BREAKING: Alex Tasker ordered extradited https://www.nationnews.com/2021/09/08/breaking-alex-tasker-ordered-extradited/

It is also a different version of how the story got out than what our own Attorney-General said last Thursday after the verdict was handed down. He said: “It is significant that the conviction came about because individuals who had knowledge of the events were prepared to speak out and to give evidence about wrongdoing.” The AG added: “This is something that is required at all levels in Barbados’ society whether dealing with the scourge of corruption or the scourge of gun violence.

Donville Inniss Case Points to Endemic Corruption in Barbados

The traditional media is off and running with the big headlines about the sentence federal District Court Judge Kiyo Matsumoto is scheduled to deliver today in New York in the Donville Inniss matter. It is the story traditional media will have a healthy appetite for because of flagging circulation.

Mia’s Red Bag has come up empty so far

The concern of the blogmaster confirmed in the deliberations during the Donville Inniss trial is the strong inference there is pervasive corrupt behaviour in the way business is conducted by some PUBLIC and PRIVATE officials in Barbados. Successive governments over the years have paid lip service to unearthing and punishing corruption even in the face of obvious indications of wrong doing. The Mia Mottley government is better placed than her predecessors given the unprecedented mandate handed to her government to do something about it. It is no secret however to those in the know that Donville and Mia are bosom buddies.

The following is a blog repost from January 20, 2020 which captures key concerns by the blogmaster, the late journalist Patrick Hoyos and the BU family.

Donville Inniss Case Points to Endemic Corruption in Barbados

The blogmaster found the Patrick Hoyos article to be – without prolix – a good summary of the Donville Inniss matter. Especially as it pertains to the inference other payments were made to Donville Inniss and that bribery by elected officials was commonplace in Barbados. Although we have the Attorney General et al saying that local laws would not have permitted prosecution of Inniss this position was challenged during the Inniss trial.

The blogmaster’s wish is that we have a dispassionate debate in Barbados and a call to action by our officials regarding the honest prosecution of public officials. It is ironic former Speaker of the House MICHAEL CARRINGTON and Adriel Brathwaite, former Attorney General showed support for Inniss by attending the trial in New York. CARRINGTON’s legacy will be that a High Court judge had to issue a court order for him to release monies due his client 70+ John Griffiths, the blogmaster will remember Brathwiate for promising to report to parliament the status of Mia Mottley’s qualification (LEC) to practice before the Courts of Barbados. He never did.

The time has come to arrest the moral and ethical rot- add criminal. We have started to experience the negative fallout of pushing our heads in the sand.

Time for the authorities to do a job.

Time for the Prime Minister, Attorney General and stakeholders to lead the charge.

Importantly, time for John Citizens to hold officials accountable.

Read full text of BU blog https://barbadosunderground.net/2020/01/24/donville-inniss-case-points-to-endemic-corruption-in-barbados/

817 responses to “Donville Inniss’ File Missing from Mottley’s Red Bag”

1. @ David April 27, 2021 5:32 PM

True.

He was faced with ongoing expenses to maintain his house in Fla and to cover his boy(s)’ education.

The Don was bilking the taxpayers from way back when he was the MoH with the Purchasing function of the Hospital used as the vehicle to funnel hard currency funds through ‘inflated’ invoices via his friend’s dental ‘account’.

The Don made the cardinal mistake by ‘embarrassing’ Charles H and setting him up to ridicule.

He, the Don, should have asked for some sporting equipment for his Haynesville posse like how Stinkliar the ‘rumoured’ red turncoat got C-U-L- by way of free TVs and tablets- to buy out the Ross Red sea in the classic style of ‘garrison’ politics.

The Don has serious health challenges. Don’t think he will fare too well behind bars carrying a non-American accent.

He should have been given 6 months community service and ‘deported’ to Barbados.

Oh how the loquaciously mighty has fallen to the lowest depth of contrite ‘dumbness’!

BTW, where is the extradition order that Duguid said was being prepared against the former CEO of the QEH?

2. @Miller

You are tracking.

3. A bunch of hypocrites. You know who you are. People living in glass houses should not pelt big rocks.

4. David since I am not an immigration lawyer can you tell me whether a convict sentenced to 2 years in prison is still permitted to hold a U.S. green card, and subsequently to apply for U.S. citizenship?

Thanks

5. It’s the first time in the history of the island that a public official got some prison time for their corrupt, sellout ways…

now barbadostoday is saying he is a permanent resident…well if he is, then he was.

“What was the hard currency needed for?”

ya done know the 11 plus Slaves, just to say, man, i trick dem man, dey can’t touch me….until US did….🤣🤣😂😜with Barbados’ laws…

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

Cuhdear BajanApril 27, 2021 5:37 PM
    LOL…but… you are not stupid? If you have no idea how the system works, at the levels you do not play at, welcome to reality. Who said anything about dishonesty? The people of his riding got a brand new renovated Sports Complex, stop by and read the big Plaque next time you’re in Holders Hill. The people got something and he got something.

