At the outset of the Coronavirus crisis in this country, the Hon. Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, hosted a consultation with members of the Social Partnership and me at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to plan strategy for fighting this threat. I was impressed and congratulated her on the approach. I then went on to say to her that this was not a time for political controversy and that all sides must come together to defeat this scourge.

Rather than busy itself with measures to protect the people of this country, some twelve days after the consultation, Government rushed to Parliament and passed legislation that was already on the books, to manage the ensuing crisis. In essence, that legislation amended the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions that already existed at section 28 of the same act; also at sections 2 and 3 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act; and at section 25 of the Constitution. The amendment also went on to give powers to the Chief Medical Officer that he already had since 1969.

Needless to say, those initial steps did not give me any confidence that Government was capable of handling the situation, however I remained quiet hoping that somehow that they would get it right. I’ve tried to hold my peace but the situation has now reached a stage that I am compelled to speak-up before these bunglers unintentionally kill us all.

The handling of this crisis has been plagued with the bungling that is now characteristic of anything that this administration touches. So far, were are told that there is no evidence of any community spread of the virus. But it would seem that the end result of the Government’s initiatives would lead to what we fear most. What did the Government think would happen when it gave one day’s notice of a 24-hour curfew? As was reasonably foreseeable, people rushed to supermarkets in their thousands, ignoring any suggestion of physical or social distancing. Take some sobering time to imagine what could have happened if there were any carriers of the Coronavirus in those lines?

As if Government fails to learn from its mistakes, post offices were opened for a limited period in order to allow pensioners to cash their National Insurance pension cheques. The foreseeable result happened: hundreds of vulnerable persons throng the post offices thereby creating an incubator for the spread of the Coronavirus.

This virus is deadly and Government must come up with a series of measures that would protect the people of this country. These hit or miss initiatives just will not do.

1,745 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Government Bungling Response to Coronavirus Crisis”

1. Dame bajan

I live in atlanta
    I can tell you the temps in Barbados don’t feel like no 120 even in the summer months when there is a hurricane around. and that is when Barbados temps are at their worse.

2. I don’t agree with the management of jordans (from that video). So long as the elder/handicap person and helper bring one cart to check out then it should have been ok.

3. @ Enuff

By me in Georgia, the first hour or two is for the elderly but the supermarkets are opened regulars hours and they can shop anytime they want to.

They are accommodate first for obvious reasons pertaining to the virus.

I have not seen lines at the supermarkets but at Home Depot and Bank of America. the bank was the longest .

4. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Brother Hants

You said and i quote

“…He also revealed today that one frontline worker had earlier tested positive for the virus but that had been “dealt with”…”

When he said “dealt with what dat ingrunt chvnt meant?

Did he man to say dat dem KILL HE???

5. @ Piece the Legend,

I was also surprised the ” dealt with ” comment by the Minister.

The public has a right to know exactly how the infected worker is being treated.

6. Mari you need to read and understand what you read and stop twisting things

7. David Tron John2 and other heartless morons yuh see that line
    But the sun pretty doah
    Any of wunna want to stand for a few minutes in it
    Oh not yu David you rich so you can order on line and pay the extra charges

XXXXXXXXX

I see some shirt tail blowing that tell me there is a breeze only a few umbrellas and not much head protection. ingeneral the people look comfortable. I am used to hotter temperatures than in Barbados so the temperature there now wouldn’t affect me.
    I may stand with a friend talking or something like that. but if I going to shop and saw a like that I would not be shopping that day. I

8. Bostic said there is a shortage of SWABS not test kits. A shortage of does not mean there is NONE and tests CANNOT be done
    he also stated that there were plenty of test kits.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

From Barbados today

Bostic revealed that there is still a shortage of swabs for testing, but assured that an adequate amount would arrive later this week to be used with the “thousands” of testing kits already on the island, allowing more widespread testing to occur

9. @ @ Piece the Legend,

I have been wondering why a Prime Minister would need more power than she already has.

I am a coward so I will not say what I really think.

10. This should teach the colonial brainwashed and backward trained leaders that you do not allow anyone but the Black majority to control anything in a Black majority country..

https://youtu.be/tID2LiXOr3g?t=76

11. “Welcome to a country that has not had a reported covid infection for four consecutive days.”

i thought this was made very clear, you do not have any reported covid infection for 4 days because THEY RAN OUT OF TESTING SWABS…

no testing swabs = NO TESTING

no testing = no test cases, because you cannot test to know who is INFECTED..

information is that the swabs will arrive this week or next week.

