At the outset of the Coronavirus crisis in this country, the Hon. Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, hosted a consultation with members of the Social Partnership and me at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to plan strategy for fighting this threat. I was impressed and congratulated her on the approach. I then went on to say to her that this was not a time for political controversy and that all sides must come together to defeat this scourge.

Rather than busy itself with measures to protect the people of this country, some twelve days after the consultation, Government rushed to Parliament and passed legislation that was already on the books, to manage the ensuing crisis. In essence, that legislation amended the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions that already existed at section 28 of the same act; also at sections 2 and 3 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act; and at section 25 of the Constitution. The amendment also went on to give powers to the Chief Medical Officer that he already had since 1969.

Needless to say, those initial steps did not give me any confidence that Government was capable of handling the situation, however I remained quiet hoping that somehow that they would get it right. I’ve tried to hold my peace but the situation has now reached a stage that I am compelled to speak-up before these bunglers unintentionally kill us all.

The handling of this crisis has been plagued with the bungling that is now characteristic of anything that this administration touches. So far, were are told that there is no evidence of any community spread of the virus. But it would seem that the end result of the Government’s initiatives would lead to what we fear most. What did the Government think would happen when it gave one day’s notice of a 24-hour curfew? As was reasonably foreseeable, people rushed to supermarkets in their thousands, ignoring any suggestion of physical or social distancing. Take some sobering time to imagine what could have happened if there were any carriers of the Coronavirus in those lines?

As if Government fails to learn from its mistakes, post offices were opened for a limited period in order to allow pensioners to cash their National Insurance pension cheques. The foreseeable result happened: hundreds of vulnerable persons throng the post offices thereby creating an incubator for the spread of the Coronavirus.

This virus is deadly and Government must come up with a series of measures that would protect the people of this country. These hit or miss initiatives just will not do.

1,745 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Government Bungling Response to Coronavirus Crisis”

1. @ Caswell Franklyn April 19, 2020 6:42 AM

You ought to be made a QC (or should that be ‘KC’ or ‘SC’ depending on the necessary Constitutional changes on the immediate horizon).

What would happen should that 2/3rd majority not be obtained in the ‘Upper’ Chamber?

We shall soon see if Sec. 25 of the Constitution is irrelevant to this “outbreak” of the pandemic disease called Covid-19.

To: Piece the legendary Soothsayer, you must be looking on with a wry smile as you watch your Mugabe-type nightmare of a dream unfolds.

2. Well, well like young Khaleed stated the director of WHO with no political axe to grind sings Barbados praises for their handling of the virus and we have some no n medical armchair experts looking for every negative they can find to pull Barbados downFrom the start Barbados had a stage by stage plan as to how they would proceed well articulated by the government of Barbados led by Ms Mottley and Mr Bostic guided by Dr Best, Dr Forde , Mr Carter and the othersThis invluded preparing isolation centres, sourcing PPE equipment and the necessary training.Therefore while the so called cut and paste experts were shouting close the borders and leave the supermarkets open hoping to create fear and panic the real experts were sticking to their plans. The results are so far that we have not had any new cased for the last 3 days which is good news and although we are not out of the woods yet we sre going in the right direction.Yes some things could have been done better but this is a fluid situation and adjustments would have been made to suit Therefore persons like Waru, Mariposa, Bajeposa,Austin,Greene, Dishonest Bajans and a few others whose strategies in their countries were no better than ours SHOLD HANG THEIR HEADS IN SHAME FOR TRYING FOR PETTY POLITICAL PURPOSES TO PULL DOWN BARBADOS EVERYDAY. IN MY VIEW YOU ALL CARE NOTHING ABOUT BARBADOS OR BAJANS.Finally a big THANK YOU TO ALL FRONTLINE WORKERS FOR ALL OF YOUR EFFORTS SO FAR AND GOING FORWARD WE TRULY APPRECIATE ALL OF YOU.

