact, the practice to appoint coloured immigrants or foreigners” to clerical roles in the royal household, although they were permitted to work as domestic servants. It is unclear when the practice ended. Buckingham Palace refused to answer questions about the ban and when it was revoked. It said its records showed people from ethnic minority backgrounds being employed in the 1990s.”
The Guardian
Wed 2 Jun 2021
‘Management by Committee Appointment’ to contract-out the responsibilities of an overly obese Cabinet.”
they need to pay back the people all their money…it’s theft and taking money under false pretenses..the electorate hired them to do a job…and they off and hired everyone else to do it, friends, family, hangerson…and even those they called corrupt…..and that’s only when they aren’t writing off billions of dollars stolen from the electorate……they better not forget they owe the people reparations for decades of misery they created in their lives, them and their minority friends… and now all the people have to look forward to are shootings and death…
‘have you noticed since the boss lady farted in his face and damaged his undercarriage the red yard-fowl with the cock-fighting ring tag marked “Enuff” has gone rather soft?”
yeah i noticed, one of the biggest tourism pimps on the blog, had information that could save the coral reef, knew the ships would damage it irreparably and instead of sharing the info, on BU pimping for trouble everyday ….. with their billion dollar projects manager self….😂🤣
and got the nerve with their soft head to still be telling me bout ..oh i learned that at school and you had to go to a museum…yet the goddamn REEFS ARE STILL DAMAGED…
Cuhdear BajanJune 2, 2021 7:05 PM
@angela cox June 1, 2021 7:24 PM “Marine biology takes years of training and because of his knowledgeable ignorance he could not launch a fight against the PM decision.”
Even while it may be true that the Minister has no training in marine biology–and indeed a Minister is not necessarily expected to be an expert in the Ministry he oversees–I am absolutely certain that there are marine biology experts, with years and years of training and experience currently on he payroll of the government of Barbados, and others also available in Caricom.
Xxxxxc
Simply put he was not able to influence govt decision
The sad part him now having to use a defensive posture to save govt face
And speaking of Caricom, what is going on in Belize?
Wish that Hal was here to help me out.
But maybe one of the other British gentlemen can help?
Miller…everything has come full circle…
they are in for a shock and they don’t know when, the longer it takes THE BIGGER…
The sewer plant was built with the intent of addressing those problems
The question which u need to ask self
Is if the objections with the intent of finding resolution to all those problems spoken of before has been done
My critical eyes says No giving the past evidence of sh.it which overflowed in the street and the continuation of effluent pumped in the ocean
Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcxxxxxxxxxxx
What Were the problems the South coast plant was build to address?
T
Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
The shit was flowing In the streets because of the lack of maintenance / money
The effluent was alway intended to be desposed of In the sea
PM
@ Enuff June 2, 2021 4:57 PM
So why then is your silly short-sighted red eye administration encouraging the offshore drilling for heavy crude oil which is totally out of sync with a zero carbon policy agenda by 2030?
Because of global warming the world is weaning itself off oil. So why do Bajan politicians feel that there will be economic babies out there to sell carbon to?
Even the oil giant Shell is about to dump hydrocarbons from its portfolio of energy sources.
Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcxcc
Miller
Are You not aware of other products/by products from Oil?
Did you not read the exploration is not y’et DRILLING ( possibility it May never g’et there) ?
Did you not read that the testing Will be fir Oil and GAS.? Will we be cooking by solar In 2030?
Are u aware of any reef In the area of SEISMIC exploration?
Are you aware that there is something valles heavy crude and another light crude?
John2
The effluent was alway intended to be desposed of In the sea
Xxxcccccc
Is that your defense of policy
A policy that over years of marine biology scientific research shows the negative consequences to marine and plant life
Also to humans
What are u trying to defend
Mari
Both the bridgetown and South Were designed for the effluent to discharged into the sea
Enviromental Engineers had a say
Both plants are beneficial to near shore life than the conditions that existed before they Were put into operation
U dont have to tale my Word
There are enviromential and marine biologist and LocalTalk divers that Will tell You the same
John2June 2, 2021 9:59 PM
Mari
Both the bridgetown and South Were designed for the effluent to discharged into the sea
Enviromental Engineers had a say
Both plants are beneficial to near shore life than the conditions that existed before they Were put into operation
U dont have to tale my Word
There are enviromential and marine biologist and LocalTalk divers that Will tell You the same
Çccxcccc
How many years ago was that assessment given
Between that time period and now various research has been done
Also laws toughen to protect all areas of the environment that are critical to human plant and sea life
So your telling me about guideline or assessments back then does not correspondence to what is being said and done now presently
Anyone that thinks that the need for crude oil is going away is severely misinformed and carried away with the ‘green’ talk.
Maybe you will sell yuh rights fuh cheap and then later realise what yuh sold.
Mari
What Were the problems that Lead to the buiilding of the South plant?
Is there a difference in the damaged caused by treated sewage and untreated sewage?
Where do developed countries dispose of their treated sewage?
Donna
Where do developed countries dispose of their treated sewage?