12. i should say A SHORTAGE of testing swabs means LESS PEOPLE BEING TESTED…

“Did he man to say dat dem KILL HE???”

a stupid statement to say the least…did he cure the worker, the worker IS STILL INFECTED or in their frustration KILL the worker…steuppps…they always think everyone they talk to is a FOWL…..

people are wondering what is really passing for intelligence from this government….they are amazed..they have their FIRST, as far as we know, frontline worker infection and talking about it has been dealt with, so what about the next one and the next one to come.

These fools must realize that NO ONE ELECTED THEM TO BE DICKTATORS…they did not beg for votes and at the same time told the people it was so they can run a dictatorship AGAINST THE PEOPLE..but they will soon be BEGGING FOR VOTES AGAIN…

“But even so, if the arrangements are not working out I do not see this as deliberate oppression of the masses. This is simply a case of things not working as planned.”

it does not take WEEKS for anyone to see when something is not working out, especially when OTHERS have seen the PLANS AS WEAK even before they tried to implement their FAILURE, the supermarkets said it is not working out, they are at the frontline, the people said it is not working out, they are at the frontline also, it is only the weak government saying it is working but NOW THEY HAVE GONE SILENT…

THE SHOCK that is now settling into their wannabe dicktator minds…is that things will never be the SAME OLD for them again either…they thought it would be a breeze…but with all the sweeping powers…it may or may not resonate yet…THAT THEY ARE TRULY TRAPPED and may very well NOT EVEN KNOW IT…ah KARMA….and with their sweeping powers, they may have TRAPPED THEMSELVES even further in certain thing that some of us are well aware THAT THEY CANNOT SEE……..ah KARMA….

“A national disgrace looking at those videos are heart wrenching even the diehards are blaming the old people talking sh.it.”

and as has been the norm for at least 80 years and perpetrated by the bar association criminal cabal, the elderly are once again are being SET UP to be robbed of their properties and bank accounts, leaving nothing for their beneficiaries…another generation of paupers being made to feed a despicable decades old criminal syndicate…that HAS TO BE BROKEN UP and the criminals exposed for all the world to see and PUT ON DISPLAY for what they have done to the island and generations of the Black majority and some others…

13. The biggest problem in Barbados as it is in Africa is the weak, corrupt leaders who are more than happy to allow local crooks and foreign THIEVES with ugly agendas to DICTATE what happens to the Black population.

..that is why Black countries CANNOT MOVE FORWARD…even world leaders are recognizing this and voicing it on social media…for some time too, been watching them and thinking they are giving black leaders and the populations a message and they cannot even recognize it for what it is…three leaders have repeatedly voiced their concerns in this area..for all of last year and this year….

Too many AFRICAN DESCENDED people in the Caribbean especially and in Barbados SPECIFICALLY continue to NOT WANT TO PRACTICE THEIR OWN CULTURE…they are still stuck in EUROPEAN CREATED SHIT….created to undermine and DESTROY them ..that no one in THIS ERA, certainly not the europeans, are forcing them to keep..and as these world leaders said THAT WILL ALWAYS BE BLACK PEOPLE’S DOWNFALL..

….they ALWAYS wannbe someone else EXCEPT their true selves….the weak, backward leaders ALWAYS WANT…someone else DICTATING the lives of their people which always ends in oppression and suppression of generations of black people..

….their leaders are wretched, greedy, useless, selfish and ignorant…and that is why Black populations are not moving forward and are ALWAYS DEPENDENT…

and with their useless millionaire, materialistic mentalities and political swamp of poisonous politicians……they have to be REMOVED.

14. The upside is….EVERYONE IS PITCHING IN to give Barbados the critical support that is needed to SAVE LIVES…they should appreciate all of this and move forward WITH INTELLIGENCE..asking for commonsense will be a stretching it and a bridge too far…WE GET THAT….

Schemes and scams and thefts from the people should now be a thing of the PAST, they can now only TIEF LOANS, for which they will have to EXPLAIN….

also….land, bank accounts etc, but every theft will now BE EXPOSED ON SOCIAL MEDIA…so maybe there is a message here….TO STOP ROBBING THE PEOPLE….no wiggle room left to LIE AND BLAME OTHERS…..

