The Government recently patched potholes along the road to Brighton in St George. It was foreseen that the high-quality asphalt, and the effort to install it, would be wasted. After the recent heavy rains, the asphalt washed away, the potholes became larger, and we simply resumed the daily game of ‘dodge-the-pothole’.

Engineers normally use words like sub-standard, and poor workmanship, to describe work badly done. However, there is a realm of insanely bad work, that Barbadians have come to accept as normal.

An accurate example of how we do things in Barbados, is of a baker that mixes quality materials to make bread. However, he does not know the final step of putting the mixture in the oven, and sells this unbaked product to the public, who accept it as normal.

Over the past 50 years, we have become experts in public relations. Our Prime Ministers can explain that after spending so much on the materials, unbaked bread is the best that a small country like Barbados can achieve, and we believe them. Our Ministers keep purchasing ovens, but they are never used. Our industry leaders explain that baked bread is a fanciful idea, and we believe them.

FANCIFUL IDEAS.

Why is it fanciful to ask that asphalt be compacted, rather than installed loose to wash away and result in expensive repairs to vehicles? Why is it fanciful to ask that fruit trees be planted, rather than these non-fruit trees that become habitats for monkeys and termites, the two animals that cause the most harm to Barbadian households?

Why is it fanciful to ask that the foundations of trees be prepared, rather than install them shallow, so that the trees will blow down during a hurricane? Why is it fanciful to offer employment to persons in poverty, so that they can pay their monthly expenses and look after their families?

Why is it fanciful to ask that corrupting no-bid contracts be abolished, so that Barbadians can pay significantly lower taxes? Why is it fanciful to ask that customer feedback be used to improve the quality of Government services?

I do not know why these things are fanciful. However, I do not blame voters for rejecting prosperity for them and their children, and once again embracing a life of house-poor and working-poor poverty. They have never known baked bread, and have been conditioned to believe that it is a fanciful myth.

I cannot even blame our political and industry leaders, who must find creative ways of justifying insanely low standards. They have somehow accepted that unbaked bread is part of our culture.

Asphalt washing out of potholes is now an important investment in our cultural industries. We hope that ‘dodge-the-pothole’ will become an international sport, to which we have a clear advantage after decades of practise. We also hope to introduce an extreme form of road tennis, where potholes are part of the tennis court.

I have spent 25 years of my life actively lobbying various Government departments to adopt higher standards – without success. I have also spent the past five offering to implement higher standards – also without success. How can the people of Barbados benefit from better standards? I do not know – but I am optimistic that someday, someone will find the Solution.

Grenville Phillips II is a Structural Engineer.

167 responses to “Grenville Phillips Speaks – I Do Not Know”

1. Yup, I witnessed this new high tech method, pioneered in Barbados, of fixing damaged roads by dropping a shovel full of warm asphalt into a pothole and letting vehicular traffic compressed it. I well remember as a child seeing staff of the Road Board fixing the road. A donkey cart was filled with gravel from which shovel fulls were transferred to the damaged area. A Lister drawn tank followed closely behind from which hot tar was pumped on to the gravel to be quickly rolled and compacted by what was popularly known as a Rock Crusher….. but I suppose that is too advanced a method to employ today.

2. We also have the situation where newly paved roads have not raised the level of drain covers. The result is the need to zigzag to avoid or brace for the jarring to body and vehicle.

3. Welcome back GP11!

We prefer you to be shooting from this side of the range. It suits you, Sir!

Your short-lived attempts at joining the political class have shown you that you don’t belong there.

As an engineer, you are a doer and not a qualified talker in the art of BS.

It is obvious that you have heard of that ole Bajan proverb: “Edication ain’t commonsense”. Or to put it in more euphemistic style: ‘Commonsense born before book’.

Given the quality of public works produced by the current crop of senior managers and their ‘advisory’ technocrats it can be said, without contradiction, that the 7th standard-educated Bajans of yesteryear would be forced to hang their heads in abject shame to see what is now passing for public works and maintenance supervised by an army of certified idiots.