3. Wuhloss….trouble Enuff…and to think they are begging praise from WHO….the same agency who will have to answer questions ALSO for their late response to the virus, lawd, while they too responded late, because they were to busy PIMPING TOURISTS and trying to get Bajans to staycation in PLAGUE INFECTED ROOMS…. comedy central…lol

anyhoo…on a more SERIOUS NOTE..

SERIOUS LEADERS…do not have the time to seek petty praise, they have all joined together to SUE CHINA…ah wonder if Barbados is in that group of 40 COUNTRIES…if alyuh already took BRIBES from China…ya better give it back…lol.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8233199/US-lawyers-sue-China-TRILLIONS-dollars-accuse-Beijing-coronavirus-negligence.html?fbclid=IwAR2VqcSo64AFyUJ99qTj6UPhtbcFJMvUKiDsGVAJbnGs5S6–RXSemRvYqw

“Lawyers in the US have launched a landmark legal action to sue China for trillions of dollars over the coronavirus pandemic, accusing its Communist leaders of negligence for allowing the outbreak to erupt and then covering it up.

The class action, which involves thousands of claimants from 40 countries including Britain and the US, was filed in Florida last month.

A second case launched this month on behalf of healthcare workers accuses China of hoarding life-saving medical supplies.

The legal challenges – set to be followed by another from Israeli human rights lawyers who specialise in suing states for terrorism – ramp up the pressure on President Xi Jinping to account fully for his country’s actions. “

4. Pimping praise from WHO was a bad move…look at WHO, WHO, WHO’s current status in the eyes of the international community….the operative word is “POLITICAL POINT SCORING.”

“Meanwhile, leading British human rights lawyer Geoffrey Robertson has called for the United Nations to set up an inquiry into the origins of Covid-19. This follows claims that the World Health Organisation, its public health body, failed in its duty by slavishly following China, which has led President Donald Trump to cut all US funding.

Mr Robertson, a former UN appeal judge, said the consequences of not tackling the virus at an early stage had been calamitous and facts were being distorted by propaganda and political point-scoring.

‘Our international well-being demands an independent and objective report into this disaster, not to allocate blame but to write its truthful history and learn lessons,’ he said. He added that Britain should use its influence as a permanent UN Security Council member to urge a formal inquiry, forcing the WHO and China to co-operate.

He said: ‘China would suffer international hostility and perhaps economic sanctions if it refused to explain all that had happened. It has a duty to tell the truth to a world that has suffered so much.’

5. Even in the shade the temperature in barbados is past 100 degrees
    Be that as it may who likes standing in the sun to buy groceries can have fun
    I rather not

As for WHO they will need all the friends they can get as Trump pull the financial piggy basket from under their feet
    Wouldnt be surprise if they start seeking financial donations from any and everyone so hence the sweet gift mout basket easy to impress the tin horn simple minded small island govt
    Since Mia has been able to impress the big corporations with gifts of humanity WHO with all certainty would not be exempt when they come begging

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

John 2

As far as I know, the Stuart Administration passed a new Shops Act that provided for 24-hour business.

7. Another beautiful day in Barbados with a cooling N Easterly breeze.

8. “SERIOUS LEADERS…do not have the time to seek petty praise, they have all joined together to SUE CHINA”

Call Alanis Morisette! 🤣🤣🤣

9. We just can’t make any of this stuff up…..

….in case the limited intellect fowls thinks this is some kinda conspiracy, this is what is happening in REAL TIME…lol

Miller and Piece…lawd…

10. Ah know….alyuh don’t even know when it’s time to feel ASHAMED…ya only want other people to be ashamed for petty shite…lol

I can’t believe that yall thought that pimping praise for doing what others have done on the same level and some even MORE EFFICIENTLY was cause for celebration…christ, how lower do yall PLAN to sink…scratch that…alyuh LOW Enuff…and may not be able to find space to SINK(ler) any lower…

