At the outset of the Coronavirus crisis in this country, the Hon. Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, hosted a consultation with members of the Social Partnership and me at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to plan strategy for fighting this threat. I was impressed and congratulated her on the approach. I then went on to say to her that this was not a time for political controversy and that all sides must come together to defeat this scourge.

Rather than busy itself with measures to protect the people of this country, some twelve days after the consultation, Government rushed to Parliament and passed legislation that was already on the books, to manage the ensuing crisis. In essence, that legislation amended the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions that already existed at section 28 of the same act; also at sections 2 and 3 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act; and at section 25 of the Constitution. The amendment also went on to give powers to the Chief Medical Officer that he already had since 1969.

Needless to say, those initial steps did not give me any confidence that Government was capable of handling the situation, however I remained quiet hoping that somehow that they would get it right. I’ve tried to hold my peace but the situation has now reached a stage that I am compelled to speak-up before these bunglers unintentionally kill us all.

The handling of this crisis has been plagued with the bungling that is now characteristic of anything that this administration touches. So far, were are told that there is no evidence of any community spread of the virus. But it would seem that the end result of the Government’s initiatives would lead to what we fear most. What did the Government think would happen when it gave one day’s notice of a 24-hour curfew? As was reasonably foreseeable, people rushed to supermarkets in their thousands, ignoring any suggestion of physical or social distancing. Take some sobering time to imagine what could have happened if there were any carriers of the Coronavirus in those lines?

As if Government fails to learn from its mistakes, post offices were opened for a limited period in order to allow pensioners to cash their National Insurance pension cheques. The foreseeable result happened: hundreds of vulnerable persons throng the post offices thereby creating an incubator for the spread of the Coronavirus.

This virus is deadly and Government must come up with a series of measures that would protect the people of this country. These hit or miss initiatives just will not do.

1,745 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Government Bungling Response to Coronavirus Crisis”

1. WW

In the atlanta area the train and buses are called MARTA. I see MARTA shuttle come to pick up/drop the handicap. I have never seen the pick up a normal elderly person. The able usually ride the train or bus like a normal /younger person but there are seat reserved for them.

Further away from Atlanta I don’t know what goes on – the train or bus services does not extend to at other part of Georgia except for the metro Atlanta areas and Georgia is huge.

My guess is that they use a private service

2. Robert

The educated jack donkey went from the whole world- he got beat down, jamacia- he got beat down so now he gone to the to the smaller islands.

3. I SHOULD ADD A DISHONORABLE DISCHARGE FROM ANY OF THE 4 US BRANCH OF SERVICE OR US COASTGUARDS DISQUALIFIES ALL US VETERAN FROM BENEFITING IN ANY US VETERANS PROGRAMMES FROM INCEPTION FOR LIFE.

PASSING A DRUG SCREENING TEST IS MANDATORY BEFORE ACCEPTANCE AND DURING ENROLLMENT OF PROGRAMMES.

FAILURE OF A MANDATORY DRUG TEST IS NON ENROLLMENT OR IMMEDIATE REMOVAL AND LOST OF ANY FUTURE US VETERAN BENEFITS.

MANY MANY US VETERANS FALL UNDER THIS BARRED CRITERIA WITH DISHONORABLE DISCHARGES OR FAILED DRUG TESTS WHICH PREVENTS/REMOVES THEM FROM THE PROGRAMMES.

THE US MEDIA DOES NOT HIGHLIGHT THIS TO THE AMERICAN PUBLIC.

4. “THE PROBLEM IS MANY MANY US VETERANS UPON LEAVING THEIR FORMER BRANCH OF SERVICE OF WHICH THEY ARE 4 THEN ADD THE US COAST GUARDS ARE NOT AWARE OF WHAT IS AVAILABLE INCLUDING MYSELF WHICH I LEARNT YEARS LATER OF BENEFITS I WAS ENTITLED TO BY CHANCE.

and that is the problem right there, many people do not know about available programs and just happen on to them by chance, more information needs to be shared…

John2…am sure there is a program existing in Atlanta for the elderly, it is a big city and very rural country areas, just say you are not aware of any,am sure 80% of the population are not aware of many programs either.

