Grenville Phillips Speaks – I Do Not Know

The Government recently patched potholes along the road to Brighton in St George. It was foreseen that the high-quality asphalt, and the effort to install it, would be wasted. After the recent heavy rains, the asphalt washed away, the potholes became larger, and we simply resumed the daily game of ‘dodge-the-pothole’.

Engineers normally use words like sub-standard, and poor workmanship, to describe work badly done. However, there is a realm of insanely bad work, that Barbadians have come to accept as normal.

An accurate example of how we do things in Barbados, is of a baker that mixes quality materials to make bread. However, he does not know the final step of putting the mixture in the oven, and sells this unbaked product to the public, who accept it as normal.

Over the past 50 years, we have become experts in public relations. Our Prime Ministers can explain that after spending so much on the materials, unbaked bread is the best that a small country like Barbados can achieve, and we believe them. Our Ministers keep purchasing ovens, but they are never used. Our industry leaders explain that baked bread is a fanciful idea, and we believe them.

FANCIFUL IDEAS.

Why is it fanciful to ask that asphalt be compacted, rather than installed loose to wash away and result in expensive repairs to vehicles? Why is it fanciful to ask that fruit trees be planted, rather than these non-fruit trees that become habitats for monkeys and termites, the two animals that cause the most harm to Barbadian households?

Why is it fanciful to ask that the foundations of trees be prepared, rather than install them shallow, so that the trees will blow down during a hurricane? Why is it fanciful to offer employment to persons in poverty, so that they can pay their monthly expenses and look after their families?

Why is it fanciful to ask that corrupting no-bid contracts be abolished, so that Barbadians can pay significantly lower taxes? Why is it fanciful to ask that customer feedback be used to improve the quality of Government services?

I do not know why these things are fanciful. However, I do not blame voters for rejecting prosperity for them and their children, and once again embracing a life of house-poor and working-poor poverty. They have never known baked bread, and have been conditioned to believe that it is a fanciful myth.

I cannot even blame our political and industry leaders, who must find creative ways of justifying insanely low standards. They have somehow accepted that unbaked bread is part of our culture.

Asphalt washing out of potholes is now an important investment in our cultural industries. We hope that ‘dodge-the-pothole’ will become an international sport, to which we have a clear advantage after decades of practise. We also hope to introduce an extreme form of road tennis, where potholes are part of the tennis court.

I have spent 25 years of my life actively lobbying various Government departments to adopt higher standards – without success. I have also spent the past five offering to implement higher standards – also without success. How can the people of Barbados benefit from better standards? I do not know – but I am optimistic that someday, someone will find the Solution.

Grenville Phillips II is a Structural Engineer.

167 thoughts on “Grenville Phillips Speaks – I Do Not Know

1. Before I forgot, KEMAR STUART is a BLACK BARBADIAN ,so they may throw the BOOK AT HIM.

It is a pity that he was not born a WHITE BAJAN OR AN INDIAN.

THEN EVERYONE INCLUDING THE blog master WOULD BE ROOTING FOR HIM.

But alas he is only a BLACK BARBADIAN. No one important.

2. “They had been so inept, cowarsdice, during their last turn that consequences could not be avoided now in the wilderness. Expect this to continue for the foreseeable future.”

now not even the piece of shit tiefing racist minorities want to see them after they sold out their own people, wuh i won’t want to see them either, because if ya did that to ya own, no one can trust you…but hardheaded negros never learn..

3. It’s amazing that people still speak of the NDP and continue to wrongfully put it on the same standing of the others that have tried and are trying. The NDP started with four sitting MPs and a leader who was seen by many as a potential prime minister. The NDP had a headquarters and quickly established a vibrant youth arm. Ian Edghill, Dalton Lovell , now BLPs, are products of that youth arm.
    The NDP therefore never had the persistent struggles these other parties have endured from their birth.
    Furthermore the NDP did not fail as a third party and there is no one commenting on BU, who can accurately determine why it’s no longer in existence. Quite frankly , after years of trying to put its departure into context, I have only recently discovered what I think is an important piece of the puzzle. I am just waiting to confirm and will then publish a letter in the press and of course share with the BU family.
    I remain amazed and amused at the contributions of some here discussing the current political scene. There is simply no depth to their mundane and repetitive positions.
    The simple truth is that with any candidate vying for the SGN seat, overcoming that stronghold would have been always a long shot. Any candidate the DLP runs anywhere whenever the election is called is going to encounter that same problem even in St. John. If the DLP follows the politically insane argument of overlooking all its former seasoned candidates it will be completely humiliated.
    The best deal for the DLP is to utilize at least eight or even ten of those from the so-called lost decade. No completely new slate of candidates will cut it.
    Talking about old hands on the platform is pure nonsense. There is a reason why the BLP reached back for them. Mottley knows she has very green MPs who only rode in on her coattails and they need to further harness their skills before she can totally entrust the realities of harsh politics to them.
    One of the advantages of neutrality is that one does not see the country and its politics only from party positions.
    Personally the only thing of interest that I learned from the SGN exercise is that Bobby Morris , a long standing Comrade of mine, informed that the workers College is almost in a state of ruin. Sad, very sad.