TRAPPED ….

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/245085/critical-support

“tour-of-ield-medicla-facilityapril-19
    Major David Binks (right) speaking with some of the Cuban nurses during a tour of the field hospital today.”

15. Thirty-five persons tested negative for COVID-19 yesterday, including two who will be released from isolation today after two negative test results within a 48-hour period.

This is the fourth consecutive day that Barbados has recorded no new cases of the viral illness. The tally of infected persons remains at 75 out of a total of 1035 tests carried out by the Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory since February 11.

Barbados has recorded five deaths since April 4. There are 51 persons in isolation.

16. If you believe these official figures you will believe anything. As it is, control in Barbados is better than in Germany, Korea, Thailand, Taiwan and Japan.
    What is our secret? Can officials please publish their epidemiological model so we can have greater confidence in their policies, the policies praised by the director general of the World Health Organisation? Or, even better, get someone to explain the model.

17. Our hotel sector is in serious crisis. Why is this not fully debated in the press? Where is Mr Symmonds, the minister? How many of these hotels now face insolvency? What plans does government have to rescue the sector? Do these plans involve subsidising the owners of hotels, again?

COVID-19 has crushed the tourism industry, accounting for 5,000 hotel worker’s jobs lost and shuttering nearly nine out of ten hotels in the industry’s worst crisis, according to the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association.

Thousands more are also out of work with the closure of restaurants and tourist attractions, BHTA Chief Executive Officer Senator Rudy Grant said.
    He said: “We do have the majority of our hotels indicating that they are closed. The BHTA has a total of 79 hotels, which provide some 5,161 rooms and of those, 87 per cent of our hotels reflecting 95 per cent of our room stock have indicated that they are closed.
    “We have undertaken a survey to determine what is the level of staff dislocation and 60 of our 79 hotels have reported. That represents 78 per cent of the members and 78 per cent of the rooms provided by members. Of those 60 hotels they have indicated that they have employed 6,515 persons but presently 81 per cent of those persons are not working, some 5287 persons.”
    Grant suggested that even after Barbados recovers from the COVID-19 pandemic those direct tourism services (DTS) would still continue to be affected.
    The CEO said: “As it relates to the direct tourism services (DTS) which would include restaurants, attractions, car rental operators, I am not aware of any of the DTS being operational, particularly at this time as we are going through the emergency directives that relate to COVID-19 that have been put in place by Government.

“Even when the curfew ends, the expectation is that the vast majority of the direct tourism services will continue either not to function and those that do will probably be doing so in a very limited kind of manner.”
    Despite this, Grant said he was optimistic Barbados’ hotel and tourism industry would rebound from the pandemic which is crippling economies around the world.
    But he acknowledged that it would take a while before the sector completely recovered from the pandemic.
    The BHTA leader, said: “Of course we recognize this is a very challenging period. The reality is that we are not going to in the rebuilding process get back to where we were prior to the COVID-19 pandemic immediately, but we do believe that through the collaboration with our stakeholders that we can see a rebuilding of this very important industry.
    “Presently we are collaborating with the Ministry of Tourism with respect to facilitating training for workers at all levels of the industry. We recognize it is important, particularly as there is some measure of recovery, to ensure that there is good value for money because we think that that value for money proposition is going to be very important.
    “We continue to be optimistic that though the recovery will be one that is slow and one that is not expected immediately to get back to where we were prior to COVID-19 pandemic, we are confident we can see a resurgence in business and that we can put the measures in place to take advantage of any opportunities that may exist once the country reopens.”

Grant also used the opportunity to convey his sympathy to the families and friends of people who have died from COVID-19.
    He encouraged Barbadians to adhere to the directives issued by Government and to stay safe. (Quote)

18. If they CANNOT SEE WHERE THIS IS HEADED…that is all on them..

they will just be giving MORE AMMUNITION to the social media crowd…ha

TRAPPED…

19. This strengthens the argument that this plague has been around for some time, mutating to do the utmost damage..am sure everyone has some family in the US and this should be cause for concern..

“A report from News Americas Now.

The number of Caribbean immigrants in New York City dying from the dreaded coronavirus continues to grow, and while there are no exact number from the city on this specific demographic, the official map of zip codes where the virus is the highest, show many are in predominantly Caribbean American populated neighborhoods in southeast Queens, Brooklyn and the Bronx according to a New Americas analysis.