So here is the acid test to prove if the current crop of educated nincompoops can earn any brownie points in the cause of improving the dangerously threatening drainage situation.

Let them show that they are capable of ‘simply’ managing the removal of the detritus from the gutters and sidewalks- left by the various crews of low-paid environmental beautifiers- within a 48 hour timeframe in accordance with ISO 9001 and without the simple donkey cart and shovel thrown in for good measure.

If that current Sisyphus-type task can be achieved then we know that your puffing and preaching have not fallen on deadly deaf ears.

4. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

@ Bedroom Police

I, Piece the Prophet, do not know why this practice persists.

I do not know why you don’t do something useful for a change and create a page called Waste Foop Road Repairs?

and then wald around Barbados on a day taking pictures of MTK men fixing holes AND go back a few days later and take PICTURES, 2 DAYS AFTER, WHEN DE HOLE WASH WAY!

Bedroom Police, I genuinely do not know all the reasons that they have wasted all this money putting tar on people car bodies under de guise of fixing holes 🕳 in the road but of one thing bajans are aware YOU ARE FIXATED ON YOUR DEGREES AND YOURSELF

And another thing I know that gives do ole man much pleasure is this

https://www.nationnews.com/2020/11/12/phillips-quits-elective-politics/

When de ole man saw this i leapt for joy because I knew that your megalomaniac donkey would never again seek to enter elective politics and that people could keep watch their XXX movies in peace and the lessons could keep biting on dem like Mugabe

How your case against Joseph Atherton coming along? You going drop it?

5. We are surprised that pothole politics still have such credence.
    Certainly the time has long pass for a different narrative to be erected to leapfrog these politics of minutiae.
    Instead of dealing with the mundane the grandest of issues must be super-imposed, by force if necessary.
    There is no reasons why teams of citizens cant keep the highways passing through each constituency or parish in good repair.
    Absolutely nothing has changed in the nature of local politics since the pre-independence period.

6. @Granville Phillips “”there is a realm of insanely bad work, that Barbadians have come to accept as normal.
    sells this unbaked product to the public, who accept it as normal.”

Dear Mr Phillips: No we don’t accept it as normal. We Know bad work when we see it; and we know that it is our tax money being washed down the drain. We hate to see our hard earned money being washed into the gutter.

My old man had to leave school at 11, ut he built the family house in the early 60’s it is still standing, and looks goo to stand for at least another 60 years, so I know that our guys know better.

It is laziness on the part of management who are too lazy t supervise the workers, and it is don’t carish actions on the part of the workers.

After al it is only government money .and both the managers and the workers believe the myth that the government [we tax paying asses] have infinitely deep pockets.

7. @Pachamama November 12, 2020 8:53 PM “politics of minutiae. Instead of dealing with the mundane…”

When I drove out my gap to go to Old Year’s Night service and dropped into two new giant potholes, and on the first day of the year had to buy two new tyres out of my little pension it did not seem like minutiae to me. It did not seem mundane to me.

Small fires turn into giant conflagrations.

Small problems become monstrous.

8. Bad roads ; inadequate transport all contribute to poor productivity. Poor productivity leads to ……………
    I’m no economist but I suspect poor productivity is a negative for any economy.
    Then this negative leads to ……..
    It’s impossible to understand how an economy works if one does not have a basic grasp of Commerce.
    Read the first chapter in any Commerce textbook and transportation has to be in the first three paragraphs of Chapter 1.
    I don’t know if Commerce is still offered at O Level.
    But I do know we have several PHDs in Economics.
    Things get curiouser and curiouser.

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    Wait you tek a borrowed car and lick up de two tyres? I guess yah never noticed when the ZR driver avoided them?