Xxccccccccc
What we do know is the science and procedure and technology being used in those international countries
Their methods are transparent and monitored by Environmentalist
In small islands the politics on these issues clouds the truth hence only what govt says people can rely on
The ideal situation is to build a Tertiary treatment plant which is costly. Barbados is not the only country, developed ncluded which allow secondary treatment wastage to flow into the environment”. Note the word secondary.
John2June 3, 2021 5:13 AM
Mari
What Were the problems that Lead to the buiilding of the South plant?
XxxxcccHow many times are u going to ask that question
I already made comment on that
What u refuse to realize is that the reasons given for building the plant are now being felt by marine plant and other forms of sea life that protect the environment
This is an issue that goes way beyond protecting the politics of the day but underscored the dangers of the environment and it’s betterment for a good quality of life for mankind
John2
Don’t bother with Milluh, if I say butter he gotta say fat. Recently I spoke about carbon off-setting and the man jumped out of his whole self to talk about carbon trading. He and Abigail should stay clear of certain discussions with me. Stick to calling me the $1B PR fraud and liar.🤣🤣
Mari
You never gave one Reason for the building of the sewage plant. You talk all around it But not one reason.
You are so lost.. the only politiks In the discussion is coming from You .
International enviromentalist Will tell You that both sewage plants are benifical to marine life and Ground water In the effected areas. The LocalTalk divers Can tell You about the improvement of marine life since the building of the plants
Local residents/ hotels/visitors Can tell You about the Gerard reduction nightly stench coming from sucking off septic tanks. BWA / ministry of Health Can tell You about the improvement of the Ground and sea water
Wastewater and sewage enter aquatic systems from sources ranging from surface runoff and septic systems to wastewater treatment facilities and storm drain outfalls. Every year about 3.5 million Americans get sick from recreational activities like swimming and boating because the water is contaminated. Many don’t connect their illness with the water they touched. The impact of water pollution on aquatic ecosystems extends far beyond human illness, however. (
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXxxxx
You problem is that you read WASTWATER TREATMENT FACILITIES and think that all effluent discharge into any water body will cause pollution ,
Yes there will be some pollution but it will be restricted to around the area of the out fall where the effluent comes out the pipes and mixes with the sear water. After that the effluent becomes diluted and disposed of by the currents ( the solution to pollution is dilution / reuse).
Septic systems is what we had on the south coast before the sewerage, THIS IS THE PROBLEM THAT I KEPT ASKING YOU ABOUT – the fact that you never brought it up showed me that you didnt know what you were talking about,
Beside the odours problems the seepage from the septic tanks was contaminating the ground water as well as the nearshore sea water – which was effecting the marine life/biology.
Since the introduction of the sewerage system the problems has been reduced considerable and an improvement in live on land and marine life can be observed.
But do not take my word investigate – both locals and internationals
Yes there will be some pollution but it will be restricted to around the area of the out fall where the effluent comes out the pipes and mixes with the sear water. After that the effluent becomes diluted and disposed of by the currents ( the solution to pollution is dilution / reuse
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXxxx
This is refering to barbados situation. and regarding the amount of effluent into the big wide opened ocean as compared to the amount you would get from and amercian plant going into a river /water body.
@ John2 June 2, 2021 8:25 PM
Are you aware that this so-called proposed oil exploration programme which both you and your parrot Enuff are pushing as an initiative by your current red administration has been around for donkey (y)ears?
Why not ask your Nemesis Mari aka angela cox what ever became of the US$ 6 million ‘Signature Bonus’ allegedly received from the same Oil speculator since 2012 under the her DLP administration?
Crude Oil and its by-products like plastic have no ‘bright’ future in a fast warming-up globe especially that kind of very heavy crude which can be found in small pockets onshore and offshore the Barbados geological hump in the Atlantic Ocean.
Even the other blind fool Enuff is looking forward in a few years to seeing electric-powered and solar-powered airplanes landing at GAIA bringing hundreds of thousands of pale skin people looking to sun-tan on beaches which are fast disappearing because of the destruction of coral reefs, pollution from the land and imaginary offshore oil rigs.
Listen up stupid boys, just like how oil and water don’t mix neither do oil drilling and petroleum production activities mix with your main forex-earning business called tourism in one of the most ecologically and environmentally vulnerable places on the planet called the Caribbean archipelago.
How can you talk about pushing a carbon–neutral and alternative energy agenda by 2030 but also talk from the same mouth about producing one of the biggest sources of pollution and contributors to global warming?
@ Enuff June 3, 2021 7:05 AM
Just telling the Truth on you, matey!
At least the “Milluh” does not slap you down in public as recently witnessed when your boss lady of a bitch embarrassed you so openly by disparagingly referring to the tourism slogan as a pure piece of crap that should not have been entertained “bout hey” in the first place.
Miller
yes sir – i am aware that it was around for a number of years if not decades. like most things in barbados.
what does that have to do with anything?IT does not answer a single question i asked you – just shifting to take the redness out of your face?
Even worse Miller…there is no telling what deep sea drilling can do to damage the fragile coral rock that is the island even though it will probably take place miles offshore, but that is some very heavy and powerful equipment…but i ain’t know deep sea explorer and only saw videos.