All three boroughs have been hit hard by the virus. Zips codes 11411 and 11429 in Queens, NY, which includes areas like Cambria Heights and Queens Village, are largely enclaves of foreign-born Caribbean immigrants.

Both zip codes are home primarily to middle-class Jamaicans, Haitians, Grenadians and Guyanese, a News Americas analysis of City Data showed with a smattering of other West Indians including Dominicans, Barbadians and Trinidad and Tobagonians. Most have a college degree, are naturalized US citizens, own their own homes and earn a medium income of $47,370.

But according to the NYC data, almost 73-70 percent, respectively, of those tested for the virus are positive here.

In Zip codes 11234 and 11236, which includes areas like east Flatbush, Canarsie and Flatlands, the majority of the population are Haitians, Jamaicans and Grenadians as well with a smaller percentage of Vincentians, Guyanese, Bahamians and Trinis, the city data shows an estimated 937 – 2,563 cases.

In Bronx zip codes like 10465 and 10461, the foreign-born population is largely Dominican with a sliver of Jamaicans and Haitians while in Zip code 10469 the population is primarily Haitians and Jamaicans as well as some Dominicans with most having high school diplomas only and living below the poverty line. NYC data show that there are 937 – 2,563 positive COVID-19 cases there, of those tested for the virus.”

20. I take it the FOWLS have finally run out of fowl shit….wuhloss, fyah in ya wyah…

21. @ Hal Austin April 20, 2020 4:37 AM

“As it is, control in Barbados is better than in Germany, Korea, Thailand, Taiwan and Japan.”

That’s it. Our island is the gold standard, the Holy Grail, the utopia of medicine.

If we’re virus-free by the end of the month, it will shake the world. All eyes will be on Barbados. Our Most Honourable Prime Minister will enjoy her finest hour.

Future generations will read in school about how national heroine no. 1 Mia Mottley successfully fought the disease at the head of the government. While the corpses piled up in New York City and London, the politicians there in panic, Mia Mottley fought the Wuhan plague with a heavy hand and with the necessary emergency legislation.

22. “Hon. Miss Cynthia Y. Forde, J.P., M.P.
    Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs

That is who needs to step up and speak to Supermarket owners about accommodating the Elderly and disabled.”

she is always too busy running to the newspapers POPPING SHIT…without actually doing anything….with this she will actually HAVE TO do some work TO FINALLY EARN her monthly pay..

23. 13 posts and 9 by de Liar. All garbage or irrelevant cut & paste! SSA needs to park a dedicated truck outside your house or open a WTE next door.

24. For all the BOASTING the fowls are doing about living in this and that US state, they should tell the government…WHO BY THE WAY ALREADY KNOWS…that EVERY FORWARD THINKING SOCIETY….always organize a PICK UP and DELIVERY SERVICE for their DISABLED AND ELDERLY…especially in these difficult times..

US maybe a lot of things, but that is one thing they do well…respect the elderly and disabled and make their lives less difficult….

of course neither the fowls nor the leaders would want something so comfortable and helpful for their own people….they much prefer blame the victims, it makes them feel much better about their unthinking selves.

25. At least the garbage people will not have to worry about BECOMING INFECTED WITH THE PLAGUE…..ha…

yardfowl GROVELING and empty hero worship will be the death of some of alyuh…it is repulsive to watch, everyone is hoping there are no new infections going forward.., but the fowls continue to live in the land of the delusional…how sad…

26. WW

Which USA government got pick up and delivery services for the elderly?

27. I know about it in NYC…they have their own transportation to and fro to medical appointments and here and there and everything, instead of buying all these useless mercedes and Beemers and SUVs for messengers, the money will be better spent taking care of the elderly and disabled and not as a ruse to ROB THEM EITHER…

no one sent you to live in a state where ya can’t get such service, because now ya claiming not to know…so wuh gine happen if ya get disabled and when ya get old, cause Barbados has no such SERVICE…

in the meantime, am not the one responsible for this, i repeat, this is not me.. ..

https://www.facebook.com/sheri.veronica/videos/2752774058153315/?t=0

28. @ David

I wouldn’t take too much comfort in the fact that they have been no new cases in 4 days. If you look at the tested figure against the positive results it’s averaging 7%. So if we only tested 20 people a day say, that does not mean to me that we have a large enough sample to bring comfort to us.