4. @ David.

Some of we living in lala land. As of today the USA Recorded 181,000 new cases of covid 19 yesterday which is the highest rate of new case infection in a single day ever recorded not only in the USA but globally. Secondly in some parts of the USA the positive test to total test percentage is as high as 30%. So in bajan terms if dem test 10 people 3 got de virus.

England too is battling major problems with positive test ratios in some parts of the UK reporting a 1 to 5 positive test ration. So 1 out of 5 new test taken are showing positive.

It is therefore accurate to state based on fact and not fiction, that right now 2 of the most dangerous countries in the world for older high risk people to be is in fact England and the USA.

BARBADOS has done a good job in protecting its people from the virus. Were we perfect, of course not closing the supermarkets was a major mistake, but the government on the whole have done a good job with the virus.

As for the USA, it is clear they are our biggest threat as the winter season draws near, so let us all hope the screening processes hold up to the increased load and that too many positive cases don’t slip through the net.

• @John A

A big concern, a very big concern and there is the challenge to restarting the cruise ship indistyr we see playing out. A big concern because it will take a couple years for the vaccine to be distributed and consumer confidence to bounce.

What are the interim strategies to keep us a float must occupy us.

5. @ John A

Let us look at the monthly mortality figures for 2019 and so far for 2020. A complete demographic breakdown: age, occupation, cause of death, marital status, health, etc.
    Until we know our epidemiological model we are just spitting in the wind. What we can say, and thankfully, is that the number of deaths post-CoVid looks as if it is not outstripping those pre-Covid.
    As to tourism, let us see the risk details on which their planning is based. Also, when are we going to see the CoVid economic groups’ reports? All we know so fr is that eight sub-committees were given four weeks within which to report. Have they done so?
    Smoke and mirrors, old boy.

6. William Skinner

There was a time when you knew that the NDP was a fully owned, personal subsidiary, of Richie Haynes.

The hq was owned by Haynes. The money came from a narrow network of Haynes” friends. More like astroturf in American terms.

Therefore it is absurd to even think of it as a real party in the same way as the two biggies.

When your Richie Haynes could not achieve his personal objective of becoming prime minister that was the end of the ndp. If there was a raison detre is was to serve Haynes, no more.

Skinner, enough time has passed, Richie Haynes is dead, it’s right for this veil of iniquity to be removed.

• @Pachamama

Then Richie at the late stage realigned (get back in bed) with the DLP which compromised the goal of occupying the 3rd part space.

7. Barbados has been given a Black eye as a result of the Sea Dream affair.

The whole cruise industry is now abeyance as a result of what happen on the Sea Dream which is home ported in Barbados.

“”What were they thinking””?

8. David

There will never be a third party place in a duopoly. Either it takes the place of one the main actors or is consumed by the system.

9. Oh dear me! You guys make me feel guilty for not being miserable!

Let me touch base with somebody in touch with reality – not the exaggerated version of rose-tinted optimism or it’s opposite, grey clouds of doom and gloom.

We live not in heaven. We live not in hell. We live in Barbados. We have to work to make it better for all.

Cuhdear Bajan,

I finally have some okras coming. Sweet peppers too. Lettuce, basil, chives, spinach and eggplants also. Got flowers on my cucumbers and butternut squash.

AND my hot peppers plants are thriving. Second attempt and it was touch and go for a while. My tomatoes died weeks ago. Planting some seeds today.

Sweet potatoes, cassava and radishes growing well. Pigeon pea leaves peeping out. Beets looking leafy but no rooty. Watching my carrot leaves too and waiting for roots. Celery, parsley, marjoram and thyme fighting on. Kale refusing to grow quite as I expected.