….ah wonder if the Fowl knows something about that, learned in class and saying nothing….just like with the coral reefs….
@ john2 June 3, 2021 10:22 AM
Miller
yes sir – i am aware that it was around for a number of years if not decades. like most things in barbados. (Unquote).
So why are you cussing daily the previous half of the BDLP duopoly by perennially attacking poor Mari?
Mariposa aka angela cox is representative of the other side of the same yard-fowl spinning coin on which you represent the reverse.
Your side wearing the red jersey is just continuing where the blue jersey side left off. Just look at the Auditor General reports!
How about the Maloney boy who finds himself eternally torn between two lovers wearing blue, yellow and red lipstick?
Milluh
Slap me down? The PM has her opinion and I have mine, as has always been the case. My position hasn’t changed with regard to the slogan, which brings your claim about me into question. Keep trying.
Abigail
Not a clue I have, so tell BU how deep sea drilling will adversely impact the island’s geology. 🤷🏾♂️
Miller
Keep running all over the place!
What does the questions i ask you have to do with anything between me and mari or the SEIMIC (not drilling) exploration for oil?
like mari you need to get your facts straight before publishing
AS for shell dropping hydrocarbon for energy production
do u understand that shell is still not dropping oil just only for energy probduction?
do u understand that the bigger oil giant exon just found a ton of oil/gas off guyana and is still looking for more ?
why is that if oil is going out of existence by 2031?
Like mari you type a whole roll to sound good but dont know what you were talking about. i suggest you stick to Mia red bag and Maloney erection repetitions
@ john2June 3, 2021 11:02 AM
What can we say to you, johnny?
Maybe we should just pose a simple straightforward question to you.
Do you accept the ‘science’ behind the claim of global warming caused mainly by the burning of fossil fuels?
If not, then tell us what is the sense behind your red administration’s ‘copied’ decision to carry on the baton of alternative energy to replace the current consumption of imported oil?
Why talk about electric powered vehicles to replace the current ICE-powered vehicles by 2030?
Why invest millions in alternative energy sources like solar, wind and wave?
Why not wait on the oil bonanza just sitting offshore?
The world is looking to wean itself off oil.
Who the hell do you think would be keen to buy the heavy crude Barbados is known for (no gas deposits) and for which the BNOCL can never find a willing refinery for a buyer in a energy market that is moving away crude.
Miller
When last have you seen me CUSSING mari/ac? I respond to her in kind !
Miller
The same company that is doing the exploration ! Do you think they are doing it just because they can? Do you think they spent $6M USA to play in Barbados waters? Or are they fishing? what does WE have to lose if they fine oil/gas/none?
but i ain’t NO deep sea explorer and only saw videos.
why don’t you google it and this time DON’T KEEP THE INFORMATION TO YASELF…
you could have saved the coral reefs if only ya had told Mia what you knew, unless she don’t listen to you…
i did my part by posting what i saw at the former NYC Hall of Science… on BU more than once….
angela cox June 2, 2021 12:57 PM #: “Wastewater and sewage enter aquatic systems from sources ranging from surface runoff and septic systems to wastewater treatment facilities and storm drain outfalls……………..”
The Effects of Sewage on Aquatic Ecosystems
Updated November 28, 2018
By Karen G Blaettler
https://sciencing.com/effects-sewage-aquatic-ecosystems-21773.html
Just a little friendly advice for the “investigative reporter.” When copy and pasting other people’s work, you should at least cite the source of your information.
If you don’t, then, you are essentially giving the impression the views expressed in the article are your own original thoughts, when they are not.
@ john2 June 3, 2021 11:34 AM
You run the big risk of losing your bread and butter industry in which Barbados has a natural comparative advantage.
Have you ever heard about management finance strategies like investment tax write-offs and intangible-drilling-cost deductions?
Maybe you can call upon your parrot to chime in. After all, he is also a guru on all matters of finance and accounting nature.
While the all-knowing pimp is at it, maybe he can advise the current MoF how to go about recouping the taxes and duties waived by his and her predecessor on a vehicle being driven around Barbados by a ghost called the “Sales Director” of an imaginary hotel.
That recovered money can go a long way in helping to pay the staff at the Covid confinement centre at North Point.
Now if you were my fowl, i would do a whole lot more than just giving ya “bitch slap” which ya may enjoy…..ah would fire ya fowl tail for CAUSING ME THE EMBARRASSMENT OF THE CENTURY by withholding crucial information that could have saved the coral reefs and me from looking STUPID……watch muh nuh….
All over the place and still did not answer one question
Go sit on the malmoney erection that You like takling about ..
@ John 2June 3, 2021 12:28 PM
And what question is that? If oil will be around in 2030?
Don’t ask the Milluh ask the MAM No.1.
She, he or it was the one who wants to see Barbados carbon-neutral with zero emissions by 2030; whereas the rest of the world has a less ambitious target of 2050.
So what will it going to be offshore by 2030? Artificial islands and wind turbines or oil rigs?
Why import electric buses when there are still diesel-powered vehicles far, far
cheaper which can use fuel made in Barbados?