Also is it mandatory that any doctor in the private sector who sees a covid patient must report them to the authorities by law?

29. Me thinks the video FORGOT to mention WHITE HOAX at US85,000 per month plus 62 million revolving fee for DEAD BERT…all these useless consultants and hangerson…could be cut BY HALF and the money used to CREATE SERVICES/PROGRAMS for the elderly and disabled…it’s THEIR MONEY all of it, pensions, disability and tax…..they should be able to access useful programs for their money..

can’t believe the fowls are on here boasting away about Atlanta and here and there but have nothing else useful to offer….shame, shame, shame..

30. If you believe these official figures you will believe anything. As it is, control in Barbados is better than in Germany, Korea, Thailand, Taiwan and Japan.
    What is our secret? Can officials please publish their epidemiological model so we can have greater confidence in their policies, the policies praised by the director general of the World Health Organisation? Or, even better, get someone to explain the model.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Saint Kitts and Nevis Coronavirus Cases:14 Deaths: 0

Antigua and Barbuda Coronavirus Cases:23 Deaths: 3

Grenada Coronavirus Cases:14 Deaths: 0

Saint Lucia Coronavirus Cases:15 Deaths: 0

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Coronavirus Cases:14 Deaths: 0

https://www.google.com/search?rlz=1CAHKDC_enMX861&sxsrf=ALeKk02Ko69bk0RU-Tw0UpaonHhYnIbU1Q:1587335174894&q=how+many+coronavirus+cases+does+st+vincent+have&spell=1&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwikjfSpxPXoAhVlhOAKHW5jBlMQBSgAegQIGhAn&biw=1366&bih=665

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

FIVE OTHER CARIBBEAN ISLANDS LOW LOW CORONAVIRUS POSITIVES WITH OPEN SUPERMARKETS GIVING THEIR LOCALS UNRESTRICTED ACCESS TO SUPERMARKETS AND PHARMACIES 6 – 7 DAYS A WEEK.

THIS INEPT DICTATORSHIP IN BIM IS MAKING THE LOCAL MASSES SUFFER UNNECESSARY AND AT GREATER RISKS.

31. WURA-War-on-UApril 20, 2020 10:13 AM

For all the BOASTING the fowls are doing about living in this and that US state, they should tell the government…WHO BY THE WAY ALREADY KNOWS…that EVERY FORWARD THINKING SOCIETY….always organize a PICK UP and DELIVERY SERVICE for their DISABLED AND ELDERLY…especially in these difficult times..

US maybe a lot of things, but that is one thing they do well…respect the elderly and disabled and make their lives less difficult….

of course neither the fowls nor the leaders would want something so comfortable and helpful for their own people….they much prefer blame the victims, it makes them feel much better about their unthinking selves.

Muh girl! Yuh losing it!

The elderly were dropping like flies in the elder care facilities. UNNOTICED! It took a great deal of hollering by their relatives for action to be taken. In one facility SEVENTEEN PEOPLE WERE DISCOVERED DEAD! television!

America does not even adequately take care of its VETERANS who BLED for them! Recently, in your haste to paint us black, you are painting the streets of America gold.

So why are Americans so miserable?

PS. The situation was no different in Canada where you live.

32. That should have been “I saw the bodies being removed on my television.”

33. Donna….get a grip…I AM TALKING ABOUT BEFORE THE PLAGUE and at least 15 YEARS ago…..there ARE PROGRAMS for elderly and disabled, homeless people, young people, small children …THERE IS A PROGRAM FOR EVERYONE..i know of what i speak. …and that has nothing to do with plagues that are known to happen EVERY 100 or so YEARS..

Response time is very important with roaming, invisible, silent killers…state governors are admitting they dropped the ball, reacted too late and that is why the elderly in nursing homes are dropping like flies, Canada is admitting the same thing, so is UK…the elderly are taking a DIRECT HIT everywhere…don’t hear anything in the Caribbean though…

“Mr Trump said he is invoking the Defense Production Act to order a company — which he declined to name — to begin manufacturing more than 20m swabs per month.’

swabs may soon become easier to get, unless they can be manufactured in Barbados before..

34. John A
    And this % is much higher in the other jurisdictions the 3-Degree man cited as evidence to support his argument that Bdos is failing. #showmedempapers

35. DavidApril 20, 2020 4:26 AM

COVID-19 Update: Fourth Straight Day Of Negative Tests
    by bgis | Apr 19, 2020 | Corona Virus, Top Stories

Thirty-five persons tested negative for COVID-19 yesterday, including two who will be released from isolation today after two negative test results within a 48-hour period.