11. The stench of dictatorship is in the air
    I made a posting on a blp group and the post was flag as pending

Here is what i posted

Folks your freedoms and rights in a democracy are the most valuable and is protected by the Constitution
    Guard and fight for them by any means necessary
    In a crisis the long arm of govt can erode those freedoms and rights under laws written to Protect safety and national interest of people and country
    xxxxxxxxxxxxx
    I am not surprised because inch by inch the local media ever since this govt has been given reigns of being managers of the country affairs have shut out opposing views
    Barbados Today comes to mind

12. Lawsuit Lorenzo wrote this big long essay, so full of SHIT that i could not even read it after the first few lines…….the world is still moving on at a BRISK PACE even during a PLAGUE…while the wannbe dictators got ALL their FOWLS STANDING STILL…lol

what a shame, what a disgrace.

13. Barbados don’t even touch 100 degrees in the very hot days in summer miss dramatic

14. @ Caswell,

up and on. i cant see how the senate can interfere with or deter MAM. at least not for long

15. Caswell

Thanks

16. If your ramblings qualify you to be an intellectual, let me stay in the dunce brigade. Thanks.

17. Have a great day Barbados.

As an early riser I was surprised when my first look at the clock said it was past 9:00 a.m. Anyhow, it looks like a beautiful day in my part of the world.

My city is smaller, has a smaller population but yet we have more infections and deaths than what you have over there.

I am envious and I changed one of my slogans to “Rather be there than here”. I am ready to start calling names, but right now I am mostly worried about my survival and Barbados surviving.

So
    Battle online,
    Call her Mugabe if that is your thing, but pray that she keeps her hand on the wheel.
    Stay safe
    Good hygiene
    Wear a mask and
    Have a Great Day

Rather be there than here

18. The ANCESTORS (our GODS) are talking but will the wannbe dic(k)tators listen….

let’s throw up a prayer and kind thoughts for the DISABLED and SENIOR CITIZENS who stood in lines to get into the supermarkets in WARRENS this morning, during THE POURING RAIN…..let’s hope those showers were blessings for them and ACID RAIN for wannabe dic(k)tors..

19. “In an Order made pursuant to subsections (4) and (5) the Cabinet may delegate to the Prime Minister the power to make such directives as may be required in the public interest.”

That subsection may seem innocuous but what it has done is to override the Constitution and put ABSOLUTE POWER in the the hands of the Prime Minister. She does not now have to refer to Cabinet. Those jokers in the House of Assembly voted to sideline themselves and establish a Mottley dictatorship.

Mind you, this is unconstitutional.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

SITTING BACK WATCHING FROM A DISTANCE.

WHEN YOU HAVE A BUNCH OF CRIMINAL LAWYERS WHO ARE MOSTLY CRIMINAL THEMSELVES THIS IS WHAT WILL TRANSPIRE FROM THE TOP.

IF RECORD MURDERS WASN’T AN EYE OPENER, THERE IS MORE UNDERHANDED ACTIONS TO COME.

BARBADOS IS OFFICIALLY A BANANA REPUBLIC.

GIMME THE VOTE AND WATCH MUH

20. In an Order made pursuant to subsections (4) and (5) the Cabinet may delegate to the Prime Minister the power to make such directives as may be required in the public interest.”

Th“at subsection may seem innocuous but what it has done is to override the Constitution and put ABSOLUTE POWER in the the hands of the Prime Minister. She does not now have to refer to Cabinet. Those jokers in the House of Assembly voted to sideline themselves and establish a Mottley dictatorship.

Mind you, this is unconstitutional.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

SITTING BACK WATCHING FROM A DISTANCE.

WHEN YOU HAVE A BUNCH OF CRIMINAL LAWYERS WHO ARE MOSTLY CRIMINAL THEMSELVES THIS IS WHAT WILL TRANSPIRE FROM THE TOP.