10. They refuse to concrete the roads which lasts for at least 4 decades, simply because they can’t thief 100 million dollars from the treasury a year to share among themselves and TIEFING COW…..if they actually paved the roads as they are supposed to efficiently.

it’s all about the corruption and ripping off the people via inferior quality road works and sick building projects….that’s all haunted house negros know, how to pad their bank accounts and leave the society in decay with dilapated structures..

the people accept these crimes against themselves, because of the fear and secrecy both governments use as weapons…if ya continue to accept it , they will continue the same old crimes against you and the country…time to get off your asses and put trifling nobody negros with titles YOU GAVE THEM in their place.

ya think any lazy ass yardfowl for an MTW worker or racist cow could patch a hole like that for me, they will find all that asphalt in front their doors the same day, they’ve been doing this for decades, timing the rain fall just right, mangling the road and days later all of the asphalt and rocks ARE WASHED AWAY during a heavy down pour…and stupid yardfowls go vote for that and are proud and boastful……

we’ve been talking about this for YEARS…..

BTW…a voice note is going around accusing them of hiding community spread of Covid….

11. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

where is Charmaine?????

Why is she not putting flags in potholes like she did during the last administration rule?????

They are needed in St. George North. Cant she see?????

12. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

“”Retired MP says DLP missed the mark in recent campaign””

WHEN THE CAT SPEAKS ON BEHALF THE RAT THEN YOU KNOW YOU HAVE A PROBLEM.

Alex Mitchell was the debate. How many votes did he get????
    Every time he tried to speak to the people of St. George North , he got cut off.

You remember Gline Clarke??? How is a dumb man suppose to reach St. George North residents during a MIA AMOR MOTTLEY sponsored debate?????

Floyd Reifer was right not to attend.

13. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

The Coronavirus, the great leveler. It is proving to be levelling of the playing field. One time BLACK PEOPLE had to bear the brunt of anything that goes wrong in Barbados.

Even WHITE BAJANS ARE IN TROUBLE NOW. And they don t want to spend their own MILLIONS of dollars. No Sir, they want the Treasury to bail them out. They are not using their own money. The multi millions of dollars they have.

Lets see what MIA AMOR MOTTLEY will do.

14. @ Carson

We all know how |Mia thinks, and it certainly is not with the majority of Bajans in mind. Maybe she is awaiting instructions from her strategists and consultants.

15. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Some more to think about:

16. Man stop wasting yuh time the people like it so
    Good ideas is like giving them poison
    Years of brainwashing got their minds bent out of shape
    Getting bajans to think. for themselves is between slim and none
    Reason why govt call them idiots and the people would reward them
    Stop wasting yuh time any advice yuh have give to yuh family
    Leave bajans alone

17. @ Mariposa

You have expressed it much more elegantly than I could, but you are absolutely right. Spot on.

18. Barbados is far away from the epicentre of COVID yet Barbados records 7 covid deaths presently 249cases and upward trend ongoing
    Govt made a decision to let people coming from hot spots into the country
    So far govt has not derived any economic benefit from the implementation of that policy
    Yet people believes and would bodly state that such a policy was a great idea for the economy
    Ask them to show the benefits they will parrot rehearsed lines like brain dead puppets
    Expressing ideas to most bajans is an exercise in futility i am more convinced that cussing them would earn your respect
    Leave them alone

19. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Barbados would seem to be putting Caribbean people at risk:

20. @ac

You are aware the road system in Barbados didn’t start to crumble in the last 2 to 3 years? In fact the roads were in absolute need of repair, no buses, no garbage trucks. Will remind you of the advice given freely yesterday. While many Barbadians do not like the current state of affairs they do not regard the DLP as a good option at this time. You have two years and your party is still in candidate selection mode.

Free advice.

21. https://youtu.be/7xeZTlDhWws.
    1)Send videos like these to brass tacks, MTW, political representatives/ ministers, etc.
    2)Flood brass tacks every day about bad roads.
    3) start demonstrating about better service from MTW & the ruling government.
    4) keep exposing the incompetent ministers.
    5) Call for the end of asphalt road.
    6) Present data to public showing how much money is wasted on asphalt roads.

