The Barbados government recently launched the Little Island Big Barbados campaign and immediately those responsible are having to defend against a torrent of criticism from the public. The thrust of the concern: the campaign is a tired concept several islands have used to promote tourism for which Barbados is whispered to have forked out $700,000.00.

In the blog BLP and DLP Cancer of Adversarial Politics the blogmaster raised concerns that are applicable in this case. 

Yesterday the Reverend Guy Hewitt (also see: Is Guy Hewitt the Way, Truth and Light for the DLP?) was featured in the news in clarion voice calling for the resignation of Minister of Tourism Lisa Cummins. The good Reverend as spokesman for the DLP- our government in waiting- has the right to call for the resignation of Cummins. If we want to promote a culture of high performance built on meritocracy, when mistakes are made or persons perform poorly, there should be consequences. Although the facts of the matter have not been disclosed to the public – pending an internal investigation by Chairman of the BTMI Roseanne Myers – there is enough smoke to the story to suggest public concerns are valid given the large sum allegedly disbursed for the campaign.

Source: DLP St. Andrew Facebook Page

A takeaway from the imbroglio for the blogmaster is the use of the resignation tactic by politicians on both sides of the aisle. It was not too long ago the incumbent Attorney General (AG) Dale Marshall called for the resignation of then AG Adriel Brathwaite. There were calls for the resignation of Michael Carrington to resign as Speaker of the House Assembly the revelation he had to pass around a hat to collect donations to make good on a client’s monies owed. The blogmaster joined strident calls for Denis Lowe to resign after the Cahill Expose. Fast forward to the present there have been calls for Dale Marshall over concerns about crime, before that it was Wilfred Abrahams and the sordid practice by GIS staffers to emotionally and physically abuse detainees at the GIS, whomever is responsible for the fiasco at Barbados Revenue Authority re car registrations and the latest Lisa Cummins to step down or be fired. They all survived the job. No doubt when the dust is settled so too will Lisa Cummins, one of those Mottley has pencilled in on her succession plan.

A critical examination of the way recent governments have operated in Barbados is that firing has not been a go to option. The calls from political talking heads for opposite members to resign is all about generating froth to feed a perception of relevance in the eyes of a disengaged and unsophisticated electorate. One has to go back to Arthur’s obvious firing of George Payne and Elizabeth Thompson to find good examples of ministerial sackings. Some may offer that a reshuffle is a form of demotion given the pecking order of some ministries, it is not a firing.

In the climate of adversarial politics the DLP is doing what the system allows for a political party to seek traction and visibility in the eyes of the public. Especially two years out from a general election.

743 responses to “Little Island Big Cabinet”

1. Cuhdear BajanJune 2, 2021 7:05 PM

@angela cox June 1, 2021 7:24 PM “Marine biology takes years of training and because of his knowledgeable ignorance he could not launch a fight against the PM decision.”

Even while it may be true that the Minister has no training in marine biology–and indeed a Minister is not necessarily expected to be an expert in the Ministry he oversees–I am absolutely certain that there are marine biology experts, with years and years of training and experience currently on he payroll of the government of Barbados, and others also available in Caricom.
    Xxxxxc
    Simply put he was not able to influence govt decision
    The sad part him now having to use a defensive posture to save govt face

2. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

And speaking of Caricom, what is going on in Belize?

Wish that Hal was here to help me out.

But maybe one of the other British gentlemen can help?

3. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Miller…everything has come full circle…

they are in for a shock and they don’t know when, the longer it takes THE BIGGER…

4. The sewer plant was built with the intent of addressing those problems
    The question which u need to ask self
    Is if the objections with the intent of finding resolution to all those problems spoken of before has been done
    My critical eyes says No giving the past evidence of sh.it which overflowed in the street and the continuation of effluent pumped in the ocean

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcxxxxxxxxxxx

What Were the problems the South coast plant was build to address?