IF RECORD MURDERS WASN’T AN EYE OPENER, THERE IS MORE UNDERHANDED ACTIONS TO COME.

BARBADOS IS OFFICIALLY A BANANA REPUBLIC.

GIMME THE VOTE AND WATCH MUH

21. @ Baje

Our system of government is formally a parliamentary system, with an Executive formed of a Cabinet. In short, it is Cabinet government, and the appointment of a prime minister etc.
    If a newly appointed prime ministers then appoints 26 ministers our of a 30-strong parliament, all of whom are members of the ruling party, it tells you that the checks and balances exercised by parliament over the Executive is seriously compromised; if then you have a strong prime minister and a weak Cabinet, then this further compromises the Cabinet system of government.
    What has emerged in Barbados is a presidential style of government, in which you elect a president and s/he appoints a team to carry out the manifesto promises. If she wants to change the constitution she can, without any real opposition from her kitchen Cabinet.
    In the absence of a flawed parliamentary opposition, other institutions usually step up: the courts (remember Brexit?), the media and public intellectuals – all of which are missing in Barbados.
    If you have an executive president without a formal, or even informal opposition, that then becomes an elective dictatorship. When an outlet such as Barbados Underground allows itself to become a tool of the ruling regime, then the real victims are ordinary men and women, the voters.
    When they come to exercise their votes they must be informed. They are not.

22. May versus Shall. I don’t see any abdication of power by the Cabinet. But I don’t have 3 degrees. Other right thinking BUers noticing something?🤣🤣🤣🤣

23. Theo…we have been saying this from January when in December out of nowhere people suddently got chest infections and mild pneumonia, no one i know died, but it told us they were various strains of the virus going around and everyone thought it was the flu…

right up until it mutated and turned silent killer, so it is fair to say that 1/2 of the earth’s population could very well be merrily carrying around the ever mutating strain and infecting each other and no one is the wiser…until now, am sure scientists are falling over themselves studying this…

24. “Call her Mugabe if that is your thing, but pray that she keeps her hand on the wheel.”

if she doesn’t she will be FIRED…she BEGGED FOR THE JOB…was elected, is PAID a salary from the SAME PEOPLE who elected her EVERY month..

they can keep their small time dicktator delusions alive which we all know is going NOWHERE…but they have to do their jobs, they are not doing anyone any favors, contrary to what their AIRHEAD FOWLS believe.

Theo…you done know that where you are none of those state employees from the governor on down would DARE TRY THE SHITE these ignorant useless lawyers for pretend leaders do..

25. Robert @ Mariposa

What bugs me about the village idiot and his sidekick Maridummy, is that, with the exception of shopping hours, the COVID-19 policies of the other Caribbean countries and those of Barbados are similar. Yet, the governments of those countries are not dictatorships, repressive, inhumane and backward.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

dumb prick so because the other carribbean countries initiate those barbaric laws forcing people to choose standing in the broiling hot sun to buy groceries or people refusing not to buy groceries in sweltering heat that makes the laws correct
    Have you seen the RH pictures coming out of those other islands as people fight like mad dogs in those lines to get in front each other
    you got to be a real RH idiot to endorse such barbarism all happening because of runaway laws
    Then u talk about people buying Tvs in long lines the people choose to do so but what choice is there given to people when govt makes policy that have little or no choice between starving or standing in sweltering heat to buy grocery
    any how with all my grammatical errors yuh dead a hole never miss a beat to read my every word
    What a duffus and mean SOB

26. In a case like this the results will speak for themselves. Whether or not this administration is worthy of praise for their handling of this pandemic will be obvious by the numbers. We would rather that no-one would have had to suffer and die but this would have been difficult to achieve considering that we are learning about this virus and its characteristics daily. As Lorenzo admitted (first time in my recollection👍) some things could have been done better and we are not yet out of the woods but there is reason to be optimistic.🤞

Contrary to what has been said, Miss Mottley is not the devil in white, neither is she the all-seeing and all-knowing One as others would make out. She is a flawed human being just as we are. I will fight her when need be and I will praise her when she has done a good job.