All the answers to your other questions can be found ‘secreted’ in your MIA’s Big Red Bag. Even those concealed in the manifesto as extracted below.
Why don’t you go back sparring with Mari who is more up your street? Johnny, you are no longer fun.
GREEN ENERGY
• By 2030, transition Barbados to the first 100% green and carbon neutral island-state in the world. We will use Nexus policies and approaches to save money, be resource and operationally efficient, and effect economies of scope and scale.
This will require greater collaboration and integration across Government ministries and the island’s social and economic sectors.
• Require all Government vehicles and street lighting to run on clean energy by 2025.
• Give duty-free concessions to PSV operators to import vehicles powered by alternative energy sources.
• Incentivise the use of green energy by commercial properties within the time frame to meet national deadlines.
• Incentivise the use of clean energy vehicles by businesses and individuals.
• Introduce grid-tied and/or off-grid/standalone renewable energy systems at public schools and shelters to mitigate the effects of disasters due to climate change.
• Utilise a research and development framework that allows for domestic innovation of renewable technologies.
• Monitor the development of new technologies such as floating wind farms and OTEC to determine their suitability for Barbados.
https://www.theguardian.com/world/ng-interactive/2021/may/24/england-covid-travel-which-countries-are-on-the-green-amber-and-red-lists
I guess the Johnny (full of) #2 “plan” to ask the UK government to move Bim up to green on didn’t reach Whitehall…
Meanwhile Portugal has been moved off the green list.
Tourism expert calls for travel approval: https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/06/03/tourism-expert-calls-for-travel-approval/
Miller
Do you know the meaning to carbon neutral?
Where in Barbados if fuel from crude oil made ?
Which side of the island is the exploration for oil taking place? Which side of the island is best for wind turbines?
Is there other uses for crude oil beside producing energy?
If the rest of the world is gearing towards 2050 does that give time to sell any/some of any oil found in Barbados?
What is a better POTENTIAL FX earner then oil?
If commercial volumes of oil is found how much of it will be REFINED in Barbados and how much EXPORTED?
Do you believe that there will be No gas powered vehicle in Barbados in 2030?
Finally
Can the any data from any of the explorations be used in the consideration of buildings islands in the future?
Yes I will go back to my Mari and you go back on malmoney erection where ur most comfortable on
@John2,
I kept silent because I felt that you may have juxtaposition two words by accident. But I noticed that you have done it twice. Looks as if you are punching above your weight with clever use of the phrase ‘malmoney erection’.
A surprisingly good ball.
TheO
That copied from the Miller.
Good to know.
I started to move you up oñ my list, but now I know that my prior assessment is still correct.
Back to bowling alley.😀
its ok. Bowling ball does lick down (with one go) a lot of skittles and no batsman can hit the ball off the square dont mind how hard they try or how strong they are.
I see you still cannot read the ball out of the hand or off the pitch yet. N o wonder you dont know when to attack or defend and always getting bowled before you can make a stroke.
TheOGazertsJune 3, 2021 3:06 PM
@John2,
I kept silent because I felt that you may have juxtaposition two words by accident. But I noticed that you have done it twice. Looks as if you are punching above your weight with clever use of the phrase ‘malmoney erection’.
A surprisingly good ball
What two words
I noticed that he copied two of my words
Knowledgeable ignorance
Which u applied to his thought process
Well at this point I am thinking of suing him for copyright infringement If he doesn’t apologize
Xxxxx
But on a more serious note
When all is said and done and the rubber hits the road and mother nature has the last say
Mother nature way of explanation has been seen in the past two years
The environment belongs to nature and mankind cannot sit back and do as it pleases and not feel the negative ramifications
How on God’s given earth placing toxins in the ocean can be accepted under any circumstances
The Southwest sewer system was not properly built to service the additional homes and business
If one looks back to the time when the project was initiated one can see an area that was less developed
As usual the kuncklehead brainanics of the day only saw savings
Having lack of vision mounted a horse that now can only delivered half of a furlong instead of a mile
Politics once again takes charge of the problem
Reason why u have nincompoops like John2 repeating the same garbage over and over again
Millah some one has to speak about the environment
Hence I have no political side on that issue
If there is a side for me to pick
Hands down it would be within those Environmentalist groups that have a keen eye in protecting the environment
On occasions, one will read something on BU that will stop you in your tracks. I have just read John’s 2 contribution below in his exchange with Miller and was truly puzzled.
He stated:
“If the rest of the world is gearing towards 2050 does that give time to sell any/some of any oil found in Barbados?
What is a better POTENTIAL FX earner then oil?”
If the world is gearing up to jettison its dependency on oil, would it be prudent for Barbados to head in the opposite direction in the vain hope that it could sell off some of its untapped oil?
John’s 2 comments are revealing as it explains the muddled thinking, sorry sheer stupidity of those who govern us.
According to John2, we have a 29 year window to create and implement the necessary infrastructure in order to generate foreign exchange. This is insane short term and backward thinking.
“@ angela cox June 3, 2021 5:50 PM
Millah some one has to speak about the environment
Hence I have no political side on that issue
If there is a side for me to pick
Hands down it would be within those Environmentalist groups that have a keen eye in protecting the environment (Unquote).