22. David there u go again
    Dont need your advice Free or otherwise
    Just in case u may not have taken notice the article was composed by Grenville and not by u hence my reply is forward to him
    My advice to u is to stay in your lane
    As for new garbage trucks the govt place horse before cart the land fills are over flowing the cells are filled to capacity and cannot hold no more garbage
    May be u ought to advice govt on steps to fixing a near to impossible problem of finding an area for new landfills to replace the expired ones to put the mammoth bulk of garbage coming from households and commercial businesses
    As for the buses they are running empty maybe u can advice govt how and what method govt can seek for the repayment on those buses

Look stay in your lane
    Steupseee

23. As for govt not doing the things u David mentioned
    Govt did not have sufficient funds to do such and govt did not want to go on a borrowing spree as this govt is doing implementing pretentious policies as is if all is well
    A govt now spending billions on COVId supposedly to be painting a picture that all is well
    Meantime infrastucture falls to the ground
    Give me a break

24. Tick tock tick tock

25. So how are things going for the fowls and their FAUX VICTORY… in a constituency that has been neglected FOR DECADES by both governments….how yall victory lap going this morning…

yall so famous ah can’t keep up anymore.

26. Govt game plan is to fill the people head with propaganda and the people buy into the pretentious game
    Let me go back to COVID govt invites Covid on its shores spends millions as yet to derived any benefits from this so called policy of the implementation of opening the borders for the tourist industry to get off the ground
    Day after day millions thrown into a basket having holes
    The QEH lacking basic supplies
    People cannot collect their NIS
    Buses running on empty not having enough passenger load to help pay for cost
    Yet jac.a ss bray about govt doing a good job
    Speaking of job 40 thousand unemployed outrageous numbers for a small country
    People eyes are so closed makes wonder if there brains are still working
    Hint govt said No they are idiots

27. What productivity?

This has been a mere meme deployed in the service of imperialism.

In the USA for example socalled productivity levels over 50 years were off the charts. Yet real wages, as adjusted for inflation, are at 1970s levels.

Serious people would want to interrogate causation not regurgitate dated nonsense

28. Mariposa can go on all day as to why the infrastructure. crumbles and small business thrown to the curb like dirty laundry
    But why bother the people like it so
    Meanwhile the top tier of the economy made up of whites and indians bellies are filled
    The blacks continue to eat salt and like it so
    Never mind govt boast about millions borrowed to prop up the reserves
    Ah boy what a life
    Oh another thing puddin and souse day is today and tommorow two days for bajans to beam with pride
    Cheers

29. The beauty about all of this is that the same Black people that the black faces have all been brutalizing, victimizing and robbing, either they or their descendants are actively organizing all of this, they cant set up everybody and they can’t kill everybody….

all because the black faces hate to see their own people with anything and view them as less than human once they are elected to parliament and acquire slave titles from the same Black people they hate so much….

self-hating subhuman illiterates…..and TRAITORS

https://youtu.be/qQf0dB5PUE8

30. BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU SAY ABOUT RICH WHITE AND MULATTO PEOPLE.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/11/13/depeiza-warned/

31. Look at this barbados makes it on Inside Edition

https://www.facebook.com/674657552/posts/10157322178637553/

32. @ Hants November 13, 2020 10:03 AM

Isn’t this a blatantly blind case of placing the airplane cart before the Hyatt hotel erection horse?

Where is he going to house those well-heeled upmarket guests who will be arriving on Duppy Airways?

Why cant the Mal(m)oney man give an honest account on the state of the Hyatt hotel project on which the recovery of the Bajan economy pivots?

Is it still in the process of an erection or has it been aborted due to financial detumescence as rumoured by the BU court jester, Tron the Empress MAM maker?

The burningly pertinent question MS Depeiza should have asked is whose money was used to acquire a rodent-infested palace and to demolish it before the caterpillar cat could have licked its political campaign payback whiskers, if not that of the taxpayers’ spending agent, the BTII?

But there is a saying that behind every dark cloud of an imaginary hotel there is a silver lining shining through an open window to the Carlisle Bay.

Just one beautiful ‘site’ (or should that be sight?) for sore environmental eyes, even for those ‘ghost’ tourists staying at the Hilton!

33. I thought we had retired the words white, black, mulatto honorary white etc.
    Please resubmit using one of the following “high color”, “non high color”, “yellowish”, “pedigree” or “non-pedigree”

BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU SAY ABOUT HIGH COLOR AND PEDIGREE PEOPLE.