7. You duz talk nuff cunt fuh trute!🤣🤣🤣

8. How do you keep a C▧▨▩ in suspense

The Don is going to snitch like a bitch and bring down all the other bent bums in office

it’s them who feel nervous now

9. @NorthernObserver April 27, 2021 6:37 PM “Who said anything about dishonesty?”

The prosecutor and the jury agreed.

10. @NorthernObserver April 27, 2021 6:37 PM The people of his riding got a brand new renovated Sports Complex, stop by and read the big Plaque next time you’re in Holders Hill.”

I will.

Foolish me was under the impression that sports facilities were paid for by we tax money.

11. “Foolish me was under the impression that sports facilities were paid for by we tax money.”

Deals are approved by ministers who say how much they want to be bunged from the bidders to approve their bids

12. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Cuhdear Bajan

Money laundering is basically depositing money any financial system, e.g. bank and lying about how you came by the money. It does not matter how large or small the amount. What matters is the reason given is a lie.

Donville’s problem was that he seemed to urgently need US money to cover bills in the US. He had some bills like US loan repayment, etc. based on the reporting during the trial that would have required US currency.

It is strange that he chose to go that route instead of having the money paid locally and requesting a US transfer through the normal channels which he should have been able to do unless there were strict controls on US currency by our government at the time which he should have easily been able to get sorted with a phone call or two.

13. @555dubstreet April 27, 2021 6:41 PM “Don is going to snitch like a bitch and bring down all the other bent bums in office. it’s them who feel nervous now.

Well now might be a good time to buy shares in Kimberly-Clark and other makers of adult diapers.

14. Wunna rejoicing that Donville gine to jail while those who paid the bribes free and one up here in Canada enjoying maple syrup.

15. Now we have Donville Inniss in the orange, can we anticipate political fallout for the out of parliament Dees?

16. @Hants

Not so, several blogs can be found in this space inquiring of Mia, Dale and the COP. This blog highlights the Red Bag which appears to have nothing about Donville inside.

17. @NorthernObserver April 27, 2021 6:37 PM “The people of his riding got a brand new renovated Sports Complex”

One of the kids learned to play tennis there, but then the tennis teacher was recruited to teach tennis in the USA, so there went kiddies chance to be a big, big tennis star.

All this was a decade or more before the incident for which Donville was convicted.

18. @ David ” Inniss must surrender to authorities by July 30, 2021.”

3 more months of freedom before the orange.

19. Congratulations to new CEO of the BIDC.

Hill is new BIDC chief https://www.nationnews.com/2021/04/25/hill-new-bidc-chief/

20. Why would he prolong the time? Sooner he starts, the sooner it ends. He can be out before 2023 read general election.

21. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Donville had a poor legal team. They should have told him to plead guilty from day one, throw himself at the mercy of the court, say he did a foolish thing in the rush to obtain US currency to cover his US bills. Had he done that, he probably would have gotten probation.

Everyone knows once the US Feds have you on money laundering charges, they have all the evidence they need to convict including the history of the entire financial transaction and all the financial institutions it would have passed through.

22. He probably took legal advice from his loyal friends Michael Carrington and Adriel Brathwaite. Bad idea if true.

23. Fraud, tax evasion, or money laundering with losses exceeding $10,000.

can’t remember the amount, it was so small but the above is deportable offenses.

24. He should have asked Jack Warner how to evade extradition.

25. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David April 27, 2021 7:08 PM

That is what has me surprised too. I would have expected him to be required to put his affairs in order between the conviction and sentencing hearing.

Maybe they hoping he skip bail so they can have exciting a manhunt ending for the TV movie to end the true crime story saga off.

26. @Hants

Donville willingly visited the USA. He has roots in the country.

27. NEXT…….there are hundreds of corrupt money launderers to go…..with MUCH LARGER AMOUNTS in the tens of millions…to BAG them for….

“Wunna rejoicing that Donville gine to jail while those who paid the bribes free and one up here in Canada enjoying maple syrup.”

they go OUT OF THEIR WAY to search for these people to pay them bribes…lol….there are Canadians on the island right now with S10,000,000 marijuana slave plantations that will go nowhere….they HUNTED THEM DOWN……that’s how corrupt small island governments are….instead of working with their own people to build from the bottom up..

28. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Hants April 27, 2021 6:58 PM

The co-conspirators cannot step foot on US soil for the rest of their lives or they will get held and convicted too.

However, I doubt they will get extradited as the sums involved are too small but only time will tell.