These things do wonders for COVID anxiety. Doing what one can instead of sitting on one’s butt and complaining is the best therapy.

The mental health experts are right.

10. My Dearest Pacha
    I have no argument with your position. Obviously like many others you are only looking at the Haynes factor. The NDP’s origins are well known. However it’s intellectually dishonest to suggest it was not a full fledge political party. You seem to forget that it contested two elections and was the only third party to win a seat since independence. You seem to forget that it was the official opposition. Just deal with the facts. You are entitled to your own opinions but not your own facts.
    Haynes never realigned the NDP with the the DLP. Quite the opposite; Haynes actually got in bed with Arthur and the BLP. The majority of active NDP members especially those wanting to be MPs, went straight into Arthur’s camp: Gooding Edghill, Rommel Marshall, Dalton Lovell. Don’t forget Denny, Commisiong, Prescod.
    The party that benefitted most from the departure of the NDP was the BLP.
    You are way off target. Hopefully ,I will soon be ina position to finally put in the public’s domain what really happened to the NDP and how it eventually evaporated.

• @William

Interesting article.

POLITICS-BARBADOS: A Political Party With a Difference
      By IPS Correspondents
      Reprint | | Print | Send by email
      Stan Myers

BRIDGETOWN, Sep 25 1998 (IPS) – When does a political party change into a pressure group?

When it no longer sees the need to seriously contend for political power – at least that is how one political scientist sees it.

“The role and function of a political party is to contest for electoral office and one day to become the government. If you are not doing that, then you’ve become a pressure group or an interest group, not a political party,” says University of the West Indies lecturer in politics, Dr Neville Duncan.

Duncan was speaking even as discussion on the fate of the nine- year-old National Democratic Party (NDP) seems to be hanging in the balance as the country prepares for general elections within another year.

But leader of the NDP, Richie Haynes and three prominent members of the NDP who have served notice that they will not be a part of the upcoming race do not share Duncan’s views.

“It is very important for the party to remain in existence to continue to generate ideas and policies for the betterment of Barbados and exercise careful choices as to where and when it intervenes in the election process,” explains Haynes.

And so even though the party may not contest the elections, the leaders feel it is important that it maintains a presence in the country.

Founded in 1989, the NDP is a splinter group of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP). Haynes a 61 year-old medical doctor was a former finance minister in the DLP government of 1986-1991. He is credited with helping that party to a landlside victory in the 1986 elections with his alternate budget, offering tax-free income for those earning below 7,500 dollars per year.

In the 1991 elections Haynes and three colleagues who ran for the NDP lost their parliamentary seats. However, this did not discourage the party.

“We have been more effective as an opposition party than the official opposition,” Haynes said then.

Haynes was able to take back his seat in the 1994 election.

And in what appeared to be the first signs of cracks in the ranks, the party chose to stay out of a by-election last year, much to the amasement of political watchers and voters.

Then the decision in the last two weeks of three key party figures, David Commisong, Harold Blackman and Richard Byer not to contest upcoming national elections served to add to speculation that the party is falling apart.

“I don’t see any point in my contesting the next general elections to go and lose again,” said Byer.

So speculation is growing that the party’s demise is near or that it may be forced to join forces with either the ruling Barbados Labour Party (BLP) or the opposition DLP.

Though the NDP never commanded a significant number of seats, it did affect the outcome of the two polls it contested by taking away votes from the BLP and DLP, observers say.

The BLP won 20 of the 28 seats in the 1994 elections, the DLP, then led by Erskine Sandiford, seven and the NDP one.

But for Barbadians, like many of its Caribbean neighbours, accustomed to the two-party system, there is always the expectation that once you enter the political fray, holding the reigns of government is the ultimate aim.

Not so, says Haynes. “… We wanted to be different from the other political parties. … We see ourselves as part of the development process … we recognise elections as an important part of a political party. But it is not the sole reason.

“We’re able to take a step back, get ourselves out of this useless confrontation which is going on throughout the years between the other political parties, largely based on personalities, and develop some core policies for Barbados between 1989 and today. And these are the policies that have really set the parameters of social and economic development in Barbados,” he says.

Observers say since coming to power in 1994 the BLP led by Prime Minister Owen Arthur has adopted many of the economic and social policies which were outlined in the NDP manifesto.