I never ever heard about welfare in my life until i was in my 40s, never even knew it existed in Barbados too, if ya don’t know you dont know…lack of certain knowledge.

5. WW
    In the atlanta area the train and buses are called MARTA. I see MARTA shuttle come to pick up/drop the handicap. I have never seen the pick up a normal elderly person. The able usually ride the train or bus like a normal /younger person but there are seat reserved for them.
    Further away from Atlanta ****I don’t know what goes on****– the train or bus services does not extend to at other part of Georgia except for the metro Atlanta areas and Georgia is huge.
    My guess is that they use a private service

6. There was an elderly bed ridden woman next-door to me. when the family moved the daughter got a private “elderly care” vehicle to mover her. something like the private ambulance in Barbados.

7. @John2
    “I am used to hotter temperatures than in Barbados so the temperature there now wouldn’t affect me.”

You in Atlanta where the temperature can reach 140 degrees F. Therefore, when you go to Bim and it is 120 degrees it will feel like winter to you. Do you understand that? It is not what I feel but what the actual temperature is.

8. Piece the Legend Avatar

Here is what you said and I quote

“… Donna April 20, 2020 12:11 PM

Piece,

The legislation issues will get more traction after the pandemic is under control. Right now people are more concerned with daily survival. That is understandable.

Legal jargon is difficult for most to analyze even with clear minds…”

That it may get attention after the Covid is over may be true gentle Donna

But here is what de ole man prophecies to be true

https://i.imgur.com/2D14kdK.png

This change to the Laws and Constitution of Barbados WILL BE PERMANENT and Mugabe Mottley WILL NOT BE REMOVED FROM OUR STATUTE BOOKS

And that is what is to be feared.

As Senator Caswell Franklyn is saying here THE PERMANENCE OF A LAW that was not required because it already existed AND THE INSERTION OF A COMPONENT in that law during the Cover of the Night

FOR NO REASON WHATSOEVER other than despotism!!!

9. Right now even despots have watched their world SHRINK TO THE SIZE OF A PEANUT…….right before their GREEDY EYES…lol

THEY just watched themselves BE TRAPPED in the UKNOWN and could do not one thing about it…ha….and no amount of LIES, SCHEMING SCAMMING, PLOTTING, TIEFING nor changing of the constitution to give themselves more sweeping powers….can get them out….every step they take will be a MISSTEP and COCKUP……if they DO NOT apply simple COMMONSENSE…or even simpler mathematical models….just as we have been WITNESSING.

10. @ Piece the Legend April 20, 2020 2:39 PM

Piece our prophet sees dangers where there are none at all. The omnipotence of the government is based on the will of the people, who wanted a national one-party rule with abolition of the separation of powers. From the point of view of democratic theory, the addition is therefore perfectly in order. The Supreme Court or the CCJ would not even allow an action against it on the grounds of manifest unsubstantiation. A court of justice is not a political tribune, but an assembly of men of honour.

Quite apart from that, we should postpone the next elections in 2023 until 2030 in order to carry out the necessary corona reforms and the IMF programme No 5, called STARVE.

We should also suspend the Senate as a rebel stronghold until 2030. Opposition in times of crisis is indecent and inappropriate.

11. As Senator Caswell Franklyn is saying here THE PERMANENCE OF A LAW that was not required because it already existed AND THE INSERTION OF A COMPONENT in that law during the Cover of the Night

FOR NO REASON WHATSOEVER other than despotism!!!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

ANY INDIVIDUAL THAT CAN USE A RED BAG ON THE CAMPAIGN TRAIL OF LIES TO TRICK THE MASSES INTO VOTING PROMISING THEM UPON BEING SUCCESSFUL IN 6 MONTHS:

a) MORE MONEY IN THE MASSES POCKETS – MINIMUM WAGE ETC

b) Transparency Legislation

c) Integrity Legislation

d) Prosecution of DLP MINISTERS AND BENEFACTORS ESPECIALLY SINGLING OUT MARK MALONEY

2 YRS FAILED AT ALL OF THE ABOVE,

YOU HAD TO KNOW THIS INDIVIDUAL WOULD GO TO ALL MEANS NECESSARY TO STAY LARGE AND IN CHARGE INCLUDING CHANGING LAW UNNECESSARY TO GIVE THEM ULTIMATE POWER AS ALL DICTATORS DO.