T

5. My critical eyes says No giving the past evidence of sh.it which overflowed in the street and the continuation of effluent pumped in the ocean

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

The shit was flowing In the streets because of the lack of maintenance / money

The effluent was alway intended to be desposed of In the sea

6. PM

@ Enuff June 2, 2021 4:57 PM

So why then is your silly short-sighted red eye administration encouraging the offshore drilling for heavy crude oil which is totally out of sync with a zero carbon policy agenda by 2030?

Because of global warming the world is weaning itself off oil. So why do Bajan politicians feel that there will be economic babies out there to sell carbon to?

Even the oil giant Shell is about to dump hydrocarbons from its portfolio of energy sources.
    Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcxcc

Miller

Are You not aware of other products/by products from Oil?

Did you not read the exploration is not y’et DRILLING ( possibility it May never g’et there) ?

Did you not read that the testing Will be fir Oil and GAS.? Will we be cooking by solar In 2030?

Are u aware of any reef In the area of SEISMIC exploration?

Are you aware that there is something valles heavy crude and another light crude?

7. John2

The effluent was alway intended to be desposed of In the sea
    Xxxcccccc

Is that your defense of policy
    A policy that over years of marine biology scientific research shows the negative consequences to marine and plant life
    Also to humans
    What are u trying to defend

8. Mari

Both the bridgetown and South Were designed for the effluent to discharged into the sea

Enviromental Engineers had a say

Both plants are beneficial to near shore life than the conditions that existed before they Were put into operation

U dont have to tale my Word
    There are enviromential and marine biologist and LocalTalk divers that Will tell You the same

9. John2June 2, 2021 9:59 PM

Mari

Both the bridgetown and South Were designed for the effluent to discharged into the sea

Enviromental Engineers had a say

Both plants are beneficial to near shore life than the conditions that existed before they Were put into operation

U dont have to tale my Word
    There are enviromential and marine biologist and LocalTalk divers that Will tell You the same
    Çccxcccc

How many years ago was that assessment given
    Between that time period and now various research has been done
    Also laws toughen to protect all areas of the environment that are critical to human plant and sea life
    So your telling me about guideline or assessments back then does not correspondence to what is being said and done now presently

10. Anyone that thinks that the need for crude oil is going away is severely misinformed and carried away with the ‘green’ talk.

Maybe you will sell yuh rights fuh cheap and then later realise what yuh sold.

11. Mari

What Were the problems that Lead to the buiilding of the South plant?

12. Is there a difference in the damaged caused by treated sewage and untreated sewage?

Where do developed countries dispose of their treated sewage?

13. Donna

Where do developed countries dispose of their treated sewage?

Xxccccccccc

What we do know is the science and procedure and technology being used in those international countries
    Their methods are transparent and monitored by Environmentalist
    In small islands the politics on these issues clouds the truth hence only what govt says people can rely on

14. John2June 3, 2021 5:13 AM

Mari

What Were the problems that Lead to the buiilding of the South plant?

XxxxcccHow many times are u going to ask that question
    I already made comment on that
    What u refuse to realize is that the reasons given for building the plant are now being felt by marine plant and other forms of sea life that protect the environment
    This is an issue that goes way beyond protecting the politics of the day but underscored the dangers of the environment and it’s betterment for a good quality of life for mankind

15. The ideal situation is to build a Tertiary treatment plant which is costly. Barbados is not the only country, developed ncluded which allow secondary treatment wastage to flow into the environment”. Note the word secondary.

16. John2
    Don’t bother with Milluh, if I say butter he gotta say fat. Recently I spoke about carbon off-setting and the man jumped out of his whole self to talk about carbon trading. He and Abigail should stay clear of certain discussions with me. Stick to calling me the $1B PR fraud and liar.🤣🤣

17. Mari

You never gave one Reason for the building of the sewage plant. You talk all around it But not one reason.

You are so lost.. the only politiks In the discussion is coming from You .