“It’s programme has been adopted by the Barbados Labour Party on the admission of the NDP leader, Dr Richie Haynes. The question must therefore be asked: why is there a need for the party anyway?” says Dr. George Belle, lecturer at the University of the West Indies, seemingly suggesting that a merger would be in order.

Haynes has often supported a number of government bills saying they represent what his party wants for the country. The NDP leader even chairs a government-appointed committee currently investigating alleged irregularities of a now closed public hospital..

“The important thing is to be there. And once you are there and you remain there, you can be quite sure that as the political scene changes from time to time your time will come,” says Haynes.

Though Barbados’ political history may point to the parties playing musical chairs with turns at government, what somebody should have told Haynes is that these political parties have as their first objective the command of government.

He should know also that voters cast their ballots to put their party in government, not for a pressure group waiting its turn, observers say.

http://www.ipsnews.net/1998/09/politics-barbados-a-political-party-with-a-difference/

11. @. Carson Cadogan
    “Barbados has been given a black eye as a result of the Sea Dream affair “

What unadulterated nonsense, how is Barbados responsible for what has happened on the Sea Dream ?

12. William Skinner
    We see no intellectual dishonesty in recognizing that a man conspired with three others to unseat another party as official opposition and on the basis of such an act of disloyalty a political party is birthed to seek revenge on those who preventing Richies Haynes from taking over from Barrow.

You of all people should know that the ndp had no deep roots in any part of Barbados. That it has very little left that survives it. That the people you claim as former members would most likely have been bees or dees anyway.

You must know that no mass of people had any voice in its demise. The classical corporate organization. If this kind of shiiite was tried at Roebuck Street or Belleville there would be thousands of feckless believers hollering fuh blue murder.

The ndp was no different than what we have now as an opposition. A contrived collection of individuals seeking personal positions. After a few elections this current socalled opposition like the ndp will also go the way of the dodo bird.

This does not a party make.

13. @ Pacha
    “You must know that no mass of people had any voice in its demise. The classical corporate organization. If this kind of shiiite was tried at Roebuck Street or Belleville there would be thousands of feckless believers hollering fuh blue murder.“(Quote)

You are now saying exactly what I said in an earlier submission. I stated quite clearly that I had only recently gathered the piece of the evidence, which I believe would clearly explain how the “demise “of the party was planned. The NDP never failed as a third party. That is a loose term.
    I repeat, the necessary research is being done and I will make the findings public.
    I am very familiar with that article. Hayes’ response was some of the most clever propaganda ever. When read one should not pay any attention to what he said. It was what he did not say that really mattered. I know that Duncan was not convinced by his sophistry.
    Byer’s statement was more profound:” Why run again if you know you would lose”. Byer and Miller had become very disillusioned with Haynes because there was a personality clash with Vere Brathwaite, who in my opinion, was more an asset to the party than either Miller or Byer. Quite frankly, Edgar Bourne had more political sense than Byer and Miller combined. Unfortunately he was always treated rather casually because of the usual snobbery that exists. Indeed you note how quite recently Reifer was hammered because he was not considered intellectually ready for politics. Like it or not we still want lawyer politics and fancy talkers.

• @William

This is the point, the NDP was a charisma led political party by a man who was sympathetic to DLP policies at heart. It was doomed to die once Haynes went back to his roots. The others were hangers on.

14. Looking back now, the NDP was quite like Solutions Barbados…a one man band…a brilliant person as leader and hangers on! Both had a similar demise.

15. @ Prodigal Son
    Obviously you know not of what you speak.
    However , it is certainly interesting that you would call now departed citizens such as Wendell McClean , Janette Layne Clark and others , who had distinguished themselves as hangers on.
    Certainly Cranston Brown , Ian Gooding Edghill and so on, cannot be hangers on.
    You can have the last word on this. I shall return to this topic in due course.
    Sometimes your feeble attempts to play devil‘s advocate borders on nothing more than an amused embarrassment.

• @William

The challenge is that you operate on the mistaken position of being the gatekeeper of all knowledge concerning the NDP. We have people on the ground who were involved with the NDP party. We do not have to wait on your book.

16. David

Good point. Skinner is a highly knowledge source or possible source but not the only one. And there are different interpretations or accounts about significant events from other people.

17. So sorry, Mr. Skinner, l didn’t mean to mash your corns and include you in the hangers on band. I am old enough and have been following politics to remember what happened to the NDP.
    Wendell Mcclean also formed a party, the PDM with Frank Alleyne and that too failed.