“Gimme the VOTE AND WATCH MUH”.

12. For the common people to take notes, an explanation of the scenographer:

By making radical demands and by putting everything under the cloak of democracy, the emergency legislation seems moderate. Fire and smoke, diversionary tactics help the troops to break through. People are happy that Tron is not in power and are grateful for the readjustment of democracy. Better a little evil than Tron’s painting of the one-party state.

13. I was waiting for you.

Not ASSUMPTIONS – NEWS REPORTS OF COMPLAINTS BY ACTUAL VETERANS WHO ARE FINDING IT DIFFICULT TO ACCESS THEIR SERVICES.

It is not I who says the veteran’s health care system is a mess. Both the Trump AND the Obama administration have acknowledge that the veterans are not being well-served by the system.

You really seem to believe that we have to sit here and swallow your dishonest bullshit.

I keep telling you that the 2 x 3 island has tv and internet and we learnt to read and comprehend the same place you did.

Now, this conversation is over from this end. Feel free to continue making ASS-UMPTIONS from your rear end and releasing them.

PS. From all reports many of the druggie vets on the street may be suffering from post traumatic stress and therefore should also be a priority.

14. I went to Trimart at 1pm today ( my allotted time).
    No line up.
    I showed my photo ID and entered the store.
    All the shoppers were wearing masks.
    Social distancing was for the most part respected.
    All the mad rush as seen yesterday seems to have abated.

15. @Redman

Thanks for the feedback.

Were the shelves well stocked?

Let us see what the naysayers come up with now.

#thanksfortheshowersofblessing
    #weneedtherhrain

16. DAME BAJAN

I have never experienced any real temperatures or heat index temperatures of 140F

I have done a few 120s and can tell you that Barbados temperatures are not that humid.

Barbados heat is drier / less humid and is usually accompanied with a cooling sea breeze.

In certain “built up” areas and especial in apartments (where u have a blocking wall) the temperature can get a lot higher and there is a need for a fan or AC unit.

and again Barbados real temperatures (not heat indexed) does not go to 100F

I do understand about temperatures and humidity.

The real temperature is the temperature that is measured by the thermometer that is what most people go by

17. I don’t think many are understanding how the testing works, it would be nice to have everything reopened but one must be careful, if the population is not adequately tested, you have no clue what is going on..

https://www.cnn.com/2020/04/19/health/us-coronavirus-sunday/index.html?fbclid=IwAR1Kz4l-JWghtd62Ryoot_oAGvMvdbn5oOMCL3twI2u4Y7aRimhke1a-lQk

“(CNN)The United States’ coronavirus death toll topped 40,000 on Sunday afternoon, according to data from Johns Hopkins University.

The 40,461 deaths are among more than 755,533 coronavirus cases, the university’s Covid-19 tracker says.
    The grim milestone was reached as Harvard researchers warned that if the country wants the economy to open back up — and stay that way — testing must go up to at least 500,000 people per day.
    Testing nationwide is currently at 150,000 per day, they said, adding that “If we can’t be doing at least 500,000 tests a day by May 1, it is hard to see any way we can remain open.”

18. Piece the Legend Avatar

The point that Senator Franklyn has gone to some effort to make here and which we are sidestepping is a very serious one

De ole man going paint the Big Picture and then come back to the details

“…China’s government initially withheld basic information about the coronavirus from the public, under-reported cases of infection, downplayed the severity of the infection, and dismissed the likelihood of transmission between humans.

Authorities detained people for reporting on the epidemic on social media and internet users for “rumor-mongering,” censored online discussions of the epidemic, and curbed media reporting…”

A question de ole man will pose to Senator Franklyn is “to what degree did this government seek to have him muzzled during the last few months when he sought to learn about the presence of Coronavirus here?”

All bajans should then understand the difficult road that the Senator is treading as he seeks to apprise bajns of the fact that these laws are being changes IN THE DEAD OF NIGHT

Under these extraordinary powers now vested in Mugabe the Dictator Senator Franklyn risks being arrested under the extraordinary powers that Mugabe Mottley has AND EVEN THE SAME HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY CANT INTERVENE!!!