International enviromentalist Will tell You that both sewage plants are benifical to marine life and Ground water In the effected areas. The LocalTalk divers Can tell You about the improvement of marine life since the building of the plants

Local residents/ hotels/visitors Can tell You about the Gerard reduction nightly stench coming from sucking off septic tanks. BWA / ministry of Health Can tell You about the improvement of the Ground and sea water

18. Wastewater and sewage enter aquatic systems from sources ranging from surface runoff and septic systems to wastewater treatment facilities and storm drain outfalls. Every year about 3.5 million Americans get sick from recreational activities like swimming and boating because the water is contaminated. Many don’t connect their illness with the water they touched. The impact of water pollution on aquatic ecosystems extends far beyond human illness, however. (
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXxxxx

You problem is that you read WASTWATER TREATMENT FACILITIES and think that all effluent discharge into any water body will cause pollution ,
    Yes there will be some pollution but it will be restricted to around the area of the out fall where the effluent comes out the pipes and mixes with the sear water. After that the effluent becomes diluted and disposed of by the currents ( the solution to pollution is dilution / reuse).

Septic systems is what we had on the south coast before the sewerage, THIS IS THE PROBLEM THAT I KEPT ASKING YOU ABOUT – the fact that you never brought it up showed me that you didnt know what you were talking about,

Beside the odours problems the seepage from the septic tanks was contaminating the ground water as well as the nearshore sea water – which was effecting the marine life/biology.

Since the introduction of the sewerage system the problems has been reduced considerable and an improvement in live on land and marine life can be observed.

But do not take my word investigate – both locals and internationals

19. Yes there will be some pollution but it will be restricted to around the area of the out fall where the effluent comes out the pipes and mixes with the sear water. After that the effluent becomes diluted and disposed of by the currents ( the solution to pollution is dilution / reuse

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXxxx

This is refering to barbados situation. and regarding the amount of effluent into the big wide opened ocean as compared to the amount you would get from and amercian plant going into a river /water body.

20. @ John2 June 2, 2021 8:25 PM

Are you aware that this so-called proposed oil exploration programme which both you and your parrot Enuff are pushing as an initiative by your current red administration has been around for donkey (y)ears?

Why not ask your Nemesis Mari aka angela cox what ever became of the US$ 6 million ‘Signature Bonus’ allegedly received from the same Oil speculator since 2012 under the her DLP administration?

Crude Oil and its by-products like plastic have no ‘bright’ future in a fast warming-up globe especially that kind of very heavy crude which can be found in small pockets onshore and offshore the Barbados geological hump in the Atlantic Ocean.

Even the other blind fool Enuff is looking forward in a few years to seeing electric-powered and solar-powered airplanes landing at GAIA bringing hundreds of thousands of pale skin people looking to sun-tan on beaches which are fast disappearing because of the destruction of coral reefs, pollution from the land and imaginary offshore oil rigs.

Listen up stupid boys, just like how oil and water don’t mix neither do oil drilling and petroleum production activities mix with your main forex-earning business called tourism in one of the most ecologically and environmentally vulnerable places on the planet called the Caribbean archipelago.

How can you talk about pushing a carbon–neutral and alternative energy agenda by 2030 but also talk from the same mouth about producing one of the biggest sources of pollution and contributors to global warming?

21. @ Enuff June 3, 2021 7:05 AM

Just telling the Truth on you, matey!

At least the “Milluh” does not slap you down in public as recently witnessed when your boss lady of a bitch embarrassed you so openly by disparagingly referring to the tourism slogan as a pure piece of crap that should not have been entertained “bout hey” in the first place.

22. Miller

yes sir – i am aware that it was around for a number of years if not decades. like most things in barbados.

23. what does that have to do with anything?IT does not answer a single question i asked you – just shifting to take the redness out of your face?

24. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Even worse Miller…there is no telling what deep sea drilling can do to damage the fragile coral rock that is the island even though it will probably take place miles offshore, but that is some very heavy and powerful equipment…but i ain’t know deep sea explorer and only saw videos.

….ah wonder if the Fowl knows something about that, learned in class and saying nothing….just like with the coral reefs….

25. @ john2 June 3, 2021 10:22 AM
    Miller
    yes sir – i am aware that it was around for a number of years if not decades. like most things in barbados. (Unquote).