Remember when Wendell was looking for Frank to run and he left Wendell high and dry….the man decided third parties aren’t going to cut it and l am not leaving my cushy job.

The point is third parties are a no no in Barbados.

18. @ David @ Pacha
    All I am saying is that you two have all this information and all you David can conclude is that only Haynes was taken seriously. Go and check how many votes Randall Rouse got against Johnny Chentenham in 1994. Ask yourselves why the DLP subsequently recruited him and he was beaten by a mere 79 votes. Rommel Marshal got 600 votes as an NDP and then won the seat as a BLP. Ian Gooding Edghill managed both of Marshall’s campaigns and now he is in parliament.Go and check how many votes Trevor Prescod got as an NDP and then subsequently won the constituency as a BLP. You all taking pure crap. The party was taken very seriously. Dig up Owen Arthur and asked him if he did not immediately after elections in 1991 if he did not send messages to: Marshall, Vere Brathwaite, Randall Worrell and one William Skinner to join the BLP. Find time to peruse the NDP manifesto of 1991 and you would see the progressive policies.
    I am no gate keeper and when I published my views they will be truthful and nobody will question them. You guys don’t know the full story . Far from only Haynes being taken seriously it was largely felt that he should have been replaced and he was challenged by Leroy Harewood for the presidency.
    The only reason I defend the NDP is the fact that I was associated with it. I will forever defend the manifesto of 1991. The NDP did not fail. It’s the most successful third party since independence. If BU golds tomorrow it could not be seriously considered a failure. Failure and folding are not necessarily synonymous.

The truth will out.
    Peace

19. Skinner is sharing licks, left, right and centre.

We didn’t make the point about the unseriousness of the ndp, though we might have.

So if they were so serious as you say pray tell why in an era where the country seeks options nobody has opted to revived what was arguably the best third party astroturf effort in 50 years.

These people you suggest with measured success is merely to deflect from the intent of the maximum leader Richie Haynes. Nobody remembers them or sees any potential for transformation coming therefrom. It is like trying to convince us that Peanuts Morrison, for example, was essential to Barrow’s reign

• @Pacha

This is what the blogmaster meant by referring to the others has hangers on. They were all followers. Nobody showed the testicular fortitude to challenge Haynes or revive the party.

We measure based on outcomes, not on the nostalgic stuff.

20. David

Well, Richie had a few people in there who had genuine and admirable radical leanings. The late Leroy Harewood sic. But this is not unique to the ndp.

But he controled everything. As far as he was concerned it was merely a way to keep some noise, a standing-in for party discourse with a popular tinge. But he knew they had no resources and would be unacceptable to the ordinary and misguided Bajans. They were merely “sheep-dogs” to herd a certain mass of the people towards the party.

21. David

That is the general belief. However, you may remember that Debbi Simpson was all over the ndp. Her father is Kiffin.

For this and other reasons we tend to be guided to the conclusion that other people’s money was deployed extensively.

22. @ David ,Pacha
    You two are inadvertently getting very close to the truth. I would not go any further but in terms of Comrade Harewood,I would only say that as my close friend, he joined the NDP because I was a member. More about Harewood’s challenge to Haynes will be revealed in the fullness of time.
    Believe it or not Debbie Simpson was a very active member of the party and the Young Nationals. She was extremely well liked and very popular. It’s true her father was considered very close to Haynes but I can’t say that he was a financier.
    The so-called failure of the NDP is well orchestrated propaganda. There is a reason why the NDP has not risen. I have read @Hal saying that Haynes told him that he intended to revive the party. I can bet that he was told that with a very straight face. @ David,remember what Haynes told Duncan ?He probably had a very straight face then as well.
    You two have now more than convinced me that the true reasons why the NDP evaporated are not known.
    You remind me of two little boys fishing from the rocks and just so they catch a shark!
    Richie was famous for saying that impressions matter and you two have proved him right. You are trying to give the impression that you know. Even I am impressed.
    Peace

• @William

Hopefully your manuscript will not cross the rubicon with you when that happens as it will for all of us. Perhaps you should send a draft to the blogmaster as insurance.

• @William

You are a great advocate for third party movement to emerge to challenge the duopoly. It is therefore regrettable that so many years after the demise of the NDP your memoir remains buried. Do you think it will be a good tool for others trying to fan the movement? The NDP despite its failure remains the third party with the most brand awareness.