The jury is still out on her deeds as it is on our own. It is up to us all to apply pressure. That is how it works.

27. Where are the SOLUTIONS…the supermarkets asked for a few more hours so that all the designated names can get FOOD, no provisions were made by the DICKTATORS for when it RAINS, especially for the disabled and elderly who get cold easily…

tossing yaself around is not a solution to anything when the taxpayers are paying ya salary, bet none of them forget to collect their paychecks every month..

https://www.facebook.com/paul.marshall.14019/videos/10158524646191694/?t=2

28. Maridummy, you endorsed similar long lines that were shown at Cosco in Canada, because, according to you, the people were standing in line for shorter periods in 45 degree weather.

So the long lines in Canada are not barbaric because the temperatures there are so cold, the people have to dress to keep as warm as the people who are lining up here.

Are you saying that the people in the cold countries have little or no choice between starving or standing in the cold to buy groceries?

Have you seen the pictures coming out of the big countries, where, as you said, the weather is cooler?

Yuh see, you en really making much sense?

You are so stupid and much more of a RH idiot, dumb prick and dufus than you call me, because yuh taking the time to read my posts and respond to them.

Yuh semi-literate yard fowl.

29. I AM BLESSED IN MANY WAYS SO THE LITTLE TIME I SPEND CONTRIBUTING HOPEFULLY WILL WAKE 1 or 2 LOCALS UP. {Quote}

What a laugh. That man does not have a personal thought on anything, except to call people backward.

THE MOST THINGS MR. INTELLECTUAL POSTS ARE ARTICLES HE COPY AND PASTE FROM ONLINE NEWSPAPERS.

HE ISN’T DOING NOTHING SPECTACULAR. THIS IS SOMETHING ANYBODY COULD GOOGLE AND FIND OUT FOR THEMSELVES.

30. Ok now the rain.i guess that is acceptable too
    Oh No.govt policies is not the cause
    Uh think so
    Hell yes if people had a choice the elderly would not be standing in the rain
    A bunch of dum pricks as leaders

31. MEMO FOR THE COMMON GOOD

I strongly disagree with Piece the Prophet´s and Senator Caswell´s verdict that Barbados is a classic “dictatorship” and that the government has “broken the constitution” (I deliberately put these words in signs of apprehension in order to immediately distance myself from this accusation).

Enuff would now go into normative details and use some specific local rules in the Constitution and Emergency Act as a basis for his argument. I would, however, like to take a standpoint of principle, one based on state theory, and I refer to Carl Schmitt and Marxism-Leninism. In other words, a highly explosive mixture of the general theory of state. LOL.

Politically speaking, the government is not acting on its own initiative. After all, it was Piece the Prophet who, in a kind of self-fulfilling prophecy, brought about what he calls “dictatorship” with ever new insulting names for our Most Honourable Prime Minister. Was it not also Piece the Prophet (then called The Legend) who spoke of a new Empowerment Act, long before Corona? So the Government has only adopted what the opposition in the social media has given it as material for the current drama. No more and no less.

In theory of democracy we are indeed in an extraordinary situation. Parliament is on an equal footing, since all Members belong to the same party. I expressly include the Red Bishop, since he is also de facto a member of the governing party. His mental reservation in favour of the Prime Minister is as obvious as instructions from the government camp. Conclusion: We are not only at the stage of one-party rule, but of one-party democracy.

Likewise, if I am not mistaken, all the ministers are also members of Parliament. The separation of powers between the legislature and the executive is thus abolished. Conclusion: we are at the stage of unity of powers.

The real constitutional order of Barbados therefore deviates already at this point very strongly from a democracy of classical coinage. Now you will ask yourself how we cope with the Senate and the Supreme Court.