So why are you cussing daily the previous half of the BDLP duopoly by perennially attacking poor Mari?

Mariposa aka angela cox is representative of the other side of the same yard-fowl spinning coin on which you represent the reverse.

Your side wearing the red jersey is just continuing where the blue jersey side left off. Just look at the Auditor General reports!

How about the Maloney boy who finds himself eternally torn between two lovers wearing blue, yellow and red lipstick?

26. Milluh
    Slap me down? The PM has her opinion and I have mine, as has always been the case. My position hasn’t changed with regard to the slogan, which brings your claim about me into question. Keep trying.

Abigail
    Not a clue I have, so tell BU how deep sea drilling will adversely impact the island’s geology. 🤷🏾‍♂️

27. Miller

Keep running all over the place!
    What does the questions i ask you have to do with anything between me and mari or the SEIMIC (not drilling) exploration for oil?

like mari you need to get your facts straight before publishing

AS for shell dropping hydrocarbon for energy production
    do u understand that shell is still not dropping oil just only for energy probduction?
    do u understand that the bigger oil giant exon just found a ton of oil/gas off guyana and is still looking for more ?
    why is that if oil is going out of existence by 2031?

Like mari you type a whole roll to sound good but dont know what you were talking about. i suggest you stick to Mia red bag and Maloney erection repetitions

28. @ john2June 3, 2021 11:02 AM

What can we say to you, johnny?

Maybe we should just pose a simple straightforward question to you.

Do you accept the ‘science’ behind the claim of global warming caused mainly by the burning of fossil fuels?

If not, then tell us what is the sense behind your red administration’s ‘copied’ decision to carry on the baton of alternative energy to replace the current consumption of imported oil?

Why talk about electric powered vehicles to replace the current ICE-powered vehicles by 2030?

Why invest millions in alternative energy sources like solar, wind and wave?

Why not wait on the oil bonanza just sitting offshore?

The world is looking to wean itself off oil.
    Who the hell do you think would be keen to buy the heavy crude Barbados is known for (no gas deposits) and for which the BNOCL can never find a willing refinery for a buyer in a energy market that is moving away crude.

29. Miller
    When last have you seen me CUSSING mari/ac? I respond to her in kind !

30. Miller

The same company that is doing the exploration ! Do you think they are doing it just because they can? Do you think they spent $6M USA to play in Barbados waters? Or are they fishing? what does WE have to lose if they fine oil/gas/none?

31. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

but i ain’t NO deep sea explorer and only saw videos.

why don’t you google it and this time DON’T KEEP THE INFORMATION TO YASELF…

you could have saved the coral reefs if only ya had told Mia what you knew, unless she don’t listen to you…

i did my part by posting what i saw at the former NYC Hall of Science… on BU more than once….

32. angela cox June 2, 2021 12:57 PM #: “Wastewater and sewage enter aquatic systems from sources ranging from surface runoff and septic systems to wastewater treatment facilities and storm drain outfalls……………..”

The Effects of Sewage on Aquatic Ecosystems

Updated November 28, 2018
    By Karen G Blaettler

https://sciencing.com/effects-sewage-aquatic-ecosystems-21773.html

Just a little friendly advice for the “investigative reporter.” When copy and pasting other people’s work, you should at least cite the source of your information.

If you don’t, then, you are essentially giving the impression the views expressed in the article are your own original thoughts, when they are not.

33. @ john2 June 3, 2021 11:34 AM

You run the big risk of losing your bread and butter industry in which Barbados has a natural comparative advantage.

Have you ever heard about management finance strategies like investment tax write-offs and intangible-drilling-cost deductions?

Maybe you can call upon your parrot to chime in. After all, he is also a guru on all matters of finance and accounting nature.

While the all-knowing pimp is at it, maybe he can advise the current MoF how to go about recouping the taxes and duties waived by his and her predecessor on a vehicle being driven around Barbados by a ghost called the “Sales Director” of an imaginary hotel.