29. What is AG Marshall trying to say?

AG Marshall comments on Inniss’ sentencing

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/04/27/ag-marshall-comments-inniss-sentencing/

30. ” Attorney General Dale Marshall said the sentencing of former government minister Donville Inniss today “brings to an end this sad episode in Barbados history and that there are important lessons to be learnt by persons both in an out of public life”.”

What about Tasker and Ingrid Innes ?

31. Tasker sees his case in an adjournment loop and Innes is not a Barbados problem, she should be in your neck of the woods Hants.

32. Probably forgot all about Iness and Tasker…..lol..head hot.

Iness is in Canada out of the reach of Barbados….let’s see what happens with the extradition hearing, they are the fellow bribers…

33. What is he appealing exactly though….24 months in prison and 24 months supervised, probably ankle monitor….it’s years he has been supervised, should be used to the monitor……..appeals sometimes take years…

34. More importantly…what is Mia trying to say….and where is her big red bag of DLP evidence of corruption…that she had proof of and was going to prosecute this one and that one and even Maloney whom she said wanted locking up…..not only for the death of the child for which HE IS responsible but also according to her….corruption with DLP…these believe this is some BIG PRIVATE JOKE they can continue playing on the people…..without consequences..

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

Have you written to your Federal MP, and copied to Justice Minister Lametti and department head Mmme.Drouin, expressing your opinion on the extradition of Innes to face US DOJ charges? Do it, you will not be the first.

36. When the AG says ” this will now bring the whole matter to an end”, am I to assume that there will be no charges waiting in Barbados for when Donville hang up the orange jump suit in 2023? Am i to assume that he broke no law in Barbados? Or is it a case that he broke laws but we can’t be bothered to pursue the matter?

The message being sent here to the small thief is if you going tief make sure and tief big. But don’t make the mistake and tief nothing that could be tied to a US address though whatever you do!

37. @ WURA-War-on-UApril 27, 2021 7:38 PM
    “Out of reach of Barbados….”

But neither Tasker nor Greenverbs aka Parris the leper is out of reach of the Bajan brand of Justice but only as a result of the pressures from foreign surveillance.

We shall see how much Barbados can ‘ape’ America in the dispensation of Justice as demonstrated in the Donville and Chauvin cases by showing its commitment to the timely trial,- in a competent Court of Law- of those individuals who have already been charged and have appeared before a so-called competent judicial officer as clearly stipulated in the hallowed Constitution of the de facto republic of Barbadoes under which all men and women are deemed equal before the said Law.

Why have fancy laws on the Statute Book if they are either unenforceable or disregarded and disrespected?

You ought to await the ‘timely’ outcome of Greenverbs case of Money Laundering and Tasker’s extradition hearing.

You can bet your last Errol Barrow dollar bill that if two other cases involving poor people either ‘pinching’ a pair of nail clippers or a can of corned beef or in possession of 8 oz of marijuana they would be heard with the utmost alacrity with the accused facing a possible term of incarceration.

Poor Ms Knight the widow of the publicly slain Blues Knight must be wondering why- after 5 years of waiting in the wilderness of hope- the political god of Barbadoes has forsaken her and her permanently disabled son for not having easy access to justice through a simple cell-phone call to the judge in charge of Barbadoes.

38. Poor Hants wants people to feel sorry for his guy Mr Inniss keep talking about the bribers.In my view i have little sympathy for Mr Inniss when i think of his arrogance shouting in parliament about the bees had their time and it was now their the dems time.This along with his treatment of those over sixty workers at BIDC who even though won their case refused to reinstate those workers some of whom had mortgages and children at university.Now look at how in my view he has fallen.

39. @ NorthernObserver,

I would not be so foolish as to write to an MP. writing shite on BU is enough.

Now I need to go back to what is truly important to me. G G concert Amsterdam .( bucket list )

Now thank me for sharing in the Diaspora corner.

40. The Ministry of Housing, Lands and Maintenance, the National Housing Corporation (NHC) and HOPE Inc. will host a town hall meeting at St. Christopher Primary School, St. Christopher, Christ Church, on Friday, April 30, beginning at 6:00 p.m.

41. Critical Analyzer

I am not quite sure if you reside in America or not, but what your are suggesting regarding this man throwing himself at the mercy of the court, is called the Alford Plea here in the States.

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

why foolish? You are one of the first to point out the rules should apply equally to both those giving and accepting bribes. Now we have one of our own (Canadian) involved, and I can bet you in the same way I earlier posted (another thread) all the letters written on behalf of DI’s character by friends and family, there is a similar ‘quiet’ campaign afoot to prevent Innes’s extradition.
    It is clear from MAM’s and her AG’s comments, they do not plan to do one sh!!te in Bim. So the other side of the story, Innes and Tasker, will not be heard there. The only hope is the US DOJ. One needs to let our decision makers know, this is not a one sided matter.