Cause Mugabe can suspend them permanently!!!

So now that wunna understand the contxt of this blog and that the Senator had to tread carefully and present the topic as it related to COVID, those who understand the macro environment understand that if he had remained in the tight confines of the Constitutional change, it would have brought the ire of Mugabe!!

And, BECAUSE NUFF OF WE DON’T KNOW BETTER, his blog is best seen upon review of Chapter 3 Section 26 1. c which de ole man quotes

26.(1) Nothing contained in or done under the authority of any written law shall be held to be inconsistent with or in contravention ofany provision of sections 12 to 23 to the extent that the law in question–

(c) alters an existing law and does not thereby render that law inconsistent with any provision of sections 12 to 23 in a manner in which, or to an extent to which, it was not previously so inconsistent.”

We bajans need to understand what HAS BEEN DONE

Senator Franklyn highlights this act clearly when he says this

“…”…“In an Order made pursuant to subsections (4) and (5) the Cabinet may delegate to the Prime Minister the power to make such directives as may be required in the public interest.”

So the House has relinquished its power to Mugabe and she has no leash to restrain her

19. When you guys can force me into bed with Lorenzo you know you are talking nonsense! I question your motives here. Do you really care about Barbados or are you just trying to prove how much better off you are for having left?

20. Dame Bajan

don’t want to get into it with you on real temperatures and heat index temperatures.

the ones that are shouting about the people in the 100% temperatures are being over dramatic for their special/political purposes.

We both know that it north America people work outdoor in extremes of temperatures. In the winter it can be various degrees below freezing to the opposite in the summer of high temperatures + humidity.

Pertaining to the high temperatures in Barbados – if you are going to be outdoors for a few hours it is the same as any other place = Dress to suit, take an umbrella/hat, make sure you are hydrated before you leave home and take liquids with you to keep you hydrated.

Same advice for if you are young or old. in HOTLANTA , Barbados or Canada.

We had a couple high school student died from exercising in hotlanta temperatures least year.

21. But piece yuh got yuh wish of not one RH seat
    Now yuh frigtten as sh.it
    Any how the information given should make all bajans tremble in their shoes
    Why dont u ask David what he think about mugabe runaway power

22. Lorenzo..
    .Hesr Austin and his sidekicks Mariposa and Bajeposa you really believe these numbers in reference to no new cases

xxxxxcxccxxcxxc
    How can people belive the number of no new cases when govt says that because of shortages govt was unable to quarantine people but doesn’t say if the peoole were tested
    Btw what kind of double speak is that
    Govt is trying to find manner and ways to manipulate the people on this issue knowning full well that the numbers given does not apply as to whether people were tested or not.

23. This is a LIE.

24. BRAVO…supermarket hours have been extended 7.00am to 4:00pm..

don’t make it more difficult when it can be made much, much easier…

25. mari

u are the manipulator

26. WW
    YIPEEEE

but I still need you to keep pushing you ninga styles until……..

27. Not ASSUMPTIONS – NEWS REPORTS OF COMPLAINTS BY ACTUAL VETERANS WHO ARE FINDING IT DIFFICULT TO ACCESS THEIR SERVICES.

It is not I who says the veteran’s health care system is a mess. Both the Trump AND the Obama administration have acknowledge that the veterans are not being well-served by the system.

You really seem to believe that we have to sit here and swallow your dishonest bullshit.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

MY DISHONESTY AND MENTIONED ABOVE YOU GOT YOUR INFO FROM TV.

WHAT A JOKE WAS IT FOX NEWS OR CNN?

FRAUD IS ONE OF THE BIGGEST PROBLEM IN THE US VETERAN ADMINISTRATION BY US VETERANS ESPECIALLY FILINGS FOR DISABILITY FRAUD WHERE IF SUCCESSFUL RECEIVES MONEY EACH MONTH FOR THE REST OF THEIR LIVES LIKE A LOTTERY WIN.

I HAVE MET ABLE BODIED US VETERANS WITH NO PHYSICAL IMPAIRMENTS WHO RECEIVES US$1700 MONTHLY AND SOME MORE IN DISABILITY ALLOWANCE THROUGH SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION FOR YEARS AND UNTIL DEATH SOME FROM IN THEIR THIRTIES.