That recovered money can go a long way in helping to pay the staff at the Covid confinement centre at North Point.

34. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Now if you were my fowl, i would do a whole lot more than just giving ya “bitch slap” which ya may enjoy…..ah would fire ya fowl tail for CAUSING ME THE EMBARRASSMENT OF THE CENTURY by withholding crucial information that could have saved the coral reefs and me from looking STUPID……watch muh nuh….

35. All over the place and still did not answer one question

Go sit on the malmoney erection that You like takling about ..

36. @ John 2June 3, 2021 12:28 PM

And what question is that? If oil will be around in 2030?

Don’t ask the Milluh ask the MAM No.1.

She, he or it was the one who wants to see Barbados carbon-neutral with zero emissions by 2030; whereas the rest of the world has a less ambitious target of 2050.

So what will it going to be offshore by 2030? Artificial islands and wind turbines or oil rigs?

Why import electric buses when there are still diesel-powered vehicles far, far
    cheaper which can use fuel made in Barbados?

All the answers to your other questions can be found ‘secreted’ in your MIA’s Big Red Bag. Even those concealed in the manifesto as extracted below.

Why don’t you go back sparring with Mari who is more up your street? Johnny, you are no longer fun.

GREEN ENERGY

• By 2030, transition Barbados to the first 100% green and carbon neutral island-state in the world. We will use Nexus policies and approaches to save money, be resource and operationally efficient, and effect economies of scope and scale.

This will require greater collaboration and integration across Government ministries and the island’s social and economic sectors.

• Require all Government vehicles and street lighting to run on clean energy by 2025.

• Give duty-free concessions to PSV operators to import vehicles powered by alternative energy sources.

• Incentivise the use of green energy by commercial properties within the time frame to meet national deadlines.

• Incentivise the use of clean energy vehicles by businesses and individuals.

• Introduce grid-tied and/or off-grid/standalone renewable energy systems at public schools and shelters to mitigate the effects of disasters due to climate change.

• Utilise a research and development framework that allows for domestic innovation of renewable technologies.

• Monitor the development of new technologies such as floating wind farms and OTEC to determine their suitability for Barbados.

37. https://www.theguardian.com/world/ng-interactive/2021/may/24/england-covid-travel-which-countries-are-on-the-green-amber-and-red-lists

I guess the Johnny (full of) #2 “plan” to ask the UK government to move Bim up to green on didn’t reach Whitehall…
    Meanwhile Portugal has been moved off the green list.

38. Miller

Do you know the meaning to carbon neutral?

Where in Barbados if fuel from crude oil made ?

Which side of the island is the exploration for oil taking place? Which side of the island is best for wind turbines?

Is there other uses for crude oil beside producing energy?

If the rest of the world is gearing towards 2050 does that give time to sell any/some of any oil found in Barbados?
    What is a better POTENTIAL FX earner then oil?
    If commercial volumes of oil is found how much of it will be REFINED in Barbados and how much EXPORTED?

Do you believe that there will be No gas powered vehicle in Barbados in 2030?

Finally

Can the any data from any of the explorations be used in the consideration of buildings islands in the future?

Yes I will go back to my Mari and you go back on malmoney erection where ur most comfortable on

39. @John2,
    I kept silent because I felt that you may have juxtaposition two words by accident. But I noticed that you have done it twice. Looks as if you are punching above your weight with clever use of the phrase ‘malmoney erection’.

A surprisingly good ball.

40. TheO

That copied from the Miller.

41. Good to know.
    I started to move you up oñ my list, but now I know that my prior assessment is still correct.

Back to bowling alley.😀

42. its ok. Bowling ball does lick down (with one go) a lot of skittles and no batsman can hit the ball off the square dont mind how hard they try or how strong they are.

43. I see you still cannot read the ball out of the hand or off the pitch yet. N o wonder you dont know when to attack or defend and always getting bowled before you can make a stroke.

