The Government recently patched potholes along the road to Brighton in St George. It was foreseen that the high-quality asphalt, and the effort to install it, would be wasted. After the recent heavy rains, the asphalt washed away, the potholes became larger, and we simply resumed the daily game of ‘dodge-the-pothole’.

Engineers normally use words like sub-standard, and poor workmanship, to describe work badly done. However, there is a realm of insanely bad work, that Barbadians have come to accept as normal.

An accurate example of how we do things in Barbados, is of a baker that mixes quality materials to make bread. However, he does not know the final step of putting the mixture in the oven, and sells this unbaked product to the public, who accept it as normal.

Over the past 50 years, we have become experts in public relations. Our Prime Ministers can explain that after spending so much on the materials, unbaked bread is the best that a small country like Barbados can achieve, and we believe them. Our Ministers keep purchasing ovens, but they are never used. Our industry leaders explain that baked bread is a fanciful idea, and we believe them.

FANCIFUL IDEAS.

Why is it fanciful to ask that asphalt be compacted, rather than installed loose to wash away and result in expensive repairs to vehicles? Why is it fanciful to ask that fruit trees be planted, rather than these non-fruit trees that become habitats for monkeys and termites, the two animals that cause the most harm to Barbadian households?

Why is it fanciful to ask that the foundations of trees be prepared, rather than install them shallow, so that the trees will blow down during a hurricane? Why is it fanciful to offer employment to persons in poverty, so that they can pay their monthly expenses and look after their families?

Why is it fanciful to ask that corrupting no-bid contracts be abolished, so that Barbadians can pay significantly lower taxes? Why is it fanciful to ask that customer feedback be used to improve the quality of Government services?

I do not know why these things are fanciful. However, I do not blame voters for rejecting prosperity for them and their children, and once again embracing a life of house-poor and working-poor poverty. They have never known baked bread, and have been conditioned to believe that it is a fanciful myth.

I cannot even blame our political and industry leaders, who must find creative ways of justifying insanely low standards. They have somehow accepted that unbaked bread is part of our culture.

Asphalt washing out of potholes is now an important investment in our cultural industries. We hope that ‘dodge-the-pothole’ will become an international sport, to which we have a clear advantage after decades of practise. We also hope to introduce an extreme form of road tennis, where potholes are part of the tennis court.

I have spent 25 years of my life actively lobbying various Government departments to adopt higher standards – without success. I have also spent the past five offering to implement higher standards – also without success. How can the people of Barbados benefit from better standards? I do not know – but I am optimistic that someday, someone will find the Solution.

Grenville Phillips II is a Structural Engineer.

167 responses to “Grenville Phillips Speaks – I Do Not Know”

1. @ 555dubstreet

November 13, 2020 4: 37 PM

Love it!!!!

2. @Hants

Maloney is ” off white” or even Khaki if you want to be colour correct! Lol

3. @ John A

Is khaki a persons color?

4. @ Tony

I not sure but with so many shades and colours I feel we should be more specific. So I Proposing the flowing chart.

WHITE
    OFF WHITE
    KHAKI
    BEIGE
    LIGHT BROWN
    MEDIUM BROWN
    DARK BROWN
    GREY
    DARK
    VERY DARK
    BLACK

Or we could just look as all as human beings and make life simply!

5. @ John A

As an artist I used that in a mix for my earth tones 😂😂😂

6. While Barbados lingers in the news for all the wrong reasons
    The govt propaganda machine is in full swing
    Lol
    The people being interviewed by Inside Edition tells a different story than that giving in barbados local media
    The local media now stands as vanguard for govt.
    A ship loaded with COVID patients docked at barbados port and mingled amongst the population
    Yet barbados says that their portocols are safe
    Now trying to save face without giving the date of arrival along with exactly when govt got word of the crisis and if the passengers came on shore before govt new of the cases

7. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

The local media is doing damage control for the Govt.

But international people are not being fooled.

There are two men on board who are blogging all time giving updates.

8. How about?
    BLACK
    VERY DARK
    DARK
    GREY
    DARK BROWN
    MEDIUM BROWN
    LIGHT BROWN
    BEIGE
    KHAKI
    OFF WHITE
    WHITE
    Because I don’t see why black always has to be at the bottom.

9. @ NorthernObserver November 13, 2020 1:24 AM “@SS Wait you tek a borrowed car and lick up de two tyres?

Sadly yes.

I guess yah never noticed when the ZR driver avoided them?

To this I plead guilty for driving on a ZR without paying due care and attention.