MOST HAVE ADMITTED TO ME THAT THEY WERE ABLE TO TRICK THE SYSTEM WITH A GOOD PSYCHIATRIST OR MEDICAL DOCTOR (FRAUD) TO GAIN THE DISABILITY STATUS.

THIS IS WIDESPREAD IN ALL 50 STATES.

ALSO MANY US VETERANS DON’T HAVE THEIR DD214 DISCHARGE DOCUMENTS WHICH SHOWS WHETHER HONORABLE OR DISHONORABLE DISCHARGE ALONG WITH SERVICE RECORD.

THIS TAKES ABOUT 4 WEEKS TO RECEIVE BACK FROM ATLANTA CREATING FURTHER DELAYS IN THE OVERALL SYSTEM.

PS. From all reports many of the druggie vets on the street may be suffering from post traumatic stress and therefore should also be a priority. Quote

I ALSO MENTIONED THE CASES OF PTSD post traumatic stress. THE FACT THAT THEY ARE DRUGGIES PURE AND SIMPLE DISQUALIFIES THEM AND THEY ARE NOT A PRIORITY UNTIL THEY BECOME CLEAN AND CAN PASS A MANDATORY DRUG TEST BEFORE ENROLLMENT AND DURING ANY PROGRAMME.

DRUG TESTING IS MANDATORY FOR EVERYONE NO EXCEPTIONS.

NEITHER OBAMA OR TRUMP IS A US VETERAN SO MAY NOT KNOW THE FULL PICTURE.

I DIDN’T KNOW THE FULL DETAILS UNTIL SEVERAL YEARS AGO.

SO YOU COULDN’T BE WAITING FOR ME TO SHOW MY DISHONESTY.

YOU WERE WAITING TO SHOW YOUR IGNORANCE AND CONTINUED EMOTIONAL THEATRICS.

YOU OR THE TV PUNDITS ARE NOT US VETERANS YET KNOW MORE THAN I WHO AM.

YOU CAN CONTINUE TALKING YOUR SHITE AND ENJOY YOUR DAY.

YOU HAVE TRUMPED SILLY WOMAN.

YOU HAVE NO CREDIBILITY ON THIS TOPIC AND SILLIER THAN SILLY WOMAN.

I DELIBERATELY EXPLAINED EARLIER THE REASONS FOR THE DELAYS IN THE US VETERAN ADMINISTRATION SYSTEM CREATED BY OTHER US VETERANS THEMSELVES SLOWING FOR EVERYONE BECAUSE OF INCREASED SCRUTINY AND BACKGROUND CHECKS CREATING THE BACKLOGS.

28. The four persons who tested negative for the second time yesterday were among *28 negative test results returned by the Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory.

29. The government said it would review and amend as needed. It has done so. I suspect it would have done so without all the hullabaloo. Sane, rational transmission of information would have done the trick. As i said, this was hardly a case of deliberate oppression of the people but plans that did not work out as expected.

Sigh….

30. Santia is bringing an element of dignity and authority to the acting office of prime minister, without flaring hands. One for the future.

31. 20.4 million U.S. veterans

There were around 20.4 million U.S. veterans in 2016, according to data from the Department of Veterans Affairs, representing less than 10% of the total U.S. adult population. As Americans observe Veterans Day,

https://www.google.com/search?q=how+many+us+veterans+in+the+usa&rlz=1CAHKDC_enMX861&oq=how+many+us+veterans+in+the+usa&aqs=chrome..69i57.10249j0j9&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

IT IS NOT 2×3 BARBADOS.

OVER 20 MILLION US VETERANS IS A LARGE NUMBER WHEN THEY ARE DELAYS CAUSED BY FRAUD.

32. Piece the Legend Avatar

And this is why it was important that, as the country goes forward in this budding Dictatorship, IT WAS IMPORTANT TO FORCE THE GOVERNOR GENERAL to go on CBC and support the MUGABE ACCESSION TO THE THRONE

and there we have our DICTATOR FOR LIFE

33. Steuspe

34. Yeah well….even dicktators know when they are under pressure, the best thing to do in these situations is to act like a leader and do the right things…..the PEOPLE who elected you are YOUR BOSSES and not the other way around..