23. @ William

For the record, Sir Richie did not exactly say he was going to reactivate the NDP. He asked me if I would like to be involved and raised the issue as a hypothetical issue.
    It was clear he was thinking about it, but was never definite. I did not give an answer because I am not naturally clubbable, knew what Leroy Harewood had said and had reservations about some of the people Sir Richie had a very high opinion of.
    I knew nothing about his wealth, but was certain that he was not a destitute man. What I do know was that he was very proud and would not have accepted any monetary offers from anyone unless he had offered a professional service. The party’s HQ was his own property.
    As to integrity, for the few years I got to know him well, I had never heard him being rude about anyone with the exception of one particular person (I cannot remember him using any offensive language). That impressed me. Of the many Barbadian professionals and politicians he was the most impressive on that level.
    I also had the highest opinions of Leroy Harewood and knew before he died he was very hostile to Sir Richie; I also owe a lot to Leroy (or Lee as we called him) for opening up my mind to knowledge I most probably would not have accessed otherwise, both through Black Star bookshop and in personal conversations.
    I also know that one of our best known Old Harrisonians disliked Sir Richie from their days at school for the pettiest of reasons. In Sixth form Sir Richie drove to school and this person was demented with envy. At the time I could never understand this, I now know it as part of the Bajan Condition.
    I knew the person when he was at school and everyone in the area used to describe him as ‘poor great’. On the contrary, he had some of the nicest extended relatives in the district.

24. David
    There is no tradition in Barbados for political figures to author memoirs.

Skinner
    There were certain personalities trying to recruit this writer. You must remember that you are not the all knowing. There were a lot of loose lips around. And loose lips sink ndp’s

25. @David
    I would try to hasten my personal story. The reason I have tarried on my story is simply because there was one thing I could not put my finger on. I think that has now been revealed. For all its success , the NDP did not establish constituency branches as quickly as we should have. I have tried to explain this to Solutions Barbados and I see that Atherley is making the same mistake. Quite frankly as much as we appreciate Caswell, he has indicated he has no interest in being a candidate and I think Drakes is saying the same thing. Caswell’s standing now surpasses Atherley’s. Atherley should remove Caswell andDrakes if they don’t want to be candidates, by two who want to be. Caswell should not be allowed to have it both ways.
    The third parties are just afraid that without money they can’t progress . Hard work at the community level will eventually give them the roots they need.
    The BLPDLP is nothing more than a one eye man in a blind land. The poor turn out in SGN is really a revelation of fatigue with their collective decadence.
    @ Pacha
    From what I have been told, you would have been welcome to any political organization. Loose lips cannot sink the truth.
    @ Hal
    Thanks for the clarification. Haynes would have never reactivated the NDP. Period.

Peace

• @William

Good comment, part of the post SGN analyses is the poor showing of the PDP. You may be onto something re: establishing roots in the constituency and growing party machinery, attracting donors etc. The blogmaster is of the view the way he crossed so soon lends to a lack of credibility as well. Maybe the true story will come out in the wash. If Caswell and Drakes will not run in the general election perhaps there is an opportunity to give others the visibility that attaches to being a senator.

26. @ David
    Caswell is saying that his union is growing. His profile has now gone from BU blogger to Nation Columnist to Senator and he owes Atherley more. This is now coming through as pure opportunism. Time to give Atherley more. Look for a constituency or give up the damn place in the senate.

• @William T his blogmaster has more faith in Caswell. He will find a way to put food on his table as well as continue a lifelong role of being a strident social commentator.

27. Good exchange by WS.
    You have already sold one copy of your book when you choose to deliver it.

Ignore
    🙂 I see the blogmaster is already trying to get a free copy. Make him pay 🙂
    Was meant as a cheap joke.

28. @ TheOGazerts
    Thanks. It will just be my personal views. Up to this morning, I was informed that there is a feeling that Richie was deserted by those who thought he was too stingy with money because the party had access to millions.
    I assure there was no money floating around the NDP. Far from , most candidates like myself were more than weak financially or to but it bluntly: broke.

29. Is the PM trying to imitate the late OSA and his stupid policy of inclusion?

Much as I like her, l wonder what she was thinking engaging Rodney Grant…he is just like Hammie La…he ditched Santia and the BLP months before the 2018 election to run as a dem. Just goes to show that he has no political judgement or discernment because any blind man could see that the people of Barbados were just waiting on Freundel to call the election…and he left the BLP and followed the DLP down the well of doom. I would really like to know what Santia thinks…as he bad mouthed her so badly.