We have noticed your consistent concern and enthusiasm when it comes to ecological environmental matters. You have earned your ‘green’ stripes.
But, but, ac we have no choice but Hobson’s when it comes the environment.
Can’t you see that the Johnny No.2 is not only an environmental terrorist but a ‘red-painted’ dinosaur when it comes to climate change awareness?
How can that jack for a john ever argue that fossil fuels have a future on this fast warming planet especially in a small island developing state like Barbados already prone to extremely vulnerable ecological and environmental challenges?
Mankind’s love affair with the burning of fuel or oil from hydrocarbons as a major source of energy must come to an end.
What it took Mother Nature millions of years to remove from the atmosphere modern man is returning to the same atmosphere in less than 300 years of ‘wasteful’ industrial activities and fossil-fuel-burning engine-driven forms of transport.
All humans need both fresh air and clean water to survive unless they can quickly ‘evolve’ into cyborgs.
Millah
All humans inluding plant and animal life need both fresh air and clean water to survive unless they can quickly ‘evolve’ into cyborgs
Xx
Miller i added two more species to your well put comments
Xxxxxxxxlook at the garbage collection and the absorbent fees to buy garbage trucks
But having no place to store or get rid of the garbage in an environmental friendly way
Been hearing people stating that the garbage collection has slowed down
Having a keen eye on the environment and knowing that the cells are filled to capacity
The only option would be to slow down collection in order to keep the cells at the maximum level allowed presently
Which makes for question
When will govt do the right thing and find a source by (which )when garbage is collected it can stored and dispose of in an environmental friendly manner
TSLN
Are there any other products made from crude?
The 2030 and 2050 guidlines are for
usuning crude for Energy
Please please please
Go learb the meaning of Carbon neutral
TSNL
Does itmake sense fir Guyana with so much Oil that is already Found ti be still exploring?
How much money Will Barbados have to invest and how much Will it gain if Can only sell SOME / 10 year of oil?
These are the one that Call for diversifting the Economy?
Something that Barbados wont have ti spendere one cent on and just collect royalties and Them against it?
The is if Oil is fiound?
Miller and Mari
The computer/ phone that u have be on all
Day to male the part ro building it and to g’et rid of it Will cause some degree of polution. Why do u Buy and use them ?
Radiation is given off from them that May male u sick etc
@ John2 June 3, 2021 7:10 PM
We can always make ‘good’ use of the bitumen for the roads to accommodate electric-powered vehicles without having to burn it.
The only ‘crude’ product you will be missing is the petroleum jelly.
Not even the Milluh would be bothered since there will be No Mal(m)oney erection to sit on.
Just you wait and see if the Hyatt invisible lighthouse will turn into a Priapus or a flaccid Sisyphus.
When you shit and you are in the sewered area you are contributing to the pollution of the sea – so cut it out.
And if you are using a pit toilet you are polluting the ground water also – so cut that out also.
if you burn it the you are polluting the air – so cut that out also
Man you outdid yourself…
😆😆😆😂
“The only ‘crude’ product you will be missing is the petroleum jelly.
Not even the Milluh would be bothered since there will be No Mal(m)oney erection to sit on.”
😆😂🤭
There May be some In the red bag that he Can borrow
Another black eye for lil barbados
Inept govt
Harrison Cave
A promise is a comfort to a fool
Xxccc
UPGRADES STALLED
NEW MANAGEMENT COMPANY SAYS IMPROVEMENTS AT HARRISON’S CAVE DELAYED
BY PANDEMIC
Barbados’ famed attraction Harrison’s Cave will re-open to the public in a month, but without any of the promised $9 million upgrades.
Chukka Caribbean Adventures, Jamaica’s largest nature adventure tour operator took over the management of the attraction effective December 1, 2020, with management promising a multimillion dollar investment to transform the Harrison’s Cave into a once-in-a-lifetime experience for locals and visitors.
While no timeline was given for the upgrade, recent research by Barbados TODAY revealed that the promised phase one redevelopment plan at the St Thomas location that would include new features such as an interactive green monkey experience, a suspended aerial walkway and a canopy zipline had not been done over the past several months to coincide with its reopening.
Some tourism industry players have raised concern about the lack of promised development at the location, questioning why the company did not take the “down time” during the pandemic to upgrade the facility.
They have also questioned why no date had been announced for the reopening of the island’s major tourist attraction despite government declaring that the island was again open for visitors.
“We were looking forward to seeing at least a start to those developments. We are planning to reopen the country to tourism again and if what you are saying is right, that the planned investments have not taken place yet, then that is unacceptable,” said one industry player, who did not want to be named.
“I would think that after all the hype about this new company coming to run the cave that they would use the ‘down period’ to carry out the upgrades. Also, when will the facility re-open to the public?” he said.
Barbados TODAY reached out to Country Manager of CHUKKA Barbados Andrea Franklin, and in a statement on Thursday she promised that the St Thomas attraction would re-open on July 2, 2021, “in time for the start of summer”.