John2…if you were on here long you would not that it’s only certain things really get to me and am not shy…..

am sure Fowl Enuff is quite happy too…

35. I REFRAINED from commenting about the “dictator” as I am not privy to/read it.

I suspect it a law similar to what congress passed after 911 to give Bush the slack to declare war and go after the “enemies” of the USA without having to keep running back to congress for permission to do so.

Whit the case in Barbados I think the cabinet MAY give this power to the PM but it is to fight the virus and maybe limited to the time of the curfew/ state of emergency.

Just my take from the limited info I read here.

36. Donna
    The fact remains that an extra hour is unlikely to make those lines or the wait any shorter (unless a significant number of people decide not to shop), or make the sun and rain disappear. So look out! Some keeping noise don’t even understand the purpose of quarantine in the context of COVID. And others think flairing hands means incompetence. Take a look at most British politicians, Obama, Bill Clinton and I could go on. Watch their hands.

37. No the lines would not disappear until the alphabet strategy is kicked to the curb

38. It is supposed to be a 6 month limit on the sweeping powers, the way it is worded, it might have to be renewed, but i say that under correction…others may be privy to more information than me.

Don’t mind the four-legged Fowl Enuff…she don’t have any power at all, sweeping or otherwise.

39. 6 month? IS that in Cawell presentation? or where can I find it?

I suspected it was limited just to fight covid.

40. Piece the Legend Avatar

De ole man is going to use some “copy and paste items” to undescore the points about (1) transparency of government which was the campaign that the BLP ran on AND HAS NOT DELIVERED FOR 2 YEARS

And the second point about Human Rights infractions under the guise of Coronavirus Emergency Regulations (which is the point that Senator Franklyn is referring to)

“…In Iran, the outbreak emerged after authorities had severely damaged public trust by brutally repressing widespread anti-government protests and lying about shooting down a civilian airliner.

As a result, Iranian authorities have struggled to assure the public that government decision-making around the COVID-19 outbreak has been in the public’s best interests.”

Does this issue of trusting the Barbados government bring to mind what happened here in Barbados during the initial period of the Virus? When dem shoo way Senator Franklyn in the senate?

Telling lies and suppressing the truth does not bode well for any government though the Poochlickers here will say that it is Mugabe so she entitled to tell lies and wunna gots to be quiet

The practices in Iran during the virus continue

“…The unusually high rate of reported cases of government officials contracting the virus, as well as the inconsistency in figures announced by officials and domestic media sources, have heightened concerns that the data is either being deliberately under reported or poorly collected and analyzed…”

REMEMBER THE PARAGON COVERUP yet all bout the news de government carrying stories bout a woman at Paragon who get treat so good.

But dere was never anybody reported to be up deah at one time according to de GoB! (and just check she story and find out the number of days she was talking about being in quarantine!

Leh we go to an equally repressive state like Thailand where “… whistleblowers in the public health sector and online journalists have faced retaliatory lawsuits and intimidation from authorities after they criticized government responses to the outbreak, raised concerns about a possible cover-up, and reported alleged corruption related to the hoarding and profiteering of surgical masks and other supplies.

Some medical personnel were also threatened with disciplinary action – including termination of employment contracts and revocation of their licenses (what happen with the St John woman?) – for speaking out about the severe shortage of essential supplies in hospitals across the country…”

The fact is that people who are asking reasonable questions of the totalitarian Mugabe State are not being seen as citizens with this right.

Even Senator Caswell Franklyn a senator in one of the highest legislative organs in the country IS SEEN AS A DISSENTER AND TROUBLE MAKER.

A man to be muzzled.

And we need to understand that keeping quiet AT THIS TIME is going to bring us to a point where we wont have the ability to speak out

41. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ John2

You said and de ole man quotes

“…I REFRAINED from commenting about the “dictator” as I am not privy to/read it.”

The IT to be read IS AT THE TOP OF THE BLOG so you can read “it” there

You continue

“…I suspect it a law similar to what congress passed after 911 to give Bush the slack to declare war and go after the “enemies” of the USA without having to keep running back to congress for permission to do so…”

This is not the United States and more specifically this is not in Patriot Act times this is about a Health Emergency and Epidemic SO THE TWO DO NOT EQUATE!