So “yes” I’ve had to take my financial and blog licks…however painful.

10. Carson one key factor that these passengers where on the island before being detected lies in the usual sanitizing of the vessel before it set to depart
    All protocols put in place calls for thorough sanitizing before the vessel departs if passengers disembarked
    Which then bodes well to say that those passengers on arrival either had a medical COVID certificate or was giving the govt protocols testing and no infections were detected allowing them to set foot on the island
    As usual the media only gives basic details as they have become the propaganda machine for govt and afraid to ask hard questions

11. Toronto, meanwhile, is scheduled to enter the red zone at 12:01 a.m. tomorrow, albeit with additional restrictions imposed by Medical Officer of Health Dr. Eileen de Villa.

12. We have to find some point between the alarmist and the hoteliers/tourist official.
    Science and sound protocols have protected us thus far. However, if we continue to introduce new cases into the country, then at some stage science and protocols will fail us. What we are doing is analogous to bringing a raging fire under control and then starting smaller fires elsewhere.

We are moving away from sensible protocols to tempting fate and relying on good luck. Hopefully, the length of time this crisis has been ongoing and the small size of the island has allowed herd immunity to occur; but I suspect that the rigid protocols in place may have prevented this occurrence.

13. I see that the disgruntled dems on Barbados Underground are still bitter two and a half years later…poor souls…another lost…hence the same vitriol being spewed.

The Barbados Labour Party won, get over it. Whu hu! I enjoy reading BU daily but couldn’t resist coming on to gloat….wunnah lost again.

The DLP needs a leader…how could you people have a leader who cannot win a seat and days after fighting a bitter campaign against George Pilgrim appointed him as campaign manager…a consummate loser…poor Floyd Reifer didn’t stand a chance with two losers guiding him.

I still think he did well, l thought he would get around 1500 votes but at least he tried.

Losers, Mia beat wunnah again…wuhloss.

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    Murdah!!! Ya still lucky you didn’t blow out the steering. Unless you were doing some speed, they must have been ‘cre-vasses’ not potholes. People should buy a can of luminous orange spray paint, and encircle any large, or deep, openings. Maybe Automotive Art could begin a heavily discounted sale of such paint, since they have their own plant in (????….Poland?) and have autos as their primary market. The GoB should wave all duty and taxes, and the product could sell at rock bottom prices to warn drivers of the impending danger.

15. Now all will see why barbados is listed and placed among other countries on level red
    Only barbadians subjected to high doses of media blitz and govt propaganda cannot understand the reasoning behind the CDC call
    This cruise ship outbreak is a glaring example which shows that barbados protocols have breaches for infected COVID people to go undetected
    On another note Gaston Browne and mia having a verbal fight again
    This time about barbados unfair Covid regulations against Antigua
    Wuhloss two dictators fighting

16. Prodigal can u let me enjoy my puddin souse tonight in peace
    Please dont remind me of SGN election in any shape form or manner
    Reason being thanks to the blp party i constructn in my minds eye a picture of a constituency made up of idiots
    Please do me a favour and let that picture slowly erased from my mind absent of your help
    Now back to my puddin and souse
    Oh some rum and coke to wash it down
    Cheers prodigal

17. @Mariposa November 13, 2020 6:00 AM “Barbados is far away from the epicentre of COVID yet Barbados records 7 covid deaths.”

Isn’t it true also that there hasn’t been a covid19 death in Barbados since April 29?

Isn’t it true that there has NOT been a covid 19 death for the past 6 1/2 months?

18. @Mariposa November 13, 2020 8:24 PM “Please dont remind me of SGN election in any shape form or manner
    Reason being thanks to the blp party i constructn in my minds eye a picture of a constituency made up of idiots.”

The good people of St. George North KNEW that wunna “D’s” thought of them as idiots, that is why they didn’t vote fa wunna, dat is why wunna get wunna @sses comprehensively cut yet AGAIN

19. What is true that barbados has imported the virus
    What also is true that without barbados govt allowing the virus in the country
    Barbados would have zero deaths and zero infections
    Go figure instead of being a donkey blowin bad gas out yuh a.rsee
    Ghee whizz

20. @NorthernObserver November 13, 2020 7:49 PM “@SS. Murdah!!! Ya still lucky you didn’t blow out the steering. Unless you were doing some speed, they must have been ‘cre-vasses’ not potholes.”

Sometimes as happened over the last 2 or 3 weeks when we had 10 inches of rainfall between the Tuesday night and the Sunday night monstrous holes appear, and if you haven’t left home for a few days because of the heavy rain, then attempt to leave home at about midnight

Whoops!!