Unfortunately, the Senate still houses some smaller nests of resistance. How do we deal with that? There are several options:

One, the Government could simply use its (emergency) powers to eliminate the Senate.

However, that would send the wrong political signal. It is far better to keep the Senate formally, but to throw a spanner in the works. For example, the government could suspend the Senate for medical reasons to deal with the Corona crisis. It could also explain that decrees from the Prime Minister or the Government are too urgent to refer the matter to the Senate.

On the other hand, the Supreme Court no longer poses any political risks. Our government has recently appointed many new judges. The opposition has applauded and has completely ignored in its naïve blindness that this was a classic maneuver of “court packing”, i.e. a court possibly hostile to the government is flooded with judges who are friendly to the government until the government judges have a numerical majority.

How do we handle it when, despite this constellation, a senator, let’s say Senator Caswell, sues the government in the Supreme Court for dictatorial self-empowerment?

The government could, of course, by its omnipotence, exclude any action. But any action would also be unfounded in terms of content.

Reasoning: In May 2018, the people of Barbados did not want any opposition, they chose only one person. The people did not choose the BLP for its own sake (I agree with Mariposa in this respect), but to appoint Mia Mottley as the people’s supreme leader and representative. The people have not entrusted Mia Mottley with power as a mere representative or the people´s servant. Rather, the people identify with Mia Mottley so that she has original omnipotence, just like the people before the elections. One could speak here of a principle of governmental sovereignty rather than parliamentary or classic popular sovereignty.

This governmental sovereignty normatively overrides the Constitution. The old, pre-2018 Constitution has lost its binding effect and is now only a kind of non-binding guideline for government action. That is why the new Emergency Act was necessary, because the emergency articles in the Constitution have lost their normative force. With every new act of emergency legislation, our government writes a new chapter in a new constitutional order.

In this new constitutional folder, our leader Mia Mottley is not only Prime Minister, but also legislator, marshal of justice and executor of the will of the people.

The new emergency legislation is therefore not unconstitutional. It corresponds to the will of the people and is itself part of the new constitutional order. Unconstitutional constitutional law would be a logical contradiction in itself.

However, I may – with all due caution – criticise one point of the Government’s actions conceptually: The designation as emergency legislation is incorrect because since May 2018 the old constitution per se is no longer binding. An “emergency” would mean a deviation from the normal state of affairs. This old normal state no longer exists. Or to put it another way, we are living in a phase of permanent state of emergency. Instead of emergency legislation, I would therefore prefer to speak of the First Constitutional Act to Establish the Unity of People, State and Government.

Those who still doubt the legitimacy of government action are either malicious or anti-democratic.

32. ya should see this one dodging, bobbing and weaving….in the hot seat…so what are the ones in Barbados doing besides plotting and scheming trying to hatch some scheme or scam against the treasury or pension fund.

“Gavin Williamson tonight dismissed calls to spell out an ‘exit strategy’ from coronavirus lockdown – despite claims ministers want schools to reopen after May 11. The Education Secretary defied a growing clamour for clarity, insisting he could not ‘give a date’ for pupils to get back to the classroom.

The comments came amid the first signs a blueprint is being hatched within government to ease lockdown misery, although the Cabinet appears split over whether to risk more deaths from the disease to save the plunging economy. Mr Williamson told the daily Downing Street briefing he was sorry that children were having to suffer through the crisis and have their education interrupted. But he said: ‘I can’t give you a date. Because before we do that we need to meet five tests.’ The fledgling plan would see the country get back up in running in stages after May 11, with primary, GCSE pupils, and nurseries potentially going back part-time. Meanwhile, clothes shops and garden centres could be among the ‘non-essential’ stores given a ‘green light’ to reopen with precautions to protect customers”.