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

David April 28, 2021 12:22 AM
    Does a US conviction cost him his Barbadian MP’s pension?

44. “Donville had a poor legal team. ”

The expertise of some individuals continues to amaze me. One person can be gifted with a deep knowledge of US law and covid-19

45. So how come with VOTE BEGGARS, who turn into uppity pedigree, fake elite corrupt government ministers….NO MENTION is made of the HURT, HARM, INJURY or EMBARRASSMENT they caused to the POPULATION, the LOSSES and POVERTY they cause to most who look like them so they can pretend wealth…..the me, me, me mentality, all about his pain and suffering not a word of the Black population who can’t get a meal because he laundered a 36K bribe..

…..NOT ONE WORD OF APOLOGY to the people of the island…selfish and ANAL to the end….NO REMORSE…only sorry they got caught…they UNDERMINE the Barbados system all the time and GET AWAY WITH IT…

the judge was extremely fair….it’s obvious he went out of his way, Inniss should be thankful.

“Former Government minister Donville Inniss was today sentenced to 24 months in a federal prison to be followed by 18 months supervised release.

Inniss must surrender to authorities by July 30, 2021. His attorney has until September 2 to certify he surrendered.

United States Judge Kiyo Matsumoto of the Eastern District Court of New York took into consideration his previously clean record, his personal development and having come from a poor background as well as his community and national service in Barbados.

The judge said the US $36 000 could not be the sum total of the measure of the offence since the action had the potential to undermine the American financial system.

Inniss said he regretted the embarrassment he caused to his wife Gail and family.

Former attorney general Adriel rathwaite and Rev. Guy Hewitt were also present in the court today. (Nation News)

Editor’s Note: The initial report of 24 months supervised release was corrected to 18 months.”

46. “Why have fancy laws on the Statute Book if they are either unenforceable or disregarded and disrespected?”

fake pedigree elite crooks think that criminal laws ONLY APPLY to the Black population and not to them and their criminal friends and bribers.

“You can bet your last Errol Barrow dollar bill that if two other cases involving poor people either ‘pinching’ a pair of nail clippers or a can of corned beef or in possession of 8 oz of marijuana they would be heard with the utmost alacrity with the accused facing a possible term of incarceration.”

only in corrupt, slave society Barbados..

the poor lady Mrs. Knight had to publicly expose that they have her waiting 6 YEARS and going, just to get her case moved from the magistrate’s court to the corrupt supreme court…..they know she is ill, can’t work and her son has a bullet lodged in his neck that could kill him am sure if he tries to move it, SO THEY WAIT….they already calculated just as they do in the nest of vipers supreme court in personal injury and land cases, that they don’t have wait very long before one or both of them die so they can close the case without the cop going to prison for murder and injury or either of them receiving any compensation…

when the Bjerkham kid got shot and killed they all fell over their corrupt self to make sure the father was in no way inconvenienced, they did not even want to charge him, and corrupt Leacock DPP, deceased REVIVED some 17th century slave master law, so he could slide from paying for the child’s death…….with the sellout negros, not even a child’s death particularly black or even white could move them….

everyone is making sure they are MADE FAMOUS for their corrupt anti-black ways…

47. There he goes, the POOR CITIZENS who can’t get a break from CORRUPTION, VIOLATION OF HUMAN RIGHTS, THEFTS AGAINST THEMSELVES and NO OPPORTUNITIES for their children and grandchildren except for a prison pipeline controlled by corrupt governments and thieving minorities………came in last and not addressed directly, must have been an afterthought, they should have been first, they are the ones, the TAXPAYERS, WHO pay all these collossal salaries with PERKS…that turns them uppity with those lifelong PENSIONS…..he should be ADDRESSING THE PEOPLE WITH AN APOLOGY DIRECTLY….can’t get 36K in bribes without them elevating him to parliament…

“Inniss, 55, a former Minister of Industry, International Business and Commerce, also apologised to his family, friends, political colleagues and the citizens of Barbados for bringing himself and the country into disrepute.”

the population need to start looking at vote begging politicians in A BRAND NEW LIGHT…and HOLD THEM ACCOUNTABLE….EVERY DAY…they ARE NOT YOUR MASTERS as they WICKEDLY allowed their dumb slave minded yardfowls to believe…they are YOUR PUBLIC SERVANTS….it’s time to MAKE THEM ACT LIKE IT….frauds…they push these racist minorities to the front …NO WE KNOW WHY, the BRIBERY FACTOR….as we have said over and over MIller….and got their people as second class citizens in a country that their enslaved ancestors built and which the BLACK MAJORITY FUND….do something about these trash that believe they are better than black…