You continue by saying “…Whit the case in Barbados I think the cabinet MAY give this power to the PM but it is to fight the virus and maybe limited to the time of the curfew/ state of emergency….”

Once more you are invited to read what Senator Caswell Franklyn says.

All of these so called powers obtained in acts and already existing legislation!

There was no need to re-enact it!!!

But the more salient issue is that DURING THE RE-ENACTMENT OF ALREADY EXISTING LAWS a law that ceded all power to the Prime Minister WAS SLIPPED IN CONTRARY TO THE PROCEDURES.

And it is this that Senator Caswell Franklyn is saying is Unconstitutional!!!

Why use this opportunity that is a national Emergency to subvert the Constitution of Barbados?

That is the main issue here nothing else!

42. https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/245100/grenada-minister-fears-community-spread-covid-19-taking

take note that Grenada has no deaths, but is well aware that it does not stop community spread, apparently people can be walking around all loaded with the plague for weeks on end..

43. @Dame Bajans April 19, 2020 4:20 PM. “Keep pets indoors and/or well watered.”

I’ve kept pets for years. They all insist on wearing fur coats lolll!!! and running ’bout in the tropical heat The last two cats I had lived to be 13 and 14.

All living thnigs, plants, pets, people are highly adaptable. People, plants and pets live in the Arctic. People, plants and pets live at the Equator. People live iin La Paz and Quito, in the clouds literally, people live at sea level.

Life is very, very adaptable.

When I lived in Quito a little coco tea, and i don’t mean the thing used to make chocolate, helped to ease the altitude difference, and i noticed that the indigenous people are kind of small. if you live so high up and oxygen is scarce evolution ensures that you are not lumbered by a 6 foot, 300 pound body.

44. “But the more salient issue is that DURING THE RE-ENACTMENT OF ALREADY EXISTING LAWS a law that ceded all power to the Prime Minister WAS SLIPPED IN CONTRARY TO THE PROCEDURES.”

so now what happens that it is clear that the slimy move was unconstitutional…ya done know the parasites in the parliament sucking away on the taxpyers are happy in that prone position and are too greedy and yellow bellied to do anything about it let alone protest.

..so what now??

Caswell cant fight this battle alone and Atherley was hollering for churches to be opened while applauding the closer of supermarkets that sells food, so there is no need to tell anyone what he is…

45. Silly girl…ah tried the cou cou with spinach today, very nice, goes with anything.

46. “Don’t mind the four-legged Fowl Enuff…she don’t have any power at all, sweeping or otherwise.”

I don’t tell lies though. Your mout gune change just now.

47. Wait bosey wuh kknda mknd games Bostic playing wud people with the daily COVID updates talking about no new cases when govt only testing people in the quarantine centres schedule for release or doctor recommended patients who might have shown systems
    Yuh see why this govt always look like crooks and scam artist because they are quick to bend the truth
    How in Gods green earth can govt update be seen as accurate when community testing has not been done

48. John2….read this again, i doubt i’m the one who has to be worried about anything, i take it you don’t even have a quarter of the story, recruiting US based fowls means nothing and you will not find one person on BU who is impressed…

Right now even despots have watched their world SHRINK TO THE SIZE OF A PEANUT…….right before their GREEDY EYES…lol

THEY just watched themselves BE TRAPPED in the UKNOWN and could do not one thing about it…..

I note that the teleconferencing that i suggested months ago and was told all types of shite about the leaders have to be there in person and blah, blah, blah….is suddenly now en vogue…cut down on the flying marionettes and save the taxpayers some money for a change…..as the world turns..

49. Wait the twist mout actually start.

WURA-War-on-UApril 17, 2020 4:04 PM

Ya fowls cussed us for telling them that this would happen, do you now see for yourself.

.. a senior citizen fell because waiting in a long line in a GODDAMN HEATWAVE AND HUMIDITY CAN KILL THE ELDERLY…

even the damn pool water that is COLD AS SHITE from Dec to May is WARM TODAY…

suck it up and open the supermarkets to normal hours before you get heat stroke deaths on your hands……those kill quicker than Covid..