33. A whole roll of pure shite when broken down Tron…except for the part where the emergency legislation is constitutional because IT ALREADY EXISTS ON THE STATUTE BOOKS…it only got revived when triggered….into 2020…

34. Longer opening hours would neither eliminate long lines nor guarantee a shorter wait time; therefore, people would still have to face the elements, sun and rain. These times require behavioural change and we need to be adaptive. Customers and supermarkets.

35. Enuff you are a piece of crap
    Go away and stand in the rain and sun
    What a bloody disgrace.

36. Robert yuh dum prick where did i endorsed lines in Canada
    But dont try changing the picture the measures are on the wrong side of human rights
    Not even dogs are by allowed for owners to keep them in the sun for long periods
    Now we see pictures of the elderly standing in lines in the rain waiting to buy groceries
    Disgraceful not going to engage with you any more you are really a dumb prick
    Go find a heart duffus

37. With the first past the post system there is no way Bajans could have ensured that there was an opposition whilst getting rid of their particular undesirable representative. I guess St. Lucy and St. John people could have taken a chance to vote back in their representatives expecting the others to change but nobody thinks that way.

The only way we can check the power of this government is to be vigilant and politically vocal and active. This will remind them that their “reign” can be curtailed at five years and they may go out as spectacularly as they came in.

This would require a viable alternative and a slate of viable candidates. Where are they?

We have a party of zombies and a party of ghosts. That is no party at all.

We the people must be the pressure group.

If we fail to do this then we will get “a government we deserve”.

38. Barbaric Bajan mentality getting exposed…..you do not beat up a woman for saying that she does not need to get in any line…she was meeting someone in the pharmacy who was expecting her.

need to do something about the education system, it was a simple reply and did not need to turn into brutality, now those who display this type of brutal mentality are all over social media for everyone to see and wonder, but don’t worry no tourists are coming anyway..

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/1303508613192008/?t=377

39. HERE IS THE LATEST FOR YOU WHO IS BELIEVING IN THE LATEST FAKE NUMBERS BEING PUT OUT:

Coronavirus survivors are testing positive again and showing symptoms

An increasing number of COVID-19 survivors have tested positive again for the novel coronavirus in South Korea.
    The caseload of coronavirus relapses more than doubled in a week within the country.
    An increasing number of relapsed coronavirus patients have shown mild symptoms, and some of them might be contagious.

One of the novel coronavirus puzzles that scientists are still trying to figure out concerns an unexpected phenomenon that has been observed in many countries affected by the pandemic. Some COVID-19 patients who have been declared cured after testing negative twice in 24 hours end up relapsing, if that’s even the proper way to describe it. They test positive again at a later point in time, and there’s no clear answer as to why that happens. Also, it’s unclear whether these patients are contagious and can infect others, but some of them do show mild COVID-19 symptoms upon the second reinfection. The newest data coming from South Korea, a country that has the local COVID-19 epidemic under control, shows a growing number of people who are testing positive a second time.

https://bgr.com/2020/04/19/coronavirus-symptoms-some-recovered-covid-19-patients-retest-positive/

40. RobertApril 19, 2020 1:34 PM

I AM BLESSED IN MANY WAYS SO THE LITTLE TIME I SPEND CONTRIBUTING HOPEFULLY WILL WAKE 1 or 2 LOCALS UP. {Quote}

What a laugh. That man does not have a personal thought on anything, except to call people backward.

As the last person whose post brought that response I must say that he sure makes a lot of ASS-umptions.

41. Immunity and ‘herd-immunity”?
    Still relevant??/

42. Police state on the rise as the frustration from standing on long lines in the heat
    Police and natives come eyeball to eyeball
    When all is said and done these measures would leave the country divided and people confuse and frustrated
    Also look out for more police brutality
    Not easy to control an angry mob

43. Are mixing countries?

44. AH guess all the Dicktator big brain plans…..all turned to shit and is all over social media…yall need to stop the quasi-communist lies and misinformation and get the problem fixed, ya SHITE PLAN IS NOT WORKING….