Bare trouble

21. To whom it may concern

The blp might have won the battle but not the war
    Floyd started an advocacy and became a representative for the people of SGN unheard of in 26 years
    His advocacy will stand head and shoulders above gline Clarke when all is said and done as he continues to awaken the conscience of the people of SGN as to that which is right and proper for them

22. Mariposa,
    The defeat has you in such a spin that you are thinking it is Saturday…pudding and souse is a delicacy for Saturdays not Friday night. 😂😂😂

23. Back on a serious note, l do think that Mr Phillips has some good ideas and should look to join a party and try to push for changes from within…have a seat at the table.
    Third parties are not going to survive in this country. I had high hopes for Richie Haynes party and now even him with his charisma could break through the two party system.
    If Mr Phillips truly wants to be involved in politics, he should join a party…he could try the DLP…they need a leader badly.

24. @Mariposa November 13, 2020 9:44 PM “What is true that barbados has imported the virus. What also is true that without barbados govt allowing the virus in the country, Barbados would have zero deaths and zero infections.”

So in March when the early cases occurred which led to the deaths in March and April, the people who were coming to Barbados were mostly Barbadians, 6 of 7 who died were Bajan., The whole world was still trying to determine effective [rotocols. So what were we supposed to say to Bajans coming home “go away, don’t come ’bout here?”

Every country in the world except for China where the virus seems to have originated, therefore imported the virus.

25. Prodigal Who are u.to tell me when to enjoy my pudding and souse
    Further more i can vouch for small shops where yuh can find puddin and souse on Friday nights to sell the dominoe players in the back room
    Guh long do i already said cheers to you
    No i am not from SGN and i aint no idiot

26. So in March when the early cases occurred which led to the deaths in March and April, the people who were coming to Barbados were mostly Barbadians, 6 of 7 who died were Bajan.

Barbados knew of the risk and how highly contagious the disease can be
    The question u ought to be asking is if govt weighing the risk against the general well being of the population is good policy

27. Some people are real unreasonable. Every country in the world is trying to balance health risk against economic disaster. It is impossible to keep this virus at bay forever. The idea is not to be overwhelmed by its presence. We have done well so far with masks and physical distancing. We should continue to practise same. Hopefully, we will be alright. In life there are no guarantees. One thing I know is that wrt COVID, I would rather be here than just about anywhere.

28. Correction – REALY unreasonable

29. Not every country are putting their people at high risk
    UK Italy and parts of the USA are under locked down
    These countries and states take the virus as a serious illness that can cost govt millions in health care to the countries health care system
    Which makes for wonder how much it has and costing barbados
    I submit the numbers are astronomical.
    Also where is govt getting the funding or financials to provide the necessary medical care for these cases
    Back to you prodigal
    I finish my puddin and souse so lets talk

30. @ John A November 13, 2020 5:30 PM
    “I not sure but with so many shades and colours I feel we should be more specific. So I Proposing the flowing chart.”
    WHITE
    OFF WHITE
    KHAKI
    BEIGE
    LIGHT BROWN
    MEDIUM BROWN
    DARK BROWN
    GREY
    DARK
    VERY DARK
    BLACK

Or we could just look as all as human beings and make life simply!”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The above taxonomy sounds like an international version of the man-made “Code Noir”.

We know we can find a classification for the people from the Indian sub-continent.

But what about the Oriental people called “Chinese” from the land of the ‘Yellow’ river?

As you have posited in your last statement:
    It’s so great to know that none of the above colours, especially black and white, holds any (special) place on the paint table of God’s ‘color’ wheel called the Rainbow.

31. So is this true, coming from one of the racist slave plantation hotels, that should be shut down permanently anyway.

“Sandals

As of next week 15th of November 500 team members including supervisors & managers will be placed on temporary lay off for 4-5 weeks until the 11th of December (subject to change) This is without pay, or national insurance if you have exhausted that.Applying for severance is not an option at this time. This is a result of the Uk closing there airports & also because Barbados is on a no visit list which has caused “massive amounts” of cancelations. The resort has under 20% occupancy projection for the rest of the month.
    The Team members being kept on are being determined by the usual factors such as attendance, punctuality,documentations etc..Working hours for those team members are expected to rise to 32-40 hours & are subject to changes.
    Also your vacation from this year will roll over to next year. Forwarded.”