This is the fourth consecutive day that Barbados has recorded no new cases of the viral illness. The tally of infected persons remains at 75 out of a total of 1035 tests carried out by the Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory since February 11.

Barbados has recorded five deaths since April 4. There are 51 persons in isolation.

Hal AustinApril 20, 2020 4:37 AM

If you believe these official figures you will believe anything. As it is, control in Barbados is better than in Germany, Korea, Thailand, Taiwan and Japan.
    What is our secret? Can officials please publish their epidemiological model so we can have greater confidence in their policies, the policies praised by the director general of the World Health Organisation? Or, even better, get someone to explain the model.BajeApril 20, 2020 11:22 AM

I

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Baje April 20, 2020 11:22 AM

Saint Kitts and Nevis Coronavirus Cases:14 Deaths: 0

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Coronavirus Cases:14 Deaths: 0

Somebody sounds disappointed! And yes, I believe the figures are either correct or close to being correct. A widespread outbreak of corona virus would be hard to cover up in Barbados. Logic would also suggest that the cases would be easier to track down and contain

One of the advantages of living in a 2 x 3 island in the sun.

But it is not over yet. You may still get to speak of the failed state and the Bajan Condition.

John,

Years ago I had an appointment with an ENT specialist at the QEH. He had with him a visiting student from the UK. He told me that a newborn baby’s lungs are pink, mine would probably be grey and the student, who was half my age, would have black lungs because she lives in London.

He said it with a smile and she could only smile sheepishly.

36. If anyone is looking for petty HERO WORSHIP and self praise that is where they should start, I have not heard of nursing homes in the Caribbean being impacted YET …but then all the governments in the Caribbean will be able to say it is not happening to them….but it will have to be tempered with wait and see and NOT BOASTING…and all will have to SHARE IN THE PRAISE…

and ya know how the crab mentality restricts them from sharing recognition, they always want to climb over each other to oneup…

37. Barbados fights in the corona war in the Titan class together with Japan, South Korea and Taiwan.

If we defeat the plague by the end of the month, we’ll be on Mount Olympus. That should catapult us to number one on the Human Development Index.

#failedstatesUSA-UK

38. There is a programme for everyone but not everyone has access to the programmes. The veterans have many programmes. They wait in a very long line.

We too have programmes. They do not reach everyone. The disabled do have transportation. Just not enough of it. We need more. And yes the big ride money could have been put to better use.

Sometimes it is best to turn down the volume.

39. Reports coming in today is that there is manageable traffic at the supermarkets.

40. Piece,

The legislation issues will get more traction after the pandemic is under control. Right now people are more concerned with daily survival. That is understandable.

Legal jargon is difficult for most to analyze even with clear minds.

41. WW

I live in Barbados. I am current working in the states so I live here for the time being.

I know of transportation for the disable. I don’t know about government funded transportation for the elderly.

Having on thing in one state of the USA and not in another can not be said as the USA government is providing it for its citizen.
    it may be provided by one stage of the local goverments

42. In the UK there is local authority funded transport for the elderly and disabled and school children. It is called Dial A Ride.

43. John2….i know of states where even getting income tax returnscan be IFFY…so it can vary from state to state, but NYC includes, or tries to, EVERYONE in their programs, even pregnant and abused women, of course some people will fall through the cracks….it’s known to happen….but there are programs in place for the elderly also, who are unable to function for one reason or another, it eases the burden on family.

For those who are still determined to make up their own shit, Business Insider has some very good articles from scientists etc, i have been reading them since January, they teach things not normally seen in main stream media.

https://www.businessinsider.com/why-vaccine-for-coronavirus-takes-so-long-to-develop-2020-4?fbclid=IwAR3HHHkRAcPB22I_vN60CKfIAm4IbyQNcTWy7Lo06Zqy8QoTqAtKRbjRtVo

“As you know, we will only have a lasting solution when we get to herd immunity, and the safest way to achieve it is by developing a coronavirus vaccine. We would all want this vaccine to be there sooner rather than later, but my assessment is that a vaccine will likely not be widely available until 2021, and possibly later. In the meanwhile, we have to hope for an effective drug by fall. To help you understand this, I thought I’d explain the various phases and techniques to get to a vaccine.”