‎”Adrian Boyce‎ to Q100.7FM – QUALITY TALK, QUALITY MUSIC (CBC)
    1 hr
    Today my mother went to get some medication at the pharmacy in Massy, Worthing, and the whole experience left her in tears.
    Never had she seen a line that long, snaking and doubling back on itself, and in that line were the stalwart senior citizens of Barbados who should be treated with love, care, respect and dignity.

Instead, they were clinging to walkers that could barely support them, crying with desperation, or being shouted at by management and security at the supermarket if they were being accompanied by a younger relative who was there to help them…and they needed the help, particularly in light of the fact that they have been given even less time to shop than the rest of the population (9:00 to 11:00 a.m….a mere two hours).

One woman was pleading with security because she couldn’t see properly and she needed help to walk, so her son was there with her, but they didn’t want to let him in.
    At 10 o’clock, there are also people in that line who were there for their 1:00 p.m. time slot, and who, quite understandably, didn’t want to take the chance of not being able to get what they need for themselves and their family.

Throughout the scenes of chaos, long lines, desperation, forbearance, and supreme patience on the part of the citizens of this country, I have been waiting to see some sign, even a tiny acknowledgment by the powers that be, that this system is not working for those it is meant to help.

Not everyone has the option of having food delivered, or to drive around to bakeries, roadside vendors, and explore other options…not everyone has the blessing of CHOICE. And those who depended on certain parameters of existence are being mercilessly held captive by the shambles of this “plan”.

Rather than an acknowledgement of the fundamental flaws of this system, and implementing some measures that would provide a better way for these next two weeks until May 4th, I was treated to some unbelievably propagandistic drivel on the CBC news last week. I could NOT believe it when the Acting PM said that the that the system is “working”.

No, it most assuredly is not….now, more than ever, we need an update or a news conference that shows an awareness of the reality of what is happening in Barbados right now…but the silence is deafening.”

45. “Barbados don’t even touch 100 degrees in the very hot days in summer miss dramatic.”

What nonsense. I was in Barbados in March two years ago. At 8 o’clock in the morning it was 90 degrees F. With the humidity factored in, the real temperature was over 120 degrees F. For the entire month, we would get a little rain at around five in the morning and by 7 o’clock the temperature was in the high 80’s or low 90’s. People down there do not seem to realize that the humidity increases the discomfort. Rather than giving the temperature and then stating the relative humidity they should also add what the temperature actually feels like to be outside. They should also caution people without AC to go to a mall, library or other public place to cool down. Keep pets indoors and/or well watered.

46. ” For the fourth day straight there are no new coronavirus (COVID-19) cases recorded in Barbados, but Minister of Health Jeffrey Bostic is warning that the country is not yet out of the danger zone.

He also revealed today that one frontline worker had earlier tested positive for the virus but that had been “dealt with”.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/245080/covid-19-ministry-awaiting-swabs

47. They would blame the victims for that too…ya lost them when ya started talking about levels of humidity……just because the oxygen doesn’t get sucked up by the humidity often enough that they can feel it, they think they are safe.

Manhattan is an island and gets the oxigen sucked right out of it with humidity…any island could…

…i have been talking about a heat wave for weeks, these would’nt even want to acknowledge it, it might scare the tourists…but wait…NO MORE TOURISTS…wuhloss.

48. I do believe the wannabe dicktators ALWAYS FORGET that the PEOPLE…PAY…..their tax money so that others were hired TO WORK AND HELP THOSE THEY ELECTED….i believe their goddamn empty brain cells have twisted this into something else…the brutality is UNMISTAKEABLE…

it goes something like this, as soon as they are elected…their bullying ways kick in, so you work for me now and NOT THE PEOPLE…ergo fowls abound that produces more and more fowls…

they twisted it into their creation and the people went along with that clear OPPRESSION OF THEMSELVES…because of all this equally twisted hero worship……social engineering….