Franklin said the re-opening was timed to support the relaunch of the tourism sector for the 2021 summer period and allow the operation to slowly ramp up in time for the upcoming winter season.
“The team is looking forward to welcoming Barbadians and visitors back to the cave after having been closed since March 23, 2020 due to COVID-19,” she said.
She said the reservations process will begin by the middle of this month, and open with a staff complement of approximately 40 people, made up of over 50 per cent from Caves of Barbados Ltd (CBL), the former operators of the attraction.
She further explained that the operation will restart with a three-day schedule, as they closely monitor the gradual return of visitors to the island.
“As the demands of the business dictate, we will review this schedule but we are hopeful that by the start of the upcoming winter season we can be close to the operational schedule that we have been accustomed to before the pandemic and this can then be matched by an increase in staffing levels,” she said.
In relation to the planned investment, Franklin did not give a set date for when work begin, but would only say in the statement that the planned plant upgrade has been “delayed” due to the pandemic.
“However, work is expected to begin very shortly, and will proceed while the attraction continues to be open to the public,” she added.
One concerned tourism industry stalwart who did not want to be identified, said he suspected CHUKKA would not do anything until they see people start to come back to this country.
“I believe they are looking at just opening up the cave again as is and that defies the whole process,” he told Barbados TODAY in a recent interview.
“Obviously COVID has affected everybody, but the Government of Barbados on November 30, 2020, handed this lease over the CHUKKA, and we are now six months on and still nothing,” he said.
“I understand they will be opening the exact same way they closed. So we handed the national attraction on a platter to a foreign entity. I understand COVID has had an impact, but I think it should go back out to tender if they are going to open as the exact same thing . . . you can’t have your whole cake baked and iced and cut up for you and just handed to you on a platter,” he added.
Following a tendering process last year, CHUKKA Caribbean Adventures (Barbados) Ltd was chosen from among four contenders to manage the operations of Harrison’s Cave.
The Jamaica-based company was formed in 1983 and also operates nature-adventure attractions in their home base of Jamaica as well as Belize, Turks and Caicos and the Dominican Republic.
During a media update late last month, Chief Executive Officer of the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association (BHTA) Senator Rudy Grant said he was aware that land-based attractions were doing what they could to make the operations ready for the return of visitors, especially for the winter period.
“Our expectation is that by the winter season we will see most, if not all of those businesses back to operating again,” he said.
When asked to comment specifically on the state of readiness of the Harrison’s Cave location, Grant said with the cruise ships set to return by the middle of this month, that location was “getting ready to participate in the cruise business when it comes back”.
Stating that he had discussions with Franklin recently, Senator Grant said he was given the assurance that some refurbishment would take place to enhance that product offering.
“Our expectation is that we will see some aspect of that during the winter period. But once the cruise business restarts and business is starting to [pick up] I am told that Harrison’s Cave will be in operation,” Grant said then. (BT)
“The objective is to provide wi-fi access to visitors and locals under the Ministry’s Bridgetown Wi-Fi project.”.
That is the issue I have with Barbados.
Visitors always come first. Barbados has to see itself as a nation and first provide for it’s citizens. Citizens first and the visitors get to ride along (free or otherwise).
Reacting or planning based on the needs of visitors is not how a nation should develop. Citizens are people too.
Little citizens, Big visitors
I believe that having ’30 electoral’ district has worked against us . Our small size should have been an asset and allow us to solve issues and make plans on a national scale.
However, if we solve issues at a constituency level we will see an island as if it was patched together. Good roads, a reliable electric supply, and fresh water in some areas and St. Lucy sorely lacking in all.
Clearly, working at a constituency level will not profit the nation. Joseph’s brothers were envious of his patched coat of many colors. Are our Caribbean brothers still envious of us?
Hopefully, a lovable dictator will come along who will put the nation and it’s citizens first.
Allow me to tell you that I have a beautiful picture of Barbados in my mind.
There are a few things that we have to correct, but the foundation for prosperity is there. The recipe for success is a simple one
Honesty,
Transparency,
Treating people fairly,
Respect for each other, and a
Justice system that works
If we could employ these five principles we could have a little heaven.
I may criticize but that is because I can see the Garden of Eden and I am not satisfied with where we are or where we are going.
Someone once indicated that when the British were in control, the affairs of the island were better managed.
If my memory serves me correctly, the race of leadership then and now came into the discussion.
It is not a problem of race. There are three reasons why we are failing..
1) Previously, local officials had to fear intervention by the British if wrong was done
2) The two party system gifted to us by the British introduced an artificial divide. Now a party must ensure that it supporters are rewarded above those of the other party if they want to regain power.
Please do not draw me into a discussion of if it is a two-party or n-party system.
3) This artificial divide is further strengthened by these little pockets called constituencies. I am willing to bet that somewhere in Barbados there is a map with at least 16 of the constituencies shaded differently from others. Everyone knows that getting 16 is more important than getting 30.
The British left us with a divide and rule political system. One must wonder if this was accidental.
How do we get out of this bind?
How do we move beyond personality politics?