34. WHITE BAJANS want to use the Law to defeat BLACK PEOPLE and keep them in “”THEIR PLACES”” again????

35. Cast your minds back to the time before General Elections 2018.

The Barbados Labour Party was in the opposition and on the rampage here in Barbados .

A certain alleged man built a piece of road jutting out into the road which allegedly lead to the death of a SMALL BLACK BARBADIAN BOY..

The Barbados Labour Labour Party saw RED. THIS ALLEDGED MAN WAS NOW COSIDERD PUBLIC ENEMY NUMBER ONE. This alleged man was to be locked up as soon as the Barbados Labour Party took power in the country. Thats how the Barbados Labour Party fooled the public.

What was the colour of this alledged man??????

Is he what we called here in Barbados “WHITE BAJAN”???????

Or I could be wrong???????

36. @Carson

It is always a sign of a bully when s/he threatens to sue someone for making a statement s/he does not like. We have a saying when such mongrels bark that we will “see them in court.”
    Never allow men or women with money to muzzle you. Ignore the threats and speak the truth.

37. HAL

Well said.
    (especially with no bid contracts taxpayers money)

38. @ TheOgazerts,

I AM A MULATTO ( a person of mixed white and black ancestry )

When I was living in Barbados wunna used to call me a RED fella and the girls called me brown skin or light skin.

But you can say anything to me cause I don’t have money to sue anybody.lol

39. “What a shame on the leader of the DLP to cast aspersions and seek to damage my character.”

that is what happens when stupid leaders allow halfassed broke ass racist crooks to get wealthy off the backs of Black people….DLP and BLP facilitated this criminal at the expense of the people, so let him talk down to them and sue their asses in appreciation.

40. “…there was rigorous sanitizing…BEFORE… the ship left Barbados…”
    So where did you pick up Covid 19?

🤣🤣🤣🤣

41. @Hants
    Forgive me. No offense was intended.
    A person should be free to call themselves whatever they want.
    I have updated my notes
    Hants:
    Color: High color but prefers to be referred to as mulatto.
    Pedigree: Not yet determined

42. @ FearPlay

Potholes

There’s no such thing as a permanent fix….that is without redoing the whole thing, which still requires maintenance….A hole means the underlying structure has given way, that’s the foundation….once it has failed, it just gets worse….so one temporary fix is pretty much the same as the next…

Temporary fix

Cut the damaged area out then fix the subbase then apply the out mix and hit it with a roller. It wouldn’t give enough compaction and you would be repairing that area again in about a year or two.

Concrete pot hole fill for asphalt

Widen the area, sure up the sub base using bedrock material and pour rapid-drying construction concrete.

Asphalt soften @ temperatures above 93 degrees F*. Concrete gets harder and dry.

Eventually the asphalt road will sink and stretch as a result of heavy traffic and heat, leaving the concrete at a slightly higher level.

The risk factor on vehicles being damaged is minimal, compared to the unreliable present method being used on our roads.

Note: I’m not a civil engineer. However, I consulted with the companies that have those expertise (Army Corps of Engineers).

We have or had Chinese civil engineers working on roads in St. Andrew. Solicit their expertise on pothole.

Modern highways are being laid with 6” concrete at minimum. Maybe one day we will reach that advancement.

The cost is always a factor..

43. @ TheOGazerts,

re my pedigree.

I en come from nuh way.Just lucky to pass de screaming test an guh to a school where they
    tried ( and failed ) to stuff my tender brain with knowledge lol

44. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

The headline read:

“BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY PROMISES TO ENACT INTEGRITY LEGISLATION FROM DAY 1 IF ELECTED”

https://barbadosunderground.net/2017/11/18/barbados-labour-party-promises-to-enact-integrity-legislation-from-day-1-if-elected/

They have not , but none cares now.

45. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

LIES, LIES, LIES , DAMN LIES!!!!!!!!

46. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

More bad news:

47. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Barbados is in the World News for all the wrong reasons:

48. Potholes In My Lawn