44. TheOGazertsJune 3, 2021 3:06 PM

@John2,
    I kept silent because I felt that you may have juxtaposition two words by accident. But I noticed that you have done it twice. Looks as if you are punching above your weight with clever use of the phrase ‘malmoney erection’.

A surprisingly good ball

What two words
    I noticed that he copied two of my words
    Knowledgeable ignorance
    Which u applied to his thought process
    Well at this point I am thinking of suing him for copyright infringement If he doesn’t apologize

Xxxxx
    But on a more serious note
    When all is said and done and the rubber hits the road and mother nature has the last say
    Mother nature way of explanation has been seen in the past two years
    The environment belongs to nature and mankind cannot sit back and do as it pleases and not feel the negative ramifications
    How on God’s given earth placing toxins in the ocean can be accepted under any circumstances
    The Southwest sewer system was not properly built to service the additional homes and business
    If one looks back to the time when the project was initiated one can see an area that was less developed
    As usual the kuncklehead brainanics of the day only saw savings
    Having lack of vision mounted a horse that now can only delivered half of a furlong instead of a mile
    Politics once again takes charge of the problem
    Reason why u have nincompoops like John2 repeating the same garbage over and over again

45. Millah some one has to speak about the environment
    Hence I have no political side on that issue
    If there is a side for me to pick
    Hands down it would be within those Environmentalist groups that have a keen eye in protecting the environment

46. On occasions, one will read something on BU that will stop you in your tracks. I have just read John’s 2 contribution below in his exchange with Miller and was truly puzzled.

He stated:
    “If the rest of the world is gearing towards 2050 does that give time to sell any/some of any oil found in Barbados?
    What is a better POTENTIAL FX earner then oil?”

If the world is gearing up to jettison its dependency on oil, would it be prudent for Barbados to head in the opposite direction in the vain hope that it could sell off some of its untapped oil?

John’s 2 comments are revealing as it explains the muddled thinking, sorry sheer stupidity of those who govern us.

According to John2, we have a 29 year window to create and implement the necessary infrastructure in order to generate foreign exchange. This is insane short term and backward thinking.

47. “@ angela cox June 3, 2021 5:50 PM
    Millah some one has to speak about the environment
    Hence I have no political side on that issue
    If there is a side for me to pick
    Hands down it would be within those Environmentalist groups that have a keen eye in protecting the environment (Unquote).

We have noticed your consistent concern and enthusiasm when it comes to ecological environmental matters. You have earned your ‘green’ stripes.

But, but, ac we have no choice but Hobson’s when it comes the environment.

Can’t you see that the Johnny No.2 is not only an environmental terrorist but a ‘red-painted’ dinosaur when it comes to climate change awareness?

How can that jack for a john ever argue that fossil fuels have a future on this fast warming planet especially in a small island developing state like Barbados already prone to extremely vulnerable ecological and environmental challenges?

Mankind’s love affair with the burning of fuel or oil from hydrocarbons as a major source of energy must come to an end.

What it took Mother Nature millions of years to remove from the atmosphere modern man is returning to the same atmosphere in less than 300 years of ‘wasteful’ industrial activities and fossil-fuel-burning engine-driven forms of transport.

All humans need both fresh air and clean water to survive unless they can quickly ‘evolve’ into cyborgs.

48. Millah

All humans inluding plant and animal life need both fresh air and clean water to survive unless they can quickly ‘evolve’ into cyborgs
    Xx
    Miller i added two more species to your well put comments

Xxxxxxxxlook at the garbage collection and the absorbent fees to buy garbage trucks
    But having no place to store or get rid of the garbage in an environmental friendly way
    Been hearing people stating that the garbage collection has slowed down
    Having a keen eye on the environment and knowing that the cells are filled to capacity
    The only option would be to slow down collection in order to keep the cells at the maximum level allowed presently
    Which makes for question
    When will govt do the right thing and find a source by (which )when garbage is collected it can stored and dispose of in an environmental friendly manner

49. TSLN

Are there any other products made from crude?

The 2030 and 2050 guidlines are for
    usuning crude for Energy

Please please please

Go learb the meaning of Carbon neutral