32. @Prodigal Son

Agree with most of this comment. They needed to release Rum & Coke and other up and coming DLPites. Instead SGN was subjected to Sealy, Lashley, Boyce, Blackett, Pilgrim et al. People are looking for a rebirth.

33. Cruises can begin phased return starting Nov. 1 under new protocols, CDC says

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) on Friday announced that it will lift its no-sail order on cruises, which banned large cruise ships from operating in U.S. waters since March. Effective Nov. 1., the ban will be replaced with a “conditional sailing order,” a phased return to cruising that includes new health protocols, such as mandatory testing and capacity restrictions. But that does not include passengers just yet.

The CDC says the initial phases are for crew only, which is “to ensure adequate safety and health protocols through a series of mock voyages with volunteers who will play the role of passengers,” said Martin Cetron, the CDC director for the division of global migration and quarantine. The CDC does not have a timeline for a return for passengers, Cetron said.

“Considering the continued spread of covid-19 worldwide and increased risk of covid-19 on cruise ships, a careful approach is needed to safely resume cruise ship passenger operations,” the CDC order says. “After expiration of CDC’s No Sail Order (NSO) on October 31, 2020, CDC will take a phased approach to resuming cruise ship passenger operations in U.S. waters.”

by, Shannon McMahon for The Washington Post.

Passenger tests positive for coronavirus on first cruise ship to sail Caribbean since pandemic

Sea Dream 1 left Barbados on Saturday ( 7th November, 2020) for a seven-night voyage. Four days into the trip, guests were told that a passenger tested positive for the virus…
    NBC news.

At least five passengers on the Sea Dream 1 have tested positive for coronavirus
    As many as seven may have tested positive, according to writers on board the ship is docked in Barbados with passengers and many crew quarantining….
    From Mail online.

SeaDream 1: five passengers test positive for Covid-19 on Caribbean cruise ship

One of the first cruise ships to ply through Caribbean waters since the pandemic began ended its trip early after five passengers tested positive for Covid-19.

The SeaDream is carrying 53 passengers and 66 crew, with the majority of passengers hailing from the US, according to Sue Bryant, a cruise ship reporter who is aboard the ship.

She told the Associated Press that one passenger became sick on Wednesday and forced the ship to turn back to Barbados, where it had departed from on Saturday. However, the ship had yet to dock in Barbados as local authorities tested those on board. The captain announced that at least five passengers had tested positive, Bryant said.

The incident marked the first time SeaDream had resumed its West Indies voyages since the pandemic, with the ship originally scheduled to return to Barbados on Saturday, according to an online itinerary. The ship had made several stops in St Vincent and the Grenadines before turning back.
    The Norway-based SeaDream Yacht Club, the ship’s parent company, wouldn’t say how many passengers tested positive in the initial round of testing.
    Bryant said passengers were required to have a negative PCR test to enter Barbados and underwent another test on the dock administered by the ship’s doctor.
    Associated Press.
    https://youtu.be/Z4Wg35qf8P8

34. @ Prodigal Son

Welcome back……. but be very careful with whom you interact, lest you’re attacked by the hungry dingoes.

I remember the ‘hue and cry’ by some BU contributors, after Delisle Bradshaw made his unfortunate comments, re “Any fool can play cricket.”

Lo and behold, I was shocked when I saw read where one of Bradshaw’s harshest critics seems to be suggesting, because the people of St. George North did not vote for Floyd Reifer, means the constituency is made up of fools.

35. When asphalt was compacted by “rocking engines”, road usage and vehicle weight were less, they seemed to be fewer potholes. Maybe we are preparing for the advent of self-driven electrical vehicles with an ability to better navigate a pothole environment like Mars. LOL

36. The recurring pundit political sound bite coming from some in political quarters about new birth was proven to be untrue in SGN Toni Moore cannot be considered new in any sense of political terms
    Her tenure in politics goes a long way back yet with all her political baggage which has affected households negatively the people voted for her three thousand plus
    The blp platform was littered with old faces in SGN uh think the people cared and insults also
    No the people voted party and did not care for change or new faces
    So this long drawn on political mundane talk is pure talk for the sake of talking
    One can bet that if the last govt performance was up to the levels of having a good economy the cabinet would have remained the same as the people would have championed their efforts and rewarded them
    The fact being past govt efforts fall short of the peoples expectations and the people voted them out
    The same holds true for this govt if the economy continues spirals out of control
    SGN also proves that they will stick with a party till the bottom falls out
    Also that they can make change if they desire to to do so
    Floyd pulling 10percent of the electorate in a blp stronghold is food for thought

37. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Liz Thompson can in way, shape or form be considered a “”new face””, yet she was on the platforms REGULARLY in all her OLD GLORY.

38. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

When the cat offers the rat advice, you better watch out.

Right DAVID???????

39. Got that right Carson
    Floyd was a new face did it matter to the people of SGN
    Maybe the political pundits can answer that question
    But they cannot reason being that no matter who was sent from the dlp or ran independent the people of SGN said they had already made up their minds
    The political pundits need to find real jobs instead of blowing hot air across media outlets

40. The above taxonomy sounds like an international version of the man-made “Code Noir”.
    We know we can find a classification for the people from the Indian sub-continent.
    But what about the Oriental people called “Chinese” from the land of the ‘Yellow’ river?
    As you have posited in your last statement:
    It’s so great to know that none of the above colours, especially black and white, holds any (special) place on the paint table of God’s ‘color’ wheel called the Rainbow.

Aboriginal peoples in all countries on planet earth are blacker shade of black and are called the Jungle Brothers and in speak native tongues style of rap to spread news like griots. Black is black is black. Forces of nature say that the 1st wombman mitochondrial Eve was a black woman out of Afrika, the darker the berry the sweeter the juice, respect her and be fruitful and multiply.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RnzJUNsHY40

41. Bring back those old faces when the next general election is called. The BLP will thank you for it. Obviously the issue here is bringing back old faces who were soundly rejected la short 3 years ago. The timing was wrong. If the results of this week and feedback from political pundits does not persuade you what can we say? Also Verla will not cut it.

42. Phillips seems exasperated.

Maybe there are no engineering solutions to political problems.

Maybe the moment for his Haynesque neoliberal political personality has long pass.

Maybe he does not know yet who is more foolish – the people of Saint George for casting his vision asunder or he for casting swine before pearls.

Whether he knows or not there is nowhere else for him to go now that the political bug has vaccinated him with the virus acting on his inbred love for absolute power. He’s hooked!

This lack of mercy, more than twice, is best distributed to all duopolists.

43. @Pacha

As you and others have opined over the years Barbados is not the only country operating with a duopoly. What we need are leaders and other actors who bring leadership to the table. People of integrity.

44. David bu agree wholeheartedly with you.Most persons do not want to see none of the defeated persons of the lost decade except possibly Mr Sealy who was pretty good in tourism.Who the hell want to hear Mr Blackett,Mr Boyce , Mr Lashley , Mr Pilgrim or Ms Depeiza all political failures in my view.If Mariposa , CCC and the other dems on here think bajans forget the lost decade they in a dreamworld and better wake up fast.Mariposa stated some who voted for Mr Reifer were bees provide us with the evidence.Lastly i heard Austin speak of the mismanagement ofr Stuart but left out his so called would be great PM Mr Thompson who was PM when they won .Therefore the rot started with Thompson not Mr Stuart.Welcme back Prodigal.

45. David

Some years ago this writer was close to a Green party which was a genuine thrid party with integrity and solid leadership.

Over time we have seen that organization become more reactionary, corrupt, than those it pretended to want to replace.

Therefore, our definition of duopoly has long been extended to all players within the political arenas. Even fringe actors.

“Leadership and integrity” cannot coexist within modern political structures.

46. Lorenzo i havent heard u make mention of all the political old hands that was on the blp platform spouting degrading remakers at voters
    Btw the blp did not distance its self from old hands like Marshall and Payne and others oldies when campaigning
    SGN made a decision to vote party long and short end of story

47. @Pacha

By your definition there is little hope. There was a fleeting moment some of us were of a view the Cahill movement showed possibilities to morph into a relevant political entity.

48. David

We are willing to wager for example that all third party actors have had connections to the main two.

In fact, the main two have all kinds of inbred relationships.

More importantly, duopoly is culturally bound. It infects everything around us.

Yes, there is hope. Hope that it will soon whither on the vine, die.

49. The next move from the DLP will be to address the Kemar Stuart issue. He is a journeyman to your point but all will be observing. We are in a royal state of political inertia.

50. @Mariposa November 13, 2020 10:16 PM “The question u ought to be asking is if govt weighing the risk against the general well being of the population is good policy”

Yes.

Putting on my masks, and going our shopping shortly. Will sanitise my hands before I get on the bus, when I disembark, before I go into the shops and when I come out. Will change my clothes and take a shower as soon as I get back home.

I am following government protocols, and trying my best to be a responsible human being. Most Baans,B and D, and every other political color are doing the same.

Please tell me what else you would advise.