44. “it may be provided by one stage of the local goverments”

so where do you think the local state governments get MOST of their funding from…it comes from FEDERAL GOVERNMENT…to fund social programs, for tens of millions of people…where do you think NYC and others are getting their funding for medical supplies etc at this time…there is a reason why people pay various taxes…even the Native Tribes are now accessing federal funding for the plague.

Hal…most metropolis societies have these programs in place for their people, social programs are imperative….driving around in a mercedes and beemer, with messengers tooling around in expensive SUVs to deliver messages and all with taxpayers money is not exactly inspiring when there are no social programs in place to protect the vulnerable as in this instant…

45. WW

How about the elder that are able?

46. Seniors citizens who are healthy can have a delivery service program. Heat and humidity are not good for the elderly, they get unhealthy real fast.

Forward thinkers think AHEAD. It cant hurt.

https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/when-can-we-lift-the-coronavirus-pandemic-restrictions-not-before-taking-these-steps/?fbclid=IwAR3qZuRFApZYklWdx6nNW0bZVcwcNgzmouDZXiKjhy3Web_wvflV2jFutZY

47. DavidApril 20, 2020 12:10 PM

Reports coming in today is that there is manageable traffic at the supermarkets
    xxxxxccxcccccc

I heard that same story last monday and Tuesday
    Fact being that most people do their shopping at mid to end week when bargains are available
    However govt measures has shown a lack discipline which cannot handle the crowds

48. Hesr Austin and his sidekicks Mariposa and Bajeposa you really believe these numbers in reference to no new cases for four days.WTF these clowns believed rhe numbers when new casea were being reported daily now we have some good news they doubting the numbers from the same source.Why would any loyal bajan be doubting good news? Simply puy it does not suit THEIR POLITICAL AGENDA.This is all a silly political game to them to score political points.The results has shown that the path taken by the government was the correct one and all the gloom and doom predictef by this non medical minority is blowing up in their face daily hence their desperation of blogging 24/7.It will not help them or their political agenda.

49. Saint Kitts and Nevis Coronavirus Cases:14 Deaths: 0

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Coronavirus Cases:14 Deaths: 0 {Quote}

Mr. Successful and the village idiot are trying to tell us that the COVID-19 stats in Barbados are being hidden as some sort of sinister plot by the government to keep the masses subjected. SO, WE SHOULD NOT BELIEVE THEM.

MR. SUCCESSFUL POSTED SOME STATS FROM GOOGLE AND WANT US TO BELIEVE THEM.

Barbados’ stats are on the SAME SOURCES that have the stats of St. Kitts, Antigua, Grenada, St. Lucia and St. Vincent CAME FROM.

How does Mr. Successful KNOW THAT THE STATS FROM THE OTHER ISLANDS ARE CORRECT?

If we judge from what he and some of other know-it-alls say about Ralph Gonsalves, YOU WOULD THINK THE COMRADE WOULD BE DISHONEST WITH THE STATS, TOO. I’M SURPRISED THEY BELIEVED ST. VINCENT STATS.

WHAT ABOUT GASTON BROWNE THAT SOME OF THEM HERE CALL THE “TIN HORN DICTATOR?” YOU MEAN THEY BELIEVE THE STATS COMING OUT OF ANTIGUA TOO.

In 2013, THE NEW NATIONAL PARTY WON ALL 15 SEATS IN GRENADA. SO, FOR RIGHT NOW, WE COULD ALSO SAY GRENADA IS AN ELECTED DICTATORSHIP, JUST LIKE BARBADOS. IF MIA COULD DO WUH SHE LIKE, SIR KEITH COULD DO WUH HE LIKE, TOO.

MR. SUCCESSFUL WANTS TO DISMISS BARBADOS STATS, AND UNDER THE SAME CONDITIONS, HE IS WILLING TO ACCEPT GRENADA’S STATS AS CORRECT.

OR is he trying to tell us that the other islands gave the CORRECT STATS and Barbados DID NOT?

Does he think they are correct because he Googled them?

We all know what the village idiot thinks about USING Google.

IT IS A GOOD THING THAT MR. SUCCESSFUL TAUGHT AT UNIVERSITIES.