Why do we elect some folks over and over, yet the island/constituency show no progress? Kellman represented St Lucy for decades and the parish was neglected by both parties for decades.
Why does so call educated black leaders neglect their own people? Corruption/bribes cannot be the only answer. It takes a poverty of mind and spirit to ensure generational poverty in your own family. Surely, we are examples of miseducation.
If the systems we inherited worked for the ‘British’, what must we do to jump start them and have them worked again?
Another raised this point. Are we engaged in meaningful work or are we following rituals. Is the AG report just a left over from past times? Is it useful or should we just pay the AG and tell him don’t turn up for work -make it a no-show/no-report job.
Why is an island with an abundance of lawyers slow in defending the poor. How can we have the speed of a bullet in some cases and of a snail in others.
If you are on BU for any length of time, you should be aware that many of our systems are failing.
How do we solve these problems?Pointing out that other countries have a similar problems or that the other half of the duopoly did it is not the answer.
Here is an example of a leader beginning to wake up, but if Antigua is like Barbados ……
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/06/04/antiguan-pm-blames-curriculum-for-lost-investment-opportunities/
let them continue raising and maintaining yardfowls/Slaves and see how far it gets them, someone will make money creating a comedy show about their inane stupidity…..they already debut as laughing stocks..
i know the young can tell them go to hell….they don’t need them…
“If the systems we inherited worked for the ‘British’, what must we do to jump start them and have them worked again?”
so who will be the Slaves this time?
who will be robbed this time around?
who will be discriminated against this time around?
surely not African descendants…been there, done that, for the last 54 years…
it’s a colonial system…someone gotta be the colonizer and those who are deemed inferior, the victims, to suck the life out of…the slave society must be abolished.
Miller….look, forward thinkers…
“Jamaica government seeking to overhaul marijuana regulations
Article by
KINGSTON – The Jamaica government said it is working towards overhauling the interim regulations governing the cannabis industry.
State Minister for Industry, Investment and Commerce, Dr. Norman Dunn said the measures enacted six years ago are no longer appropriate for the fast-growing industry.
“They require a complete rework, and we are now set at the Ministry to work assiduously to change this,” he said.
“If we don’t change it and everywhere opens up apart from us, we are going to be completely left behind…We will not be able to compete adequately in this multimillion-dollar global industry.”
Dunn, who was speaking at a webinar hosted by the Jamaica National Agency for Accreditation (JANAAC), said when the regulations were enacted six years ago, they were appropriate at the time, as “the government had to move cautiously in how it rolled out the new industry”.
“But the world is moving very fast as far as the opening up of this industry is concerned and, therefore, we have to now change gear,” he said.
“How we position ourselves will better enable Jamaica to tap into the multimillion-dollar global industry.”
“America’s gun obsession is rooted in slavery
Carol Anderson”
http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2021/jun/04/america-gun-obsession
@wura,
You have no confidence in your fellowman?
Surely we can pick the good and leave what is bad.
All is bad is the easy reply. Don’t go there.
ya not listening…get your head out of the free enterprise society in the US for a minute, unless you plan to transplant it to Barbados, because they have never had it. …but those in the parliament love the way US does things, ask Donville, but not to apply to the majority population on the island.
IT’S A COLONIAL SYSTEM….there must be a colonizer and a slave master and the oppressed, suppressed, disenfranchised etc. that’s how the system is set up, so how will you run it with all those systems/STRUCTURES STILL IN PLACE inclusive of slave laws and slave codes……and a judiciary that dispenses INJUSTICE to Black people, send Mia a memo, do a PLT…
ISN’T THAT WHAT WE HAVE BEEN COMPLAINING ABOUT FOR YEARS…
think…
Why do you think the youths as SO ANGRY.
am not one to give any ideas, but i invite everyone else to…can’t wait to read them..
TheO
The Two party system was giftes to u’s by the British ?
@John2
Who did Barbados get its independence/constitution from?
Some body says Chapman lane stinks from some type of waste or effulent in the canal
Canals also takes purified waste from treatment plants but the water has to comply with strict cleanliness standards
But because of the lack of transparency and Accountability on environmental issues in Barbados
The source or nature of what has caused the nauseating scent in the Chapman street Canal would never been known
Relying on govt issue statements would be a waste of time
And that’s why i not only cut down on reading some posts, but answering some so they don’t keep going around and around in circles and taking me with them..
…..when the fowls could now believe that they created the toxic two-party political system of corruption and yardfowlism ….ya done know ALL IS LOST….they definitely had a hand in making it that worse..
.they created NOTHING, have no constitution, have no independence created by them, have limited sovereignty, even the tourism was handed to them, they won’t know how to create anything wholesome by the mere fact that they held on to their destruction this long, and now don’t even know where it came from…..and they will continue to pass that ignorance and know nothingism on to each successive generation going forward…
no wonder the SLAVE SOCIETY SYSTEM IS STILL HOLDING STRONG..
Theo…i guess you now understand certain things.
Thankfully the younger generation will NOW TAKE CHARGE..
so the old colonial Slaves can sit their asses right down..
TheO
EWB may not agree with you on “gifted”.
YOUR Two party was in place before independence.