Next is George Connelly…he acknowledged that the DLP is still on the path to destruction, he seems bright and intelligent, why does he not stay in the party and fight for it? Sad indictment on Verla’s leadership.

That is why I have always been against party hopping.

30. Quite frankly as much as we appreciate Caswell, he has indicated he has no interest in being a candidate and I think Drakes is saying the same thing. Caswell’s standing now surpasses Atherley’s. Atherley should remove Caswell andDrakes if they don’t want to be candidates, by two who want to be. Caswell should not be allowed to have it both ways.
    ++++++++++++++++++
    Shouldn’t a party have philosophical moorings? Shouldn’t there be some guiding principles? Shouldn’t a party have a rai·son d’ê·tre?
    Maybe Caswell sees something that you are not familiar with and would find it hard to go on a political platform with the object of just criticizing Gov’t and doesn’t have anything to offer.

And to besides most people believe that pure opportunism drove Atherley to the office of opposition leader and if Atherley becomes a serious threat Mia will disclose what back door deal he made to land the job to embarrass him just like how she tried to embarrass Caswell over some miserly sum of money.

31. Mia politics of inclusion bodes well to say that at the end of the day the bad blood between her and the two cross over can reaped election benefits in the form of voters from the dlp
    Like the blp during the last years od OSA tenure and the bad blood between her and OSA and the cut throat politics that was happening
    The dlp transition and choosing a leader have met with difference in like the same manner the blp encounter
    Like the blp the dlp would work their differences out

32. When, ac? 2023 is going to be here soon and your party will still be in disarray. Were l the PM, l would call the election early and leave you all catspraddle again.

We done know that the PdP is as dead as the DLP.

33. Wondering if those two acted as spies. They should have announced their split with the party during the run up to the election.

I think what they did was unethical.
    That is a nasty piece of work by any standard.

34. Yuh know something Lorenzo i think that is a great idea
    Then the people would get to feel hear and most importantly understand what it is like living in a totalitarian govt where there is only one voice calling the shots
    Go ahead let her call the election not my lost but the country and those who do not have no legs to stand on
    My theme is about good governance and protecting a democracy
    However your alternative is all about victory which bodes in actions and principles to those of selfish and self-serving demagogue
    God help barbados

35. Prior to the emergence of BU, we had to depend mainly on the Advocate, the Nation, VOB, or CBC to put information in the public domain. These media were closely controlled, and functioned shamelessly to serve the interests of the status quo. Barbadians love to distil every single issue through a political lens but they have practically no idea of what truthfully goes on at the political level and in political parties. They still rely heavily on the media for their mental conditioning.

William Skinner has opened up an extremely important discussion here which could potentially lead to a meaningful change in attitudes, and in the way we view politicians and political parties. That pathway is the sharing of our political and other experiences.

People of all walks of life are “unfaired” daily in Barbados by a system constructed along the lines of colour and class. They are made to believe that they must accept all of this “unfairness” and suffer in silence. Almost every single Barbadian tells you that in Barbados, it is not what you know, it is who who you now.

We need to steadily and gradually develop a system in Barbados based on social justice and equal opportunity for all, regardless of colour and class. Before we can achieve that, a vision has to be painted for the majority of Barbadians to see and buy into.

That is one of the roles of BU.

• Here is part of the strategy to re-elect Moore in 2023. The Lower Estate dump problem started in DLP time we fixed it.

The Glebe pavilion started in the DLP time and we fixed it etc.

Reifer made a mistake using these two issues to lead his message, both awaken public sentiment of political apathy and cynicism.

36. @Theo

Spot on. Most unethical behaviour. How can someone act as the campaign manager for a by-election candidate while contemplating resignation from the party. Would you ever trust such a person as a friend?

37. @ Walter
    I have always tried to be balanced but the naked truth is that a different level of discourse will be very trying on BU.
    The Blogmaster refused to accept proper advice.
    Like you said we like status and wrap ourselves in pseudo intellectualism. Put mildly, in many ways BU is slightly different from all the media you mentioned. The Blogmaster refused to push it in a more disciplined manner but I do agree we have all benefited from its presence and his effort. It’s by far one of the most successful blogs in the region and certainly in Barbados.
    Peace

Leave a comment, join the discussion.