50. America does not even adequately take care of its VETERANS who BLED for them! Recently, in your haste to paint us black, you are painting the streets of America gold. Quote1

There is a programme for everyone but not everyone has access to the programmes. The veterans have many programmes. They wait in a very long line. Quote 2

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I WASN’T GOING TO RESPOND

HAVE YOU EVER LIVED IN THE US OR ARE YOU A US VETERAN TO KNOW THE TRUTH?

SINCE YOU ARE NOT I WILL EXPAND SO THAT OTHER PEOPLE WHO READ BU BLOG WITH THE EXCEPTION OF YOU AND YOUR SILLY CABAL WOULD BE MORE KNOWLEDGEABLE ON THINGS YOU KNOW LITTLE OF.

THE PROBLEM IS MANY MANY US VETERANS UPON LEAVING THEIR FORMER BRANCH OF SERVICE OF WHICH THEY ARE 4 THEN ADD THE US COAST GUARDS ARE NOT AWARE OF WHAT IS AVAILABLE INCLUDING MYSELF WHICH I LEARNT YEARS LATER OF BENEFITS I WAS ENTITLED TO BY CHANCE.

IN MY CASE WAS BECAUSE WHEN I LEFT US MILITARY I WAS HIRED BY CORPORATE AMERICA SO HENCE WAS NO NEED TO BE KNOWLEDGEABLE AT THE TIME.

MANY US VETERANS WHO KNOW WHEN ENROLLED ARE STRUNG OUT ON DRUGS BECAUSE OF PTSD SOME CAUSED BY WAR RELATED ISSUES OR JUST REGULAR DRUG ADDICTS WHO ENROLLED TO TRY TO GAIN DISABILITY BENEFITS BASED ON A CERTAIN PERCENTAGE MONEY ALLOWANCES FOR LIFE WHICH HAS STRINGENT STIPULATIONS TO MEET.

MANY DROP OUT THE DIFFERENT PROGRAMMES BECAUSE OF THEIR WEAKNESSES INCLUDING HOMELESS REHABILITATION PROGRAMS AND THEN HAVE TO WAIT FOR LONG PERIODS TO BECOME RE-ENROLLED AGAIN.

MANY SMART US VETERANS ALSO ABUSE THE SYSTEM FOR FINANCIAL GAIN PUTTING OTHERS MORE NEEDY VETERANS AT RISK.

IT IS PRIMARILY BECAUSE OF THE ABOVE IS WHY MANY US VETERANS ARE ON WAITING LISTS NOT BECAUSE THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT DON’T HAVE THE FUNDS AVAILABLE.

IT IS BECAUSE OF THE VETTING AND THE MANY ABUSES BY SOME VETERANS LEADING TO VERY STRICT VETTING AND BACKGROUND INVESTIGATIONS SLOWING THE SYSTEM DOWN FOR EVERYONE

TRUMP FIRED THE GUY WHO WAS IN CHARGE OF THE US VETERAN AFFAIRS MONTHS AGO BECAUSE THE US$BILLIONS AVAILABLE FOR VETERANS WAS NOT BEING DEPLOYED FAST ENOUGH.

I HAVE A US VETERANS ID WHICH GIVES ME FREE HEALTHCARE AND MY DEPENDENTS FOR LIFE AT ANY US VETERANS HOSPITAL ANYWHERE IN THE US.

IF I WAS TO BECOME HOMELESS OR DESTITUTE WHILST IN THE US THEY WOULD PROVIDE FREE HOUSING, FOOD AND ASSISTANCE WITH A JOB THROUGH A SPECIAL DIVISION SETUP BY THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT TO ASSIST US VETERANS WITH FEDERAL OR STATE JOBS FAST TRACKED PROVIDING ONE HAS THE RELEVANT QUALIFICATIONS AND WORK EXPERIENCED FOR THE PARTICULAR VACANCY.

I KNOW FROM PERSONAL EXPERIENCES THE RESOURCES ARE THERE AND US VETERANS GET TAKEN CARE OF.

THE ONES LIVING ON THE STREETS LONG TERM ARE DRUG ADDICTS WHO PREFER THEIR DRUGS AND HOMELESSNESS WHETHER THAN REHABILITATION AND THOSE ARE THE ONES MOST FOCUSED ON IN THE MEDIA NOT THE MANY WHO DO BENEFIT FROM WHAT IS AVAILABLE.

NOW WHO IS THE ONE MAKING ASS-UMPTIONS?