Where in the constitution is a two party system?
How come at least 5 different parties contested the last election?
Please do not come with two parties as in a government and an opposition from two different parties because like for the first time we had a clean sweep we could have also ended up with a collation government/opposition.
@John2
Two points..
Note that as part of my post I stated
(1) “Please do not draw me into a discussion of if it is a two-party or n-party system.”
The n- could be any number. I saw you coming even before you made a move.
(2) Say whatever you want.. everything on the island came from the British; call it gifted, transferred, inherited or whatever you like.
In our narration of our history we take pygmies and make them into giants. I remember when some joker talked about our ‘founding fathers’ and the constitution. Some clerk in some office in Britain took some papers out of some boxed and handed them to EWB and other leaders to tweak.
I may have minimized the contribution of EWB and others, but I had to counterbalance the incredible weight on your end.
TheO
Maybe You should have just left off the “2”
And the reference to one party vs the next
“The political system “ May have been better
But i understand
Reposting cause I dont know what happened just now
Old friends and enemies of even older timbre
I Piece the Prophet bid ye all greetings from here on the Mountain where I am blessed with Vision.
Supreme Commander Theophillus Gazzerts I see that you (and others) have continued to fight the good fight against the many who persist to promote silly commentary to support Mugabe Mottley or restore the Demonic Lying Pimps
De ole man sees dat de paling cocks and cox remains and retains her patent on idiotic ramblings across her multiple personalities and single password Barbados Underground profile.
But that is consistent with the pronouncement that “the poor” or in her case the ignorant “will be with you always”
I will continue to watch as the saga unfolds and Mugabe Mottley carries the once rising nation of Barbados into perdition or until its citizenry wake up and direct their own destinies.
Suffering is a necessary part of becoming aware of the freedom one has lost, and Mugabe Mottley is going to make an entire population suffer greatly before the Sheeple wake up
De ole man salutes you and all others who are still in the trenches fighting this enemy of the nation
De ole man will watch from this distance and periodically hail you and others up as instructed.
@ Greetings Piece,
Is this your spirit speaking? Are you still in the present?
Piece…where the hell were you, ya neglecting ya duties..
All Hail to the minister of the environment after sitting idly by overseeing the destruction of the reefs finds a voice indicative of a political kuncklehead
All hail to him finally awakening after the destruction and heralding a phase of correction which will cost taxpayers money
All Hail to another one of govt elected numbskulls
Heads ought to roll
Piece crawl.from under de rock to talk sh.it
Man guh back wherever de hell.yuh was hiding
Good grief
Peace and out
The Minister of the maritime says that govt would undertake directives that would control the docking of cruise ships in sensitive areas where the docking can cause damage to the coral reefs
Barbados Coral reefs are now in further declined because of a govt policy
Recently the minister of maritime said that govt is in talks with the cruise line industry for compensation to the destruction
What should be of focus along with govt new docking directives is how much govt is seeking in compensation for these damaged reefs
The new policy well intentional should not be a one stop band aid for the reefs but one which govt must extended long and hard towards the Cruise line industry seeking compensation for the damage reefs
Barbados, a world-renowned tourism destination, is one of the “million-dollar reef” countries. Nearly 40 percent of employment, and of total economic activity on the island, is related to tourism. And the vast majority of tourism in Barbados happens along its coasts, on beaches and near coral reefs. However, as in many other coastal destinations, coastal and marine resources are under the intense pressures described above.
How can Barbados expect tourists to react as reefs degrade, beaches become narrower and seawater quality declines—and as risk of tropical storms and hurricanes increases? Would tourists spend as much money in Barbados as before or might they stop coming altogether?
@Piece
It is always good to see the Courageous Leader.
It is always good to see you.
Things like the mathematical constant pi or the relationship between energy, mass and the speed of light never change.
So too is Angela Cox, a dependable foe of the Mugabites.
What does this mean? Time and money wasted..
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/06/05/soldier-walks-free-from-army-hearing/
Looks like ac and the minister agrees on saving the coral reefs
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/06/05/west-and-south-coasts-designated-marine-managed-areas/
John2
Where are you
Wrong on reef too
Little island, Big Sunday
A happy and glorious Sunday to all Bajans and Barbados.
I had to travel to NYC over the weekend and as frustrating as it was to go over the George Washington Bridge I can tell you, traffic jams are back.
This may be slightly off but you will get my point “Sweet are the uses of adversity”.
Hoping that you reach the stage where you get back to normal.
HAGD, Barbados
TheO
No sir!
The conditions of the near shore water and reefs AROUND THE SEWERED AREA improved after the commencement of the sewage treatment plants. Bridgetown plant was in the 80s and the south in the late 90s (i think)
You have to ask yourself:
1. Over what period of time is the minister talking about?
2. what are the factors that is causing the degradation around the whole island?
I noticed the minister gave runoff as one reason – and this could be the main reason why it is island wide. Another contributing factor can the great increase in tourist (south and west coast mainly)
So come again!
Increase use of weedicide and pesticides (chemicals) as well as sediments in the runoff would be my main suspect.
African Unity? https://youtu.be/fmfnESznb90